All

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 43 Reviews
Value
 
3.4
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.4
3.3 out of 5
"Me and my wife had a great time in Punta Cana. Great place to be for a week." – Vieira
29 out of 47 (62%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Resort Beach View from Hotel Room First day at the beach! Post card worthy

All Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 43 reviews. Sort by
July 7, 2015
great time

100% happy with the resort, the people so friendly, the resort has a lilltle market inside it was way too expensive, prices were ridiculous thats the only think we didnt like, but the rest was perfect.


13 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 25-34

January 25, 2017
Not what expected

Be EXTREMELY careful booking any excursion through Amstar or anyone. We booked one and my husband came down with the flu and we are now fighting to get our 300.00 back. They wanted to rebook us but we were going home that day. Food is ok. Be prepared to stand in line for over an hour at the steak house and the Italian. This was our honeymoon and we were promised a champagne basket sent to our room, an upgrade and received nothing. When we asked a different person about it, they play dumb and say they don't know. You get bombarded by people trying to sell you stuff within the resort. The worst part is still fighting with Amstar and Cheap Carribean (Cheap Carriabean will not help you get anywhere with Amstar even though they are affiliated with them) to get our hard working money back.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 45-54

August 30, 2016
Great Vacation!

Overall we had an amazing honeymoon, the biggest down fall was the language barrier. We expected more people to speak English but they did not. We had a very hard time finding people who could understand us and us understand them. We luckily found Lenny who works in the dive shop on the beach who spoke English and we went to him for all our excursions and with any questions or help we needed. It was very disappointing that so little of the resort staff spoke English because when ordering room service, the front desk and the woman who cleaned our room all spoke ZERO English. We wanted our TV changed to English and they sent a repair man who also did not speak English. I HIGHLY suggest booking your hotel transportation before arriving, we did not and had to deal with sketchy cab drivers. Also, I would wait to book your excursions until you get there because they are 1/4 of the price once you get there, and if you book more than 1 at a time you save even more money. Online they wanted $250 per person for Saona Island, we paid $80 per person there. So find 1 person and book everything through them at one time. We spent a total of $360 on 3 different excursions for 2 people! I suggest doing the Saona Island, we also rented the mini speed boats and did the Buggie excursion which were both OK. The pictures made them both seem more fun than what they actually were.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Daleville, IN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 8, 2016
Overall fine

We vacationed here 2/22/16-2/29/16. This is several hotels on one property so, yes, it's huge. There is a tram that goes around the property which is great during the day but often full at night. Several nights we waited 30+ minutes only to end up walking a long distance to dinner or our room. There are also golf carts driving around but many are for travel club members only. The others vary in the level of customer service. We had some with smiles that were happy to take us back to our lobby and several that either wouldn't bother to stop or simply told us no. Be prepared to have rude vendors bother you throughout the property. Just be firm and don't let them bother you. We had one demanding that we stop and look at his items as we were literally wheeling our luggage to our room. We ended up eating at the buffet every night. Not because we wanted to, but we didn't want to stand in line an hour before another option opened or wait up to 2 hours to be seated. The buffet was good, but repetitive. We only went for breakfast twice and on our last day we had trouble fining a table. Forget about getting coffee, you have a better chance at winning the lottery. We did enjoy the sports bar, worth checking out! So now that I've complained there were some great things. Our room was clean and comfortable. Yes, it is in need of some upgrades, especially to the bathroom. The mini bar was stocked daily. The beach is amazing! Tons of beach chairs, never a problem finding a chair, sometimes it was hard to find one in the shade. The pools are clean and the water is not cold. They are missing some tiles here and there and could use a little work. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. Good service at all the bars, the drinks aren't the best but we managed to drink our fair share anyway. Overall, a typical all inclusive. If you are going to hang out on the beach, this is a great place to go.

Overall fine
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 30, 2016
You get what you pay for.

This is not a 5star hotel you are used to in th states--3 at best. Don't expect much out of the workers here; it is all-inclusive so there is not much incentive to do their job well. The check in process was the worst--took an hour. There's a lot of standing around and walking into the back room and calling "people." I have to give it to the staff though--the room they initially gave us was a closet (not anything like the photos). I asked to be switched, and they promptly did... Only to have another couple walk in on us with their suitcases 5 minutes after getting settled. Haha--they were mad--don't blame them! Our phone was broken in the room and never got repaired after requesting it to be fixed three times. Mini bar is restocked and fresh towels arrive everyday, though. Can't complain there. Restaurants do not take reservations, so you have to be there right when they open to put your name on the list--this angered many new comers to the resort but we got the rhythm down after having to be forced to go to the buffet at 930p at night after being denied entry to several restaurants. Asking for something simple as a water refill or silverware at dinner because your table wasn't set--expect to wait at least ten minutes. The beach buffet at the Bavaro and the steak house clearly were the best (and busiest). Overall I would rate the food average--I'd definitely be mad if I was served this in any restaurant I paid for, but it's all "free" and edible. So we just went with the flow. The shows at the resort are terrible--mostly people lip syncing songs in tacky outfits. It's sort of entertaining how bad it is--Haha. We saw the circus show, though, and those guys had some talent! The beaches and grounds are flawless though. Very well kept and breathtaking. That's what made the trip unforgettable! The lounge chairs are awkward, but aren't too bad. They don't sit up all the way or lay completely flat. The towels are great--large and plush. However you can only have one per person the entire trip with endless switch outs. Drinks are strong and served in small cups (they melt anyway outside) and poolside service is hit or miss. I wasn't upset to swim up to get my own drinks or just hit the bar myself. If you bring a thermos/tumbler they refill your glass so you get more at once. It's also pretty much the same drinks/well alcohol at every bar. You'll be drunk and won't care! :). There is fun poolside entertainment of you have a sense of humor. Give it a try! Overall, this was my first all-inclusive experience. Nothing is drawing me back to this hotel in particular, but knowing that I can get a piece of blue water and white sand at a cheap price is what will lure me back!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 11, 2016
Nice resort bad service

I booked this rest because it had a god review online and i was very upset with my trip i paid a lot of money to spend a nice relaxing week in Punta Cana. Upon arrival everything was great they had so much to offer but as the day went on it got worse and worse, Trying to get a drink order correct is almost impossible, they tell you they don't have stuff when they do, it seems like nobody wants to do their job. I went to make a reservation at one of the restaurants at seven o clock and they told me they weren't taking any more reservations for the night while people were going up and speaking Spanish and she would put them down for a reservation while i was still standing there. I had to get my own drinks at the buffet because servers would just walk by us and when we asked them for drinks they would say yes and they would never come, i would see them walking around giving other people drinks and not us. overall it was an awful experience i would advise people to not go to this resort unless they want a stressful and aggravating vacation


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 19, 2016
Fabulous Vacation

Overall the resort was fabulous and we had an amazing time. We would recommend it to anyone. We stayed at the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort and Spa. The grounds are beautiful and the resort is very large. We mostly walked during our stay but there are trains. We initially did not like the location of the building that was reserved and we requested to be upgraded. With the upgrade we ended up in building 4000 top floor with ocean views. Definitely recommend the upgrade if you are not satisfied with your room as it was only an additional $15 per day, well worth it. Picture attached. The beach was amazing and was very long with no problem getting chairs at time of the day. The vendors walk down the beach selling items all day every day. Just say no thank you and they are on their way. If you want cheap sulveniers walk to the right on the beach where the resort ends there are shops. Definitely haggle your prices. The staff was friendly and helpful but did not speak a lot of english. I suggest knowing some basic spanish. We did tip everyone a $1-2 during our stay except at the buffet. They were very appreciative but it was not necessary. The food was great except for the asian which was the only place that was horrible. We had no issues getting a table at the a la carte. We went everynight between 6-6:30 pm. Our favorites were the Indian, Brazianlian, and the steak house. We at the buffet for breakfast every day and enjoyed it. We definitely recommend bringing large insulated mugs with you. If you do not have a cup/mug, their cups are 8 oz, very small. We tried one show and did not like it. We recommend the beach party, disco, foam party, sports bar and cocktail bar. The cocktail bar served high end liquor. We also went to the casino which was smaller than expected and out dated. We booked one excursion not through the travel agency/resort. We located Horseplay online and recommend it to everyone. You get to visit a small cigar factory amd roll a cigar, a school, a ranch , zipline and learn how they make chocolate. At the ranch you feast on a Dominican family style lunch. While horseback riding you get to see some of the coutryside. The staff was excellent and entertaining. Our favorite pool was the adults only Secret pool which is not on a lot of the maps. Definitely worth a visit. Very relaxing, quiet and good drinks. We booked our trip through Cheapcaribbean.com ans purschesed the shared transfer. We did not have any issues at all.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 20, 2016
Amazing Tropical Vacation

My Girlfriend and I are both from Wisconsin and were looking to take a tropical vacation to get away from the snow and cold. We took our all-inclusive vacations search to the internet where we came across Cheap Caribbean, and as the title states they are cheap. We compared them with many other websites and they truly are the cheapest. Along with being cheap they work with Amstar which really made me comfortable about our transportation and excursions. After 3 months of searching for Resorts we agreed on Grand Palladium. We chose this resort on location from the Airport, restaurants offered, and reviews about the property. I must say when we arrived it was AMAZING. More than what we expected in a good way. Our room was always cleaned and smelled great no problems what so ever and our mini fridge was always stocked with water and beer of course. We did tip our cleaning staff around 4$ USD a day but its worth it when you come back to a fresh & cool room after a day in the sun. The food was all good. I would certainly recommend the Brazilian restaurant the most. The best part is you don't have to make reservations you can just walk up and wait but lines do form right away when they open at 1800. The buffets are great as well. Our recommendation is breakfast and lunch are the best. Dinners are alright after eating at the restaurants and knowing we didn't need reservations we chose to wait each night. Typical wait is around an hour. The pools and Ocean are all amazing, especially the ocean, all white sand no rocks no seaweed. Never once had a hard time finding chairs to sit on by the ocean and relax. The pools are great we only made it to 3 of them but they have many more. All with swim-up bars and great drinks. We did find that each day one pool would host an event. One day our pool by our room had a Foam Party, another afternoon one pool had a blowup obstacle course which all was great. The staff is super friendly except some of the restaurant hostesses, my girlfriend who has a bachelors in Spanish tried to communicate with them and they still were quite rude, other than that everyone is amazing. The front desk speaks English very well and is more than willing to help with anything. The property may look big but to walk around is not bad what so ever. We found this resort has everything for someone, they have a casino with table games, the ocean for relaxing, pools to relax in and drink by, along with nightly entertainment, and also have vendors at the beach offering parasailing, tubing, snorkeling, fishing all for an extra charge but we found you can barter for a cheaper price even if they have a listed price. Overall this resort was amazing and we both agree the Dominican in general was 10 times better than Rivera Maya in Mexico.

Resort Beach View from Hotel Room
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Green Bay, WI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 4, 2016
Get ready to spend 4+ hours for dinner

Good Pools & beaches. Thats one positive thing about resort. Negatives. -> No fans in lobby. They have fan for their desk but not for guest. Its really hot and you tend to loose ur patience without fan. -> Restaurants : Buffet is good option but you can keep dreaming about eating at your favorite restaurants as they DO NOT take advanced booking for any restaurants. Every day for dinner, you are standing in line at the restaurant and hoping to get in. And by the time your number comes, they are full so u go stand in line for the next restaurant. You might be lucky to get in to restaurant if u start standing in line as early as 6:30. We spent 6:30 to 10 to get into Italian restaurant only to find employees who are rushing to wind up. -> Service:Bars are good .. but some bar tenders never smile and at the pool, u r again standing in line for drinks. Room service is good. Some restaurants have good service but most of them fall way below average. Super slow and not considerate about the guest. Don't let u order more than one dish per person .. you have to order only when you finish the first order and each order gets 45 minute to get. So u r stuck in restaurant for few hours in wait game. -> Quality of food: In restaurants, below average. All in all, resort is good in terms of number of pools and beaches but you will be disappointed big time in terms of food specially for dinner.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 29, 2015
Best trip ever.

Me and my wife had a great time in Punta Cana. Great place to be for a week.


4 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Union, NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year