All

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort and Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 466 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.2 out of 5
"excellent atmosphere,servers at resteraunts good for the most part.bartenders great always in good spirits....beach smaller than thought but nice and quiet..overall good time and would go back." – udetsmjb
459 out of 559 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our balcony view from Villa patio uncrowded beach Relax Main pool view the view right outside our room Our view from our balcony damaged piping Outdoor private shower, sorry for the view one of our excursions Another perfect sunset Our balcony sunset from the villa beach party with wife, great! elegant and very upscale This monster churned up the ocean daily Sunset @ Dicks! Sunset Cove Beach Sunset from lounge above the pool view from villa View from the italian restaurant View of beach from Jerk hut beach at sunset main pool Villa 36 entrance main building from villa View off of the balcony from the Honeymoon Villa Pool area beach Sun Set from our porch Beach right by the pool view from room closer look at damage What a beautiful night My view from our balcony View street side from out bungalow sunset from our room balcony Bedroom always clean. The view of my room Sunset at sunset cove The adult pool & Bar View View outside our villa Ahhh, the love! The bedroom at the suites Beautiful Sunset Cool shower Family dinner the beautiful pool private outdoor shower From room 3123 View from our room's patio The pool Paradise! Our favorite bartender Sheryl The living room Good times!! The Spa The sun setting on the Lady Hamilton sunset view,honeymoon suite sunset from our villa suite Huge tub The beach @ Sunset Cove on the Lady Hamilton side of the resort snorkeling at sunset cove

All Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 466 reviews. Sort by
June 2, 2011
No pressure...no problem...

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton resort in Jamaica and we had an amazing time. I was a little leary from reading the reviews on trip advisor but when we got there I was pleasantly suprised. I'll touch on a few key points... *The grounds are beautiful! *Check in-The welcome rum punch is awesome. We got there around 1 and check in wasn't until 3 so we cruised around and checked on our room location. I'm glad we did. They had us in villa 39 which is WAY at the end of the resort by sunset beach. I'm all for walking but it was far. When we went back to the lobby we politely asked for a closer room and they obliged. We moved to villa 32, close to the adult pool/beach and about a 5 minute walk to the lobby and restaurants. If I could pick a villa on the LH side it would be 26 or 28. *Room-The room was big and clean. We had a nice balcony with a partial ocean view and could see sunset beach. The AC didn't work all that well but we figured out that if you left the sliding door shut and fan on it stayed fairly cool. Leave the room card or a business card in the slot to leave the AC on. The shower was awesome, big marble walk in with great water pressure. You had to turn the nozzle to the side so it didn't spray under the door but no big deal. The tub was awesome and we enjoyed a bubble bath, impressive since I'm 5'9" and my husband 6'3"!! The fridge was warm but cooled after we adjusted the dial. We gave the guy $10 and he kept it stocked with water, red stripe and diet coke. Maids were good, the room stayed clean and we always had fresh towels. *Food was great. The jerk hut on the beach is a must. We ate there almost every day for lunch. We'd drop a couple bucks to get the white meat and it was worth it. Ate at Bubba's and loved it. I had the jerk lobster, $30 but a huge tail and worth the money. My husband had T-Bone and Lobster and it was also really good. Lotus was pretty good but the sushi was different than what we traditionally get in the states. Not bad, just different. Creole was good. Mexican was pretty good but probably our least favorite. Sports bar had good burgers. Breakfast buffet was good and there are a ton of options. *Bars-Miss Lou's is the only bar that has red stripe light and brand name booze so we spent some time there. The Infinity bar which is upstairs and looks out over the pool is fun. They had some AMAZING dancers up there one night and they got everyone fired up. Beautiful sunsets here too. The disco was pretty lame so we mostly chilled at the sports bar late at night. The bar by possiden/sunset beach was fun and the bartenders make a ton of crazy shots. Howard, Owen (nemo) and Onar were hillarious. We invented a shot called a babymaker! *Beaches-The beaches are breathtaking and the water is crystal clear. We hung out at the sunset beach and adult beach the majority of the time. Snorkeling is awesome at the adult beach. We saw almost as much there as on our catamaran trip. There were some topless sunbathers at the adult beach but not many. I laid out topless one day and some trashy american ladies (I'm american so I can say that) were heckling me. Telling their husbands "happy birthday" and "there you go John" all the while making rude comments about my cup size. It was all I had not to smack some sense into all of them. Funny, the men were fine but the women acted like trailer trash. But anyway, it WAS the adult beach so I ignored them and tanned my girls. Sunset beach does get a little crowded but we were able to find spots anyway. If you want a front row palapa you might have to get out a little earlier. There were some rocks but not enough to wear lame water shoes. Be careful while snorkeling though, once you get out into the coral there are a TON of sea urchins! Only bummer about the beaches was no drink service (bar was up the hill a ways) or music. *Pool-Hung by the adult pool a couple times just because there weren't any kids there but never made it to the main pool. It is huge! They had a sand volleyball court, music pumping, swim up bar and it looked fun. *Spa-Had an 80 minute couples massage and it was amazing. Charleton (i think that was his name) was awesome and I almost had to tapout a couple times. But I'm a fan of deep tissue so I thought this was great. It was a little pricey for the 80 minute, it might have been cheaper to do two 50 minute instead. But it was vacation so indulge. *Gym-We actually exercised twice on vacation! It helped me justify all the rich food and drinks. The machines are standard, eliptical, treadmills, bikes and stepper. They had a bunch of freeweights and some machines. I will warn you, it was hot in there but it felt good to sweat out some alcohol. *Service-We didn't have any negative experiences. You're on vacation so chill. It's no different than Mexico or anywhere else you might vacation. It's just a more relaxed and slow-paced environment. *Excursions-We did a afternoon catamaran/snorkeling/Margaritaville excursion for $80pp and it was fun. It POURED rain on us but we still managed to have fun. The slide at Margaritaville is a must. The snorkeling wasn't that much better than what you can do at the resort. FYI-They only do this tour Wednesdays and they do a similar one but to Ricks on Thursdays. The morning is family and the afternoon session (leaves at 1:45) is for adults. The rum punch on the boat is dangerous. All in all, we had an amazing time. It's too bad that people feel the need to pick the resort apart and FIND negatives. That's not how we roll. Of course there will always be things that could've been a little better but that's life. I will say it's kind of a shame that for a new resort it's kind of beat up. It seems like it probably went up in a hurry and is taking a beating with the weather and climate. But there were only a couple places we saw this, mainly in the lobby. Bottom line, we would definitely go back to the GPLH for another vacation. So go and enjoy some paradise.


159 of 162 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Leesburg, Virginia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 18, 2015
Awesome time!

First of all let me start by saying don't pay any attention to the bad reviews. Lets just be honest. Bad experiences are going to happen anywhere you go. The difference in the good stays and bad are the ones who do something about it to make your stay better. We had an awesome time at a beautiful resort. The food was good and the beaches were never overcrowded especially coral beach. We went over to Negril and it was ok. I think it has alot more to offer than what we did as we only went to 2 different places. One of them was Rick's Cafe which was a blast. The cliff jumping was surreal. Nothing like it. I highly advise anyone to go over there and spend some of the day. You will get bombarded with offers but just kindly say no and they will leave you alone. Me and my wife love to snorkel so we spent lots of time doing that. I would say the best spot to snorkel from our experience would be coral beach at the resort. There are other good spots but consistently this one was a bit better. All in all it was an awesome trip. Please don't let these bad reviews scare you away from a great place. These people just had bad experiences. Ours was incredible. Big sports complex as well. Hope this helps!


29 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: South Carolina
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 2, 2012
A long time coming

It's been awhile since I vacationed at the Lady Hamilton (May 2011) but I remember it like it was yesterday! My husband and I both had an amazing time enjoying most of the ammenities at the resort. We were welcomed with a rum punch which is always a nice way to start a vacation. Checking in didn't take too long and when we were finished were carted to our room which was beautiful. I do have to say it was a little humid in there but after being out in the heat all day during the vacay we hardly even noticed it after the first day. I was amazed and very happy with the size of the pool, and the swim up bar was a great place to hang out at. The bartenders were all so nice and down to earth, making sure that everyone was having a good time. We even got to know (as you do on a vacation) some of them as we saw them often. The beach right off of the main pool was beautiful; I saw the best sunsets during my time here from that beach. The food was delish! Of course, the Jerk hut was outstanding and by far a staple of our trip-we ate there for lunch every day! It's somewhere you might have to ask how to get to, as it's on another part of the resort with a whole other beach (which was great in itself because we got to do some kayaking and they also offer sailboating and paddleboats). We spent some time at the adult pool-that we spotted on our way to the Jerk hut-and it was a nice change from the sometimes overwhelming size/activity level of the main pool. Our morning breakfast everyday at the buffet was perfect-the coffee was amazing and I could get some fresh fruit or an omelette depending on my appetite. The lounge that was upstairs above the pool was a great place to catch live reggae and meet up with friends that we met earlier in the day. That led to the dance club later in the evening which was a lot of fun as well. I used the internet cafe a few times (due to a paper I had to turn in-yes, while on vacation!) and the software isn't exactly the same as what I was used to but it served it's purpose. Overall, we had a great time on vacation here at the Lady Hamilton and I dream of going back someday, maybe even with my kids or even a group of friends. I wouldn't let bad reviews of this place discourage you from experiencing it because I'm glad we decided to see for ourselves!

View from our room's patio Sunset from lounge above the pool
35 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 3, 2011
Amazing Vacation

The Grand Palladium Montego Bay is a fantastic resort! There are two sides of the resort the Jamaican side and the Lady Hamilton side, the latter being the newer of the two. We stayed on the Lady Hamilton side. The property sits between Montego Bay and Negril despite the misnomer in the name. It's about an hour to Negril (check out 7 Mile Beach and Rick's Cafe or 3 Dives for the sunset), and 45 minutes to Bottom Rd in Montego Bay. Makes for a nice trip off the property for a day. I'd avoid the pricey and more regimented day tours and hire a local driver. It's about the same cost or cheaper (depending on the door) and there's no sense of being rushed. We felt very comfortable with Wayne, he made you aware than he hadn't left but was never intrusive. He knew everybody which was nice when you're in an unfamiliar place. Every place he took us to was a hit (even Margaritaville which I was skeptical of, the one in Negril was awesome). He even took us to a great local restaurant called Sky Beach... Check it out if you're looking for something safe but off the beaten path of the resort. The private tour was really something we enjoyed very much. For the price. it's a no brainer. I would say it's pretty much understood that you're expected to pay for your guide's meals and drinks. Again, well worth it. There are some great pools and beaches. Sunset Cove offers up some great free snorkeling right on site as well as 1 or 2 hour snorkel tours that we didn't try. For two novices like us, the reef on the property (in Sunset Cove) was more than enough. There's a good jerk hut right by the beach as well. There are other non-motorized (free) water sports like windsurfing, sailing, and paddleboats as well. Pretty good sunset from that area too. The food was quite good however, the buffets didn't change from day to day too much, which has it's pro's and con's. The ala carte restaurant, Xamaica was very good although the service was a little less than perfect. I had the Jerk Chicken which was as good as I'd had elsewhere on the island. The people (including the servers and bartenders) are very laid back and work at a pretty relaxed pace. That is very typical from everywhere I've seen in Jamaica. As far as the drinks, expect Red Stripe mostly on tap. If you want it in a bottle, they provide each Honeymoon Villa with a few. Tip them when they deliver it and they'll leave extras. Appleton Estate Rum is very popular. Try a Jamaican Rum Cream, it's kind of like Bailey's only creamier. The Honeymoon Villas located on the Lady Hamilton side of the resort are awesome. They come with an adults only private beach, and they're right near a pool bar that's open until midnight. They have an outdoor shower that would be a lot nicer if it offered a good view of something as opposed to the very high walls which offer more than enough privacy. There's a nice sized jaccuzzi in the bathroom, along with sinks across the room from one another. They also have a balcony or patio depending if you're on the first floor or second. Very quiet and spacious. Tipping didn't seem mandatory but was greatly appreciated. The staff was very accommodating. They'll get you anything you want and arrange for you to be taken anywhere you'd like to go. Just ask. As far as Jamaica goes, it's a beautiful, tropical island where the weather is 70-80 most days of the year with usually little rainfall except in mid-September. The beaches are beautiful, the hillsides are lush and green. The people are very nice an friendly. English is the official language although the locals speak Patois (broken English) to one another. They take US Currency almost everywhere. Some of the smaller shops the very local sections might not. No matter what you fancy, Jamaica is incredible,... And so is The Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton. Print out your itinerary. It makes checking in a lot easier. I never print those out. With smartphones nowadays, you never need to. It really makes it much easier in this instance.

View off of the balcony from the Honeymoon Villa The beach @ Sunset Cove on the Lady Hamilton side of the resort
13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 17, 2011
Fantastic Resort

I recently returned from a 8 day/7 night trip to the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton. I was very impressed with the overall resort facilities, the food was fantastic and there were lots of choices. My favorite turned out to be the buffet breakfast and dinners, as you had so many choices which turned out to be all good. My fiance and myself are into good nutrition and health and found the wonderful, freshly made fruit juices at breakfast something we looked forward to. The spa facilities are great and the gym, which we used every morning, was adequate for what we needed. If anyone is wondering what's the difference between the Jamaica vs. Lady Hamilton resort, I will give a brief explanation as I had this question myself before going on this trip. Both sides of the hotel uses the same facilities, the difference is the Lady Hamilton side includes an adult only beach and adult only pool area. If you are sans kids, then I would recommend staying on the Lady Hamilton side of the resort. One warning, if you decide to bring your lap top for work or pleasure, there is a daily $20.00 charge for internet use in your room, however you can get free internet service in the lobby areas of the hotel and they do have nice seating areas if you choose that option. Just nice to know before you go. Last but not least, the entire staff at this resort was THE BEST. During my entire stay, I did not run into any member of staff who was rude or nasty, everyone was wonderful, willing to help and had a great attitude. Getting married in 2013 and this is where I will definitely be hosting my wedding. Love it, BOOK YOUR TRIP NOW AND WAIT NO MORE. EXPERIENCE A BIT OF PARADISE.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 8, 2017
Great trip!

Just got back from a trip over New Year's. Great resort, great value. Pictures on the website represent the place perfectly. My wife and I had a honeymoon villa with a 2 person jacuzzi (more like 8-10 person) in the room, a Terrace overlooking the ocean, a minibar which was restocked daily, and an outdoor shower. Very secluded room despite being in a building with 4 units...we never heard our neighbors. Resort is HUGE and there is something to do wherever you go so you'll always feel like you're in a different place. Food was good and plentiful (not great) but I'm a spoiled NYer so take that with a grain of salt. All-inclusive package was exactly that; we only brought cash for tipping. I know the price changes all the time, but this place was cheap compared to other resorts offering deals over New Year's. Best restaurant was the seafood place. Get to the restaurants early as they can fill up. Overall experience-got exactly what we expected...no surprises or disappointments. If you're thinking of booking, do it!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 35-44

December 8, 2015
great value!

My boyfriend and I stayed at the grand palladium lady Hamilton resort for 6 nights. First impressions were great. The grounds were always being worked on and it was very clean. We were late on our arrival and the amstar rep acted like he was doing us a favor by waiting for us. The beaches were okay, go to the sunset cove and you will find less Rocks in the water and better views. The food was just okay. Nothing special and generally the same. I've been to 9 different all inclusive reports and the food was probably ranked in the middle. The staff all generally were nice and looked like they enjoyed their jobs. Garnett greeted us everyday at 4pm with fresh coconuts by our room. I would book the honeymoon suite. The outdoor shower was amazing and the rooms have been updated and are very modern. The beds aren't the softest. At night the birds are loud so if you need a quiet nights sleep bring ear plugs. I didn't mind. The shops are nice and the workers are very helpful. My luggage was lost and I had a lady helping me by my side to get all the things I needed until my luggage arrived. Overall, beautiful resort, very clean and beautiful. I would recommend anyone to go that is looking for a good value resort!

great value! great value!
14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Fenton mi
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 29, 2010
Best Purchase Ever

We were pleasantly suprised when we arrived at the Grand Palladium in Jamaica. Everything went well from the moment we stepped off the plane. The ride to the resort was comfortable and short. Check-in was easy and the accomdations exceeded our expectation. We had never done an all inclusive before and thought we would only get breakfast and dinner. Unlimited food and beverage, yippie. The pool was spectactular and the beach was inviting. The spa was delightful. We have recommended the resort to many friends and we are trying to see how we can afford another visit.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 24, 2012
EXCELLENT PLACE!

I usually never write reviews but I do read them before I book my trip. And so this was worth writing for. We went for our honeymoon in Spring break and upon arrival they had upgraded to their best room for free. The service was excellent!. The food was excellent! the beach was beautiful, crystal clear color. they have free activities, that in many resorts it costs money. they have free paddle boat, snorkeling gear. We loved it!


18 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 31, 2015
Don't Book Major Construction

I have stayed stayed this resort before and it was a fine resort for the money, however this time we booked same bungalow we stayed in last time and the beach right outside out bungalow was under being dredged with heavy machinery from 7 am until 6 pm, this was the couples beach so we had to walk to the other side of the resort daily to utilize the family beach and since everyone was trying to get a spot in the shade it was always a mad dash early in the morning. The sidewalks and roads where being demolished and rebuilt so every morning at 7 am we would awaken to the sound of skidsteers and jack hammers. Most of the rooms are under remodel so you must walk through construction zones to get to the restaurants and the activities. The bungalow we had was remodeled but was missing seem items and seemed slapped together. The air conditioner never cooled the room the entire week we where there was miserably hot. The mattress felt like it was filled with cement hardest mattress i have ever encountered anywhere in the world. Now for the good people are friendly and attentive many of them went out of there way to make us comfortable and the entertainment staff where first rate. The shows where very professionally done and first class. The buffet was a typical all inclusive buffet but the Jerk hut was one of the best I have ever eaten at in over twenty years of trips to Jamaica. THE PEOPLE I HOLD ACCOUNTABLE FOR OUR DISAPPOINTING VACATION IS CHEAPCARIBEAN, THEY SHOULD HAVE KNOW ABOUT THE CONSTRUCTION AND THEY SHOULD HAVE INDICATED IT WHEN I BOOKED.

View street side from out bungalow This monster churned up the ocean daily
16 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Dallas Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year