All

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort and Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 512 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.2 out of 5
"I dont think I could say anything bad about the resort. Food was good! Room was very nice (even though we weren't in it much.) Beachs and Pools were awesome. Only wish they had room service." – JKarnes
499 out of 613 (81%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
the view right outside our room uncrowded beach The beach @ Sunset Cove on the Lady Hamilton side of the resort sunset view,honeymoon suite Good times!! The sun setting on the Lady Hamilton one of our excursions Villa 36 entrance Sunset Cove Beach Pool area beach view from Villa patio the beautiful pool Another perfect sunset Our view from our balcony elegant and very upscale sunset from the villa Cool shower Outdoor private shower, sorry for the view View off of the balcony from the Honeymoon Villa the view from our bungalow top: main beach/bottom: view from Infinity Bar view from villa Beach right by the pool beach at sunset The view of my room closer look at damage View Sunset at sunset cove Watching the magnificent sunrise behind the palm tree. Sunset from lounge above the pool Beautiful!! View of beach from Jerk hut Sunset @ Dicks! This monster churned up the ocean daily View from the italian restaurant view from room What a beautiful night main building from villa Sun Set from our porch main pool The pool Bedroom always clean. sunset from our room balcony private outdoor shower Beautiful Sunset The Spa Ahhh, the love! Our balcony view from our balcony My View street side from out bungalow View outside our villa The adult pool & Bar beach party with wife, great! snorkeling at sunset cove damaged piping Relax Family dinner The living room The bedroom at the suites From room 3123 View from our balcony View from our room's patio Our favorite bartender Sheryl Huge tub Morning view from our bedroom Paradise! Main pool view sunset from our villa suite

All Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 512 reviews. Sort by
June 2, 2011
No pressure...no problem...

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton resort in Jamaica and we had an amazing time. I was a little leary from reading the reviews on trip advisor but when we got there I was pleasantly suprised. I'll touch on a few key points... *The grounds are beautiful! *Check in-The welcome rum punch is awesome. We got there around 1 and check in wasn't until 3 so we cruised around and checked on our room location. I'm glad we did. They had us in villa 39 which is WAY at the end of the resort by sunset beach. I'm all for walking but it was far. When we went back to the lobby we politely asked for a closer room and they obliged. We moved to villa 32, close to the adult pool/beach and about a 5 minute walk to the lobby and restaurants. If I could pick a villa on the LH side it would be 26 or 28. *Room-The room was big and clean. We had a nice balcony with a partial ocean view and could see sunset beach. The AC didn't work all that well but we figured out that if you left the sliding door shut and fan on it stayed fairly cool. Leave the room card or a business card in the slot to leave the AC on. The shower was awesome, big marble walk in with great water pressure. You had to turn the nozzle to the side so it didn't spray under the door but no big deal. The tub was awesome and we enjoyed a bubble bath, impressive since I'm 5'9" and my husband 6'3"!! The fridge was warm but cooled after we adjusted the dial. We gave the guy $10 and he kept it stocked with water, red stripe and diet coke. Maids were good, the room stayed clean and we always had fresh towels. *Food was great. The jerk hut on the beach is a must. We ate there almost every day for lunch. We'd drop a couple bucks to get the white meat and it was worth it. Ate at Bubba's and loved it. I had the jerk lobster, $30 but a huge tail and worth the money. My husband had T-Bone and Lobster and it was also really good. Lotus was pretty good but the sushi was different than what we traditionally get in the states. Not bad, just different. Creole was good. Mexican was pretty good but probably our least favorite. Sports bar had good burgers. Breakfast buffet was good and there are a ton of options. *Bars-Miss Lou's is the only bar that has red stripe light and brand name booze so we spent some time there. The Infinity bar which is upstairs and looks out over the pool is fun. They had some AMAZING dancers up there one night and they got everyone fired up. Beautiful sunsets here too. The disco was pretty lame so we mostly chilled at the sports bar late at night. The bar by possiden/sunset beach was fun and the bartenders make a ton of crazy shots. Howard, Owen (nemo) and Onar were hillarious. We invented a shot called a babymaker! *Beaches-The beaches are breathtaking and the water is crystal clear. We hung out at the sunset beach and adult beach the majority of the time. Snorkeling is awesome at the adult beach. We saw almost as much there as on our catamaran trip. There were some topless sunbathers at the adult beach but not many. I laid out topless one day and some trashy american ladies (I'm american so I can say that) were heckling me. Telling their husbands "happy birthday" and "there you go John" all the while making rude comments about my cup size. It was all I had not to smack some sense into all of them. Funny, the men were fine but the women acted like trailer trash. But anyway, it WAS the adult beach so I ignored them and tanned my girls. Sunset beach does get a little crowded but we were able to find spots anyway. If you want a front row palapa you might have to get out a little earlier. There were some rocks but not enough to wear lame water shoes. Be careful while snorkeling though, once you get out into the coral there are a TON of sea urchins! Only bummer about the beaches was no drink service (bar was up the hill a ways) or music. *Pool-Hung by the adult pool a couple times just because there weren't any kids there but never made it to the main pool. It is huge! They had a sand volleyball court, music pumping, swim up bar and it looked fun. *Spa-Had an 80 minute couples massage and it was amazing. Charleton (i think that was his name) was awesome and I almost had to tapout a couple times. But I'm a fan of deep tissue so I thought this was great. It was a little pricey for the 80 minute, it might have been cheaper to do two 50 minute instead. But it was vacation so indulge. *Gym-We actually exercised twice on vacation! It helped me justify all the rich food and drinks. The machines are standard, eliptical, treadmills, bikes and stepper. They had a bunch of freeweights and some machines. I will warn you, it was hot in there but it felt good to sweat out some alcohol. *Service-We didn't have any negative experiences. You're on vacation so chill. It's no different than Mexico or anywhere else you might vacation. It's just a more relaxed and slow-paced environment. *Excursions-We did a afternoon catamaran/snorkeling/Margaritaville excursion for $80pp and it was fun. It POURED rain on us but we still managed to have fun. The slide at Margaritaville is a must. The snorkeling wasn't that much better than what you can do at the resort. FYI-They only do this tour Wednesdays and they do a similar one but to Ricks on Thursdays. The morning is family and the afternoon session (leaves at 1:45) is for adults. The rum punch on the boat is dangerous. All in all, we had an amazing time. It's too bad that people feel the need to pick the resort apart and FIND negatives. That's not how we roll. Of course there will always be things that could've been a little better but that's life. I will say it's kind of a shame that for a new resort it's kind of beat up. It seems like it probably went up in a hurry and is taking a beating with the weather and climate. But there were only a couple places we saw this, mainly in the lobby. Bottom line, we would definitely go back to the GPLH for another vacation. So go and enjoy some paradise.


162 of 165 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Leesburg, Virginia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 18, 2015
Awesome time!

First of all let me start by saying don't pay any attention to the bad reviews. Lets just be honest. Bad experiences are going to happen anywhere you go. The difference in the good stays and bad are the ones who do something about it to make your stay better. We had an awesome time at a beautiful resort. The food was good and the beaches were never overcrowded especially coral beach. We went over to Negril and it was ok. I think it has alot more to offer than what we did as we only went to 2 different places. One of them was Rick's Cafe which was a blast. The cliff jumping was surreal. Nothing like it. I highly advise anyone to go over there and spend some of the day. You will get bombarded with offers but just kindly say no and they will leave you alone. Me and my wife love to snorkel so we spent lots of time doing that. I would say the best spot to snorkel from our experience would be coral beach at the resort. There are other good spots but consistently this one was a bit better. All in all it was an awesome trip. Please don't let these bad reviews scare you away from a great place. These people just had bad experiences. Ours was incredible. Big sports complex as well. Hope this helps!


34 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: South Carolina
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 17, 2011
Fantastic Resort

I recently returned from a 8 day/7 night trip to the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton. I was very impressed with the overall resort facilities, the food was fantastic and there were lots of choices. My favorite turned out to be the buffet breakfast and dinners, as you had so many choices which turned out to be all good. My fiance and myself are into good nutrition and health and found the wonderful, freshly made fruit juices at breakfast something we looked forward to. The spa facilities are great and the gym, which we used every morning, was adequate for what we needed. If anyone is wondering what's the difference between the Jamaica vs. Lady Hamilton resort, I will give a brief explanation as I had this question myself before going on this trip. Both sides of the hotel uses the same facilities, the difference is the Lady Hamilton side includes an adult only beach and adult only pool area. If you are sans kids, then I would recommend staying on the Lady Hamilton side of the resort. One warning, if you decide to bring your lap top for work or pleasure, there is a daily $20.00 charge for internet use in your room, however you can get free internet service in the lobby areas of the hotel and they do have nice seating areas if you choose that option. Just nice to know before you go. Last but not least, the entire staff at this resort was THE BEST. During my entire stay, I did not run into any member of staff who was rude or nasty, everyone was wonderful, willing to help and had a great attitude. Getting married in 2013 and this is where I will definitely be hosting my wedding. Love it, BOOK YOUR TRIP NOW AND WAIT NO MORE. EXPERIENCE A BIT OF PARADISE.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 8, 2017
Great trip!

Just got back from a trip over New Year's. Great resort, great value. Pictures on the website represent the place perfectly. My wife and I had a honeymoon villa with a 2 person jacuzzi (more like 8-10 person) in the room, a Terrace overlooking the ocean, a minibar which was restocked daily, and an outdoor shower. Very secluded room despite being in a building with 4 units...we never heard our neighbors. Resort is HUGE and there is something to do wherever you go so you'll always feel like you're in a different place. Food was good and plentiful (not great) but I'm a spoiled NYer so take that with a grain of salt. All-inclusive package was exactly that; we only brought cash for tipping. I know the price changes all the time, but this place was cheap compared to other resorts offering deals over New Year's. Best restaurant was the seafood place. Get to the restaurants early as they can fill up. Overall experience-got exactly what we expected...no surprises or disappointments. If you're thinking of booking, do it!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 35-44

March 10, 2017
Great Vacation

My wife and I went to Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton for our honeymoon. We will definitely be back. This isn't a 5 star resort (I've stayed at some), but it’s a high 4 star with GREAT service, for 1/3 to 1/2 the price of a 5 star (I've never been as happy with my bang for my buck on a vacation). The resort staff are wonderful, the views are beautiful, and there is always something to do. The staff starts trying to hand you drinks starting at 10am. Like literally, they are chasing (in a nice way) you around the resort asking if you would like anything. There is a bar within a 1 minute walk from anywhere on the resort, and the bartenders aren't stingy. The diner al la carte restaurants are amazing, but you may want to go either early or late. If you try to have dinner at 7pm, you're going to wait 30-90 minutes (with a pager to call you when the table is ready, and a waiting area with a bar... and people were complaining... I hate people...). There is almost never a line at the buffets (which are great), there is room service from 11am-11pm (not bad and it’s convenient, but the food at the restaurants is better), and you could simply have dinner at 5:30pm or at 8:30pm and pretty much walk right into whatever restaurant you want. The entertainment was much better than I expected. There is a 60-90 min show after dinner every night that's actually pretty good (I was expecting cheesy cruise ship type entertainment, this was much better). There is something (usually more than 1 thing at a time) going on almost all hours of the day. Yoga, kayaking, archery, mini golf, dance classes, snorkeling, casino, sports bar, and themed little parties all over. Lots of stuff for kids and they split it into ages (little kids, big kids, teenagers). The adult nightclub (opens from 11pm-2am) is hit or miss depending on who is with you and what night of the week it is (however you can tell the DJ what you want to hear and he will play it). Also if you are looking to “turn up” or are looking for a nice relaxing vacation, pay attention to when you are going on your vacation. Certain times of the year is all families with kids, certain times of the year it is college kids. We spent 8 days & 7 nights and we still didn't do everything or eat everywhere that the resort has to offer. We did leave the resort for one day (do the catamaran day cruise from over by the sunset cove, it’s the best deal for your money by far and a great little trip). Sunset cove is my favorite area of the resort. There are free water sports, "free" snorkeling (you have to leave a refundable deposit), a jerk hut (chicken, rice and some Jamaican sides right on the beach), Poseidon (the resorts seafood restaurant), 2 bars (a "basic" bar with "only" about 10 to 15 things to choose from, and to my absolute horror, I had to walk up one whole flight of stairs to get to the full service bar...I'm sorry...lol.. people were really complaining about this... people suck) all right on a private beach and all within 30 to 50 steps of each other. If it really is going to bother you that much to have to take a 30 second walk to refill your drink, take a big thermos with you and the bartenders will happily make you larger drinks. Before going on our trip, we had researched ratings and comments and noticed the 3 main complaints about the resort was rude staff (I've never been treated this well at a resort, not one single person was rude to me or my wife), the food wasn't good (I'm kind of a foody, and the food here is absolutely fantastic, however the desserts weren't quite as good), and that you had to do a lot of walking (it is a 5 to 10 min walk from room to the main parts of the resort… but only if you stay on the "adults" or "honeymoon" part of the resort, and a shuttle comes by every 10-15 mins if you don't feel like walking, and YOU CAN CALL A SHUTTLE to your room or from your room whenever you would like). The staff will keep trying to sell you Spa & Trip packages, but are very courteous when you decline. They will also try to get you to buy a timeshare package. Takes about 2 hours and you get a bottle of rum (on a resort where the drinks are free... sooo…yay?) and a few things from the day spa. The deal for the timeshare isn't bad, but if you're not really interested in buying, just skip the sales pitch and enjoy your vacation. The only decision I have to make is if we are going back to this exact resort or we are going to check out some of the other Grand Palladium resorts around the world. Great trip, great staff, great resort.


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ft Lauderdale, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 14, 2010
Your not gonna believe this place

I have been to Jamaic seven times and the Grand Palladium/Lady Hamilton for the 3rd time in April 2010. The grounds are impeccably manicured and very clean. The flower gardens are awesome and there are many of them. The place is over a mile long, all coastline and 1/2 mile wide. All staff members speak English. Our villla and most walkways in the facilities are marble. Our junior suite had marble floors and a marble shower. The view from our balcony was to die for. I received my choice of rooms since I was a returning guest. The pool is the largest in Jamaica and 4th largest in the world. We spent much of our time there with the swim up bar (and gorgeous women). !There are many other pools too, especially the adult pool overlooking our balcony! ! Water sport are abundant i.e. snorkling, kayaking, paddle boats, wind surfing, etc - all included.. We got loaded a couple of times since drinks are readily available 24/7 and danced the night away. Food was incredible with all the theme restaurants -Italian, Indian Mexican Chinese, a steakhouse (BUBBA's) and the buffets, WOW. The food displays are ..Make sure you bring your camera. My niece ihas gone there for her honeymoon. This is the best resort I have ever been to and I have traveled the world. I'll be going back. My wife and I have gone twice and I have gone with my high school friend for a "guy's vacation". Zip lining is amazing as are Dunn's River Falls. Many excursions are available. They also have tennis courts, basketball courts, soccer, putt-r-golf. The gym is great. After a workout you can dive right into a huge pool 10 feet away and swim a short 'river' to the spa area with 7 whirlpools, some warm, some air temperature and some for the kids. It's got wet and dry suanas and showers fully equipped. Food and drink are available 24/7, the place never shuts down. Sunset Cove was also one of our favorite spots too, slightly more secluded. Friday nights are the beach BBQ party. There are countless lounge chairs and cabanas to lie under. Look online for pictures of Lady Hamilton and you'll see what I mean. This is a great place at any price and more than reasonable when booking through CheapCaribbean.com. Tom B.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Macomb, MI
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 2, 2012
A long time coming

It's been awhile since I vacationed at the Lady Hamilton (May 2011) but I remember it like it was yesterday! My husband and I both had an amazing time enjoying most of the ammenities at the resort. We were welcomed with a rum punch which is always a nice way to start a vacation. Checking in didn't take too long and when we were finished were carted to our room which was beautiful. I do have to say it was a little humid in there but after being out in the heat all day during the vacay we hardly even noticed it after the first day. I was amazed and very happy with the size of the pool, and the swim up bar was a great place to hang out at. The bartenders were all so nice and down to earth, making sure that everyone was having a good time. We even got to know (as you do on a vacation) some of them as we saw them often. The beach right off of the main pool was beautiful; I saw the best sunsets during my time here from that beach. The food was delish! Of course, the Jerk hut was outstanding and by far a staple of our trip-we ate there for lunch every day! It's somewhere you might have to ask how to get to, as it's on another part of the resort with a whole other beach (which was great in itself because we got to do some kayaking and they also offer sailboating and paddleboats). We spent some time at the adult pool-that we spotted on our way to the Jerk hut-and it was a nice change from the sometimes overwhelming size/activity level of the main pool. Our morning breakfast everyday at the buffet was perfect-the coffee was amazing and I could get some fresh fruit or an omelette depending on my appetite. The lounge that was upstairs above the pool was a great place to catch live reggae and meet up with friends that we met earlier in the day. That led to the dance club later in the evening which was a lot of fun as well. I used the internet cafe a few times (due to a paper I had to turn in-yes, while on vacation!) and the software isn't exactly the same as what I was used to but it served it's purpose. Overall, we had a great time on vacation here at the Lady Hamilton and I dream of going back someday, maybe even with my kids or even a group of friends. I wouldn't let bad reviews of this place discourage you from experiencing it because I'm glad we decided to see for ourselves!

View from our room's patio Sunset from lounge above the pool
36 of 42 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 3, 2011
Amazing Vacation

The Grand Palladium Montego Bay is a fantastic resort! There are two sides of the resort the Jamaican side and the Lady Hamilton side, the latter being the newer of the two. We stayed on the Lady Hamilton side. The property sits between Montego Bay and Negril despite the misnomer in the name. It's about an hour to Negril (check out 7 Mile Beach and Rick's Cafe or 3 Dives for the sunset), and 45 minutes to Bottom Rd in Montego Bay. Makes for a nice trip off the property for a day. I'd avoid the pricey and more regimented day tours and hire a local driver. It's about the same cost or cheaper (depending on the door) and there's no sense of being rushed. We felt very comfortable with Wayne, he made you aware than he hadn't left but was never intrusive. He knew everybody which was nice when you're in an unfamiliar place. Every place he took us to was a hit (even Margaritaville which I was skeptical of, the one in Negril was awesome). He even took us to a great local restaurant called Sky Beach... Check it out if you're looking for something safe but off the beaten path of the resort. The private tour was really something we enjoyed very much. For the price. it's a no brainer. I would say it's pretty much understood that you're expected to pay for your guide's meals and drinks. Again, well worth it. There are some great pools and beaches. Sunset Cove offers up some great free snorkeling right on site as well as 1 or 2 hour snorkel tours that we didn't try. For two novices like us, the reef on the property (in Sunset Cove) was more than enough. There's a good jerk hut right by the beach as well. There are other non-motorized (free) water sports like windsurfing, sailing, and paddleboats as well. Pretty good sunset from that area too. The food was quite good however, the buffets didn't change from day to day too much, which has it's pro's and con's. The ala carte restaurant, Xamaica was very good although the service was a little less than perfect. I had the Jerk Chicken which was as good as I'd had elsewhere on the island. The people (including the servers and bartenders) are very laid back and work at a pretty relaxed pace. That is very typical from everywhere I've seen in Jamaica. As far as the drinks, expect Red Stripe mostly on tap. If you want it in a bottle, they provide each Honeymoon Villa with a few. Tip them when they deliver it and they'll leave extras. Appleton Estate Rum is very popular. Try a Jamaican Rum Cream, it's kind of like Bailey's only creamier. The Honeymoon Villas located on the Lady Hamilton side of the resort are awesome. They come with an adults only private beach, and they're right near a pool bar that's open until midnight. They have an outdoor shower that would be a lot nicer if it offered a good view of something as opposed to the very high walls which offer more than enough privacy. There's a nice sized jaccuzzi in the bathroom, along with sinks across the room from one another. They also have a balcony or patio depending if you're on the first floor or second. Very quiet and spacious. Tipping didn't seem mandatory but was greatly appreciated. The staff was very accommodating. They'll get you anything you want and arrange for you to be taken anywhere you'd like to go. Just ask. As far as Jamaica goes, it's a beautiful, tropical island where the weather is 70-80 most days of the year with usually little rainfall except in mid-September. The beaches are beautiful, the hillsides are lush and green. The people are very nice an friendly. English is the official language although the locals speak Patois (broken English) to one another. They take US Currency almost everywhere. Some of the smaller shops the very local sections might not. No matter what you fancy, Jamaica is incredible,... And so is The Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton. Print out your itinerary. It makes checking in a lot easier. I never print those out. With smartphones nowadays, you never need to. It really makes it much easier in this instance.

View off of the balcony from the Honeymoon Villa The beach @ Sunset Cove on the Lady Hamilton side of the resort
18 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 31, 2015
Don't Book Major Construction

I have stayed stayed this resort before and it was a fine resort for the money, however this time we booked same bungalow we stayed in last time and the beach right outside out bungalow was under being dredged with heavy machinery from 7 am until 6 pm, this was the couples beach so we had to walk to the other side of the resort daily to utilize the family beach and since everyone was trying to get a spot in the shade it was always a mad dash early in the morning. The sidewalks and roads where being demolished and rebuilt so every morning at 7 am we would awaken to the sound of skidsteers and jack hammers. Most of the rooms are under remodel so you must walk through construction zones to get to the restaurants and the activities. The bungalow we had was remodeled but was missing seem items and seemed slapped together. The air conditioner never cooled the room the entire week we where there was miserably hot. The mattress felt like it was filled with cement hardest mattress i have ever encountered anywhere in the world. Now for the good people are friendly and attentive many of them went out of there way to make us comfortable and the entertainment staff where first rate. The shows where very professionally done and first class. The buffet was a typical all inclusive buffet but the Jerk hut was one of the best I have ever eaten at in over twenty years of trips to Jamaica. THE PEOPLE I HOLD ACCOUNTABLE FOR OUR DISAPPOINTING VACATION IS CHEAPCARIBEAN, THEY SHOULD HAVE KNOW ABOUT THE CONSTRUCTION AND THEY SHOULD HAVE INDICATED IT WHEN I BOOKED.

View street side from out bungalow This monster churned up the ocean daily
17 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Dallas Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 5, 2015
Worst vacation I've ever taken

We visited the Grand Palladium arriving on May 19, 2015 and departing on May 24, 2015 Upon arrival we were asked if we would like to upgrade our current junior suite to a bungalow which we agreed to do costing us an additional $240 for 5 nights. We had seen pictures on line of some of the bungalows and didn't like the lay out of the hot tub on the other side of the bed. We asked the woman at the desk multiple times if this was the layout of the room we would be staying in and she told us definitely not. When we reached our room we found that the room we were staying in was the one we asked NOT to be placed in. Among other issues the front door inside fell off completely, the screen to the outside deck had multiple holes in it and there was mold covering the window in the room on the right (all of which we took pictures of). As we were on vacation we didn't want to complain so we dealt with the issues with the room as it would take too much time out of our vacation to change rooms. Every single day we were there we would come back from the beach at 1pm and find the room not clean. The first day we thought maybe they clean the rooms later but by 5pm still no one had come. So we called the front desk to have the room clean. This would happen EVERYDAY. We would call every single day to have someone clean our room. Never once was the room cleaned without us calling first. On our second day we met with our amstar representative to confirm and book an excursion to Nine Mile and Dunn's River Falls. We had expressed concern of the length of the excursion and we were assured by the Amstar representative that the drive was only two hours with traffic. It took three and a half hours to get to Nine Mile with no traffic and another hour and a half to get to Dunn's River Falls. What was supposed to be a 8 hour excursion had taken us over 12 hours. The buffet food options were very limited and of very poor quality. Anything that was any good had tremendous lines and limited supplies. We saw mangos the first day and never again after. I waited fifteen minutes one day for pancakes only to find no maple syrup. I foolishly asked for more syrup and waited another twenty minutes for an employee to return with a gallon he was shaking to mix water and maple syrup… gross! While the pancake guy was off getting syrup, leaving pancakes on the grill to burn, the man mopping the floor decided his hands were clean enough to start flipping the burning pancakes… even more gross!!! Needless to say I did not have pancakes that morning or any morning after. By far this was the worst buffet I had ever encountered on an all inclusive resort. On Friday our room was BROKEN into and our duty free items and souvenirs and a KEY to the room stolen. When we reported this to the hotel they had the hotel security come make a report and NEVER contacted us after. It was only after we followed up with them did we get a response on the last day which was that there was NOTHING the hotel could do. The manager on duty who made this decision was Katrina Thomas. The only thing the hotel did do for us was to change our room to a room which wasn't on the beach! Which was not what we paid for! On Saturday we again met with our Amstar representative to confirm our airport transfers and explain to her how items were missing from our room. She immediately expressed concern and assured us that she would make sure management would contact us in regards to or room being broken into and that she would meet us in the lobby the following morning for check out and follow up with us as well as see that made or transfers. That following morning we were checking out and still not one person had reached out to us to follow up on the situation. My girlfriend then approached guest relations for the second time. Only then did a manager approach us in the lobby while we were waiting for our bus to tell us the hotel was not compensating us for our loss. Also throughout the whole checkout process our Amstar representative who was in the lobby, who told us the previous day she would see us off and follow up on the situation, was clearly avoiding us at all costs. We had to then approach her to ask why she didn't tell the bus that they needed an additional couple before leaving she didn't have a response and then when back to helping other guests. Her name was Samantha. On the last day we were told our shuttle would be in the lobby at 10am and that we had to be ready at 10am to leave. We got to the lobby before 9:30am to check our bags and by 1015am we inquired as to where the shuttle was, come to find out the shuttle left without us! No one bothered to notify us that the shuttle was even there!!!! We had to wait an additional hour for a new shuttle to come pick us up and on the way to the airport he picked up a hitch hiker and almost rear ended the car in front of us. The staff overall were VERY rude. We only once saw a waiter on the beach to serve drinks and very seldom in the buffets and restaurants. Also, when we were asked to take a survey of our services at the spa the esthetician stood right next to us while we rated her!!! So much for putting what we really thought of our experience! Due to the aforementioned issued we will never be using both cheap carribean or grand pallidium resorts again.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Croton on Hudson, new york
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year