All

Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 85 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4 out of 5
"Great fun for the family. Our teen boys enjoyed the teen club and we enjoyed the options for relaxing and activities." – MichSiv
71 out of 95 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Grand Palladium Pest Best beach day ever Jr Suite Royal Great day at the bar

All Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 85 reviews. Sort by
January 18, 2016
Awesome Vacation

Everything was on point. -Room was clean and new looking -Food was amazing, and with the buffets you can go here for a week and still not get to try everything,a la carte restaurants were pretty good too. -Staff was awesome, always coming up to you asking if you need help, and always smiling. -Drinks were also amazing, weren't watered down and you can ask to have as much or as little alcohol in your drink. Overall, was an amazing experience, and would definitely recommend.


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 26, 2016
Grand Palladium not so grand

This resort is not our idea of a beach resort. There are no rooms near beach. Vlllas are far from the lobby and restaurants and even further from the pool and beach. Food in the buffets was not good. Outdoor restaurant had some sort of critters similar to racoons and staff running around with brooms to shoo them off.One even jumped up on my table and took a piece of pizza. At the evening beach restaurant there were raccoons running around and also getting on tables. Just not my idea of a nice meal. Staff was very friendly and most spoke minimal English. We have been to Mexico twice and loved our other resort, but would not go back here.

Grand Palladium Pest
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pawleys Island, SC
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 26, 2015
great bang for your buck!

no need to upgrade to the Royal Suite when you have a Mayan suite on the beach! resort is big but the train will get you wherever you need to go.Food in special restraunts was good,and so was the buffet. Prime rib and roast beef every night we ate there. Spa was fantastic with a lot of special amenities,infinity pool and several hot tub choices. we recommend and will probably stay there again!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: amarillo tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 15, 2016
Loved my vacation

The resort was beautiful. My little family enjoyed everything about it. We were supposed to leave on Christmas eve. The weather had Atlanta shut down. The folks at Cheapcaribbean helped us work out flights for the next day and changed the resort reservations. So we could still get a full week. The only thing that was a little disappointing was that the winds and waves were such that we did not get in the ocean as much as I would have liked. But they had several pools all around the property. Already looking around for the next vacation.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Savannah, GA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 20, 2016
Awesome family resort!

We booked this resort after reading lots of reviews and doing a lot of research. The resort is family friendly, very clean and there is a ton to do if you so choose. I went with my teen son, just the two of us. We both had an amazing time but honestly don't feel like we even saw close to everything the resort has to offer... It's just that big! We stayed near the Kantenah side for the most part, it had everything we needed or wanted, but there is so much this resort offers that my review may be lacking on the overall offerings! We arrived early (11am) and were given wristbands, towel cards and everything else needed to enjoy the resort with the exception of our room keys. They will gladly hold your luggage. We were given a room around 3:30. They accommodated our floor request and no smoking request. There were no bellboys around so we grabbed our luggage and off we went. Big mistake! We got lost and confused and were a frustrated sweaty mess by the time we found our room and lugged our bags up the flights of stairs. Open the door to the room, and found a king bed! Ya.. NO. We called down and within ten minutes they had sent a bellboy and cart to take us to a new room. 4236. Perfect spot close to everything (if there is such a thing :)!), third floor, no smoking. Well worth the few dollars to tip the staff to cart around our bags! That was the first of only three glitches all vacation, all rectified by the staff quickly and without issue. The second came when we checked out the teen club two days in and were informed that my son had a purple wrist band which signaled he is old enough to drink.... he's 13. We thought it funny when staff offered him drinks the first two days and thought they were making jokes. Had no idea they were serious! Went to the front desk and they fixed it quickly and were very apologetic. The rest of the week was beyond awesome. I've broken down my feedback below. (In case you're wondering... Third glitch was in a restaurant -see the food section.) Checkout was a breeze even with a late flight. These folks do it right! A HUGE thanks to the Palladium team for an amazing vacation. It was so enjoyable and their staff is so awesome. it made me realize how much I loved and miss it as soon as we landed in NYC and had bad service... LOL We will definitely book Palladium again!! Thank you for an awesome week!!!! Walking- the reviews could not possibly prepare you for all the walking! NBD for us, it's great to burn off all those calories from eating :) could be tricky for anyone with health issues. Easily you make your 10,000 steps a day! Never go without sandals! The pavers can be hot and once you burn your feet, you're toast! (Haha!) Trams/carts - the carts are everywhere. Pickups are at lobbies but even just walking on the paths we were picked up a few times by very thoughtful staff! We never had any problems with carts, if one was full another was pulling up right behind it. We only used carts going from one lobby to the next around dinner/evening times. A must if traveling from Kantenah to white sands for dinner. Animals- are everywhere! They reminded me of our beggar dog who we love dearly but steals the food off our plate if given the chance... But they are so darn cute and who can blame them really! Iguanas coati and birds are everywhere. They love to be fed. Small salamanders are around, hermit crabs too. Kittens as well. They have flamingo and crocodile enclosures. We didn't have any issues with bugs with the exception of one night in a lobby.. I got bit like crazy until we finally left. Odd but true. Food - breakfast was the best buffet.. Yum! We used Tikal. Loved it! Lunch buffets were good. Pizza was delicious. Not a fan of the burgers. We dined at a la cartes for dinner. Don't forget khaki type shorts for men, saw folks turned away. Restaurants were all pretty good with the exception of one. If you don't like a dish, there's another course coming. In our opinion- best was Mexican, food was good and the staff couldn't be beat! Then Japanese (not hibachi) - best beef sushi roll! Then the Steakhouse Brazilian and Spanish restaurants. The third glitch was the Italian restaurant. The food was not great, any of it, and I was poured not one glass of wine but two with flies in it. Yep. True story. I'd just pass on that one in the future. One tip for food is the snack bar behind the Kantenah pool. They make coffee, cappuccino in the early morning. You can be served or eat off their hot foods line starting mid morning. Nachos and cheese fries always available. A soft serve ice cream machine. Soda fountains too. We had cheese fries daily... Again, why we liked all the walking! It was the best go to while hanging at the pool daily. And it had a bar! Drinks- the Kantenah pool bars are the best. Mario at the snack bar bar is always busy but fast! And he has a good memory! Alfredo at the pool bar by the buffet is so funny and makes drinks "strong like me". They were my faves. Highly recommend the mango margarita.... and bring your own drink mugs!!! Kantenah Pool - plenty of palapas and loungers to go around. I am an early riser so I started my days at the pool early. It doesn't start hopping until around 10am. Palapas are harder to find at that point. With the heat and sun you want a palapa. Loungers are nicer at the other pools but are still fine. There's music and games but nothing crazy or too loud. We lived at the pool all week. A few sales calls for the spa or water sports but a simple no thank you goes a long way. Near the activities center is an outdoor play area with ping pong tables and lifesize chess board. Beach - beautiful but definitely not enough loungers. I love the beach but prefer a pool any day. If you didn't get a lounger early, don't plan on it. Hammocks were mostly open for those lovely beach naps :) Snorkel kayak paddle board or boat for free. You need to present your photo ID and room key! We snorkeled. Totally worth it though kind of choppy water on our time out making it difficult. Definitely rocky at first entry, wear swim shoes. Saltwater pool- AMAZING. Easy walk from Kantenah beach. Great snorkeling in there. Definitely a must visit. Room- clean and well kept! Never noisy. Great balcony with rack for drying clothes. No dampness or smells like some reviews I read. Plenty of water and sodas in room. Unplug a lamp for another outlet to charge your electronics. We set room to 19 degrees with fan on high. Of course it shuts off when you're not in your room. Villa 42... Found it was perfectly close to lobby and pool with just a short walk.... But remember that here "close" is relative and I'm a fast walker! Teen club/activities- activities were all day everyday... You choose if you want to participate or more. We never used the sports center although a draw to booking the hotel it was just too hot and definitely too far from the pool! Teen club was ok... Just not used by a lot of teens!! Unlike a cruise where those clubs are high in demand this was not. But a nice "break" for my son when he wanted to shoot pool or play games... Without me :P !! the staff was pretty awesome there too! Thanks Daniella! Staff- awesome, awesome awesome!!! Cannot say enough good things. They are hustlers, always moving and pleased to help you in any way shape or form. We had the best service the entire stay- from the lobby to the waiters to the drivers to the cleaning crew! So friendly and so wonderful. Truly can't say enough. I miss all of the warm smiles and "Holas" already! Palladium hires the absolute best!! Money/Tips- bring plenty of cash! They have on site artisans who sell their creations, I wish I brought more money for souvenirs. The ATM offers a surcharge of $32. I had only cash for tips and a travel card. I tipped bar staff regularly a dollar not for every drink but throughout the day. and always at dinner a few dollars. Room cleaning team and sometimes drivers. The staff is so amazing , they deserve it! One thing to note... Tipping does NOT earn you quicker or better service. These folks hustle, but a customer is a customer tip or no tip. I for one think that says a lot of the integrity of the hotel and its staff. That being said... Everyone should tip when service is this good! Suggestions- a coffee bar! There is a sad little machine that doesn't work well for early risers. I asked reception and that was the direction they gave me. After the first day or two I was dying for a good cup of coffee first thing in the morning. After that I often went to the breakfast buffet when it opened at 7am - where they accommodated my request but I know they were busy trying to seat tables and feed the masses. I found the snack pool bar opened early and made coffee not until the end of my stay. A designated coffee bar would be a lovely addition for us coffee addicts!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 21, 2016
Grand Palladium Kantaneh - Best vacation!

I recently returned from Grand Palladium Kantaneh (GPK) after enjoying a fabulous vacation with family (13yr old, 19 yr old and spouse) From the moment we arrived, we were highly impressed with GPK - its grounds, staff, accommodations, services, amenities, and all around atmosphere. If you are truly looking to relax and have no worries, GPK is for you! The grounds are amazing - filled with diverse wildlife and impeccably cared for. I appreciated the environmentally responsible mantra of this resort. There was always something interesting to discover as we walked the grounds - and you will certainly be doing quite a bit of walking if you choose to. (If not - there are always drivers willing to pick you up and take you to a location - no worries!) Our accommodations were very nice - easy walking distance from lobby, clean and comfortable. We had two beds in the room - probably the one negative we encountered - the beds are too small for 2 average sized adults! The air conditioning in the room works on sensors (environmentally responsible!) and we found this out when we returned the first night and the AC was not working. It is was very hot and we called for service at 10:30 pm. Within 15 minutes, a polite young man arrived, walked over to the sliding balcony doors, adjusted the door and on went the AC. Easy solution - but something we did not know! We visited the buffet for dining pretty much every day. With four people that have varied tastes, it was the best bet. The food was always fresh, areas were always clean and staff was always willing to be of assistance.We enjoyed the variety of foods and options - there is something for everyone. If you want to visit the many restaurants - we heard from other guests that there were many that were exceptional. There is also a snack bar by the pool that is open all day and you can order from their menu as well. The pool was fantastic. Get there early for areas to sit - but be considerate of others. There were many areas to relax in - you need to be patient if you plan on coming midday. The pool was the center of many activities - dance lessons, sports activities, music. Please check the schedule you are given when you check in. There are also BIG schedules posted around the resort, as well as BIG MAPS - no excuses for not knowing your way around or not knowing what's going on!! There are shows every evening - check the schedule. We enjoyed them! The beach was beautiful. Kantaneh has the best section of beach in the resort - other areas are rocky and you can snorkel in those areas. Bring water shoes.There are water sports available - kayaking, pedal boats, paddleboarding. Take walks down both sides of the beach - walk down to the hammocks area, look at the turtle nesting area - we got lucky and saw many baby turtles.(once again - environmentally responsible!) Walk to Las Rocas - the salt water pool - you can actually snorkel in the pool - small fish freely flow in and out. It's quiet, relaxing and so beautiful there.On the way to Las Rocas, there is another snack bar on the beach - very nice - more quiet than the one at Kantaneh. The staff at GPK was exceptional. There was always a welcoming attitude while walking around the resort - Good morning - Buenos dias, Hola, - polite, considerate and personable. Remember - you get what you give. Although it is not necessary, a small tip for services is appreciated. (not expected!) Staff members worked very hard to make our vacation exceptional - and it was!


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 6, 2015
Nice and affordable vacation

This was our second time to stay at the Grand Palladium resort and we had a great time. My teenage daughter and I go for a girls trip and we feel safe and have a wonderful time. The activities and food are good and the beach is beautiful!

Nice and affordable vacation
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 5, 2016
Excellent All-Inclusive Resort

The Grand Palladium is a huge resort. There are so many things to see and do on the property. It is best to have someone who has stayed on the property take you around for a tour. Food, rooms, service and grounds were excellent. Nightly shows were all very good. Lots of activities for all ages. Beach is great and water is beautiful. I will definitely go back to this resort.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cleveland, Ohio
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

February 26, 2017
Stunning

After getting through the pushy salesman as we were exiting the Cancun airport. It wasn't hard to find our transportation. Which was very nice. We were able to talk with the driver about things to do or see and discuss his way of life a bit. Very educational. The ride to the palladium was about an hour and fifteen minutes. But it did not seem long at all. So after all that we are dropped at our resort. Which was amazing. Huge open air lobby. Very nicely decorated. With all high end finishes. I felt very happy to be staying there. The staff were all very happy to help us with anything that we wanted. Rides or information. There were lots of restaurants to choose from which was nice. And the pools and bars were also great. Some of the staff that you see everyday did a great job remembering our names. And made us feel at home. The staff here I believe are this resorts most important feature. I mean these people really go out of there way to make you feel welcomed. Everyone will say hello as they pass by. I don't know if they are that well managed or are they just very appreciative of their jobs. I haven't even talked about the ocean yet. Which is also amazing. White sand and huge beach. I would definitely go back here. I just felt bad for all the people in the world that weren't there with us. THANK YOU PALLADIUM!!! And THANK YOU CHEAP CARIBEAN!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Upper michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 4, 2017
Beautiful and Relaxing

Loved the beautiful setting with trees and private walkways; unique bridges to take you through jungle like areas. The buffets were delicious with a variety of foods. The beach was close to everything else and well maintained. Their were swim up bars located by large, beautiful pools. The snack bar near the beach was wonderful. We also went to two of the speciality restaurants...Itailian and Mexican. They were excellent. Members of our group went to several others which were also said to be delicious. This was my favorite resort out of the three I have experienced.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year