All

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 722 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4.2 out of 5
"Me and my wife had a wonderful time at this resort. The people made us feel real welcome and like family." – Clem19
737 out of 886 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
yea mon! first day One small part of the pool! Walking to dinner, just beautiful View from snorkel boat at Sunset Cove Grand Palladium Resort Above Sunset Cover The Main Beach Mr. & Mrs. Walker Entrance to the resort Villa 24 buy the beach with kayak rental view from room Overlooking Coral Beach Infinity bar & Pool Chuck & Pam Grand Palladium Jamaica The Good Life Over looking the main pool In our room be4 dinner Watching the sunsets from our private balcony in the cozy comforts of our plush robes and slippers this is a typical sunset nightly View from our balcony Not even half of the beautiful view beautiful sunset great food steak house at Grand Palladium breathtaking view from our room the infinity pool View from lobby breath taken pool at Grand Palladium Jamaica in June main pool from the 2nd floor of lobby Just chillin beach View from the Lady Hamilton Lobby Relaxing Poolside pool One big pool!!! sunset from the resort Great place to relax! Sunset hotel room The Main Pool Nice but our view jamaica Sunset Beach the main pool View from the upper walkway Just Chillin View from our balcony Grand Palladium Jamaica Photo I took at the Seafood restaurant on evening Sunset Cove on one side of the resort where there is free paddle boats and snorkeling near shore. At the pool mud slide at the beach! grand welcome stairs Sunset Cove Sunset Grand Palladium smaller cove View from our patio jamaica At one of the lovely restaurants beautiful sunsets! 2 am after dancing all night Large Pool Facility View from our balcony We loved our evening strolls, taking in the warm ocean breeze Sunset! First thing in the morning:) Right off of the seafood restaurant:) Absolutely beautiful weather even with one day of rain... unforgettable sunsets off the resort. Sunset at Ricks Cafe View from our balcony one of the beachs on the resort Beautiful Sunset Sunset The Best Food & service Oasis in our villa Beach My Villa Our Room beach / windy side Sunset

All Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 722 reviews. Sort by
March 26, 2015
disappointed

Overall was disappointed. Facility was nice. Beach and pool great. Food selection was large but poor quality. Internet service was similar to the resort service.......sometimes good sometimes poor. My husband and I enjoy wine but the "house" wine was caustic at best. Had to buy an extrmely overpriced bottle from the menu. Will not be going to Jamaica again.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: mid west
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 23, 2015
MEH...it was an ok trip but would not return

Pros: - giant beautiful pool - not too expensive - drive from airport is only about 40 min - great service in the buffets - honest staff (security guard returned my lost cell phone) - bartenders are very friendly - access to many lovely excursions - huge kiddie play area meant not too many kids in the big pool - rooms are spacious - beautiful sunsets Cons: - had to wait hours to be seated for dinner at a la carte restaurants - food is not great - beaches are man made and rocky - drinks are weak. - called front desk bc our safe was broken and they never fixed it - staff does not seem to care about your experience there - only 2 water bottles, you have to pay absurd prices for more - you need a stupid towel card to get a fresh towel - had to wear a wristband entire time - largest hotel in Jamaica, has a factory feel - hotel is in middle of nowhere...no cute little town to explore! - not enough activities and events on the resort


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Greenwich, CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 19, 2015
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton resort & Spa

We went to Jamaica to celebrate my daughter's 30th birthday and it was wonderful. From the front desk service to entertainment and dancers we welcomed with open arms. Night of her birthday we decided to back to the Xaymaica Restaurant where we were treated like queens. We went the day before and decided to go back for her birthday and she will never forget the great service from all the waiters to the bartender and the front greeters. Room was clean and cleaning staff are wonderful too. So many pools to choose from and the different clubs to party in are great. The Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa All Inclusive is a wonderful place and next time I go I will stay there again.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 16, 2015
Very nice resort

The resort was beautiful. The pool was enormous, but not really an infinite pool. Most of the beaches were pretty rocky and the sand was course, but there were a lot of nice places to sit and fun niches here and there. My flight was delayed, which caused me to miss a day. The resort refused to give me another day at a discounted rate, or re-imburse me for the day we missed. I think it is in bad taste because they didn't lose any money since we weren't there to eat, drink, use the resources, and they weren't fully booked. Clearly it is the airlines fault that we could not arrive on time, but I still think the resort could have "made things right". Instead, United, the Resort, and CC are all pointing fingers at each other while reaching into my wallet. 2.5 days of travel and 2.5 days on the beach - not fair.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Nashville,TN
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 16, 2015

This resort has the potential to be a 5 star, if they improve the food and replace the beds. The service was very good and the resort was very nice, but because of the food being just average and the comfort of the beds being hard I don't think we will ever go back. I believe if they improve those two things, people would return to this beautiful resort in a heart beat. In talking to a lot of people at the resort they had the same opinion as us.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: PA.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 14, 2015
Do not buy into the negative reviews!!

First off, I want to start by saying that I finally gave up on reading the reviews of Grand Palladium-it was either horrible or perfect. My wife and I returned yesterday from 6 days there, and the stay far exceeded our expectations. I'll start with some of the main points of bad reviews I read, and what the reality was. 1. Poor service, staff doesn't care, slow, unresponsive. From the moment we arrived, we did not encounter one person that did not bend over backwards to help us-from the check in staff to room service, wait staff, security, lifeguards, etc., etc. All were exceptionally friendly and always willing to help. We gave small tips on almost everything, just because of this. 2. Horrible Food The buffets were quite good, especially the daily freshly prepared meals. Like any buffet, you will encounter come cold food, etc., but as a whole, very good, nice presentation. The ala carte restaurants were a step above, and we can honestly say we did not have a single bad meal, and the service was extraordinary. It is first come, first served (no reservations), but if you arrive early, you'll get in fairly quickly. Note that some people have said that it seems that certain people get preferential treatment or allowed to make reservations. This is true of certain Canadian customers who book through a Canadian travel company, but it is not big deal). And if you have to wait a little while, I can't imagine complaining about having a couple of cocktails in perfect Jamaican weather in one of beautiful connected outdoor bars. Want to note here that Novia (Manager) and Ricardo (waiter) in the Mexican restaurant are absolutely outstanding, as is Jean in the Infinity bar. The jerk hut serves incredible jerk chicken and seafood paella every day-it is a must have. 3. Terrible rooms, bad smell, While we can only speak for our room, it was beautiful, and maintained perfectly by the housekeeping staff daily. I will say that you'll probably notice a slightly musty smell in your room, but that is to be expected in an environment that is constantly very humid and warm. We did have an issue with our AC the first day, but they had maintenance there within 15 minutes to repair it. 4. Lack of decent beaches, lounge chairs. There are better beaches at other resorts, but the beaches at GP are acceptable, and each offers something a little different. You will find them raked and clean every morning (no small feat considering the number of people out every day) The main beach on the Jamaica side is rocky, but beautiful. The adult beach on the Lady Hamilton side is beautiful, and swimmable. Coral Beach is smaller, but also swimmable. Sunset Cove (sports beach) is large and also swimmable. There were always chairs available, no matter what the time of day. 5. Dirty Pools, too loud, etc. The main pool is a sight to behold-absolutely beautiful with a great view of the ocean. The smaller pools on each side of the resort were nice as well-bar available at all pools. Pools were very clean (saw at least 10 workers skimming the pool every morning to remove leaves, etc), and enjoyable. There is music going at various times, but never anything crazy loud. 6. Boring shows All I can say is every main show we saw was top notch, and the shows offered at the Infinity Bar nightly were excellent as well. 7. Watered down drinks I have to say that if they water them down, it sure isn't much. You can definitely get your fill of alcohol here. Like any other all inclusive, the drinks all have kind of the same taste after a while, but all in all quite good. The restaurants have a great selection of bottled wines for purchase at very reasonable process. We do suggest taking a travel mug, as the glasses are small-there are no limits on the sizes they will fill. 8. Noisy grounds maintenance, repairs I have to wonder-when would one expect upkeep to be performed? It has to be done on a constant basis in the environment, and I have to say that the maintenance staff does a good job of being unobtrusive and quiet. Even the leaf blowers are extremely muffled-you can hardly hear them. 9. Bad or no wifi Considering the sheer number of people using the services, we were very happy with it. Easy connection, was able to upload or download pics/video with ease. Did drop signal once in a while, but hey, that happens almost everywhere. All in all, a nearly perfect experience for us. Treat the staff with courtesy and respect, and you will get it back double. Great food, service, entertainment, beautiful facility and grounds. We will definitely return.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 8, 2015
Amazing!

I was a bit skeptical booking this hotel after reading some of the reviews, however, I'm glad I booke grand palladium! It was one of the best resorts I have ever stayed in! when you walk into the resort you are amazed of how big and grand it looks. The owner of the resort did not leave any detail out, from the floors to the roofs it is amazing. You are greeted by a cocktail and asked to go to front desk to check in. We arrived before our room was ready, which was fine because we got to have lunch. The bell man kept our bags in the front entrance and would bring it to our room once it was ready. You have a lot of different choices to dine from. We ate at the buffets, which were very good and they always had different foods to pick from. We also ate at the Asian restaurant. The food was excellent, however the portions are very small. The server was excellent she warned my boyfriend of the small portions, so he could order different entrees to be full. We also are at the steak house. The filet mignon was delicious, and our server Raymond was great! Very attentive. Although the wait was an hour, we were at the bar drinking so it didn't seem long. If you want a good shot ask for the bob Marley. All the drinks were delicious! You also have a a 24 hour sport bar where you can order food from a menu or they have a mini bar with food! Definitely comes in handy after a long night of drinking and partying at the infinity bar! The resort also has a theather where they have dancers. the show overal is good. We went all 3 nights. In Monday night the dancers first two dances weren't that great, however as the night went on they got better. We even were called up to the stage for a couples contest and won! :) it's nice when they include the audience. The infinity bar is where they have parties at night with different themes. The dancers from the show also go to the infinity bar in order to get the crowd dancing. The dancers are very friendly, and definitely liven up the party. The bartenders are also very friendly, and the drinks are great! My favorite was the mojitos. Our room was very big and spacious. We had a Jaquzzi bath and a big shower. We also had a patio, although it wasn't over looking the ocean it was still very nice. They have a mini fridge in the room that they refill with water, sodas, and beer daily. My only complaint with the room was that the pillows were to soft and flat, didn't really feel like you were laying on anything. Our room was 2028, kind of a walk from the main lobby, but it's not that bad. They also have the shuttle bus if you don't want to walk. We liked to walk because it was a nice breeze. The pools were always kept clean, all the bathrooms in the resort were clean as well. I was shocked to see how efficient the workers were at making sure everything was spotless. The main pool has a swim up bar which was awesome. There is also a small beach at the far end of the resort at sunset cove. You can canoe, kayak, paddle board, and bunch of other activities for free. The beach is white sand, and has a nice view. We did the Dunns waterfall, tubing, and ate at a private beach where they serve you Jamaican food. The excursion was wonderful however, it was too long. We left at 7:30 am and got back to resort at 8:00pm. It was a 2 hour car ride and we had to make stops picking up other people from other resorts. Also bring cash because you will have to tip a lot of people. We had to tip the driver, the guide for the tour, the waterfall your guide, the camera guide, and the tubing guide. Of course it's not nessercary to tip, but they kind of make you feel bad. Another tip, bring cash. Although it's an all inclusive resort we ended up tipping some of the workers. Again you don't have too but when they say, don't be shy it's basically them asking for a tip. Overall the resort was amazing. The staff was great! The food was great. The scenary was great! I would definitely go back!

Amazing! Amazing!
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 20, 2015
WOW, looks just like pictures

The resort looked just like the pictures, absolutely beautiful! From our arrival at the airport, Amstar, picked us up and booked our excursions. the resort could not have had better service and nicer people. We even had to ask for an extra ordinary service and they had no problems meeting our request. Will be going back soon.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Alvin, Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 16, 2015
Beautiful property

This was one of the most beautiful places. The pool is amazing. The ocean view rooms are fabulous. The staff is prompt and engaging. Here's the downside... The specialty restraunts are plentiful, but the food is god awful. The steakhouse was our first stop, of course, and we got right in. Unfortunately. My napkin was completely full of food that I literally had to spit out of my mouth. Gristle city. Same type of deal at the next two that we tried. The buffet was diverse and actually 100 times better than the restraunts. If you stick to the cook to order stations, pasta, omelets etc, you can get a decent meal. Fruit and salad were very good as well. The trade off for a beautiful property vs a foodie experience was worth it once you accept that you will not find a great meal, and start getting creative with the buffet. The staff is happy to cut open fresh coconuts for you, and there is really nothing like fresh coconut water. I would go again, but with a realistic expectation that we would need to go off prperty for a special meal.

One big pool!!!
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 21, 2015
It's alright

We stayed in June and while the resort is beautiful, it is mighty large. Our room was the last building in the row - while we were able to call for a golf cart ride - many nights it was faster just to walk. It would take us at least 10 min to get any where in the resort. We would be sweating by the time we made it to dinner. The pool was wonderful. Never had to fight for a chair and the bar was always quick to serve. However, there is literally no beach. They have a little cove where you can snorkel, but no beach. The food and service was nice. No complaints. We had an issue with having our room cleaned and stocked on a daily basis. I even had to sneak into the janitor closet to "steal" toilet paper, because they refused to give us any extra. They never left fresh towels, even though we left our dirty ones on the floor. I have never been denied extra toilet paper. Seems ridiculous. Also, our room had to clock. Unless we had our cell phones on (which we didn't) or a watch we had no idea what time it was. Just seemed odd that we didn't have a clock. Also, they never handed out a schedule for the restaurants. So, unless we called each one and asked we didn't know who was open when or what times. Large pain since they only took reservations same day. It was a decent place for what we paid. But, I probably wouldn't go out of my way to ever go back.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year