All

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 709 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4.2 out of 5
"We had a good time at this resort and I would return. I recommend this property to anyone as great value for the dollar." – Kenhead
729 out of 872 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
main pool from the 2nd floor of lobby At the pool Just Chillin one of the beachs on the resort beach / windy side Just chillin Infinity bar & Pool jamaica jamaica our view the main pool Entrance to the resort great food steak house at Grand Palladium the infinity pool Sunset at Ricks Cafe pool Oasis in our villa breath taken pool at Grand Palladium breathtaking view from our room Not even half of the beautiful view Beautiful Sunset One small part of the pool! Sunset Beach Right off of the seafood restaurant:) The Best Food & service yea mon! Sunset Cove on one side of the resort where there is free paddle boats and snorkeling near shore. View from our balcony Chuck & Pam Grand Palladium Jamaica this is a typical sunset nightly Great place to relax! The Main Pool The Main Beach Overlooking Coral Beach View from our balcony 2 am after dancing all night first day buy the beach with kayak rental We loved our evening strolls, taking in the warm ocean breeze Sunset Grand Palladium View from the upper walkway Large Pool Facility Jamaica in June At one of the lovely restaurants Our Room View from the Lady Hamilton Lobby beautiful sunsets! Photo I took at the Seafood restaurant on evening In our room be4 dinner Sunset Villa 24 Beach Absolutely beautiful weather even with one day of rain... unforgettable sunsets off the resort. hotel room view from room Sunset! Relaxing Poolside My Villa First thing in the morning:) View from our balcony Grand Palladium Resort grand welcome stairs Sunset Cove View from our patio The Good Life View from lobby sunset from the resort mud slide at the beach! Mr. & Mrs. Walker Above Sunset Cover View from snorkel boat at Sunset Cove Grand Palladium Jamaica View from our balcony Nice but Over looking the main pool beautiful sunset Sunset Watching the sunsets from our private balcony in the cozy comforts of our plush robes and slippers Sunset smaller cove Walking to dinner, just beautiful beach

All Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 709 reviews. Sort by
December 11, 2014
Not Excellent

Our experience at The Grand Palladium Jamaica was overall mediocre, We took a 5 night vacation in July with another couple for an anniversary. We are in our late 20's so we were looking for a fun younger resort without having the spring breaker vibe. FRONT DESK: We are an interracial married couple and we felt I was treated very rude by the female staff. There were several times I was not ignored and given dirty looks by the front desk staff. One of the instances we were going on an excursion and I asked the front desk if we may check out towels because our bus was about to leave and we didn't know we needed to go to the pool to check out towels, it was too long of a walk and they told me absolutely not. I needed to go to the pool & there was nothing they could do for me. I told my husband what I was being told he went straight to the desk and was handed towels with no problem and a huge smile. Most of the female staff wouldn't even look at me when they would speak to us. That truly put a damper on my feeling of customer service. We have been to many resorts all over the world and this was the first time I was ever treated this way. It was sad. SAFETY: In the resort we felt very safe, there were shuttles always running so you never had to walk from your bungalow to anywhere you always had the option to take the shuttle if you waited 2 minutes outside of your condo. POOL:The pool is amazingly large and accommodating with a bar right in the middle of the water. A fun place to hang out during the day. There are Volleyball and activities by the pool all day. The activity staff was so wonderful they made sure we had a great time by the pool. ROOM:Our room was beautiful , large and comfortable. We were in a Jr. suite and had a jacuzzi tub, stand up shower, king size bed, a couch and a balcony. You are not in the room besides to sleep & shower and it served its purpose well. There was not a direct view of the ocean there are bushes surrounding the entire complex so you never see what is beyond the bushes. Our housekeeping staff was wonderful. FOOD:We were only able to go to the steakhouse for dinner other than that we used the buffet most of the time. We were not aware that at the restaurants pants are required for men. You may not be prepared for that because after all you are going on an Island vacation but make sure you pack your hubby some pants:)Staff at steak house were wonderful we left then a nice tip. With the buffet just make sure you are there early because once its been picked over it doesn't seem so appetizing. The flies come out towards the last hour that it is opened.The food was beautifully displayed and when fresh tasted wonderful, the fruits that are cut and designed by staff are simply amazing. At some points we were hungry because there was no food by the pool and the buffets were all opened at different times. I would recommend bringing snacks. There is a sports bar and they have typical fried food, chicken tenders french fries etc. There is no air in there so depending on the time of year it can be very hot. I tried to get ice cream from there and it was all freezer burned, it looked like it had been melted and refrozen a few times. I think they may have been having problems with the deep freezer the ice cream was kept in. I heard from other review that there were cats outside by the pool and buffet area and there were. They looked like strays a little beat up but they didn't bother anyone. I love animals so of course I wanted to feed them but I didn't. EXCURSIONS: - Dunns river falls was almost a 3 hour drive each way so make sure you plan to have almost your entire day devoted to that, The process takes about 30 mins and its over. Its fairly easy and quick to climb but a beautiful sight to see fresh water draining off of those wonderful rocks into the ocean. Our tour guide for the climb was amazing! -Negril & Ricks Cafe, Both truly a sight to see, we took a glass bottom boat ride off of negril and jumped out of the water and swam through the reef and little fish. A wonderful experience. Ricks Cafe has a lot of locals and people jumping from these massive rocks into a beautiful crystal blue cove. TIPS: Make sure you tip your tour guides they rely pn the tips to make a living. They will make sure to tell you. SHUTTLE:We did have issues with our shuttle to the airport and the staff in charge of running the shuttles worked it out at the very last minute we made it to the airport with just minutes to spare. Our shuttle never showed to pick us up at the schedule time. Thank you for the experience a beautiful place but we do not wish to revisit due to the way we were treated by the front desk staff. It was uncalled for and very rude.

First thing in the morning:) Right off of the seafood restaurant:)
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 12, 2014
Great Value

We had a good time at this resort and I would return. I recommend this property to anyone as great value for the dollar.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 11, 2014
issues

Room comfort we had to switch out our room because the room was dirty and smelled like sewage and mold. For this hotel I would not think that you would walk into a room like this. Dining options were good. I enjoyed the chicken on the beach Beach and Pools they were very nice It's too bad the beaches are not connected Service The service was either REALLY BAD OR REALLY AMAZING the people working there were either very friendly or very mean nothing in between!!!! I was highly disappointed in customer service Value the value wasn't worth it there was construction going on at all time..... I think this resort should have been cheaper than it was Overall I think the resort was beautiful but for the issues between room, people (employees at resort) and the construction I would not go to this resort again and would not recommend to others.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 10, 2014
Yea Mon!

This was our first visit to Jamaica. After reading all the bad reviews on the Grand Palladium AFTER I already booked it, I was a little skeptical about my choice of resorts, especially since I changed my reservation from the Holiday Inn sunspree when I saw the pictures of the Grand Palladium. I can say that when we arrived, I was a little disappointed. We travel Mexico every year, in addition to several other Caribbean islands on cruises, so I was expecting to see the white sand beaches that I'm used to when visiting the Caribbean. The beach was my only disappointment in this resort! and actually, after exploring the resort the next day once the sun was shining ( the day we arrived, it was gloomy and raining) I started to come around, I kinda like the way the beaches are separated, at one point we had one beach all to ourselves! The entertainment staff at this resort are awesome! we enjoyed participating in all the activites. and if you don't like the "loud" entertainment, there are several quiet pools and beaches where you could go. We also LOVED the live Reggae band that plays every night - would be nice if they played longer though - the rooms were nice and big ALL the staff were friendly, so I don't understand how there could be so many negative comments about the staff The only complaint I would have is the sales people that bug the h@#! out of you every time you pass through the lobby We will definitely be returning next year


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 10, 2014
This was a wonderful trip

I had a great time at the Grand Palladium. Everyone is so friendly. You can't walk past anyone with out saying "hello or Yeah Mon..". I also got to scratch off a "bucket list" item-swimming with dolphins.. So fun !!!! :)


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Syracuse NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 10, 2014
Relaxing Vacation

My husband and I, along with my sister and her fiance took a quick 4 day trip to the Grand Palladium and we had a fantastic time. The resort is very large but we had a Villa close to the Jamaica side lobby. The walk was a little further to the Lady Hamilton amenities and the Spa but no more than 10 minutes and quite enjoyable. The staff around the resort including bartenders, pool attendants, wait staff are very friendly. The pool attendents even pulled down 4 coconuts and cut them open for us. Some wait staff is quicker than others but all are engaging and friendly. The front desk staff was not as responsive when getting change or reactivating keys when they deactivated. The buffet has excellent food and great variety. The restaurants food is not as good and small portions and takes a while to receive. Also there is usually a 15-30 minute wait for the restaurants. The asian was our favorite restaurant. We also loved Miss Lou's bar which had coffee drinks to order any time of day. The Infinity bar was also a blast at night, with a live band playing every night. Overall we had a great experience at the Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 28, 2014
Love Jamaica

Grand Palladium Lucia Jamaica. My wife and me have been to Jamaica many times. I started going to Jamaica in 1990. Love the people, culture, food, views all of it. Grand Palladium was not a good example of what we have come to love over the years. Resort itself setting etc. was pretty cool. really great pools, cove over on Lady Hamilton side near Jerk Hut very scenic. The restaurants and food were a constant challenge. Never seen anything like it in all my visits. Sports Bar just do not know what to say, waited and hour to try to get food that we ordered. Not sure if it was good or not got tired of waiting. Went back to buffy we got kicked out of for being damp. Hour later they did not notice we were damp, huh? Most food was cold when present. Hey and on the pizza, melt the darn cheese. When you serve burgers, melt the cheese also, hey who needs mustard or pickles. By this time one would ask what about the jerk chicken, beef patties, stewed chicken jerk sausage. Can not really say had jerk chicken at jerk hut after 30 minute wait, it was good. Was afraid to go over again after the previous wait. Other stuff was not really present. I did see stewed chicken at breakfast the last morning of 7 day visit and did have dry jerked sausage without jerk sauce a couple times. Most of the help at the resort had attitude and were un friendly, no smiles or good words. Our bell hop and cleaning lady was great beyond that again very tuff. My favorite at one pool bar where we asked for a toasted almond drink blended. Bar tender passed them to me on the rocks and the comment I got back was your drinks are fine on the rocks and she wonders where the tip is? Here is another one, we went to the Mexican restaurant one night. Very surprised no wait, usual wait was 1 to 2 hours to get in the door, finally something beside the buffy, got right up to door and check in I get the Sir you have shorts on you can not eat here. I ask how long is the wait thinking if 10 or 15 minutes I will go back and change real quick. Answer is sir you have shorts on you cant eat here, finally get answer there is no wait. Did not bother to go back an change down to dinning area where shorts are tolerated. Can go on and on, upon departure bus did not show up and we were in lobby 10 minutes early fro pick up.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Danbury, CT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 28, 2014
Know before you go

1. The food is awful. Breakfast and lunch are buffets with no flavor. Dinner has very impressive presentation for food that is not fresh and has no taste. 2. Random restaurants are open. Never all at once and the don't go by the operating hours that they advertise. 3. No room service. 4. You will be HARASSED to receive your "Free Gift", which is a scam to get you into a time share sales meeting. This will be done over and over. Your arm band is color coded by your visit reason (anniversary, honeymoon, etc..) so the sales people know how to approach you. 5. No elevators. 6. Walls are very thin. You will hear EVERY door close in every room in your building. 7. Internet is not free, extremely slow and almost impossible to stay connected to. 8. Beaches are rocky and small. No white sand by any means. 9. Red Stripe is the ONLY beer available. 10. Drinks are served in reusable 6oz plastic cups that look dirty. 11. 5 minutes means at least 30 mins when anyone says they will call you or do something. 12. The staff is VERY friendly...all of them, even the groundskeepers. 13. The view is amazing.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Jacksonville, Fl
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 15, 2014
Good value for the price

We really enjoyed our stay there. The pool was awesome although the beach in front of it wasn't that impressive because it was a little rocky, but the sunset cove beach was great. The food was not very impressive, but I'm sure at such a huge resort it's hard to make a buffet much better than a college's. The Indian and Asian restaurants were the best that we tried. The staff was amazing. Everyone was very helpful and nice acted like they were just hanging out with you while they made you drinks at the bar. The Miss Lou bar was our absolute favorite. Overall, we loved our experience there and only felt that the food could be improved upon.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Nebraska
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 14, 2014
Potential to be "Grand", but misses the mark

- We experienced generally rude, inattentive staff - In our opinion, there was fair to poor maintenance of facility & room - Dining options were not what we were led to believe - Did not enjoy the live entertainment - Even though gratuities are included, additional seemed expected


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Vero Beach, FL
Age: 35-44