All

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 100 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.2 out of 5
"Great vacation. Bed was not great,but tolerable. Like all other reviews, there is a lot of walking. Bring bug repellent. We had a great time, no regrets." – ScubaJ
96 out of 118 (81%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Deluxe Villas Heaven on earth Late night pool Sasha and Andre' On our way to the saltwater pool Sea Doo from the on site beach. Enjoying another sunny day at the pool Animal that jumped up on table to take food off your plate! My husband playing The Crazy Game

All Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 100 reviews. Sort by
October 28, 2014
great deal for price

everything was very clean, well laid out resort. so nice to keep the rooms away from the noise of pools and the club. wish there was another pool bar. one pool bar got very crowded...the poor bartender needed some help! we needed some extra umbrellas along the beach...anything with shade was taken very quickly. i would say the one thing i did not care for on the resort was the crocodile sanctuary...horrible!! it was poor conditions, no water in the area and it was small...put them back where they belong please. overall i would stay again to come relax and staff was friendly and accommodating. easy location to tours and town and hospital. thank you!


23 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: las vegas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 23, 2016
Decent Resort

We had never experienced all-inclusive before and really love it. The whole idea of leaving and not having to pay a bill is fascinating. The hardest part was knowing when to leave after a meal...normally you leave after you pay the check...but there isn't one! The Grand Palladium complex in Riviera Maya is quite nice. The pools were clean and had some variety. We never felt limited. There must be a mile of water front leaving lots of options there too. There were always enough chairs/loungers to find the 6 we needed in a decent location. If you get out early, you can be closer to the water. At the Colonial pool and beach the loungers do not lay flat. This makes laying on your stomach difficult and quite uncomfortable. The White Sands and Riviera loungers were better and only a short walk away. Speaking of walking, we didn't mind the size of the resort and the walking was fine as the paths are shaded (mostly covered) and lighted at night. Signage could be a little better as we often went a longer route than necessary when we later looked at it on a map. Our room was nice. Everything you need. Nothing you don't. Functional since all we did was sleep, shower, change here. Very little noise from outside or neighbors. One annoyance was the smoke detector. It is positioned directly above your head while sleeping and it actively shows you it is working by flashing 2 bright red lights every 4 seconds. I'm a light sleeper and this woke me each time I was facing it. Bar tenders were excellent and we challenged them regularly. They were up to the challenge. Alcohol is of the cheap variety. Even the "local" alcohol (tequila) is not a top notch tequila. We knew going in that it would not be premium but still expected better than served. Especially the tequila. In the end, 2 of the 6 of our group want to return. The other 4 want to try another resort.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 1, 2015
The Best One Yet!

This resort was AWESOME!!! My husband and I celebrated our fifth anniversary here (5/3-5/8) and had a wonderful time at this resort. We've been to many places through CheapCaribbean, but in Mexico, we seem to have the most fun! The Grand Pulladium was the best one yet!! The people were very polite and very attentive to any and everything we needed and wanted. Our room was gr8 and was close to everything including the pools and the beach. We were there for 6days and 5 nights and still didn't get to do everything. It was 4 or 5 different resorts with different activities that were apart of the Grand Pulladium and there are trains that come like every 15 min that will take u to each resort. If you like to party there was a different one every night at each resort as well as different activities during the day. We stayed at the colonial resort in the Pulladium and the swim up bar was FABULOUS! When u go, ask for Danial and Alihondro (I think I spelled that right) they WILL keep your drinks coming and THEY WONT BE WATERED DOWN EITHER!! My drink of choice was the banana momma with a double shot of rum. By the time we left to go home, every body in the pool was drinking the same thing! It was so many different food choices we didn't get to try everything. It was 4 different restaurants on each resort and at least 3 different buffets for lunch and dinner and 2 huge buffets for breakfast with something different every morning. Overall this place is by far the best place we've ever been in Mexico, and we will be coming back next year!! It is definitely worth the money, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!

Sasha and Andre' The Best One Yet!
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 7, 2015
Overall, A good time.

I believe in calling it like I see it. I'm basing this review on the experience, not my expectations. First off, the resort was very nice, clean, and a lot of nice amenities. Second,the food was very good at all locations, especially the breakfast buffet. Third, The resort staff was very polite and eager to help at all times. Now the bad, The alcohol was the cheapest brands you could buy. Most of the bars in the U.S. Don't even serve booze that bad, and if you don't like Dos XX's then your out of luck. And although I understand conserving energy, I don't think you should put the room refrigerator on the motion sensor cut off switch, it never gets or keeps your drinks cold. Overall me and my wife had a great time and a wonderful experience. The shuttle service was on time coming and going from the Airport. We would definitely go back.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dallas,Tx.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 2, 2015
Was Everything We Wanted & More!

My boyfriend and I bought an all-inclusive package and stayed at this resort for 5 nights in June and we absolutely loved it! I had stayed in another resort closer to Cancun 4 years prior to staying at this Grand Palladium resort and I found the Grand Palladium to be even better than the other resort, even though that one is rather pricey and is consistently praised for its excellence. As soon as we arrived at the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa we experienced impeccable service. We were given a refreshing, fruity drink while checking into the resort and were later driven to the building our room was in. The room itself was phenomenal. Everything appeared new and very clean. Even the beds and pillows were great, very comfortable. In my last Mexico resort experience, the beds were as hard as boards, so I was pleasantly surprised to find a very comfy bed at Grand Palladium! The bathroom was very modern and large. Our maid did a fantastic job cleaning our room each day as well! The resort space (lobbies, restaurants, etc) and the outdoor scenery was all very well kept and resort employees could be seen working tirelessly to keep it that way. Over the course of 5 days, we had no complaints about any aspect of our stay. For breakfast and lunch we ate at the buffet style restaurants around the resort and for dinner we ate at the a la carte restaurants, which were surprisingly (but amazingly) free with our package. Every evening we enjoyed great multiple-course meals and top-notch service. We didn't encounter any food we didn't like during our stay. There was a large variety of food options and everything appeared very fresh. Some things at the buffets were even cooked to order, such as omelets for breakfast and fish, poultry, or meat for lunch. The alcohol offered at the resort was all name-brand, unlike at the other resort I stayed in, and there was a menu listing plenty of alcoholic drink choices. The pools at the resort were just as clean and beautiful as everything else. They were large, with swim up bars, and also had in-pool lounge chairs that you could sun yourself on. while remaining in the water Sadly, the weather did not allow us to enjoy the pool every day or the beach much at all due to daily storms, but we knew about the weather going in so we can't fault the resort for that at all! Overall, the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa made our trip to Mexico memorable and excellent in every way. We experienced impeccable service from start to finish and great food and drinks. We could not have asked more from the Grand Palladium resort and because of that we cannot praise it enough! We will certainly be back!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 11, 2016
Fabulous Vacation....Just Not Long Enough

One of the best vacations we have been on. The Mexican Mayan Riviera is beautiful. The Palladium Resort (we stayed at the Colonial) was top notch. It is a very large area as there are other Palladium Resorts also on the premises, but all of the staff running the train and golf carts made travelling on the grounds very easy. Facilities were top notch, from the buffets and restaurants to the bars and pools, and all the staff were helpful and pleasant. Food was great and the varied selection of the ala carte restaurants left us wanting for nothing. The Porta Fino Italian Restaurant was our favorite. There was a Cheap Caribbean representative in the lobby on a daily basis who helped us with arranging tours and our transportation back to the Cancun Airport when our visit was over. We selected an upgrade for our room and were not disappointed. There was a Jacuzzi tub and a secluded outside shower in the bathroom and a hammock on the front patio. We were amused with all the wild life on the premises, including kookaburra, iguanas, and coatimundi. We took advantage of the spa facilities (extra charge for some services) which we found to be top notch. This experience has us waiting until we can do it again, and we definitely will use Cheap Caribbean again and will come back to The Palladium Colonial......The only change would be we would stay longer....


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Superior, WI
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 14, 2015
Best family vacation ever!!

Everything about our vacation and Grand Palladium was GREAT!! Very good food options. We never had a bad meal and the service was very professional and friendly. The beaches and pools were clean and fun. I have a 16 and 12 year old and they both had a blast. It is so nice to have the train which takes you to the lobby of the other grand palladium resorts. The show each night was really good. We were too tired after all of the sun and fun so we never made it to the disco. We will definitely be back and I would recommend it to families and everyone!!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Minnesota
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 16, 2016
Great Resort with tons of options

My girlfriend and I spent a week at the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa and had a simply wonderful time. We were there in early May and the weather was perfect and the place was not overly crowded. The staff was friendly and accommodating. They have a cute train/shuttle that runs constantly between the 4 connected resorts and we took advantage of the countless pools, bars and restaurants. There is good snorkeling right off the shore with frees oriel gear rental. They provide fresh beach and pool towels daily along with a stocked mini bar daily in the room. We easily were able to book an affordable off site day excursion from the lobby. We swam and relaxed, are and drank during the day, then showered, changed and went out at night to nice restaurants, wonderful live shows and a fun dance club. I highly recommend this resort!!

Sea Doo from the on site beach. Enjoying another sunny day at the pool
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles, Ca
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 26, 2017
Ok for the money

Grand palladium was ok in general. Basic service was ok, room was not able to be controlled by the guest and the AC was not cold. The maintainance person they send didn't speak English well and was unable to change the temp. Food was ok, but steaks were over cooked and the Italian service was bad (1 Hr to get main course) Bars were good, always easy to get a drink. Pools are all cold especially AM hours Very humid in the rooms all the time and was unable to be changed. Will likely return to Barcelo instead of grand palladium next year.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Minnesota
Age: 25-34

July 21, 2015
Best Food Ever

The food was very good at the resort. Especially at one of the speciality resturants, the steak one. There was so much to choose from and the staff was very pleasant. Loved the food!!!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: De
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year