All

Grand Oasis Viva Resort Reviews

Mexico | Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 19 Reviews
Value
 
3.3
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
2.9
3 out of 5
"Excellent service from the beginning till the end. Great prices offered for the excursions, Will definitely go back" – health4u
10 out of 21 (48%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Our view from our room In love with each other...and Cancun! We loved the sushi onsite! Pool area. Our room was on the eight floor, yellow section of the hotel. view from our room

All Grand Oasis Viva Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 19 reviews. Sort by
July 4, 2014
BELIEVE the HORRIBLE REVIEWS! It was a NIGHTMARE!

After much debate over the reviews we decided to give it a try, we figured how bad could it be?! First day we get to our room things seem to be in order. So after a day at the beach and some drinks we head back to our room for the night and our a/c doesn't work, phone doesn't work, refrigerator doest have anything in it. We can't call to complain due to the phone not working so we make the trip down from the 11th floor to talk to the front desk staff. They tell us that they will call maintenance to try and fix it but if they can't then we need to go back they following day. After a few minutes of arguing with them they finally give us another room but only for the night. The next morning we wake up and go to our room but the elevator will not go to the 11th floor so we had to get off on the 10th floor and walk up to the 11th floor.we finally get to our room and the shower doesn't work, no water from shower, sink, or toilet! As far as the hotel staff was concerned, they all had horrible customer service. Everyone seemed to hate their job and the only way to get decent service was to tip every employee that served you from the bars to the restaurants. With the exception of the cheeseburgers out by the pool all of the other restaurants were horrible as well. As far as the beach was concered it was an absolutely beautiful beach! The pools were very nice and big as well! The only employee that was awesome was a guy named Benny that would put together events and get people doing all kinds of fun activities! My advice would be to just stay home and save your money before you visit Grand Oasis Viva!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Dallas,Tx
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 4, 2014
Not what you expect

Great pool and the beach is amazing!! but service was so so.. hardly anyone speaks english and most of the staff are downright rude! Room is just ok. Shower was temperamental, everytime we take a warm shower.. cold water starts running. The room did have an amazing view of the ocean. Food in their buffet was horrible, although the other restaurants were tolerable. Mixed drinks were watered down, better to drink beer. Bars close very early. Hardly any entertainment in the hotel. Elevators are very small and very often is out of service; we almost got stuck inside at one time. The resort however is close to the docks and clubs. But it is best to look for other hotels to stay in Cancun.

view from our room
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Monterey, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 19, 2014
Wouldn't go back

I do not normally do reviews on hotels that I stay in but I felt like I needed to provide a review for the Grand Oasis Viva. My husband and I chose this hotel because it was cheap and adult only. I am not opposed to staying at other hotels but we really like adult only hotels and this one seemed ok. This hotel was on the cheaper side so I went into it knowing that it was not going to be a five star resort. We stayed five days (Mon thru Fri). So I will start with the good: The hotel was clean and our room had a very nice view. We stayed in the standard ocean view room and it did not have a balcony but it had a very large picture window that had an amazing view on the beach. The pools were nice and the beach is fantastic. Also the hotel is in a very nice location- within walking distance to bars and restaurants. It is also just a short bus ride to downtown Cancun if that is something you are interested in. We had zero issues with transportation to and from the hotel and no problems with our Cheap Caribbean reservation. The VIP bar and DIVA bar made the best (strongest) drinks. The Mexican restaurant (Juan the waiter was AWESOME!) and Italian restaurant were both very good. We did not eat at The White Box so I cannot comment on that. The White Box requires a reservation that you make at 9am everyday and we went there twice to try to get a reservation and by 820 there was a line out the door to make one so we just gave up trying. So here is the bad: The buffet was horrible! They had the same food everyday for breakfast-which by the way was the only place open in the mornings. The lunch and dinner buffet were about the same. Very odd food and nothing that I would even consider even decent. I usually only eat at buffets at all-inclusive places because I like to get in and out and I do not consider myself very picky when it comes to food. I still struggled to find anything to eat at the buffet. Also I found it very weird that the buffet did not have any sort of Mexican food- salsa & guac. The Mexican restaurant was the only place that had any. Other then Juan at the Mexican place the service was terrible. We waited a whole meal to get water at the buffet for lunch from a waiter. I would have gotten my own water but it was not at the soda station. I've stayed at places cheaper then this place and still had better service. The pool bar was another thing- we watched a bar tender pour water into a vodka bottle! I understand why the pool bar doesn't want to serve strong drinks but my husband and I were obviously not drunk and were not planning on getting wasted it would have been nice to have a drink that wasn't watered down. Luckily, the DIVA bar was close so we would just run in there really quick. Some other things people have commented on with this resort: It is loud at night. Usually the noise dies down by 10 pm and honestly it was never that loud that it bothered me. There was only one night we went to be before 10 so I don't know if it would have bothered me otherwise. They do not start playing music in the morning until 11ish so I was always up. You have to pay for the safe (7 bucks a day) so I just took a combo lock and put it on my suitcase everyday. Now, I know that they could have easily taken my suitcase but I figured that would take some balls and I never take anything that valuable with me on vacation anyway. Also I am not the kind of person to have housekeeping come in my room everyday. Another odd thing was when we checked out they tried to charge me 1 dollar for a phone call I made in my room. I didn't make any phone calls. So when I asked when & what time I 'made' this phone call the guy at the desk was like, "oh...its no big deal- we will take it off". Well yeah you will take it off because I didn't make the phone call in the first place. I just thought it was odd. The beach and pools are topless optional, I do not partake in topless myself but it didn't bother me that there were people who were topless. I never saw anything that was inappropriate. Overall we still had a great time- the weather was perfect, our room was clean and the beach/pools are very nice. I just wish the buffet was better and the service could really stand to be improved. Some other people we ran into said that they had heard that the place was being bought by another resort company. They told me which company but since I do not know the validity of the information I will not repeat the company. I'm not sure if that is true or not but it is a shame because the presence of adult only places are getting smaller and I like adult only. This resort could use some improvements though. Hope this helps someone make a decision!


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Toledo, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 22, 2014
Not Great

We arrived after the checkin time and did not recieve a functioning room for 4 hours..... This place is under renovation and there are a lot of problems.....the food was ok ....if you tip the service is good the staff remembers you.....the beach is small and the pools were just ok the one is shaded the other was not relaxing and seats were very limited.There is shopping that is walking distance.There are nice views but ,I would suggest another resort

Not Great Not Great
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: pittsburgh,pa.
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 13, 2014
Nice resort, but not what we expected

This was a nice facility in general, good food and employees. Some employees seemed very unhappy to be there. The activity nights are a joke. On lingerie night we went to see if anyone was wearing lingerie and not one person was. We would have been embarrassed if we had not checked first. The other activities at the pool were limited. The best was the foam party. Would not go again as we're looking for more activities. The lady that does body painting was fabulous. I wish it were waterproof. The VIP lounge was very nice.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 10, 2014
Nice resort for the price

We didn't go in expecting the best of everything, just looking for a nice place to get away and lay in the sun and that's what we got. Rooms: very basic but we were hardly in it. The mini fridge didn't work but I liked that they all face the ocean. Dining: Sushi bar was good. There were basically 3 "nicer" dining options that don't require reservations. Decent food but slow service, which doesn't matter if you're the couple that makes it in at the right time, otherwise it takes 2 hours for tables to open up (and none of them have many tables to begin with). They begin taking reservations for the White Box 9am each day but people line up at 7:30 due to limited seating. Only the first 24ish couples make it on the list while others are turned away. I'd say most of the people staying at the resort won't even get the chance to eat here. The main attraction is the beach. Lots of it and very pretty, loved the beds on the beach but you have to be up early to get one. I prefer long, winding pools but their two rectangular pools were nice and had shallow ends and stools to sit on so no real complaints. Only place to get a drink past 10pm is Coyote bar which had some fun adult shows and hilarious competitions, but not much dancing (The Captain Hook boat was better for nightlife and dancing, very fun!). We were nervous about the kinky wristband program we read about but there wasn't one when we were there. Not everything was as sultry, kinky and crazy as the brochure made it sound... just the right amount for us!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 25-34

January 5, 2014
not so great

love the beach, sandy, clean, and plenty of space to choose where you want to tan or just relax. room are very small. we needed to pay extra to have balcony and they have only 9 rooms with balcony. room did not have great aroma, the extra pillow on bed smell, i could not sleep on them. bathroom does not have vent system, so my wife needed to wait forever after shower to clear mirrors to do hair, and makeup. the amenities said the bathrobe was in each room- did not see even one time in 8 days that we stayed. floor are so cold that i was constantly looking for shoes before stepping on floor. food was fair, nothing to exiting, breakfast buffet was good, but then with all other restaurants we needed kinda just walk around and everyday ask what open for lunch and dinner. some things like tuna and shrimp was on menu but every time we asked they said they don't have it. disappointing. service - unless you tip there is no service, and if you tip still service suck. couple time we end up walking away from restaurant without getting dessert because they take so long to bring that it just not worth the wait. fortunately we had one waiter that we kinda follow his work -cause he was the only one who would provide excellent service no matter how busy he was. only one waiter in 8 days that actually was working great. the entertainment- was there any ??? did not see any- bar would have few people if none at night time couple times they even close early. during day entertainment lack big time. over all if i ever come back to this hotel is only because it had a great beach area.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: south carolina
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 6, 2013
Mixed Review

We just got back from Grand Oasis Viva in Cancun. The beach is beautiful, the room was clean and nice. However, they are renovating all the restaurants and bars, every night you would go to one restaurant and have to move to another. The concierge desk needs to communicate better with the restaurants. Very difficult to find out which restaurant is open, and which needs a reservation. The food was hit or miss, some dishes would be excellent and some terrible at the same restaurant. The buffets were good, but small. The wait staff were awesome! All very friendly and helpful. The bar staff, housekeeping, and restaurant/buffet staff made our stay! Construction starts at 8:00am so no sleeping in! Hammering and saws. Overall we had a great time, love Mexico, beautiful beach and sunsets. If you go, make sure you are Grand category. Better beach and the VIP lounge is nice!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 2, 2013
Best Adults Only Resort in Cancun!

My honey and I had the best time ever! It was our first time in Cancun and the Grand Oasis Viva was definitely the perfect choice! The service was top notch, our VIP all-inclusive wristbands made us feel like royalty, and the private beach was beautiful! There was entertainment every night so we never really had to leave the resort, but it was a plus that all of the shops and nightlife were within walking distance! We will be back...

We loved the sushi onsite! In love with each other...and Cancun!
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Baltimore
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 18, 2013
Don't even think about it!!!!!!!!!!

This seemed like a great deal online, and since this hotel was with a chain of hotels we had stayed in before it seemed like a good choice. Unfortunately, wrong is not a strong enough word! From the moment we got there we were sent to a private check in area and were greeted warmly. I thought how nice. They are very attentive. We expected that service level to be maintained throughout the trip but sadly it was not to be. We got to our room and it was HOT! the bellhop said that he had turned on the air when he walked in so it should cool off. Too bad I believed him. So then we opened the mini bar. It was not working. We called the concierge and they sent up maintenance. He pushes a few buttons and said he had fixed it. He didn't. We called again and were told to give it time it would cool off. It didn't. Neither did the room. We called about the room every day we were there and no one cared. The whole hotel was like a sauna. No place was comfortable. We had to eat outside on the patio of each restaurant because it was cooler outside. We went in June! Finally on the last day the room was unbearable. We complained in person and no one came. We called three times and noone came. At midnight we called again and they finally changed our room. We spent one night in a cool room after four nights in a hot one. I think it was too little too late. We were told at midnight by the front desk that the air had been out in the entire hotel for three days! Cheap Caribbean should remove this hotel from their choices. It's terrible! The best part was the food at Maria Bonita and Alfonso at The Hip Bar. He kept me cool with cold drinks. Otherwise it would have all been Terrible. Don't waste your money or time. Pick the Riu Palace. I wish I had.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year