All

Grand Oasis Tulum Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 198 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.7 out of 5
"I had a great time at grand oasis tulum, the beach was amazing . My family had a great time!" – 330Rich
152 out of 222 (68%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach Dinning Buidling Room ocean view bf and I at the pool with the view Shrimp Scampi from the Seafood restaurant Deck from room sunrise in paradise View from room #1 - Sian Ka'an Suite, floor 2 Grand Oasis beach View from room #2 - Sian Ka'an Suite, ground floor Hammock provided by resort View from the room Beach photo with my special iPhone lens View from pier View from pier The Grand Side - our room was on the second floor Pool overlooking the beach View from our room Picture on the beach Room view View of Adult Only Pool from Our Room

All Grand Oasis Tulum Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 198 reviews. Sort by
March 18, 2013
Clear turquoise water-great beach!

Finding the perfect beach in Mexico was our ultimate goal on this trip, and I have to say we came pretty close! The water is very clear and calm so its great for swimming and snorkling, the reef is not far from the beach so again its great for snorkling. The beach at the Grand Oasis Tulum was not crowded like neighboring resorts. When you go to this resort is like two resorts in one, we were on the Grand side which is the newer less crowded side. Immediately we were checked in and shown to our room which was a beautiful, spacious room with an expansive ocean view. The only complaint I have is that none of the ocean view rooms have a balcany. If you are on the ground floor you can open your door and walk right out onto the beach, but you do not have a terrace and beach chairs are right in front of your door blocking your view. Anywhere else on the grand side minus the ocean view rooms (which are considered the best) have a true balcany or terrace so that is the trade off for the view. Service was a little off it seemed like they werent all on the same page...some people were great like Manuel who went out of his way to help us and give us advice, but the front desk was never very helpful. You had to go and get your own drinks etc. when you were on the beach, which didnt bother us that much but other resorts we have stayed at have provided much better service in this area. Again the beach was amazing and the best I have seen in the area, you are close to Akumal beach, you can snorkel out and see sea turtles, also you can go just down the road to the Mayan ruins at Tulum which is breathtaking. You can do all of this for 3 dollars a person if you take the collectivo vs a taxi which will cost much more. Overall, its a great resort and as far as location it is the best...you have a good drive from the air port (well over an hour) but if you want to get away from it all this is a great place to start!


31 of 32 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Centerville, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 5, 2013
Nice! Highly Recommended

Overall: I LOVED this place - the "laid back" attitude was exactly what i wanted, opposite of party-city cancun. i would come back again - the only complaint i really have is that it was raining most of the time we were here and sunny only on the last day! I can't fault the hotel though on this. It was beautiful here, and I bought a garden view room but got a free upgrade to an ocean view! (thank you, CheapCaribbean!! also thank you for the discounts on certain parks and free refund for missing the activity due to rain/oversleeping!) Everything at the resort is really modern looking, probably because it was made in November 2012 as my friend and I were told by Hugo, our favorite bartender at the piano bar (a pianist plays nightly). If you're going to book here, make sure you book at the newer GRAND Oasis Tulum, and not Oasis Tulum! also make sure you get the shared round-trip transportation through olympus (offered by CheapCaribbean) because it's about 1hr drive from the airport and may be cheaper than the local cost there. Hotel and Ambiance: modern and casual feel, beautiful lobby with centerpiece of coral reefs overlooking an infinity pool and the ocean, many pools, two jacuzzis, cabanas available with or without reservations, and circular beach beds for lounging/tanning specifically for grand oasis members. events every night at their personal theater, just check the schedule or ask! we got to see a spectacular light show and caribbean dance performance there as well as a fire show at the beach! was told by my other friends that the full body massage from Kinha Spa was really great here as well. Food: overall okay, the main thing is that everything tastes fresh! if you like your food filled with spices/robust-flavored sauce/etc. chances are you will think it tastes bland. gave it four stars because i'm comparing it to food in NY which would make me biased. reservations required for some restaurants, must reserve the same day or day before (cannot reserve more than one day in advance) before 5PM with concierge. beware the really dim lighting at indoor restaurants! they have international buffet, brazilian, mexican and mexican gourmet, seafood, asian, italian, mediterranean, steak (extra charge for premium angus steaks/lobster), mini coffee bar with cakes, and two fast food places. (again, only GRAND oasis members has access to all, extra fee for oasis members). favorite was Rodizzio (Brazilian food) with mainly grilled meat; they slice it for you on a steel skewer one by one directly at your table! didn't try the Italian; prawns/ceviche/guacamole from the seafood restaurant were really good. fruits were extremely ripe and sweet - especially the papaya! i felt that the sushi had too much rice but at least their raw fish was safe, as well as the water they offer (we asked and they said it was purified). if you're worried, you can always ask for bottled water. also have a late night snack bar open from 11PM - 6AM, so food is available almost 24/7. Room: ocean view in a modern looking beautiful room with double beds (theme was dark wood/black marble). no balcony but ocean view was worth the absence of that. shower water force is not particularly strong but gets the job done - we noticed the tap/shower water is slightly salty. also there isn't a real door for the bathroom area, it is a opaque sliding door. regular amenities (bath towels, safe, full length mirror, drying rack, etc.) loved that there were two separate sinks/mirrors and a vanity mirror. cleaning 2x a day (awesome!) Service: everyone is SO friendly! they always greet you when you make eye contact and ask how everything is. not everyone can speak english fluently, but if it's a more specific request you can just ask the front desk/concierge. 24h room service available but with a price per order. make sure you tip whoever helps you with your luggage! Beach: clean white sand with blue, blue water! many beach chairs available, beach towels given freely and no extra charge if you lose one! you just leave them on the chairs or in your room. at this time of the year, it's quieter and there are less people so that was really nice. free snorkeling equipment, just ask to rent!


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 24, 2013
Excellent all around.

What a great place, elegant and calm. Excellent, outstanding service. Everyone is so sincerely nice and helpful. Upon arrival, a welcome drink and a wet towel to freshen up while you register. They even parked my car. Mr. Ortiz was very helpful and a great source of information. The room, very nice and comfortable, with a breathtaking view of the turquoise sea. The beach, protected by a reef, makes a great place to swim and snorkel. Crystal clear water, and white sand. One of the best beaches I have seen, both in Mexico and the Caribbean. Several pools, free of crowds and raunchy party people. The music, soft and relaxing. Hence, their motto: The Calm Resort. Free snorkeling excursions, about 1 hr long, along the reef; they provide vests and snorkeling equipment. Plenty of towels, neatly folded. A coffee shop, with real coffee, not that Starbucks junk. And pastries. The food: excellent, in both the buffet and a-la-carte restaurants. Nightly entertainment. It was our anniversary- They sent a bottle of sparkling vine and chocolate-covered strawberries. I can't say enough about this place.I can't wait to go back. Highly recommend.

Excellent all around.
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 2, 2013
Most Memorable

Everything about the Grand Oasis Resort was perfect! My husband and I went here as a get away for our 15th wedding anniversary. It exceeded our expectations! We have never been so pampered in our lives. The entire staff was polite and professional and always seemed to have a smile on their face! The food for an all-inclusive was excellent and very presentable! The resort and rooms were very clean as well. I would recommend this trip to anyone looking to get away for a peacefully tranquil vacation. If you are looking to go out and "party" every night - this is not the place to be. I also recommend purchasing at the Grand Oasis verses the Oasis vacation. This way you have access to more restaurants/bars and a private beach. This will be a trip my husband and I will never forget!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Minnesota
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 15, 2014
Best vacation ever!

Let me start by saying that vacation is what YOU make it. If you let every imperfection stress you out then stay in America. We booked through Cheap Caribbean and they were wonderful! The plane was chartered so no luggage fees at all! There was even a representative at the resort that acted as our own personal travel guide. We booked an excursion through her (Turtle Bay and Cenote) and that was the way to go. Only 10 people for the tour, Cheap Caribbean really took care of us. We also booked a catamaran trip online and Inna from Cheap Caribbean called to verify the trip for us because of weather. She was wonderful. On to the hotel. It was a smaller resort than others we have stayed at and we LOVED it! Everything is close. Do the upgrade and book the Grand side. The Grand gives you access to all the restaurants, the coffee shop and the rooftop lounge/bar. We felt like royalty the entire time. The rooftop bar/lounge has individual swimming pools and tons of seating and a wonderful bartender. No one was ever up there so we felt like it was our own personal spot. We played dominoes up there at night. The beach is beautiful and has the best snorkeling right off the shore. There is a small pier to the left and a reef in the front. Saw tons of fish, even squids. We spent most of our time on the beach. There is a roped off area for the Grand customers. They have great lounge chairs and huge beach towels. You are given towels in your room when you arrive and you can just keep exchanging them for clean ones as you need to. We put our towels on chairs in the morning to get good spots. There was a waitress on the beach bringing us drinks. We tipped her a dollar and we have great service! (just a suggestion - we brought a stack of one dollar bills to tip for services and we had excellent service). All of the staff was really nice and worked very hard! The food was also very good. There was a smaller themed buffet next to the larger one that we ate breakfast at. Very good! The steakhouse was really good, the seafood restaurant was awesome (they only serve lunch) the Mediterranean was also great! The Mexican restaurant had a Mariachi band playing and that was really fun. The food was great too. Try the lime soup. Only two of the restaurants need reservations so do that around 9 a.m. because the time slots fill up. Although we never had a problem getting reservations, just got later times. The food overall was incredible! Our room was nice, we were on the second floor. The wall facing the beach was just all window so we woke up every morning to the ocean. No balcony, but truthfully we slept in the room and dressed, that's it! A few tips - Internet for 5 days is $30 for one device; bring dollars to tip the great staff, bring strong sunscreen (the sun is very hot), book on the Grand side, there's just a small gift shop on site so book a trip to Playa Del Carmen (5th avenue is very fun), the piano bar has the best drinks!!!! I know there are many really bad reviews for this hotel and I was kind of scared after I booked, but this was one of the best vacations we have had so far!! We will return and hopefully stay 10 days next time!!

Shrimp Scampi from the Seafood restaurant The Grand Side - our room was on the second floor
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 14, 2015
Great honeymoon

Hotel is about an hour from hotel. Easy ride not much traffic. We stayed in the grand oasis khan beach front rooms. These rooms have there own patio and are footsteps from the water. These rooms are amazing. We stayed in room 2118 which is the last room on the end of the resort. So the drinks are drinkable but I gave in be second day and bought a couple of bottles of crown royale at the bar for 54 bucks. The bartenders are good expesially carlos. The food is good at the restaurants and okay ok at buffet. Breakfasts were really good. Safe is included in our room but extra charge for basic rooms. Also 30$ extra for wifi for the week which we didn't get cause there no need unless you need to keep up for work. The pools at nice. This place is nice for couples to chill and enjoy the beach and each other. It's close to all the excursions that were all a must do. Jungle maya tour with allnativetours with daisy and rodrigo were outta this world! Also akumal beach is right next to the resort to swim with huge sea turtles and stingrays on crystal clear water. Also we did the catamaran ( catamaya ) for 4 hours with steak ,lobster tail , texila and snorkeling. The crew was great. Overall with insurance, not stop round trip, transportation to and from hotel, three excursions cost us just under 2700.00. It was worth it. Would go there again only if I can get a beach front room. Hope this helps. I know it's a tough choice picking resort. I would recommend this one. LI Ny

Deck from room Great honeymoon
10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: West babylon
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 4, 2015
Get what you pay for

Overall, a nice resort that gave us what we were looking for. Multiple restaurant outlets that served a variety of cuisines. Only issues had to do with limited hours at some outlets and why the need to have an 'Adults Only' dining restaurant? Servers were nice and the restaurant/bar support team was very friendly. Did encounter problem with the Concierge team who simply did not have accurate information for certain events such as the complimentary snorkel tour where two different agents gave us wrong start time and meeting place that led to us not being able to participate in that day's outing because we were waiting at the wrong location. Did not understand the need to close the swimming pools at 8:00 pm. With temperatures in the 90's, it would have been nice to have been able to swim after dinner, especially since the public area A/C was never turned up to a sufficient volume to truly cool things down. This is by no means one of the high-end luxury resorts, but considering the price we paid, we got a very good value for our money and would recommend others looking for an affordable Mexican get-away.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: San Diego, CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 8, 2013
Great to horrible

Oasis Review I apologize for the length of this review but I must get everything in to be fair to the resort. Just FYI the drive from the airport to this resort is 1 hour and 45 min. After reading the many mixed reviews on this resort my husband and I decided to give it a try and go with an open mind because generally people are just too picky. We had a very positive attitude going into it and didn't worry about what the reviews said. We realize that some things are out of their control. With that being said here are our trip details, good and bad, that will hopefully help you make a decisive decision based on our experience. (Just FYI we stayed on the Grand oasis side of the resort. If you don't choose this option you will not be allowed as many amenities as the Grand guests.) Upon arrival we were greeted by a very polite bellman by the name of Jorge that quickly grabbed our bags out of the van and directed us to the front desk whom sent us to our concierge, Daphne, she was so helpful! As we sat with her and got checked in Jorge got us a cocktail and made us feel very welcome. He showed us to our room and got us all settled in! Might I say our ocean view room was spectacular!! Amazing! No complaints at all that first night. Our first morning we ate breakfast at the buffet, its the only choice for breakfast and they serve the same selections everyday. The choices for lunch aren't much better. The only choice we found was the cafe in front of the beach, which usually has the buffet but they serve off a menu for lunch and only offer about 6 items. The service is very slow and we usually had to ask to be served. Dinner isn't much better, If you choose to make reservations and eat at any of the those restaurants you will be very disappointed as we were! The Italian restaurant ran out of pepperoni and most of the good choices are an upgrade, even though our plan paid for all food and drinks. We had to ask for everything and it took forever along with the waiter acting annoyed by us being there. The gourmet Mexican restaurant wasn't worth it either. Bad service and took too long to get our food! We don't expect perfection at a resort like this but I do expect to get our money's worth and we didn't get it! So the complaints that everyone else is giving about the food is truly valid. Needs a lot of improvement! For the afternoon we headed to Playa Del Carmen for shopping, a lot of fun! The concierge quickly got us a cab within a few minutes, and we had no issues. On our second night we wanted to go up to the rooftop bar, as we did our first night, get our mixed drinks and lay on the pool side beds and look at the stars, very relaxing! However, they had it blocked off for a private event. Not cool, considering its really the only bar at night to get drinks and sit outside. Not a good idea to keep your Grand guests out of the only bar that offers a night life. We headed to their "disco" club and bar but no bartender and very lame music! The resort should reconsider revamping that area to make it more inviting to guests. If you are wanting ANY kind of nightlife at all you will be very disappointed! The place pretty much shuts down at 10 even though they say they will serve you till 1:00am. Our third day we spent it at Xel-Ha. All food and drinks were included in the price and the food there was better than our resort! Now, on to a problem with our A/C not working on the third night...our room was very hot and humid even though we kept our curtain closed all day while being gone. It was so hot that we were sweating while getting ready for dinner. We thought it would cool down once the sun went down but it never did. We alerted the front desk of the issue and they said they WERE aware of the problem. No offer was made to move us to another room or at least give us a fan. We had to ask if they could remedy the situation which they did. We were given a different room on the oasis side, which wasn't as comfortable as our other room. We were definitely aggravated by this since we paid for an ocean view upgrade, and had to spend our final night in a room that was less value than our other room. We should have been compensated for that night. The next day we ate lunch at the only cafe that served lunch before heading to the airport. While we were eating (which even worse food than the previous day) the maintenance crew was on top of the porch clearing off dead palm leaves and cutting off coconuts. They were letting the bunch of coconuts drop onto the overhang above heads. The noise was very obnoxious and completely rude to the guests. We seriously thought they were going to come crashing thru the covered porch. If they need to do clean up like that it needs to be done early in the morning before guests start eating! All in all it our trip started off great then just kept getting worse! I even laughed at the bad reviews when we first arrived but now I totally understand the complaints! I don't recommend this resort to anyone that has high or low expectations. It's just not worth the headache to book here! It's a shame that such a beautiful resort can't get it together! Also, beware that if your arrive very late in the evening, as some guests did that we spoke to, there is no one there to greet you or help you find your room. Luckily this was not our situation but it could happen to you!


13 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Decatur, Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 3, 2015
Oasis Grand Review

We just got back yesterday from a 10 day stay at the OASIS Grand Tulum. The hotel was sufficient. The rooms are what I would expect in the Caribbean. Unfortunately the room frequently smelled of sewage and the air conditioner smelled of mold. The service staff were extremely nice. Especially Cesar at the pool bar and Noeli at the coffee shop. Everyone greeted you with a smile and a friendly hello. The staff at the check-in counter however were not very friendly. The pools were clean. The beach was kept clean, however during our entire 10 days we were never able to get a beach chair. People go out at dawn and lay towels. I really have no desire to get up early every day of my vacation to save a chair so we sat at the pool. The snorkeling is amazing. The water is probably only 4 foot deep but there are lots of fish to view. The water was somewhat rough while we were there but that can't be controlled. We walked to the Grand Bahia and the beach there was absolutely awful. It wasn't kept clean and there were several feet of sea debris lying the entire length of the beach. I felt sorry for those people. My biggest complaint is that we spent the extra money to go Grand rather than just the OASIS and it was absolutely not worth it. There were to be several restaurants that only Grand were to eat at and yet there were always people from OASIS there. Most nights the Piano Bar which was just for Grand was filled with OASIS vacationers and we couldn't even get a seat. Over at the Grand pool, always OASIS vacationers as well. Don't get me wrong, I have no problem with every being everywhere as long as I don't pay extra for something and get nothing in return. I don't know what the differences in the rooms were between Grand and regular OASIS but I can't imagine that it could be much different. I was extremely disappointed that we paid the extra money. If I ever go back, I will not. There is also a cat that they seem to leave hanging around that pees on everything, so lots of areas smell like cat urine. As previously stated by other reviewers, the drinks can be weak. We aren't big drinkers so that really didn't bother us much but I did see people ask for extra shots of alcohol in their drinks. The majority of the shows were very enjoyable. I was impressed with them. As for the entire experience. we had a good time but I will probably try a different hotel in the future if we go back to Riviera Maya.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 15, 2015
Great for Short Trip - Food & Net 'meh'

Really a beautiful resort and maintained very well. I loved the tile and colors - the bed was comfortable - enjoyed being at this property. It was a good value in early December. Beach kind of rocky so bring water shoes! The staff was very friendly and always greeted you and sought to be helpful. Food Buffet - really not good. Yuck. Enjoyed breakfast omelet, rice, beans, plantains & soup. TV - fail. Bad 'cable' - picture is fuzzy - sound inaudible or loud buzz. It's nice to have this work if cloudy/rain - or just chilling. Internet - fail. Extra charge is per device - and tech support unable to resolve failed/non-connection. Thanks to hotel staff for providing access to alternate network after my frustration with paid service.

Great for Short Trip - Food & Net 'meh' Great for Short Trip - Food & Net 'meh'
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Upstate NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year