All

Grand Oasis Sens Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 246 Reviews
Value
 
3.4
Service
 
3.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.8
Room Comfort
 
3.3
3.2 out of 5
"Overall, great experience at Oasis Sens. The food selections were slightly limited and even though we had an all inclusive trip, not everything was all inclusive." – Rolo123
146 out of 270 (54%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Upper Pool Awesome Experience our first of many free cocktails Isla De mujeres View from chair at pool Cancun 2016 View from Pools Great View from my Room Juat the two of us View from our grand plus room Complimentary dinner from Pavel . Was delivered and presented by chef executive Hotel Room view View from our room view from our seat at the pool The Sens best restaurant~THE BOX! Sunset on sunset patio Birthday room decorations Isla De mujeres Cancun Room with a view Ocean View Room

All Grand Oasis Sens Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 246 reviews. Sort by
July 26, 2012
Perfect for us

We spent 5 nights at the Oasis Sens at the end of our 2 month trip to Mexico. The Oasis Sens was perfect for us. It is fairly low key and adult oriented. They don't promote themselves as "adult only" but they don't offer a lot of child oriented activities or services. During the time we were there it was pretty much all couples and some younger singles in groups of 2 to 4. The staff is consistently friendly and ready to help make your visit more pleasant. The food is good and there is a fairly good variety of restaurants to choose from. We visited the Grand Oasis, the largest of the "Oasis" family of hotels in the Zona Hotelera of Cancun. It is significantly larger and you can definitely feel the impact of the greater number of people there. After visiting there we were even more pleased with our choice of the Sens. If you're looking for "party all the time", go elsewhere. But if you're looking for relaxation at a good value, try the Oasis Sens.

Upper Pool
42 of 42 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Torrance, CA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

June 5, 2013
“Great resort, Great vacation”

Just returned from Oasis Sens and I know that this will be my resort whenever I come back to Cancun. I had read all of the reviews on this place and decided to go in with an open mind. Glad I did, the staff treated me like royalty from the time I got to the resort up until the time I left. I won't bother going into the minor details because my overall experience was exceptional; so I'll stick with the things most people care about. Service: Exceptional! From Francisco who met me at the resort entrance, to Jonathan in the VIP check-in area. To bartenders Victor, Candelario & Mely. Even Martha in housekeeping was very sweet and accommodating. All great and friendly. Room: As a VIP upgrade, I was located on the sixth floor facing the beach with a private plunge pool. Honestly, I don't understand why anyone staying at the resort wouldn't just upgrade to get into one of these rooms. The view was breathtaking, the bed was huge and comfortable, the linens and furniture was clean. I checked under the mattress for critters and bed-bugs... none. My immediate impression was that the room was a bit small, but as I was traveling solo it turned out to be spacious enough for the amount of time I actually spent in the room. I'd suggest asking for a larger room if you're traveling as a couple; unless you're madly in love and have no need for personal space. The private plunge pool was very much needed for cool downs when returning from the scorching heat of the beach. Minibar was replenished everyday, and housekeeping did an amazing job of tidying up. Food: Happy Chicken was my favorite go-to for a hearty snack. The wings and rotisserie chicken are superb. The buffet was average and I found myself only going for breakfast. The Italian restaurant was amaze balls. Get the strawberries for dessert! Benazuza was great. A really nice concept offering a wide variety of small plates. I'll admit that I'd had one too many margaritas prior to going, which I regret, so I did feel a bit overwhelmed by the seemingly never ending plates that continued to arrive at my table. But everything was delish and the service was impeccable. Mr Wimpy's is really good for a quick burger or hot dog to soak up all the booze you've taken in at the pool bar and is conveniently located right next to it which is great. Never got around to any of the other restaurants, as they were either closed or not needed. Ambiance: The modern décor, the friendly staff, the abundance of options all make this place hip, young and the feeling of just big enough. I felt totally safe and relaxed during my stay. I had read comments about things going missing from your room, but as long as you lock everything away in the safe you should be fine. I met lots of cool couples and singles all just looking to kick back and relax. This is not the resort for the stuffy, close-minded, LGBT loathing traveller. In fact the accepting spirit was quite refreshing; come on people it IS 2013. Even the on-site nightclub "Kinky" was just wild enough without being freshman year spring break all over again. The beach was clean. Oh... but something needs to be done about the bathroom above the beach bar. Smells really bad. Crazy that that is my only complaint about this place; but true. All-in-all this place is a great value for money, modern and cool resort that I'll definitely be visiting again.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 24, 2016
It's the most horrible and old place I have been

The place is too old everything is damage there. AC doesn't work well food are not good the drinks are not good too. Proples work there don't treat well to the guess. They are mean. I have I really bad experience overthere. The pics they post and the have in their wepside are not the same hotel. And other things that make my trip in a nightmare.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 23, 2016
Wouldn't Recommend

I have been to a fair amount of resorts around the caribbean and they all were amazing. This was the worst one I have been on. Pros: the food was good, there were plenty of options (since you're able to go to the other Oasis resorts); the resort itself was nice, the beach was awesome, and the rooms were nice Cons: Service: Some people were nice but majority seemed miserable, especially the bartenders. They would walk right by you knowing you wanted something. When we went to Oasis Pyramid my boyfriend waited 15 minutes (they were busy) but he started taking my boyfriends order and literally walked away in the middle of it and never came back .. which brings me to the... Alcohol: 100% watered down. At Oasis Sens you need to pay more for premium alcohol which I have never encountered at any other "ALL INCLUSIVE" resorts .. we took shots of jager which cost more, on the way over I watched the bartender open the bottle and smell it, when we took the shorts it barely tasted like jager. When we ordered our drinks we'd always ask for double shots after they delivered it we'd ask for a third sometimes, we would watch them pour it in and it still didn't taste like alcohol. They only carried pina coladas and strawberry margaritas at one bar (pre made) and one bar on the beach had other frozen drinks but only during certain times of the day Food was good but obviously we're not used to mexican water, getting water bottles was a struggle, they would say you could only get them in your room the front desk would sometimes give them to you other times they'd send you to the bar and they would say they didn't have any, it was like a treasure hunt Breakfast was a buffet, it was okay but the drinks were in pitchers I saw hair in some of the milk and other drinks as well; my boyfriend asked one of the servers if they had any water bottles he just said no and walked away (not helpful and telling us where we could get some) Wifi costs extra ($30 for 5 days) also never had to deal with that at other all inclusive resorts and it was awful, don't even bother Using the safe costs extra I think 5 dollars a day When going to the sister resorts they didn't have a shuttle you had to find your own transportation (again usually included at other all inclusive resorts) it was 12 dollars for less than a 5 min cab ride (I'm from boston thats a little much for such a short trip) RUN FROM PEOPLE WITH LIFESTYLE WRITTEN ON THEIR SHIRT they tell you they'll send you for free to the other resorts and they'll direct you to someone who will tell you everything you can do with your bracelets, well i was against because they were trying so hard to do it i figured something was in it for them .. well we wasted a good hour and 30 minutes being shown the other resort and sold some sort of vacation package, started at 4300 down and then dropped down to 25 a month when we kept saying no, I'm not trying to get harassed on my vacation nor do i want to spend my vacation setting up other vacations, I can do that at home. We did go on an excursion the was awesome, set up through our shuttle from the airport AMSTAR, it was adventuras mayas highly recommended if you do go This trip was only 300 cheaper than our trip to jamaica and aruba, its worth the money to go to other places.. if you need a cheap trip i recommend cabo san lucas, i stayed at the riu there and have no complaints. The oceans in mexico are rough so sometimes they don't let you swim but I knew that going into it and we were able to swim a few days (just an added FYI)


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 31, 2017
Will never stay at a grand oasis resort again

The resort looked nice upon arrival but one week before our vacation we saw that the prices for the grand ocean plus room (which is what I paid for) were $100 less on the Grand Oasis website versus what I paid on Cheap Caribbean. The price of the Sian Ka'an club is actually what I had paid for. So, when we were checking in, I kindly asked Luis if we could be upgraded to the Sian Ka'an since we unknowingly paid $100 more per night than we should have. Out of principle, I thought he would at least try to accommodate us and upgrade us or give us a free day at the lounge or something of that nature:just to make us feel like he was trying to help. He was very rude and completely uninterested in trying to make the situation better. That started off the trip on the wrong note for us. Now, I upgraded to Grand Ocean Plus room for the wifi since the basic bedroom did not include wifi and I needed to check my work emails. The wifi was completely useless as it did not work at all. Even worse; it expired after 3 nights when we were there for 6 days. I don't understand how you can pay an additional price for something and it expires before the end of your stay. It is important to also mention that 2 other couples who had gotten there the same day as us also had to wait to get new wifi access codes since theirs expired as well. Requesting a new wifi code also takes forever. If you are looking to upgrade your room for the wifi.. DON'T because it does not even work. Luckily, I found out that AT&T covers Mexico so I was able to use my LTE data. ROOM: The biggest issue I had was the low water pressure. The shower was awful.. it was literally DRIPPING! There was hardly any water coming out of it which made it very difficult and time consuming to wash my course curly hair. I ended up using the sink. We asked the front desk to send someone to check it out and they said that because we were on the 9th floor all of the rooms had low water pressure because they use the pumps for their main pool. What? So now I'm already overpaying for this room, not even getting the wifi I paid for and I can't even shower and wash my hair because your showers don't work. It was so disappointing. FOOD: Moving on to things people actually care about. The food was subpar. I eat everything, I am not picky at all but the options were very limited and I felt sick after almost every meal. Every morning we went down to get breakfast and the eggs had this disgusting juice in them and it looked really gross. The hotel in general is EXTREMELY understaffed. Only 2 servers work at each restaurant so it takes 20-30 minutes to get started with a drink, let alone food. Not the servers faults.. I believe this is a Grand Oasis issue of employing less people to make more profit since this was the case throughout the entire hotel. Also, only drinks served at the restaurants during lunch and dinner are coke, sprite and beer. If you want anything else, you have to make your way up the stairs to go into the lobby bar and get wine or something stronger prior to your meal. RESTAURANT RESERVATIONS: Moreover, I know you have to make reservations for a lot of All-inclusives upon check in, but with this hotel, that is not the case. You literally have to stand in line by 630PM every night to make a reservation for the restaurant you'd like to eat at. If they become booked, they wait until you reach the front of the line--having waited up to an hour--to tell you that the restaurant is not taking anymore reservations for the night. I've never seen or experienced anything like this. Most people were complaining about this method of making reservations. CLEANLINESS: We spoke to new friends at dinner and they told us that their rooms were not cleaned upon arrival and 2 couples found 'brown stains' in the shower and on the toilet seat. Luckily, that was not the case for me but it's very alarming that 2 couples had to deal with that. One thing that was really bothersome for us was how muggy the room was. We left the air conditioning on the entire time we were there and the room got so humid that you literally woke up in sweat even though it was not hot. It was the strangest thing and I could NOT WAIT to get back home to my dry room and bed. Oh, and our second day we went to look out the window and the floor was drenched with water and it was because the window was not properly insulated from the rain. POOL: In order to get a lounge chair by the pool or beach, you have to wake up before 730AM to lay your towels to claim your chairs. If you plan on going to this hotel and sleeping in everyday and waking up hoping to find chairs, I'm sorry but it's not gonna happen. By 9AM everything has already been claimed. CUSTOMER SERVICE: There is NONE! No one will pick your call at the front desk, you have to go down to the lobby and wait at least 20 minutes before someone can get to you. Like I said in the beginning, they don't try to accommodate you and they are not even slightly remorseful if you seem unhappy or unsatisfied. Overall, there were too many issues. I'm not one to complain, I'm a pretty positive person and I've NEVER written such an extensive review but I REALLY want people to know what they're getting themselves into before booking this hotel and throwing away money. I love tropical vacations but I honestly was looking forward to going home for the first time ever. The man issue is no one wanted to help when you raised a concern. The staffers at the bar in the lobby were very nice and very swift in making drinks but the people at check-in (Luis Vasquez) were very rude and seemed annoyed by the thought of you asking questions. The whole point of all inclusives are to pay for the exceptional service and having everything at your finger tips but the services here were awful. I would have honestly paid 200$ more a night to have the vacation that I expected this to be, and going forward I've learned my lesson. I will NEVER stay at another Grand Oasis resort and I will urge everyone I know not to either. If you don't want to feel like you wasted money, don't stay here. I'd give 0 stars if I could.


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 3, 2017
Worst resort I have ever been to

I just got back from my vacation to Cancun with my fiance and we stayed at Grand Oasis Sens since it was adults only. When we first got there we went to have dinner at one of the Mexican restaurants where I ordered fish (it was in an aluminum foil). Four hours later I woke up sick to my stomach throwing up every 30 minutes for almost two whole days. The room was dirty, there was leaking water from the ceiling and they did not clean our room for two days even after we called about 20 times to ask for at least fresh towels. My fiance had to himself go to the laundry room and get two fresh towels and he said there was trash everywhere. On top of everything, no one told us that we had to reserve a table at every restaurant if we wanted to eat for New Year's Eve so my fiance and I ended up going to the buffet where all I could eat was plain bread because of the food poisoning that I got and their under-cooked meals. Service was terrible and would not recommend this resort to anyone. This was my 6th time in Cancun and I had never before had an experience like in the Oasis Sens. The whole place smelled, do not go there! Do not waste your money!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 26, 2012
love the sens

This was my 3rd time this year. It was just as Great as the 1st. time. The staff really makes this resort. I would move in and stay forever. The price I paid was Great that is why I can go so many times . Beach was Great Pools were very nice. The food was great in all restaurants. The rooms were very clean and beds were great


17 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Mexico
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 24, 2013
Better than Las Vegas

I have a Master's Degree in Hospitality, Tourism and Event Management and this hotel was WONDERFUL! A lot of the negative reviews are people who are negative in life. DON'T LISTEN TO THEM! The ENTIRE staff at this resort worked their butts off to make sure things were done right. Staff: If there was a problem (and I had a few complaints that were minor), they fixed it RIGHT AWAY! Notably, Raschid who works the desk at night was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating when we needed our dirty sheets changed (minor problem). Edwin who works during the day was so helpful and knowledgeable about what to do, where to do. The training provided by this resort was wonderful and it showed in their staff. So many FRIENDLY people work at this resort. In America, some of the maids that clean your room NEVER speak to you, but not here. They all were VERY friendly and it didn't seem fake. It made me feel loved. Food: Juan Carlos y Jesús at Muérdeme Mucho were a WONDERFUL servers. The food there is EXTREMELY delicious. Lunch there is better than dinner because it's a la carte, but it was still tasty if you dine there at their dinner buffet. They do a great job of trying to cater to Americans (which is sad in my opinion. We should adapt to THEM!). The Box is a great concept for a restaurant that delves into a unique foodie experience for the guest. Happy Chicken and Mr Wimpy are great snack bars with friendly staff. Some people were upset that the rotisserie chicken wasn't available, but they were also fat pigs, so I didn't really listen to them. The chicken was delicious! The italian restaurant does a great job of providing you with delicious eats and a gorgeous view of the Caribbean Sea. Francisco is a server that we can't forget either. He was so sweet and remembered our names too! Entertainment I used to be a dancer and the only negative thing I can say was I wish the shows were longer. :-) I didn't want them to end. There's eye candy and TALENT all in one!!!! They were a wonderful treat and the performers ALL were amazing! Cirque du Soleil better watch out. This is well worth it!!!! These kids are truly talented and are worthy of praise that you would see at a Vegas show or as Janet Jackson backup dancers. Kinky Nightclub was where I could have spent EVERY singly night, Pantera (Mi Amor) was a great host and the dancers (again) are truly phenomenal. Beach: They have PLENTY of space for you, but if you go during busy season, GET THERE EARLY so you get a preferred seat. Rooms: We had an Ocean view and it was spectacular to have, but not necessary to get the upgrade as you would spend all day at the one of many pools the place has anyway. How much time do you plan on spending indoors anyway? The bed was comfortable, that was most important. They also offer lots of tv stations in English, with flat screen tvs. Overhead lighting does not exist, but they do offer other lamps on the be and other places to light up your room. My husband can't see very well, but he didn't have a problem with the lights in the rooms. Finally, The mini bar was the BEST! Why? They gave us a Snickers bar EVERY SINGLE DAY! I met some great people here and I look forward to seeing my new friends again. I also want to say that I HATE HOT WEATHER, but I LOVED being in Cancún at this resort. All-inclusive is the way to go!

Room with a view
9 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 24, 2016
Grand Oasis Sens 10/2016

We recently went to Grand Oasis Sens for a get away from work vacation and we LOVED it. It is only 15 minutes from the airport and the section of beach it's on was fantastic. I am a huge beach lover and the beach was stunning. The pools were also good and the pool bar was so fun you never wanted to get out. There are a ton of restaurants to pick from but the one I wanted to try the most wasn't open because it was out of season, the sushi bar. I would consider myself a picky eater so some foods were tough for me to try but my boyfriend who eats more unique things liked almost everything. Our room was on the 9th floor ocean view and nothing about it could have been better. Then, the best thing of all was at 8pm every night on the beach we got to release baby sea turtles into the ocean. It was an unforgettable experience and we would definitely go back!

Grand Oasis Sens 10/2016
9 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 16, 2012
absolutely beautiful!

Perfect place to stay with the exception that we wanted to return for future trip with our kids (no children allowed)and were advised that starting the end of November it was changing to an all gay concept. I believe this will lose alot of business. We loved the location because it was away from the nightlife and busyness.


14 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Louisville, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year