All

Grand Oasis Palm Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 224 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
3.7
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.6 out of 5
"For the price, this place is amazing. Beaches had a lot of seaweed and kind of shallow, but nice. The Steakhouse was amazing, Great Food and service. All the People were so friendly." – KWA3535
188 out of 271 (69%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Breakfast is served here! The view from directly outside the hotel looking out our window That was our enjoying the time here Infinity pool at Grand Oasis Riviera Maya From our room The beach One of the more chill bars at the resort Morning at one of the pools A nice morning 6 am Great pool Beach was fabulous Pool side --2013 The gorgeous beach View on our balcony View of the pool from our room, to the a little outdated pool and very small beach. View from Room at Grand Oasis Caribbean Resort Awesome Pool Area

All Grand Oasis Palm Customer Reviews

1-10 of 224 reviews. Sort by
July 23, 2012
Careful when they flush the toilet!

The Grand Oasis Palm was a great place to stay and I highly recommend it. I have a couple negatives and depending on your preferences these may be negatives for you as well. That said, the positive def outweighs the negative. Appearance was great! The pool and the beach was very spacious and relaxing. It's not the partying hotel so if you're looking for true R & R it's perfect. As a family hotel there are lots of children running around but nothing disturbing. The room was also very nice, clean and comfy. My only negative here is the shower. It seemed that whenever anyone above us or below us flushed the toilet the water was suddenly boiling and then freezing. If you're traveling with some one older or a child, you may want to assist them with taking a shower as you'll need cat-like reflexes to not get burned. We were there for 5 days on on day 3 I realized when the water was going to jump. I don't know if this is for all the rooms or just ours, but just something to keep in mind. Room service was great and everything was always brought within the 40 min. time block. The service is my second complaint. For the most part the employees were nice but who ever answered the phone for guest services was always rude. I ordered water at 3pm and she said it'd be up right away. An hour and a half later I called and she insisted it was dropped off, I explained I never left the room and have been waiting and she snapped back, "fine, I'll see what's going on" and hung up. 30 min later the water showed up. We also ordered a wake-up call at 6am for an excursion and they called at 6:30. Thankfully it was just two of us and we got ready quick, but if this was for a family, I doubt multiple people can get ready so quickly especially when you have to jump in and out of the shower. My last complaint was the food. The buffet is pretty small and the reservations-only restaurants had very limited options for dinner. It was all inclusive, obviously free, but it wasn't the greatest of options or flavors. Again, I was ok with it as I did not go there for food but if you're hoping for an authentic Mexican experience with amazing cuisine maybe this place is not for you. The food was average, nothing spectacular. So besides the shower, a couple rude employees and average food, I really enjoyed my stay and would prob go again.


56 of 57 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 29, 2012
Good last minute trip

We planned this trip a week before and had a lovely experience. The resort was well-maintained and there were activities at all times of the day. The beach and views were beautiful and the atmosphere was relaxing and laid-back. Lots of shade and lounge areas in which to take a break from the sun. The Oasis Palm next door has a more lively atmosphere (music, etc.), so it was nice to have the option to join in the fun or just chill out.


30 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 16, 2012
Great time

The room,food and service was good. I recommend all-inclusive we took advantage of all bars and restaurants. Get pesos as soon as you get there, it will save you alot of money. The beach at the Grand Oasis Palm Beach was not that impressive so we went to Oasis Sens and it was amazing. With all inclusive thru Grand Oasis Palm you can go to all Oasis hotels. Overall we had a good time and Cheap carribean was great.


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 8, 2010
Wonderful Long Weekend in Cancun

My sister and I flew to Cancun for a long weekend over Valentine's Day to celebrate my birthday. This package was perfect for us! I loved how easy it was to make all the arrangements necessary: flights, travel from the airport, and hotel. One of the engines on our flight out of Chicago caught fire so we were behind schedule. I called the number on our itinerary and our transportation was waiting when we arrived - 6 hours late! The resort was beautiful - the room was gorgeous. We had a view on one side to the ocean and the other to the bay. The food was delicious - we only had to wait for a table for a great meal outside. The pool was a nice way to cool off after enjoying the beach. The beach was absolutely beautiful - the water was so blue!! This was our first trip to Cancun and we will definitely go back again. The hotel was well stocked and the staff very attentive.


17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Peoria, IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 27, 2012
Service was excellent!

Fr desk; Oscar, DA BOMB! Piano Bar; Alberto, Best Habinero Red Beer Maker Ever! Beach Bar; Alfredo(Papi) 74 yrs old, 20+ yrs working, "Big Daddy!" Beach Bar Server; Miguel, Ladies man but took very good care of us! All of the staff was GREAT! Dont believe reviews, i think those people are spoiled and expected slaves, not people looking to make a living! The locals were kind, helpful and helpful as were the entire staff! Dont be afraid of taking the bus any where! If you are looking for a party spot, not the place. Looking for a nice, clean, relaxing place place to unwind, and recharge, this is the place! Comfort; A+, Service; A+, Food; B, Buildings B; Beaches and Pools; A. Yes, there are generators from the Royal Cancun next door close some rooms that may be loud, not Oasis fualt. Yes, walls are a little thin, so you may hear you nieghbors at times. Overall, would recommend, we are planning to go back in May 2013. We loved the Grand Oasis Palm Beach, but we were looking for peace, quiet and comfort. If you are looking for more excitement, check other places, overall we loved it, but it depends on what you want. Jorge with Olympus Tours was excellent!!!Booked our transfer from the resort and back to airport as well as Dolphin tour(which I would HIGHJLY recommend!) Try this place once, if you dont like it, then you you didnt read above! Will share photos later. Cheap Caribbean was awesome as well!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Mullen, Ne
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 29, 2015
Grand Oasis Palm Not So Great

Overall - I have expected a little more (or less of the negatives described below). I will start with the positives: - The customer service was excellent; - The transportation service included in our package was great; - The location is good; - The beach had some weeds, but it was not as horrible as described by some other people; - Food - if you are a seafood lover, you will be in heaven. We are not, so we were limited to buffet food only. I liked it, as it is changing every day and the service is wonderful. - The weather was fantastic (September). Negatives Now, I will probably sound like a snob, but we have been saving for this vacation for a very long time and we will not go for another one for very long time, so I am describing everything honestly, not with an attitude of a snob. - We have paid extra for an ocean view room, thinking we will get a room like those shown on the pictures. We got the furthest one from the ocean, no balcony, no patio, view of the pool, beach and a little bit of an ocean, that was very disappointing, since the prices are really high for this extra addition to the package; - There was only one flight selection for the flight (even though there was another airline flying to the same place 10 minutes later), if you can chose, do not select Frontier Airlines, you will pay for everything, even water on the plane, so whatever you save in the package, will be charged later by the airlines; - It was mentioned that the hotel has two parts: Oasis Palm and Grand Oasis Palm. Yes, it is listed as a family hotel, but there was supposed to be a no-kids zone on the beach.. well, that is not followed at all. Families were everywhere along with their screaming children. And in a hotel, where everything is made out of tile, it was not such a pleasure to listen to those kids running through the halls at midnight, my recommendation: bring earplugs; - U-shaped building (GOP) creates a very annoying echo. Imagine that from about 8am till about 11pm there is only a TECHNO/REMIX DANCE music playing at the beach (not changeable for some reason, the DJ must be really proud to play for himself, since no one was on the dance floor the entire time we were there and we heard complaints all over from other people staying at the same resort). Ad a CONSTRUCTION noise going under our windows from 7:30m till 9pm and MARIACHI band playing in the evenings in or in front of the GOP lobby. I was losing my mind, instead of just relaxing. I could not even read a book!!! - That is my biggest complaint about this resort. - beach / pool hours limited. They close at 9pm. No night swimming allowed; - Rooms: Warm water in the rooms (shower) smells like sewer and we got two queen size beds for a couple. Not cool, since we asked for one king size bed. - No water activities as we have seen described on the website, except the possibility of renting a jet ski for $60/30 mins. No paddle boarding or other stuff; - Fun programs were created for children only. If there were two evening programs suited for adults too, that would be exaggerating. We have scheduled two tours during our stay (and additional one on location). The driver/scheduler gets confused about the pick up location, we have almost missed one, waiting in the wrong lobby (no, not our fault, we have followed the instructions). Scheduling through CheapCaribbean was great, just the product itself was not what we expected.

That was our View of the pool from our room, to the a little outdated pool and very small beach.
12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Denver, CO
Age: 35-44

July 22, 2015
Best Vacation Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Before buying this package I read all the reviews posted so I was a little worried about the hotel. Well from the moment I got there (11:00 am Friday) to the time we left (2:30 pm Thursday) I was treated like Royalty, any problem we encounter was fixed and corrected in no time. Early check inn...no problem, Different Floor....no problem, A/C not cool enough....5 minutes wait and fixed, Room service for the Kids...done!!! I swear everything that we ask we got!!! The staff is very polite and attentive, always with a greeting or a Hello how can I help you?? The food IS OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!! you have 10..... I repeat 10 restaurants to chose what to eat and no reservation, open all day and night. My favorite MAKI TACO is incredible, so fresh and varied that we eat there 3 times. There's only 1 restaurant that required reservation and its the Couples restaurant(NO KIDS) again incredible food!!! The beach is beautiful and the pool is very refreshing. There's a lot of activities for the kids and there's always Lifeguards on site. I read people complaining about the language and the Mexican food....well YOU WENT TO MEXICO!!! what do you expect??? For the money paid this is one of the best vacation we have in years. I carried $1.00 bills with me all the time to give tips, its not necessary but this people work real hard and they deserved. First time I am writing a review but the GRAN OASIS PALM will be #1 in my book. Thanks to the staff and we are planning to return very soon with my wife and other couple !!!!!!!! I forgot to mention, we were a party of 58 people from Miami, Atlanta, Virginia and Peru!!!

Best Vacation Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami, Fl
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 7, 2013
Had a great time

I have to say for the price we paid we all had an awesome time. Read some iffy reviews and really didn't know what to expect but everything was great. The rooms were spacious and clean. The only thing I could complain about was the pillows were very uncomfortable and I really would have liked a balcony. There are no balconies at all. The beach was great cause Grand guests could use the outdoor beds. They were so relaxing. Nice mix of palm trees and sunny spots. Employees were very friendly and buffets were buffets. Not too exciting but something for everyone. I have absolutely no complaints and was totally worth the price we paid. I would consider going back in a heartbeat.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ontario, Canada
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 11, 2015
Great value

I have stayed many times at Oasis Hotels but this was our first time at the Grand Oasis Palms. First of all I must say they treated us special because we were booked throughCheapCaribbean. We had private check in, free safe deposit box,24 hrs free Wifi and a penthouse room.(Our room faced the lagoon side and what an amazing view of the hotel zone especially at night.) Plus our room was ready for us at 12:00pm,we were on the beach by 1:00. Plenty of lounge chairs all day long. Many families but I like that. Kids are kept busy all day from all the entertainment offered. Many restaurants and at least 3 beach bars some offer snacks and light meals all day. The beach is very safe. The hotel was constantly being cleaned inside and out by the many staff. Yes I know some complain of the elevators they are small but I only waited twice in four days. What is the rush? You're on vacation! I would recommend this hotel and we are definitely going back.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010
First Time & Wonderful Time spent in Cancun

From the time that we arrived at this beautiful resort we were greeted with drinks while checking into our room. The staff was courteous and prompt. We received a quick tour of the amenities and were informed of all the dining options that were plenty. The rooms are clean and nicely cooled and we had a beautiful view outside our windows. The food in the restaurant was nothing special but still delectable. We especially liked the Sushi bar and breakfast at one of the restaurants. Overall, we had a wonderful stay at this resort and would definitely do it again.

Awesome Pool Area Breakfast is served here!
8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year