All

Grand Oasis Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 1,030 Reviews
Value
 
3.5
Service
 
3.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.0
3.3 out of 5
"A good place to stay, clean, friendly people, good food, entertainment every day." – keka
622 out of 1,144 (54%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Hours They view from our room was breath taking Room View Of Resort Grand oasis hotel 1431 great view View from our room Pool View part of the hotel Our gorgeous view from our room View from inside the resort Did you order the squirts? Beautiful Deadbolt lock Mexican food cant beat the views! the view from our room- AMAZING The beach Pool Careyes Resturant, rsvp and formal dress required the swim-up bar is just around the corner This is in our closet! beach Cockroach before they got bigger and multiplied yick! Worst place the view from my room at the Pyramid The pool Dinner show The Oasis Beach Club The view only people at the Pyramid could use this bed PERFECT View from our room in Building 3 Ceiling cracking Our view from the hotel. The room Water leaking from ceiling Wet floor from air conditioner leaking My view from my room leak at sliding door from the rain Ocean View pool and beach area peacock in paridise Cockroaches, nasty Broken Shower (over 24 Hrs later to fix - 5 phone calls to front desk and then walked over (different building) to finally get it fixed! Ridiculous!!! No working shower?? Beautiful peacocks on resort Disgusting Our last day View from Playa I View from 1330 - Playa 1 Our friend that we made at the pool. We saw him everyday by the pool. :) the building i stayed in Grand oasis!! Careye's was excellent View from room Recessed Lighting in Room leaked constantly during all rainy days - water running from lighting (electrical hazard!?) to the marble floor (slippery) - put towels down, put trash can in room to catch water, etc. - unreal for a Sunrise on our last day. View from room Beach View from my room Map Morning view from our balcony Oasis Beach Pool to ourselves! Disgusting String in my eggs, watch out View from the Coco Bar Balcony view Construction outside room 4th floor of pyramid overview of the pool area Red Circus bad drain, tub would fill while showering and smell like sewage Outside area aaahhh View from our room in Building 3

All Grand Oasis Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 1,030 reviews. Sort by
February 14, 2015
Grand Oasis Cancun....02/11/2015

Hello...I read a lot of reviews before I go. I have been to Cancun 5 times now. This was my first visit to The Grand Oasis Cancun. This review is 100% accurate...No fluff. This was my first 3 star hotel. My expectations were limited going in. I was pleased. Go there. Oasis & Grand Oasis are on the same grounds...Big place. Do : Get the ocean front Grand Oasis package, unless you want to hang with all the partiers. The difference is night and day. Eat at Cocoa....Right on the beach....Lunch & dinner really good. Wish I would have found it earlier in my trip because the rest of the restaurants were "fair" at best. Can only imagine what the restaurants were like without having the Grand Oasis wristband! Eat breakfast at the Marketplace buffet...Right on the beach....Good quick breakfast food. Exchange your beach towel and reserve a beach chair with a towel first thing.... Arrange your own transportation...The shuttles take forever. Alot of places to walk....Beautiful beach area for long walks. Good nightlife on site if that is your thing too. Don't: Don't eat at Bonitas....Don't eat at the Steakhouse....Dont eat at the Hippie Grill. Stay away from the Timeshare yahoos. The room was great......Like I said...Get the ocean view....Great view plus it puts you right on the beach vs. in the back with all the riff raff. Don't believe the extended weather forcasts...I fall for them every time.....The weather is going to be beautiful.... The drinks were ok too....You have to ask for the name brand stuff but so what....And when the drink seemed a little weak I added a shot :) For the money, considering I stayed at the Dreams 2X before, I didn't know what to expect. This place was worth every cent. Like I said, Eat at Cocoa every day and you will love the food. Forget the rest ,except the Marketplace buffet. I used Cheapcarribean 3x now.....Very satisfied with their service. Take this review and run with it....It is 100% spot on :) The photo was from my ocean view balcony...5th (top) floor 7am 2/10/2015. Book it and enjoy....I can't wait to go back.


58 of 59 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 11, 2013
Great Vacation

I read the reviews and was very worried prior to going. All the reviews you read are based off of people who did not upgrade to the Grand Oasis. We stayed at the Grand Oasis and had access to everything. On the Grand side it was great for families, old and young. If you want the party style just walk around to the other side and you will have the loud music and crazy people. The food choices were great. I am a picky eater so I could even find something. My room was in the ocean front building not the pryamid. The room was very small and had no where to put your clothes or stuff. We only had one chair in the room. The room had no air the first night and it was hot. I complained and they were able to fix the air for the remander of the vacation. The room was not the best but for sleeping it was good enough. We didn't stay in the room so this did not ruin our vacation. The resort is large and very well maintained. The staff was very nice and willing to help. They did not expect a tip just a thank you and a smile. The beach was well maintained and clean. The water is clear and the waves can be rough at times but it was amazing. We never had an issue with finding a chair and the hotel was sold out when we went. We went up to the Oasis Palms one day to see what we were missing out on and I will say we made the better choice. The beach is rocky and the water is filled with seaweed. I go on two large vacations a year and I will say out of the last 10 this is the best place I have been. I love Cancun and we will be back. Make sure when you book you book the GRAND OASIS. Don't get sold on the freebies that Cheap Carribean offer you. You can not use any of them at the resort. The reasort coupon book we were given did not work on anything. The discounts you get off your next trip are not eligible because Cheap Caribbean vacations are on sale and you can only use one discount at a time. So don't think your getting a great deal from Cheap Caribbean none of the discount things work.


54 of 55 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 31, 2016
Helpful Information for an Enjoyable Stay!

There are 5 accommodation buildings on the resort. The Pyramid is the main building. To the left and right of the pyramid are rectangular buildings called Palmer 1 & Palmer 2. The Palmer buildings have golf course or pool/garden views. Across from the 2 Palmer buildings are Playa buildings 1 & 2 (also rectangular in shape). They both offer garden/pool view or ocean views. The 1st floor of the Playa buildings, on the ocean front view side, have large balconies where lounge chairs are situated... a very nice feature! Additionally all rooms have a small balcony, no matter which building you are in. There were many reviews siting construction, deferred maintenance and poor room condition. We stayed in an ocean front room, in the Playa 1 building, on the highest floor, level 5. Our room number was 1528. Our room, along with all the other rooms in our building looked to be recently updated (we looked in several rooms which were open for house keeping). Our room was nicely decorated, had a comfortable bed, wall mount TV (and this is Mexico, guys... don't expect to get English speaking broadcasting!) with a few American stations, good working AC, a frig stocked with canned beer, Sprite, Fanta, Coke and bottled water. Everything was fully functional, including our plumbing. However, as with most islands, peninsulas and old world cities, it sometimes takes a minute to get hot water. Do your self a favor and let the shower run for 5 mins before you hop in. I also noted several negative reviews about housekeeping. We prefer our privacy when traveling, so a "do not disturb" tag stays on our door for the duration of our stay. However, I can tell you, housekeeping was servicing rooms from morning till night on every floor, everyday! And they wheeled around huge carts to restock the mini-frigs in the rooms. Anytime I needed a clean towel or more soft drinks, I literally didn't have to leave my floor to find an attendant who was happy to help me. Also, its good to know, each building has a concierge office with a staff person, coffee, juice and light pastries or fruit... they are there to help you! I reviewed several comments about water infiltration into the buildings, which brought some concern to us. On our final night, it rained sheets of water & being on the top floor, I was alarmed. I am happy to report, we witnessed no water in our room & no other guests in our building were experiencing problems. Oddly enough, on the 1st level, there was a leak coming out of a light fixture and there was a bucket, towels and caution signs. Literally everyone of the resort staff we encountered was bilingual, and some multilingual. It was very easy communicating our needs. Grand Oasis is a party and entertainment resort, so its important to keep that in mind when it comes to noise. From what I understand, the rooms in the Pyramid are the most nicely appointed rooms, however there is a trade off. The floor of the Pyramid is sunken down and it looks up an amazing several stories. The guest rooms are situated on all 4 sides. Every night there is a large show in this building with amplifiers, lights, smoke, cheering, ect. Additionally, the burlesque bar, and several other bars, restaurants, gift shops and reception, are on the 1st floor of the Pyramid. Although I did not stay in a Pyramid room, this is a loud building. If you have children requiring nap time or you value sleeping in or a daytime siesta, you may reconsider the Pyramid accommodations. Another crucial tidbit is the wristbands. Depending on who you book through, there are different color bands which entitle you to different amenities. We booked through Cheap Caribbean, which is the best amenity package (clear wristband). A booking through Cheap Caribbean makes you a VIP guest. There are several perks to being a VIP: luxury check-in (more to come on this topic), free use of room safe (otherwise there is a daily charge), access to ALL bars and restaurants, use of the queen sized beach cabanas which come with your own attendant for drinks, lunch and snack service (there's only about 20 beach cabanas, so get there early, this was one of our FAVORITE features!!!), use of the pool side cabanas (about 6 cabanas), free use of 2 computer/internet stations & use of kayaks, water bikes & catamarans. Please note, the water-crafts are not actually on the resort, but you just cross the street out front and you will see a large building with a blue tin roof... that's where you check out the equipment you wish to use for the day. A final note on our VIP experience... you are supposed to have bottle of wine in your room upon check-in, but we did not. Although, this was of little concern to us, as we are discerning with the brands of wine we drink. I am sure if we would have brought it to guest services attention, they would have happily provided us with one. Being this is a HUGE resort, check-in lines can get long. When you walk into the Pyramid you will see several large red signs to your left for check-in. This is a very crowed area. If you book with Cheap Caribbean, you have a private and more comfortable check-in process! As you walk into the Pyramid, veer to the right. There is a small placard on the wall which reads "VIP Check-In". There will be a person standing there to open the glass doors for you. This is a private lounge which also houses the VIP Bar. We were checked in and had all our information within 15 mins. We spent all of our evenings in the VIP bar. They serve the brut Champaign, Absolute Vodka, Bacardi and several other name brand liquors which you will not get at any other bar on the resort. I tired several of the resort bars and the liquor was of low quality & not very tasty at all. My spouse and I consider ourselves foodies. But we have very realistic expectations when visiting resorts, especially ones we consider to be "value" destinations. Upon check-in you get a map (carry this with you always, it makes everything easy to find!) and a list of bars/restaurants with their hours/days of operations. There are 3 buffets at Grand Oasis: Market Place (Le Buffet), Tataish & Tunkul. Tunkul was never open during our visit. It was the only restaurant which did not correspond to the info sheet provided. Regardless, it seems Market Place~Le Buffet is the favorite of most all guests. In the morning, they have serve yourself brut Champaign/OJ & vodka/bloody mary mix. These buffets are not like Vegas, they are much smaller, but offer a decent selection. Hands down the best restaurant is Careyes, offering a French-Mexican fusion cuisine. It is a lovely atmosphere with a live pianist. I had a roast pear salad & duck breast, it was really outstanding. Careyes has a dress code: long pants, collared shirt & closed toe shoes for men & sophisticated dress for women. Reservations are required for this restaurant. Reservations can be made in the office in the far left corner of the Pyramid from 9am-3pm, & they are for the following day (NO SAME DAY RESERVATIONS). Make as many reservations for Careyes as you possibly can!! Everyone seemed to rave about The White Box restaurant & claimed it to be 2nd best. The White Box also has a dress code, although less restrictive, and reservations are required. Reservations are taken staring at 3pm for same day dining. Here is the crucial factor- this restaurant only has 9 tables, so people start lining up at the door at 2:15 to ensure they get a spot! The White Box is a gastropub. They serve a 9 course meal that you and your dinner partner share. Each course is small; the concept is quality over quantity. Honestly, we only liked 1 of the 9 courses. And it was during this meal, did we have our only unpleasant resort experience. My husband had asked for more wine and we were in the midst of a very involved private conversation. The waiter returned to the table and proceeded to interrupt us, by simply interjecting himself and talking loudly over our conversation. I have no idea what he was trying to accomplish other than blatant disrespect. I would never step foot in The White Box again for this interaction in itself. There seems to be a tie for the 3rd most popular restaurant. Coco is more seafood based with a Greek island feel to its décor & they severed individual courses, while Behia Rodizzio Brazilian style steakhouse has a small buffet of salads, cold dishes, hot side dishes & deserts, while staff visits your table to cutting cuts of beef off long metal skewers to the quantity and temperature of your liking (I enjoyed the beef here). Everything else, dining wise, is all about average, but the Italian restaurants did not suite our tastes at all. Other misc stuff... We always have hot spot enabled on our phones, but its important to now this resort does NOT have free Wi-Fi. It is an optional service at $10 per day. I did over hear several people complaining the service was poor and choppy. The hotel offers free parking, but there's not a lot of parking spaces, so sometimes you have to drive around for a minute. I highly recommend renting a car! Yes, its safe to drive in Mexico and the roads and laws are similar to the US. Chichen Itza is about 3 hours away from the resort depending on the route you take, along with waterfalls, caves, horseback riding, shopping, dolphin adventuress, other ruins, ect. Lastly, as with most resorts, there are sales employees walking around in tan shirts... their specific job is trying to upsell you to gold status. I'm not sure if it was a time share deal or a overall upgrade. I listened to a person for about 5 minutes... I didn't get as far as pricing or intimate details (no time for that!), but some of the perks were limo transport to and from the airport, free massages at the spa & use of a resort rental car. These people are there to do a job, just tell them no & keep walking.

Helpful Information for an Enjoyable Stay! Helpful Information for an Enjoyable Stay!
27 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Raleigh, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 2, 2015
Great value!

This review is for the people sorting through the super good and super bad reviews that people tend to post online. Take this, as with any review, like a grain of salt. My wife and I have been to the area 6 times in the last 2-3 years and we have stayed at a different resort every time. We've had mostly good experiences with a few let downs. We went in a just a little skeptical as it appears the weeks before our visit was spring break with lots of craziness. I assume this isn't just a Grand Oasis annoyance but a Cancun thing in general. We were very happy overall with the resort. I'll start with the negatives and move on to the positives. CONS: First, we were upgraded to VIP by booking with cheapcaribbean.com... however, we only got a WiFi code for 24 hours. You can purchase 5 days of WiFi for $30 (per device) and honestly I look at it this way. Most resorts have a lobby that offers free WiFi that is usually completely crowded and the internet is so slow its redic. Personally, I'd rather pay $30 and have WiFi all over the resort. Second, If you are staying in the pyramid... they have a pretty elaborate circus show in the center that runs several days a week. It was wrapped up I think by 9PM which is usually well before my desired vacation bedtime, however, it was a bit annoying on the first night when we woke up @ 3 am and traveled all day. If these deter you from coming, good luck finding a resort anywhere to stay! :) PROS: Keep in mind that if you are coming to a resort for fine dining... again, good luck. Honestly, I would classify the food as good. the only meal that you are destined to buffet style is breakfast and they have omelet stations etc. Most resorts only have sit down/menu order dinner, but here you get a mix of both. Maybe one or two things I ate all week I didn't care for, but overall was really good. The pool is huge and divided down the middle (at the pyramid). It appears all the college-aged party goers congregate on the north pool while the families flock to the south side. This is nice as I prefer to be on the more laid-back side. If you are a scuba diver you should stay here. They have an awesome dive shop right across the street within walking distance. This cuts down on taxi costs back and forth. Overall, we had a great experience. I would certainly come back and would certainly recommend to a friend.


22 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: St. Louis
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 6, 2013
Average quality for the price

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Grand Oasis for 5 days/4 nights. Overall, we had a good time considering we were looking to have a low key vacation at the beach/pool. However, there were certain characteristics about the resort that were sub-par: - There were never ANY towels at the pool. People would stand by the towel hut on the hour, every hour trying to get towels while the towel boy told us "one hour" - This wouldn't have been that big of a deal considering you could dry off in the sun except the chairs by the pool were wooden and rock hard. I have no idea how older people were sitting on these pool chairs.. Get more cushions! so people can sit comfortably. - Reservations. Don't expect to make a reservation for any of the restaurants your first or second day...or sleeping past 7am if you want to dine in any one of them. Reservations need to be made 24 hours in advance and are filled up by 8am for the popular Italian and Seafood spots. Being from NY with no children, a 9:30pm res was ok for us but if you have a family, you might not have that flexibility. - The food itself was good from the non-buffets. We found the buffets for breakfast to be serving cold food that should be hot. - The entertainment staff did a good job trying to keep everyone occupied. The staff was friendly. The room was nice enough considering we didn't spend any time in it. The wine list (other than the house wine) was well priced and a good variety. - The beach was gorgeous. There needs to be more beach chairs since most people shouldn't pay for an all-inclusive to sit in the sand. - We got a great deal and Cheap Caribbean was straightforward and helpful with their reminders and excursion options, but I wouldn't go back to this resort again.


30 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 24, 2012
Not as nice as I remember

There were a few things I was expecting and did not receive. Limited selection of Alcohol and only ONE beer. Tap Dos XX. Mini bar was not included. Food was excellent at all restaurants. Too few chairs around pool. If you didn not get down there by 8:00 to reserve your's with a towel.. you did not get a chair. The entertainment around the pool was atrocious and meant for 5-10 year olds. Very annoying for adults trying to relax. There was no free internet access ANYWHERE.


26 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 9, 2017
Terrific Getaway!

I must admit that after reading some of the mixed reviews I was quite skeptical for the trip with my husband. Overall, he and I had an excellent time and would recommend and consider going to the resort again. I'll break it down: Arrival: We purchased the round trip airport transfer which I HIGHLY recommend doing. When you are at the airport terminal there are taxi services EVERYWHERE trying to get you to go with them and who knows what they would charge you. We followed our instructions that were given to us and found the Amstar representatives. Our names were on their list and they instructed us where to find our transport van. Everything with them was smooth! We arrived at The Grand Oasis shortly after and was greeted by the baggage handlers at the resort. We were given a ticket and asked to provide our room number following check in and our bags would be delivered to our room. I upgraded our package to the Grand Plus (recommended again). So glad I booked the upgrade. This allowed us to have a separate area dedicated for this level for check in. We were checked in within 15 minutes with our room keys, maps and restaurant guide. We were issued our red, white and blue bracelets (the Grand Plus is one step down from Pyramid which is the top level). The difference is 6 less restaurants (we had 18 to choose from) and I think 5 bars (we had 15 available to us). Those are the major differences between the levels. We gave our room number to the gentleman out front and headed to our building. The Room: Our room was in building 3, right on the beach. We had an ocean view room. We had trouble with our key working, but the person that delivered our bags took our keys to the concierge and had everything fixed within 5 minutes. We got in the room and it slightly on the warmer side. It felt as if the air conditioning had been turned on shortly before we got there. The room was clean as was the bathroom. There were no noticeable cosmetic issues. Housekeeping came each day mid morning. Our mini bar was stocked/refilled each day for a total of 4 waters, 4 beers and 6 sodas. I used the room safe for my purse and electronics I didn't want to leave out in the room or in our bags. It worked fine and its use was included in our Grand Plus level. The Food: We visited a few restaurants while we were there. The food was basic, nothing I went head over heels for. The service in the restaurants was good and food was delivered quickly. The morning buffet had a large selection. My only wish was they had a coffee station instead of waiting for the waiter to come back and refill it for you. The service is a nice touch, I would just prefer to be able to get the coffee when I wanted/needed. The Pool/Beach: We spent lots of time at the pool and the beach. I spent time in a covered area at the beach (with soft sand) and read while my husband went in the water. When we were at the pool we spent time at the swim up bars. Very enjoyable. Groups of employees provide entertainment doing some wacky things with fun costumes. You can tell they work hard to make sure people are having a good time. The Grounds: Very well maintained and beautiful! I loved seeing the peacocks strutting around as well as the occasional iguana. I recommend seeing the show at night in the Pyramid building. Words can't describe the work that is put into it. It's very entertaining. Checkout: It took less time for us to check out than check in. The only gripe about the day we left was our transport back to the airport. We had a full van of people and we were being held up because one person in the last party wasn't there yet. Our van driver should have told them them needed to take the next van instead of holding ours up. We had people on there that could've missed their flights because the airport is very busy and unpredictable. All in all, my husband and I had a great time! We would definitely consider staying here again.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Killingly, CT
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 26, 2012
Service Terrible

They had our room messed up the minute we got there on our Honeymoon. The reception people were very rude and would not let us talk, thye gave us the room they wanted to, even though I had reservations for a different room. The room was not very clean, the minibar was empty and we had to call and have that filled, the housekeeping staff always seemed to come to clean the room (if they even showed up) while we were getting cleaned up for the evening (after 5pm). The restuarants are all basically the same thing just different locations on the resort. Regardless of claiming 17 restuarants. The bartenders need to learn how to correctly mix drinks, they cant even make a half decent strawberry Dacquiri. The people in the lobby constantly pester you tring to get you to go through their free tour with a free gift in order to sell you a time share even when telling the same people over and over "WE ARE NOT INTERESTED". They were relentless. They do not supply you with a lock to the safe you have to pay for and rent that. The food was however fairly decent for the most part. The lack of music at the pools was obvious. The only music playing was from the stage of the spring breakers and was not really music just a repetative beat over and over which was annoying. The music in the so called disco was so extremely loud, you couldnt even tell what it was. This is by far the worst resort I have stayed at in four trips to Cancun. I will not stay there again. Dont waste your time or money.


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 15, 2012
Mostly a Great Vacation

Just spent 6 days here and overall it was a fabulous vacation. We loved the mammoth pool that winds through the lushly-landscaped site, but unless you're there by 7:30 a.m. to lay claim to a lounge chair you're out of luck. Ditto for lounges on the beach, but the beach is breathtakingly beautiful with white sand, palm trees, and turquoise water. There were plenty of choices for eating, but not all were memorable. We fared best at the buffets which had a tremendous selection of local and international specialties. We had spotty success with the much-more-cozy specialty restaurants. At the seafood restaurant we waited an interminably long time for our meal to arrive, only to have it delivered lukewarm...it had obviously been sitting out for a long time before the waiter remembered us. At the Italian restaurant, the waiter forgot our salads, even though everyone around us got theirs (and we all were seated about the same time). My filet mignon and my daughter's entree were excellent, however. But the whole mood/ambiance was interrupted the minute they turned up the speakers and blasted us with the music accompanying a dancing/singing skit. Way, way too loud. We finished quickly and left before dessert was offered. Our biggest complaint was the room. Actually the room was amply-sized and even though it overlooked the sewage treatment plant (off in the distance and we never smelled it at all) it was nicely, if sparsely, decorated. A small dresser to hold our clothes would've been lovely; we saw the first floor rooms had them but not ours on the 5th floor, so we had to live out of our suitcases. Also, the minifridge didn't work and they give you a coffee maker and mugs, but neglect to tell you that you need to bring coffee with you (or buy it locally, I didn't see any in the gift shop!!). The worst part of the room was the connecting door to the room next to us. The first night, 4 very drunk American girls staggered into the room next to us at 2 a.m. and we could hear every word, giggle and drunken slur. I asked for a different room the next morning and they graciously accommodated my request. However, the new room also had the same, very thin, not-soundproofed-at-all door, so this time we were treated to a couple of very loud, very drunk Spanish speaking guys at 3 a.m.!! Daughter put in her ear plugs, I used cotton balls the rest of the trip. Lesson learned for future trips. The workers were a delight; most spoke English so language was never a barrier. All were polite, anxious to please, and wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We would definitely go back and felt like we got a great value for our money despite the few drawbacks.

the swim-up bar is just around the corner
14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: southern New Jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 20, 2013
Pretty Good

Pros: Beach Pools Drinks Entertainment Cons: Food - mostly all restaurants have the same boring food, and A La Carte places are "out" of most things of the menu Maid Service - they cleaned our room once out of the 5 days we were there BEWARE - ROOM SERVICE IS NOT "FREE" - THEY CHARGE YOU $12 FOR A SERVICE FEE


14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year