All

Grand Oasis Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 1,132 Reviews
Value
 
3.4
Service
 
3.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.0
3.2 out of 5
"Everything is good.... Do not need to carry any formal clothing... majority places you can go with shirt and shorts. there not many options for vegitarians.. but has great deserts and drink" – Jay2018
667 out of 1,258 (53%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
This is in our closet! Careyes Resturant, rsvp and formal dress required Outside area View from 1330 - Playa 1 String in my eggs, watch out Construction outside room Our friend that we made at the pool. We saw him everyday by the pool. :) Oasis Beach Red Circus The view The pool Balcony view overview of the pool area Beach yick! Beautiful peacocks on resort Grand oasis!! Disgusting Sunrise on our last day. 4th floor of pyramid Our room overlooked the beach Map The beach leak at sliding door from the rain Mexican food View from my room the view from our room- AMAZING Recessed Lighting in Room leaked constantly during all rainy days - water running from lighting (electrical hazard!?) to the marble floor (slippery) - put towels down, put trash can in room to catch water, etc. - unreal for a cant beat the views! Careye's was excellent View from room Morning view from our balcony View from inside the resort Cockroaches, nasty aaahhh great view My view from my room Wet floor from air conditioner leaking Pool to ourselves! View from the Coco Bar Hours View from our room in Building 3 Ocean View bad drain, tub would fill while showering and smell like sewage Pool View Beautiful Deadbolt lock the view from my room at the Pyramid View from our room Dinner show Worst place Did you order the squirts? the building i stayed in View from room The winding pool They view from our room was breath taking Broken Shower (over 24 Hrs later to fix - 5 phone calls to front desk and then walked over (different building) to finally get it fixed! Ridiculous!!! No working shower?? part of the hotel pool and beach area only people at the Pyramid could use this bed Our last day The Oasis Beach Club View from Playa I Disgusting Water leaking from ceiling Our gorgeous view from our room Room View Of Resort beach Cockroach before they got bigger and multiplied the swim-up bar is just around the corner View from our room in Building 3 peacock in paridise Grand oasis hotel 1431 Pool Our view from the hotel. The room Ceiling cracking PERFECT

All Grand Oasis Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 1,132 reviews. Sort by
April 11, 2013
Great Vacation

I read the reviews and was very worried prior to going. All the reviews you read are based off of people who did not upgrade to the Grand Oasis. We stayed at the Grand Oasis and had access to everything. On the Grand side it was great for families, old and young. If you want the party style just walk around to the other side and you will have the loud music and crazy people. The food choices were great. I am a picky eater so I could even find something. My room was in the ocean front building not the pryamid. The room was very small and had no where to put your clothes or stuff. We only had one chair in the room. The room had no air the first night and it was hot. I complained and they were able to fix the air for the remander of the vacation. The room was not the best but for sleeping it was good enough. We didn't stay in the room so this did not ruin our vacation. The resort is large and very well maintained. The staff was very nice and willing to help. They did not expect a tip just a thank you and a smile. The beach was well maintained and clean. The water is clear and the waves can be rough at times but it was amazing. We never had an issue with finding a chair and the hotel was sold out when we went. We went up to the Oasis Palms one day to see what we were missing out on and I will say we made the better choice. The beach is rocky and the water is filled with seaweed. I go on two large vacations a year and I will say out of the last 10 this is the best place I have been. I love Cancun and we will be back. Make sure when you book you book the GRAND OASIS. Don't get sold on the freebies that Cheap Carribean offer you. You can not use any of them at the resort. The reasort coupon book we were given did not work on anything. The discounts you get off your next trip are not eligible because Cheap Caribbean vacations are on sale and you can only use one discount at a time. So don't think your getting a great deal from Cheap Caribbean none of the discount things work.


55 of 56 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 14, 2015
Grand Oasis Cancun....02/11/2015

Hello...I read a lot of reviews before I go. I have been to Cancun 5 times now. This was my first visit to The Grand Oasis Cancun. This review is 100% accurate...No fluff. This was my first 3 star hotel. My expectations were limited going in. I was pleased. Go there. Oasis & Grand Oasis are on the same grounds...Big place. Do : Get the ocean front Grand Oasis package, unless you want to hang with all the partiers. The difference is night and day. Eat at Cocoa....Right on the beach....Lunch & dinner really good. Wish I would have found it earlier in my trip because the rest of the restaurants were "fair" at best. Can only imagine what the restaurants were like without having the Grand Oasis wristband! Eat breakfast at the Marketplace buffet...Right on the beach....Good quick breakfast food. Exchange your beach towel and reserve a beach chair with a towel first thing.... Arrange your own transportation...The shuttles take forever. Alot of places to walk....Beautiful beach area for long walks. Good nightlife on site if that is your thing too. Don't: Don't eat at Bonitas....Don't eat at the Steakhouse....Dont eat at the Hippie Grill. Stay away from the Timeshare yahoos. The room was great......Like I said...Get the ocean view....Great view plus it puts you right on the beach vs. in the back with all the riff raff. Don't believe the extended weather forcasts...I fall for them every time.....The weather is going to be beautiful.... The drinks were ok too....You have to ask for the name brand stuff but so what....And when the drink seemed a little weak I added a shot :) For the money, considering I stayed at the Dreams 2X before, I didn't know what to expect. This place was worth every cent. Like I said, Eat at Cocoa every day and you will love the food. Forget the rest ,except the Marketplace buffet. I used Cheapcarribean 3x now.....Very satisfied with their service. Take this review and run with it....It is 100% spot on :) The photo was from my ocean view balcony...5th (top) floor 7am 2/10/2015. Book it and enjoy....I can't wait to go back.


61 of 63 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 31, 2016
Helpful Information for an Enjoyable Stay!

There are 5 accommodation buildings on the resort. The Pyramid is the main building. To the left and right of the pyramid are rectangular buildings called Palmer 1 & Palmer 2. The Palmer buildings have golf course or pool/garden views. Across from the 2 Palmer buildings are Playa buildings 1 & 2 (also rectangular in shape). They both offer garden/pool view or ocean views. The 1st floor of the Playa buildings, on the ocean front view side, have large balconies where lounge chairs are situated... a very nice feature! Additionally all rooms have a small balcony, no matter which building you are in. There were many reviews siting construction, deferred maintenance and poor room condition. We stayed in an ocean front room, in the Playa 1 building, on the highest floor, level 5. Our room number was 1528. Our room, along with all the other rooms in our building looked to be recently updated (we looked in several rooms which were open for house keeping). Our room was nicely decorated, had a comfortable bed, wall mount TV (and this is Mexico, guys... don't expect to get English speaking broadcasting!) with a few American stations, good working AC, a frig stocked with canned beer, Sprite, Fanta, Coke and bottled water. Everything was fully functional, including our plumbing. However, as with most islands, peninsulas and old world cities, it sometimes takes a minute to get hot water. Do your self a favor and let the shower run for 5 mins before you hop in. I also noted several negative reviews about housekeeping. We prefer our privacy when traveling, so a "do not disturb" tag stays on our door for the duration of our stay. However, I can tell you, housekeeping was servicing rooms from morning till night on every floor, everyday! And they wheeled around huge carts to restock the mini-frigs in the rooms. Anytime I needed a clean towel or more soft drinks, I literally didn't have to leave my floor to find an attendant who was happy to help me. Also, its good to know, each building has a concierge office with a staff person, coffee, juice and light pastries or fruit... they are there to help you! I reviewed several comments about water infiltration into the buildings, which brought some concern to us. On our final night, it rained sheets of water & being on the top floor, I was alarmed. I am happy to report, we witnessed no water in our room & no other guests in our building were experiencing problems. Oddly enough, on the 1st level, there was a leak coming out of a light fixture and there was a bucket, towels and caution signs. Literally everyone of the resort staff we encountered was bilingual, and some multilingual. It was very easy communicating our needs. Grand Oasis is a party and entertainment resort, so its important to keep that in mind when it comes to noise. From what I understand, the rooms in the Pyramid are the most nicely appointed rooms, however there is a trade off. The floor of the Pyramid is sunken down and it looks up an amazing several stories. The guest rooms are situated on all 4 sides. Every night there is a large show in this building with amplifiers, lights, smoke, cheering, ect. Additionally, the burlesque bar, and several other bars, restaurants, gift shops and reception, are on the 1st floor of the Pyramid. Although I did not stay in a Pyramid room, this is a loud building. If you have children requiring nap time or you value sleeping in or a daytime siesta, you may reconsider the Pyramid accommodations. Another crucial tidbit is the wristbands. Depending on who you book through, there are different color bands which entitle you to different amenities. We booked through Cheap Caribbean, which is the best amenity package (clear wristband). A booking through Cheap Caribbean makes you a VIP guest. There are several perks to being a VIP: luxury check-in (more to come on this topic), free use of room safe (otherwise there is a daily charge), access to ALL bars and restaurants, use of the queen sized beach cabanas which come with your own attendant for drinks, lunch and snack service (there's only about 20 beach cabanas, so get there early, this was one of our FAVORITE features!!!), use of the pool side cabanas (about 6 cabanas), free use of 2 computer/internet stations & use of kayaks, water bikes & catamarans. Please note, the water-crafts are not actually on the resort, but you just cross the street out front and you will see a large building with a blue tin roof... that's where you check out the equipment you wish to use for the day. A final note on our VIP experience... you are supposed to have bottle of wine in your room upon check-in, but we did not. Although, this was of little concern to us, as we are discerning with the brands of wine we drink. I am sure if we would have brought it to guest services attention, they would have happily provided us with one. Being this is a HUGE resort, check-in lines can get long. When you walk into the Pyramid you will see several large red signs to your left for check-in. This is a very crowed area. If you book with Cheap Caribbean, you have a private and more comfortable check-in process! As you walk into the Pyramid, veer to the right. There is a small placard on the wall which reads "VIP Check-In". There will be a person standing there to open the glass doors for you. This is a private lounge which also houses the VIP Bar. We were checked in and had all our information within 15 mins. We spent all of our evenings in the VIP bar. They serve the brut Champaign, Absolute Vodka, Bacardi and several other name brand liquors which you will not get at any other bar on the resort. I tired several of the resort bars and the liquor was of low quality & not very tasty at all. My spouse and I consider ourselves foodies. But we have very realistic expectations when visiting resorts, especially ones we consider to be "value" destinations. Upon check-in you get a map (carry this with you always, it makes everything easy to find!) and a list of bars/restaurants with their hours/days of operations. There are 3 buffets at Grand Oasis: Market Place (Le Buffet), Tataish & Tunkul. Tunkul was never open during our visit. It was the only restaurant which did not correspond to the info sheet provided. Regardless, it seems Market Place~Le Buffet is the favorite of most all guests. In the morning, they have serve yourself brut Champaign/OJ & vodka/bloody mary mix. These buffets are not like Vegas, they are much smaller, but offer a decent selection. Hands down the best restaurant is Careyes, offering a French-Mexican fusion cuisine. It is a lovely atmosphere with a live pianist. I had a roast pear salad & duck breast, it was really outstanding. Careyes has a dress code: long pants, collared shirt & closed toe shoes for men & sophisticated dress for women. Reservations are required for this restaurant. Reservations can be made in the office in the far left corner of the Pyramid from 9am-3pm, & they are for the following day (NO SAME DAY RESERVATIONS). Make as many reservations for Careyes as you possibly can!! Everyone seemed to rave about The White Box restaurant & claimed it to be 2nd best. The White Box also has a dress code, although less restrictive, and reservations are required. Reservations are taken staring at 3pm for same day dining. Here is the crucial factor- this restaurant only has 9 tables, so people start lining up at the door at 2:15 to ensure they get a spot! The White Box is a gastropub. They serve a 9 course meal that you and your dinner partner share. Each course is small; the concept is quality over quantity. Honestly, we only liked 1 of the 9 courses. And it was during this meal, did we have our only unpleasant resort experience. My husband had asked for more wine and we were in the midst of a very involved private conversation. The waiter returned to the table and proceeded to interrupt us, by simply interjecting himself and talking loudly over our conversation. I have no idea what he was trying to accomplish other than blatant disrespect. I would never step foot in The White Box again for this interaction in itself. There seems to be a tie for the 3rd most popular restaurant. Coco is more seafood based with a Greek island feel to its d├ęcor & they severed individual courses, while Behia Rodizzio Brazilian style steakhouse has a small buffet of salads, cold dishes, hot side dishes & deserts, while staff visits your table to cutting cuts of beef off long metal skewers to the quantity and temperature of your liking (I enjoyed the beef here). Everything else, dining wise, is all about average, but the Italian restaurants did not suite our tastes at all. Other misc stuff... We always have hot spot enabled on our phones, but its important to now this resort does NOT have free Wi-Fi. It is an optional service at $10 per day. I did over hear several people complaining the service was poor and choppy. The hotel offers free parking, but there's not a lot of parking spaces, so sometimes you have to drive around for a minute. I highly recommend renting a car! Yes, its safe to drive in Mexico and the roads and laws are similar to the US. Chichen Itza is about 3 hours away from the resort depending on the route you take, along with waterfalls, caves, horseback riding, shopping, dolphin adventuress, other ruins, ect. Lastly, as with most resorts, there are sales employees walking around in tan shirts... their specific job is trying to upsell you to gold status. I'm not sure if it was a time share deal or a overall upgrade. I listened to a person for about 5 minutes... I didn't get as far as pricing or intimate details (no time for that!), but some of the perks were limo transport to and from the airport, free massages at the spa & use of a resort rental car. These people are there to do a job, just tell them no & keep walking.

Helpful Information for an Enjoyable Stay! Helpful Information for an Enjoyable Stay!
30 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Raleigh, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 2, 2015
Great value!

This review is for the people sorting through the super good and super bad reviews that people tend to post online. Take this, as with any review, like a grain of salt. My wife and I have been to the area 6 times in the last 2-3 years and we have stayed at a different resort every time. We've had mostly good experiences with a few let downs. We went in a just a little skeptical as it appears the weeks before our visit was spring break with lots of craziness. I assume this isn't just a Grand Oasis annoyance but a Cancun thing in general. We were very happy overall with the resort. I'll start with the negatives and move on to the positives. CONS: First, we were upgraded to VIP by booking with cheapcaribbean.com... however, we only got a WiFi code for 24 hours. You can purchase 5 days of WiFi for $30 (per device) and honestly I look at it this way. Most resorts have a lobby that offers free WiFi that is usually completely crowded and the internet is so slow its redic. Personally, I'd rather pay $30 and have WiFi all over the resort. Second, If you are staying in the pyramid... they have a pretty elaborate circus show in the center that runs several days a week. It was wrapped up I think by 9PM which is usually well before my desired vacation bedtime, however, it was a bit annoying on the first night when we woke up @ 3 am and traveled all day. If these deter you from coming, good luck finding a resort anywhere to stay! :) PROS: Keep in mind that if you are coming to a resort for fine dining... again, good luck. Honestly, I would classify the food as good. the only meal that you are destined to buffet style is breakfast and they have omelet stations etc. Most resorts only have sit down/menu order dinner, but here you get a mix of both. Maybe one or two things I ate all week I didn't care for, but overall was really good. The pool is huge and divided down the middle (at the pyramid). It appears all the college-aged party goers congregate on the north pool while the families flock to the south side. This is nice as I prefer to be on the more laid-back side. If you are a scuba diver you should stay here. They have an awesome dive shop right across the street within walking distance. This cuts down on taxi costs back and forth. Overall, we had a great experience. I would certainly come back and would certainly recommend to a friend.


23 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: St. Louis
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 6, 2013
Average quality for the price

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Grand Oasis for 5 days/4 nights. Overall, we had a good time considering we were looking to have a low key vacation at the beach/pool. However, there were certain characteristics about the resort that were sub-par: - There were never ANY towels at the pool. People would stand by the towel hut on the hour, every hour trying to get towels while the towel boy told us "one hour" - This wouldn't have been that big of a deal considering you could dry off in the sun except the chairs by the pool were wooden and rock hard. I have no idea how older people were sitting on these pool chairs.. Get more cushions! so people can sit comfortably. - Reservations. Don't expect to make a reservation for any of the restaurants your first or second day...or sleeping past 7am if you want to dine in any one of them. Reservations need to be made 24 hours in advance and are filled up by 8am for the popular Italian and Seafood spots. Being from NY with no children, a 9:30pm res was ok for us but if you have a family, you might not have that flexibility. - The food itself was good from the non-buffets. We found the buffets for breakfast to be serving cold food that should be hot. - The entertainment staff did a good job trying to keep everyone occupied. The staff was friendly. The room was nice enough considering we didn't spend any time in it. The wine list (other than the house wine) was well priced and a good variety. - The beach was gorgeous. There needs to be more beach chairs since most people shouldn't pay for an all-inclusive to sit in the sand. - We got a great deal and Cheap Caribbean was straightforward and helpful with their reminders and excursion options, but I wouldn't go back to this resort again.


35 of 39 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 24, 2015
Very Satisfied

We were a bit nervous to book at this resort because of other reviews that complained about drunk guests and rude staff, but we did not encounter either problem. The Oasis side of the resort was definitely more party oriented, but we did not have any problem with any drunk guests (granted, we were there in August and not during Spring Break, so that may be an entirely different experience). Also, every employee of the resort that we spoke with was very friendly and went out of their way to make our vacation enjoyable. I would highly recommend upgrading to the Grand Oasis because that side of the resort felt a little more laid back and family friendly to us. One thing we wished we had known before booking was that many of the restaurants and most of the lobbies and other public spaces are not air conditioned. And many of the areas that are air conditioned are only nominally cooler than outside. Fortunately, the A/C in our room worked great the entire time. The pool was amazing and the beach was beautiful. Unfortunately, the beach was under a no-swim advisory for the duration of our stay. (But that didn't stop people from swimming). We may not have experienced the full All-Inclusive party environment because we were traveling with our two-year-old daughter, but we had a great time, and would gladly return. If you are on a budget but still want an amazing vacation, we highly recommend the Grand Oasis.


17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 21, 2012
Great resort for all ages

This is a great resort for all ages. There are quiet sections as well as lively ones for young adults. There are incredibel shows and bands performance in the main entrance to entertain at night. The food from the all inclusive is not 5 star, however there are plenty of selection ang opening times of different locations, making eating very convenient any time hunger striked. The room was very comfortable to stay in. We lucked out with an upgrade because the hotel cannot check us in at 3pm and was an hour late in checking us in. Next time we know where to go to get something to eat and just relax and wait for that room upgrade if they are late in checking in. The beach front room upgrade definitely was worth the wait. Would come back to this resort with the family (all ages 2-65 yrs olds) as there is something for everyone.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 11, 2015
Worst hotel EVER! listen to my story pls.

hey guys, just wanted to share my experience with you here; I SWEAR TO GOD that I've never seen any disorganized hotel ever in my whole life like this!!! first of all, I want you to know that I'm not picky not at all. I never care about the place that I suppose to only sleep at nights during my trip generally. But this one! OMG, you won't believe! Once we arrived there and wanted to check in, they said that you had better take around because your room in not prepaid yet. Well so far was not so bad, I knew that this might happen sometimes! after more than an hour, we got back to the lobby to check in and give the key room. This hotel has probably 3-4 buildings and they gave us the one which was located at the corner far away from the others. Here was the situation, AC was down (not working), safety box was broken, main lamps were not working, wireless internet not working (too far away from the hotel router) and the worst perhaps; they were doing construction hardly and noisy terribly! exactly next to our room, some one was hammering to the wall and this matter lasted until the last day that we been there! occasionally stones and construction dusts dropped to the balcony!!! No one answer your call, don't be surprise! Even if they answer, they only speak Spanish and once you speak English they hang up the phone! this happened to us hundred times. Believe it or not, after many times calling, we went to the main lobby (15 min walking) to complain about this situation and ask for a different room! guess what they said to us? We don't have any other rooms available and you may leave if you don't like it!!! we paid for an exclusive package though. We were in the middle of noway trying to figure out how we can survive here when i saw bunch of people started to complain loudly in the lobby and I found that time that we were not alone! none of the ACs working, temp was 110 deg on that time just imagine!!!! Eventually we decided to stay cos we didn't have any other solutions; there were no any rooms available in other hotels, we checked that! During our stay there, the room has been messy all the times, they never do housekeeping unless you go to the lobby and ask them to do so. Long story short: If you don't wanna ruin your vacation, don't try this hotel "Grand Oasis Cancun". We met some English mans on the beach used to come Cancun a lot, that they said this hotel has always had these issues.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 19, 2015
Our first time

This was our first trip together as a married couple and it was also our honeymoon/ anniversary trip that we took 1 year after our wedding. I read so many reviews that it got to be overwhelming and ended up choosing Grand Oasis Cancun based on the price and pictures . It also listed more restaurants than most other resorts I looked at so I assumed this was a good thing to have all these options to eat. I want to be totally honest without coming across as picky because I know when I was reading reviews I kept thinking king to myself well maybe those people were just being super picky or maybe they are used to a certain caliber of food ..etc. well let me make this super clear. My husband and I had a blast! We OVERALL would definitely go back to Cancun but whether or not we would go to this resort again is up in the air and this is why... Good things abput it: the beach was absolutely gorgeous and the water was so calm and crystal blue it was amazing to just float in the ocean and not worry about being knocked over by waves... The beach cabanas seemed to be one of the best when we took a walk up the beach no other resort had as many or different varieties to lay out on such as cushion long chairs, round cushy beds, and square cabanas with shades and pillows - we loved these and we're out on the every day. The pools were great felt like bath water and swim up bar was convenient . Our ro was decent enough for what we paid and I have to give it up for the maid service because they seriously mopped the marble floors every day and the turn down service was impeccable. The red circus which is a traditional Myan acrobatic show held in the main pyramid was pretty cool and went on at 8 every night. The vip lounge had the best drinks and bar tenders who seemed to know the best English and we're very personable. Also the waiters at the white box were very efficient and they had the best food. Other places that were good to eat were the buffets and the Asian and roddizio restaurants. Now onto the stuff that wasn't so great.... put of all these 15 something places to eat only about 4 were actually good. But on the plus side if u don't like it u can just get up and leave and go somewhere else..this can get tiring however but once u find where the good food is just keep going there. Don't lose the map they give u when u check in because it has all the times that the food places are open..it can be frustrating when u are hungry and they stopped serving or they aren't open. OK and drinks are endless however there are only certain places the the drinks actually aren't watered down... vip lounge and one or two of the outside bars. Staff is friendly but not over accommodating. So me can seem rude but I'm not sire if this is just because of the language barrier or not. The so called clubs on the actual resort are pretty lame and are not dance clubs at all.. one is a karaoke /danci.g with the stars/ cabaret sort of place which we found hilarious but only because we were dying at the cheesy choreography and bad cover songs ...the other club is so small and consists of two striper poles and a tiny room we literally walked in and right back out. Only other annoying thing is just like every other resort..they have people going around trying to sell you a timeshare but they don't describe it as a timeshare.. they get u by asking where u are from and when did u check in and THEY WILL SAY "DID YOU GET YOUR WELCOME GIFT YET???" if someone asks you this just say YES! and keep walking... we were naive and said no we didn't get a gift and then spent the next hour trapped in, what I can only describe as confusing bizarre tour / proposition / rehearsed / charade I have ever seen. It took me having g to almost scream no and make a scene for them to let us go. They keep throwing numbers at you and they talk so fast and make this deal sound so wonderful and then they want u to give them thiis money right there and then supposedly u get this awesome vacation deal...blah blah blah... it was a waste of my precious vacation time that I couldn't get back so please PLEASE PLEASE don't talk to these people !!!! Best thing we did beside relax on the beach and at the pool was go I to downtown cancun and party the night away. Best club deal is called the Bingo Tour where u pay under 200 for two people to do 3 clubs in one night. Congo bat, senor frogs, and Congo Bingo .. first and last were our favorites and if u don't chose this package u still have to go to Congo bongo best entertainers and impersonators and fantastic music . Take the bus it is the cheapest and easiest tramsportation. MAke sure to ask the front desk how much the bus is because the bus drivers will either lie or just not give u change if u don't have exact. I never felt scared or in danger in downtown but they do harass u in the market place but u just have to pretend they are like the people I the malls that try to get u to buy stuff at their kiosks. .u just ha e to not make eye contact and ignore them Overall we had am awesome time and the things that weren't so great weren't enough to ruin our time or to mKe us regret choosing that resort. The good out weighed the bad and I think k everyone is differenot I what they are looking for when booking a trip like this...if u want gorgeous beach . Relaxing pools, endless drinks and u aren't afraid to go off the resort downtown to shake your butt then this is the place to go we definitely got our money's worth and we will be coming back to Cancun for sure we just night want to check out a new resort just to compare


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Lehigh valley, PA
Age: 25-34

December 2, 2015
Better than expected

We were terrified of this resort after we read the reviews from past guests. We were pleasantly surprised. The resort is under construction and they are currently upgrading their rooms. Unfortunately they should just focus on one building at a time and shut down that section. It was noisy and dusty. Our room was very small but was recently renovated. Unfortunately we did not originally get the room we paid for (beach front) they gave us an old room without the view and amenities. After complaining and waiting 3 hours, we were finally given a better room with all that we were suppose to get. The Cheap Caribbean rep in the building was very helpful with this situation. The resort was not that busy at first so dinning was easy and fast. No reservations required and a ton of variety. We were a little disappointed that we could not get into the White Box any night because apparently they require reservations even though it said that they don't. The beach was clean and there were always chairs available same with the pool. The entertainment during the day and evening was great. The show in the atrium was one of the best we have seen at a resort. I don't think I would go here during spring break when the crowd is young and partying but for this time of year it was great. For the price it was a nice trip!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Jamestown, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations