All

Grand Lucayan Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 196 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.2 out of 5
"Everything fine. Limited shopping and dining but we were very satisfied with room and hotel service. Everyone very friendly." – EvergladesBear
221 out of 248 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Family Pic with Coral the dolphin para-sailing endless pool looking over the ocean. at the grand lucayan Ligththouse on the property!! View from Grand Lucayan Room snorkeling Infinity pool and beach main building with cigar bar and cocktail lounge beachview from topfloor room Marketplace Wish there was more of this, or similar Hotel our room the building we stayed in 2nd floor ovine view Room with a view Ocean view from room the caves Sunsets there are PRICELESS!! another pool from hotel balcony

All Grand Lucayan Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 196 reviews. Sort by
July 11, 2012
Well worth it!!

What can I say about the Radisson Grand Lucayan also known to the locals as Our Grand Lucayan (not the Radisson it confusues the Bahamians) First off when I booked our trip with Cheap Caribbean, I was very very skeptical of where we would be staying. But when we arrived at the hotel our mouths dropped in awe. The bell men greeted us with smiles and handled our luggage for us until we checked in. Once we dealt with the front desk staff :( and were assigned to our room on the 9th floor...we discovered our door handle was broken. Bless the bellman he had someone up there fast, but soon discovered that we needed to change rooms since it was going to take a day or so to fix. Oh Well...down to the 6th floor we go. Again had to deal with front desk :( grrr Finally we settled into our room...amazing view attached I was on a father/daughter trip and we were going to make the most of our trip. Now what I haven't mentioned is Port Lucaya is across the street. Forget paying hotel food prices (when the food wasn't worth the prices we discovered after eating in the marketplace several times) when there are about 20 different places to eat and bars everywhere to drink. Also directly across the street is UNEXSO for everything dive or dolphin, the semi-sub and snorkel tour/ glass bottom boat...everything was in walking distance including of course the straw market to haggle souveniors with the locals or the duty free shops to buy things you may have forgotten at home, along with many boutique shops to buy the personal touch to take home. All in all for our first trip to the Bahamas, and we say most of the other hotels in the area, I would say for its location, spaciousness, and comfort this is definately the place to stay. Would we use cheapcaribbean and stay at Radisson Grand Lucaya again the answer is 100% yes!!!


99 of 99 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Perris, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 15, 2011
Labor Day Weekend

I took my daughter to Grand Bahama for her birthday- the resort was overall very nice, for a carribean resort. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the beach view was spectacular!! The employees at the resort had attitudes that ranged from mildly friendly and helpful to totally indifferent. This resort is on it's way out- only 1/3 of it is currently open. I spoke to other guests while there that have gone to this resort every year and they tell me it used to be so much better, but has been declining steadily the past 5 years. My only real complaint is that there was absoutely NOTHING to do in the evenings. They shut down the bar at the pool at 6pm daily and most of the businesses at the Port Lucaya Market across the road also shut down at 6 pm. On Sundays the market is not open at all. My daughter and I spent every evening of our 5 night vacation sitting in our room watching tv because there was nothing else to do!!


117 of 122 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Washington DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 18, 2012
Nice but would try a different island

Overall the hotel was nice. I did not have the problems checking in and out as other customers have mentioned. Maybe I was there at a less crowded time. I do agree with the service at the front desk, though. The woman who checked us in was not friendly that night or the next morning. The woman who checked us out was terrific, however. I think her name was Crystal?? Service at the bar was horrendous, slow and unfriendly. Do not go anywhere near the China Grill if it looks busy. There seems to be no system in place for getting your order processed in a timely manner and you will end up walking away frustrated with no food. The housekeeping staff was always extremely friendly, as were the men at the front door. The island in general did not seem overly friendly to me and I felt like I was always working so hard just to get a smile out of someone. The all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet is actually a pretty good deal. There are other restaurants across the street, but if you add up an entree, juice, coffee, you'll end up paying more than you would at the hotel. The hotel had no information book in the rooms so you had no idea where the restaurants were, where ice was, or who to call for anything so that was frustrating. The sundry shop downstairs has sunscreen, snacks and water. If you want bottled water the whole time, go across the street and buy a couple gallons of water. MUCH cheaper than large bottles. Buy one individual bottle and keep refilling. The beach was just slightly crowded on days when cruise ship people were there. Most disappointing was how cold both the ocean and the pool water were. We rarely got in the water at all. They can't do anything about the ocean but maybe the pool could be warmer. Water in pool seemed a bit cloudy as well. Nice chairs and sun or shade around pool. Lots of lounge chairs on beach which I appreciated. Lots of little restaurants and some shops across the street. Not much in the way of fresh fruits and veggies which surprised me for a tropical island. And no grocery store nearby. Overall, if you're looking to sit on the beach with beautiful water, and just eat at nearby restaurants without worrying about price, it was relaxing. If you're looking for more things to do and warm, friendly people, maybe try another island.


23 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Issaquah, WA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 16, 2012
Great!

We had fantastic time! My husband did have a hard time trying to get fishing outing set up. Apparently this was off season. We loved the infinity poo and beach. And I enjoyed the lap pool. The parasailing was overpriced for such a short ride but enjoyed the view. We stayed on 7th floor ocean view and had gorgeous viewl. We ate mostly at the Marketplace across the street. Le Med by the marina had great food and reasonable. Also had buffet breakfast at resort and was great. We won money at casino every night - my husband and I are not big gamblers so we each only took $20 and played slots - every night one of us hit $200+ and cashed out and left. It gave us the extra money for extra activities. We loved the bonfire at Taino Beach; rented scooters another day and cruised the island - stopped by Garden of the Grove for lunch. Very relaxing and delightful. Heard Lucayan National Park was nice place to go, but didn't have time to tour it even though we drove scooters out that far. We also went across the street to Marketplace to sign up for things instead of at resort. It was $10 cheaper when doing that. We made sure we met our room care taker and tipped her every day. She made sure we had everything we needed. We also went snorkeling through Pat and Diane on the Sunshine - went out to Rainbow Reef and enjoyed feeding fish. Don't forget to buy underwater camera if you do that! I also took the time to get a massage outside under the canopy - nothing like pampering yourself. We're not big night life people, just love to relax and enjoy the beauty of the tropical waters. You make your own vacation and we always enjoy our travels!


23 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 5, 2012
Great Bahamanian Getaway

Girlfriend and I purchased this package for a much needed getaway but that wouldn't break the bank. At first, was a bit skeptical of the package & pricing. We weren't familiar with Cheap Caribbean and to be honest, the website didn't seem very legitimate at first appearance. But a friend reassured that Cheap Caribbean was legitimate. The vacation ended up being fantastic and exactly what we were looking for at a reasonable price. Flight on AA was fine and as expected. Round trip transportation from airport to hotel was fine. Operated by local company which follows Caribbean time. Meaning that it wasn't as smooth as possible. Wrong hotel upon arrival but driver took us to right one anyway. Was late for pick-up going back to airport. But it got the job done and we didn't miss the flight. Hotel was fantastic. It's one of those very large 400+ door hotel. So it's not the most intimate or romantic. Seemed like one of biggest on island (by all the ads in airport). But nevertheless clean, efficient, friendly and very comfortable. The multiple pools are great. Poolside bar is just what you want. Dining options are what's to be expected. Either buffet, some Asian fusion pricier option, or grilled & fried bar food for poolside lunch. But a real advantage of this hotel is that it is across the street from an outdoor market which has many food options. Must eat the conch salad from the stand by marina. Market also has local caribbean, greek, chinese, latin, dominos, subways, etc. Also, great new upscale seafood restaurant (Flying Fish) right next to neighboring hotel. Very similar to restaurants found in NYC. Hotel also is fully equipped with a spa ($$$), gym (included in stay) with complimentary classes. Towels provided poolside. Lounge chairs provided at beach. Pool by main hotel was popular and lively. Pool by lanai suites was very quiet and more secluded (our preference). Overall, was perfect resort for a relaxing, no brainer vacation. Definitely would go back. Would love a direct flight option (especially out of Westchester Airport).


52 of 55 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 26, 2011
Radisson Our Lucaya Resort

Overall nice resort with lots to do.....Nice shopping and restaurant options right across the street so you can save money on food and also have better dining options! Pools and outdoor bars are nice with good staff. Rooms are a bit older but nice and clean. staff is average, but good by most Caribbean standards... Overall I nice getaway place that has beach, dining, shopping, golf, and casino right at your fingertips!!


19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

April 17, 2012
Good for a long weekend

We found the Grand Lucayan to be clean and comfortable. The pools and beach were very nice and our room was quiet. The housekeeping staff did a great job each day. We were not traveling with children but this seems like a very good place for families. We upgraded to an oceanview room and it was worth it as we were looking to just relax on this trip and there's nothing better than sitting on your balcony in the morning or evening and just taking in the view of the palm trees and turquoise waters. We were very disappointed in the friendliness and service from the Bahama people. Since the main industry on the island is tourism I was baffled by the lack of "service with a smile". There is a 15% gratuity added to all food bills on the island and we never felt that the service, whether at the hotel or offsite, deserved a more generous tip. In some cases, we would not even have given that. You do need to remember that anywhere in the Cairibbean they are on "Island Time" and no one does anything in a hurry. Allow plenty of time for meals because grabbing something quick does not happen. We enjoyed dinners at Irie's & China Beach at the Grand Lucayan and also Agave in the Marketplace. Agave had the friendliest staff we found anywhere and very potent Mojitos. If eating at the China Grill by the pool at the Grand Lucayan, opt for the chicken sandwihes over a burger. It is always a better idea to stick to chicken, fish, or pork in the islands. We did not venture off the property except to go across the street to the Marketplace but now wish we had taken at least one excursion, either the jeep tour or a bike tour. Don't waste the money for prearranged transportation with Best Island Travel. We paid $80.00 for a round trip from the airport and found out that a taxi, which also would have been waiting at the airport when we arrived, would have cost us half that. The vehicle that we rode in was a disgusting old minivan with duck tape holding the seats together, no working seatbelts, no air conditioning and apparently a malfunctioning exhaust system. Our driver was texting or doing something on his phone as he drove. Luckily, the trip to the hotel was only a fifteen minute ride though because we were very nervous seemed much longer. For the trip back to the airport we were loaded into a regular taxi, which was much nicer, Our Best Island driver had not shown up 5 minutes after our pick-up time so the bellhop put us in the first taxi that came. Despite any negatives, we had a nice relaxing extended weekend at the Grand Lucayan.


19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Schwenksville, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 13, 2012
Great views!!

We had a lovely oceanfront room with a terrific view of the ocean and the enticing infinity pool. Everyone was very helpful and kind. We weren't aware prior to arrival that most of the restaurants were closed due to the season. In the US, we know most places shorten their hours after labor day but we arrived a couple days prior and 3/4 of the dining was not available. I will make certain that our next trip will be during their season.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Virginia Beach, VA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

November 8, 2011
Great Visit

Just back from Grand Lucayan Hotel stay. Upgraded to ocean view.. Rooms were excellent ..view terrific. great spa...management continues to emphasize impeccable maintanance and cleanliness of property.. Island economy is somewhat stressed and low occupancy is a challenge for the island .. Vision Air November launch hopes to put tourists on the ground.. Great value for a great property...


50 of 56 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Iowa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 10, 2011
Radisson Lucaya Beach

We had a great time at the resort. The Resort is large and allows lots of walking space both on and off the beach. The beach and pools are lovely. The Restaurants were okay, but being close to the Market was awesome. We had lots of fun hanging out at the Market square, listening to music and visiting with other travellers and the locals. Snorkelling great at Paradise Cove. Well worth the time and money to take the excursion. We will definately go again. Easy travel from Mid-atlantic. On the beach by 1:30pm day of arrival, room was ready and we had already unpacked!! Staff helpful and very pleasant.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 55-64