All

Grand Lucayan Reef Village Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 88 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
3.8
3.9 out of 5
"Great place for a relaxing vacation. Good service in spite of the automaatic addition of 15% tip." – carein
85 out of 105 (81%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
view from infinedy pool our view from breakfast each morning view from Prop Club (fav restaurant) Our Lacaya Hotel view from our room Our Lacaya Infinity Pool Rock Beach Sunset view view from our room Rock Beach one of the most beautiful beaches out there! The beach at Our Lucaya Reef Village view from our lounge chair at Our Lucaya Resort map of the resort Jumping for Joy on Gold Rock Beach

All Grand Lucayan Reef Village Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 88 reviews. Sort by
April 19, 2016
Hotel was great. Transportation was disappointing

The only issue I had with this trip is the transportation to and from the hotel. This is actually more of an issue with CheapCaribbean than Lighthouse Pointe. CC told me that I would definitely have travel to and from the airport but when I arrived, the booking officer said she wasn't expecting me. Fast forward to my departure date, and the CC rep has no idea who I am, even though I tried to offer my booking and confirmation number over the phone. Ultimately the hotel offered to transport me back to the airport for no additional charge, even though it wasn't their responsibility or their error. They could have easily told me to just catch a cab and ask CC for reimbursement later. This hotel truly cares for its customers and go above and beyond to make sure they are well taken care of.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cleveland, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 11, 2016
Laidback vacation

The Lighthouse Pointe at the Grand Lucayan is a very nice and laidback resort. The main lobby, restaurants, pools, facilities and our room were neat and clean. Every one of the staff were friendlyand responsive to all of our questions and requests. Each day there were different activities during the day, by the pool or on the beach, such as paddle board races, hula hoop contests, crafts for the kids, water aerobics and line dancing. There was entertainment, such as shows or live music on some evenings. We reallyenjoyed the size of this resort. It was a short walk from our room to the main dining areas, the pools and the beach. We ate breakfast each morning with a beautiful ocean view, had lunch by the pool and dinner al fresco. If we wanted to walk over to the restaurants at the Grand Lucayan, we were able to do so. On Wednesday night, we went over there for the "fish fry" by the serpentine pool. (You have to sign for your meals at the Grand Lucayan, but there was no additional charge.) However, one of the best things about Lighthouse Pointe is the food. The authentic Bahamian cuisine is outstanding! We had a great time while staying at Lighthouse Pointe. It was perfectly suited to our needs and the laidback, relaxing vacation experience we were looking for. The kids enjoyed the activities and lounging by the pool and beach each day and we were never in a rush to do anything or get anywhere. At times, the service could be slower than what we are used to, so a word of caution to those who expect speedy service: the staff definitely run on "island time."

map of the resort our view from breakfast each morning
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 26, 2016
We had a good time!

Overall the resort is coming along well for just being reopened since December 2015. There is clearly work still be done but it was quiet and did not interfere with anyone's rooms. The room was comfortable and quiet. The dining options were limited but all of the food we had was excellent. Even though it was all inclusive, we always tip the staff and that proved to be a challenge to find anyone with change -- so take your own change. The golf states it is unlimited and included but they failed to mention you still have to pay for the cart fees -- which are too high for a course of that caliber. The location is fun -- right across from the marina and the shopping area.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Topeka, Kansas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 5, 2016
Stay away!

We have traveled all over the Caribbean, including the Bahamas 2 years ago, and this was the only time we have been highly dissatisfied. First, I will start with the good (which, unfortunately, is not much). Our room was well maintained - very large, clean, and comfortable. Also, the beach itself - the sand and the water, was beautiful, but you will find beautiful beaches anywhere in the area. Now to the bad. Where do I start. The staff is so unprofessional and unwelcoming. You ask for a drink, and have to wait a half hour to get anything. They were supposed to fix the water showers to rinse off after the beach and in the 7 days we were there, there was no water to rinse off (except in our room). The towels for the beach were not available until after 10am. Way too late! The food itself was also horrible. There was only one place that was open until 11pm and they only had burgers, chicken wings, fries, and quesadillas. Some of the other restaurants were not open at all times. We would leave the beach around 2 and try to eat lunch and they would tell us to go to another place because they were closed. In the middle of the heat! Also, this is not an all inclusive resort. One of the restaurants charges $25 per person to eat there because it's more "fancy". The whole point of all inclusive is to not have to have money on you. The food was by far the worst though. One example that has stuck with us is the ice cream. There was only 1 type of ice cream for 4 days - this green stuff that looked awful. People would go see what was available, and then not touch it. And it stayed there for 4 days! Disgusting and made us worry about how old other stuff being served was. Overall, this was a very disappointing trip. There was not one thing that has satisfied us in order to go back.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maine, USA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 27, 2016
Lots of work to be done!

I was extremely disappointed with my visit here. There is basically nothing to do...very little activity and "entertainment" staff does not seem interested in providing any. The food is awful with very few choices...breakfast offerings were the same every day. Eggs, potatoes, bagels and bread, fruit, bacon and sausage. They had what they called oatmeal and grits also, but it was awful. The pools that are supposed to be heated were about 60 degrees...the main pool was even colder. Just about every activity that was posted to happen never did. Water aerobics were supposed to happen in the morning as was yoga...nothing! The talent chow that was supposed to happen...never happened. Not many of the staff seemed to be happy to be there. There were some good plusses...the massage was great...the ladies at the desk were very friendly! A couple of the bartenders were great also...went out of there way to remember you. One of the entertainment staff was also wonderful and was really trying but it seems he is not the final say in putting on activities. One day it was pouring all day and about 55 degrees...you would think that the resort would go out of there way to arrange some fun indoor activity offerings...a table with some cards, a connect four game and chess...with no staff to get people involved. All in all...I know this is a newly acquired resort...don't be confused with "new"! It is far from news under new management and they have ALOT of work to do to even be average.


10 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: connecticut
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 14, 2010
Worth The money

Beautiful beach with a casino on property and shopping across the street. Meal selection could be better. Room was very clean and hotel staff pleasant. Worth every penny I spent. I would recommend this place to anyone on a budget.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 3, 2017
I hope this review is shown to future guests

The beach and pool area were very pretty. I hate to give a poor review based on the shape of the island but feel people need to be informed before they spend their time and money at The Grand Lucayan, Freeport. Unfortunatley the resort was rocked in October by hurricane Matthew. It is a very sad place and the people reflect this. We chose the all inclusive package and the there were 3 dining options where there may have been 7 or 8 in the past. The resort is tired and in need of alot of work. Very disapointed...


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 13, 2017
Disappointed and Mislead

My family and I expected that an "all inclusive resort" that was in the midst of recovery from the October hurricane would have made the public aware that they were not able to function in full capacity. We should have been given the option of cancelling or rescheduling our mid April trip. There was no way for us to know the condition of the resort and island and we feel it was the responsibility of both Cheap Caribbean and Grand Lucayan Lighthouse Resort to have informed us of the extent of the hurricane damage. The beach was very nice and the staff did their very best and were kind and helpful (especially the gentleman in charge of movie night). However,shortly after arriving it became obvious something was not right. Three of our four night stay we had only one restaurant to select from unless we wanted to pay a $25. per person up charge. Our only breakfast and dinner choices was a buffet that was average at best. My husband viewed the "brown" golf course and deemed it not worth playing. With the resort being such a disappointment we did not feel like taking a chance and paying for extra activities and excursions not knowing the condition of the rest of the island. We were ready to leave the day we arrived. After looking forward to this vacation for months we all were just very disappointed and felt we wasted our hard earned money.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 26, 2011
Hotel is closed

Had booked this hotel as stayed there previously but when we arrived it was closed.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 17, 2016
Best place ever!!

Our stay at Light House Point was amazing. The people were helpful and very friendly. The food was awesome, better than expected. Sitting by the pool had great views. I would go back in a heartbeat!!


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Massachusettes
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year