All

Grand Lucayan Reef Village Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 74 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
3.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4 out of 5
"It was the coldest weather in years when we went (a frigid 72!). Nonetheless, we had a tremendous time; we had more fun there than on our honeymoon. We can't wait to go back to that beautiful island." – FirstTimertoBahamas
78 out of 91 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
map of the resort view from our lounge chair at Our Lucaya Resort Our Lacaya Hotel view from infinedy pool Sunset view our view from breakfast each morning view from our room Rock Beach one of the most beautiful beaches out there! view from Prop Club (fav restaurant) The beach at Our Lucaya Reef Village Rock Beach view from our room Jumping for Joy on Gold Rock Beach Our Lacaya Infinity Pool

All Grand Lucayan Reef Village Resort Customer Reviews

31-40 of 74 reviews. Sort by
July 31, 2010
Good Value and location, avoid the cruise crowd!!

My only advice is to do your homework and found out when the cruise people are coming in via Celebration. Don't check in if you can on one of those days. They flooded the resort on certain days (they are only allowed to stay at this resort) and made checking in and facilites extremely difficult to navigate. On the off days, things were fine and if you went down the beach even on the days when they were there you could get a way from these crowds. I don't particularly like pushey cruise people so I booked a week stay via Cheap Carribean and had a good experiene except for the check in and room difficulties with the overcrowding of the cruise people checking in (for their two day stays) the same day we checked in for the week. I might consider a different resort in the future but the value and beach are awesome. Have fun!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Louisville, KY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Great Bang for your Buck!

Overall, this is a very nice and very affordable hotel. The pools are quite nice and inviting. The beach, though a little rocky is still enjoyable and the breakfast buffet is great! I have been to Freeport twice and enjoyed myself immensely. My only critique is of the rooms. I found them a bit cramped in comparison with the other resort I've stayed in. Chances are, you won't be spending much time in your room anyway.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Great Place To Go

My husband and I had christmas here last year. It was a little cooler than we wanted but we had a wonderful time this is the second time we've been here and certainly would go back


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Venice, Florida
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010

If your looking for a place to go relax, sit by the beach, and enjoy some sun by the pool you will like it here. This is a place strickly for relaxing, there is not much of a night life. I was here for 5 days and after the 3rd day I was ready to go home. However the beaches are beautiful! I've never seen beaches like this before. The water is extremely salty though, if it gets in your eyes it burns really bad so be careful.

Rock Beach Rock Beach one of the most beautiful beaches out there!
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: San Jose, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
This vacation was more than worth the cost

At Our Lucaya Reef Village, the beach is clean, spacious and the water is perfect! Even for the little ones. Snorkel gear and towels are available. If you check out the rock area near the Sugar Mill, you can see different colored fish. There is great shopping, food and entertainment across the street at The Market. The casino is small, but most games are available to play. The restaurants at Our Lucaya were all good. We LOVED the Prop Club: Rhonda, Clareta and Dario took great care of us - the food was great and the drinks are yummy. Also, great view of the beach. Preston makes great martinis at Iries - a "fancier" restaurant, also serving great food (the grouper chowder is fantastic!). Because we were All -Inclusive, our dining options were very limited. However, the food was great wherever we ate. The housekeeping woman (Sarah) was kind and considerate of our "sleeping habits". There were not always towels available, however, you really didn't need them as it was hot and it felt great to drip dry. The pools were pretty, clean, and large enough to never feel crowded. There is even poolside bar service (most times). The burgers are really good!!! You can have a great time here, but it's all about relaxing and taking your time - enjoy the atmosphere, the wonderful people, the culture, and the experience (and the Bahama Mamas)

view from Prop Club (fav restaurant) view from our room
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Rochester, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Best Deal in Grand Bahama

Lucaya Village Resort is the best hotel location in Grand Bahama!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Tampa, FL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Have low expectations and you will be OK

All inclusive is limited to what, where and when you can eat. Would not be a good option if you are staying at the resort for longer than a few days. Room is dated, old, bathroom is small and can be dirty. Service fluctuates from good to aloof. Towels by the pool run out quickly, check-in can take over an hour when the "cruisers" come marching in. Overall an OK place, I would not return. Location however, is great as it is across the street from the marina.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: california
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Nice resort with cheap prices

The price was right for the resort. It was a slow time of the year and the hotel was mpt crowded. The price was quite reasonable.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 1, 2010
best trip ever

the value was amazing. the service was excellent, the resort was beautiful. the location was amazing. everything was within walking distance-the dolphins, the maretplace, the casino. it was absolutely perfect. food was good too


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: plano,tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2010
Riu Montego Bay, Jamaica

We had a great time once we got there. Planes were overbooked and had to fly out next day to Kingston and travel by van for 5 hours to get to the hotel. And Delta lost our luggage for the entire week we were there, so we had to buy clothes. After all that, the hotel, pool, ocean were nice. The shows they put on at night were really good. Food was good, but we couldn't get reservations so we ate at the buffet every time. Book reservations as soon as you get there for the other restaurants. All inclusive is the way to go. Well stocked bar/fridge in room. Room was nice also. Big balcony. I would recommend the hotel in the end.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year