All

Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Cayman Islands Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 155 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.5 out of 5
"Not much to do on the island and everything closes early. Aruba and Bermuda is much better. Even DR is better. Next island for us will be U.S. Virgin Islands" – Justhere
186 out of 198 (94%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
At the Veranda Lounge Area Marriot Beach Resort Garden area Nice octopus Beach beach beach Beach Beautiful Cemetery Beach Heaven - Seven Mile Beach Beach in front of Marriot Grand Cayman Turtle Farm

All Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 155 reviews. Sort by
July 13, 2012
Epic Good Time

Just returned from Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort and it lived up to the thousands of viewers comments that we read prior to picking the resort. Very nice, clean, great views of ocean (pick a partial view room) the "ocean view" rooms face the afternoon blazing sun (can't sit out on balcony). Here's a few hints: pick partial view room if you want a chair/umbrella at beach get up before 6am or no luck eat at Coconut Joe's for breakfast (cheaper than hotel $5.99) must eat at Chicken Chicken (short walk from hotel) eat at Sunshine Grill (maybe a wait) Thursday's is steak night at Triple Crown Pub (tasty for $12) book your stingray tour with Sun Ray Tours (not Red Sail) rent a car from Andy's $60 for a day (right across from hotel) drive around the island buy your own liquor and snacks (hotel to expensive) walk down the beach to the Royal Palms especially Sunday evening avoid downtown when cruise ships are there - too crowded Enjoy the locals . . . eat, drink, and you'll have the best vacation!

Beautiful Cemetery Beach
111 of 112 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Fort Worth TX
Age: 55-64

August 12, 2012
Definitely not a Category 7 resort

Let me start by saying I am a longtime (20 years) Marriott honored guest member with many nights and points under my belt. I always try to stay at Marriotts when traveling. This was the biggest disappointment ever! The beach was ridiculously small. It was exactly the length of three beach chairs from the wall to the water. How do I know this, well you couldn't even walk between rows to get to chairs. They were also sandwiched in side to side as well! (see picture) Additionally, I've seen pools bigger in back yards. To top it off and by far the worst of it, our room type was not available when we arrived. Four of us were forced into a king room with a sofa bed and a rollaway, which made it impossible to move around in the room, as well as I'm sure a fire hazard! Front desk personnel were extremely unhelpful. I will not return to this resort and most likely will not visit Marriott properties again.

Definitely not a Category 7 resort
73 of 78 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Monmouth County, NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 14, 2011
Very friendly place

Our visit was just after they had several days of bad weather, and some beach was lost but they said next storm from other direction would bring it all back in. There seem to always be staff working on the beach and were available to set up and move the beach umbrellas. Courtyard pond has turtle and wildlife and nice calming waterfall. Nice location, bus stop at the street, never waited over 5 minutes. They are mostly 7-10 passenger vans. $2.50 per ride. Very friendly staff. We had a child sleeping in one room and maid came back after his nap to clean the room.

Very friendly place Very friendly place
12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 19, 2013
Great Location

Generally speaking we were pleased with Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort & would probably stay here again. If you're coming for the beach & water activity you won't find a better location. The ocean is beautiful, very calm, great for snorkeling, crystal clear. The beach is wonderful. Nice loungers & umbrellas. Order food & drinks from your lounger without getting up. Towels & covers for the loungers are provided. Sign up with Red Sail for any kind of water adventures or excursions. We knew in advance that food was expensive. But we felt like the food at the resort was incredibly high. We did not eat a single meal here. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Knowing now how high food is here I might consider going with the "all inclusive" plan if we return. However, then I feel like I have to eat at the resort for all my meals since I've already paid for them and we are not big drinkers. Regarding the hotel room...we were not happy with the bed pillows... they were either too flat or too fat. The lighting in the bathroom seemed too dim. There are no microwaves but there is a small refrigerator....no freeezer. There is a safe in the room. We did not rent a car. The local bus system is very inexpensive, easy & quite accommodating. It's more like sharing a taxi with others than what we are used to in the States. Just start walking & they will toot their horn to see if you want a ride. You don't ever have to find a "bus stop". You can go anywhere on Seven Mile Beach or down to Georgetown for $2.50 American per person. They even went out of their way to take us to the Botanical Gardens on the other side of the island. When we were ready to come back we called them & they sent a bus back over. The people are very friendly. They let you know that they appreciate you coming to their island & spending your time & money with them. It is a very Christian island. Most everything except restaurants closes at 5pm & nothing except restaurants is open on Sunday. So Sunday is definitely beach day We really did have a great week & were sad when it was up. I've tried to give you my honest opinion to better inform you & help you plan your vacation.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Little Rock, AR
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 28, 2013
Beach Resort Tips

MBR and Grand Cayman were very nice for those not looking to go too far from an American experience. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, Happy Hour every night was wonderful, and being right on the beach was really nice--spa was great, too. In terms of sights on Grand Cayman, the city bus only costs $2.50US, and takes you both to Georgetown and to the turtle farm (opposite directions). There's also a mall a few blocks up (walking distance) from the resort with shops, movies, bars/restaurants. The beach resort itself was pricey, and gratuity was included in EVERYTHING--including purchasing M&M's in the lobby, so for smaller items, we went to the gas station across the street. The beach resort also wasn't very far from the airport. It only cost about $20US each way in a taxi, so you can also save on the transfers. Overall, a nice, low-key, family-friendly (although we don't have kids, so if you're looking for something with fewer kids, this might not be your spot) place. High-quality, safe, nice.


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 6, 2011
Grand Cayman Marriott

Grand Cayman Marriott is in a great central location. It's convenient to dining and shopping. The hotel is comfortable and the service is great. Any problems we had at the hotel were quickly solved by the staff. It is a wonderful beachside hotel equipped with all the water activities that you want. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants relaxation and fun wrapped in to one.


20 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles, Ca
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 18, 2011
Incredible Value -- Fantastic Resort Vacation!!

My friends and I knew that we wanted to book an All-Inclusive vacation somewhere in the Caribbean, but weren't exactly sure which island and/or resort. After a little research, we ended up choosing the Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort. The Marriott reputation speaks for itself and after seeing that an All-Inclusive option was being offered, we booked immediately! I had visited Grand Cayman (Seven Mile Beach), several times in past years, while stopping there via a cruise ship -- but was extremely excited to finally be staying on the island! Everything was perfect, from the second we checked in. The entire staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and always eager to offer assistance. I was interested in purchasing 2 t-shirts at the hotel gift shop, as souveniers to take home to my children. They were out of the correct size, but graciously offered to check the stock at other resorts. They had it sent over to our hotel the same day and called me to advise that they had acquired it for me. Great customer service!! The rooms were luxurious, updated and spacious. The beds are beyond comfortable and made it very easy to feel right at home. Since we had purchased the All-Inclusive option, we could dine at any of the 4 restaurants and/or order room service. We opted for room service on a few occasions and were super impressed by the quality/quanity of the food. Delicious on all accounts! The beach/bar menu was ideal for enjoying pool/ocean time. Our favorite dining spot was the oceanside option at Solana. The lobster tail/filet and key lime pie are highly recommended! If you are not on the All-Inclusive package, be prepared to spend some serious money at any of the dining establishments within the hotel. Considering the overall price point within the Cayman Islands, they aren't actually that much higher than some of the other local establishments -- but may be shocker if you are trying to stay on a food/beverage budget. The pool/ocean/beach areas are top notch and some of the most beautiful on Seven Mile Beach. The beach staff was always super accomodating with umbrellas, food/bev, towels, etc. The ocean itself and the reef are ideal for snorkeling right in front of the hotel. Very common for schools of fish to be innocently swimming right around you. Lastly, the floating beach tables that the hotel has are perfect for relaxing in the sun/ocean with a nice cold cocktail :) We would go back to this resort in a heartbeat!!!!!!! A++++

Heaven - Seven Mile Beach
10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 22, 2013
Good

Staff friendly and service excellent. Hotel needs upgrading, beach and pool too small for number of guests. Location good. Restaurants and dining options fair. Would consider going back if price was right but would def. look for all-inclusive deal. Food on island very expensive!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 2, 2013
Best Value for the Dollar

Our first stay at a Marroitt and the quality of the room, food and staff was on par with luxury rated hotels we have frequented in the past. We enjoyed our stay so much, we signed up for the Marriott Rewards program. The location was ideal (away from busy Georgetown, but close to all excellent restaurants) and the waters pristine. This resort comes with a high recommendation for the most discriminating of travelers.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Richfield Springs, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 1, 2013
All we were looking for

From our check-in, everything was perfect. We asked to move our room because of noise from bar, and this was accomplished quickly and easily through staff diligence with complete grace, even though hotel was quite full. Room beautiful and comfortable, bed great, and -surprise - the restaurant right on beach was reasonably priced with excellent food, worthy of a major urban center. 7-mile beach is pristinely clean, wonderful (but that's true all along it) for running, walking, or swimming. Reefs to snorkel right off shore of hotel. Fitness center just right, pool lovely - only caveat is that it was very warm (seemed like 90F). And entire staff very friendly and very well-trained. Hotel is pleasantly and moderately-sized, not a small city, like other resorts further along the beach. Strongly recommend the Marriott in Grand Cayman.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bethesda, MD
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year