All

Grand Case Beach Club Reviews

Caribbean | St. Maarten/St. Martin Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 54 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.7
4.7 out of 5
"I loved staying at the Grand Case Beach Club. It was walking distance to town and we had a great time. I would go back again and stay.. St Martin is on of my favorite Islands and I hope to return!" – jbcscuba
56 out of 58 (97%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
breakfast view From our patio Beach left Near private beach Prickly Pear Island Beach at Grand Case Beach Club St.martin. grand case resort View from our bedroom!! sunset dinner view Gorgeous sunset from the balcony View of village from hotel One of the two swimming areas Grand Case Beach

All Grand Case Beach Club Customer Reviews

1-10 of 54 reviews. Sort by
January 18, 2012
Perfect second honeymoon

We went for a second honeymoon and the staff helped make it special--very helpful and friendly. The beach is very user friendly, some decent snorkeling around the rock promontory and a very good water sports/trips desk. If you like food, it's a short 7 minute walk to town and a dozen over-the-top restaurants, we ate at 8 of them and all were amazing in taste and presentation. No problem with parking at the Club. I liked the magnetic swipe room cards that worked for the gates for cars, the pool and exercise room. We plan to return!

Gorgeous sunset from the balcony One of the two swimming areas
26 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Denver
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 2, 2012
Must Go. we will return!!

The pictures do not do the Grand Case Beach club justice. It is even more beautiful. The water is crystal clear, you have your choice of two beaches, there are lawn chairs by every room, get a beachfront, ground floor. Then you can go in and out of your room easily. The resturaunt on the premises serves excellent food, and it is an easy, relaxing walk to all the resturaunts in town. The resort has a number of comfortable, relaxing, hide away niches tucked here and there that you can just fall into and enjoy the tranquiltity of the surrounding carribean sea. Great Trip and furthermore I left a ring in my room and did not discover it was missing until the airport. It was returned to me by the resort. That is a first with any hotel. Just beautiful. Enjoy your trip!


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Naples, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 1, 2013
Grand Case Beach Club

The beaches were incredible. The Superior Ocean room was nice but the amenities in the room were scarce for what we were expecting. The facilities (toilet) broke one evening and because they had no one on staff to fix it, they blew us off until I continued to call, then they offered us another room, (studio with a bed, no towels) until our toilet was fixed. They did fix it by 11 am the next morning but we were out of our upgraded room for one night and every request we had, it seemed we were putting them out. The Sunset cafe food was great, but the hours were not good. If you called 5 minutes before the kitchen closed you were out of luck. They ran out of food and some drink choices and the service was slow. They charged us for the mini bar in the room that they moved us to when the facilities broke (we had all of our food in our condo) and did not apologize or offer to do anything to make it better. They were doing us a favor and we put them out by asking for working facilities. The location of the club was great as it was right down the street from the town where the restaurants were which was great. The masseuse was incredible and worth every penny. The beaches were perfect, clean, white sand and the views were incredible.


14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 7, 2010
A little slice of paradise

My girlfriend and I spent a lovely week at the Grand Case Beach Club in July 2009. It was my first time in the Caribbean, she has been there dozens of times. St. Maarten is an interesting place, two countries on one small island - one side is Dutch and the side where we stayed is French. The hotel is located in Grand Case, which is a small village that is home to dozens of gourmet restaurants. The hotel is small and the staff is very friendly. Our oceanfront room was just feet from the Caribbean, which was great. They have two beaches, one is small and private, the other larger and semi-public. One tennis court which we used daily, and a fabulous restaurant with a million dollar view of the water. Very basic rooms, nothing fancy at all. Not all-inclusive, we ate breakfast daily (continental breakfast was included) and ate dinner there twice (excellent French food). Other nights we walked into town for dinner (takes 5 minutes). Water was crystal clear and silky. Very relaxing vacation and a good value at the summer rates.

View of village from hotel Near private beach
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Roswell, GA
Age: 45-54

August 30, 2011
Better than expected!!

Sometimes you see pictures of a resort on line and then you're disappointed when you get there......this was definately NOT the case with Grand Case Beach Club.....the resort was even better than the pictures. We could not believe the gorgeous view from our bedroom window. The room (Oceanfront Studio #108) was much bigger and more attractive than the pictures made it out to be. The resort itself was beautiful, we never had to "save" a lounge chair (which had thick comfy cushions), the free floats, snorkel equipment, etc. were also very nice. The rooms were kept spotless as was the rest of the resort. Everybody was very friendly and helpful. It was a short, safe walk into town and all the wonderful restaurants and shops (I was there with a friend and the two of us women felt safe walking into town even at night). The little beach was wonderful, no waves so you could float around on the floats for hours and not worry about being carried out to sea. Only one word of caution, DO NO WALK ON THE ROCKS, there are Sea Urchins on the rocks (my friend stepped on one as did our guests), walk only on the sand. Cheap Caribbean was wonderful, they were there to pick us up at the airport, even gave us a coupon for a free Sunset Cruise which was a great experience and picked us up on time to take us back to the airport. I would hightly recommend Grand Case Beach Club and Cheap Caribbean.

View from our bedroom!!
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tryon, NC
Age: 45-54

June 5, 2011
Grand Case Beach Club

Quiet and out of the way, this property is well maintained and we felt safe and secure. We have been to ST Martin many times and this is one of the cleanest beaches that we have found on this island. The beach was not crowded and it had that island feeling that we look for. Grand Case is just a five minute walk up the road or down the beach. This is a local town not a tourist town. Don't let the looks of the town put you off, this is the true caribean and its not fancy, but your not in Kansas anymore. We found resturants that served local food ribs, chicken, and, lobster with local side dishes cooked on the grill outside. They were giving even exchange for the dollar to euro. There were also many resturants that have fine dinning but some were quite pricey. This was a laid back romantic trip and we came home feeling refreshed.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Detroit
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 31, 2013
Two tickets to Paradise

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Grand Case Beach Club in St. Martin.We had stayed at the hotel several years ago and were happy to return. We love the location- it is only a short walk to all of the wonderful restaurants in Grand Case. Although it has a very nice pool and small beach, we drive to Orient Beach for our beach days. We are very fond of the Kon Tiki beach part of Orient Beach. Not only do they have an excellent beach restaurant,but they have a tree house where you can get a wonderful massage. Is there anything better than lying in a tree house with the breeze blowing and the waves lapping the sand and being massaged with lavender oil? It is the absolute best! We also took a trip by ferry from Marigot to Anguilla. We went to Shoal Bay Beach East. I have never seen a more beautiful beach in my life. Finally, I would like to recommend our dinners in Grand Case. We had two of the finest French meals we have ever had--and that includes Paris. Our favorite dinner was at La Villa. Every bite was a love affair. We also loved our dinner at L'Auberge Gourmande. The food and presentation were incredible. We can't wait to return to the French side of the island.

Two tickets to Paradise
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: National Harbor, MD
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 5, 2016
Grand Case...Don't be afraid

I would love to give this resort a 1 Palm tree review..only to keep this little gem private for us! Our Info: Single Couple in early 40's. Regular travelers, avid scuba divers, been to almost every popular, and not so popular islands in the Carrib. Probably more comfortable as "cruisers" to see where we want to go in the future, and St. Martin was a good example of that. Came here on honeymoon, and it was wifes birthday/our anniversary, and decided to try the French side of this beautiful place. Flew and checked in on a Thursday 6/23 and left Sunday 6/26. Boked on the French side, it had been a busy couple months and this was to just "unplug" and sit on a beach. Travel To Resort: TAKE THE TAXI...20-25 minute ride....I know not mention costs, but taxi for two and luggage was $35. Better than the private car rates....the taxi stand is just outside of arrivals...very easy. 20-30 minute ride, as our taxi driver gave us probably a 10 minute tour of Marigot (French Capitol), which was great, to give us a fell as to where to go if we wanted to. Island is about 33 miles square, so it's pretty hard to get lost here. The ride is pretty mixed with regular run down shacks, as in most areas in the Carib.....but wait...it gets better! CHECK IN: we dropped our bags, and walked into the check in area, very nice. I was getting nervous for my wife, as the ride in wasn't "post-card like". I'm more used to it than her as a diver, we've stayed in some sketchy places. Inside, we were met by a younger woman, who seemed disinterested in our arrival, and didn't explain much to us. I had to eavesdrop on another couple to here what was going on. In a few minutes, the lady who seemed to know what she was talking about, invited us to a guest mixer, explained the lock, and how to use the gym. (ALL CYBEX!) Then we were off to see our room (#703) Ok, so now I'm 50/50 on this so far. Full disclosure, 1st time using CheapCaribean. We entered our room..>WOW!!!!!!!! JUST WOW!!!!! B ROOM: 703- Beautifully appointed. Probably top 2 rooms I've stayed in anywhere...US and abroad. JUST WOW...everything just got a whole lot better! I mean not what I expected...10+. Walk in to Jazz playing in French. Nice tile wood planked floors. Big King Bed. Kitchenette. Get this...AC that actually worked and was cold!!! Each unit has its' own AC Unit. For those of you who travel and get a room in a hotel that always seems a bit sticky and not quite cold....this was a breath of fresh air! Beautiful appointment, really clean bathroom and cool open shower. For such a humid climate, NO MILDEW. Wine and glasses awaiting your arrival. Granite tops through out. Flat screen TV and real CABLE! HOT WATER in the tropics! and a good amount too. Large patio with furniture, and the ability to make it private, which lead out to a garden. OCEAN VIEW. Literally steps to the pool, steps to the beach, steps to the garden, steps to the restaurant....PERFECT PERFECT, PERFECT!!! One tip for US travelers...ONLY 210 volts...bring a converter to charge phones, cameras, etc. You can rent one for $10, but for $10, you can buy a 2 pack at the airport. Now the room was a bit noisy at night until about 10 o'clock, there were children above us. No doubt about it...loved the room and facility....LOVED IT. Based on the room alone, we will come back...and ask for this room. RESORT: Grounds were as well kept as any. There seemed to be one guy, who was grounds keeping, minding his own business and never in our way, who seemed to work sun up to sun down on the grounds, and it shows....very very nice and clean. Tons of very nice little nooks to relax, sit, have a coffee/drink, take pictures, nap..etc. I mean, we wanted some alone time...and we got it! Beaches on both sides were nothing short of Gorgeous. Snorkels, fins, goggles, kayaks, canoes, noodles, and floating pads, everything on site to play in the water. Guys helped you get in and launch, guy there to get you and set up an umbrella, and chairs...and get lunch and drinks if need be. Really nice relaxed resort. Top 10 all the way! CAFE (on site restaurant)- This was by far the most average thing on the trip. They are separate from the resort, so you can set up a bill there, and just pay at the end of your stay. Initially, breakfast every day you get some creasaunts, bread and a glass of OJ. Not enough, just order from the menu. Prices are really reasonable, and thank you for that! Now the eggs and hash browns the first morning. Just OK. the eggs were quite tiny? not worth it. However....the omelets, although small, were very flavorful, and my favorite there...also good price. Wife got eggs benedict / Florentine each day...she liked them, small, but tasted great. Lunch was ok to flat, and we did not eat dinner there. so out of 10 stars...it gets a 5.5. Just from really good breakfast to just flat lunch..too just ok breakfast...it was very up and sort of down. What I will say, is its really convenient, so we made do. What other did around us was cooked breakfast in their own rooms, and dined out later. Now the drinks were very good, and service was better than average. The workers were the same and seemed a tad overworked, but they always had a smile, and worked very hard to make your stay as great as they could. Very happy with the staff thee. Get a quavaberry coolada at least once! Its nice to have the restaurant on site. Great for quick snacks, breakfast/lunch and drinks! TOWN: Not as big as the descriptions make it out to be. We were there during the "slow season" and noticed shorter hours and some restaurants being closed. All in walking distance...really. Being in Law Enforcement, what I did see was low crime and occasionally French military making a presence...nothing to be c=scared of. What I would warn is the short low lit section between the resort and town, maybe a hundred yards, is don't vary a purse. Although there is security guards along the route, there are a lot of kids on bikes and motored bikes...easy enough to "grab & go". AGAIN, I had no security concerns for me or my wife, just food for thought. Really seemed like a safe place. Observed a lot of older folks walking around with no issues. Go to the LoLo's. Great bbq'd cheap food, and plentiful. We tried the front 2, sky's the limit, and the one right next to it. Great amount of food, well cooked, and pretty darn cheap. For her b-day, we had an exquisite French fare at on of the French places in town. Very very good, and I'm not a fancy food eater (see lolo). HOME: The night before, a very pleasant man ordered a taxi for us, and sure enough, on our day of departure, it was 5 minutes early. Airport immigration was relatively quick and easy. We had a major delay because of the only airstrip one way in / out, but no problem. ALl in all....our only disappointment, if you can say that, was the up and down of the on site restaurant. It went from so-so to excellent...grounds we great (don't worry about the tiny little lizards), resort was great, beaches were great. What I loved was there was plenty to do (at a cost) or nothing to do if you so choose. We definitely will be back... Thank you guys

From our patio Beach left
19 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 2, 2014
Outstanding Spot - Highest recommendation

We are seasoned St. Martin visitors. We have heard about this place for years and finally went there. For this kind of money, it just doesn't get any better on the island than GCBC. If you read the reviews, you will see some consistent themes in the praise afforded this place. I read them and we had a wonderful stay as well. I won't grind those same saws here again. We are from NYC but are now living in Melbourne Australia, so we may not get to return... But, of all our trips to SXM... This place was the best of the best. I'll just close with this: EVERYTHING EXACTLY AS ADVERTISED OR BETTER. How many times do you get to say that about a resort? Cheers.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NYC NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 7, 2015

Based on a quick tour of the island, we thought Grand Case was the best area on the island for vacationers; and that the Grand Case Beach Club was the best hotel in this area. I would pay extra for the beach front rooms, where you can sit a few feet from the beach and catch the sunset. We also liked the ability to walk to a wide array of restaurants at Grand Case restaurant row -- ranging from very good basic restaurants with moderate prices (e.g., Lolos) to top notch gourmet restaurants (e.g., Le Shambala).


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NM
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year