All

Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 49 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.8
3.9 out of 5
"Do the Jungle Rally through Amstar and ask for Susy for your guide. Very knowledgeable and concerned that you enjoy yourself." – Norv
38 out of 54 (70%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Playa Punta Cana my son and me Our pool and pool bar

All Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 49 reviews. Sort by
September 29, 2015
Great Vacation

Good: The resort was very clean, staff friendly, and food was good. I am always amazed at people's reviews about food not being up to their standards because you can literally find a different meal at the buffet even if they served the same thing every day. Yes, some dishes are repeated, but overall, there is great variety at the buffet and the restaurants are delicious! Also, the restaurant staff are great! The room was cleaned daily and spotless every time we came back from the beach. Towels clean, toiletries refilled, and the air conditioning worked fine. The mini bar was constantly refilled with drinks and water. The drinks at the bar were always delicious and did not taste watered down to me! There was daily entertainment at the pool, the beach, and after dinner. I do wish that the entrainment staff would walk around more and try to advertise. At other resorts, I was almost always dragged to activities and never regretted it. However, if you like to be left alone after saying "No, thank you!" this place is definitely for you. Bad/Needs Improvement: The rooms are not the most up to date, which is fine because you spent virtually no time there anyways. I just wish the bedding could be updated, I found it very old. The room came with a safe that you get charged for. That is the case at some hotels as well but it shouldn't be. If you are charging for the safe because you are telling me my belongings may be unsafe, and you still aren't liable if things go missing, then what am I paying for? It is $4 per day and a waste of money for you, but you have to do it. The disco after the nightly shows was fun, open bar there as well; however, the DJ played Latin music (and not the Top 40 Latin) all night long. I LOVE Latin music and dancing, but I am also a tourist that does not only listen to Latin music, so after 5-10 songs I sort of became bored because the beauty of dancing drunk is really being into the song. This was the case every night. I wish they played more popular songs from around the globe.

Great Vacation
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: St. Louis, MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 9, 2016
loved it, but I'm not pretentious

If you go an expect paradise you will enjoy it. If you go expecting everything to your personal liking you will be disappointed. There are a couple lines for buffet, foods were plentiful if you're willing to accept eating a different cuisine than the average American fare. Trolleys are plentiful, but only run on their times, so be mindful that you can not get to the beach in 2 minutes.... most everyone is friendly, some you could tell are not. If traveling on excursions purchase from the front desk, not the beach area of Grand Bahia. The beach area is not controlled by your tour operator and could be a low cost operator with trash for equipment. Low price=Low Quality, buyer beware. Treat the staff well & they will do the same for you. The rooms were nice, and cleaned daily by a hard working staff, show them some love with a tip here and there and you will have full stock in your room. The beach isn't scary at night as some say, just know going in that you will be asked if you need anything.... politely decline and move on, unless.....Do not, I repeat DO NOT eat the sushi!!!! Buffet or at a dinner serving, it sits out and will cause you intestinal issues, other than that ENJOY, not complain about your trip. Your the only one who can cause your unhappiness!!! As Americans' we are spoiled, don't be whiny on your trip, other people don't want to hear it!!!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 8, 2015
Very Happy

We couldn't be happier with our choice for a weekend getaway. The resort is well kept and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The resort itself can be overwhelmingly huge but it didn't take long to figure out the layout and the shuttles that ran from one end to the other were great. Overall, no complaints and very pleased.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 13, 2015
Punta Cana with a 1 year old

My wife and I were looking for a vacation to take our 1 year year old son (20 months) and we got luck to stumble upon the Turquesa resort. It was very children friendly from my son's age all the way up. There are multiple pools, a children's water park, numerous other activities. The staff was very accommodating and they were all lovely. Many had little to no English skills which was fine for my wife and I since she is fluent in Spanish and I am very conversational. The food is nothing extraordinary, but not bad at all. For us early risers it is tough. We would get breakfast at or near opening of the buffet, but we'd be ready for lunch before it opened again and we were relegated to traveling to the beachfront buffet (there are worse options than eating by the beach with a beautiful breeze) or eating at the small eatery which has a diverse, but limited menu. The bars were rarely a long wait as many of the bar tenders could turn out drinks quickly. Everything was spotless. One major complaint I had was that I was constantly unable to get clean pool towels. They were constantly running out of them.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 20, 2016
Lots of fun...!

What I like about Bahia Príncipe resorts, since I have been to more than one in different cities, is that they plan your night starting as early as 8:00 pm until 2:00 am. with shows, participation parties in the town and clubing.Keeps your group together and entertained, which doesn't happen in other resorts. The staff super friendly. We are planning in booking for next year already and hopefully will be with BP resorts.

Lots of fun...! Lots of fun...!
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami
Age: 55-64

May 20, 2015
Dont think so

I think the resort itself was beautiful. The landscape and pools we're inviting and clean. The thing that I had a problem with was service. I found this is a resort that caters to Spanish speakers. I felt like if you spoke other language you were ignored. I could also tell the staff didn't like answering questions. This was my first trip to the DR so of course I was going to have questions. I also didn't like that everyone was trying to make a sale. That went for bar staff, club staff and of course the various vendors that were always around and on the property. The only time we had peace was in our room.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 6, 2016
Decent place for families

The resort grounds were very nice. Everything was clean and well maintained. We had access to several pools, all with swim-up bars. The beach was beautiful. As at any big resort, finding loungers was a challenge as most were occupied by towels (no bodies, just towels). The food at the buffet was good for buffet food, especially considering the volume of people and quantity required. We went to two of the a la carte restaurants. The BBQ turned out to be just another buffet. Not worth it at all. The Dominican restaurant was better, but not fantastic. The goat was quite good, but the beef was overcooked and tough. The Turquesa itself is geared toward families. The kiddie water park is nearby, along with mini golf and other kid-friendly activities. If you don't want to deal with screaming kids at dinner, head for one of the other resorts on property. We found the resort lacking in things to do. There was not much entertainment at the pools or beach. I never did see the Salsa dance lessons that were on the schedule, or any of the other games that were supposed to be going on. There was also a lack of things to do between 4:00 pm and dinner. The Casino and Sports Bar do not open until 8:00 pm. The shops are quite expensive. We played cards...


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 21, 2016
Do Not Fly Spirit Airlines - You Will Regret It

Made reservations with Cheap Caribbean and it was hassle free. Resort was great and very accommodating. Staff was great and courteous throughout the resort. Only problem was I did not know what airline was offered at the time of the purchase. It wasn't until I received my email confirmation we were flying with Spirit Airlines. They nickel and dime you when flying. Encourage paying for your baggage upfront to get a better rate so we did. Fle in to Punta Cana in uncomfortable seats and no snacks during the flight. Figured it was no big deal. When were arrived at the airport for our return flight, we waited in line only to learn the flight back to Ft. Lauderdale, Florida was delayed, but quickly escalated to being cancelled. The airline receptionist at the counters were rude, kept quiet about it and did not offer any help. They kept quiet and would not help. It wasn't till hours later they finally agreed to assist us by putting us on another flight after 4 days while in d foreign country. They told us we could stay in the airport terminal where there were not even vending machines. When we questioned them if they would put us in a hote, the people at the counter suddenly forgot to speak Engligh and resorted to simply walk away from the counter leaving us to fend for ourselves. We had no option but to purchase another flight back through Jet Blue, scheduled the following day, because Spirit would not help or assist in any way, shape or form. After spending an additional +$1,000. We were able to finally come home (yes you heard it right over $1,000 - $738 two plane ticket on Jet Blue / additional $80 taxi ride back to the hotel / additional stay at the hotel $150 to shack up and share an already occupied room / additional $60 rental car because we lost the reservation which was scheduled on the return date / additional $125 for kids sitter for an extra day). It was not like we were stranded in another US city which we could have found other means of transportation. We were stranded in another country. No to mention the aggravation and frustration we endured. No accommodations, very limited phone availability and no internet access to even try to look at other options or make alternate accommodations. So it was two couples and they also experience the same headaches. So much for a relaxing and care free getaway as a Mother's Day present. So much for the bargain. Instead of it being a reasonable vacation, it turned out to be a very hard lesson learned.....don't book Spirit Airlines. Now that we are back home, we are fighting with Spirit Airlines to get our money back. I'm not asking for punitive damages, just asking to reimburse the money which was spent as a result of their problem. I don't want free flights for the rest of my life, I just want to be able to recoup the money we had to spend on Jet Blue and the extra money we unexpectedly had to spend for the extra stay at the hotel. But Spirit Airlines is not willing to make things right. On the flight back with Jet Blue, we were treated to snacks and a free movie. Not only did they offer a free snack, they offered seconds. It was as if they felt sorry for what we experienced and they were trying to make it better. Now with that said, staff at Cheap Carribian were friendly and helpful when booking. Their representative at the resort, Phil, was funny and had a great personality. I know they have to book flights with smaller, cheaper airlines to keep cost at a minimum, but I hope they understand sometimes cheapest is not the answer. Sometimes piece of mind is more rewarding. Take it from me, this is a story I will carry for a long time and will share with as many people as possible. Thank you. A. Herrera


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Central Florida
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 11, 2016
Great way to spend a week for a family of 4

We really enjoyed our week at The Grand Bahia Turquesa - we had never been to the Dominican Republic before so we were unsure where to stay . We went on price and we felt we got great value for the money we spent. The Grand Bahia Turquesa is one of 5 hotels in a huge resort. 2 of the hotels that are directly on the beach are adults only but the other 3 - Turquesa, Bavaro and Punta Cana are a very short shuttle bus ride to the beach and no matter what Hotel you stay at you can use the facilities of the other hotels along with their bars and can go to their nightly entertainment the only thing you can't do is eat in their buffet restaurants. Every Hotel has a buffet and with the Turquesa you were also allowed to choose 3 a la carte reservations per 7 night stay. We chose The Garden Grill (steakhouse), The Mikado (Japanese) and Olas 1 (carribbean buffet) The grounds were amazing and there was great care taken with them. The pool at the Turquesa has a swim up bar, daily entertainment with water polo, dancing by the pool with Ramirez, darts, bingo , ping pong . The day after we arrived the pool had a huge inflatable slide, our kids ( 11 & 9 yrs) had a blast. There was nightly entertainment in the lobby with dancing and the staff really got the crowd involved. The staff at the Turquesa were wonderful especially Joanna at reception they work very hard but never complained. The rooms were big and spacious ours had 2 full beds and were cleaned daily. We had a great vacation and would highly recommend this Hotel .


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 5, 2017
Nothing Special

We did not know that the beach was a mile away, and you needed to take a shuttle to get there. We did not know before we went that it was a complex of four Bahia resorts (Too Many People). You were unable to use the buffet at any of the other resorts for dinner. You were only allowed to reserve three ala carte restaurants, therefore not enough of variety of foods. The Japanese restaurant, was so disorganized, even though we had reservations, we had to wait over an hour plus for our table that, we gave up and left. The first room was dirty and mattress needed to be replaced (sunk in the middle). We complained and the resort did move us to another room, which was better, but still not that clean. There were three of us, but we only got two towels. Online, it stated robes and slippers would be provided and we had none. We requested robes and slippers and waited two days to get two robes and two slippers. We waited another day for the other robe and slippers, but none of the robes had belts and that was another two days before we got belts. There was no alcohol in the mini bar- wait what? If you wanted to use the safe for your valuables, that was an additional four dollars a day. Which was not stated on line. No WiFi was available- are you serious right now?. The front desk process was always crowded, understaffed and took too long. Check in took over an hour and there were only three of us. At other resorts, we received a welcome greeting and drink. Not here. After check in we waited another half hour waiting for a bell hop to take us to our room. I had to carry my own bag up the three flights of stairs. No extra electrical plugs for people with sleep apnea or to recharge your personal devices. The TV reception was Horrible! You could barely see the picture because of the "Snow". We called and it took two days to fix. Only to last for two days. At the buffets, the tables were always dirty and had to be cleaned. We understand that from time to time they can't get that done, but they should really do that before they seat you at a dirty table. On numerous occasions (at Least 6), we had to get our own place settings because no one ever returned to do so, not to mention to get a drink of water. The Italian Themed night at the buffet, did not have much Italian food and no parmesan cheese. Seriously! The pools all closed at six p.m. I am on vacation, I need them opened longer. Getting a chair whether by the pool or the beach, was next to impossible, even at 0730 in the morning. The resort allowed people to leave towels on the chairs and never return or at least four to five hours. One morning we witness a major argument over who left there towel on the chair before breakfast first, that almost came to blows. Don't waste your money on swimming with the dolphins, what a major rip off. On a good note the Amstar Transfer Process (to and from airport) was excellent. Ellina was very friendly and helpful. Over all the resort was OK, but not worth the hassle for the cost incurred. The beach was excellent, except for finding a seat and the distance to get there.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year