All

Grand Bahia Principe San Juan Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 33 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.8 out of 5
"I was fortunate to befriend people on the resort we had a great time." – PeteRock
28 out of 38 (74%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Great view View from my room at Bahia Principe Getting drinks at the lobby bar

All Grand Bahia Principe San Juan Customer Reviews

1-10 of 33 reviews. Sort by
August 6, 2010
An unexpected, pleasant surprise

We were originally booked at another resort nearby that closed due to bankruptcy a week before were were scheduled to arrive. The replacement options that Cheap Carribbean offered were not acceptable due to dietary restrictions (strict vegetarian) , so CC graciously booked us at Bahia Gran Principe San Juan instead - the only resort they called that was familiar with the concept of a "vegetarian!" The rooms were slightly sparse but more than adequate. The bed was firm, which was good for us. I know other guests had problems with their showers (the tub/shower switch wouldn't stay in the "shower" position) but ours was fine. The service was EXCELLENT - I couldn't have asked for anything better. Mixed drinks were pretty good, varied, and free And the FOOD. It was AMAZING. All I wanted to do was eat! The buffets were huge and varied, with gorgeous selections of fresh fruit, different hot and cold dishes, bread, etc. The waitstaff was always smiling and always available. The themes restaurants were good, but as a whole I think the buffet was slightly nicer. The beach was OK, a small with concrete breakers visible just offshore to keep the sand from washing away. I didn't mind the breakers but I heard some guests say their view was marred. A company called Scubaquatic arranged all sorts of water activities - sailing, snorkeling, kayaking - for a small fee. There were also guided boat tours of the surrounding beaches and villages, which was nice. In summation, I had the most wonderful, warm, relaxing, pampered time here that I could have dreamed of. I highly recommend going when there's a special rate in place.


18 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 30, 2016
Decent vacation

We had a great time at Bahia. Stayed January 22-26, 2016. I was extremely impressed with the service. For example, I called the front desk and the clerk couldn't hear me. I called back with the same result. I figured ok the phone is not working so I'll let the front desk know when I go out. Not 10 minutes later a repair man showed up, before I even had a chance to go out. The desk sent him over when they realized the phone must be broken. He fixed our phone and even took care of the tv remote which wasn't working as well. Great start to a great vacation. They have one huge buffet which has a large variety of food for whatever you're looking for. Fresh fruit, eggs and pasta made to order, American food and Dominican food, with some other things you might like. Great selection. We made reservations for the gourmet a la carte restaurant. Well worth it for an 'fancier' dining experience. The pool was nice. I like that the depth goes above 3.5 feet; I think it goes up to 5 feet. This was great since at most other resorts, my 6'4" husband only gets his knees wet. The entertainment is typical for the all inclusive scene. Some laughs can be had there but not top of the line. The entertainment staff does a good job with what they have and works hard to include the audience. The staff works extremely hard at their jobs all around and I think it has to be said that anyone that can produce a smile after a 15-20 hour work day deserves a tip. I've read a lot of other reviews and think that people get what they give. You are visiting another country and even though you're paying for it, being polite and courteous should go without saying. If someone's English isn't so great or you get the wrong drink, don't freak out...you are in a different country and maybe learn how to ask for your drink in Spanish before you go :) Some people mentioned bug bites from sand flies. No one in our party had a single bite so I'm not sure where others are hanging out. The only issue I could mention was that the room we stayed in was recently vacated by someone who smoked. I had problems with my allergies for a couple of days because the room needed to air out. I would love if the hotel could possibly have no smoking rooms but I realize that is a tall order for this type of venue. Happy vacationing!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 2, 2010
Nice Resort, Good Value

My husband & I stayed for our 1st anniversary. Upon arrival we weren't impressed because it doesn't really compare to the luxury of Secrets Maroma in Riviera Maya. However, the rooms were comfortable and housekeeping did a great job every morning. The buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner was quite good, although not always exciting. I loved the fresh mango each morning and the fresh-made banana shakes. The wait staff was super friendly and eager to please. We were able to try 2 a la cart restaurants and enjoyed them very much (except for dessert crepes which were tangy rather than sweet). The beach is not the beautiful white sand of the southern side of the island, so it's not as pretty and your feet look filthy, but who really cares when you're at a tropical resort? There are giant sand bags in the ocean to keep large fish out of the swimming area - not attractive, but very much appreciated! There are plenty of loungers along the beach - most under palapas, and also by the pool. We didn't care for the nightly entertainment - it was very loud, sometimes rather obnoxious, and the dancers needed a lot more practice. They tried hard, but it was painful to watch. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Nice Resort, Good Value
14 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Byron Center, MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 26, 2011
Beautiful island, great place to stay

Everything was very nice, it is great for family with small kids as they can get on stage and dance with the special dancers just for this event which is every night, they will have a great time and the adults can get up there also. The food was very good, I gained weight and the entertainment was good also. Every one was really nice and speaking english is not a problem. I don't know how I could have had a better time. Me and my new Dominican bride spent 10 beautiful days there. I like the Island so well I will move to the Dominican Republic very soon.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oologah, Oklahoma
Age: Over 65

April 22, 2014
One hiccup in a Heaven

We enjoyed our vacation at this resort. It is a mile from POP airport so get shuttle service. Our room was near the beach and a pool. We loved our location. The resort is huge but there are plenty of chairs on the private beach and pools. Some of the locals are abrasive. They bother you to visit their stores when you are relaxing on the beach. Our only problem was that we went at Easter. Many locals came and they ruined it. I never saw people more rude in my life. Before they came and after they left, it was Heaven. Don't go during their holidays! The resort should have done more to prevent what we endured. There is a small street with stores and a lame casino but we had a lot of fun hanging there at night. The staff is great and helpful. I would go back, but never at Easter.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 29, 2016
Great vacation

We stayed that The Grande Bahia Principe in San Juan. The only thing that we found frustrating was the time it took to get to and from the airport. A suggestion might be to put in the details of the resort the distance from airport. We thought we were IN Puerto Plata, when in fact we were 1 hour and 20 minutes away. It was confusing because we were looking for resorts in Puerto Plata so assumed this was there. San Juan is pretty far out there but we ended up really being fine with the location once we got there and settled. That aside, the resort was beautiful. We had a junior suite with a king size bed and 2 bathrooms, TVs, etc. It was always very clean and the service was terrific. We were about 20 yards from the beach and the area of the resort was plush and secluded, yet very close to the beach. The buffet was very good and the service was fantastic. Very nice waiters who responded very quickly to anything we needed. We never had to wait for anything. The beaches were beautiful, though we heard the beaches in Punta Cana were the best on earth! There were plenty of chairs and shade everyday. There were plenty of bars scattered throughout the resort,so we never had to walk far. The resort had security at night and we felt very safe the entire time. Everyone was friendly. We had the privacy we wanted, but the staff was always there to answer questions. The different restaurants that we had access to as part of the all-inclusive were fantastic. A nice bonus and change from the buffet. The pools were great, some quieter than others which was nice. This was a much needed vacation and we were very happy with the resort, staff, room and overall service. A great trip. Cheapcaribbean.com was really helpful and answered all of our questions prior to the trip and at the airport when we were delayed for 5 hours. I would recommend this to anyone!! Thank you for a great vacation!!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 5, 2016
I Would NOT Stay Here Again

The rooms at this hotel are VERY outdated. It looked as if they had not upgraded anything since the 90's except the TV's. When we got there our phone didn't work, the safe (extra fee) was broken, and the comforter was dirty. We spent part of our first day getting things fixed/cleaned. The grounds themselves are beautiful, the drinks are not bad depending on your bartender (Dariel was the man), but the food is just ok. The beach has these sand bags in it to block the waves but they are an eye sore. The Japanese restaurant was awful!!! I did enjoy the Mediterranean restaurant but they only let you go there once during your stay. This hotel is an hour plus from the airport and far from Sousa and cabarete so be ready to spend money on transportation. The general staff was nice but did not go out of their way to be extra courteous. I especially enjoyed the entertainment staff. Elizabeth and Juan are hilarious. Dinosco (might be the wrong spelling) from the restaurant was very sweet and nice. I should have known better but whatever you do, do NOT do the presentation...they said an hour and kept us there for 5-6hours and we waisted an entire day. We made the best we could out of this vacation but our most memorable moments were spent off the complex.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 3, 2014
Great Spring Break Destination

My friends and I stayed at Bahia Principe for 5 days during our senior year Spring Break. We definitely got our money's worth and had a fabulous time! There was always something to do, the staff was great, and the weather was beautiful. The only downsides were the food quality and the beds weren't super comfortable. But honestly, you could have as much food as you wanted and even though it wasn't superb (except for the Mediterranean restaurant--amazing!) you definitely did not go starving. Also, we passed out every night after being in sun/outside all day so the bed firmness did not matter much haha. Overall, my girlfriends and I had an awesome vacation and would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great deal in a beautiful location!


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 19-24

May 14, 2015
Average Resort - Average Bang for your buck

Stayed 5 nights - Wifi signal extremely weak and only worked in Lobby - Food was OK for the price paid - Even though room service is included, we were given hard time one time we ordered and ended up messing up our order anyways after 45 min waiting for food - TV channels were spotty and some didn't work at all - get rooms as close to main swimming pool as possible or you will be walking a lot - they have shuttles but it's iffy in terms of availability. Good budget spot for budget travelers. Great job cheapcarribean!!! Amenities could be little better at this resort. All other items were great - nice relaxing spot. Beach was also nice.


5 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 13, 2013
Nice resort.

I would recommend it if you want to be in the north coast area. And from Puerto Plata to Samana this is one of the best organized resort in the area, and believe me I stayed at most of them in puerto plata, sosua, Cabarete. I usually come here every 3 or 4 months.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Appleton WI Usa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year