All

Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 594 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.8
3.8 out of 5
"The property was beautifully maintained, the room clean and comfortable and staff was very attentive and helpful. I do plan to revisit." – TGrin
488 out of 699 (70%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pool and beach from room fun sunset broke down furniture and trash in hallway A blast from our balcony The perfect view!! Best Coconut Ever!!! GBP Jamaica pool. View from our balcony View of resort from room The resort Gran Bahia Runaway room service View from Balcony Stain in hallway Beautiful water Don Pablo Restaurant Hotel Seen from Secret Beach View from room balcony sunrise from the 5th floor The wife Life at the Pool Pool view from balcony Beach!!! Nice beach Beach Area sunset Views over looking the pool Small part of the beach at the resort Beautiful resort Beautiful beach and water. Gran Bahia 2012 View from my room balcony view Roach found in room pool 7th Floor Room View from the 5th floor The resort's beach nice elevator huh? pool bar Beach one of the views Beautiful sunset reflecting off the water 50 shades of blue

All Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Customer Reviews

1-10 of 594 reviews. Sort by
April 27, 2014
Absolutely loved it!

**I know this is going to be long, but I encourage you to read it! I read so many reviews and still didn't know what to expect! I will really try to help out as much as I can for everyone going here for the first time. I don't even know where to begin!! I spent hours reading reviews online, looking up pros and cons, and figuring out exactly how my trip would go before I actually went. If you think about it, how many people get on and post POSITIVE reviews about a trip? Most people only post their negative opinions, so please take the time to read this review. I am only 21 years old, so I was a bit skeptical that I would get cheated out of some money or treated rudely since I am so young and traveling with one friend. Boy was I wrong!! Everything was so smooth- from the flight, to the airport, to the resort. I honestly do not have a single complaint. I do wish more people wrote reviews so I knew exactly what to do before I got there, but it still went smoothly. First, the flight. Simple, perfect. The airport in Jamaica was simple- go through customs and immigration, then you can exchange money if you wish, then grab your bags. It is not necessary to switch to Jamaican money! Just be sure to bring a bunch of American $1 bills for tipping. When you get through all the customs and stuff, someone was there to greet us right away and ask who we booked through and where we were headed. We then got wristbands so they knew where we were going, and we were taken on a bus to our resort. The driver was very accommodating and entertaining- we even stopped for a "beer break" on the way. I think we stopped at 2 other resorts to drop off a couple people before arriving at Grand Bahia. The second we arrived at the Grand Bahia, we were greeted, our bags were taken, and we checked in. Most simple process ever! The Jamaican worker who took our bags almost refused to let me carry anything because I was on vacation and should be relaxing. We were escorted up to our room with our bags. The rooms were cleaned daily, and the fridge was restocked every single day. Fun fact- I left my shoes scattered around the room and they even matched up my shoes and lined them up neatly by the couch. They just did little things that let us know they cared. We also gave housekeeping a tip on the very last day we left the room. I felt like the deserved it because they were always working and cleaning rooms, and had a very positive attitude towards guests. As far as the resort goes-- YES it is very big. I read negative reviews about how big it was, and I just don't understand those reviews at all. The beach was large and private, the resort was all gated so no outsiders aloud, there were so many rooms and new people to meet and interact with. I think the size was perfect. The beach was pretty long, a lot of chairs and umbrellas- no problem finding a place to relax. I read a review that said the beach was too rocky but I didn't see that as a problem at all. Maybe if you decided to walk through the area that was marked off for having large rocks it would be rocky, but nowhere other than that! Each person gets an hour of kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving lessons, and so many other activities per day. There are excursions you can go on for an extra cost, but not necessary. You will never get bored just staying at the resort. The food... Oh my goodness, so good!! The main buffet is very large and such a variety of food! I'm not exaggerating at all when I say there is over 100 dishes to choose from per meal. There are also 5 other restaurants that you can get reservations for, and I highly recommend that also. They are all very very good. The people.. I felt like a celebrity at Grand Bahia! Every single person was extremely nice, accommodating, friendly, and wanting to help with absolutely anything you could need. I did not meet one staff member who was rude or uninviting. They were always asking if we were doing okay or needed anything or were satisfied. So pleasant and they made me really want to go back to Jamaica ASAP! Drinks- included in price, not a single complaint. There are little beach huts scattered throughout the beach that serve drinks, as well as a few swim up bars. The workers were glad to make anything we could think of, and the drinks were very unique and unlike anything I've ever had. They never once "expected" us to tip them or acted differently if they saw we had money in our hands. They were very grateful to receive a tip, but they did not base their service off of the fact of whether or not we would tip them. A little piece of advice: bring your own travel mug or something to put drinks in. The cups they serve are maybe 8oz cups, and rather than make several trips back to the bars, they are more than happy to fill up your own cup or mug. Myself and a lot of other people gave the bartenders $1 every trip to the bar or every other trip. Their service and attitude deserved every tip they got. I also read some reviews where people said people bombarded them with trying to sell time shares, cruises, etc. I never once saw someone trying to sell something. There was even a sign posted near the beach that says solicitation is not allowed. I never encountered someone trying to sell something. Remember to bring your own sunscreen! As any hotel is, the sunscreen is a bit expensive to buy at a gift shop or lobby shop. There was also entertainment every night, which was awesome. It was never too loud from the rooms, so if you didn't want to listen to the entertainment you could easily go to your room and go to sleep. Overall, this trip was absolutely perfect and I have no complaints whatsoever!! Definitely will be going back for another trip. The staff and everyone at Grand Bahia made me feel so comfortable and welcome. Best vacation I have ever been on. You will not regret vacationing here, and I hope you have as great of a time as I did. I miss the resort and the people so much already!! *Tip; I did book through Cheap Caribbean, but I called them and booked over the phone AS I was looking at the order on the computer. This way I could ask questions as I go or needed clarification on anything. Maybe I was a bit too cautious, but I am young and didn't want anything to go wrong!


383 of 392 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 10 Contributor
From: Iowa
Age: 19-24

March 25, 2012
A little summer in the winter

My husband and I needed a getaway so Jamaica here we go. This resort was nice but the service could have been better but not enough to ruin you vacation. ( They are learning give them time). The food is great and the people are nice and friendly. The beaches and pools are beautiful. Just a tip bring a travel mug from home to save you from running back and forth to the bar. Tip the bartender so you wont need so many drinks. (2 dollars go a long way). But if you go off the resort the people selling are so pushy it might get on your nerves cause they wont and dont give up easy. Also do not forget BUG SPRAY. Overall we had a great time. If you want to go to the restaurant make your reservation upon arrival . Enjoy.


105 of 109 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Jamaica, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 7, 2012
Just to big!

The resort was in good shape for a 5 year old facility. We had water dripping down on our bathroom from the one above us. Called the front desk 3 different days but we feel they never really addressed the problem. Asked for various items like ironing board their suggestion was to make use of their house keeping people and pay to have cloths ironed. We would be placed on a waiting list for the ironing board if we didn't use them. Sent our clothes out to be cleaned for next day service saw them the day before we left *( or three days later ). Paid extra for most things that other resorts included like the safe in room. WiFi was only free in lobby if you wanted it anywhere else it was $15.00 a day.The food was of course mass produced and set out. Always cold by the time you got it. The food at the restaurants was just Ok with the portions very small and the Italian food down right bad. The man made beach was a little rocky on the beach itself. The service was Ok at best. Asked for various things but if it didn't get money for the resort it was never addressed. The drinks were good but you had to get them yourself waiting in line. Again the resort being the second largest in Jamaica was just to big. If you just want to be a paying number this is the place for you.


52 of 55 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Ogdensburg, N.Y.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 18, 2013
Fifth Time in Jamaica

The Grand Bahia Runaway Bay was a beautiful resort. It was also a HUGE resort, the largest I had been to, and I've been to seven resorts in total. Expect lots of walking- which you need this exercise to burn off the many calories you will ingest between the top notch dining and the refreshing beverages. However I found many bartenders to be standoffish- not what you would expect from a bartender. This I think is due to the obvious display of tipping by the tourists. I think this is tacky on an all-inclusive resort and it made others think they would only get the top-notch service if they tipped WELL. I did not care for this, but was forced to follow suit as I wanted a special, memorable stay for all the positive reasons, not the negative reasons. I would have preferred to hear more Reggae music- was disappointed by the lack of Bob Marley and roots/ska/reggae music. Dance music just doesn't have the same mellow vibe, ya know Mon? Snorkelling was great! Lots of fun & hours spent snorkelling in the lovely waters. Only a couple hours of rain. All in all, this was a top-notch vacation. I wish I could've stayed longer!

50 shades of blue
17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Ontario, Canada
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 23, 2013
What an incredible vacation spot

We took a trip as a getaway and neither of us had ever been to Jamaica. Gran Bahia was incredible from the moment we arrived. The room was amazing with a huge balcony overlooking the ocean so we could sleep with the door open and hear the surf. We learned quickly to either bring or buy a travel mug for your drinks or you would be packing around small plastic cups all the time. The staff was incredibly friendly and you could tell easily that "Yeah Mon" and "No Problem" is more than just a saying, it's a way of life. Food was always available and the jerk chicken is ridiculously good at the lunch snack bar down by the dive shop. The stores were fun and prices were decent and negotiable. The only thing I marked down was for food. We did two a la carte meals. The first was at the Garden Grill. If you go, stock up on the appetizer buffet as the meals themselves were pretty small and the Chicken Cordon Bleu was overcooked and tough. The Japanese restaurant however was incredible with full service including the cooking show right in front of you with amazing chicken, steak, shrimp and fish. We also did two adventures out of the dive shop with Dolphin Cove and Deep Sea Fishing. Both were relatively affordable and well worth the adventure. Will we be back? Yeah Mon!!!


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 15, 2013
Garbage Hotel

The only people who will enjoy the Bahia Principe are poorly-cultured foreigners without any prior experience in the caribbean. The hotel is like a cheap cruise ship experience: the food is lousy, the beach is overcrowded, the staff is rude and unprofessional, the drinks are watered down and the management's only real interest in their guests is getting them to sign a time share agreement worth >$100K over 30 years (!) after seeing the property for all of 2 hours. If you have ever truly enjoyed the magic of Jamaica or any other island, you will hate this place. We have stayed in Aruba, St. Thomas, St. Croix, Grand Cayman, St. John and three other visits to beautiful Jamaica. Our accomodations on every other trip were better than this one (at almost half the price), and all the fun we had on this vacation happened off of the resort. We came here after a 2011 stay in Couples Negril, and the inferior Bahia is at best a two star experience. If you're the type of person bold enough to rent a car, leave the hotel and truly have a vacation worth remembering, this review is for you, and you should read before making the same mistake we did. If you do not enjoy a huge resort, this is not the place for you. The beach is crowded and it is impossible to relax since you can hear the conversations of all the people close to you. The hotel itself was very noisy. Every morning the laughing and loud talking of the maids will wake you up between 8-9 AM (they will pipe down if you ask them to, at least long enough for you to doze off again). There is noisy vaccuming of the hallways in the afternoon. We had a corner suite next to the TV repair room; you could hear the repair man laughing, talking and yelling while he watched sports on the clock. This was the norm for the staff, who are happy to watch guests walk up and down 4+ flights of stairs because the guest elevator is broken, while they ride the "staff only" one. If asked, they will simply lie to you and tell you that their elevator goes to a different section of the hotel. Hop on when they're not looking, and you'll find out that it takes you literally five feet from from the guest one. This is a common theme at Bahia. Expect to be treated like an imbecile by staff throughout your stay. They will make you feel like the $3500 you spent to stay there was nothing more than a discount pass for limitied feature access, and every experience you'll have feels (and is) cheap. You have to pay for everything that should be free, like internet in the room and a safe. Order mixed drinks virgin with a separate shot of liqour and mix yourself, and the beer on tap is warm Caribe, not Red Stripe. There is no authentic Jamaican cuisine in the buffet; no ackee, no breadfruit and no plaintains the whole week. Nothing is spicy or flavorful, and everything is bland. One of the funnier conversations I had was with a server at the on-site restaurant who told us that there was a shortage of bananas in Jamaica, which is why they could not prepare banana flambe even though it was on the menu. We had it twice later on that week in restaurants 10 minutes up the road. Like I said, the staff just assumes that you're stupid and will lie straight to your face. FYI - you'll get food poising at least once during your stay from the buffet (both of us did on separate occasions). By day 4, we gave up and just took to eating food from one of the local roadside stops around the corner. Montego Bay and Ocho Rios are less than an hour drive in a straight line on a paved highway in either direction from the hotel. Go! And yes, the promotion they have about previlege club is a huge scam. Unless you want to pay the equivalent of a house mortgage, steer clear. The "privelege" areas are actually identical in every way to the "normal" guest conditions: same food, same beach, etc. In the event you are interested in a time share, the best advice is to just say no to every offer that they make you. Eventually you'll meet the real manager of the program, who will offer you the same package for 10X less than everyone else just because you were difiicult and stood up to their underlings. The room itself was the only decent thing in our stay. We had a junior suite with beach view. The room was spacious and the bed was made every day by the maids. The TV was a 16" non-flatscreen piece of junk and the bathroom had a persitent egg water smell, but the view was spectacular and the AC worked well. On day three, we had flower petals on our bed with a very nice towel design. The flowers on property were also beautiful. This is a lousy hotel; it can only be enjoyed by people who have never visited the Carribean on anything better than a discount cruise line. It is a bad value, and you should not stay here.


123 of 147 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 28, 2013
Sadly Disappointed

When we first booked our stay at Grand Bahia, we were so excited to see all of the beautiful pictures on the website, but don't let the pictures fool you. The pool and beach were perfect for a relaxing getaway, but that was the extent of the pleasantness in this hotel. It sadness me to write a poor review, but the experience certainly warrants it. The food was atrocious, the hotel lost power randomly throughout our stay, and the customer service...nonexistent. Despite a select few who were pleasant, the majority of the staff looked unhappy to be there and the manager was downright rude. One day after the beach, we came back to our room to find ants all over the countertop. Upon closer inspection, we began to find small black bugs in our bed and cockroaches in the closet. Words cannot describe how disgusted we were and the thought of bed bugs terrified us. I marched down to the lobby and informed the girl at the desk of the situation. She apologized and said the manager would be out in 10 minutes to speak with us. After sitting in the lobby for an hour and a half, the girl at the desk came back to tell me what the manager had to say. At this point I had lost all patience! I spent all morning in the lobby waiting for the manager to speak with me and she didn't even have the common curiosity to address the manner herself? Unacceptable! I demanded that the manager come out of her office to speak with me after making me wait for an absurd amount of time. When the manager came out, she was clearly annoyed and proceeded to tell me how the hotel was fully booked and couldn't do anything for us except clean our room or move us to a smaller room. Clearly both options were unacceptable and I made it very clear that if we weren't given a better room immediately that there would be a serious problem. After all was said and done, we were given a proper room hours later. It was unfortunate that we had to spend a day out of our vacation trying to rectify a situation that shouldn't have happened, but we tried to make the best of a terrible situation. After meeting more people at the hotel, we quickly realized we weren't the only ones who had switched rooms that weekend due to an unpleasant situation. I hate to harp on the negative, but we were utterly disappointed by this hotel so travelers beware!


76 of 89 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 25, 2015
This is NOT a three star resort.......save your $$

This is my second time here at Bahia Principe Montego Bay.... The first time it wasnt 100% excellent however we found the staff very nice.... This time the whole experience has been one disappointment after another......our room was 4 hour delayed checking in,because there was no clean sheets..... Once we got in the room....there were tiny bugs all over the bathroom.... The AC leaked through the ceiling and ruined my shoes and some clothing... Pool.....no towels....they couldn't tell you when they were coming.... I could go on and on....however we decided to leave the ALL INCLUSIVE resort EVERYDAY just to get a decent meal and service. PS: please do not respond they you are sorry or disappointed that our stay was not great. We notified the managers and supervisors EVERYDAY....even the staff at the resort said they were tired of the guest not being helped...one staffer told us that guest had been at the resort for 1 week and had not received clean sheets or towels.....Shame on you Bahia Principe.....you know it's bad when your own employees complain!!!!


19 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Washington DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 12, 2012
Gran Bahia was WONDERFUL!!

I'm not sure where to start...My family reserved 2 rooms for the 3 of us simply because we wanted the extra room and a little privacy in the evening. From the minute we stepped off the bus in front of the hotel, until we stepped back on the bus to leave...everyone at the resort was helpful, kind, and always looking for ways to accommodate us in any way they could. It is BEAUTIFUL. We only had 2 negatives occur, which in my opinion weren't huge, and didn't reflect on our experience. One was that we went 2 days without washcloths, called room service and they still weren't delivered. The second was the reservation confirmation printed out that we were to have 3 ala carte dinners for our time. When we arrived at the hotel, they had booked 4, all but one of them was booked for dates after our departure date...when I went to have them rebooked, I was told there was a mistake and we could only have 2 dinners and that the confirmation was wrong..oh well...we just adoped the "no problem" theory and it made the trip go smooth. If you are able to pick your dinners make sure you go to Don Pablos, and request Richard...hes' top notch. In the buffet area see Gregory for your morning omlets...yummy, and have them seat you with Marcia (pronounceed Mar cee ah) you won't have to ask for another juice, coffee, or soda again.. Before leaving we were warned about off site trips, but once there the hotel staff assured us of our safety as long as we stayed with the tour officials, and didn't book tours through locals that some times made their way onto the property via the Carribbean. Make sure that you plan to participate at least one day in one or more of the activities at the pool...it helps you get to know your fellow vacationers...and if you can stay awake take in a show or two @ 9:45..it will help inhance your trip. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, and we had zero noise problems. Be prepared to tip for good service,(even the guy making your omlet...) and you will find it only gets better!! To the Jamaicans it's all about respect, and paying them is respecting them for a job well done. The last piece of advice I can give you is to take mosquito repellant...they are BAD!!!! Also, if you have curly or dry hair...it's humid ladies...buy a bottle of Brazilian Keratin oil to spray on after drying...The natives use oil to keep their hair under control, and you'll be happy you did.


17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 12, 2015
Profound disappointment

When we arrived at the resort we immediately drove into new construction being built before our eyes. This fortunately was only seen upon the drive in although could be witnessed by rooms and at the pools. Our arrival can best be described as poor. No one at the front desk appeared in the least bit happy or welcoming. They all barely spoke and just went through the motions of a less than personal check in. When we got to our rooms my room immediately was identified as a problem, nice view outside not so good inside. It appeared that the housekeeping staff had left it mid clean up. There were half drunk bottles on the counters, the ironing board and a bath robe were strewn around, floor was dirty, old sogggy soap in the soap dish, unflushed toilet, dirty mirrors, not restocked mini bar and no towels. This began my vacation that I had been looking forward to for months. It took me over 2 hours to get it cleaned, I was shown another room 2 miles from my sons room and with no elevator to the 6th floor (no thanks). The front desk actually stopped picking up the phone to my room because they were fed up with speaking to me. I am not a complainer but this experience was so saddening to me I felt I had to complain. The communication between the front desk and housekeeping was appalling and when I asked for a manager I spoke to someone who clearly had no customer service skills and no desire to make my experience a happier one. The TV did not work and the safe required a high IQ to master and cost me. There was no hot water both in my room and my sons. The towels and drinks in our fridges did not get replenished daily, I had one cup of coffee because they never replaced it and numerous calls had to be made to ask for these basic items. The dining options were poor, mostly buffet and booking a reservation you wanted was near impossible; again no customer service with this activity. The beach was disapponting but the pools and landscape were well maintained and the majority of staff looked tired, bored and very disinterested in pleasing. I am not one to complain but as I explained to the front desk on day 1 you at least want to feel welcomed and wanted. I believe this resort has potential as esthetically the grounds/pools were delightful too bad the staff couldn't identify more with the customer. There was absolutely no attempt to change my first opinion although I remained open minded! Sorry to be such a nay sayer!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year