All

Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 483 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.8
3.8 out of 5
"Great trip overall. Restaurant food was alright but resort was beautiful. We upgraded to the Don Pablo collection for an additional $30 per day, well worth the upgrade as the treatment was excellent," – Rocky10302
402 out of 565 (71%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
fun Pool and beach from room Beach sunset Beach Area Gran Bahia Runaway Beautiful beach and water. sunset Nice beach 7th Floor Room View sunrise balcony view Beach!!! Life at the Pool 50 shades of blue room service Roach found in room Pool view from balcony one of the views Gran Bahia 2012 Beautiful resort pool bar pool The wife View from Balcony from the 5th floor View of resort from room A blast from the 5th floor View from room balcony GBP Jamaica pool. from our balcony The resort Hotel Seen from Secret Beach

All Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Customer Reviews

1-10 of 483 reviews. Sort by
April 27, 2014
Absolutely loved it!

**I know this is going to be long, but I encourage you to read it! I read so many reviews and still didn't know what to expect! I will really try to help out as much as I can for everyone going here for the first time. I don't even know where to begin!! I spent hours reading reviews online, looking up pros and cons, and figuring out exactly how my trip would go before I actually went. If you think about it, how many people get on and post POSITIVE reviews about a trip? Most people only post their negative opinions, so please take the time to read this review. I am only 21 years old, so I was a bit skeptical that I would get cheated out of some money or treated rudely since I am so young and traveling with one friend. Boy was I wrong!! Everything was so smooth- from the flight, to the airport, to the resort. I honestly do not have a single complaint. I do wish more people wrote reviews so I knew exactly what to do before I got there, but it still went smoothly. First, the flight. Simple, perfect. The airport in Jamaica was simple- go through customs and immigration, then you can exchange money if you wish, then grab your bags. It is not necessary to switch to Jamaican money! Just be sure to bring a bunch of American $1 bills for tipping. When you get through all the customs and stuff, someone was there to greet us right away and ask who we booked through and where we were headed. We then got wristbands so they knew where we were going, and we were taken on a bus to our resort. The driver was very accommodating and entertaining- we even stopped for a "beer break" on the way. I think we stopped at 2 other resorts to drop off a couple people before arriving at Grand Bahia. The second we arrived at the Grand Bahia, we were greeted, our bags were taken, and we checked in. Most simple process ever! The Jamaican worker who took our bags almost refused to let me carry anything because I was on vacation and should be relaxing. We were escorted up to our room with our bags. The rooms were cleaned daily, and the fridge was restocked every single day. Fun fact- I left my shoes scattered around the room and they even matched up my shoes and lined them up neatly by the couch. They just did little things that let us know they cared. We also gave housekeeping a tip on the very last day we left the room. I felt like the deserved it because they were always working and cleaning rooms, and had a very positive attitude towards guests. As far as the resort goes-- YES it is very big. I read negative reviews about how big it was, and I just don't understand those reviews at all. The beach was large and private, the resort was all gated so no outsiders aloud, there were so many rooms and new people to meet and interact with. I think the size was perfect. The beach was pretty long, a lot of chairs and umbrellas- no problem finding a place to relax. I read a review that said the beach was too rocky but I didn't see that as a problem at all. Maybe if you decided to walk through the area that was marked off for having large rocks it would be rocky, but nowhere other than that! Each person gets an hour of kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving lessons, and so many other activities per day. There are excursions you can go on for an extra cost, but not necessary. You will never get bored just staying at the resort. The food... Oh my goodness, so good!! The main buffet is very large and such a variety of food! I'm not exaggerating at all when I say there is over 100 dishes to choose from per meal. There are also 5 other restaurants that you can get reservations for, and I highly recommend that also. They are all very very good. The people.. I felt like a celebrity at Grand Bahia! Every single person was extremely nice, accommodating, friendly, and wanting to help with absolutely anything you could need. I did not meet one staff member who was rude or uninviting. They were always asking if we were doing okay or needed anything or were satisfied. So pleasant and they made me really want to go back to Jamaica ASAP! Drinks- included in price, not a single complaint. There are little beach huts scattered throughout the beach that serve drinks, as well as a few swim up bars. The workers were glad to make anything we could think of, and the drinks were very unique and unlike anything I've ever had. They never once "expected" us to tip them or acted differently if they saw we had money in our hands. They were very grateful to receive a tip, but they did not base their service off of the fact of whether or not we would tip them. A little piece of advice: bring your own travel mug or something to put drinks in. The cups they serve are maybe 8oz cups, and rather than make several trips back to the bars, they are more than happy to fill up your own cup or mug. Myself and a lot of other people gave the bartenders $1 every trip to the bar or every other trip. Their service and attitude deserved every tip they got. I also read some reviews where people said people bombarded them with trying to sell time shares, cruises, etc. I never once saw someone trying to sell something. There was even a sign posted near the beach that says solicitation is not allowed. I never encountered someone trying to sell something. Remember to bring your own sunscreen! As any hotel is, the sunscreen is a bit expensive to buy at a gift shop or lobby shop. There was also entertainment every night, which was awesome. It was never too loud from the rooms, so if you didn't want to listen to the entertainment you could easily go to your room and go to sleep. Overall, this trip was absolutely perfect and I have no complaints whatsoever!! Definitely will be going back for another trip. The staff and everyone at Grand Bahia made me feel so comfortable and welcome. Best vacation I have ever been on. You will not regret vacationing here, and I hope you have as great of a time as I did. I miss the resort and the people so much already!! *Tip; I did book through Cheap Caribbean, but I called them and booked over the phone AS I was looking at the order on the computer. This way I could ask questions as I go or needed clarification on anything. Maybe I was a bit too cautious, but I am young and didn't want anything to go wrong!


380 of 387 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 10 Contributor
From: Iowa
Age: 19-24

March 25, 2012
A little summer in the winter

My husband and I needed a getaway so Jamaica here we go. This resort was nice but the service could have been better but not enough to ruin you vacation. ( They are learning give them time). The food is great and the people are nice and friendly. The beaches and pools are beautiful. Just a tip bring a travel mug from home to save you from running back and forth to the bar. Tip the bartender so you wont need so many drinks. (2 dollars go a long way). But if you go off the resort the people selling are so pushy it might get on your nerves cause they wont and dont give up easy. Also do not forget BUG SPRAY. Overall we had a great time. If you want to go to the restaurant make your reservation upon arrival . Enjoy.


105 of 108 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Jamaica, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 7, 2012
Just to big!

The resort was in good shape for a 5 year old facility. We had water dripping down on our bathroom from the one above us. Called the front desk 3 different days but we feel they never really addressed the problem. Asked for various items like ironing board their suggestion was to make use of their house keeping people and pay to have cloths ironed. We would be placed on a waiting list for the ironing board if we didn't use them. Sent our clothes out to be cleaned for next day service saw them the day before we left *( or three days later ). Paid extra for most things that other resorts included like the safe in room. WiFi was only free in lobby if you wanted it anywhere else it was $15.00 a day.The food was of course mass produced and set out. Always cold by the time you got it. The food at the restaurants was just Ok with the portions very small and the Italian food down right bad. The man made beach was a little rocky on the beach itself. The service was Ok at best. Asked for various things but if it didn't get money for the resort it was never addressed. The drinks were good but you had to get them yourself waiting in line. Again the resort being the second largest in Jamaica was just to big. If you just want to be a paying number this is the place for you.


50 of 53 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Ogdensburg, N.Y.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 28, 2013
Sadly Disappointed

When we first booked our stay at Grand Bahia, we were so excited to see all of the beautiful pictures on the website, but don't let the pictures fool you. The pool and beach were perfect for a relaxing getaway, but that was the extent of the pleasantness in this hotel. It sadness me to write a poor review, but the experience certainly warrants it. The food was atrocious, the hotel lost power randomly throughout our stay, and the customer service...nonexistent. Despite a select few who were pleasant, the majority of the staff looked unhappy to be there and the manager was downright rude. One day after the beach, we came back to our room to find ants all over the countertop. Upon closer inspection, we began to find small black bugs in our bed and cockroaches in the closet. Words cannot describe how disgusted we were and the thought of bed bugs terrified us. I marched down to the lobby and informed the girl at the desk of the situation. She apologized and said the manager would be out in 10 minutes to speak with us. After sitting in the lobby for an hour and a half, the girl at the desk came back to tell me what the manager had to say. At this point I had lost all patience! I spent all morning in the lobby waiting for the manager to speak with me and she didn't even have the common curiosity to address the manner herself? Unacceptable! I demanded that the manager come out of her office to speak with me after making me wait for an absurd amount of time. When the manager came out, she was clearly annoyed and proceeded to tell me how the hotel was fully booked and couldn't do anything for us except clean our room or move us to a smaller room. Clearly both options were unacceptable and I made it very clear that if we weren't given a better room immediately that there would be a serious problem. After all was said and done, we were given a proper room hours later. It was unfortunate that we had to spend a day out of our vacation trying to rectify a situation that shouldn't have happened, but we tried to make the best of a terrible situation. After meeting more people at the hotel, we quickly realized we weren't the only ones who had switched rooms that weekend due to an unpleasant situation. I hate to harp on the negative, but we were utterly disappointed by this hotel so travelers beware!


75 of 83 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 12, 2012
Gran Bahia was WONDERFUL!!

I'm not sure where to start...My family reserved 2 rooms for the 3 of us simply because we wanted the extra room and a little privacy in the evening. From the minute we stepped off the bus in front of the hotel, until we stepped back on the bus to leave...everyone at the resort was helpful, kind, and always looking for ways to accommodate us in any way they could. It is BEAUTIFUL. We only had 2 negatives occur, which in my opinion weren't huge, and didn't reflect on our experience. One was that we went 2 days without washcloths, called room service and they still weren't delivered. The second was the reservation confirmation printed out that we were to have 3 ala carte dinners for our time. When we arrived at the hotel, they had booked 4, all but one of them was booked for dates after our departure date...when I went to have them rebooked, I was told there was a mistake and we could only have 2 dinners and that the confirmation was wrong..oh well...we just adoped the "no problem" theory and it made the trip go smooth. If you are able to pick your dinners make sure you go to Don Pablos, and request Richard...hes' top notch. In the buffet area see Gregory for your morning omlets...yummy, and have them seat you with Marcia (pronounceed Mar cee ah) you won't have to ask for another juice, coffee, or soda again.. Before leaving we were warned about off site trips, but once there the hotel staff assured us of our safety as long as we stayed with the tour officials, and didn't book tours through locals that some times made their way onto the property via the Carribbean. Make sure that you plan to participate at least one day in one or more of the activities at the pool...it helps you get to know your fellow vacationers...and if you can stay awake take in a show or two @ 9:45..it will help inhance your trip. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, and we had zero noise problems. Be prepared to tip for good service,(even the guy making your omlet...) and you will find it only gets better!! To the Jamaicans it's all about respect, and paying them is respecting them for a job well done. The last piece of advice I can give you is to take mosquito repellant...they are BAD!!!! Also, if you have curly or dry hair...it's humid ladies...buy a bottle of Brazilian Keratin oil to spray on after drying...The natives use oil to keep their hair under control, and you'll be happy you did.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 18, 2013
Fifth Time in Jamaica

The Grand Bahia Runaway Bay was a beautiful resort. It was also a HUGE resort, the largest I had been to, and I've been to seven resorts in total. Expect lots of walking- which you need this exercise to burn off the many calories you will ingest between the top notch dining and the refreshing beverages. However I found many bartenders to be standoffish- not what you would expect from a bartender. This I think is due to the obvious display of tipping by the tourists. I think this is tacky on an all-inclusive resort and it made others think they would only get the top-notch service if they tipped WELL. I did not care for this, but was forced to follow suit as I wanted a special, memorable stay for all the positive reasons, not the negative reasons. I would have preferred to hear more Reggae music- was disappointed by the lack of Bob Marley and roots/ska/reggae music. Dance music just doesn't have the same mellow vibe, ya know Mon? Snorkelling was great! Lots of fun & hours spent snorkelling in the lovely waters. Only a couple hours of rain. All in all, this was a top-notch vacation. I wish I could've stayed longer!

50 shades of blue
14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Ontario, Canada
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 23, 2013
What an incredible vacation spot

We took a trip as a getaway and neither of us had ever been to Jamaica. Gran Bahia was incredible from the moment we arrived. The room was amazing with a huge balcony overlooking the ocean so we could sleep with the door open and hear the surf. We learned quickly to either bring or buy a travel mug for your drinks or you would be packing around small plastic cups all the time. The staff was incredibly friendly and you could tell easily that "Yeah Mon" and "No Problem" is more than just a saying, it's a way of life. Food was always available and the jerk chicken is ridiculously good at the lunch snack bar down by the dive shop. The stores were fun and prices were decent and negotiable. The only thing I marked down was for food. We did two a la carte meals. The first was at the Garden Grill. If you go, stock up on the appetizer buffet as the meals themselves were pretty small and the Chicken Cordon Bleu was overcooked and tough. The Japanese restaurant however was incredible with full service including the cooking show right in front of you with amazing chicken, steak, shrimp and fish. We also did two adventures out of the dive shop with Dolphin Cove and Deep Sea Fishing. Both were relatively affordable and well worth the adventure. Will we be back? Yeah Mon!!!


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 12, 2013
Beautiful Resort

My husband and I travelled to Grand Bahia Principe April 5-9. Had a fabulous time. The resort is gorgeous, plenty of restaurants to pick from and food was delicious. I really enjoyed the beach and the snack bar located on the beach. Evening entertainment was very good. My husband end up winning Michael Jackson dance competition which was a lot of fun. We have nothing but great things to say about Jamaica and the resort. We would like to give special thank you to Carroll Austin. What an amazing women and wonderful customer service. We will be definitely coming back. Already missing Jamaica.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, USA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 20, 2013
Resort is poorly managed

When booking this vacation we were led to believe there were numerous places to dine, a beautiful private beach, finely appointed rooms and activities for the entire family. An all inclusive package. This was certainly not the case. Although there are numerous restaurants, you are only permitted to eat at the buffet unless it is one of your 4 out of 7 specialty dinners. Depending on your package- room service may or may not be included. There is a snack bar that you may also eat at while the buffet is closed but it is dirty and full of bees. The resort itself is very large and looks beautiful from a distance. Up close-the pool was not well cared for, pool towels were often not available for hours at a time. There is no air conditioning in the resort except for the guest rooms and restaurants. Hallsways are hot and muggy. Guest room was uncomfortable. 3 of us in one room and only one flat pillow apiece...only two blankets..bed was hard-so hard that my 15yr old daughter woke up with a backache. Our shower was moldy and leaked. The soap holder was detached and laying on the floor for the entire visit. I was also without a clock which I requested on more than one occasion and never received. We had no hot water for 6 hours in the entire resort. We lost electrical power on more than 3 occasions. On one of these occasions, my son and his girlfriend were stuck on the elevator. They were banging and pressing the emergency buttons and were ignored. Not to mention there was only one elevator for all the guests in our wing of the resort. There were no organized activities for the children. Kayaking was available but we were never able to do it because the water conditions were too choppy. The staff was rude and extremely slow. Our tables at the buffet were without silverware and glasses. At the Italian restaraunt we were served cold chicken. I could go on and on...I have been to Jamaica on 3 other occasions and never experienced anything like this. I will not go back nor would I recommend this resort or any other Gran Bahia resort to anyone I know.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 9, 2017
new years

This was the worst ever, on new years night party it rain and they didn't have a tarp up, my bigger complain is they try to sell you and VIP membership which cost about 25 grand, they have one side of the resort for these people they had their new year inside didn't suffer the rain also on the weekend had a night club which we couldn't go in only member 3 quarter of the resort was members only. I have been in punta cana, cacun and I have never see something like that, I mean you pay all this money to enjoy the resort but you actually don't, I don't think is fair to the middle class people we save up for a vacation to enjoy the whole resort no just a quarter of it ..was actually stop by a security guard at night and told me can't walk that way it's member only.. so if you are not going to purchase a 25 grand membership with them it is not for you...they even charge for your room safe WTF, you don't get WIFI only if you are on the lobby for member it's free but for you it's 19.99 for 24hours if you want WIFI in your room..If you want to be single out and had a bad vacation this is where you go ..I don't recommend you go there.. just terrible..


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: MARYLAND USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year