All

Grand Bahia Principe Coba Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 265 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.2 out of 5
"A/C leak in room the whole time we where there. Had maintenance come in three times to fix it" – YOBA035
253 out of 312 (81%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Coba pool Walk ways between buildings Breakfast! Beach at Tulum Beach Best time Poolside bar A little piece of heaven Coba Lobby Coba beach Pool Ample room Tulum Beach The restaurant Mikado. hibachi in Mexico! The best background. Fabulous beach Awesome beach pool near the beach Beautiful beach Outside COBA lobby and main buffet. Adult swimming pool The pool at Coba

All Grand Bahia Principe Coba Customer Reviews

1-10 of 265 reviews. Sort by
June 26, 2011
Great Hotel but some issues

We stayed at the Coba for a week from June 11th through June 18th with a group of 17 people. We do a family reunion vacation once a year with from 15 to 30 people. Ages in the group range from 2-78. We have stayed at the Coba before and returned because of our good experience there. First the good. Felix in Guest Services did a phenomenal job helping us arrange reservations (not an easy task for 17 people) in the a la carte restaurants, getting us all close together, and upgrading us to the Premier or golden status and rooms. When Aeromexico lost one of my daughters bags, Felix helped us call the airline and gave my daughter some hotel t shirts. The rooms were excellent, the beds were super, (they had mattress toppers already on them), and the minibar was filled daily. The rooms were kept clean with a different towel animal everyday. The tv is small and not a flat screen but we do not watch much tv on vacation and it is not important to us. The bathroom is large and was well stocked with travel sized toiletries, robes and slippers, and our beach towels were waiting for us in the room. The shower does not close and it is easy to get water on the floor but again, that did not inconvenience us much. We were greeted in most of our rooms with a fruit basket and a bottle of Spanish sparkling wine. The pools are varied and beautiful with plenty of activities or non activity as you choose. The beach is also beautiful although the sand is not very fine and there are lots of rocks in certain areas. There is also a reef with decent snorkeling but more on that later. The beach is long and makes for a good walk or jog. The swing bar on the beach is fun but most of the time the bartender there was overwhelmed, making drinks as fast as he could although the wait was never more than five minutes. There are also hammocks on the beach (and by some of the pools) and plenty of palapas. We were always able to find a shady palapa at all hours. Sometimes you just had to walk a little. The buffet at Coba was very good for a buffet and we enjoyed it greatly. The premier buffet opened for breakfast the day we left and it is smaller and more intimate. I do not know why it was closed all week. We also ate at the Akumal buffet once and it was very crowded with a wait to sit down and the food was not as good. We received excellent drink service in the buffet from the same waiters all week (Geronimo and Mauricio) as we always sat in the same long tables for our large group. They recognized us, were very attentive and played games with us, making funny hats out of napkins and having us drink shots. We ate in the Mikado, which is the Japanese, the Gran Tortuga which is the Brazilian, and Le Gourmet. They were all excellent with attentive service, excellent presentation and delicious food. The show table at the Mikado is what you see in a Benihanas but it was still good although very warm in there. The other restaurants were very comfortable. The bars were good with decent table service in most areas. Drinks were as strong as you wanted them but the drink menu presented in the bars is not very long. They would make what you asked for but they did not have a lot of suggestions or a daily exotic drink that I have seen elsewhere. The disco was full the nights we went, thinning out sometime around 1:30 am. We did not go to any shows having seen too many of those before. The lobby bands were ok. Ok, now to the problems. The mosquitos were horrible at night. They insisted that they were fogging everyday but I never saw them and I got a different story from different managers as to when they fogged. With the mosquito problems they need more indoor air conditioned areas to serve as a sanctuary. But of the few that existed, I know that some were closed all week. My biggest problem with the resort has to do with their ecological foundation. In their zeal to protect the reef, they whistle and tell you not to snorkel around the reef although there are no signs that say that area is off limits. The signs say no swimming in the boat channel and that the reef is protected and not to stand on it or touch it. I complained to management and they told me at first that it was against the law to swim there, which they later admitted was a lie. And to be so ecologically conscious, it is hypocritical to open a dolphinarium with several dolphins in a small concrete pool where they forced to live for the pleasure of tourists. I will not return to a resort where I can not snorkel as that is important to me, even though the rest of the resort is wonderful. I will say that if you snorkel early before 7:30 am, there is no one there yet to whistle, tell you to get out and then chastise you when you get on the beach.


77 of 82 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 15, 2013
Pretty good. I'll share a couple of tricks.

GOOD THINGS. People here were very friendly. We LOVED THE COBA! If you want both action and convenience, choose COBA. This is the best property of the three – COBA, TULUM, and AKUMAL. COBA has the best buffet – Kukulkan; The best restaurants, right next to each other, the Coliseum with evening shows, Water Park, Plenty of pools, Dancing floor, Two live music bars, Kids club. Everything within a walking distance. The food was excellent, dining areas very clean. If you are a drinker, you should not be disappointed as the drinks were unlimited and the selection was enormous. My wife was fine with it, but I always asked them to put more alcohol in mine (I’m not a heavy drinker at all), as they don’t put much of it otherwise. The grounds are pristine and beautiful with plenty of lights at night. The waters at the beach are separated from the sea by a barrier, so even on the windy day when most of the see is rough you have nice and calm water to swim in. When that happens the waves bring over a lots of fish and makes it nice to snorkel inside of the barrier and the water is so clear so even without a mask you can watch a lots of beautiful species. You can snorkel outside of the barrier during calm weather and see even more pretty things. Villas are nicely situated. Neighbors, walkers or trolley never bothered us. Rooms are comfortable and clean. You have nice balcony, but no ocean view. Moving around is easy, most of the things are within a walking distance. Trolley can take you anywhere you want. We have had no problems moving around with our two kids and a stroller. The large distance from the airport brings this resort closer to many attractions and makes it cheaper and more convenient to get there. In addition, it keeps all kinds or local entrepreneurs away. We have never been bothered by anyone on the beach or anywhere else. Choose villas with single digit – 1, 2, 3 etc. They have the best location. Even though on the map it may seem to be far, don’t be fooled, it’s just 2 minutes walk from everything. In addition, you get closer to Premier Akumal, which is premier lobby with great bar, another buffet, more trolley stops, next to major restaurants and closer ride to the beach. Finally, bring high UV-rated sun block. The sun is very bright and active there. Clouds are a luxury. It’s easy to be burned and then you have to hide from the sun for the rest of your trip. If you like scuba diving or snorkeling make sure the sea is calm, when it’s rough the fish and turtles tend to hide so you won’t see nothing. You can get free tickets from Timeshare promoters for taking 90 min tour of the property. Not too bad. But squeeze them out; they got more to offer than they start with. BAD THINGS. Now the things that can be improved. The small inconvenience is DISTANCE TO A BEACH. However, they have trolley running all the time, never crowded, so you get to the beach very fast. Pools have many CHAIRS, but should have more. They are best available around lunchtime when people go for lunch and not coming back. If you want one in the morning, you better get there early. However, it’s not as bad as at some other resorts. There are actually signs that require remove towel if you’re not staying at the pool !!! Theoretically, you could go to the staff and complain, but it never got to that with us, even though we had party of eight. PROBLEM WITH DINNER RESERVATION. Make dinner reservation on the first day of arrival or even ahead of time from abroad especially if you have a big crowd. These are very tough to get later in the stay. But we learned one thing – later at night, around 9-10pm, when night shows start you could just walk into most of the restaurants and get a table even without reservation, especially if there are not many of you. Most of the staff knows very LITTLE ENGLISH. Trolley drivers, waiters, maids, service people are all Spanish speakers only. Some know a little bit. The only exception would be Front desk people and restaurant managers as well as people at the attractions. NOISE. If you like going to bed early – do not take villas close to Coliseum. They have loud music until 11pm and it gets to you, even when you attempt to watch TV inside of the room. We had small kids that go to bed at 9pm and had to ask to be moved. Even when I made a request at 10 am, we had to wait for the next day because that’s their rule. Kind of disappointed with such silly rule. They move the entire Luggage for you; just make sure you got nothing loose. SERVICE REQUESTS. Call if you need something several times as they tend to forget about you. ROOMS CLEANING AND PESTS. In addition to our room not being cleaned every day for some reason, we’ve had two huge cockroaches in our room, one of them woke me up at night by running over me. I killed them both and called the front desk right away. They promised to send someone over. After the trip, next day I put up a bet with my wife that they have not came in yet even though we were away for 7 hours. I won !! I called the front desk and yelled at them. A crew of four people showed up at our doorsteps in five minutes. Ever since we had no pest problems whatsoever, our room was clean and beds fixed every single day. The lesson learned - if you wake up late, take a nap in the afternoon and have “Do not disturb” hanging on your door too often, call front desk and tell them what is the usual time you’re out, so they clean up your room while you’re at breakfast. NO INTERNET. If you’re planning on keeping communicating like home, be prepared to cope with very, very slow free internet in the Lobby only or very expensive fast one. BRING EVERYTHING WITH YOU. The sun screens, toys, batteries, medication are outragesly priced. Example - $30 for sun block, which is $2.50 at Wal-Mart. DO NOT BUY SUN AND FUN DOLLARS. Better deals are available at various tour operators at the resort. Fun and Sun dollars can only be spent with Olympus tours, which has reps in one furthest lobby only and only one rep, so get in line. AIRCONDITIONING. A/C was running somewhat slow for my taste, as I like air to be drier. You get room cooled down, but the humidity is still pretty high. We always kept the ceiling fan running with a/c at the lowest setting PHONE CALLS. Make sure you have cheap roaming for your mobile phone or calling card. Otherwise get ready to pay big bill. I had to call our Shuttle company and had two numbers - one local and one toll-free. Neither of them were free. Each - $3/minute. Front desk person response to my question about toll-free number was: we're not part of that network. What ???? So, do not be fooled. Get all the arrangements ahead of time. For a week you are in the ancient wold.


24 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 18, 2013
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE COBA

LONG TRIP FROM AIRPORT,BUT WORTH THE WAIT. EMPLOYEES WERE WONDERFULL. CHOSE HOTEL DUE TO PREVIOUS REVIEWS, & HOTEL IS BETTER THAN ACTUAL RATINGS. REST. DINING OPTIONS FOR PREMIUM RESTAURANTS, (TORTUGA, MEDITERRANO, & EL PESCADOR ), WERE BETTER THAN IN ANY PREVIOUS ALL INCLUSIVE TRIP WE HAVE BEEN ON. GEN MGR WAS EASILY ACCESSABLE TO RESOLVE SEVERAL ISSUES. MOST ALWAYS HIDE BEHIND LAYERS OF STAFF.YOU CAN DINE AT ANY OF THE BUFFET REST. ON THE ENTIRE PROPERTY, WHICH IS VERY BIG. THERE ARE TRAMS TO TRANSPORT YOU FROM AREA TO AREA IF YOU WISH. BEACH TOWELS READILY AVAILABLE, FOR THE LARGE POOLS OR BEACH, WITH PLENTY OF CHAIRS ALSO. ENTERTAINMENT EVERY NIGHT, & THIS IS ALSO THE ONLY HOTEL ALL INCLUSIVE WE WENT TO THAT USES PREMIUM BRAND LIQUOR IN ALL THEIR BARS. SPENT 7 NIGHTS THERE WITH OUR GRANDAUGHTERS, ( 18 & 20), & THEY WERE VERY HAPPY WITH HOTEL. WELL WORTH A VISIT.


17 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: NYC
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 9, 2017
Not impressed

Have been to many resorts in riveria maya, was not impressed with this resort. Had to take a tram everywhere..couldn't even see the beach or water..was a loonngg ride from airport to resort..closer to 2 hours..had a surcharge for everything, lock on safe was 5 dollars a day, room service was a surcharge..ect..customer service was also disappointing..they would be in the middle of talking to us and another employee would come up and they would stop and just start talking with the other employee and ignore the customer..staff was talking on cell phones..it was unusual enough it caught my attention. Generally speaking at other resorts, they have been much more customer centric. Food was pretty good. drinks they used lots of low brands..great variation between each bar. Overall, just wasn't impressed.


16 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 31, 2017

How can you have a resort in Mexico that has no air condition .... the restaurants & buffets were un godly HOT!!!!! There was a few times I felt like I was going to pass out . There is no air condition anywhere but you're room. You should be able to come in after enjoying the sun all day & be able to eat without sweat dripping from every part of you're body .... I DO NOT recommend this resort my husband & I barely ate anything all week.... This is the first time I have gone on vacation & lost weight !!!!!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago il
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 10, 2015
Gran Bahia Coba

Last year, Coba/Akumal/Tulum were available to all guests. Now that they changed Akumal to a Luxury entity, service is not the greatest: - Front Desk/Reception doesn't tell state all options for beach like COBA beach or Tulum Beach - Front Desk/Reception doesn't mention new trolley system - Trolley Drivers do not mention their destinations and overall less frequent for COBA visitors. Last August when we went, the trip was excellent. But this year, service has fallen.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 4, 2011
First trip to Riviera Maya Dec 2010

Fabulous time, the all inclusive pkg is well worth it. The three resorts are clean and safe for families. The resort is a bit far from the airport but we didn't mind the drive because the resort is paradise and we're on vacation!! The staff is friendly. When we arrived, we had a 2 hr wait for our room which gave us time to tour the hotel lobby, shops, have a bite to eat and a couple of refreshing drinks. We were hungry after a very early start to the airport that morning. We stayed at the resort for 10 days and I can honestly say the food is good and offers a wide selection. We booked a la cart restaurants, excursions and liked our room. There is WiFi in the hotel lobbies only. It is a large 3 resort complex so be prepared for walking. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and we enjoyed spending every minute outdoors. There are trams that travel by all the hotel rooms every 10 mins and will take you to and from all 3 hotels, shopping areas, sports areas and to the beach if you don't want to walk. You have access to all 3 hotels, restaurants and beach/pool areas within the resort grounds. You don't have to leave the secured resort except for excursions. The weather is balmy with a constant warm breeze. Very relaxing. We enjoyed everything about this resort :) and plan to return. The worse part about our trip was the Cancun Airport. After arriving and clearing customs, once we walked through the final door towards the exit, we were bombarded by solicitors trying to sell us discounted excursions in order to get us to go to a competitor hotel chain (scam) for a 2.5 hr tour and sales pitch to pressure us into joining a new type of "time share". The solicitors are right in your face and try to grab your luggage to hold you from leaving the bldg. It is abrupt, rude and an invasion of personal space. I would like to see the cancun airport get rid of them, it's not welcoming or good for tourism. It's best to buy all excursion pkgs through your hotel because they support professional, insured excursions for your safety. Enjoy your vacation, cheers!!

First trip to Riviera Maya Dec 2010
15 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ontario, Canada
Age: 45-54

July 3, 2016
Fantastic!!!

Just returned from a week at Grand Bahia Príncipe Coba!! It was amazing. I highly recommend this resort! The grounds are gorgeous and well maintained. Every pool is beautiful and clean. It is wise to get to the pool early to get a lounge, especially if you want an umbrella. There is a water park for little kids, and they also have a camp for the kids...seemed good. You need to have cards to get towels at the pool, and it's a little annoying that they don't just have towels for you because you have your wristband and room key- you need separate towel cards- never saw that before. The rooms are squeaky clean and on the larger side; bathroom is also large and clean! Every staff member was happy, courteous, and helpful. We enjoyed speaking with all of them. We had requested rooms next to each other, and this was honored perfectly. Entertainment was pretty good...cute to see them put a Mexican spin on "Grease." In booking with Cheap Caribbean, we were with Apple vacationers on the charter flights. Confusion at check-in was because Cheap Caribbean people had to go to the Premier Lobby to check in, and we were dropped off at Coba Lobby, waited in line and then were told to go to Premier Lobby, even though we weren't staying in Premier. Same thing happened leaving- we checked out at Premier, where we had to check in, but the transportation to the airport was waiting for us at Coba. It worked out, but the Amstar transportation that you can purchase when you book your trip was not great. You might want to go on your own for transfers. I will do that next time.The resort is enormous! They give you a map of the resort that looks like Disney World! You can take little tram cars to get around. These are all over the place all the time- no issues with getting around. Drivers are all super nice and will take you anywhere. We also walked a ton around the resort; this was not a problem for us. We enjoy walking, though. At Coba, there are 2 sections- Coba and Premier. You can access both. You are also allowed to go to Tulum, which is a connecting resort, and that is where the beach is. You need a tram to get there. Coba is cheaper because it's not on the beach, but, for us, it was fine. We went to the beach often, quick tram ride. The beach is confusing because each beach area is labeled for Coba, Premier, Tulum, and then their luxury resorts- Akumal and Sian Khan. We had to ask which beach was for us. No problem getting a lounge with an umbrella. Beach is great- small sand area, but clear blue water; we snorkeled there and saw lots of fish. You can eat right there at the beach at a snack bar/buffet. You can use the pool and get drinks there at Tulum too. You can eat at Tulum or Coba for buffets and snack bars. Tulum was a little nicer for the buffet, but both were good-huge selections! We had 3 reservations for dinner- Mikado-Japanese, like Hibachi- very good, except their air was broken, Gran Tortuga-Brazilian steakhouse-AMAZING, best meal we had!! Then we had a reservation at Tequila-Mexican, but we didn't make that one. Bars were all fantastic- sometimes a wait for drinks. I will say that they could use more bartenders at the pool bars. They used top shelf liquor, and they weren't skimpy with it!!! There is also a shopping area and Mexican market in the resort, where they also have bars and a nightclub...drinks at the nightclub were included too. You need to take a tram to this place, called Hacienda. Activities at the main pool for most of the day, if you're into that, or you can go to another quieter pool...plenty to choose from, even a gigantic jacuzzi, separate and private with its own bar. You can get free wifi in the lobby for one hour a day- it has to be one consecutive hour. We would get a table and a few drinks to use the wifi each evening. The lobby bars close at 11. The pools close at 8, and pool bars close at 6, which is kind of a bummer. They do stock your mini fridge each day- we had plenty- beers, lots of bottled water, Coke, Sprite. They also use bottled water for all of their ice and water to drink in restaurants- safe!! Mosquitoes are definitely present! We used bug spray faithfully and still got several bites. TV is good- several English stations, but not a big choice- but you should be on the beach!!! We were sad to leave! We met lots of nice people; everyone was pleasant! We did 2 excursions- Xel-Ha and Tulum ruins; both were amaxing. We got a taxi right out front of the resort- reasonable and pleasant drivers. We feel like we got a good value with Cheap Caribbean, and this resort was outstanding because of the variety offered and so much to explore!! Thank you, Cheap Caribbean, for a great week! And we plan to return to this resort another time!


15 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 3, 2017
Resort has gone down hill over the years

This was our 4th stay at Bahia Grand Principe since 2009. This experience was the worst by far. We stayed for 5 nights and were eligible for 2 dinner reservations. Immediately after checking in, we went to make reservations and there was one available (out of all restaurants) before 9pm. Seeing as though we were traveling with two young children, eating dinner after 9pm was not an option. So, we lost out on one of our two dinners. I had two different people (one from Amstar and one from Cheap Carribean) tell me they would help us find other reservations and NO ONE helped or even called is back as they said they would. The service was TERRIBLE!!!!! We were treated more like a pain or a bother than a customer. Drinks were served half full and I even witnessed someone ask for more and they were told no. There seemed to be a shortage of staff everywhere - bars, front desk, restaurants, etc. The kids water play area was closed two out of the 5 days we were there. When asked, no one could tell us why. There was an AWFUL sewage smell every morning when the sprinklers were on. It was so bad even employees were covering their noses. When we stayed at this resort in 2016, we had a room with two twin beds and a king size bed. This year they put us in a room with two double beds. When we asked if we could switch they acted like we were crazy and they didn't have any rooms like that. We specifically stayed at Coba for this type of room. Again, no one appeared willing to help or like they really cared at all. This resort seemed to only care about their privledged customers and no one else. We won't make the mistake of staying here again. I refuse to pay privileged pricing to be treated like any paying customer should.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: US
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 5, 2012
Love it !....Beautiful Resort

We just came back from our vacation at the GB... The resort is beautiful, great service and the food is just delicious....lots of restaurants and buffets to choose from. Definitely we will return and use CheapCaribbean. Everyone is very professional.


14 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Corona, CA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year