All

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Reviews

Caribbean | Puerto Rico Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 639 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
4.0
3.9 out of 5
"The weather was beautiful. The service and staff second to none. We wanted a vacation of relaxation and that's what we got ." – Vacay2013
555 out of 738 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Red Level Pool area Relaxing at the beach behind our room A view of the grounds facing the beach Map of resort - we are in bldg 4 Bungalow where our room was Coco Beach, at the resort Villas on the property Laying on a hammock by the beach at Melia Delighful Dining Beach on carribbean sea Nice screensaver! Beautiful Pool Just a portion of the pool! Beautiful walk at Gran Melia Oceanview Top Floor Suite largest pool. plenty of privacy View from room Walkway in front of our bldg The beautiful pool Our walk to the pool The beach View from walkway Lobbyfor hanging around beach view at Gran Melia gorgeous beach Pool side beautiful island! wedding chapel hotel lobby Tempo lobster Line at checkout Red Level breakfast Macarena me, waiting for a tour bus Gorgeous main pool pool View from catamaran excursion Beautiful sunset from our patio. paradise view of resort from beach Great Pools A part of the resort's beach Resort Romance Paradise

All Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Customer Reviews

1-10 of 639 reviews. Sort by
December 19, 2011

My husband summed it all up very well. Please read it carefully. My wife and I arrived at the Gran Melia resort on the 9th of February,2011. We were eagerly looking forward to enjoying the beautiful environment.We presented our Cheap Caribbean papers and were told that we would only be allowed to use the two restaurants,Namia and Tempo for dinner. If we wanted to go to LE Pasion we would have to pay for the meal. We were also told that we could have breakfast at Le Soleil and lunch at the poolside restaurant. There was nothing else mentioned though we specifically asked if there was anything else. They emphasised that our drinks and food were prepayed in these areas. We had a drink in the verandah outside the restaurants and they said that we would have to pay because we did not have it in the restaurant. We ordered Scotch on the rocks and they said we would have to pay for it as this was not included in the drinks we were allowed to have. We ordered breakfast in the room and expected to be charged a room service fee. They charged us for the whole meal as they claimed we were not allowed to have meals in the room under our plan. All this was told to us as we were getting ready to leave the resort and were settling our bill. I pointed out to the front desk that this was highly unethical as they had not clearly told us of these restrictions and limitations when we arrived. I also said that though the amount in question was small, it was the principle. I informed them that I would not come back ever.I also informed that if they treat guests like us in this shoddy fashion they would would be doing a great disservice to the people who own and run this place. I told them they need to reconsider their guest relations program. What could have been a truly wonderful vacation was completely ruined by the petty behavior demonstrated by the front desk. We were definitely planning to come back next year but after this I do not think we will return. The name of the manager I spoke to was Evalina. - Show quoted text - -- n.c.sekharan M.D.


642 of 652 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boynton Beach,FL
Age: Over 65
Travel: 7+ trips/year

December 16, 2012
Gorgeous but I wouldn't go back.

When we first arrived, I was stunned at the beauty of the resort. Unfortunately the extremely slow and long check-in process made me crazy...someone needs to fix the way they check-in & out their guests. Oh and I don't understand how ANY hotel can charge so much to park your car. It's a racket! The rooms are really nice, very comfy beds, but they don't use a fitted sheet on the mattress (nor a mattress pad) so all night your legs are getting caught up in the sheets, and you feel the mattress itself...very annoying. The room was clean. though the refrigerator in the room had an odor that was pretty nasty. And you can't fit much in there, it's shallow. I think it's meant to be a mini bar, but our room and the other people we travelled with had nothing in them. The pools were beautiful, and large, though I was looking forward to the infinity pool featured on the website. But I was told it was for the "red level" members only. Really? And on the weekends they give deals to the locals and it sort of feels like you're at a public pool. The beach front is narrow and very rocky. Again I was told the "bigger beach" was further down and for the "red level" guests... Now for the restaurants...can you say overpriced and awful? And that goes for room service too. Which ends at 11 pm! The best food was at the buffet breakfast. But ask for the deal, because we were told $23.95 pp at the front desk, and, when we got there we heard some people getting 2 for 1! So after a few bad meals, we ventured to the local places and ate like kings! The Pincho Factory and Il Verde BBQ are top notch!!! But these places are nothing to look at.... The location of the resort isn't that close to Old San Juan, so if you want to visit there, be prepared for a 45 min -1 hour ride each way. Though it's close to the rainforest and Luquillo, which has all the kiosks of fried food by the beach...yummy! The resort is really beautiful, and I can see the attraction, but between the bad & overpriced food, and the location, I personally wouldn't go back. Oh and the staff isn't very friendly, though Iluminata who works at the Martini Bar is the best!!!! She makes great drinks and goes out of her way to talk to you. And a shout out to CheapCaribbean.com. You guys rock!


148 of 155 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 9, 2012
Great Getaway

The Gran Melia Resort in Puerto Rico was very nice, especially if you go with your signifcant other. It was very quiet and peaceful. On the day we arrived, it started off a little rough. We requested a refrigerator because we needed to keep certain medication cold and the front desk told us they would send one to our room. Well when we got to our room they had brought us a cooler. They apparently did not have refrigerators, which they should have told us that from the get go. A cooler and refrigerator (two different things). The cooler they brought us was not working, so we called the front desk and they sent out another one. Since it was a "cooler" we had to wait more than an hour for it to actually cool. It worked for a while and then stopped working. We had to keep calling them to bring us a "working" cooler and eventually 2 days before leaving we had a complete working cooler. Also, the room was very nice and spacious, but it seems the floor was not clean when we arrived. There's no carpet and it seemed that the floor was never mopped. Our socks and feet were soo dirty. That was quite annoying. The first 4 hours in our room made us believe we had made a bad choice in hotel, but eventually everything got better. I would definately recommend this hotel to friends, but just let them know our experience to prepare them. I would NOT recommend room service though. They charged us $5 for a small bottle of water. Room service prices were outrageous and the food we ordered (pizza) was not good at all such a waste of money. The best thing to do is rent a car at the hotel from Avis (which runs about $99 per day) and stop at a store to buy water, snacks, etc. You definately will be spending alot of money at the hotel if you do not rent a car. Other than that, our trip was great! If we do travel again to Puerto Rico again we would probably like to stay closer to San Juan, since we were about 25 miles away from all the action. Make sure you take lots of OFF bug spray for the wonderful mosquitos and if you do not know any spanish make sure you take a spanish class before because alot of the hotel staff ONLY spoke spanish.


79 of 82 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 4, 2012
Nice with some issues

The hotel was very nice, but the housekeeping was not very good. They arrive with little cleaning supplies if any, and did not arrive most days until after 5 P.M. We called for a loose shower head that was not repaired for 6 days. We had a terrible dining experience at the P.R. resturant in the hotel. My wife's steak was spoiled, the meat had a bad odor, and I had chicken breast that was not cooked correctly, in fact red in the middle. We asked to have the chef check the steak, the waitress stated he said it was ok and that my wife ate half of it. We tipped the waitress well and never had dinner at the hotel again. Though breakfast was very good!!!


24 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 17, 2017
Do not waste your money here

Restaurants were very expensive. Each time we dined in for two people nothing less than $100.00 for a basic course meal. Only taxis are allowed in the resort. Uber is not allowed. you can not bring outside food. The beach was disgusting. Water was extremely warm. It had garbage and there were no waves. Stilled water. terrible beach. The wet pool grill had terrible food. There is no authentic food here. Also, There is nothing to do around in this location. Only thing you could do is go to the rain forest El Yunque. The activities were ridiculous expensive. For El Yunque rainforest tour, it was $160.00 per person. We rented a car for two days and went to the rain forest ourselves. it was only $4.00 for a map to all the location. Talk about RIPOFF!! horseback riding for an hour was $200.00. Only thing positive about this resort was that it LOOKED nice. Service/Food not worth the money. This gave me such a bad outlook of Cheap Caribbean.


19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 19, 2011
Will not stay here again

Let's start with... Rooms: they smelled of mildew. Use the speaker when using the phone to call for room service because they have never been cleaned and smell rotten. I had to switch all of the pillows out because they all smelled like mildew. There are no state of the art electronics in the room, just an old 26"tube tv and stinky phones. The cable was out on the tv and it took maintenance almost 12 hours to come fix it. The beds were springy and slanted. One bed had a thin downlike comforter the other had a cheap polyester one. Food option: We only ate at two of the restaurants. Passion, the Puerto Rican style restaurant, was ok. Definitely not 4 stars. The restaurant decor was cheap, the service was clumsy and slow and the menu looked like a five year old put it together and printed it from a home color printer. Nami, the asian style restaurant was what I had expected for Asian food in Puerto Rico, generic and bland. Service: There were definitely more employees walking around the resort then guests. Not because there were a lot of employees, but because there were no guests. The resort was dead. There were a total of 6 guests laying out and swimming at the pool on our first day. Even on the busiest days there was no more than 15 people at the pool. It did take a while for us to get new pillows and a really long time to get our cable partially fixed. Fees: I'm not sure if it's because this resort is hurting for money from lack of patrons, but careful of their hidden fee charges. You have to wear a wrist band around the resort. If you lose it, it's $50 to replace. You have to carry a towel card around with you. If you lose that, it's $30. If you plan on renting a car and parking it at the resort, it's $25 a day. All in all, when I checked out, I had over $100 in extra unexplainable charges added to my room. I didn't even lose anything. If I didn't have a plane to catch, I would have stayed and disputed it along with the guest who was checking out at the same time and having the same charge issues. The Beach: the beach along the resort sucks. There are no waves, they break along the sand bar that is a few hundred yards out. There's just still grassy water from the mostly sandless beach. There is only about 25 X 5 feet of sand area for you to layout and enjoy the sun. Which was fine for us, since the resort was dead. This was my first time in PR. Now that I've been there, I know better. If you plan on staying in San Juan, stay in town. It's not far from the beach at all. You will have to rent a car but you would have to anyway if you planned on doing anything outside of the resort or hotel. If you want to stay at a resort that's secluded from everything else, do lots of research. I should have done more research before booking this resort.


28 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Sacramemto, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 21, 2012
Horrible Experience

We had booked 3 rooms for a family vacation and had requested that the rooms be close together. When we got there the, our rooms were in 3 different buildings and no where close together. The next morning, around 9:00 a.m., I had sewage backing up into our tub and toilet and they made no effort to change our room or make us comfortable to well after 3 in the afternoon. More than half our day was waitng to get cleand up so we could start our vacation.. They said thy would upgrade our room for the inconvenience, but we couldn't accept it because my husband was in a wheelchair and it was on the second floor. They did finally move us close to our daughter which was nice but it was not an upgrade. The third day there, we had 2 dead rats outside our patio. I have the picturs of them and will refrain from posting unless you need proof. We called to have them removed. When we left they were still there. We had an Avis car rental from the hotel and were supposed to get free parking. I was finally able to get thatcharge taken off my bill, but my son and daughter are still fighting with the Gran Melia/Avis on the charges of over $300.00. We also had a charge for Unicef on our bill. Nobody asked us if we wanted to donate to this charity they just tacked it on our bills. Then there were multiple charges for water sports activities that we didn't use. We tried to work with the hotel and we got nowhere! Would I ever recommend this hotel to anyone--not in my lifetime! On the positive side, the support staff--the maids and the gentlemen that shuttled us around, were polite and did an excellent job.


43 of 46 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Illinos
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 13, 2013
Disappointment

The facilities at the Gran Melia in Puerto Rico hold much promise, but the resort's management delivers poorly, mostly due to a lack of attention, know how, and care. Perhaps this poor level of service is par for the course in PR, but it was a huge disappointment for us. The facilities, while very nice, showed signs of poor maintenance and a lack of care by the owners. The staff was generally kind and helpful, but lacked the support of upper management to execute promises made. The two shining examples and exceptions to this dismal performance were the manager at the Tempo and Asian restaurants and the manager of the Pasion Restaurant. Philip (Tempo and Asian) was magnificent! He knew how to treat guests and how to deliver an outstanding performance with great food, service, attention to detail, and a five star experience. His staff of Paolo, Domingo, Michael, and Carolina were outstanding. And both chefs were exceptional! Also Juan Carlos, the manager at the Pasion Restaurant was very helpful and willing to work with guests to prepare special menus. Let me give specifics: the plumbing needed attention (tub didn't drain well, sink stopper didn't work, sink faucet was loose); light bulbs were burned out; bathroom fan was defective. When upon arrival we pointed these concerns out to the front desk, they did manage to replace the light bulbs. However, the "fix" for the fan was to remove it from operation, and no fixes were made on the plumbing issues. We (a party of 2 couples) were there to celebrate an important anniversary. We had arranged to have a private dinner on the beach, something offered by the staff. It was to be a surprise for the others in the party. After much coordination, our party showed up at the specified time, only to find out that it hadn't been done! The staff in charge of the operation was delayed in his ability to do the set up by his boss at the Red Level Lounge refused to let him leave to do the job. The food, prepared by Juan Carlos was there, but cold because the food was on time, but nothing else was. So there is no coordination among the various managers to accomplish an event that requires coordination among the various teams. Juan Carlos did take the time to meet after the fact with us and the site manager to try to remedy this situation, and we did have an enjoyable dinner at the Tempo, however it was nothing like what had been planned. The facility used to have a Casino and Golf Course. The Casino has been closed. The Golf Course was sold to Trump and is no longer a part of the facility. So it appears that this Gran Melia is facing some serious financial issues and they are unable to support the facility and are cutting corners at the expense of their guests. All in all, we were terribly disappointed. I have no desire to return to Puerto Rico, nor any Gran Melia Resort for that matter. It is however a complex with great "bones". It could be wonderful with the right management and with the right financial backing. It will take some investment to make it so, but could be a tremendous resort with a management team that knew what they were doing. Unfortunately, this one does not.


22 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Washington, Virginia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 31, 2012
Gran Melia Puerto Rico

The first day of our arrival their was some rain which downed us a bit, but as soon as we stepped off of our transfer onto our resort everything was surreal. From the service to the resort itself and the friendly faces didn't hurt at all. The grounds were immaculate, iguanas walking near by the koi fish ponds refreshing your walks through the lobby on a daily basis I mean amazing. The bungalow was nice and clean tv's were out of date but hey we were in paradise so the tv was the least of what was needed. The people here serviced us in an amazing way from directions to dinning options and just saying hello every morning and night. The resort was about 25 min's from San Juan and Old San Juan but renting a car was efficient and super cheap. I'd stay at this resort everytime I'm in Puerto rico based on the great experience we had on this trip. The rainforest was literally 5 mins away and the Luquillo' kiosks were just as close by, locals were just as nice to us and book your tours asap because as we found they sell out very very fast. The only major qualm about the resort was its beach- Very rocky and not really able to enjoy with the rocky texture under your feet but the pools more than made up for this! Easily 4 1/2 out of 5 stars.....


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago,IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 2, 2012
Great stay!

The Gran Melia is definitely a must to check out! It has a serene; peaceful and zen feeling to it from beginning to end. I vacationed with my boyfriend, but I can also see a group of girls going there for a private getaway. It had a star quality to the overall ambiance of the hotel. I kept saying throughout the stay that this is what paradise probably looks like. The bungalow room was beautiful, clean and the services were convenient. All the workers were very nice and helpful throughout our stay. We ordered room service and it arrived in a timely manner. The pool is the largest pool I have ever seen! The beach along side the hotel was a plus and postcard gorgeous. We ate at Passion Restaurant and the food was delicious! We recommend it! However, the first night we tried to have dinner they decided to close an hour earlier, so that was a downer. We ended up getting munchies from the only store open. A few other negatives in our experience, the concierge starts at 10am and we were ready to go by 8am, so we had to wait around til 10am to get directions to the places we wanted to check out. We kind of felt like half the day was wasted just waiting around. Also, all the phones in the room had static and was very difficult to make a call and hear the person on the other end. When you arrive on the golf resort/hotel property you feel like you're driving forever to get to the actual hotel, but it is worth it! It's definitely a getaway to remember. We recommend you rent a car for sure! Most of the points of interests we went to were nearby the hotel, except for the Camuy Caves, which was about an hour and a half away. It was an overall good experience and I recommend the Gran Melia to those who want to get away and experience paradise.

Our walk to the pool Great stay!
14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, Illinois
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations