All

Gr Solaris Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 167 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"the service very good the room very nice clean and nice but the food very poor I like cancun I will back but not the same hotel" – nena2
148 out of 184 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Tranquility View from 4th floor room Facing the lagoon from our balcony ROOM Fabulous outdoor pool area GR Solaris Beach View from balcony View from the front of hotel. Stunning! Isla Mujeres Fun at the pool Fun at the pool! At the beach The beach View of beach at resort. View from the back of hotel! Great friends trip!! Sunrise view from pool View from our room ROOM VIEW View from standard room View of outside of resort from pool area. View from our room Sunrise from the terrace

All Gr Solaris Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 167 reviews. Sort by
October 17, 2016
“Three and a half stars by Cancun expert”

I love the beach, so I go to Cancun almost every summer, and I always choose all-inclusive resorts in the Hotel Zone. I think all-inclusive hotels are still a great deal, regardless of higher airfares or the economy. This time, we were looking for a Fall Break getaway, and I found a good rate for the GR Solaris hotel (my wife and I stayed for 6 days / 5 nights). This was my second stay at this hotel, and we enjoyed every minute of our vacation. The level of service from management and staff was excellent. HOTEL: The hotel appears to have been built in the 1980’s, but is still in very good condition. The staff was polite and professional. Almost every staff member I passed greeted me. The hotel was very clean, and we frequently saw employees cleaning, painting, and tending to the landscaping. We did notice some cracked tiles on the hallway floors and in the pool, but this did not affect anything overall. There is a small gym on the property, and the equipment appeared to be upgraded since the last time I visited this hotel. This might seem like a strange comment, but the elevator service was exceptionally good in this hotel—the elevators always responded to your call within seconds, and they operated quietly and quickly. ROOMS: About half the rooms face (or view) the ocean, the others face the lagoon. Unless you pay an upcharge, you will likely have a lagoon view. Since I was a repeat visitor to this hotel, the front desk kindly upgraded me (for no charge) to an ocean-view room. Although I would have preferred a king-size bed, the only room available on that side of the hotel had two double beds. Our room was on the 4th floor, with a beautiful view of the ocean and pool. The room also had a newer flat-screen TV, and free use of the in-room safe. FYI, almost all of the TV channels were in Spanish. There is a small refrigerator in the room, and it is stocked with water, soda, and beer. We typically used all the water bottles, but the fridge was refilled daily. There are no overhead fans in the rooms, and although the AC worked fine, I couldn't get enough air moving to where I was comfortable all night long. FOOD: The food was very good in the buffet and excellent in the premium restaurants (we had dinner twice at Marco Polo, and once at Zai). It is fairly easy to get reservations, but you must go to Marco Polo about 5 pm to reserve a dinner time at the premium restaurants. The staff was excellent (our favorite waiter was "Jair"). BARS: We usually had no trouble ordering drinks. The drinks were very good (we always ordered premium brands). The swim-up bar was usually pretty busy, and we sometimes waited a few minutes to get drinks. There is a walk-up bar near the pool/beach that was open all day long. The lobby bar was not too busy, even at night, and we usually got served immediately. The drinks were usually good and strong. The staff was excellent (“Eider” was our favorite bartender). The bartenders will usually remember what you drink. As always, I recommend tipping for better service. POOLS: The pools were nice—two large pools for families, and a smaller "hidden" pool for adults only. There is a swim-up bar at the main pool. There are screened areas and large umbrellas near the pools for those of us who want some protection from the sun. There are plenty of lounge chairs, if you get there in the morning. Great pool staff and fun entertainment every day at the main pool. Kids can play in the main pool, or there is a kids’ club for the kids to do fun activities every day. The hotel does have an outdoor poolside buffet in the afternoon, which was very convenient, especially when you are starving but still dripping wet from a swim. BEACH: The ocean and beach area were fine, and the sand and water were very nice. This is one of the most beautiful beaches in the Cancun hotel zone. The staff would rake and sweep the sand by the beach each morning to clean up seaweed and litter. We did see some vendors on the beach, but they were not pushy. ENTERTAINMENT: The hotel had good evening entertainment, and shows were different each night. The entertainment didn't start until 9 PM. The only night without a live show was Sunday, when they host karaoke in the lobby bar, and even that was decent. There is no disco on the property, like some of the other Cancun hotels, although there is a small dance floor in the lobby bar. ETC: This hotel is located on the main boulevard passing through the Hotel Zone. You can take the city bus for about one US dollar and get to almost anywhere in Cancun. The shopping areas are very close. The busses don’t have AC, but it’s still not a bad ride. We almost never use a taxi in Cancun. The tap water in Cancun is treated and is safe to drink. Once more, I would like to mention that even though many hotels here are completely "all-inclusive", I always bring $100 or more in US $1 and $5 bills for tipping the waiters and housekeeping staff. I find that I get better service and I hope makes a small difference for the people in Mexico who work hard for much less dough than we make in the US. Note: I booked this trip through CheapCaribbean.com and had great service from that website.

View from 4th floor room Sunrise view from pool
50 of 51 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Mesa, AZ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 21, 2016
great vacation

fantastic resort, treated wonderfully by all employees. the entertainment group,works so hard to make sure you are having a fun and exciting time. going back in a couple of months, can't wait! thank you cheap caribbean


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Jefferson city, TN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 27, 2016
Nice hotel and great service!!!

Nice hotel, heated pools, friendly staff and great service!!! Hotel is clean and nice.It was the perfect place to go to relax and have the best service. The rooms were tidy and clean. A resort right on the beach, nice pool with swim up bar, lounge chairs and drink service everywhere. Pool area was great with swim up pool and activities. It has an indoor lounge area and multiple restaurants for different times of the day. Tasty food with buffets and snack stations right at the pool. The food was fresh and delicious. Staff was BEYOND friendly, accommodating, and professional. 10/10 customer service. Entertainment was fun. Every evening there is a different show complete with live music for your entertainment. Beach is a few steps away. There are few shaded areas on the beach. Hotel zone properties, and has a wide range of activities and amenities designed for travelers with kids: a kids pool, a playground, a kids’ club. A kids' club full of daily activities and adventures. A kids’ club with arts and crafts. My son had a lot of fun in kids' club. Thank you to Karen, Yessi and Any, (kid's club). Service everywhere and staff works their tails off. Very clean. Always cleaners at work. Perfect for couples, groups, and family. Don't fall into the presentation trap!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Naperville, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 23, 2016
awesome time

Just got back from the GR Solaris on the 21 of Dec.2016. My wife and I had a great time at the resort with my son's family. who has a 2yr old. The pictures and the description of the resort on line are exactly true to form. The people that work at the resort go above and beyond taking care of you so you will have a awesome time. The food was very good for and all inclusive resort. Would definitely go there again.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: san clemente ca.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 4, 2016
See for yourself

We went here because we read so many reviews saying how great it is and then the day before we left it was flooded with terrible reviews and we second guessed ourselves. Nevertheless we went. And it was awesome!!!! The rooms are average. Just make sure for the ocean view because that was beyond worth it. We didn't have that at first and our room had a funky smell and no hot water so that would have been terrible but the staff was so amazing they upgraded us immediately! The food was great!! I'm a snob and I rarely do buffets but these buffets (especially breakfast) were fantastic. Lunch was amazing with a beautiful view of the ocean and dinner is hit or miss. Nothing great. But the people and service makes up for the small issues. The beaches at the Solaris are a million times better than the ones at the hotel zone. I loved it and would go back. My tips are to exchange your money into pesos day one to avoid getting ripped off. Do the excursions but never take the first price. They should be about 30-60 each per person and at first they try and offer 170 and above. Just be smart cuz it's a tourist town. The hotel is fun and the staff are just beyond friendly. We loved every moment. Go!!! See for yourself!!!

The beach View from our room
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Houston
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 11, 2017
Greatest vacation

I took a trip with my friend Nick, and couldn't be more happy with the way it turned out. We met amazing people from the minute that we arrived at the GR Solaris.. We were greeted at the front door and have to say that the service at the resort was fantastic from that moment until we left. The pool and the beach were amazing. There are many daily activities including volleyball with some real cool event coordinators. There are several bars where you can get a beverage which I highly recommend, as well as a grill and pizza bar. The food was good. The drinks were really good. Lots of ways to meet new people and form new friendships- Shout out to Kansas City and St Louis and Sweeden. There are 4 options to eat at. Room service was necessary and convenient every night!! Love this place... I'll definitely be back. Loved it- Philadelphia #cheapcaribbean


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 11, 2017
Do not go to GR Solaris... Bedbugs!!

I was very excited to go on my trip to celebrate my best friends bachelorette! But since I got there, I had to wait a long time to check into my room. Wifi was expensive. I found bed bugs on the bed. My friend has bites all over her body. I had to pack up all my stuff to move to another room which took forever. I was very annoyed and when we got to our new room which had a better view. The floor was wet causing me to fall and bruised up my elbow. The staff at the hotel suggested that we had brought in the bed bugs which was ridiculous. I asked for a refund and all they could do was waive the wifi fee. They didnt think the bed bugs were a big deal. It pretty much ruined my trip. I felt uncomfortable and itchy after that. Will never return to this hotel.

Do not go to GR Solaris... Bedbugs!!
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 9, 2017
Almost paradise..

Third trip to Cancun...third resort. GR Solaris is smaller than most, and for me, that's a plus. Positives first...The service is fantastic throughout the resort. Room was very nice..with a balcony which we loved. Ours had a view of the beach for the sunrise..and the lagoon for a beautiful sunset...and that's the basic room. Stocked mini fridge w beer,water & pop. Cable w even a few English speaking movie channels. Pools very nice..one w swim up bar..and one quiet pool for adults only. Nice beach W plenty of lounge chairs. Nice restaurant variety and hours. Marco Polo is a must at least one night. Did not see the M. Jackson show, but the Friday nite show was very good. Nice lobby bar which is the place to be after 9. And they have scotch :)) My two best tips...bring a red plastic cup for your drinks(their glasses are SMALL)...and bring lots of one dollar bills. Tipping not expected, but let's be realistic...it is very much appreciated The few minuses....overall buffet food is fair to good...but for some reason the buffet food never comes out of the kitchen hot. Lukewarm at best..and this was breakfast lunch and dinner. But, there are plenty of options. Second...beautiful beach, but the week we we there was to rough to swim. So good to dip toes in and walk, then head to a pool The biggest complaint is the time share pitch. For this hotel to use a "consierge" to sit you down immediately after check in and give you a hard sell on a time share meeting is deplorable. Be firm and say no...and don't feel bad about it.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cleveland
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 24, 2016
Great place and great deal!

We had such a great time at GR Solaris. We had mimosas every morning with our breakfast. The buffet each morning was great! We also had breakfast delivered to our room (no extra charge) the morning of our anniversary. The Marco Polo restaurant is a must! But make sure (men) to bring pants and closed toed shoes to comply with their dress code policy. Everything on the menu is included in the all inclusive but they do give you options to upgrade to a steak or different wine/champagne. Prices are very reasonable for that! The pools are nice and the swim up bar is perfect for a hot day. They also have servers that will bring you drinks on the beach. Just bring some ones for tips ... They really appreciate it and remember you the next day. Top notch service! Our room was great. The bed was a little hard it we are used to a foam mattress back home. The pillows also could have been a bit better ... But no real complaints since you're so tired after a long day in the sun! The only things I would change would be the lunch buffet ... Sometimes the options were limited. But they do have a nacho and pizza snack bar by the pool to curb your hunger until dinner. Also, when you arrive the courtesy desk will give you a map and run down of the restaurants and everything. Though they will also try and sell you on the idea of doing a breakfast the next morning with a time share presentation. If you aren't interested it's easy to decline. Though if you sit through it (1.5 hours including breakfast) you can get free spa treatments, excursions and upgrades at the resort. Just negotiate what you want! We had such a great time and will definitely be back! For the price the resort was the best we've stayed at so far!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 13, 2016
Top 5 Vacations EVER

This was by far the best vacation I've ever had. The GR Solaris Resort was amazing and such a great set up as far as pool/ocean/bars/food...it all flowed so well for easily finding things and feeling like you are a part of everything happening. The swim up bar was so great and all the staff were wonderful. No complaints from me other than my hair was a giant poofball because of the humidity in Cancun HA! Truly loved this place. Felt like paradise from the moment we arrived. Abran was the bar tender in the lobby during the day and he was AMAZING. My husband and I were traveling with another couple and when we checked in, we walked straight over to request a drink and he already had 4 shots lined up waiting for us! We knew right then, this was going to be a great trip. Any time we walked into the lobby bar area he had drinks waiting on us. Same for the restaurants. Once we ordered drinks, they just kept them coming. Food was excellent and was always beautifully prepared on the buffets. So much care was taken with every detail. We are already planning a trip back to stay at this same resort....worth every penny. Thank you GR Solaris!!!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year