All

Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Puerto Vallarta Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 72 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.8 out of 5
"Good hotel with great service. Location was pretty good with lots to do in area. Would definitely book again. "ALL INCLUSIVE" is wonderful." – DELMER
56 out of 79 (71%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
sunset Delux ocean view room. Standard aminities. Beautiful view! Our Beach Wedding drinks by the pool Pool View at Night Resort Beach View relaxing by the pool Poolside overlooking the beach No filter!

All Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta Customer Reviews

1-10 of 72 reviews. Sort by
August 2, 2010
Diamond in the Rough

The GCP is definitely a diamond in the rough. We have stayed at 4-star resorts in Cancun and Riviera Maya. Based on reviews we read prior to our trip, we didn't know what to expect. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly and checkin took approximately 5 minutes. We were escorted to our lovely room by Danny the bellman who could not have been more friendly. Our room was spacious and clean with an amazing view of the Bay. The room was nothing special, but we didn't plan to spend alot of our time in it. As long as it was clean, we were happy. And it was. Speaking of the room, shampoo, lotion and bar soap was provided. If you are used to something more, like shower gel, bring it. The food in the restaurants was good. We ate at Salvadores, Paradise, Fujiyama (next door). All were very tasty and service in these restaurants was very good. We had breakfast 2 mornings at La Palapa, the buffet next door. It was very good too. Most of the mornings we enjoyed a simple breakfast at The Breeze Snack Bar, on the beach - waffles and fresh fruit. They always had a pot of coffee ready first thing in the morning. I do have to comment at the service at The Pub and The Breeze - many times we felt we were invisible, which was frustrating, but we dealt with it. Alejandra at the Pool Bar always went above and beyond for all of her guests. Beach vendors - there were many. A simple "no gracias" and they would go away. However, there were many more vendors just waiting in the wings - sometimes as many as 25-30! We found that the vendors did not hit the beach until 10:00AM. So we would visit the beach in the early morning and then take a place at the pool. The pool is not large - I believe it is advertised as "almost" Olympic size. There are plenty of chaises for everyone. It is clean and very well maintained. As far as the guests - during our visit, ages ranged from 20's to 60's. We felt it was a very good mix and everyone was very friendly. You could have a party atmosphere, or just sit back and relax. it was wonderful. We took advantage of the complimentary City Tour. We highly recommend doing this as you get a great perspective of Puerto Vallarta - from the tourist areas to the real Mexico and its poorest inhabitants. The tequila factory was fun and we thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant that was part of the tour. We shared a shrimp festival and it was amazing! The day of our checkout, the taxi was not supposed to pick us up until 2:00. We asked for a late checkout of 1:00 and were cheerfully accomodated. Our bags were stowed safely in the hospitality suite and we then enjoyed lunch and a few more cocktails until the taxi arrived. For some reason, the taxi did not show up as scheduled. Manuel, the bellman on duty, took this very personally and made sure that another taxi arrived in time and took us to the airport in a timely manner. All in all, this was a wonderful vacation. As previously mentioned, we have stayed in 4-star accommodations, but we will return to GCP next year. It is a tremendous value for the money and Puerto Vallarta is simply beautiful.


52 of 56 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 30, 2011
Mexico in November

Nice hotel and good value. I found myself visiting the sister hotel next door, geared more toward kids and families, specifically for their buffet and bigger hot tub with a bar. It was nice to have access to both sites. Hotel and rooms are kept clean and service was very friendly and accomodating. There were efforts to promote their time shares however, asking guests to attend a 90 min. presentation, which was annoying. But once I made it clear I was not interested, the requests to participate stopped, which was appreciated. All inclusive option was a real treat.

relaxing by the pool
16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oakland, CA.
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 10, 2017
Excellent Resort for Your $$$, Fantastic Beach

We just returned and wish we were still there! The resort is beautiful, clean, staff is friendly and always smiling, and so eager to help you. We arrived a day late due to flight delays, but Stephanie at front desk helped us out, added our missed night onto the end of our stay, and we changed our flight to stay longer. She also upgraded us to a penthouse suite! We are not foodies - but we loved the variety everyday, all the fresh fruit you can handle! We tried the Japanese and French restaurants - they were both great! The beach is the best part - walk forever, no scary people, safe for swimming, no coral or rocks, no need for watershoes, waves are fun, temp is refreshing (pools get too warm in afternoon so hit the waves). Vendors will walk up and down beach all day but never are rude. They only make $ off what they sell so we happily spent our tourist pesos with them for gifts to take home versus the gift shops. Room clean, water in fridge everyday, never crowded at the bars or buffets, open long hours so we just ate whenever we were hungry. Used the fitness room, tennis courts looked great but we never got a chance. Watched the sun go down every night on the beach. Booked an adventure tour right in the hotel lobby - it was awesome. If you need to make a call outside of hotel, even a toll-free call in Mexico, know that the operator will charge you $51 pesos just to connect - no way around this. But its our only complaint. This was a 5 star vacation! We are not foodies or demanding - we simply love the beach and a clean room and good food and happy people. This place has all of that and more! Go... what are you waiting for!!!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maine
Age: 35-44

July 7, 2015
Awesome

My wife and I were nervous about using this site as we had read some negative comments but we experienced nothing except pure awesomeness! When we got there the hotel was expecting us and greeted us by name. All of our flights were in order and the shuttle was ready as soon as we got into the airport. We did the dolphin adventures package and it was fantastic, although a little short. Neither of us had been on a resort vacation before so we didn't know what to expect but it was a great experience and we would use cheapcaribbean again.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Vancouver
Age: 19-24

June 27, 2011
Relaxing get-a-way

Great value. The facility is a little worn around the edges but the service is quite good. Spent 10 days at this facility and will do it again.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: nebraska
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 1, 2015
You will be disappointed, outdated

This resort is very outdated, the rooms haven't been updated in at least 10 years. The pictures on their website are misguiding. The pool area seems to have been updated. Their staff was unprofessional and spoke in spanish, which we could understand, to the taxi driver and told him we were picky customers. They gave us a suite which was the only room they had left, the kitchnette was something that you would find in an old efficiency apartment. The refridgerator did not work and only contained one bottle of warm water. The cabinets have about ten coats of pain on them. The toilet seat and cover was half stained yellow. There was only one working elevator at the hotel.

You will be disappointed, outdated You will be disappointed, outdated
9 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 10, 2014
Amazing Vacation

We had the best time! We went with 2 other couples and we still can't get over how amazing everything went. Everyone at the Golden Crown Paradise Resort is so friendly are very attentive. We will for sure go back again! Thank you so much Cheap Caribbean for such a fantastic trip and everything went smoothly! Very Very Happy!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Costa Mesa, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 18, 2016
Could of been Better!

The food here was nothing special. In the description they list that there is a Mexican restaurant (Los Gallos) however when we tried to make a reservation the gal said they had closed the restaurant for good. The buffets didn't have any Mexican food either. Only one night did they have chips out and they were stale. All in all the food was less than average at best. Drinks were ok, not top shelf liquor but you could ask for it (what little they had). Staff was friendly and accommodating. The adults only pool was nice but the two jacuzzis attached were the same temperature as the pool. The pool at the resort next door stayed open much later and had fun activities going on all day. I wish we could have partied on that side as our pool was boring. The towels are also due every night by 8pm (or $20 charge per towel applies) even though the pool closed at 9pm. The beach sand is a little rough, and the water was dark and ugly. Definitely not white sand, clear water kind of beach. There is only one working elevator and it is ancient. It sometimes stops at every floor, even when no buttons are pushed and it takes FOREVER for it to go up and down the 8 floors. The new elevator they have is currently out of service. Overall we had a fun time but we would not go back to this location. We traveled to Mexico and our resort didn't have Mexican food-huge problem In my book!


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Lakewood, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 21, 2016
Review

I was a bit concerned after reading reviews from years past. The resort is a bit older. We learned from the many people that have been visiting this resort for many years that it underwent a big renovation last year It was great.. We loved the cabanas (no charge to use them) and relaxing atmosphere at the adult pool and beach. We ate at the buffets for breakfast and lunch. Otherwise went out off-site for dinner. Not all of the dining options are apparent, so take a walk around both hotels to know what your options are. The staff there is great! Make you feel welcome It was an overall great experience.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: MINNESOTA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 7, 2017
Fantastic value for the money

We just got back from 5 nights there, and I would go back in a heartbeat. Even my husband, who I sometimes have to drag on vacation, said "Let's take another vacation!". My conclusion after having stayed there is that the negative reviewers may have had unreasonable expectations for what this resort cost. I feel like this place was a steal! Even with our flight, this place was SO much cheaper than ANYWHERE else. You're not paying for a 5 star resort so it is unfair to expect it. And the fact that we didn't spend a fortune helped me enjoy the vacation that much more, because I wasn't feeling guilty or worried about money. We managed to get on an earlier flight and got to the resort around 10:30 AM, but check in wasn't until 3 PM. But they have a great hospitality room where you can shower, change, have coffee. Then they checked our bag for us so we could use the pool, beach, eat and have drinks while we waited for our room to be ready. When our room was ready, it was a great king size bed with a great ocean view! Comfy bed. The room was surprisingly quiet given that the pool is immediately down below. The staff was absolutely fantastic. They were ALL super friendly, super helpful. Special shoutout to Ricardo, Antonia, and Freddy! The buffet had great variety. The concha bread was delicious. My absolute favorite was the chilaquiles for breakfast. They had great tacos both at the buffet and the snack bar by the pool. Both of the restaurants onsite were fantastic! 5 course delicious meals, and all included! Drinks were plentiful. Even though the swim up bar is only at the jacuzzi, you don't really need it in the pool, because the staff will come around the pool to take your drink order. After the pool bar closes at night, you can watch the sunset at the Breeze Bar on the beach. Beautiful sunsets. One night we wandered over to Club Nitro across the street to watch the Mexican show. They had dancers performing traditional Mexican dances from the various states in Mexico. Highly recommend it. Pool volleyball was a blast! Perhaps a bit goofy but so fun! Foam party in the pool on Saturdays! We met people from ALL OVER. All states, all countries. We made quite a few friends, which made it all the more sad to leave when the trip was over. As with any resort, there was a few things that could be improved. Some things could have been cleaner. The pool needs some maintenance and cleaning, and the shower in our room needed a good clean. There are a lot of vendors on the beach. They do have some cool stuff, and we did buy some things. But the rest of the time we would just say "no gracias" and they would move on, but there were a lot of them. So we alternated between the beds on the beach and beds by the pool; they can't bother you by the pool. And in terms of the beds, they are plentiful. You will always find one. Overall, FANTASTIC vacation. Can't wait to go back!

Fantastic value for the money Fantastic value for the money
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Richmond, VA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year