All

Galley Bay Resort & Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Antigua Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 22 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
4.5
Room Comfort
 
4.7
4.8 out of 5
"Galley Bay is a place to unwind and relax.just what I was looking for!" – Josetta
26 out of 26 (100%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pure Seclusion Pure Beauty relax and enjoy!!!! Beautiful sunset! The beach!

All Galley Bay Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 22 reviews. Sort by
August 6, 2010
Pure beauty, romance & seclusion.. pure Galley Bay

As I sit in my Galley Bay robe (a cherished memento of our trip) I'm finding that this is a tough review to write for these reasons: 1. I get a tear thinking about how amazing our trip was, 2. Memories of the friends, staff, and smiles that we came to know and enjoy on our stay, 3. Finding the words to describe our time at Galley Bay is proving to be difficult! My husband and I finally took our honeymoon almost 1 year after we got married, but it was WELL worth the wait, and with that wait came a lot of research! If you do some research you'll find that it's tough to come by a bad review, and those bad reviews were complaints of the accommodations smelling 'beachy' and the food served at a slower pace. Well here's my response to those...you are on A BEACH at Galley Bay, so your things may smell 'beachy'. I in-fact enjoy and miss that smell now that I'm back in Chicago! Also, the service is amazing. This is no TGIF's, and from what I hear of 'island time' the staff at Galley Bay is lightning fast. They seemed to be at your table refilling water and drinks before you realized your glass was empty! On the night of the BBQ, we had a table of 6 with new friends, and they were refilling our drinks long after the restaurant closed, and never ONCE asked us to leave, but just kept on with the amazing service while they readied the room for breakfast! The staff is something to acknowledge. I have been to many places around the world and told my husband (this was his first trip out of the US) that he's been spoiled because of the amazing service and attitudes from the minute we got in a taxi to the resort, to our chilled towels & rum punch at reception, our guided tour by Richard to our cottage, the handshakes and welcomes at our first lunch by our server, Mike and our bartender, Lisa...she's a gem! We can't forget "Big Worm" who runs the water-sports, he's a great guy as well! Even the grounds crew, while trimming trees for hurricane season, one man stopped and cut open a coconut for us to try the fresh coconut milk. It was so much fun! A review cannot be complete without talking about the actual resort, and this is one area where I become speechless. It is no doubt, one of the most gorgeous beaches out there. Completely and utterly romantic! The tranquility and peacefulness of the bare beaches and quiet ocean are sorely missed right now. Our entire stay felt like we were on a secluded island, but if we chose to explore we had many options and it's a place that allows you to design the trip the way you want it, whether it be a quiet and romantic night on your honeymoon or a lively night at the tiki bar with new friends (we had a few longer nights there!). The food is AMAZING! No matter what restaurant you choose to eat at you will walk away satisfied and happy! So, Galley Bay, thank you for everything! We saw the gate to your resort all but two times, once when we arrived and once when we left...and that says it all! We again got to feel like newlyweds and enjoy each other along with your amazing resort. This place offers everything and we cannot wait to book our next trip! Until then, we'll enjoy our matching Galley Bay robes as much as we did on the island! A trip of a lifetime! <3

Pure Seclusion Pure Beauty
64 of 68 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 11, 2011
Perfect Honeymoon Spot

My new husband and I just recently returned from The Galley Bay Resort and Spa in Antigua for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. It was an all around great spot for a romantic and laid back trip. The hotel itself is located on its own beach which spreads the whole length of the grounds and is so beautiful that words cannot truly describe it. We were able to swim, kayak and snorkel right off of our beach and the water is so amazingly clear blue. This resort is adults only and all inclusive which made it perfect for a honeymoon destination. We stayed in a Gauguin cottage located on the grounds surrounding the bird sanctuary instead of staying in a beachfront suite and I really think that we got the better deal because our room was cheaper and had more amenities. The cottages are still very close to the beach but have their own pools and privacy that the beachfront suites dont have. The accomadations included two high roof cottages attached by an outdoor breezeway. The bedroom is a good size with a king bed, large TV and an air conditioner unit. The other cottage had a rather large shower, bathroom area and dressing area/ closet to keep your clothes. My only complaint here is that there is no AC in this room and it can get a little stuffy if you dont turn on the fan. It was really nice having you own private small pool to lounge in everyday also. One thing to look out for are the roaches and lizards that liked to hang out outside of our room at night, but this is the carribbean so bugs are to be expected. Also I would recommend bringing mosquito repellant because they do come out at night but being from Louisiana this didnt bother us too much. The food at the resort restraunts was very good sometimes and other times it was just okay. Breakfast was wonderful and we really enjoyed it. The lunch and dinner menus were also good but got a little heavy after eating there so many days in a row. The drinks however were fantastic and I had their blended drinks everyday. I would highly recommend the Coco Loco , the Bananna Slide and the Galley Bay Special, they were sooo yummy! We spent a lot of our time there on the beach and i would recommend taking advantage of the use of their watersports. We especially loved kayaking to a neighboring secluded beach in a bay to the right of the resort and snorkeling. The pool area is amazing too and is a great spot to relax and drink a coco loco! Most of the staff are very helpful and friendly, and we became fond of an older gentleman who worked there named Mike, who was always attentive and friendly with us. As you can see, overall we had a very enjoyable trip and would recommend staying at the Gally Bay resort if you are looking for a relaxing and romantic trip. But if you are looking for a lot of crazy nightlife and partying you may want to pick a different resort because that is not what you will find here.

Beautiful sunset! The beach!
19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Baton Rouge, LA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 4, 2014
Most Relanxing Vacation

Booked this resort for our 20th anniversary and it was exactly what we needed and expected. All the other reviews are accurate and we got exactly what we expected. The level of customer service was like no other I have ever experienced. They knew our names by the second day at all facilities. Personal attention to service is #1 priority and we were never told "no" if we asked for something. The food is good, better than most all inclusives. Variety can sometimes be limited or more likely repeated but quality was good. Food service is the only area we sometimes thought could use some work. Depending on where you ate and who waited on you but most of the time service was good. They are on "island time" and so were we so we didn't mind too much exceopt for our dinner at Ismay's Restaurant. This restaurant requires a surcharge of $35 pp and itn's not really worth it. We had a seating at 8:30 and didn't get done till 10:50 pm and we skipped dessert. The drinks are great and plentiful. We had a premium beachfront suite which was awesome! Five steps to the sand with my morning coffee. Definately worth paying the extra money to upgrade. The pool is beautiful, quiet, and relaxing and the beach at the resort is even better. They offer many excursions every day and have some fun activities you can do at the resort so your time there can be as busy as you want to make it. Galley Bay is 20 - 30 min from airport so it's very convenient. I had two spa treatments at the spa and they were both really good. I was surprised at how good the massage and body wrap treatment was because usually in caribbean they are not as good as in the States. If you want loud music, tons of people and action with loud pool and beach games this place is NOT for you. We had the most fun and relaxing vacation in a long time and we travel 2+ times a year.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: MIchigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 6, 2016
Wonderful Stay at Galley Bay

My husband and I spent a week at Galley Bay this December and loved it. The location is perfect - a beautiful, secluded stretch of beach on Antigua only about 30 minutes from the airport. We stayed in a Premium Beachfront Suite and it was perfect. The size was ideal for two and was right on the beach (as are all rooms except for the Gaugin Cottages). We felt as if we had our own private beach. We also spent time at the pool and it was lovely - very quiet and relaxing. We never had to worry about reserving chairs early in the morning - there was always plenty of room. There was only one day when some guests decided to play their music at the pool, which I found very inconsiderate. The food was very good - not outstanding - but very high quality, varied, and tasteful. We ate at two of the three restaurants (didn't spring the extra $35 per person for Ismay's) and found them to be of similar quality. Alcohol and wine were all high quality and the frozen rum drinks were especially good. Afternoon tea was a nice touch. Overall, this is a very low key, understated resort, which we loved. If you want a drink, you walk to the bar to get it. There are activities if you want them but they are not loud and raucous like other places. Because of the "adults only" requirement, the guests were typically empty nesters (like us) or newly married. We saw a few families with older teenage children. If you are looking for a loud, 24/7 spring break-like atmosphere, this is not the place. If you want to relax, unwind, and have a low key vacation, Galley Bay is perfect. We will return.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Great Falls, VA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 27, 2012
Great Resort with some suggestions for betterment

Resort was very nice and well kept, the only part we had an issue with was a couple of things: no drink service on the beach or pool area, had to get up and go to the bar in the middle of the resort to get your drinks, only one type of beer was served at the resort would have liked a little more variety to choose from, the restaurant Ismays was very nice but thier was an upcharge of $35.00 per person to eat thier, thought this was an all inclusive resort, had to bring our own beach chairs out to the beach area and set them up ourselves. We had stayed at a coules resort in Ocho Rios in Jamiaca which too was all inclusive and they had waiter service on the beach and pool areas. Had to pay for trips to islands activities such as going to Shirley Heights on Sunday was charged $44.60 for two people for transportatin and charged $8.00 per person to get into the park, as well as additonal charges for the food. Overall had a wonderful time and would recommend this to a friend, hopefully they can read the suggestions and update thier format for a better expereince. Thank you, Rick


23 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 22, 2011
PERFECT!

I can't say enough nice things about Galley Bay. This was our perfect vacation. We were looking for a place that was on the beach. These rooms are ON the beach, literally, 5 steps to the sand! Food was wonderful, not your usual tasteless resort food, but real Caribbean inspired flavorful dishes. Only three restaurants but the menus change daily so you never get bored eating the same thing. Never had to wait for a table and usually had a front row seat to the beautiful beach view. Take one dinner at Ismay's, its worth the extra charge. The Gaugain (sp?) restaurant at the end is a good place for lunch, cooler, quieter and faster service, because there are not as many people there. The rooms were spacious with tile floors and comfy beds, soft sheets (feels good on a sunburn). We had a double head shower and double sinks. The pool was clean and quiet. There was no music and no activities, so you could actually relax. Not that we were at the pool much. The beach is one of the most beautiful on all of Antigua. It can be a little rough, but mostly calm, We love this place and would definitely recommend it to couples celebrating a wedding anniversary, honeymooners, or any couple looking to get away and really relax. Tips: take the bikes for a spin to the nearby village and beach which was pretty much deserted, circumnavigation of the island on one of the catamarans lets you see sites from the other side, dinner at Ismays, take bug spray and sunscreen with you

PERFECT! PERFECT!
17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 10, 2016
Living the Caribbean LIfe

My husband and I just returned from our vacation in Antigua. We had a 6 day, 5 night stay at Galley Bay Resorts and Spa. To say the least, it was an outstanding trip. The accommodations were perfect - beach front room with a view of the Caribbean sea - it is my dream to wake up to that view every day for the rest of my life. The people at Galley Bay are what will make you want to go back time and time again. Everyone is friendly, efficient and professional. The food was excellent (we didn't have a bad meal the entire time we were there!). I would be remiss if I didn't mention the beautiful grounds - If you do go, take the Garden tour- Curt, one of the gardeners, a very pleasant and personable man, will give you an enjoyable and informative experience. My husband and I couldn't be more grateful for the relaxing, stress free visit to this beautiful resort. We would definitely go again.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bethlehem,PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 26, 2011
Galley bay resort

Love, love, love this hotel. It's small, but all-inclusive--the best of both worlds. The staff was great, the beach was beautiful and our gauguin cottage was amazing. Although the hotel takes up a Long stretch of beach, the hotel only has 90 rooms. I felt like I was on my own private beach much of the time. Plus it's located in a cove with rocky areas on the end, which keeps the beach less populated. I highly recommend the Gauguin cottage. Although the room and the bathroom are in 2 separate cottages, you have your own little courtyard and private pool. Since the main pool closes at 7, it was nice to have our own pool for evening swims. I would prefer to have the bedroom and bathroom in the same cottage, but it wasn't that big of deal. If I could make one suggestion, I would say get 2 keys when you check in and just leave them in the doors when you are at your room. The doors lock when you shut them, so you spend a lot of time chasing the key to get in one room or the other. But both rooms are very clean, very nice, and all I had hoped for--maybe more. Oh, and don't forget to tell them what you're celebrating when you check in. Make something up if you have too. It scores you a bottle of champagne in your room. The restaurant. The food at all 3 restaurants is really good. But--and this will be my only complaint--it takes forever to eat. Every meal has several courses. No self-serve buffets here. I would prefer at least one restaurant with casual dining. Oh, and, men have to wear collared shirts and long pants every night after 7, so pack accordingly. Thety are serious about this rule. But overall, awesome, relaxing, dream-of-a-vacation experience. One of the best beaches I've visited. I'm already saving for my return.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 30, 2014
Paradise

We just returned from 6 glorious days at the Galley Bay. We researched several islands and resorts and the Galley Bay kept rising to the surface so we decided to book it and we are so glad that we did. We stayed in a Deluxe Beachfront room (#8) which I believe is the smallest room but we found it to be perfect. From our door the amazing Caribbean Sea was only 10 yards away! We had two lounge chairs on our terrace and 2 more with a nice umbrella and table out on the sand. Some of the beachfront is rocky but in front of the Deluxe rooms you have direct entry into the ocean with no rocks to contend with. These rooms are also right in the middle of everything! The watersports area is next to room 1 where you can get a sailboat (Shilo will take you out for a sail and to a sunken ship just around the bend), get snorkeling equipment (there is a coral reef and decent snorkeling right in front of Ismay's restaurant), and stand up paddle boards. We heard that the water can be really rough but he water was perfect everyday we were there. We found the food to be delicious and loved the Gaughan where you are seated in your own individual hut right on the beach! We did try Ismay's one night and found it to be wonderful and worth the extra $35 pp charge for something different. We were fortunate to have a wonderful yoga instructor each morning but yesterday was her last day at the resort so I'm not sure if they are going to continue offering yoga or not. I hope they do because it was wonderful to do yoga with the beautiful ocean and palm trees in front of you! The Barefoot grill was a great place for a quick sandwich when you don't want to bother with getting out of your bathing suit for a more formal lunch at one of the restaurants. The drinks were delicious and plentiful. We enjoyed the resort so much that we never went on any excursions.We truly felt like we were in paradise. We met several wonderful couples and everyone seemed to be so happy and relaxed. Many of them were there for the third, fourth or more time! We hope to be able to come back again soon!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Columbus, OH
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 19, 2011
Wonderful escape!

This was just the vacation we were looking for; beautful setting, great service, good food, relaxing. We felt like we had our own private beach. We are planning to return next year.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year