All

Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica Reviews

Central America | Costa Rica-Guanacaste Beach Region Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 25 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.5 out of 5
"We had a great time at Flamingo Beach Resort! Staff was very friendly and it was right on the beach! Wonderful atmosphere!" – dancscer
30 out of 31 (97%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
very relaxing pool! The Pool the beach that was right across from the hotel Flamingo Beach Sunset

All Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica Customer Reviews

1-10 of 25 reviews. Sort by
March 16, 2011
Fantastic Vacation

Our 6 night stay at Flamingo was really great. The resort is about an hour drive from the Liberia airport ($80-85 cab ride). The Playa Flamingo town is small, with limited dining options, but those that it does have are great. Arenas, the resort restaurant, was an option we didn't exercise as much. We had the breakfast plan so ate breakfast there, but only had one lunch there (quesadillas by the pool hit the spot) and one dessert (SMALL). Marie's is a great lunch spot and had two bands while we were there. Angelinas was yummy and a nicer option and the Flamingo Pizzeria had really good pizza (and was cheap). The best food we had was at Mar Y Sol - a must go for the sunset happy hour and amazing food. The resort itself was really nice. The pool and beach are amazing. The rooms weren't Westin quality, but they were clean, not outdated and comfortable. Service was pretty good and consistent and employees seemed generally happy to be at work (why wouldn't they be...). It's a lively town despite it's size and I really had no complaints about the accommodations, prices or people. Definitely a great trip.


36 of 36 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: DC
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 9, 2010
Nice, isolated hotel

The Flamingo is a little isolated from a lot of other things, and it's perfect if you're looking for a little seclusion. The beach is located right behind the pool so on most days the big questions was: beach or pool? The pool is nice. Drinks with alcohol are about 7-10 dollars and when it gets crowded you can tell the staff gets impatient with the children. You might want to invest in your own bottle of rum. There's a little store nearby that sells alcohol. The breakfast staff was so friendly! The breakfast buffet is awesome and includes gallo pinto, eggs, pancakes, potatoes and an assortment of fruits. Make sure to tip them a bit! Rooms are nice and air-conditioned. The local wildlife are all to happy to rummage through your things if you leave out food. Take advantage of the beach! If you walk south you'll find some howler monkeys in the trees!


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Hollywood, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 14, 2011
Beautiful gem

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. The overall experience was great- the best parts of the hotel were the beach and pool area. They were phenomenal- a swimup bar in the pool, and the beach was pristine and not crowded at all! I also loved the locatoin- there were a lot of great restaurants nearby and easy to get to many excursions. We didn't do the 'all inclusive' option at the hotel and I was happy we didn't. There was really only 1 restaurant to eat at and only 2 bars. Instead we were able to explore some small restaurants that were delicious (for exmample mar y sol is a must to watch the sunset at and el castillio in playa potrero had excepllent seafood). We did have breakfast included every morning which was nice and pretty sitting outside (just beward of the birds! they will come and snatch your food out of your hand if you don't pay attention!). As for the room, definitely ask to be on the 2 or 3 level. We were on the first level and the room was a bit musty and didn't have much of a view. The room was basic, but fine- we weren't in there much, so it didn't bother us. Also, the excursion desk at the hotel was very helpful, but if you go out of the resort by the restaurant maries and angelina's you'll find another group offering excursions with better deals. Overall we had a fantastic trip in costa rica and playa flamingo was very beautiful!

Beautiful gem
16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Wonderful resort

We traveled to Costa Rica and the Flamingo Resort at the end of June (during the rainy season). Despite brief showers, we had a wonderful time. Relaxed at the beach, drank lots of pina coladas, lounged at the pool and ate lots of tasty food (e.g., home made nachos, whole fried fish, fried plaintains, rice and beans, and other traditional CR food plus American entrees too). Bartenders were wonderful as well as hotel staff and restaurant staff, always asking if you needed anything. We arrived earlier than expected and our room was promptly upgraded as that room was available. Only ventured off the resort for a tour one of the days and went to a national park close by and got to see lots of interesting birds and animals. If you are in need of a relaxing vacation, with not so many people around and quiet evenings to relax at the lounge this is the place to be!

the beach that was right across from the hotel very relaxing pool!
9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Lehigh Valley, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 1, 2013
adventure

I really enjoyed this vacation. Everyone at the resort were extremely helpful. Room were very clean. I only did the breakfast plan. The breakfast was great. Very fresh. Fresh squeezed juice. There was not a lot of night life but you can surely go to the town tamarindo. I took a bus which was .80 I also did the sunset tour w lazy lizard. Amazing sunset!! Emilio,Ryan and Luis were awesome. I also did ricon del Viejo tour..absolutely worth the money for this tour. Horseback riding,mud bath,hot springs, zip lining, and the water slide. if your looking for an adventure vacation this is the place to go.definitely will come again.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Great value

Flamingo beach resort was very nice if you have kids and just want to chill out. We've been to other all inclusive that were more luxurious and much bigger. The size was perfect, not too big and the kids loved how convenient the beach was to the pool. Although the dining options at the hotel weren't great, it worked out perfectly because there are so many great places outside of the resort to explore and in nearby towns. Would definitely go back.


10 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 24, 2013
Definitely going back!

I highly recommend this resort! My fiance and I had a fabulous time and didn't want to leave. The service is exceptional (everyone is so pleasant, helpful, and accommodating - and they greet with you frozen drinks when you arrive!) The grounds are very well maintained. The food is good. The resort is just steps from a beautiful beach with a steady flow of waves and the most spectacular sunsets. The hotel is in a nice, remote area with lovely weather and a very small town within walking distance. Come here for rest, relaxation, and a little romance (or quality family time.) A great place to experience Pura Vida! Take the 20-minute ride to Tamarindo for shopping and nightlife. We didn't do any of the off-site activities but there are plenty to choose from and other guests seemed to enjoy them. Now, as I said, we had a great time, but there is always room for improvement. So, here are my suggestions: -Build at least one more restaurant to give guests more variety and extend the dining hours (There are some great dining options nearby, namely Angelina's, which has a great view of the mountains, and Coco Logo, which is right on the beach) -Put master suites and honeymoon suites on the top level -Offer more beach chairs


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 30, 2012
Advise

For the price, it was a great place to stay. We had a suite which was fantastic since we have a 2 yr old. Elias the bartender made a drink for our 2yr old which he loved. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous and made our stay a pleasure. They consider the month of May their end of winter which was surprising since it was extremely hot. On our way to the airport, we were informed that Guanacaste is the hottest region in Costa Rica. I guess on our second trip there, we will have to pick another location.


10 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Lovely facility and staff!

My daughter chose the Flamingo Beach Resort to hold her wedding this past June. The staff did everything possible to make this a most memorable event. They really took us into their "family" and made sure everything was perfect. The food was superb (Thank you, David!) and when we had a minor issue with the flowers, the coordinator stepped up and made sure things turned out exactly the way my daughter hoped they would. We'll definitely go back and are all very appreciative of the great work everyone did!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kansas City
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

November 26, 2012
Nice and quiet hotel on the beach

Hotel was very nice - clean, safe, staff is friendly. Right on the beach, so spent half day on beach and other half in pool. Transportation from/to airport with shuttle worked well. Hotel food was okay. Not many food options within walking distance of hotel and they weren't very good. Glad we didn't go all-inclusive. Mar y Sol was delicious (within walking distance), but a fancy, more expensive dinner option. Concierge was helpful. Recommend Arenal tour w/ ziplining - great day trip! Also recommend an evening trip into Tamarindo. The boat ride tour was okay, not sure I'd recommend.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 25-34

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations