All

Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina Reviews

Caribbean | Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 11 Reviews
Value
 
3.4
Service
 
3.5
Beaches & Pools
 
3.4
Dining Options
 
2.5
Room Comfort
 
2.7
3.2 out of 5
"Super awesome deal. Loved the staff and the pool. Wish the restaurant stayed open longer though. This was our second time visiting and we HIGHLY recommend it. We will definitely be back :)" – LGodwin
7 out of 11 (64%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina Customer Reviews

1-10 of 11 reviews. Sort by
May 17, 2011
VERY relaxing

Just returned from 3 nights at Flamingo Bay. I had never been to the Bahams and was going by myself. Wanted a quiet, safe place where I could lay on the beach, float in the pool, disconnect and forget my name. I found the right place. The beach was beautiful. I was private, not crowded at all. The water was extremely calm. If you are looking for waves, this is not the place. They do have a place where you can rent kayaks, wave runners, etc. on the beach. Only 1 restaurant. It was fine. Nothing all that exciting. They do have nightly dinner specials that include a glass of wine in the price. The restaurant was perfectly fine you just need to know it is the only option there. The resort does have a daily grocery store run. If you are going to be there any length of time, that is the way to go. Go to the welcome center for the timeshares to get all the info. There is also a business center there with computers to use. Staying at Flamingo Bay, you get to use all the amenities of Taino Beach Resort. The pool is shared as is the beach. I wanted to be right on the beach. There are no rooms on the property that are right on the beach. The timeshares are perpendicular to the beach. Flamingo Bay faces the beach, but is about 400 yards away. It is across the street. But keep in mind this is a 2 lane, dead end street, with no traffic. So it is as if you are right by the beach. I stayed in the front of the hotel, on the third floor and had a view of the water. I arrived 6 hours before check in and was allowed to check right in. Colleen, at the front desk could not have been nicer. She even allowed me to view rooms and pick the one I wanted. My only issue was that I reserved a king. I could have had a king had I waited until 4pm to check in. I chose to take a double and check in early. Front of the resort is the way to go. I am the world's lightest sleeper. I did not hear 1 noise the entire time I was there. Nothing from the rooms beside me, nothing from the street, nothing at all. The cable was not working properly when I was there. On my 4th call down, I was finally told there was a cable problem in the area, it was not my room. I had been waiting 2 hours for the techinician to come as I was told on my first call. Not sure who the person was working that night (it was not Colleen) but she was about worthless. Everyone else I came in contact with was very nice. The place seemed to be only about 25% full. It was quiet and at night, there was no one anywhere. You could float in the pool as late as you wanted and be the only one there. There is a swim up bar, a water slide and a sort of lazy river and grottos and caves at the pool. The pool was not the cleanest. But it was fine. Here is something to note: It took me 3 days to figure out that tax is added to everything. I could not figure out why I was constantly being charged more than the advertised price for drinks. I knew it was added to food because it shows it right on your bill. But I did not realize that is what they were doing with the drinks. It would have been nice if someone would have explained that to me one of the many times I asked. But I figured it out and quit double tipping. 15% is added to all food and drinks. So keep that in mind. Everyone was extremely friendly. I was there as a single female and I felt 100% safe. No issues whatsoever. The place was beautiful. It just seemed like a quaint little neighborhood. I will definetely go back. But I will probably stay in the time shares. Saw one while was there. They have full kitchens and are newer. That is why I will stay there. But Flamingo Bay was fine. Rooms are old but clean. The box springs on one of the beds had been replaced with plywood and the toilet wasn't the strongest flusher, but it was fine. I travel all over for work, staying at very nice places. I was comfortable here. The water taxi to Port Lucaya is out the back door of the hotel. Buy your ticket at the front desk. $5 round trip. Departs every hour. Comes back at 10 after each hour. Was excited to go to Port Lucaya. But it was sort of anticlimactic. I saw about 10 other people there. Many places closed. But I was able to find a place to eat each time and bought some trinkets. My intention was to do nothing and that is exactly what I did. If you have to have entertainment on your vacation, you will be miserable here. But if you are looking for a beautiful, quiet place to relax, lay in the sun, float in the pool, have a few drinks and some food at a beachfront restaurant, then this is the place. One final note: I was nervous about getting a taxi at the airport and getting ripped off because I had read about that in other reviews of the area. There is a person at the airport that stands outside (like I see at many busy american airports) and matches up the traveler with a taxi. The set price from the airport to this hotel is $25. Again that includes the tip. I put my standard taxi tip on top of that on the way out and the guy almost fell over. For the way back, the hotel called and made arrangements for a taxi to pick me up. They then called my room and gave me the name of the driver and her taxi id. She also called me to confirm. And she gave me her business card for any return trips. Could not have been easier. Having been to some places in the caribbean and Mexico that are quite poor, where everyone is trying to rip you off and where you cannot drink the water, it was refreshing to go to a place like this.


79 of 83 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 20, 2011
Never ever try this hotel

We stayed there during the christmas time. It was horrible! Don't be fooled by low prices, to reach the city you have to take their ferry which costs a lot. Service was terrible, it was loud all the time and housekeeping was very rude. They were waking us up at 7 am every morning. Come on! We were on vacation!


21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: atlanta
Age: 25-34

January 13, 2016
Very disappointed

I am a frequent traveler to Grand Bahama Island and having been on a timeshare presentation for the Taino Beach Resort previously, I thought I was aware of the room we booked at the 'Flamingo Bay' area of the resort. The size and amenities were pretty much the same as what we had been shown, but the condition of the room was soooo bad compared to what is 'presented'. I would expect to pay $30 a night for this type of room back in Phoenix. The mildew aggravated our allergies. The toilet ran constantly. We asked for another towel (as there weren't enough) - it never arrived. The smoke alarm went off for no reason twice - causing us to have to disconnect it. The dead bugs in the tracks of the patio door were disgusting and we couldn't open the door anyway (to air out the place). Was very glad we only spent one night here!!! The convenience to get a round trip boat ride over to Port Lucaya (for great food and fun) was the only plus on this stay, unfortunately. Buyer beware.


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Phoenix AZ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

August 6, 2010
Don't go!

We went to Grand Bahamas in December. I would not recommend Grand Bahamas in new year, it was just boring. Flamingo Bay hotel is just plain old. One side of it is at marina, which looks good on paper. But every morning the yachts come and go, it was so noisy. To go to the town for fun, you always have to take the ferry (not cheap either). If you miss one ferry, you have to wait for one more hour. The rooms were well designed but old. The service was terrible. They were starting to knock the doors at 8 am, waking you up and asking for towels (as if we are going to steal them)They have one restaurant with terrible greasy food. The town does not have many options either. But I would prefer to stay in town center instead of Flamingo Bay. It was worst than any Motel 8.


12 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Atlanta
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 16, 2010
Great View, Good Hotel for what you pay

We stayed at the Flamingo Bay hotel over New Years 09/10. The rooms are very cozy and are kept very clean by the staff. We would return from being out all day and the room would smell clean and they would even turn the a/c on low if we forgot to turn it on before we left. The hotel has beach access and shares a pool across the street and you can go there whenever you want. Also, the ferry that takes you to town picks up right behind the hotel. There are only a few downsides about this hotel. 1. There are not a lot of dining options near the hotel. You need to have snacks in your room or call to have something delivered because the hotel shop is not open very late. 2. The ferry does not pick you up from town that late. We went over there for the New Years celebration and the last ferry ride pick up was at 12:30. 3. The ferry is not free and you can't buy tickets on board. Also, the tickets you buy are one way tickets so make sure you have enough for a round trip. I want to end on a high note so here are some positives. 1. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. We could approach anyone and ask them where something was located. 2. You can use dollars and Bahamian money because the exchange rate is pretty much the same - super convenient. 3. The seafood is AMAZING (obviously) and they have so much to choose from. I had the conch soup from one of the restaurants in town and loved every bit of it. All in all, the hotel was great value for your money. It is not a five star resort so make sure that is not what you're expecting. It is a very low key, clean place.


17 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 19-24

May 16, 2012
FLamingo Bay Bahamas

Super awesome deal. Loved the staff and the pool. Wish the restaurant stayed open longer though. This was our second time visiting and we HIGHLY recommend it. We will definitely be back :)


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Fayetteville, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 2, 2010
awesum trip

The hotel did receive damage in a previous hurricane, the rooms still need some work to get back up to perfect condition. However they have everything you need in them. I didn't take the trip to spend it in my room looking for it's falts. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is clean and and not croweded. The pool area is amazing.We spent most of our time either in the pool or on the beach. We loved it. The people are very friendly and helpful. Yes it is a time share property and they would like you to take the tour, however if you tell them you are not intrested in it, you are not talked into going. We will be back again soon.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Barre Ma
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 4, 2014
Amazing Trip

We believe we may have found paradise !! Beautiful Place very clean and very friendly staff!! Loved the beach and the pool- check out their bonfire night and the fish fry for sure to taste the food of the Island incredible!!

Amazing Trip
7 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: MN
Age: 45-54

September 4, 2013
i had a great time but!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

we just came from there sept 2nd and the location hands down is awsome .... i love it.. u even have a ferry ride to the port lucaya right there on property... i loved the access to the pool witht the slide my daugter loved it.. the f0od was pretty good.... the swim up bar was fun.. my daughter would have a virgin icy an i loved the $1 shots.. after 4 of those an three drinks i was done...... after 4 pm its buy 1 get one.... u cant beat it.. please dont be cheap tip them..... it goes along way.. they are nice pple.. u take care of them they take care of u.... BUT!!!!! the rooms are not quite my preference.. ive never stayed in a motel standard.. an this will be my last.. i wanted to leave the same day... but the hubby wanted to stay due to location.. weve been to gran bahamas a few times an this is a nice place per loaction but i kind of liked viva wyndam more not cuz of lcoation but amentities on property an the r0om was much cleaner an up to date.. the flamingo bay when we walked int he fron desk staff an bigg mama were very friendly.. more friendlier then the night staff but the room we got was clean.... the bed wasnt all to comfortable an i am not a picky person but when u wake up an ur back is killing u .. or u first walk int he room an see they didnt bother to mop the bathroom floor .. i saw shoe prints all int he bathroom.. well atthe point i thought gesh what makes me think they would take the time to chnage the sheets... :( i wish they t0ok better care of the property cuz they have a nice location. in the end of it all i just laid on top of my own towels.. but it was a shelter an bed iguess


6 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: fl
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 30, 2012
not too OK

The people were fine and friendly. The worst thing was, THE HOTEL ROOM HAD A VERY BAD SMELL. Even after cleaning it up. it was so disgusting. It also rain which forced us to stay inside the room. awfull


7 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 25-34