All

Fairmont Southampton Reviews

Caribbean | Bermuda Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 41 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.4 out of 5
"Great vacation...hotel and facilities were top notch...a great fling vacation!" – abishop61
48 out of 55 (87%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View of Fairmont private beach RoomView Putter Grip on rental club FerryDock Private Beach was nice Warwick Longbay Beach

All Fairmont Southampton Customer Reviews

1-10 of 41 reviews. Sort by
November 5, 2011
Comments on Activities

Except for the pool and beach, you had to pay for every activity (fitness center, tennis, golf, snorkeling, internet access, indoor pool before 6 p.m.). We were lucky to have joined the President's Club (which was free) before we arrived, because we then were able to have free internet access in our room, free wi-fi in the lobby and use of the fitness center. Our room was lovely and the view wonderful. The food was excellent. We also were on the meal plan which was great. The hotel charged a resort fee but I have no idea what it was for, since almost all activities had a fee.


29 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: The Villages, FL
Age: Over 65

January 11, 2012
Bermuda off season

Fairmont Southampton is one of the grand old hotels-lovely in many respects, but in winter, unless you are a golfer or like to swim in the chilly Atlantic, the Fairmont in Hamilton is probably a better choice. The Hamilton location provides many more restaurant, nightlife and shopping choices and great access to local trandsportation--bus and water--for sightseeing.


25 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Wilton CT
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 8, 2011
Best vacation in a long time

Our first trip to Bermuda and our honeymoon, this trip was one of my best vacations. I've been to hotels and places the world over and this ranks as a 4.5 star property in a CLASSY caribbean location. The winter getaway began well from the moment our driver was waiting for us on arrival to take us to the Fairmont. We lunched at the Jasmine restaurant while waiting for our room to be ready, and the service was old world, European, white cloth napkin and attentive but never overdone. Ah, from that lunch onward at the Fairmont Southampton resort I felt in the palm of luxury and could relax the whole 5 days. The hotel beach is absolutely beautiful and pristine. We can't wait to return to try the 3-par golf and the snorkeling when it warms up..


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Suffern, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 30, 2012
The way to do Bermuda

Going to the Fairmont Southampton off-season was perfect. Some of the resort eating options are closed but the staff are wonderful, the beaches are fabulous and the hotel has a free ferry into Hamilton and shuttle bus to the main road. Bermuda is not cheap, but this deal was an inexpensive way to get a 5 star vacation.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington DC
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 19, 2011
Not going back to Fairmont Southampton in Bermuda

Went to Bermuda the first week of June, 2011. Temperature ranged from 72 to 79 degrees F with little humidity and always a breeze. Picked Fairmont Southampton because they had a golf course on the property. However, their web site failed to mention that there is no practice range. Hard for me to get in the "groove" without a hitting some range balls. Rented clubs. The picture is the grip on the putter. Course didn't care about the condition of the grip. Had we known that there was no range we would have stayed somewhere else. The hotel added 17% tip to all food and beverage tabs. Super-slow service is probably why they added the tip to the bills. We complained about the service but it didn't seem to matter to anyone. Bermuda was great. Other than the resort the trip was fantastic. The people were very friendly and the food (away from the resort) was great. The service off the property was signifiantly better than at the Fairmont. The private beach was clean, not too crowded and had good beverage service. I sent an email to the Fairmont manager after we returned expressing our disappointment and he didn't seem to care. We are planning on going back sometime, but not to the Fairmont.

Putter Grip on rental club Private Beach was nice
21 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago area
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 12, 2010
Fairmont daily activity schedule

Everyday, the Faimont issued a daily activity schedule which included some sort of excersize program in the morning (with complementary bottled water), afternoon tea and crumpets. Some evenings they offered wine tasting or a movie. There were so many complementary daily activities, all the guest could find something they enjoyed! To top off the vacation, the Fairmont held a New Years Eve party and a New Years Day celebration party which included elaborate costumes that displayed their native culture.. The Fairmont ferry boat was another convienent bonus. I can't say enough to express how wonderful it was to stay at the Fairmont.


9 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: STL, MO
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 24, 2013
Bermuda what a Beautiful Island

Beautiful resort, nicely situated but the staff at the front desk not very accommodating to guests needs. The hotel was not nearly half full. We were escorted to a room on the 2nd floor overlooking a rooftop. We asked for a room change and were told that a room with a king bed would not be available until the next day. In the meantime they switched us to a room on the 3rd floor to the left of the rooftop that had 2 double beds. All rooms at the fairmont are supposed to have bathrobes. This room had none. Next morning before we ventured out for the day we stopped by the front desk to inquire about our room change. We were told to leave our bags packed and they will switch our bags when the room was ready. We left for the day and when we returned at 4:30 pm our bags had not been moved and there was nothing in the computer about our request to change the room. After waiting about 20 minutes, We were ultimately switched over to a room not far from where we were that had a king size bed, still with the same view of the rooftop. This room had bathrobes but no toiletries. I called house keeping and waited a half hour for shampoo and conditioner. We ended up living out of our suitcase as the only drawers the room had were the night tables. We went to bermuda to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. First impressions go along way and we were very disappointed with the service of a so called 5 star hotel. Other staff at the concierge desk were very nice otherwise but if you want good service and attention to detail I would not recommend the fairmont Southampton hotel.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 19, 2011
treated like royalty

This was my fifth trip to the Southhampton Fairmont in the last 10 years. It feels like home when I get there. The staff members are friendly and well trained. The restaurants are excellent, especially the famous Waterlot Inn. I love the shuttle service to the lovely private beach which is only a short walk from beautiful Horseshoe Bay. There is also a free half hour ferry ride to ngo shopping in Hamilton. I will go back any chance that I get.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Richmond, VA
Age: Over 65

April 2, 2011
One of the greatest places on Earth.

We had the greatest time exploring the island and getting to know the history and people of this beautiful island. You never feel scared like you do on some islands. The people are friendly and so glad to see you. The hotel was one of the best on the island. It was not so convenient to have to take a shuttle to the beach, but one runs every 15 minutes so it wasn't bad. We will definitely be going back! We would NOT recommend the beach restaraunt associated with the hotel. It was over priced, the food was mediocre at best, it was not very clean for the caliber it was promoted as, the service was terrible and their specialty drink - the aquatini- was just nasty. The crab that snuck in the foyer was great entertainment!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Mansfield, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 26, 2011
Southampton Fairmont Top Notch

My wife & I went there for our 30th anniversary. Once they found out at the concierge, they pampered my wife & I. The night of our anniversary, they sent up a chilled bottle of champagne, and chocolate covered strawberries. They changed our room for a better view. The food & drinks were a little pricey, but hey I went to relax & enjoy. We are going to go back next May for their Queens Day. Loved it!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Southampton, N.J.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year