All

El San Juan Hotel and Casino Reviews

Caribbean | Puerto Rico Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 137 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4 out of 5
"i would reccomend to all , had a wonderful time ! will do again !" – isabel
128 out of 165 (78%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pool @ El SJ Resort Lobby of El San Juan view from room At one of the pools at the hotel View from Resort Beach 3rd floor roof balcony Sunset at El San Juan Resort & Casino gorgeous scenery beautiful blue beach water View from 10th floor balcony Pool with swim-up bar Beach!!

All El San Juan Hotel and Casino Customer Reviews

1-10 of 137 reviews. Sort by
May 17, 2012
Great Trip

I went to this resort a few weeks ago with my boyfriend and we had a great time! The pools and lounge areas are really nice. It rained a lot so we didn't have much time to spend on the beach but it seemed nice from the limited time we were on it. The casino was great to have with all of the rain. They gave decent comps too. There is also a few big bars with very nice staff. For the daytime, buy alcohol from the Walgreens down the street to cut down on your room charges. They let you walk around the resort with your own and it ends up saving a lot. If you drink a lot this resort can get very expensive! (A pina colada was $14.) Rent a car and go to the rain forest and Old San Juan. Overall this was a great vaca and we would go back again!


52 of 52 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 30, 2012
Good choice

I was worried because of some of the bad reviews for this but we found it to be a great place. Our rooom was big and clean. The lobby is great, and we came back from Old San Juan Friday night to find a salsa band in the lobby and we danced all night. The three pools are not crowded but it is hard to find a shady spot. A Note however, the umbrellas and cushions were a bid faded and tattered, which considerabley brought down the ambiance of the pool area. Umbrellas on the beach are $10.00 The restaurants and bars were good, we loved KOKO and there was a little snack shop for breakfast and lunch that was really good. The only restaurant that was terrible was Yamato. . We made reservations online a week before we went. We also went across the street and down a few blocks to Metropol - a local place that was excellent. They offer tours right in the lobby, we did the 1/2 day rainforest tour, which was nice. . The staff was exceedingly nice, always asking if they could do anything and opening doors for you etc. Also the spa was great, but they tried to overcharge us and we had to threaten to go to the concierge about it before they adjusted it. We took the bus right outside the hotel to get to Old San Juan - $.75, was easy. It made for a really nice vacation.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: South Jersey
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 18, 2013
El San Juan Resort and Casino

This was our first trip to Puerto Rico, we were so glad to have chosen the El San Juan. The resort is absolutely breathtaking, the staff was always more than happy to help, from the concierge recommending restaurants for our day in Old San Juan, to the housekeeper offering us a crib for our 1 year old right after check-in, to the doorman giving my son high-fives every time we left the hotel. The pools were fantastic, and the beach is gorgeous. The lobby at the El San Juan is truly a nightlife hotspot, but we didn't spend much time partaking in that, or in the casino. We didn't eat many meals at the on site restaurants, we ventured out for most of them. If spending time by the pool or in a bech chair is your thing, the El San Juan is the place for you, but there are many options for day trips available through the concierge if you are looking for something more adventurous. Hopefully, we will return to the El San Juan soon for another wonderful visit!


22 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Fitchburg, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 25, 2011
El San Juan Hotel

This hotel is really nice. The lobby is amazing, as is the pool area. My Wife an I ate at the Italian restaurant that is in the Hotel. I cannot recommend this place enough, the food was fantastic. The Hotel staff is really nice and very accommodating. There are several restaurants near the hotel that are local and have authentic local food that is very very good. We had a great time at this hotel. The one thing that I would recommend someone **NOT** do is fly on SPIRIT AIRLINES. This airline is HORRIBLE and they almost ruined our trip. They are unapologetic about anything that goes wrong and will not be in any rush to help you at all. They are rude and unprofessional. We were supposed to fly out from our home town at 6 am and be in Puerto Rico at 1pm. Because of SPIRIT AIRLINES we did not get in to Puerto Rico until 1am and that is only because I fought with them, otherwise we would have missed 2 days of our trip instead of just one. They also charge you for EVERYTHING... after you buy your tickets you have to pay for what seat you sit in, your carry on luggage and also checked luggage. You cannot even get a free glass of water on the plane.


21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 11, 2011

I had a reservation for two rooms. The guest service representatives could only find one, then they had no idea I was a Diamond member so I had to remind the clerk to look @ the info from Cheap Caribbean. I asked for my other reservation [for my daughters] to be somewhere on my floor,[trying to be flexible]. I was put on the lowest floor in the tower and they were put on the 8th floor. Sent to wrong room and was told it was my mistake[I misread the clerk's handwriting] eventhough the key worked when I opened the door and found guests already there. The new room's mini-bar didn't work and the beverages were very warm so I called for a new mini-bar and went out to see the grounds with my famiy. Upon my return, the new bar had arrived and worked but was empty! I had to unload the warm beverages from the inop. bar and load the new bar myself; then wait for the beverages to get cold. I never received additional mini-bar service througout my stay and both bars stayed in the room the entire stay. Guest room patio had chicken bone and toothpick on its floor. Housekeeping had a tendency to camp out side in the corridors and talk about their personal business etc. and ignore do not disturb signs. Engineering started working on a room above or next to mine so by 9 am they were hammering and drilling. In the interest of fairness, their food & beverage wait. staff were friendly and efficient and the hotel has a great night life on weekends which I thoroughtly enjoyed. Casino staff was professional and friendly as well. The hotel needs a renovation in some areas and the front desk staff needs to realize that just because I book a vacation through a wholesaler; it doesn't make me a dirt bag. Social media is alive & well! Next time I'll try the Caribe Hilton. This was a 3 Star hotel.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 7, 2010
Never again!

Went there Aug 23-29, 2010. The pools that my husband and I went in were dirty, the water park was also dirty. The help wasn't as helpful as it is when you go to poorer islands they don't thrive on tips. The steak house had a leakie window and someone stuff a towel against the leak and the towel was stained, steak was 48.00 and baked potato was an additional 9.00, there is a restaurant within walking distance of the hotel and the food was great, the ac was kicking. The room was nice, we were in the marina and the view was beautiful, however you have to take the trolly back up to the hotel for breakfast and most of the restaurants which take about 10-15 minutes. Not much after 6 pm to do, the water park closes and the island is closed so not much for kids to do, yea they have an arcade but it is wee small. If you say you are paying cash at the bar some bartenders cut you a break. I wouldn't go here again, I don't understand why it was so pricey, not worth it, we had a horrible time, oh the ac also broke in our room.


30 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 3, 2012
Great, but hotel servces were over priced & no sun

Very nice hotel. Friday and Saturday night it is definitely the place to be. It was like all of Puerto Rico came to the hotel. They do have multiple clubs, bars and a casino at the hotel, so everyone goes there. It was nice being able to stumble right up to my room at the end of the night. I went w/my brother. So for a party spot, definitely stay here. TIPS: for day time activities, don't go through the hotel, they tack on like an extra $50 per person. Go straight to the company in the magazines they give you. Also, don't rent a car from the hotel, use "Charlie Car" down the street, it was only $25 dollars a day after taxes (DON"T USE TAXI's, they are a RIP OFF). IF it wasn't for the rainy weekend it would have been an awesome trip, but we still had a blast.

Great, but hotel servces were over priced & no sun
18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 21, 2011
great stay plus some money saving tips!!!

Me and my boyfriend just got back from our 5 night stay. We loved it and didn't want to leave. The pools were great and the beach was very clean. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Only down side is the drinks were pretty expensive and not very strong. Some money saving tips: don't buy the round trip shuttle tickets online; a taxi ride from the airport only costs $13. If you plan on doing some excursions i would recommend renting a car, especially if you want to go to the rainforest (which I would highly recommend). Even if your planning on going to old San Juan, a one way taxi ride it $20. The restaurants in the hotel are pretty expensive, try going to some restaurants down the street such as mi casita or Don Jose's. If you like nightlife, the club in the hotel is the best club in San Juan. If you are staying in the hotel, you get in free and don't have to wait in line. Overall, we loved our stay and when we go back we will be staying at the El San Juan Hotel.


33 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: kansas city, MO
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 25, 2012
El San Rude

My wife and I arrived between 3:30 and 4:pm to find our room not ready. We were told to "go have a drink at the bar and we will call you on your cell phone when the room is ready". After two drinks a piece (at least $50.00) at 5:30 pm we returned to the main desk only to be told "I said I would call you when the room was ready". We departed the hotel and walked to a nearby restaurant and had 2 more drinks. Walked back to the hotel and it was now 6:45 pm. We again were told the room was not ready. After telling them we had been up and traveling for 19 hours and we only flew on that day because it was our 35th wedding anniversary, they gave us 100.00 credit to be used in the hotel and magically our room was ready. The people behind the registration desk were very, very uncaring and rude. The rest of the staff were very pleasent. I will not go back!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Terrible

We arrived at 3:00 on Saturday and we were told that check in is at 4:00.pm. We were asked to give them a cell number that they could call when our room was ready. No one called us. We checked back at 4:45 and we were told that our room was still not ready. No one could tell us when it would be ready, but check in "starts" at 4:00 p.m. There were several other people that were also trying to get in to a room. My husband asked if we could be upgraded, because we were completely paid for an entire week, and they told us to be patient and see what they could do. It was a holiday weekend, and many guests were there for 3 days. While we were waiting I needed to find a restroom, I ask a server at the bar who was lighting candles on the cocktail tables "excuse me can you tell me where the nearest restroom is?" She looked at me and said "hi how are you?" I repeated the question and she said again "hi how are you?" I then said "bano?" She then realized that I was getting irritated and pointed to the restroom, she then asked if I was alright I said "I was but not anymore." Back at the front desk there was an increasing amount of people waiting for a room and getting very upset. The concierge then said the front desk manager did indeed upgrade us to a $700 a night room. Wow we were happy! The room was in a separate building right on the ocean overlooking one of the pools,on the second floor it was a suite with a balcony, Jacuzzi tub, and large bathroom. We could hear the ocean while laying in bed. One night we were visiting the casino and stopped at a bar (one of three) in the lobby, We went to two of them and they said they could not serve us because their computers were down. We went to the third bar and my husband asked them if their computers were down? They said yes but they could get us any thing we wanted they would just have to ring it up differently............. Tuesday it began raining before we could make it to the beach about 11:20 a.m. so we went to find lunch in the hotel because it was pouring out the little pizza and sandwich restaurant was supposed to open at 11:30. We along with 3 or 4 other couples were waiting outside the restaurant. We could see the workers getting ready and seemed to be arguing with each other one of them came over to the door that was slightly open and slammed it shut. We were still waiting at 11:45 a.m. we went else where. On Tuesday night we returned to our room at 11:30 p.m. right outside our room some one was power washing the pool deck cushions it was so loud the sliding glass doors were shaking. I called the front desk and told them and the response was "really?". Security then made the power washer stop about 10 minutes later. At 8:30 a.m. the next morning the power washer was back for about an hour. The very next night we came back to our room at about the same time 11:30 or so, and we had to call the front desk to have them turn off the pool music, there was no one at the pool and all of the pool lights were off. Again the response from the front desk was "really the music is on?" Needless to say it was back on everyday before 9:00 a.m. there was a speaker in a bush just beneath our balcony. On Thursday morning we were awakened by the groundskeepers gas trimmer trimming the grass just beneath our balcony. They begun trimming at 7:50.am. and did not finish until 8:45.am. We were ready to go home at this point. We only go on one vacation a year and we chose to go here, we ate at 3 of the restaurants in the hotel and usually do not complain about anything especially price, the prices at this resort were outrages a 10 oz can of beer $7.50 one meal we at that pool bar 2 burgers, an order of fries, 2 beers, and 2 sodas the bill was over $60.00 the fries were $8.00 alone. I was completely disappointed in this facility, it is very beautiful and clean, but the service was terrible. This was not a very relaxing vacation.


84 of 105 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Springfield MO
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year