All

El Dorado Seaside Suites Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 46 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.3 out of 5
"Was a good stay. We like a beach and there really isn't one Staff was excellent. Bar tenders wait staff especially Lucy and entertainment staff. Jose" – Iguana2
42 out of 51 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from room

All El Dorado Seaside Suites Customer Reviews

1-10 of 46 reviews. Sort by
November 28, 2011
Absolutely amazing resort

Could not have asked for anything more. From the atmosphere to the staff, El Dorado offered the best or the best. The staff was overly friendly and helpful and was willing to do anything they could to make the stay fantastic. Everywhere we went was a friendly smile and a warn welcoming "hola". They offered a phenomenal array of food, cocktails and activities. And anyone who visits MUST try they're signature Riviera Maya drink, it's colorful and very tasty! Room service was super fast at all hours of the day. We also took part in massages on the beach and a candle lit moonlight dinner that were both outstanding!!!!! We will def be visiting this destination again very soon and suggest that everyone do the same!!!!! And make sure to visit Alberto by the hut on the beach!!!! He is awesome!!!!


25 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 9, 2017
Fabulous Resort- Great Couples Retreat

First- the resort is really 3 different resorts all run by Karisma. This is great, because you have an expansive property to explore, multiple restaurants and a few different bars/lounges and beaches. Second- the room, buildings and services are all top-notch. Fabulous views (we stayed on the 5th floor over-looking the ocean). Semi-private pool on each balcony, very cool (but the water a bit cool--ocean was warmer, so we swam there instead). The interior décor, the landscaping, the lobby, massages...all very posh and high-class. Giant tubs and showers (you and 5 friends could fit in). Third- the staff-EVERY SINGLE STAFF MEMBER was sooo nice and polite and helpful. They have customer service dialed in. Very impressive. You also get a personal concierge assigned to you as your go -to guy for activities, excursions, etc. But everyone there was very nice and helpful. Our bartender at the lounge (Joshua) would smile at us as soon as he saw us walk in and had our drinks we always ordered ready by the time we walked to him. Tips are never asked for or expected, but are very appreciated. Tip them. They rock. Fourth- the food was truly magnificent. Very large variety, several different restaurants (the Sushi Place was our favorite) - all were either very good our supremely excellent. Didn't have a bad meal once. Hats off to the executive chef at this resort. Fifth- we did the snorkeling/sailing (loved it) and the Tulum ruins and Cenotes (caves with lakes). Both awesome excursions and recommend them. We also did a private dinner on the beach. Super great resort. Great value.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Arizona
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 1, 2011
Wonderful Resort

Very intimate and romatic resort. Be prepared for real relaxation and comfort surrounded by natural beauty.

Wonderful Resort
10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 5, 2015
Need To Work On Customer Service

We read reviews before our stay at El Dorado Seaside Suites and thought people were being very picky - after staying there we are in total agreement of all of them! The customer service is average at best. Our concierge was rude and never completed a request for us; we ended up having to go to the lobby concierge for things like a room service menu, bottled water, new shampoo and conditioner bottles and to continue to have our fridge stocked with more than two waters each day. The lobby staff and spa were amazing and saved our trip, but the rest of the staff were hit and miss; some were nice, many didn't even say hi and made you wait for service or a drink even if you were the only one around. Also, they don't do anything special for your honeymoon or anniversary; even after we let the lobby staff know how unhappy we were with our concierge, they only made us a reservation at a restaurant where we didn't need reservations and didn't have to wait for a table anyway (from previous trips we were expecting a little something like rose petals in our room or something small). So glad we didn't upgrade our room! We had the basic junior suite and it was fine, just had to walk down the stairs to reach a pool. We would have been disappointed to spend so much on an "ocean view" room. There is not much of a beach and a very bad smell across most of the resort. The food was very good overall - we loved the beach breakfast buffet the best and Mia Casa or the Pub for dinner. Everything from the beer to water is usually room temperature though - a little disappointing, but we got used to it. Overall, we had a great time meeting new friends, playing activities like volleyball and water polo, getting a Golden Elements massage at the spa (HIGHLY recommend this!) and eating/drinking often. We would not go back due to the lack of customer service. We were thrilled with our stay for our honeymoon at Excellence Play Mujeres and will go back in the future because the customer service is phenomenal! Cheap Caribbean was a great place to book through and saved us a couple hundred dollars compared to other sites - they also contact you before and at the start of your trip which was unexpected...I would definitely use them again!


13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: St. Louis, MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 11, 2017
Great resort, staff, and food

El Dorado Seaside is under the Karisma umbrella. It’s been open about a year. It’s called gourmet all-inclusive and it is upscale. The resort is about 1-1/2 hours south of Cancun airport. Transfers were relatively painless. About $45 round trip per person for a shared ride or $90 for a private transfer. The staff on the entire complex was about the friendliest we’ve encountered throughout Mexico and the Caribbean. The staff to guest ratio also had to be 1:5. All the grounds were attractive and very well maintained. The resort has three sections: Seaside Suites, Sensimar, and Hidden Beach (clothing optional). The complex has seven a la carte restaurants plus two buffets (food displays). The Klay Tulay and the Gourmet Pub require reservations so the assumption is that they’re the two best. Maybe but there’s little difference in quality and service among them all. A “long wait” at one of the non-reservation restaurants would be 20 minutes. Often, no waiting. If you want to make reservations for the week, see your building concierge your first morning at the resort. Seaside has a single two-part restaurant open for lunch only. Shuttle service is readily available. It’s advertised every 10 minutes but it’s more like every 2-3 minutes. If you’re energetic, you can walk everywhere. From the main lobby (check-in and 3 restaurants) to either Seaside or Sensimar is about a 10 minute walk. About 5 minutes between Seaside and Sensimar. Walking is a good option after dinner. The rooms are spacious and well-furnished. Each suite has a small balcony and a private entrance to the outdoor floor width pool. A pool on each of the six floors is shared with all fellow guests on that floor. Because of the shade, it’s a bit chilly so the main ground level pool is a better option. Service at the pool bar was excellent. There were several complaints about wet floors. When you open the balcony with the AC running, the high humidity readily condenses. Our cleaning person made up the room daily and mopped the floor then turned the AC down to 17 C to help dry it. That’s very cold so we had to turn the heat on to warm the room without getting condensation. After two days of this, I started hiding the HVAC remote in the nightstand. Even then, the floors stayed a bit moist and you had to walk carefully. Seaside did not have much of a swimmable beach because of the rocks. If you wanted a beach, walk/ride to Sensimar. Pool lounge chairs at Seaside were easy to get. Every morning, the staff would put out chair pads and towels. If a rolled towel was on the chair, it was available. Egyptian beds at the beach were at a premium. Beach lounge chairs for sun worshipers were always available. We did two excursions during the week. One day at Xplor adventure park ($149 pp) and one day with multiple activities in Sian Ka’an ($139 pp). We would recommend both. Because we were Cheap Caribbean guests, we booked out tours through Amstar. The preferred excursion vendor for Karisma is Lomas travel. They have several rep desks on property. You can charge Lomas excursions to your room. There were day passes available to Hidden Beach for $110 pp so you had to really want to see and be seen with other naked people. A great week and we would definitely do Karisma again.

View from room
9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Virginia
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 4, 2013
dreamy

wonderful service, relaxing, better than expected. All issues, including room change, handled quickly and professionally. Staff is fantastic. I went alone and had a wonderful time; never was felt to be out of place.. The staff made me feel comfortable, safe, and right at home. Food mostly fantastic, and if it was not, no problem to order something else. I'm a big swimmer and found the beach wonderful and ocean very warm and great for swimming. loved it!


9 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 27, 2014
Nice location, friendly staff, highly recommend

Went on vacation for a little R&R with a good friend. This very nice, all-inclusive adults only resort is well situated on the Riviera Maya for those that prefer to avoid the big crowds of Cancun. Easy to visit Playa del Carmen and Tulum, both recommended to add to your to do list. As for the resort itself (also a coconut tree plantation), I would highly recommend the swim up jacuzzi junior suites with direct access to the pools. We stayed in Villa 40, which was excellent and certainly worth the upgrade. Simply slide out of bed straight into your own private lounge chairs for a bit of sun before hitting the many options to eat, or simply order in with their 24 hour room service. Plenty of restaurants and bars to chose from with good food and drink options. Beaches are very clean with many options for laying in the sun with plenty of palapas and cabanas for shade. As with this stretch of Caribbean, lots of coral and rocks just off shore. Well laid out, clean and well maintained property is easy to get around, has good shows and offers plenty of activities although we mainly chilled at the swim up bar near our suite. We also enjoyed the Naay Spa water treatment which highly recommend. I'd like to send props out to Abraham (our bartender) and Bryant and Reina (our personal concierges), but there are so many others there that made this a truly enjoyable and relaxing holiday. Thank you all and looking forward to returning for a repeat experience.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 21, 2012
Fantastic Honeymoon Spot on a Budget!

My new wife and I simply had a FANTASTIC time at the El Dorado Seaside Suites. The facilities are kept in perfect condition and the food/drink selection is large enough not to ever get tired of any one item for at least a 7 day stay. Our biggest comment is how amazingly FRIENDLY THE STAFF is! At every opportunity, we were delighted by the smiling, and genuinely friendly, happy staff. From the bartenders/waiters, to the housekeeping staff. We did not encounter a frown or any issues AT ALL for our entire stay. It is for this reason alone that we plan to return in the near future. If you are looking for total white glove, Ritz Carlton service, you might be disappointed. But if you are looking for a fantastic value for an all-inclusive caribbean vacation, you can't do better than El Dorado Seaside! Thank you for a memorable honeymoon.


8 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 24, 2017
Not what we expected

We paid a lot of $$ to come here. The staff was great. Our room was on the 6th floor. There was ZERO SUN all shade for the rooms up high. The room pool was freezing. The regular pool was freezing also. There was only 1 pool on this property. We asked the desk to be transferred to the 1st floor for the sun. They told me $135 more per night. This place was not sold out there were a lot of empty rooms. We stayed in our original room rather than paying $135 for 5 more nights. The rooms were freezing. Told to leave the thermostat on #17. We tried to turn it up to 19-20 then the room became wet. I mean puddles of water on the floor and moisture building up on the sliding door. So back to 17 it was. Slept in sweats, 3 blankets and hoodies. Spoke to a few other guest and they were freezing also. Did not realize when I went to El Dorados web page the pictures were for the property next door. It was either a 10 minute walk or wait for a shuttle. Shuttle states every 10 minutes but waited for 20 and decided to walk bc no one was coming. Did not like the fact that we had to go next door all the time. In order to get a cab to leave the property you had to go next door and they only drop off next door. But again when you go to the hotel website it shows everything on their property. There is no beach. Had a chair by the water in was on an incline and rocks everywhere. One lady feel on a rock and twisted her knee. Had to fly home with crutches. No one was mopping up the water from the pool area and slipped down the stairs and was hurt. They were all over that to sign papers. So they wouldn't get sued. After that there was a person mopping all day long. Also, They did not follow up to see if I was ok or to offer us anything at all. Most places would at lease call that evening to see how I was or offer a partial comp. or a spa trip or something. But nope once we signed the paper they forgot all about us. We felt we paid a lot of money and received 20% of the value. Please check for a RIU Palace when looking for all inclusive. A lot of food choices on the property, no where else do you have to go, a lot of entertainment and multiple pools on site. I would not recommend this resort or ever visit a Karisma property again. We were told the same thing by several visitors on the property.


8 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Columbus Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 16, 2015
Highly average

Just returned 4/10/15 and was highly disappointed in the beach and main activity pool area. Only half of the resort has beach access & what beach is available is highly unattractive and littered with seaweed. The activities pool appears to be older and had tile missing in several areas. At both the beach & pool if you did not get up and save chairs by 6:15 AM they would all be taken & if you had saved one & went to eat breakfast & a owner needed a chair then yours would be moved so they could save seats. The staff was very friendly & with exception of the beach the resort was very clean. Several nights we were not left towels, wash clothes or place mats and later I was informed it was due to not leaving a daily tip for the room which I did when I left. All of the food and restaurants were good but 4 different nights in different restaurants we were asked if we wanted to order premium wine for a up charge which we selected a different up charge wine each time only to have them return saying they were out and have them to try to sell use a bottle almost twice the price we selected. The nightly entertainment was good and the margaritas are some of the best in Mexico.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year