All

El Dorado Royale Spa Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 104 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.5
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.6 out of 5
"We had a terrific week at the El Dorado - very relaxed, casual resort. 3 out of the 5 restaurants for dinner were excellent. Need some updating - towels, bedding, beach chairs. Overall would go back." – Mcat
113 out of 122 (93%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
view from an umbrella above the beach Our room Jealous? Main Pool Beautiful Beach Day! From the balcony Beach Infinity Pool Casita View from the pool of our casita Love the Swim up Bar!

All El Dorado Royale Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 104 reviews. Sort by
October 26, 2012
Absolute paradise!!!

We have been to a lot of all inclusive resorts before, but this is resort blows them all away. The food is totally amazing, you won't find a buffet here: 3 meals a day, gourmet, 3-4 courses, on top of the 24 hour room service!! I loved completing the breakfast form at night, sticking it in the door and having a gourmet breakfast delivered to my room at the time that we requested. The resort was only half full when we were there mid-October, so they upgraded us to the Casitas, which were gorgeous. There was a pool with swim up bar every 50 yards I think! The beach is narrow, but very long and great for walks. Yes, there are large sand bags, but the resort has to protect their beaches.... There were cabanas and chairs galore, take your pick...we would wander the pools in the afternoon and find the pool with the type of crowd or quiet that we wanted. The staff would bring you drinks on the beach or at the pool and randomly bring around treats like coconut ice cream (yum!!), Popsicles, tomato and cheese appetizers, or fresh cheese empanadas. If its your anniversary, bring your marriage certificate and they give you a free romantic dinner on the beach, romantic breakfast in bed, and buy one get one massages on the beach!!! The staff were so happy and willing to help and pamper you the entire time.... It was absolute paradise...

Absolute paradise!!! Absolute paradise!!!
35 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Philadelphia PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 3, 2012
Great experience

I went to El Dorado Royale with my boyfriend and 2 other couples. We could not have picked a better resort for the 6 of us. The resort was beautiful, service was great and most importantly the food was delicious. We had low expectations on the food because of past experiences at all inclusive resorts; however, that was not the case here at all, the quality of the food at all the restaurants was delicious from appetizers to desserts. And even the room service meals were great!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34

October 10, 2010
El Dorado Royale'-AMAZING !!

We went Sept.29 thru Oct 6,2010. Met at the Front door with Champagne, room wasn't quite ready,so we were escorted to JoJo's Cafe for Lunch, which was delicious,and the service was a 10 out of 10-And stayed this way throughout our stay, Servers go way above what normal waiters/waiteresses do. The Restaurant Managers make sure you are hsppy, and ALL your needs, wants, and desires are fulfilled. CocoTal's Restaurant Manager even had the Chef prepare a special complete Mexican dinner for Karen, my Fiancee', She wanted Mexican food and we found out THAT night the Mexican Restaurant was closed for renovations. The prepared dinner was outstandingly delicious, you don't get this kind of service at MOST Resorts. All the Restaurants ( And we tried them all, some 2 & 3 times ) were excellent, service impeccable, professional, courteousy plus, another 10 out of 10. My only problem was the LACK of enforcement of ANY Dress Code, we saw T-shirts, hats, cut-off jeans, muscle shirts being worn by the men at DINNER. Why bother to have a Dress Code, if you don't enforce it. I wore dress shorts, shirts with collars, and loafers...as did several of the 'older men' in the restaurants. Being slack for the Breakfast meal is fine, different atmosphere. The Bars were very good also, the bartenders knew their stuff, made us drinks that we really liked, the "MudSlide" has become a new drink of mine...LOL The nightly shows were ok,some better than others; the "Elvis Show" was pretty good,as was the Mayan Dance Group ( great outfits & headdresses ). There was a Fire Dance show on the beach that was pretty good. Just seemed that the shows just didn't fit the atmosphere of the resort- Which is 4 Diamond..The Shows were 4 GOLD Stars, good, but could be better. The resort property is awesome, landscaping is wonderful, with so many blooming Hibiscus..beautiful. The Beach was so nice..water was crystal clear, could see the fish swimming around your feet. Nice shells available also. I could go on & on ..THIS Resort is the BEST to which I have EVER been, I usually use the RIU Resorts, and they are good, but this is ROYAL !! That's why it is ROYALE'


14 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: "Reeves Ranch" Goose Creek,South Carolina
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 16, 2012

This resort is absolutely beautiful and very very clean. The staff is wonderful, very helpful and pleasant. Our room was clean and very nice. The food was great. The only time I was a little aggravated was eating out a couple times, the service was a little slow, but we had no where to go and were in no hurry so it wasnt really a big deal. This isnt a wild party kind of place, which I liked very much. They had some night entertainment but for the most part we were early risers and enjoyed the day at the pool and beach. Some times there would be wedding parties that dominated the pools or the restaurant, but not enough to upset me. I didnt mind the sandbags on the beach that much and we did swim in the ocean quite a bit. But it does take away from the view a little bit. Overall, a wonderful vacation and I highly recommend to anyone.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 12, 2017

Overall nice resort, very friendly staff! positive: well kept grounds free bike rentals to ride throughout grounds clean rooms entertainment was ok staff is very accommodating clean gym negative: The beach, too many rocks, swimming is very limited. I have been to other resorts in Rivera Maya, this is the worst beach, it's a shame!. This is an adults only resort which is great, however they should have some sort of game room, pool tables etc. There was a pool table in the back of the bar at the main entrance, the table was in very poor shape with all the tips on the five pool cues broke. It was garbage! not fitting for a resort! The food was ok, limited menus, small portions.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey, USA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 1, 2015
Second magnificent trip to El Dorado

Simply sublime. Food, drink, accommodations, grounds, and service were all as pitch perfect as they were seven years ago on our honeymoon. You better believe we will be back for trip number three, but we won't be waiting another seven years! I would like to add that my wife is a strict vegetarian and she was well accommodated. They also offer many gluten free options for those interested. CheapCaribbean made booking fast and easy, including arranging transportation between the airport and the hotel, which is essential.

Jealous?
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 12, 2016
What a wonderful place

Sitting on our balcony as I write this enjoying our last day. What a beautiful place. Food is gourmet, so many choices. Fuentes culinary kitchen was a favorite. Go and see for yourself. Room was delightful, large and cleaned well by Hellen each day. Resort is large. Electric cart shuttle but we walked everywhere to burn calories. Really relaxing. Activities if you want. Adolfo was great on our Green House tour. If you are a beach lover only downside is lots of coral so swimming is a challenge. I did use the kayaks and that was fun. Reef project is a great story. I travel world-wide and this resort is top shelf. Management is excellent and employees seem very happy and turnover is low. All good signs. Do not hesitate to book this all-inclusive adult only resort.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 18, 2016
A Pleasuring Experience

Disclaimer - First-time resort goer here, so not much to compare to. Also, we were here at the beginning of the year, a relatively slow season for the resort and with nice weather. Overall (4/5) The resort is designed to provide excellent service but is also designed to up sell you on their premium packages. If this doesn't bother you, than you will have a good time at the resort, no doubt. The resort itself is very pretty and well-groomed. There are more than enough dining options and all of them are great. The service is also great. The only downside to the resort itself is the traffic of golf carts. Its nice that they have room service and chauffeuring, but when walking throughout the resort, it is kind of annoying to be constantly moving out of the way for them. the entertainment was nice. We aren't clubbers so I couldn't tell you about the after ours DJ scene, but it WAS there. The only other downfall in our trip was hearing heavy bass until 2 AM. This can be avoided, though, by requesting a room far enough away from the after hours area. Value (3/5) I don't have much to go on here. At first, I thought we were getting a good deal because there were resorts much more expensive. But there were also resorts much cheaper. I'm only giving the value three out of five palm trees because we had talked to an experienced resort goer who said we can get the a very similar resort qualtiy-wise in the same area for about 50% cheaper. Service (5/5) The staff at the resort was very nice and extremely accommodative. The food service was great. If there was a wait for a restaurant we were given a pager most of time. Any wait time was less than what they said it was which was delighting. This included room service as well. You can tell they really try to go above and beyond expectations. Beach & Pools (4/5) Depending on the day, the beaches can be either a 3 out of 5, or a 5 out of 5. All around, the beaches are OK. The only drawback are the WWII-esc cement blocks and giant whale-looking sand bags staggered across the shore about 50 feet out to break the waves. This gives enough room to enjoy the water and even some of the waves, but takes away from the natural feel of the beach. Free snorkling in crystal-clear water with tons of cool fish make up for this a little bit though. Free kayaking was also available, plus wave runners and wind surfing. The many pools were all very nice, each one having its own swim-up bar. For a more social atmosphere with music and activities, there is the large pool at the center of the resort. For a more quite and peaceful experience, the smaller pools on the periphery are also nice. Dining Options(5/5) The food is one of the best things about this resort. There are more than enough options and a very nice variety. And all of the restaurants have really good food. We very much enjoyed the Asian cuisine at Kampai, the Flank Steak at JoJo's and the Dorado Hot Dog (bacon, cheese and caramelized onions...) for lunch. Cocotal is where you want to go pretty much every time for breakfast where they make great omelets and smoothy shots! The coffee is also good. There is also an interactive dinner experience where you learn how gourmet local Mayan food is prepared. Room Comfort (3/5) The rooms were standard, I guess, for being standard. However, your standard hotel room in the US is nicer. Nothing really special. They do include hot tubs and the beds were large and very comfortable. The showers were also nice and big. No problems with hot water. I greatly enjoyed the bunny slippers they give you. If you prefer a really nice room, then I would suggest a premium suite. But any sane person would spend 90% of their waking stay outside!

Main Pool Beach
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 20, 2016
Absolute Paradise

Upon booking my recent trip to Mexico I started by browsing Cheap Caribbean and was overwhelmed by all of the options. I ended up booking El Dorado Royale because my girlfriend's mother recommended it and we flew down there with no expectations. Within 10 minutes of my arrival I was already planning my return and we had a wonderful time. It is important to note, however, that this resort has a romantic atmosphere and is geared towards couples, rather than a "boys trip" or "girls trip". Being that I was traveling with my girlfriend I was pleasantly surprised to find that this was the case. Upon arriving on our first day we were greeted by many friendly staff who walked us through the simple check in process over a glass of champagne. We then were taken to our beautiful room (the lowest level room in the resort) which had a luxurious King Size bed as well as a sitting area, a private Jacuzzi, and private patio with a hammock. The resort has many pools, all with swim up bars, and a large beach with ample and varied seating, making waking up early to find prime real estate a non issue. In addition to lounge chairs, the pools and beaches had comfortable King sized beds all over the place. There was also a nice mix of seating in the sun and shade which made it easy to move in and out of the sun throughout the day. The food was absolutely phenomenal as there was a wide variety of gourmet food. My favorites were De Italia, Rincon Mexicana, and Fuentes Culinary Theater. The one exception is La Isla (Mediterranean) which for some reason was pretty mediocre compared to all of the other restaurants. I would avoid La Isla. My only complaint about the restaurants is that the hostesses were VERY slow to seat guests. As a full disclosure, I am a New Yorker so I am used to a certain level of speed when it comes to things like this but I did find it frustrating that we'd walk into a restaurant and stand in line behind 1-3 other couples and have to wait 5-10 minutes to finally be seated. The service was magnificent as well. In my 6 days on the premises I don't think I encountered a single staff person who was not extremely friendly. In fact, a staff person won't even walk by you without enthusiastically saying Hola! There are several interesting excursions available as well. We did the Coba excursion which involved touring and climbing an ancient Mayan temple as well as touring a Mayan village and eating a meal of traditionally prepared Mayan food. Last but not least, the value was truly unbelievable. I won't list figures since they change throughout the year but our deal was bundled with flights and we found our price to be very affordable and we couldn't believe the value we received. Highly recommend!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 24, 2012
Top notch resort

We did a lot of research online comparing reviews and pictures of dozens of resorts. Me and my wife agreed on El Dorado Royale. I have to say that it was definitely the best decision we have ever made. From the moment you first arrive and walk into the grand lobby, you are greeted with a champaign toast and a scent that is so intoxicating that the wife and I had to buy a bottle to bring home and spray to relive the memory. There are nothing but a bunch of happy, smiling employees that say hello "hola" to you every time you pass. The resort is kept spotless every second of every day. The dining was incredible, the food is amazing and the servers are excellent. Two swim-up bars and canals that lead from room to pool. One thing we were super impressed with and they don't advertise much on the web, is that they are a very Eco friendly/Green facility. From the low energy wasting AC units, to the solar panels that feed the rooms, to the fact that all of the vegetables that you eat at any of the restaurants are grown on site at their own greenhouses. We just got back two weeks ago and are in the process of booking our next stay here for next year. I hate to speak so highly of this resort in fear that it will become over popular and impossible to book..


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year