All

El Cozumeleno Beach Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cozumel Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 253 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.4
3.8 out of 5
"The staff is great. They offer fun activities and get everyone involved." – corona1babe
214 out of 280 (76%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
How would you like this in YOUR room? Sunset from our room Hubby in the Hammock for a Siesta... View off our balcony 5rh floor Our view View form the Pier View from our balcony! Sunset on the beach THE WAITRESS IN THE WORDL Perfect place Balcony View Mid-day Poolside enjoying new friends Balcony View 2nd room view Morning coffee view Sunset on the beach! Not so much hot water bathroom sink From the pier from our balcony Sunset at El Cozumeleno View from our Room door that doesn't close Great view Sunrise Sunset View from main restaurant Room View

All El Cozumeleno Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 253 reviews. Sort by
February 15, 2013
Beautiful Cozumel!!! El Cozumeleno was Wonderful..

We are just 2 days back from our wonderful and restful vacation. First, know I read every review written on El Cozumeleno prior to leaving on vaca. The reviews and suggestions were invaluable. So make sure to read on! I want to acknowledge Cheap Caribbean. The service was great. I had a question on my airline tickets the night before and a helpful CSR was available to explain everything... It all ran like clock work. When you arrive in Cozumel, plan to take the shuttle taxi's. They are inexpensive and the El Cozumeleno is one of the first stops. The resort is only 3 miles from the airport. Upon arrival we were greeted with cocktails right at the front desk and were blessed with a room overlooking one of the pools and the ocean on the 8th floor. What a view!!! We hurried down to the pool to catch the last of the sun the first day...Sunset is about 5:30 this time of year and the sunsets are gorgeous. We spent the next 6 days, sunning, snorkeling, playing sand volleyball, participating in aqua aerobics, drinking of course and filling our faces with food at every turn. Make sure to bring water shoes to wander down the beach there are lots of shells and some areas worth venturing in, are rocky but beautiful and you will need them if you want to snorkel anywhere other than the sand beach at the hotel. The fish are lively there but better snorkeling can be found left of the hotel and while jeeping (a 1 day must do!) around the island. Ask around for the best bars to stop at that promote snorkling out of their facility. We took the free Dive class at the quite pool...and loved it. It's offered twice per day. Leah and Javiar were great instructors. We plan to take classes here at home and maybe get certified in Cozumel...We were told its a big cost savings. Bring insulated drinking cups for the pool and ask for doubles. Drinks are weak. They will pour inexpensive well liquors but have a few top shelf...you have to ask for them. Make sure you make a reservation for the fine dining restaurant by 8:00 AM to get in and MOST IMPORTANT!!! Put your pool towel a book or something out to claim pool chairs by 5;30-6:00 AM or you will be out of luck!!! The food is decent. If you're looking for gourmet...it is not but it's good. Make sure to bring at least 100...one dollar bills and 50, fives. This advice is invaluable. Please tip generously, these good people serve well, work hard and don't make much money. Say hello to Jose...he's worked there for 33 years! Please remember your house keeper. Our room was kept immaculate. Learn some key Spanish phrases, but no worries most everyone speaks fluent English! We met the greatest people...We now have new Canadian, Indiana, Wisconsin and Minnesota friends!!! We plan to visit again...maybe next year. We will be looking for a great deal on Cheap Caribbean for our next adventure.

Mid-day Poolside enjoying new friends Hubby in the Hammock for a Siesta...
128 of 134 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: NE.side of Cleveland Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 5, 2013
Loved it!

To determine if you should read on, we are a family of 4 with a 10 year old and a 7 year old. Keep that in mind when reading... We just wanted a quick, easy, quiet get-away. We went 4/27-5/2. We had great weather - 85 or so. The resort was much smaller than we are used to, which was intentional. It was refreshing to not have to walk for 10 minutes to get to the restaurant. The fancy restaurant was very good - but I actually really enjoyed the buffet - not because the food was better, but eating right on the beach was amazing. We could eat and then our kids could just hang out in the sand while we lingered at the restaurant while still watching the kids. I haven't seen that anywhere else. We stayed in a huge ground level room in the North end of the hotel, which was perfect. Was the room decor beautiful? No, but by the time all four of us unpacked our bags and unloaded our snorkeling gear, it really didn't matter. My 10 year old slept on one of the day beds so we didn't have to worry about him sharing with his sister. The room really sleeps 6 people. The maid was great -she even FOLDED the kids' clothes! It was quiet and clean. We were able to get a pool chaise and/or a beach chair under a palapa (is that what they are called) any time of the day. The snorkeling was great! Do what the other people suggested and walk about a 1/2 mile south and drift back. It was fun! Even our 7 year old could handle it with ease. Water/Beach shoes are a must! We rented a car, which we didn't plan on doing but got roped into it at the airport. It was easy and very safe to drive there and were really happy that we did it. Don't spend money on the shuttle that you can book with your trip. You can get a cab or you can spend $10 per person (each way) for a shuttle to get from the airport to El Cozumeleno. The waiters were great! They made whatever my kids wanted - whenever they wanted. I also read about the weak drinks - I beg to differ. We brought $200 in singles and tipped for everything. I really don't think that you need to do it, but it made us feel good and they really worked hard there. Everyone was very nice - but I have to say that everyone has been really nice at every all inclusive that we have been to in the past. We did meet a bunch of people who stay at El Cozumeleno every year for 12-15 years which says a lot about the place. This was our first time but we would for sure go back! We did not have our kids visit the kids club but they did play a lot of mini golf - right on the beach! Nice! Oh, don't touch the growth under the water on the pier. Both my daughter and husband got what we are calling "pier rash". It stung! We rubbed it with seaweed (apparently that is supposed to help) and Bactine. It went away in a day or two. All and all, this was an amazing, easy, and very relaxing trip! El Cozumeleno was amazing and so was Cozumel! It was a GREAT value! Don't hesitate to go here!


31 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: WI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 9, 2012
My experience at the El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

My family and I just returned from El Cozumeleno and we had a wonderful time. The staff was so friendly, helpful and accomodating. They make you feel like family while you're there (in a good way :)). My one complaint would be the quality of the food. Although none of the food was awful, nothing stood out either. My husband complained that they didn't offer any grilled meats or seafood. He thought that would greatly improve the taste of some of the dishes. I guess we were expecting a higher quality of seafood but it was not the case. The shrimp were not gulf size, the fish didn't seem fresh. On the other hand, the gazpacho, pastas and corn tortillas were very good, as were the vast array of dessert choices. Food is important to us so that is why I wouldn't recommend this place to a friend. I thought the staff was exceptional; dinners were always presented beautifully, wait staff were attentive and the selection was varied. They offered one wine and it was not good. There are plenty of good cheap wines out there that they could have offered. My kids liked the food; my daughter loved the smoothies, french toast and all the desserts. She also ate seafood every night and enjoyed it. My son is quite picky but was able to eat scrambled eggs with three meats, burgers/hot dogs for lunch and whatever meat was offered for dinner. He liked the pork dishes a lot. The resort is very pretty and situated right on the carribean ocean. The pools are kept in immaculate condition as well as the surrounding pool area. This is one of the cleanest resorts I have been too. If they just improved their quality of meats and offered a decent wine, and maybe two types of beers, I would definitely go back.


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 20, 2012
BEST TRIP EVER

The El Cozumeleno Resort was the best vacation I have ever been on. I couldn't ask for a better place to spend my 21st birthday; from the welcoming Pina Coladas to the pristine rooms, from the breath taking views to the more than delightful service, this place is an absolute top notch resort. There was always activities to join in on with the most welcoming and wonderful staff: Carlitos, Jorge, Renee, Edgar, Teresa and Enrique were always making sure we were having a blast, I don't think the smile ever fell off my face when we were spending time with this staff. Salvador was our ever present and diligent waiter at the pool and happily remembered our order making us feel like the most important guest (which I know many of the other guests share these feelings) This resort felt like a 5-Star resort, I have had a very blessed childhood and have been to some very nice and expensive resorts, but this place was beyond anything I have been to. It was clean ALL THE TIME, there was always somebody happy to help with your every need, and it was fun and relaxing. I will always come back to the marvelous food and drinks, but especially the service. I will always recommend this resort to anybody who is looking to go to Mexico, it was absolutely amazing!


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Fort Collins, CO
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 3, 2012
WE LOVED THE EL COZ!

My husband & I just got back from our 1 week stay at the El Cozumeleno all inclusive hotel. We had one of our best vacations ever! It's located just north of downtown San Miguel on a beatiful stretch of white sand beach with some of the best snorkeling on Cozumel right in front of the hotel. The hotel was very clean and the pools were laid out very nicely with even a shady pool for when you want to get out of the sun. The bar and resturant staff were very freindly, personable and were always there to provide you with good service and even remembered your drinks. In the past, we have stayed at some of the huge resorts but never again! Our ocean front room had a great view overlooking the pools and the beach where we could watch the sun set every night. In fact, our room was never more than 2 minutes away form everything. The hotel only has 260 rooms which is small by resort standards, but we loved the fact that is was not crowded and everything we wanted to do was a short walk from our room. Rright now thru October is a great time to check in to the El Coz beause it's typically a slow time of the year and not only can you get the best deals but you can practically have the whole place to yourself. If you want to go to downtown San Miguel, which has some great shopping, it's only a 7 dollar cab fare to get there. Cheap Carribean provides you with the beat deals in travel and we we be using them for more of our travel needs. ButI can tell you that when ever we stay on Cozumel, we will be staying at the El Coz. We're home !!!!

View form the Pier View from our Room
13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Austin Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 4, 2011
Better for families than young, married couples

Here’s the skinny on what my wife and I feel about our recent stay at El Cozumeleno Beach Resort (returned from resort January 28, 2011). We are a couple in our mid/upper 20s and have been married for a few years… As stated previously, we feel this resort is a better fit for families with children, or retirees. The resort has may activities, pools and a decent beach to keep kids occupied while in view of their parents at the bar, restaurant, lounge chair, etc. There were several families at the resort when we were there. There were also many retiree aged people there, not that this is a bad thing, we met some very nice people from northern states and Canada…just realize, there really is not much in between. If you are going to party with other 20 or 30-somethings, this is not the place for you. As far as price goes, we feel it was not a bad deal. The biggest selling point for us was that we could fly out of Cincinnati (always in the top 2 of most expensive airports to fly out of in the US) for the same price as other regional airports that are typically MUCH less expensive (Dayton, Indianapolis, Columbus, Lexington, etc). Service was probably the best thing about the resort. Most staff was very friendly and eager to please. Candelario “the Candy Man” (the pool bartender) is the best bartender (ask him for a “Riviera Maya”); Jose and Naomi (servers from the beach & pool areas) are also great. Make sure you find them, they will provide excellent and personable service. The pools were nice, but didn’t do much more than look at them since they are fairly chilly in late January. The ocean was beautiful, but the beach left much to be desired. They did a fair job keeping it clean, however there were lots of rocks and shells that can make walking barefoot a not-so-pleasurable experience. The piers created somewhat of an unnatural eyesore in the pristine waters. The food was so-so. Depends on your tastes. Word to the wise: order food as much as you can. It is much better that way. For breakfast, have them make you a fresh omelet or eggs. For lunch, order off the lunch menu, do not suffer on the stuff from the buffet bars. For dinner, make a reservation for the formal dining room. That is where the best food is. Filet mignon and the duck were among my favorites. Buffet bars always have lots that kids like (fries, chicken nuggets, pizza, etc). We both agree food on cruises we have been on is much better. The room we had was nice! Towards the top, overlooked the whole resort and the ocean. The balcony was quite relaxing for just sitting and observing the surroundings. Cathedral ceilings were a nice addition. Biggest downfall, the bed and pillows. If you like sleeping on rocks, this will be good for you! As for us, we anxiously waited the morning light every day as we could not “sleep” past 6 am. A couple other notes, the building is one of the nicer ones on this side of the island, but does show a bit of its age. Use actual keys to open the doors (not electronic keys). Some of the areas around the resort are a bit sketchy/abandoned. It appears the hurricanes from several years ago have had lasting effects. Drinks, to us at least, seemed a bit weak. Not sure if they’re watering down the liquor or the liquor is just poorly made. Go to MEXICO NIGHT! The show is great…stereotypical (dances, singing, and mariachi), but great! Finally, don’t even bother asking for a late checkout. We had a flight out of Cozumel at 3:30, but checkout is at noon. We asked if we could stay in our room until one. They told us no, but if we wanted to we could have the bellman hold our luggage and they would give us a different room we could shower in if we wanted to. Well, we did that, but they only gave us 15 minutes for both of us to clean up. The whole process is a hassle. It is best just to get ready in your room before noon, check out, leave luggage with bellman, then hang out for more food and drinks before getting your ride to the airport.  Hope we have been helpful!!!


35 of 39 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 25, 2012
Overall great value

The stay at El Cozumeleno was great. Here are some to the point thoughts of the general pros and cons: Pros: -great friendly and helpful staff. they always welcome and greet you with a smile. -soft beach waves. I have two small children and was concerned with harsh waves and the waves at cozumel overall are not rough. -plenty of activities to do right at the resort. if you're looking to just sit back and relax like me and my family and not want to venture out too often, there's plenty to do right at the resort. pool and beach obviously. there's also a kids room, free kayak, free snorkeling, free miniature golfing. there's also wave runner and some services that come right to the pier at the beach. -free room service. this is awesome early in the morning when you're too tired to go downstairs to drink some coffee. -theme nights are fun, especially the Mexican theme night. -Food is pro and con. The pro is that the resort is all inclusive which is very convenient when you have a family of four. Not having to worry about additional costs of meals and snacks, etc. The con is the food can feel redundant very quick. Also, it's not the best tasting except for maybe the tacos. Alcohol is included in the price which is great but obviously it's not the best quality. Cons: -The rooms are two or three stars at best. And the bathroom stunk in our room. I think it was the toilet mostly... smelled a little like sewage. -The beach is not clean. There are lots of shells and other little things. I think water shoes would be a good idea especially for little children. -Lots of dead coral reefs on the beach which again, could be painful on the feet especially for little children. All in all, I would recommend the resort. We had a great relaxing time.


24 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 10, 2012
The Cozumeleno

My husband and I have been to Cozumel 5 times and The Cozumeleno was the best place we've stayed among the others that were all top star places. We stayed 18 nights and our kids and 10 month old granddaughter joined us for a week and it was fabulous the entire time. The service was truly exceptional. You will feel very cared for and catered to. It was super clean. The food was marvelous, lots of choices. Our king bed and spacious room were very comfortable. The shower pressure slowed down here and there and they could use a few more beach chairs. We will definetely go back.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 13, 2010
dont expect a champagne life style on a beer budge

I have read a number of poor reviews. Look it is a great place to relax and have a great time. The service is amazing. The place is spotless. The food is average we recommend eating from the menu or eating at the restaurant. The grounds are wonderful and we recommend getting a car to explore the island. We had a wonderful time. We travel all over the world. I would say it is a solid 3 star. Remember it is Mexico. You are on vacation. Enjoy yourself and let the little thing slide. Bring your own mugs because the drinks taste a little funny in the plastic glasses that they give you; ask for name brand alcohol every time. They have it in the back. And tipping is defiantly the way to go. You will get better service and it is the right thing to do. The average worker makes less than 300 us dollars per month. The people are friendly and will help make your stay worth the trip. We will go back.


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: salt lake city
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 19, 2011
Great Vacation

Great recommendation from the Cheap Caribbean staff, I let them know it was a Dad/ Daughter trip (11 year old) anywhere in the caribbean and they recommended The Cozumeleno. We had the best snorkeling in front of the resort, just bring some bread from the restaurant and the fish will come by the hundreds. We met lots of nice people that had returned several times to this hotel, one of the reasons was because of the staff at the hotel is # 1 in my book, we were treated very well whether we tipped or not and did not meet anyone (staff) that we could say left us with a bad impression. Things we did right was bringing rash guards for added sun protection and water shoes to better access snorkeling areas also, we brought our own snorkeling gear........ the hotel lends you snorkeling gear but only for an hour. Overall we had a great trip and I will return with my daughter on all her Spring Breaks!!! (Yeah, right Dad) or until she's 18.......


14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Torrance,CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year