All

El Cid La Ceiba Beach Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cozumel Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 17 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
3.7
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4 out of 5
14 out of 17 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
A Goliath Grooper ...

All El Cid La Ceiba Beach Customer Reviews

1-10 of 17 reviews. Sort by
May 15, 2014
Great Vacation, Great Deal

The El Cid has wonderful employee's, it's that simple. My wife and I, on one of our "just the two of us" trips decided to do an all inclusive instead of a cruise for the first time. We booked for the value and overall ratings. We obviously made the right choice. This is an older property, however the staff does an awesome job to keep it really nice. The room (6th floor, tower) was perfect for us, the view was incredible and we like the hustle of the cruise ship pier nearby. We slept great, and the cleaning staff as we would discover throughout the week was incredible. The room was very clean at all times. If you search, you will find something to complain about, if that's what you want to do on vacation. There is only one restaurant with one menu, if you need award winning food for three meals a day stay elsewhere. The food was fine for us, and we knew we were going to eat some meals off property anyway. The property has plenty of area to lay out for the sun, we never had trouble finding beach chairs. there are two ways to enter the beautiful, crystal water. There is an on site dive shop, although I am a diver, I did not dive this trip. I did speak with the dive shop staff and on my next trip I would probably use them. We did snorkel every day in the lagoon and did enjoy it. The beach side/ pool side experience was great, we met new friends and had plenty to drink and eat. The restaurant and the beach side share the same serving staff, so don't get impatient with the wait staff. We met probably the best waiter any where, Eliazar is not only a great server but also a total service professional. If he could see us, he made it his personal job to make sure we were having fun and had what we needed. Eliazar was incredibly friendly and fun to be around, I would put this server up against anyone anywhere for true quality of service. From check in thru check out, we had a great vacation and appreciate the staff of the El Cid for making our first total island trip awesome. My hint- don't look too hard to find something to complain about, enjoy your trip. The owner/management should be very proud of their employee's/staff for the incredible job they do to make a great impression on their guests. Thanks for a great time.


28 of 28 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Platte City, Missouri
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Excellent Value

We stayed at the El Cid from 8/14-8/16, it was a short stay however it was a great one. We arrived a bit early and the room wasn't ready until 12 and we couldn't get our all inclusive bracelet until 1. The bracelet part was a little annoying, like 2 hours made a difference? Anyway... the hotel is small. The beach area is nice but I could see it not being for everyone though. The water is CRYSTAL clear. Beautiful views and yes you can see the cruise ships every day. We found that entertaining and nice to look at. The best part about this hotel is the FOOD. The food was really amazing the drinks were excellent. Although there was only one main restaurant we enjoyed it and I have stayed any many all inclusive and this has to be one of the best as far as food goes. Some tips: There is a scooter place right outside the hotel, we rented one for the day and went to the different beaches on the island, that was a great time and would suggest that to anyone. The scooter did have a flat after driving it to the first beach we went to, but the people there at the beach helped us, called the rental place for us and it wasnt long before the rental place dropped off a new one! If you are looking to buy souveniers, NEVER go with the first or even third price they give you. They REALLY rip you off because most of them are making commission off what they sell. One place was charging $65 for a sombero hat (because it was "authentic"), mind you we saw SAME HAT was downtown for $15, and told them that and they still try to get a higher price. BEWARE.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 26, 2011
Relaxed in Cozumel

El Cid is a nice hotel - the room we were in was spacious with a living room kitchen combo, and an attached bedroom. There was a large shower as well as over sized tub in the bedroom area. Small fridge to put drinks and food in was included, plus all dining utensils i.e. forks, knifes, spoons, glasses... The room's overlook the west side of the island. There is a decent sized beach plus scuba shop on grounds. The water can only be descibed as God's swimming pool with 100' + visibility! There is a large roped of area that El Cid has to snorkel or swim in. Food at El Cid was very good, and the service was excellent. The only negative I could give would be that it takes a while for the food, but it is the same all over the island - I assume it is due to the freshness of the food (all fresh tasty ingredients). I would definitely return to El Cid La Ceiba!


25 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 22, 2011
Good Vacation

The vacation was really good, the service was great, and the hotel (room, pools, beach) were really good. The only thing we didn't like was the food. There weren't many options for food, one restaurant only and the same menu for the 8 days we were there.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Louisville, KY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 13, 2013
All wants and desires at fingertips.

Dive shop and trips within hotel. So convenient, fun divers, great crew,super dive sites and good value. The Fury snorkeling and beach trip fun, booked thru hotel. Outstanding snorkeling front of hotel; lobster, fish and schools. Had all inclusive, can't beat ! Service was gracious and immediate. Message nice break from activities. Food and drinks very good. Jeep rental and taxi service right out front door. Really, we wanted for nothing. Then the ocean views! Breath taking! What a trip!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Green Country Oklahoma
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 18, 2013
Great experience at El Cid Cozumel

We were unimpressed by the reception given us (unfriendly and unaccommodating) by the front desk person, Rocia, and then told that our check-in time was 4:00 PM. We arrived at 11:30 AM which made for a long wait period to actually get into the room. However, we sat at the bar and enjoyed the ocean view from the dining area and our room was made ready for us by 2:30 PM. This still was a fairly lengthy wait time for our room. I think that management can improve on this. The hotel room on the 7th floor tower was very nice with a balcony and the staff provided a nice welcome gift for our 10th wedding anniversary by providing a bottle of champagne in the room. The air condition in our room was great and we had a comfortable bed. Cruise ships were a nice view from our ocean side balcony. The hotel has a small beach with nice beach chairs and umbrella's. Water access is limited by stairs into the water so walking along the beach would be limited to a trip toward town to find an open stretch of beach. All inclusive is worth the money. Breakfast is excellent with buffet and fresh squeezed juices. They have a chef with made to order omelets, pancakes, etc. Lunch also was good but dinner off the menu and buffet was below average. Dinner needs improvement. However, there pizza is the best I ever had. Compliments to the chef on the pizza oven. We always tipped the wait staff to acknowledge our appreciation of their hard work even though it was an "all inclusive". The service is excellent and wait staff are friendly. The pool is small but clean and you can swim up to the bar. Dining is right on the water which is very nice. For future reference : CheapCaribbean should alert people interested in a stay at this hotel that the premium food and drink package would be the way to go for better alcoholic beverage options. If we had been advised prior to booking the trip we would have gladly paid the extra for this option. The drinks that came with our package were mediocre at best. Their bottle and tap beer was barely drinkable. We choose the Deluxe room all inclusive but this does not include the premium food and drink package. We did the Fury snorkeling tour with a lunch provided and private beach excursion. That was great. A little sunshine and less overcast would have made it better. Also, we did the Fly High Zip line and that was a blast. The staff at the hotel did a barbeque on the beach during the week and that was excellent. I cannot comment on the diving since we do not dive but the snorkeling right off the beach at hotel was pretty good. Rooms come equipped with a DVD player but unless you bring your own movie the hotel has no DVD's. I think it would be a plus if the hotel made an investment for some current movies to provide for the guests when they want to hang in and watch a movie. I recommend that travelers select transportation to their hotel at the airport as the pre-booked transportation is overpriced. And when you are exiting the airport walk directly out otherwise you get the whole time share thing at a booth prior to exiting. Overall we had a very nice stay and would recommend the hotel. We also would come back again. Andres Maillard , general manager, does a great job with this hotel. Our Compliments.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 26, 2013
Great resort for a relaxing vacation.

This was a great all inclusive resort. The food was great. It was much better than expected since it was an all inclusive. My favorite dishes were the different soups. All of the staff at the resort were very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. We loved going snorkeling and seeing all of the colorful fish. The rooms were large and very clean. The bathrooms were a little small and seemed older but nothing to really complain about. Overall this is an awesome smaller resort that i would recommend to anyone. For a couple wanting a quiet, relaxing vacation this was the perfect resort. There aren't a lot of activities going on but the view is beautiful. This is probably not the best resort for kids because of the lack in activities. The resort is right on the beach unlike some of the other resorts we saw around us. I was very pleased with our vacation and would highly recommend this resort.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2015
Very RUDE staff

The front desk staff was very rude, the younger girl ALWAYS seem to have had an attitude. They did not allow us to make a courtesy call even though the call was local regarding our stay. I will NEVER EVER recommend this to no one. Last but not least the room had Cock Roaches.


12 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Maumelle,AR
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 5, 2017
Thanksagaincheapcaribbean!

El Cid was a nice place for a little R&R for a week in December.Once again Cheap Caribbean came in with a great price for our All Inclusive package. All though I did not like signing for everything we got a great clean room all drinks and some pretty decent food for our price with no extra add ons. Our room was in the three story side on the ground floor so we walked right out our patio on to the beach. hotel service staff ,the restaurant ,bar service and housekeeping went out of their way to make our stay pleasant .Thank you La Ceiba!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: springfield mo
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 31, 2012

There Dive Shop Was Very Efficient And The Dive Master Louise Was Excellent He Actually Went Out Of His Way On My Last Day Of Diving And Saved A Couple Who Got Separated From There Dive Master, He Is Very Caring About Human Life The Way A Dive Instructor Should Be He Is Also Very Caring About The Preservation Of The Reef And Will Not Tolerate People Who Think That Just Because They Pay Good Money That They Think They Can Do Whatever They Want "Respect The Reef So Others Can Enjoy It For Years To Come" ...

A Goliath Grooper ...
9 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Salt Lake City Utah
Age: 35-44