All

Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Nayarit Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 45 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.4 out of 5
"We were amazed from the moment we arrived...the staff was extremely nice and the room was beautiful and very contemporary. We would definitely visit another Dreams Resorts!" – Celskey
41 out of 47 (87%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
infinity pool Best waves ever! A very happy 11 year old on the beach at Dreams. view from our balcony Sitting on the island in the pool looking out into the ocean Our room

All Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta Customer Reviews

1-10 of 45 reviews. Sort by
April 30, 2012
FIRST TIME TRAVELERS

This will hopefully encourage all you first timers like us. This was our first trip in 16 years of marriage! I had felt an obligation and need to visit my aging Mother, much to my husbands extreme patience. So every vacation we traveled across country to visit. It's been about 3 yrs now, since she passed away. SO time for US. I wanted to surprise my hubby, the pressure was on to come up with something great. I couldn't have even thought of this without the help of CheapCaribbean.com. Don't be shy..just call. I was trying to do it online, and getting confused. Remember first timer..dah! I surprised my husband for his birthday. Booked, deal done all by myself. I told the rep booking this trip about Birthday, and he said he would certaintly add that "this was a special occation." No promises he couldn't keep, the resort handled it they're way. Hubby had a big Happy Birthday sign on the door and a birthday cake waiting inside. He was thrilled. As first timers..I was nervous about "all inclusives and Mexico" I can tell you before leaving to come back home, we have already agreed to come right back again. It was spectacular, to say the very least. Restaurants x 5 to choose from was so much fun, open till ridiculous hours to accomodate your wants. We did find ourselves going to one more frequently and the staff knew us well. The beach was to die for. The "drink waiters" came frequently to both the beach and poolside. Gratuities never expected but appreciated. Free entertainment every night, about 1/2 hour, not intrusive and well worth seeeing, although we chose to attend only 2 of the 6 night's we were there. Tons and tons of staff around to answer questions, guide you, supply you with anything you needed. A daily news letter left on your turned down bed at night listing the next days events. Very quiet and relaxing. Kids pools shallow and never really saw or heard them, as we were in the infinity pool area. If we had kids, lots of extended shallow water for the wee ones and we saw a kids activity area, all the kids looked like they were having a ball. Did I mention the infinity pool is to die for. Never had to look too far for lounge chairs both at beach and poolside. Don't think twice..JUST DO IT! We never had any problems at all, which needed us to call CheapCaribbean.com while away, but I know they would have been right with us, no matter what the issue. Thanks again!

infinity pool view from our balcony
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver, Colorado
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 23, 2015
Perfect Relaxation Spot

I just returned from a 5 day visit to Dreams Villamagna with my wife and another couple. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and Valentine's Day. We couldn't have asked for a better week. The resort was immaculately cared for, the Preferred Club Ocean View rooms were amazing, the staff members were so friendly and accommodating, the ocean had some great waves but still very swimmable, the beach was soft and well-kept, the food was delicious and the drinks were great and non-stop. Two waiters in particular, Julio and Omar, went above and beyond to make sure we always had everything we needed. The waiters at El Patio did an excellent job with meal presentation and going the extra step. Absolutely the only negative aspect of the entire trip was the Vacation Club piranhas that snatch you up as soon as you get checked in and try to sell you their time share memberships. Even after multiple friendly 'no's' the sales pitch continued. They try to snake you into signing up for a 90 minute presentation where all you need is an ID and your credit cards... My advice is once you get your room keys, make a direct line to your room, change into your beach wear, take the elevator to floor 1, then creep down the stairway to the pools/beach avoiding the land piranhas :) Despite that, this is a great resort. I have been to many throughout Mexico and the Caribbean and few compare.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Omaha, Nebraska
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 16, 2011
Nice Pools and Beach Area

Overall our experience was pretty good. The food for lunch and dinner was excellent. Breakfast was a buffet only, and got pretty old after a few days. The real problem was that the fire alarms went off early 5 out of 7 mornings during our stay. Also, the maid service left a lot to be desired. Two days we never got maid service until after 4pm when we complained. The restaurants had outstanding food, and were never crowded. The spa coupons and wine coupons were essentially worthless since they jacked the prices up so that you still have to pay substantially out of pocket if you try to use. Inexpensive two person massage just next door on the beach. Would try another Dreams but probably would not go back to this specific location. Also, be aware that all of the tour operators and other vendors in the lobby are pushing packages and work on commision and try to hard sale each time you run into them.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Breckenridge, Colorado
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 7, 2011
Great Family Resort No So Much for Couples

The resort is beautiful and the service was great! The food in the restaurants was incredible. (Not in the World Buffet) The servers were cheerful and always willing to serve - as they said "It is their pleasure." and they meant it! Room service was great - nice variety and it was nice to have the secret box so things could be delivered and removed without someone coming in the room. Also different restaurants were open on different days, you get a notice the night before as to what restaurants and times they are open. So we had planned to go to one the last night and then it wasn't opened the last night we were there, just a bit disappointing. Would have thought that all 4 of the ala carte restaurants would have been opened for dinner all the time. The World Buffet is open all the time but I found it difficult to find something there that I would even eat. The rooms were large however the bathroom is not so private with only a curtain separating the bathroom from the bedroom. Loved the jacuzzi on the balcony and the upgrade to oceanview was definitely worth it. The hotel room is not directly on the beach but you can see it from your room and about a 5 - 10 minute walk. The shows were mediocre and the activities were mainly based for kids, not really a lot of adult activiites. There were tons of kids and they did have an Explorer's Club where you could leave your child during the day and evening where they had activities all day for them. Overall, since we are older and don't have little ones at home we will opt for an all adult next time. Just too many little tiny babies and little ones. May have been because they have a promotion of kids free - should have been a clue. :) Also we were under the impression there was an Adult Pool and Jacuzzi - Not true - kids everywhere! So if you don't want to hear babies crying, or watch unattended children this isn't the resort. It is also not close to the airport so a bi t of a drive with traffic. Note that when you depart the plane - keep walking after customs past the first two rooms until you get outside. The timeshare sharks are everywhere and you can get confused as they make you think they are your ride. Don't fall for it - keep walking until you get outside the building where you will find your transportation. However Olympus just through us into a cab and it was old and ac did not work properly. Thought I was going to have a heat stroke before we got to hotel. Return trip was much better, new car with good AC and driver that spoke English. This was our first time to do an all-inclusive, was worried with all the alcohol available would have seen lots of drunks, but it wasn't - maybe the kids balanced that out. The shows they did in the evening were mediocre and you sat on the lobby steps to watch. Would have been nice to have had a theatre to go to and watch where there would have been plenty of seating. The highlights were the spa and the photo session on the beach. Brenda gave a great massage and the free mini massages by the pool were fantastic too. Then Gino took our photos at the beach at sunset as a celebration of our 20th anniversary. That was a great momento to bring home to remember our special day. If you're looking for a good value at a beautiful resort to take your children you will find it here. As far as a romantic place for couples, not so much.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: OK
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 19, 2017
The Best Vacation in Puerto Vallarta

When we first got to the Puerto Vallarta airport it was overwhelming at first walking through all the vendors because everyone wants your money. The amstar people were waiting out front and all we had to do was tell them our name. They took us to a car (that was unlabeled) and sent us on our way. The driver did not speak any english, so at first we were a tad bit scared we were going to go to the right place. He took us to the resort. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with champagne and smiling faces. We checked in and made our way into the room. It was absolutely beautiful. We had the tropical view and we were lucky enough to have gotten the room on the 7th floor. We had a great view of the mountains and the trees below and there was a street below us. I highly recommend getting an upper level room. Our room was very spacious and had a king size bed, a bath tub, the best shower ever, and a jacuzzi on our balcony. We spent many nights relaxing in the jacuzzi. The resort was beautiful--not too big but not too small. The pools were very nice and well cleaned. All of the restaurants were delicious, but our two personal favorites were Oceana and the Seaside Grill (had the best steak). The beach was beautiful (minus the annoying vendors trying to sell you junk). We spent every night down on the beach watching the sunset. The service was great! They made our drinks really strong, just the way I like them. They even served you while you laid on the beach and by the poolside. We also got professional pics taken by the photo people in the lobby and they turned out amazing. We also did an excursion (highly recommend) with the Vallarta Adventures. We did the outdoor adventure. Overall this trip was SOOO FUN and relaxing at the same time. The only downside was how much amstar was--a taxi wouldve been much cheaper, but oh well.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Very Relaxing

Great resort!! We had the couples massage and it was fantastic. Go early to enjoy the hydro massage in the spa. We loved the room! Definately worth the upgrade to Ocean View. The rooms were clean and the airconditioning was great!! Super comfortable beds. The water in the ocean was brown, not crystal blue like other carribean waters. We had a great time boogie boarding nontheless! The food was great! Do note however Portifino is adullts only if you plan to take the family. We didn't but there kids activity area looked great for younger kids. This would allow you to go to an early supper without the kids. Privacy boxes for room serivce was great! Especially for breakfast. We were able to dine on our patio without having to "see" anyone. Very private!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Frost, MN
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
luxury and attention during storm of the decade

Despite the unseasonable rainstorms in February 2010, the facilities and staff provided a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We went seeking a couples break from winter weather, but only had 1 1/2 days of sun on our five night trip. We can only imagine how great it would be if we had typical weather... Positives: The room was spacious and well-appointed. The outdoor whirlpool facing the mountains, with a peek-a-boo view of the water, was ideal for private relaxation. As fans of All-Inclusives, they are doing it right, with no wrist bands, no limit on the ala carte dinners. Taking our menu cues from Trip Advisor reviews, I feel we hit the highlights of each dinner specialty restaurant. Indeed, when I jokingly couldn't decide on a dessert, all the selections were brought to the table. Mexican Coffee wasn't just a cup of delicious flavor, but a production performed with lights dimmed and ignited beverage flowing down a cascade of glassware at tableside. The activities schedule was understandably in dynamic flux due to the storm and damage (which was immediately cleared). The bicycle tour, with stops at Dolphin viewing and the tiny zoo, was much more extensive over two hours than comparable outtings from nearby resorts we had taken previously. The evening entertainment is performed by professionals, rather than by the activities staff, providing exciting fire dancing and worthwhile shows. With a small capacity at the resort, all the activities and shows (gym, dance classes, fruit carving, massage lessons, tequila tasting etc) are intimate and accessible. Negatives: Very lax enforcement of the 'adults only' use of outdoor whirlpool, which was repeatedly taken over by toddlers with floaties, despite requests to staff. Booked tour for whale watching boat ride through vendor at the property, then waited for one hour after start time at the pier, and rode with others who paid half as much through other ticket sales. The guests who forget to pack consideration for others, and spend 1/2 hour banging on doors and yelling at their friends after they close down the last bar.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North America
Age: 55-64

August 7, 2010
Twice is Nice

My husband and I loved this resort so much we have been twice in a year. The first time we went for our ten year anniversary (NO Kids!). The staff was so wonderful to us as we celebrated our special occasion. They prepared our room special with a banner on the door, flowers all over the room, a drawn bath, and towel in the shape of a heart on our bed. It was so sweet! The balcony hotttub facing the pools and the ocean got plenty of use this trip. The second visit was less than a year later for my husband's little sister's wedding. We had the children with us the second time and had a BLAST! Our oldest daughter (6 yrs) loved the Kid's Club. She was there everyday! We loved the beach, the pools, the activities, the bars, the entertainment, the whole experience was wonderful! We would definitely go back!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicagoland, West Burbs
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 11, 2011
Dreaming of Dreams

Our experience with Cheap Caribbean was very good. They provide a fluid service, and everything we experienced was as advertized. No real surprises. When comparing costs, they offer a very fair price...on the lower end, in fact. Dreams Villamagna looked just like the photos! welcomed with a cool, lemony cloth and a mimosa in the damp heat was refreshing. The check-in process was a bit long....oh, and be sure to avoid the tourism hustlers as you exit the airport! The Olympus tours representative was extremely nice, but did keep calling if wanted to do something (extra-fee tour options). We were pretty clear from the beginning that we weren't interested, yet he kept calling. The airport transfers were on time and comfortable. Room service was great, although a bit inconsistent. The same dish was quite different from day to day, but good. The staff was generally warm, friendly and helpful. The activities were great. Rooms were clean and well kept. The flat screen tv was a bit small. Be sure to get a room with a jacuzzi on the balcony! It did rain a bit on and off when we were there and the buildings sustained quite a bit of water damage. Supposedly, it was more than they were used to. Our room had no issues. The "Dreams" hotels in the AMRESORTS chain is very family oriented. We didn't bring children with, but did see that the majority of guests there were in larger groups with families & children. Since kids under 12 are free, it's a great deal if you've got kids. There are plenty of activities, and camps to keep them busy, and it seems pretty safe overall. The only thing we paid extra for was the additional charge for spa services & massage on top on the coupon we were given. I highly recommend this if you wish to truly relax. The spa was really wonderful. Beautiful setting, decor, pools, ....ahhhh.....i could've stayed just in the spa a lot longer! The El Patio and Portofino restaurants were excellent. The World Cafe pretty good, though the Oceana was quite bland, very slow service, and they even had to tell us they were so busy they couldn't fill our order after we had already had our appetizers! They were very polite about it. No big deal since it was ll included, we just went to another restaurant. I'd never tolerate that in a stand alone restaurant however. Upon check in, you will be offered a chance to hear about joining AMRESORTS, their company and services. This IS a solicitation. They say it is a "no-pressure" meeting. This is NOT true. They said it is 1.5 hours. Ours was almost 3! So, if you don't mind putting on your game face and just listening, you will get $200 towards the spa (which is worthwhile). The deal they offer is really only worth it if you plan on doing this style all-inclusive vacation at least 2x per year for more than 4 years in a row. Or, if you have alot of kids/large family and wish to vacation with them regularly. Otherwise, do the math, it's not a great deal. Plus, they want over 8K down-payment minimum. This place was nice, just not that nice. All and all, it was a very pleasant, and relaxing experience. That is exactly why we went there. If you are looking for really high end exclusive seclusion, look elsewhere. If you want a well-priced, all-inclusive retreat, especially with family and kids, look no further.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: San Francisco, California
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 8, 2016

Over all good value, the food options was poor drinks were good Lots of screaming kids Should designate one Pool. Adults only


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: San francisco
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year