All

Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 167 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.4 out of 5
"Everything was very nice, not exceptional, but well taken care-of. The bartenders were pleasant, especially the main lobby bar." – AJMILL
177 out of 197 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Surf and turf at seaside grill Dreams Tulum Sunset over main lobby Seaweed Beach at Dreams Tulum an evening from our porch Balcony View Looking back at the resort from the pool... awesome greenery Beautiful sunset balcony view Dreams Beach A view from our lounge chairs, looking toward the water sunset Garden View Bartending class!!! Adults only pool by the beach Dreams Tulum view from balcony Stairs to the Elegant Lobby Sunrise over the ocean beautiful beach Portofino Restaurant The beach at Tulum Dinner at Le Bordeaux pool The beach at Dreams Tulum Dreams Tulum beach view from seaside grill view from beach inland at Tulum

All Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 167 reviews. Sort by
August 4, 2011
Amazing

After reading some of the reviews below I was very disappointed that I was staying in this resort. I went with the attitude that oh well! I was very surprised to say the least. I am beginning to believe that some people no matter what you do will never be satisified. Being in the service industry I run into these types all the time! So with that being said.... This really was a wonderful resort! I am very picky and I do have to say that the service, people and food were all wonderful. I don't understand some of the reviews that were written, but I guess some have extremly high expections. We stayed in a Deluxe Junior Suite and had a wonderful garden view. I do have to say this was the better place to be. I would not want to be by the pools. It does get a little loud around there. The staff on the resort always had something going on. You just have to want to do it. Some things were alot of fun and some, well let's just say was not for me, but it was my choice! Restaurants were all wonderful. We were able to try each of them. I work in the restaurant business and I have to say it was good. As far as service, it was very good. People were all friendly and did what ever you need to meet your needs. Yes, the service was slower, but really where do you have to go. You are on a resort, on vacation and should just chill out and relax. I would go again!


60 of 63 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 26, 2013
Nice Resort

We spent 7 nights at Dreams from 2/17 to 2/23. This was our 5th trip to an all-inclusive, 4th trip to the Riviera Maya and 3rd trip to Tulum. We do not have children, are very active and always travel with another couple. Compared to the different all-inclusives we’ve stayed in previously, we enjoyed that this resort was more compact, had a nice walking path with distance markers, and a nice tennis court (just one but they reserved times at the concierge desk). There were many, varied activities to participate in, including nightly movies at the pool, soccer & volleyball on the beach, cooking classes and some rather good entertainment at night – particularly a wonderful Brazilian band one evening. The rooms were ample, clean and incredibly quiet. We stayed in a 2nd floor, end Hacienda Room. The end rooms are a bit larger than the middle rooms. The staff, as has been the case in all Mexican resorts we’ve stayed in, is extremely hard working and friendly, and this resort was beautiful and immaculate. We live in a city that is a US culinary destination so we are a bit more critical of food than most and I would say the food was good to very good - this is mostly compared, though, to the other resorts we’ve visited. The best restaurants, in our opinion, were the French, Italian and Seaside Grill (for both lunch and dinner). The Mexican Fiesta offered tasty local cuisine, as well. We, unfortunately, did not get to the Japanese restaurant thanks to 2 different cultural nights that offered dining. The biggest disappointment for us was the beach. There was only a small area designated for swimming. Otherwise the amount of rocks just beneath the surface made it treacherous to swim. That being said, it is a beautiful and walkable beach, and if you prefer swimming in a pool this will be a non-issue. Our group happens to prefer ocean swimming and we also like to have more waves (the reef off shore prevents larger waves from happening). Our ideal beach would be like the beaches found south of the Tulum ruins – wide, aquamarine and with soft sand - both in & out of the water. All in all it is a very nice resort with something for everyone.


21 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Asheville, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 11, 2012
Great Time

My family and I had a great time at Dreams Tulum. The rooms are nice. We upgraded to a Jr. Suite near the pool and near all the restaurants. Our room was roomy and clean. Nice flat screen TV, DVD player. The bathroom was very spacious - huge shower and jet tub. Very nice. Room service was quick and friendly. Housekeeping did a great job. The grounds are very nicely manicured and well kept. There are only two pools (one is an adult only pool) and no hot tub in either pool which was a bummer. Also, the resort does not provide floaties. Bring your own! The activities/entertainment that go on in and near the pool are a ton of fun. The staff at Dreams Tulum is very nice and high energy. They do their best to get folks involved. My sons and I played beach and pool volley ball. I did the water-aerobics - also lots of fun. There were also bachata lessons on the deck of the pool for the brave at heart :) Breakfast at the World Cafe was always excellent. Dinner was excellent at the restaurants. My favorite was the Italian restaurant. The pasta and steak dishes were top notch. The burgers during the lunch hour - not so good. Overall, lunch at the locations I tried during my stay wasn't very good. Stick with drinks and snacks for lunch. Save your appetite for dinner which will always be a hit. The drinks near the pool were good. If you enjoy a little more bite in your drinks - ask for doubles as the drinks are made pretty weak but they'll oblige if you ask. The beach was beautiful! I've stayed at other Cancun resorts and so far Dreams Tulum's beach has been my favorite. We were able to snorkle. The water is crystal clear and there are reefs near the shore with interesting sea life to check out. The resort will provide snorkeling gear (the breathing tube will cost you $5 as it's new and you get to keep it for future use). You'll need to walk down the beach for about 20 minutes to get to the best spot for snorkeling (if you're facing the beach go to the left). Overall, we had a really nice, relaxing time in Dreams Tulum. I would stay there again.


21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Diego, CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 2, 2010
Best Vacation Ever

I went by myself to Dreams Tulum to relax and indulge myself. Boy did I ever! This was the most enjoyable vacation I have ever had and intend to do it again as soon as I can. The staff and service couldn't have been better. The food was very good. I didn't spend as much time as I wanted on the beach & participating in activities in the pool because I was too busy swimming with dolphins & manatees, deep-sea fishing, scuba diving , zip lining, exploring ruins and snorkelling in cenotes. I did take time at the spa, however. GREAT! And I can't forget to mention how georgous Dreams Tulum itself is. I enjoyed just walking around to enjoy the beauty of the resort or sitting and relaxing on my patio. Can't wait to be there again!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Roanoke, VA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 27, 2011
A Dream Come True At The Dreams Tulum

The Dreams Tulum was truly exquisite. Lush gardens welcomed us wherever we went inside the resort. The rooms were in small complexes or haciendas, usually twelve rooms per hacienda, no high-rise hotel or building on the resort. The rooms themselves were very spacious, each with a private balcony and hammock. The resort offered an excellent array of restaurants offering Asian, Italian, French, Seafood and of course Mexican. The World Café offered all of the above in a single restaurant, with a chef making fresh pasta, or a Japanese chef making made to order teriyaki stir-fry. Also, every meal had exotic fruit, salad bar and a yummy desert bar. The entertainment staff was marvelous, shows every night that included dancing, bands, singing and comedy. Then there was dancing outdoors with a live band and always a near-by bar that served tropical drinks and seemed to never close. Lastly, the staff at the Dreams Tulum were professional , courteous, helpful and polite beyond measure. Everyone at the Dreams Tulum worked hard to ensure that every single guest had a superb vacation, one that they would Dream of the rest of their lives.

A Dream Come True At The Dreams Tulum
12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cocoa Beach, Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 2, 2014
Bliss!

Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa is in fact a hike from the airport (80 minutes) but so worth the drive! If you're planning on visiting Cancun or Playa I would suggest a resort closer but if you want a private vacation in a lush/beautiful location with 5-10 minute access to the ruins, Xel-Ha water park and swimming with turtles....look no further! Service: The Dreams team's moto is not to say "your welcome" but rather "my pleasure." Its one thing to say it but I truly felt they meant it! We felt so welcomed the whole trip. Beach and Pools: There are two pools, the first with kid areas and the swim up bar and day time music. The second, quiet pool, still had kids in it but was just a bit more relaxing. Both had plenty of beach chairs and we never had to wait. Beach itself is a bit rocky but the hotel designates the same to swim areas. Dining Options: No idea why people graded down here.....plenty of different dining options on this property! Before going I assumed we would hardly ever eat at the buffet-World Café.....in truth, it was our go to! We were too busy having a blast to worry about sit down dining. We did eat at almost all the restaurants for dinner though and we thrilled with everything. Plenty of options for adult drinks with draft and bottled beer, good liquor and house wine. House wine was nothing to write home about but we opted to buy a nice bottle while dining at the Italian restaurant one night. Room Comfort: Of course at check in the resort offered a room upgrade for an upcharge. Though it was $50 a night we opted out since we thought we wouldn't be in there often. So glad we did because our room already felt like an upgrade. We stayed in the main house about the lobby with good overall room space to spread out and a big bathroom with full walk in shower, tub and dual sinks. Again, I was shocked it was only a standard room! Background: We're two adults (no kids) who were looking for a R&R trip minus the Cancun scene. Dreams does a great job with hourly activities from tennis lessons, beach volleyball, soccer, on and on and we truly could have just stayed at the resort all 5 days and been thrilled! Though we didn't have kids with us, the resort is most family friendly and I wouldn't think twice about bringing yours. We used Cheap Caribbean's Amstar for airport transportation (strongly suggest) and for the day trip to Xel-Ha.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Detroit, MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 20, 2016
HATED THE SALES PITCH BUT LOVED THE HOTEL

we had a great time at dreams tulum. The hotel was great. We loved our room and the spa was very romantic. The food wasn't five star food but it was very good and we were more than happy with it not to mention there were various options which kept eating interesting throughout our trip. The service at the restaurants and bars was great. My only complaint was the very intense sales pitch we got from the resort team once we got there. Next time, i would much prefer that they let me enjoy my first two hours on my first day at their hotel rather than try to pitch me on my vacation plans for the next 10 years. I work in business every day and the last thing i want on my vacation is another sales pitch and even worse a high pressure sales pitch. Also, as an experienced business person, any time that someone tells you that the deal will expire today and you don't have time to think about it, red flags start to go off left and right and i start to look for the catch in the deal. If you have a good deal which people will be happy with, you don't care when they choose to sign up...that is just the way things work. High pressure sales are only for the purpose of getting people to make bad decisions in the moment because they are stressed out. That said, even though i enjoyed my vacation very much, this experience with the sales team, on the first morning that i had arrived, set a very sour tone for the remainder of my vacation so my suggestion to other people would be to skip there sales pitch and enjoy your vacation or pick a different hotel.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NYC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 7, 2011
Great Value

The only down side to this resort is the 45 minute ride from the airport. Other than that, the food options and quality were excellent. I have very picky eaters, and they were happy with every restaurant. The kids club is geared more toward younger ages. But my 11 year old enjoyed the video games on a rainy day. If you are looking for a reasonable priced vacation for the entire family to enjoy, this is the place to go! We plan to return for Spring Break, we all liked it so much.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 7, 2011
Dreams Tulum

This area is a bit off the beaten path which was wonderful because it made for a smaller, more intimate experience while including all of the amenities. It is an older resort, but very well maintained. Our room accomodations were average, but just fine. The resort activities were as expected, but a bit lacking in the evening. The buffet was average, but the specialty restaurants more than made up for it. Our favorite was the Asian restaurant. It was a plus not to have to make reservations. The beach was very nice and snorkeling from the beach was surprisingly good. There were sections roped off from the swimmers that contained some interesting fish. Our favorite excursion was snorkeling in the cenotes. I highly recommend the Mayan Adventure--snorkeling in an open cenote, a cave cenote, and a lagoon. The reef in the lagoon had some of the most beautiful coral that I've ever seen. All in all, a good trip and I definitely recommend the Dreams Tulum Resort.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 30, 2014
Awesome Anniversary trip!

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 10-year anniversary at Dreams Tulum. It was our first time in Mexico, and we loved it! This resort is pretty far from the airport, though, so it took us about 1 hour and 45 min to get there because our van had to make 2 other stops on the way to drop off at other resorts. On the way back to the airport we only had 1 stop so it was about 1 1/2 hours. I think next time we would choose a resort that's closer to the Cancun airport. Upon arrival at the resort we were greeted with cool towels and a glass of champagne. At check-in, we opted to upgrade to an ocean-view room, which we thought was well worth it. Our room was very nice! My husband's favorite part was the hammock on the balcony! I had read reviews before we went about a musty smell in the rooms and about water pressure issues in the showers or running out of hot water. We did not have any of those issues. Actually the shower was awesome! Very hot water, big shower with an overhead shower head that rains down on you from above. The only thing I would change about the room is I'd rather them have an iron and ironing board instead of a steamer. The steamer did not work very well. Our favorite restaurants were El Patio and the Seaside Grill. We only ate breakfast at the World Café (buffet) and it was good, but don't go when they first open because a lot of the food will not be hot yet. Wait until about 9am to go so it has time to heat up. We went around7:30 am and a lot of the items that should be hot (like eggs) were still room temp. Also, don't get too excited about any of the desserts at this resort. They are all very small and just not too good. I wish they had bigger and better dessert choices. If you have food and are outside, watch out for the birds! They will come snatch your food up so fast it's not even funny. We had to keep chasing them away when we'd be sitting by the pool with food. All of the servers and resort staff were very friendly. They all seem really happy and they want to serve you! Don't forget to bring $1 bills for tips. There will be staff there who are trying to get you to listen to a timeshare or "Unlimited Vacation club" presentation. We were not interested at all so we just kept saying no. They'll offer you a free 5 minute massage on the beach, or coupons to the spa but we didn't want to spend our time listening to a sales pitch. Overall, we were very happy with our experience!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tennessee
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year