All

Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 128 Reviews
Value
 
3.7
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.7 out of 5
"The Beach recently lost 30 feet of sand so the entry points are rocky." – Jules7373
107 out of 157 (68%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Isla Mujeres The blue waters My kids loved this resort Cesar was the best Sunset nasty THE VIEW FROM OUR ROOM

All Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 128 reviews. Sort by
August 8, 2015
Great Vacay!!

Just returned from dreams last week.... and boy do I wish I was still there. This was my first trip outside of the US. We literally had a Mexico jar going for years and I was not one bit disappointed in our choice of hotel.The beach is BEAUTIFUL!! The water is crystal clear and amazing. Pools are a little small but very clean, and you cant beat the swim up bar. the food was really good. Yes the portions are on the small side... but then just order two entrees problem solved. A lot of the reviews I read said they were disappointed with the lack of glamour at dreams. Sure the hotel doesn't exude luxury but for the price it was fine and the amenities make up for the shortcomings of what is obliviously an older building. It was very clean the rooms were comfortable and the maids were on point. The service was OUTSTANDING. Every employee I encountered went out of heir way to make our stay the best possible. Tips were not expected but very appreciated. The watered down drinks others are complaining about ask the bartender to throw an extra shot of tequila in that Margarita no problem! If you get bored Dreams is in walking distance to coco bongo( GO TO COCO BONGO ) and senor frogs. We walked to downtown Cancun for dinner one night. or you can take the city bus for a dollar. We snorkeled and visited the Mayan ruins all of which the hotel helped us book.There were 3 adults and two 17 years old in our party and we all had an awesome time. Don't let the haters steer you away from this place. Its not the Ritz buts it pretty great.

Great Vacay!! Great Vacay!!
14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Rhode Island
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 13, 2017
Do not stay here!

The best thing about this resort is the beach!!! The water is beautiful! The resort is awful! Food is horrific, no matter where you eat. Room service is COLD EVERY SINGLE TIME. Keep in mind, you'll have to leave the resort to eat, and it gets expensive. The rooms are really bad and dated. I asked for my air conditioning to be fixed twice. Maintenance was sent to my room, but it was never fixed. Our room was so hot and uncomfortable. Would never come back here, again.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: West Virginia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 12, 2015
Dissapointed

I went to Dreams Sands because my girlfriend boasted about Dreams resorts and there luxurious amenities Needless to say, I was sorely disappointed with the accommodations. The resort lacked the entertainment factor.The beach area is very small and although they claim to want it as a family friendly resort, I only saw a giant trampoline for the children. The infinity pool for adults housed children playing freely. I will not book another vacation there again nor will I recommend it to anyone else. I have stayed at less expensive resorts that prove to be better. Dreams Sands in Cancun Mexico is far below the standards of the Oh and did I fail to mention the food was horrible. There was construction all over the building and I even witnessed the ceiling leaking water on the main lobby by the Asian restaurant.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 1, 2016
Small Beach

Been to Cancun many times, this was only a fair experience. Room was kind of small, but clean. I travel for the beach, this one was very eroded away, small and disappointing. Overall, the food was only fair. Go some where else..


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 23, 2015
Great Resort!

Just came back from this resort yesterday and I have to say it was great! The customer service was amazing, the view and beach was beautiful, there were entertaining events happening every night etc. FYI, It was more of a family resort, so if your young and looking to mingle this probably would not be your place to go. If you are easy going and looking for a relaxing vacation as a couple or family, I would highly recommend this place.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 5, 2015
great place

I read a lot of negative reviews but for the price this is an excellent place. Staff was friendly and food was great. If your expecting a 5 star resort that pampers you, go some where else. If you want a nice relaxing vacation with a great staff and nice room then this is your place


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 30, 2015
Better bring long pants

Dreams Sands is a fine place to stay. But then again, what resort in Cancun is not nice? It is clean, and the price was right. The only negative about the resort is that many of the restaurants have a strict dress code: long pants and closed toe shoes. Now, I'm on vacay, spending most of my time in a bathing suit on the beach. The last thing I want to do is get dressed up just to eat. Unfortunately, there are only 2 places to eat there that don't have a dress code. This was not clearly stated when I was reviewing the resort prior to going. I didn't bring dress pants, and therefore my dining options were limited. I would definitely go back, but I'll be sure to bring some pants next time.


15 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Austin, Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 11, 2015
Mixed Emotions

There were many positives about my stay at the Dreams Sands Cancun. The service was outstanding!! All of the staff were super friendly and accommodating from the Front Desk to the bus boys and maintenance crew. We were greeted at the Front Door with a cool towel and check in was a breeze until we were sent upstairs to the VIP area where we were PRESSURED to immediately book another trip. Finally I had to tell them we had been up since 3:00 am and were extremely hungry and wanted to enjoy the vacation we had booked.. The resort is under renovation so there are areas that are still needing to be updated. The A/C in our room could not handle the heat of the day and was very uncomfortable in the afternoon. The bathroom had very poor ventilation and was extremely hot. It was very uncomfortable to come in from the beach to a hot room to shower. I would almost need another shower by the time I finished dressing. The hallways are extremely hot and do not have air conditioning and the flooring is tile which made the hallways very noisy. This was a problem to me when crews would begin working around 6:00 am every morning. The food was outstanding and the and pools were beautiful.. The entertainment was very comparable to the entertainment on a cruise ship. The beach area was small and crowded with chairs, ,huts and cabanas . To me this took away from the beauty of the water. All and all we enjoyed our trip and I would consider staying here again if I could be assured I would have a room that the air conditioning would keep the room cool at all times.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Pittsburg Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 30, 2015
NOT A 4 Star Hotel!

Beware! This hotel is not part of the Dreams/Sandals hotel chain. This hotel is DREAM SANDS and there's no comparison! I would rate this hotel a 2-3 star. The rooms are very dated and old. The food is mediocre. I was most bothered by the ceilings in the World Cafe buffet. It seems as though ther ceilings had wet/mold forming. The wait staff, cleaning, and entertainment crew worked extremely hard daily to satisfy guest. If I could wait the staff alone, I would give them 5 stars. My recommendation to Cheap Carribean is to downgrade the rating of the hotel because it's deceiving. We expected and paid for a hotel equivalent to an Iberostar, Riu, etc., this hotel was no comparison. Very disappointed.


17 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New Lenox, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 20, 2015
Great service but mediocre facility.

I really wanted to give this place an awesome rating because the service is excellent. Probably the best that I've ever encountered on a vacation. The hotel staff area continually cleaning the facility while you are there, which gives you comfort that things are clean. I never got sick on their food. They have a wide assortment of food at the World Cafe buffet. I really enjoyed getting ice cream from Coco's coffee shop. The only thing is that the resort itself (rooms, beach, food, workout room) is just average. The equipment in the workout room has one TV on the one elliptical machine but there is no reception on the TV. The treadmills do not have entertainment. The air conditioner is extremely cold in the roon--there was no temperature control. The rooms did have marble floors but the facility appears a bit older. The hallways are also very warm (ambient temperature). I tried Bordeaux for dinner and was not impressed by their fake French food. Perhaps they make sure to hire such wonderful staff to make up for the lack of glitz and glam of the facility. If you would prefer service with an okay place, then I would recommend this place. Also, there is free wifi, which is always a plus.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44