All

Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 134 Reviews
Value
 
3.7
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.8 out of 5
"We liked the package, hotel, airline, transfer from and to the hotel, they had an excellent service and hospitality." – henry1
112 out of 165 (68%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Cesar was the best The blue waters VEIW FROM OUR ROOM 519 nasty THE VIEW FROM OUR ROOM Sunset Isla Mujeres My kids loved this resort VEIW FROM THE BEACH

All Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 134 reviews. Sort by
August 8, 2015
Great Vacay!!

Just returned from dreams last week.... and boy do I wish I was still there. This was my first trip outside of the US. We literally had a Mexico jar going for years and I was not one bit disappointed in our choice of hotel.The beach is BEAUTIFUL!! The water is crystal clear and amazing. Pools are a little small but very clean, and you cant beat the swim up bar. the food was really good. Yes the portions are on the small side... but then just order two entrees problem solved. A lot of the reviews I read said they were disappointed with the lack of glamour at dreams. Sure the hotel doesn't exude luxury but for the price it was fine and the amenities make up for the shortcomings of what is obliviously an older building. It was very clean the rooms were comfortable and the maids were on point. The service was OUTSTANDING. Every employee I encountered went out of heir way to make our stay the best possible. Tips were not expected but very appreciated. The watered down drinks others are complaining about ask the bartender to throw an extra shot of tequila in that Margarita no problem! If you get bored Dreams is in walking distance to coco bongo( GO TO COCO BONGO ) and senor frogs. We walked to downtown Cancun for dinner one night. or you can take the city bus for a dollar. We snorkeled and visited the Mayan ruins all of which the hotel helped us book.There were 3 adults and two 17 years old in our party and we all had an awesome time. Don't let the haters steer you away from this place. Its not the Ritz buts it pretty great.

Great Vacay!! Great Vacay!!
16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Rhode Island
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 12, 2015
Dissapointed

I went to Dreams Sands because my girlfriend boasted about Dreams resorts and there luxurious amenities Needless to say, I was sorely disappointed with the accommodations. The resort lacked the entertainment factor.The beach area is very small and although they claim to want it as a family friendly resort, I only saw a giant trampoline for the children. The infinity pool for adults housed children playing freely. I will not book another vacation there again nor will I recommend it to anyone else. I have stayed at less expensive resorts that prove to be better. Dreams Sands in Cancun Mexico is far below the standards of the Oh and did I fail to mention the food was horrible. There was construction all over the building and I even witnessed the ceiling leaking water on the main lobby by the Asian restaurant.


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 23, 2015
Great Resort!

Just came back from this resort yesterday and I have to say it was great! The customer service was amazing, the view and beach was beautiful, there were entertaining events happening every night etc. FYI, It was more of a family resort, so if your young and looking to mingle this probably would not be your place to go. If you are easy going and looking for a relaxing vacation as a couple or family, I would highly recommend this place.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 1, 2016
Small Beach

Been to Cancun many times, this was only a fair experience. Room was kind of small, but clean. I travel for the beach, this one was very eroded away, small and disappointing. Overall, the food was only fair. Go some where else..


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 13, 2017
Do not stay here!

The best thing about this resort is the beach!!! The water is beautiful! The resort is awful! Food is horrific, no matter where you eat. Room service is COLD EVERY SINGLE TIME. Keep in mind, you'll have to leave the resort to eat, and it gets expensive. The rooms are really bad and dated. I asked for my air conditioning to be fixed twice. Maintenance was sent to my room, but it was never fixed. Our room was so hot and uncomfortable. Would never come back here, again.


14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: West Virginia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 5, 2015
great place

I read a lot of negative reviews but for the price this is an excellent place. Staff was friendly and food was great. If your expecting a 5 star resort that pampers you, go some where else. If you want a nice relaxing vacation with a great staff and nice room then this is your place


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 11, 2015
Mixed Emotions

There were many positives about my stay at the Dreams Sands Cancun. The service was outstanding!! All of the staff were super friendly and accommodating from the Front Desk to the bus boys and maintenance crew. We were greeted at the Front Door with a cool towel and check in was a breeze until we were sent upstairs to the VIP area where we were PRESSURED to immediately book another trip. Finally I had to tell them we had been up since 3:00 am and were extremely hungry and wanted to enjoy the vacation we had booked.. The resort is under renovation so there are areas that are still needing to be updated. The A/C in our room could not handle the heat of the day and was very uncomfortable in the afternoon. The bathroom had very poor ventilation and was extremely hot. It was very uncomfortable to come in from the beach to a hot room to shower. I would almost need another shower by the time I finished dressing. The hallways are extremely hot and do not have air conditioning and the flooring is tile which made the hallways very noisy. This was a problem to me when crews would begin working around 6:00 am every morning. The food was outstanding and the and pools were beautiful.. The entertainment was very comparable to the entertainment on a cruise ship. The beach area was small and crowded with chairs, ,huts and cabanas . To me this took away from the beauty of the water. All and all we enjoyed our trip and I would consider staying here again if I could be assured I would have a room that the air conditioning would keep the room cool at all times.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Pittsburg Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 20, 2015
Great service but mediocre facility.

I really wanted to give this place an awesome rating because the service is excellent. Probably the best that I've ever encountered on a vacation. The hotel staff area continually cleaning the facility while you are there, which gives you comfort that things are clean. I never got sick on their food. They have a wide assortment of food at the World Cafe buffet. I really enjoyed getting ice cream from Coco's coffee shop. The only thing is that the resort itself (rooms, beach, food, workout room) is just average. The equipment in the workout room has one TV on the one elliptical machine but there is no reception on the TV. The treadmills do not have entertainment. The air conditioner is extremely cold in the roon--there was no temperature control. The rooms did have marble floors but the facility appears a bit older. The hallways are also very warm (ambient temperature). I tried Bordeaux for dinner and was not impressed by their fake French food. Perhaps they make sure to hire such wonderful staff to make up for the lack of glitz and glam of the facility. If you would prefer service with an okay place, then I would recommend this place. Also, there is free wifi, which is always a plus.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44

January 15, 2016
Decent Trip

The price was perfect for this resort. We paid about $2300 for two people after adding trip insurance for a 4 night stay. This included flight and all-inclusive food/drink at Dream Sands in Cancun. The service at the hotel was beyond amazing - they are very helpful and end every sentence with "It's our pleasure" which we thought was sort of funny by the last day. The restaurants had great variety of options. In terms of really "good" food, there were two up-scale restaurants and a few middle-level ones. The sushi midday at "Sushi and Ceviche" was awesome, although the regular everyday Sushi dinner restaurant wasn't great (the egg rolls were good though). The weather wasn't great when we were there which is by no fault of the resort, but because of the positioning of the resort against the sun, we really had very little sunny time there. It doesn't get sunny until like 2PM so you don't benefit from the sun too much. All rooms seem to have a decent view of the pools and ocean which is a nice perk. The bed was very comfortable, the rooms are clean, and the alcohol is top-shelf. BRING YOUR OWN 20oz TUMBLER TO RE-FILL!!!! Just drink bottled water (make sure it comes sealed when you open it). Bring a board game from home incase it rains during your stay...


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 24, 2016
Best vacation in 20 years

Last year, I went to an all inclusive in Punta Cana and it was a bit "underwhelming" to say the least. The food was average, the drinks were awful, and the people acted as though we were doing them a favor to be there. I will have to say, this trip was the complete opposite. It was my first "grown up" vacation in 16 years (without a child) and it met every expectation. My fella and I had an amazing time and were impressed with the establishment. We didn't have a bad meal, the beaches were kept nice, and the staff treated us as though they got a hundred dollar tip. Although this was the "family" resort, we really weren't put out by the children and there was plenty of activities. Thank you for making my first grown up trip with my new fella so memorable. Although we will probably use the all adult sister property of this franchise on our next trip together, I will be sure to take my son there on our Mother/Son vacation.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Lawrenceville, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations