All

Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 180 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.5 out of 5
"The road to the resort needs major repairs. Otherwise I would go back again" – Poohgirl
193 out of 216 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
See to believe! Chichen Itza Pool Area Preferred Club Oceanview with private jacuzzi Hot December night from the beach looking at resort Dancing in the Dreams Lobby Cabanna Bar Pool/Beach View Beautiful beach front View from Infinity Pool Paradise do exist! the beautiful rooms

All Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 180 reviews. Sort by
September 25, 2011
It was "Dreamy!!!"

Overall Resort – It was very well maintained, beautiful property and grounds, amazing Infinity Pool and gorgeous views. While they offer a lot of different activities throughout the day, we never participated as we just wanted to be “beach slugs”; that said, there was something fun for everyone to do, if you wanted. Service – Overall, the staff was friendly and helpful but also unobtrusive allowing for a pleasant experience. One thing to note though…AmResorts has started a vacation club – not a timeshare but similar concept. The unfortunate part of this is that you are somewhat accosted by these sales people. In fact, to get your resort coupons, you actually have to see a sales person. They even called our room twice trying to get us to schedule a presentation. Luckily, they are based in the front lobby and there is nearly no reason to go up there except for the gift shop and to enter/exit the hotel. Check-in/Check-out – We waited at the front desk with no one acknowledging us for quite some time. We had upgraded to the Preferred Club so I ask about that and the person I spoke with said I needed to wait at the front desk. That said, they did bring us a glass of champagne, so not all was bad. Once someone finally helped us, they did indeed realize we were in the Preferred Club and called someone who came and escorted us to the Club check-in. Loved this; we were sat down in the air conditioned Club room, brought more champagne and checked in very quickly. At check-out, we simply went back into the Club room and the process was quick and easy as well. Room - While I may not be a world traveler, I have traveled quite a bit and know what I like. This resort, far and away, had my most favorite hotel room ever! It is as described on the hotel website and has breathtaking views. I loved the lay out (circular) and our bed faced out on the ocean where we woke up watching the sunrise. Our upgraded room had a private Jacuzzi on the balcony which we used a few times and it worked great. What a treat to sit in your own hot tub overlooking the ocean with a cocktail! The toilet is in its own room and there is a separate shower and tub. For us as a couple, this was not at all awkward but if you were with a family, there is limited privacy in the bath area. They provide full size amenties – shampoo, shower gel, and sunscreen among other little touches – toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, shave cream. The room was cleaned very well every day, the frig stocked and turn down service was very nice. Although, the brochure says Preferred Club rooms get an “upgraded” stocking of the frig. I’m unclear as to what this means as it seemed stocked with the same items as our “regular” room in Puerto Aventuras the year before. Also, we had to request bottles of sparkling water as opposed to it just being there, as was indicated. One other item to note – the binder in your room says to NOT drink/use the water in the sink for brushing your teeth – but no one ever told you this! The air conditioning worked fantastic (sometimes too well, brrr) and there is a ceiling fan which was very cooling and soothing for sleeping. Also, the pillows were foam but they have a pillow menu…I called and they brought us two feather pillows as well. Here is an observation about the plunge-pool rooms as I know people have posted about this. While they seem fancy, there may be a couple issues with booking these rooms – they are on the first floor and there is not much privacy at all, either while in your pool or in your room! Also, trash and debris seems to blow into these pools overnight and that seems a bit gross if you want to sit in them! At least with your private Jacuzzi you can drain the tub and have it cleaned between uses. Pool/Beach – The Infinity Pool was gorgeous and the water temperature warm but refreshing. Great bar in the pool. That said, we spent most of our time under a palapa on the beach. I have a pool back home but I sure don’t have an ocean!! The ocean was unsettled for most of our time there so we weren’t able to snorkel but the water was warm. There is “sea grass” that washes up onto shore. I was kind of surprised how much of it there is. That said, the hotel raked the beach every morning and afternoon to keep it clean. If you take a beach walk, and you should because you can walk a long way as well as into Puerto Morelos, you will notice a lot of grass washed up on those areas where there are not hotels to rake it. Not a big deal but it does exist. The beach is soft white sand and makes for a gorgeous morning walk along the ocean. Service at the beach was fantastic – thanks Carlos! Always kept us with drinks and bottles of water. Even though the menu is limited, you can order food to be brought to you at the beach – I had shrimp cocktail and a hamburger. We took a walk along the beach and passed numerous other hotels…Dreams, by far, had the best beach front and pools! Spa – I usually do not do spa treatments while on vacation because, honestly, how much more relaxed could I possibly be!  It also seems like resorts overprice their services but you can use your resort coupons at the spa and that made the treatment very much in line with what I’d pay back home. That said, I went on a tour of the spa and just had to spend some time there. The facility is GORGEOUS! The showers in the women’s locker room are exposed to the outside through the ceiling (no one can look in) and one wall, filled with plants. The attendant was very helpful. The hydrotherapy circuit is not to be missed. There are, I think, 9 different types of water therapy and each one was amazing. The open grounds have loungers and palapas to allow you to simply sit back and relax and enjoy fresh fruit, juice and infused water. I also did an 80 minute massage and it was wonderful! Thank you Lourdes! Could not recommend this more… Restaurants/Food – I saved the best for last. The food, overall, especially at the special restaurants was AMAZING! While they do not take reservations, I think we were there during low season so we only waited in line once for about 10 minutes. Room service – As the coffee shop and breakfast restaurant does not open until 7 am, we ordered coffee in our room most mornings. The service was quick and efficient. Coffee - A side note about the coffee – for some reason, I expected a full, bold Mexican coffee and while, not bad, it wasn’t great either. And for those of us that like and are use to having ½ & ½ as cream for our coffee be prepared to be disappointed. It’s not available! They use either leche (low-fat milk) or evaporated milk which is a weird tan color. Not bad but not great! We could not wait to get to the airport for a cup of Starbucks. I’ll tell you – in the entire week, this was the one thing I missed most about home – a great cup of coffee!! However, CoCo Café did make a good, palatable expresso and latte. Preferred Club – Because we upgraded, the Club served a hot/cold continental breakfast and hot/cold hors d’ouerves in the evening. We did not go in there for the first couple of days and boy, were we missing out. The breakfasts were great and substantial (also mimosas!) and the evening happy hour food was wonderful! If you book the Preferred Club, don’t overlook going here! In the mornings, it was quiet and the service was great. We read USA Today and watched CNN in a very comfortable environment. In the evenings, it was a great place to get a nice snack before cleaning up for dinner. World Café – This is the buffet. We ate a couple times at breakfast. There were lots of offerings and it was good. Service great. We also ate here one night for dinner, just felt very casual and didn’t feel like going to a specialty restaurant, again the food was decent and there were lots of offerings. It is however a buffet and kind of busy. My very favorite food in Mexico is the papaya – it is so yummy and fresh!! They have a specialty juice bar as well as a mimosa and bloody mary station. Seaside Grill – We ate here practically every day for lunch. It looks out over the pool and ocean. Wonderful ceviche, shrimp tacos and coconut ice cream! El Patio – A gorgeous tex-mex restaurant. Wonderful service and food was great. Loved the Quaxaca Cheese Pot for an appetizer. Great tortilla soup, steak with 3 sauces and flan. Bordeaux – We did not get a chance to eat here. Himitsu – We found out that there are two Hibatchi-style tables that require reservations. You need to be at the restaurant at 5pm to secure one of six spots at these tables for three different sittings throughout the night. That said, we had a really nice table for two and were able to order the exact menu offered at the grill stations but it was cooked in the kitchen. It was FABULOUS!! It was called the Japanese Teppenyaki Dinner and included sushi, miso soup, salad, mixed grill of chicken, shrimp and steak with vegetables and rice and tempura fried ice cream. Sake is available for an extra cost and the service was impeccable. Portofino – Wonderful ambience and the food was delicious! Oceana - Probably our favorite. Ate here for dinner twice. We had and would recommend the ceviche, beef tartare, steak with bacon, shrimp & beef kabobs and cheesecake. Barefoot Grill – Next to the pool. Easy to just grab a hamburger or piece of pizza while laying by the pool. Bars – For the most part, really excellent service but sometimes the drinks were just not up to par. Weak (unless you asked for more alcohol) and the bar on the beach really struggled to get a creamy pina colada whipped up – very icy. The bar at the Infinity Pool however rocked mango coladas!!! In the end, we had a fabulous, relaxing time in an amazing resort!! While I highly recommend it, we are excited to try different Amresorts in the future – our last two years have proved that they have an attention to detail in all aspects that provides a vacation that’s worth the money!

View from Infinity Pool Preferred Club Oceanview with private jacuzzi
83 of 86 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Denver, CO
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 20, 2014
Beautiful resort but uncomfortable rooms!

We went for our honeymoon and would say it was an okay place to go. Food was amazing and the view was beautiful. However the beds in the room are so hard. We even upgraded our room and the beds were still just so uncomfortable. Also your room is literally just one room with a bed, tub, shower, and toilet all in the same room. The headboard for the bed is what separates the bed from the sinks and toilet. You have absolutely no privacy when you go to the restroom. The door is even glass so you can see everything through it as well as hear everything no matter where you are in the room. Also our second night there our neighbors were very loud and kept us up ALL night. We called the front desk at 1 asking them to do something but the noise went on all night long. We called a total of 3 times and finally gave up around 3 am because they did nothing about it. Also we went to the front desk the next morning to ask if we could be moved and they said no. Was not pleased with the service on that situation. Also beach was crazy with seaweed. No one was ever in the water because of it. Not sure if it was just because of the season or what but because of the the pools seems crowed at times. IF YOU DONT READ ANYTHING ELSE READ THIS!!! When you first arrive they will take you to a desk off to the side and have you fill out papers and ask if you would like to be part of a raffle and receive $100 to go towards anything at the resort if you go to a 90 minute breakfast/meeting the next morning and get a tour of the resort. My husband and I said sure its only 90 minutes and we get to see the resort and everything so we signed up. BIG MISTAKE! First it was over 2 hours long and they only show you a VIP room. Worse of all at the end they try to get you to buy a membership with them and they will not stop trying. Very very pushy with it. We had three different people try to talk us into buying a different package with them before we just walked out because they would not stop. We still had a great time over all but wish we knew a few of these things before we went. Hope this helps you guys. I included a few pictures of the room so you can see.

Beautiful resort but uncomfortable rooms! Beautiful resort but uncomfortable rooms!
18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: South Bend, IN
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 10, 2011
Goodbye Dreams!

I have to say that Caribbean sea is one of my favorite beach in the world. the white soft sand and the blue water just took my breath away. because of that it made me keep going back to Cancun for at least once or twice a year. This time my friends & I would like to make a trip to cancun together & discover something new, so we travelled a bit further south and decided to stay at Dreams Riviera Resorts & Spas. The moment we checked in... i found that there's no free wifi available unless you pay for it, $15/day, What??? when was the alst time I had to pay for wifi at any cancun resort? a bit disappointed but so what.. we're on a vacation, right? then I walk to the beach, i was shock & just couldn't believe this is the beach that we were gonna stuck here for a week. there's a lot of fine rocks, water was dirty, grass, sea weeds are everywhere. it was totally out of my expectation & a big disappointment. not yet, the food was horrible, also the service. we bought the "all inclusive" package but every time we dine in the restaurant, waiter & waitress always offered us a better wine list which are not included in the package. extra $$$. so basically what we paid for all inclusive was for cheap wine? the food was just average, nothing was appeal to me. I 'd never experienced this kind of all inclusive before. I'd met a lot of tourist people at resorts and they all said the same thing. I remember one lady told me that they should change the resort name to "Nightmare" instead of Dreams. I laughed then said YES. Overall when you're on a vacation, everyone of us would love to have a relax time with no stress, but this Dreams resort was made it so un-convenient in many ways for us and we didn't enjoyed the trip at all.. Hope this note travel far to the resort manager for a better improvement. That's call I can share!


24 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Portland Oregon
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 10, 2015
Not so much a Dream Vacation

Once we arrived in Cancun Mexico, immigration and customs went smoothly. Without checked luggage we were outside the airport in 15 minutes. We wanted to have everything included with the trip, air, room, food, and transportation. The airlines added another $200.00 for carry on and seat assignments, transportation from airport to resort were “shared” which means you will stop at a number of other resorts (adds 1 hr to travel time). 1st assigned room had two double beds, for a married couple celebrating an anniversary this was not working. 2nd assigned room, air conditioner not working and toilet would not flush. 3rd assigned room was nice, but we did not move in until the second to last day of our trip. Restaurants are very nice, and most of the employees are very friendly. We have been to Mexico 5 times over the years and this was the most expensive trip, and less value to date. Lessons learned take a taxi, demand the room you picked out online, and don’t fly Spirit Airlines.


13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Abilene, TX.
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 30, 2010
Exceptional Resort -if no kids - go adult only

This resort is brand new and beautiful. Great service, awesome rooms and great food! Positives: 1) French and Italian Restaurants are great as is the cafe/buffet. 2) Security is without a doubt the best I have ever seen. 3) Bartenders are all very personable and aim to please. 4) The spa is incredible! Get a swedish massage! 5) The rooms are geourgeous! Do not spring for the Jacuzzi on the deck - you will never use it! If you want to splurge - get the swim up room - pool side. Ocean view is not really ocean view at all - the pool view is much better! (Unless you get the full ocean view suites that directly face the ocean. I got the feelingthat these are reserved for the local elites however.) 6) The liquor, wine and champagne are all premium! I would want to hear the negatives, if they really are negatives at all overall: 1) Kids everywhere and they do not keep them out of the adults only pool. Not relaxing at all when you have kids all over with daquiris from the pool bar - spilling them in to the pool in front of you. Parents don't seem to care a bit. 2) Teenagers who are obviously not 18 get served alcohol all day long without question. 3) Mexican restaurant - believe it or not - PASS - none of us enjoyed it. Also pass on the outside buffet once a week at the pool - not very good - get French again instead - you will not be sorry! 4) Hotel is off the beaten path and is quite a ride to get to Cancun. Puerto Morelos is a quick cab ride and has some decent shopping. 5) The Night Club is never really hopping. They do have trips in to Cancun to go club hopping which is cool. 6) You don't really need the VIP lounge option. The lady that checked us in was very slow an'd not really nice like the rest of the employees. We had booked two adjoining rooms for 3 people and they tried to get us to take only one. 7) Do not believe the serve staff when they say it is their birthday! It is everyones birthday everyday and it is a way to get big tips once they get the alcohol in you. 8) Don't fall for most of the extra off site trips except the scuba, jet skis and parasailing. We went deep sea fishing for baracuda and it was so rough (even on a calm day) on those small boats that I could not even stand and everyone was sea sick. They just want your money. Spend your 4 hours doing something else! So - if you can put up with and are prepared for the negatives - I would highly recommend this hotel. If you don't like kids - opt for Secrets Excellence Adults only - next door!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

August 9, 2010
Can't wait to go back

Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa was amazing and beautiful. Since it’s a new resort everything is brand NEW. When we arrived we were greet with champagne. The architecture is astonishing and the overall structure of the resort is fascinating. The service was excellent. I’ve done plenty of all inclusive resort before but never one that offers room service too! That was a plus staying at an all-inclusive resort that included room service and not having to spend extra money. Everything from food, drink (alcohol) and snacks were available 24 -7. The restaurants were just exceptional. You have a choice of Japanese Hibachi restaurant, French*, Italian, Mexican & American general cuisine. I especially liked the French restaurant because it didn’t allow kids and they had truffle sauce to kill for. This resort is very family and couple friendly. There was one night when I ate at the Italian restaurant when this large family at the resort let their kids run wild in the Italian restaurant, once the mom noticed that her kids were bothering everyone else she sent them to the kid camp to watch a movie. Then I and the rest of the patrons were able to enjoy their selves. Other than that the resort has a nice beach, Jacuzzis and a huge swim up pool-bar. Dreams offer daily activities that are included in the total cost. I went on a bike tour with a group from the hotel outside of the resort where you can shop with the locals. They also offered kayaking and other water sports which I participated in. I will definitely go back and definitely recommend to a family member or friend! This was my best all-inclusive trip as of now.

Hot December night the beautiful rooms
12 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NYC, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 24, 2012
Great trip

We celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary at the resort in July. The champagne and the rose petals on our bed made it a very special vacation. The grounds were beautiful and very clean. The beach had seaweed the first day but it had been raked up by the second day. We were always able to find a shady spot. The beach staff was very attentive and would bring you drinks as well as food. Our favorite was the shrimp cocktail. We usually opt for the buffet at all inclusive resorts but this resort required no reservations at the specialty restaurants so we didn't have to plan our day around a dinner time. We walked into every restaurant with no waiting. The food was excellent! Each meal came with sides that were wonderfully seasoned. The staff was friendly and attentive. The infinity pool was incredible and had a beautiful view of the beach. Don't be concerned as you drive up to the resort. The road is washed out and barely passable. Once you enter the resort, you will be impressed with the wonderful lobby that looks out over the walkway to the beach.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, Mass.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 21, 2012
Last minute honeymoon trip - Wonderful!

We stayed at Dreams Riviera Cancun 10/29 - 11/3 and absolutely loved it. The weather was perfect and since we arrived on a Tuesday it wasn't crowded at all. Even when it suddenly felt way more occupied come Thursday/Friday we still had no problem getting drinks or great spots by the pool or on the beach. We looked and looked and looked for a great place with an excellent value. Since it was our honeymoon we really wanted to feel special and be in a nice place. As much as I didn't really want to go to Mexico for our honeymoon - I'm SO glad we did! A co-worker of mine recommended this resort to us and I took it into consideration and then spent hours week after week searching the internet and Cheap Caribbean for a resort that would compete in value with this one and after reading tons of reviews - I really came up with a very short list. Then on the day we went to purchase, Dreams Riviera Cancun was the best deal - so we went. We definitely felt like we were taken care of in a preferred room with a great ocean view. There was a letter to us welcoming us and congrats on our marriage along with a bottle of champagne and some fruit waiting for us. It was definitely a nice touch and the way you want to start your honeymoon. We took a scuba diving trip to cozumel through the resort which was GREAT! We felt very safe and well taken care of. I was really concerned about being able to lay in the beds near the pool and ocean (hey - it was our honeymoon :)) and I was bothered reading all of the reviews talking about how you had to get up really early to get one and people reserving them. Well...we didn't have any issues. Even on Friday when there were almost 6 weddings at the resort we didn't have a problem. Even if someone reserved it, you're really not allowed to. So unless someone's things were laying on the bed it was considered available. We also went to the spa for massages which were fantastic!! If you're going to plan on getting any spa services, plan to stay for a while because you get to use the facilites all day and it's like a mini oasis away from the rest of the resort. I was extremely impressed with the spa. The Mexican food restaurant was probably my favorite (go figure) but the place out by the pool is really good as well. I wouldn't say I'm a foodie, but very close and I was thuroughly impressed with the poolside paella & tacos (sounds scary, I know). The paella was loaded with huge pieces of fresh shrimp, calamari & clams. We also liked how the hotel put on shows each night if you were in need of some entertainment. Probably my favorite part of this hotel is the lobby. It's just impressive and beautiful. It has a very grand yet island or tropical feel. I keep telling people the design with the large tropical fans and the way the lobby bar looked out over vegetation made me feel like I was at Jurassic Park :) Our other hang-up before booking here was that it's not an adults only resort. Honestly, it wasn't that bad. Most of the time we didn't notice or pay attention. Only thing is that some of the evening entertainment seems for juvenille due to the kids staying at the resorts. If you have an issue with kids here, don't avoid it just don't go over spring break would be my suggestion. It really is a fantastic resort and I doubt anyone would be disappointed with it.


10 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 28, 2011
EXCELLENT VACATION

My husband and I went to Riviera Maya for our 25th wedding anniversary. It was the first time we had gone to Mexico and also the first time we stayed in an all-inclusive hotel. We weren't sure what to expect. The whole experience EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS a thousandfold! The hotel and grounds were magnificent and very, very clean. The staff went above and beyond in every area. We felt like we were royalty the whole week long. We ate in every restaurant and enjoyed every meal. The pools were wonderful - we especially enjoyed the infinity pool. We spent some time at the swing up bar and the swim up bar and the bartenders at both were excpetional. We went snorkeling - not through the hotel but found a hut on the beach on the side of the wedding chapel that would take you snorkeling for 1/2 the price of what the hotel charges. It is a 'must' if you are going to that area. We also walked the beach to Puerto Morales and spent some time shopping in that quaint little town. The entertainment staff provides shows and live entertainment every night. We went to about 4 of them and enjoyed each of them. This hotel does allow children and has an extensive program for them. If you don't want to be around kids on your vacation - this isn't the place for you. They didn't bother us at all and we enjoyed watching their antics. We would definitely go back to Dreams Riviera Cancun again!


11 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Dreams was a dream for us!

We traveled to Dreams Riviera Cancun from December 6-13. We had a great experience. We will for sure travel to Dreams and Secrets resorts over and over again now that we have experienced a Dreams resort. We had a few minor issues but they didn't ruin our stay. We booked our trip through CheapCaribbean.com and had a great overall experience with them. We purchased the roundtrip transfers as well and this was a very smooth experience. We arrived on December 6th around 11:30AM. Upon arrival we were greeted with champagne, bottled water and wonderfully scented cool washcloths. We checked in and were told that there would be a wait, which was not a problem. We were handed a pager. We had a couple of fantastic Margaritas at the lobby bar and then went down to the World Cafe for a buffet lunch. We already were treated fantastic by the waitstaff and the food was great! We were paged shortly after lunch, so the wait wasn't too long at all. We were taken to our room, #1337, which was gorgeous with a fabulous view of the ocean. This was an Oceanview room. We ordered room service for dinner the first evening as we were too tired to go anywhere. The room service was fantastic! This was a recap of our first day. I like detailed reviews so here is mine. Room: Room 1337, Oceanview. Third floor of the first building. The room was beautiful. The king sized bed was great. Very comfortable, comfortable pillows as well. The ceiling fan has controls on the wall by the bed. The AC/heat controls were easy to use and worked great. End tables on each side of bed with table lamps. iPod docking station and alarm clock. Note that you need to have your dock with you. We have the iTouch and didn't have our docks with us as we don't need them at home so we weren't able to use the docking station. There are plenty of channels on the TV. Including HBO and Cinemax. 2 robes, 2 pairs of slippers. A large jacuzzi tub. Definitely large enough for 2. Huge shower. I miss the shower! The shower was huge with a seat as well. There was also a retractable clothesline inside of the shower which was nice to hang our suits on. The closet is not too large but large enough with shelves to hold our items. We did not live out of our suitcases. The small, electronic safe is in the closet as well. The shower and toilet have frosted glass doors. There is plenty of privacy with these. The double sink vanity was great with lots of room. We always had plenty of towels and we were stocked daily with nice toiletries. The toiletries that you receive are a really nice size and smell good. You get a shampoo, shower gel, sunblock spf 15, body lotion, mending kit, shower cap, small kit with 2 cotton balls, q-tips and a small emery board, shoe polisher. Under the desk/tv is the mini fridge. Inside of the fridge we had 2 Coca-Cola, 2 Coca-Cola Light, 1 sprite and 1 Fanta. We also had a mineral water and 4-5 bottles of water and 4 or 5 bottles of Corona. There is also a small couch in the room. The patio was nice and had a table with 2 chairs. There is an additional blanket in the closet in case you need it. They also place an incense stick/burner with matches in the room. We were close, however, to the Explorers Club and Lobby which both could get loud at times. The nightly music in the lobby, the loud parties on the deck of the restaurant and the kids' club can be a nuisance when it is late and you are tired. It would be nice if they could figure out a way to take care of this as we heard it from a couple below us as well. They were honeymooning and were not happy with the noise that they received from these places. Room Service: We used this quite a bit as sometimes we just didn't feel like getting out of our room in the evening...and it was good! It is 24 hour room service. 30-45 minutes was the typical wait time. The menu consists of soups, salads, entrees, sandwiches, desserts and kids' meals. We loved the Chicken Consomme' (basically chicken broth with chicken and diced up vegetables). We also enjoyed macaroni and cheese from the kids' menu, club sandwich with fries, cheeseburger with fries and the desserts. Those are the only items that we ate on the room service menu. We did have breakfast one morning with bananas, yogurt, granola and toast. This was also very good. Maid Service: Very good. We have never had better maid service. We always had a clean room, clean bed, new towels, new toiletries, new incense, etc. We were very pleased. We had turn down service 2 or 3 nights and it was nice as well. The Sundial (daily ativities newsletter) for the next day would be left also with turn down. If we had the Do Not Disturb sign out they would put it under our door along with the next day's forecast. Restaurants: We ate mostly at the World Cafe' as we enjoyed the variety as well as being casual. The food was very good actually. Breakfast was our favorite. We enjoyed the omelets, tater tots and fruit/yogurt. We also loved the green juice (pineapple and orange juice with celery and parsley...please try it!) and my husband enjoyed the cappuccino. We ate at Oceana and the Seaside Grill a few times as well. This was also very good. Shrimp cocktail and crab won-tons were our favorite appetizers. We enjoyed the shrimp tacos, cheeseburgers and grouper here. You can also get dessert/ice cream at both of these restaurants. We only ate at 1 of the al a carte restaurants. We ate at Bordeaux, which is an adults only restaurant. We loved this restaurant! We each had the Black Angus Steak served with mashed potatoes. Wonderful! We had scallops for the appetizer, which weren't our favorite. They also brought us a sample of shrimp chowder which was amazing! We really wish that this would have been on the menu! The rolls that they brought were so good! The puff pastry roll with cream cheese was soooo yummy! For dessert I had strawberry cookies and ice cream and my husband had white chocolate and chocolate mousse. These were great as well. The wait staff at all of these restaurants were truly the best we have ever had. So attentive to you. We loved seeing them daily. Beach: Always kept clean. The seaweed is kept clear from the beach very well. We would see the tractor raking it twice daily and the workers in the morning would clean it as well. The water is good. There are a lot of rocks once you are about waist deep, so be careful! It was very windy while we were there so the water was a little rough, but definitely beautiful. Plenty of palapas and beach chairs. We mostly stayed on the wooden deck between the beach and the pools. This was a great place to lay out as there were rarely people there and it was close to the pool so that we could get in without getting sand all over. There are also rocking chairs on this deck. Swimming Pools: The pools were always kept clean. The infinity pool is great! We loved this pool. The swim up bar made it nice as well. Pool floats were always readily available. I do wish that there was a more out of the way entrance on the beach side of getting into the infinity pool as you walk right by diners. The other 2 swimming pools are great for families of small children. There are also 2 jacuzzis with plenty of chairs around. Chairs: There really are plenty of chairs. The front row of the infinity pool is taken very early, but you will not have a problem finding chairs. Towels are aplenty. It was nice having a towel on the chair for us and then being able to grab another. It would be really nice if guests would take their own towel and drop it off when they were done vs. leaving it lazily on the chair. There were 3 different drop offs, not out of reach. Staff was pulling items from chairs if left over 30 minutes. I think that they should allow at least an hour as 30 minutes is not long enough to eat or be in the pool. We also never saw them taking items from the front 2 rows of the infinity pool....which didn't seem quite right with those being the most wanted. Umbrellas were also easy to come by. I also would like to add that they go above and beyond with the upkeep and maintenance of the resort. The vegetation is also full and beautiful already after the short time of being open. Overall we had a wonderful experience and would return. We definitely will try out a Secrets resort as well. Dreams and Secrets will definitely be a favorite for us!

Dreams was a dream for us!
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kansas City, MO
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year