All

Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 285 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4.1 out of 5
"They had beautiful grounds. Loved the French dining." – jlsmommy
257 out of 332 (77%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Our last day in Dreams Punta Cana Beach Pink Flamingos roam free as well as Peacocks Peacocks roam around the property Room standard Reception area Beach View Our room ...Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite Good housekeeping service largest lazy river pool in Punta Cana lobster and filet mignon dream punta cana Sunset on beach Preferred Club section on the beach dream punta cana Winding pool from lobby to beach Pool View Natural swimming pool View from out swim out room porch Private lounges for swim out room romantic dinner on the beach Peacocks on the balcony Resident Peacock After the ceremony Beach

All Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 285 reviews. Sort by
January 23, 2012 Featured Review
Loved it!

My boyfriend and I just returned from our stay at Dreams Punta Cana, and we were both very impressed! As soon as we entered the lobby we were greeted with a friendly "welcome home" from the front desk (and a glass of champagne, which is always nice after a long flight.) The grounds of the resort are spectacular. I could go on forever, but to sum it up: Dreams is a beautiful resort with great service. The pool is amazing (and HUGE). I recommend upgrading to a Preferred Club room. The rooms are much bigger, you get a private balcony with your own jacuzzi tub, and you have special access to the "Members Only"club house. The members only area has its own bar, snack area, concierge desk, and free internet. The restaurants that we tried ( Oceana, El Patio, and Portofino) were all pretty good. However, definitely try the World Cafe for their breakfast buffet. Yummy! 24 hour room service is included, but we tried several items and they were all just....o.k. One last thing, BOOK A MASSAGE! The spa is gorgeous!

Our room ...Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite Preferred Club section on the beach
94 of 100 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lafayette,LA
Age: 25-34

August 31, 2012
Not too much of a dream

We arrived at the hotel on Friday afternoon and had bought a Preferred Club Package. Our bags were taken right away and we were taken to the Preferred Club for check in. Everything went smoothly until we decided to go to dinner later that night. The steakhouse is a great place if you like to eat dinner without drinks. We waited almost an hour for dinner and had to get up for our drinks. They were never bought to us even though we ordered them. Our next day was great until we got to dinner. We ordered the romance dinner but were never given our champagne. We told the club and it took two days to receive the bottle. We decided to try the Mexican restaurant the next evening where we had to wait for a table even rgiugh there were plenty of tables available. Thank goodness for the manager who apologized to us. The next evening we ate at the Italian restaurant which we loved. The food overall was ok. Our room was full of ants, which once we again complained was taken care of. On the night we had our romance dinner, the staff laid our bed with rose petals, however, they left all the stems with thorns on the bed. On the second day my shoulders and back began to itch. I thought it was the sun, however, on our last day my husband dropped something behind the bed and had to lift the mattress to get it. When he lifted the mattress, he discovered a bed full of mold. We actually have pictures. Arriving home, the dermatologist says i have an allergic reaction to mold. Although the beach is beautiful, you have to be careful of the sea urchins. My husband stepped on some and hurt himself. My overall experience is fair but would not return to this hotel.


32 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Mamaroneck, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 15, 2016
Absolutely Wonderful Experience

DO NOT BELIEVE THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS! I looked at all reviews before making my booking selection. Judging by the way people wrote about this hotel, I was expecting a Motel Six on the beach with gas station food. Everything about this resort was 5-Star!!! It was raining the weekend that I was there, so upon arrival my room was upgraded to a suite with a balcony hot tub. Honestly, it was a bigger room than my apartment in the states. The service was absolutely amazing. As someone who works in the customer service industry, I have very high standards for how service members should behave. There was a hotel employee every five feet asking if I needed anything--help carrying items, drinks, food, directions, how my day is going, you name it! Everyone was SO eager to accommodate me and enhance my stay. Also, everyone spoke nearly perfect English. After reading reviews, I downloaded a Spanish translator app because it seemed like no one on the island would be able to communicate with me. False! I encountered I think one person who didn't quite know what I was asking, so I rephrased and she understood! You don't need to know a lick of Spanish here! I tried a different restaurant every meal I could, and everything was fabulous with very elegant ambiance. The options are endless, and the food is fresh and of very high quality. The buffet was phenomenal for breakfast! I ate there every morning and still didn't get to try everything! I don't know how anyone can say that they got bored of the food--you can honestly eat there at every meal for a week and never have the same thing twice! You can dress pretty casually for the restaurants. I wore dresses with nicer flip flops each night, but most other diners were in pants or shorts. The bartenders were so fun and friendly as well! They made some excellent drinks that had beautiful presentation! Other information I would add that might be helpful is that there are many families at this resort, but they weren't any bothersome in any way. The Amstar drivers that drove to and from the airport were also great! Most people didn't tip, but I did because I felt it was the right thing to do. The spa was so relaxing that I went back each day. The pool/beach areas were clean and fun. There are tons of activities going on all day and night. It was truly a great resort experience, and I will be staying here for all future getaways! Sunblock is 3-4x more expensive at the resort, so make sure to bring it from home! I didn't bring cups or towels or anything like that and I didn't find I needed them. There was bottled water everywhere. There was not really a bug problem. I got a few mosquito bites, but that is to be expected. I always carry Off wipes and Benadryl cream because I am a magnet for mosquitos as it is, so I had no problem. I highly recommend this resort for anyone: couples, families, or singles of any age!


29 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Santa Barbara, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 1, 2016
Dreams Punta Cana was amazing!

My husband and I went to dreams Punta Cana resort and spa September 17 through the 23rd. We went through the site cheap Caribbean.com. We were feeling a little crazy so we went for the deal of fortune 4.5 star. We booked it about six months in advance and did not know the name of our resort until eight days away from our trip. This was kind of nerve-racking for me being a woman. I have to say the whole experience was absolutely awesome! My husband and I have both stayed in and have seen beautiful resorts all around the Caribbean. We have stayed in 10 different countries down there now. I have to say dreams Punta Cana is at the top of our list for sure! When we first got there, they offered us an upgrade for $180 to a suite with a Jacuzzi on the balcony. I was going to purchase this upgrade before we left but it was about double that price. We did the upgrade and it was probably the best decision we ever made. Third floor, which is the top, slight Oceanview, and the room was so big! We had a mini fridge stocked daily with beer, Coca-Cola, Diet Coke, four bottles of water, a sprite, and an orange Fanta. I left five dollars for the maid on the second day and they came every day and even left a couple full bottles of rum in our room on two separate days! The room service food was pretty good for room service. The other restaurants were totally amazing! They have the Japanese steakhouse where they cook in front of you, The steakhouse with all grass fed never frozen beef, A seafood restaurant, a French cuisine restaurant, and the world Café buffet which was amazing for breakfast lunch and dinner. The liquor selection was better than I thought. They had top shelf liquor at every bar and if you tip them a dollar for a couple drinks, they will come back to you before your drink is empty. The only problem we had was we like American beer. The only beer they offer there is Presidente which is their beer from the island. It was almost like natural ice with a bad aftertaste. You could get Budweiser, Corona, and other beers but you have to upgrade to a premier membership. I think it was $50 a day per person. This would've been an extra $700 for us just to drink a few beers a day. We just stuck to the liquor. Waitresses delivered drinks to you while you were in the pool, sitting outside the pool, and even while you were relaxing on the many beds and chairs they had right on the beach. I have to say I would never have imagined it was like this. All the workers are always saying hello to you. They are very happy and treat you like you are royalty. They have food for lunch by the pool and on The beach. Hamburgers, hotdogs, chicken sandwiches, and different things every day like Philly cheesesteaks or gyros. They do try to reel you in to buy a timeshare but you can just politely say no. They will try to grab you right after check in but just tell them you were tired from traveling and they never asked again. We were sitting around the concierge desk not realizing that they were watching us and about to ask us to come to another resort to see if we wanted to buy a timeshare there. We sat and listened to him for a minute while we had a couple drinks and politely told him we were not interested. Most of the days they have vendors come in selling paintings, things made of wood, jewelry and some other things made on the island. They could get a little pushy, but it's worth a look. They asked for $35 for everything and we usually paid about five or 10. They don't mind the negotiations and if you start to walk away they will give you whatever you want. The workers there could also get a little pushy trying to get you involved in activities around the pool. Especially if there are some ladies sitting alone they will pretty much grab you and take you to an activity. But they are usually pretty fun and you could win money and other prizes including full bottles of liquor. You could also just tell them no. My husband and I started to play a little game where we would try to make them uncomfortable so they would walk away. It worked pretty well. we started asking them what their name was and where they lived because they were asking us that. It was actually hilarious when they were very uncomfortable and trying to get away from us! I am 34 years old and my husband is 38 if that helps at all. There were many children around but the pool is over a half a mile long so it did not bother us at all. Be careful going on excursions. Any excursion in scape park is safe and very organized. We went to Soana island for $70 apiece and that was a nightmare. We had a great time and had very nice pics to take home but it was so disorganized. It was a 12 hour endeavor with only one chance to eat a meal. Nobody really spoke English and there are no safety regulations. You're jumping from boat to boat and hoping that you're going to make it. Be very careful and leery about excursions. I definitely recommend anything in scape park. You can zip line, go to an underground cave, go to a freshwater pool in the middle of the rain forest, horseback riding, and many other things they offer. Everyone speaks English and you are safe on the compound with very organize transportation. Overall, I definitely think dreams Punta Cana is great for any age. Be aware they do not have any elevators in any of the buildings so if you have trouble climbing stairs do not ask for the third floor. We also recommend that you ask for a room that is not a pool view. The swim out rooms were not that cool. You're basically facing everybody and they can watch you all the time. It's much more secluded if you have an ocean or jungle view. I hope this helps anybody who is wondering about the deal of fortune on cheap Caribbean.com. It is definitely what they say. I think our resort was probably A five star and we went for a 4.5 star. We definitely got a great deal on this one! We flew on Spirit Airlines which really, really sucked. If there's anyway you can get a straight flight, please do that. Make sure you set up transportation to your resort before you go or you will have 1000 Dominicans trying to grab you for a $70 taxi ride one way. Some sites will allow you to have both way transportations in an air-conditioned van with no other people for $95 total. I am telling you that this is a deal. Gas there is very expensive and these people are not going to cut you a deal to your hotel. Plus they try to take you to a timeshare resort before they take you to your resort. They do not speak English, most of them don't, and they will try to take anything they can to get your money. Just hold onto your stuff and be ready to tip everyone. They all have their hand out and everybody wants something from you. It did not matter to us though. I brought $100 in ones and we almost spent all of that. Couple bucks on the table for breakfast and about five for a nice dinner. It is worth it to tip the waitresses and bartenders cause they will keep coming back. It is just a dollar and it helps a lot! Hope this helps anybody wondering about Dominican republic and dreams Punta Cana! Have a great trip!


23 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 5, 2013
Hola from New York

Literally just got back from DREAMS PUNTA CANA RESORT & SPA. Did not want to come back to NEW YORK after the spectacular week our family had. HOLA TO OUR ENTERTAINMENT TEAM. YOU GUYS MADE THE WHOLE TRIP WORTHWHILE. WE WILL NEVER FORGET ANY OF YOU. I will get back to you guys in a moment. Resort is 1 hour from the airport on the northern coast of Punta Cana. However, after the highway is finished, the trip should be closer to 35 minutes. The resort is located on the Atlantic Ocean. Coral Reefs really prohibit swimming in the ocean at this resort. Staff does a tremendous job maintaining the beach, removing seaweed and garbage. As a significant beach person, I was disappointed in the water and the inability to swim in the ocean, but there are plenty of other options and the other options ARE FAR BETTER. Preferred Package was a nice upgrade to this resort. All-inclusive means all inclusive (drinks and three meals a day with snacks available in the preferred lounge). Check-in was quick and painless, staff was excellent in explaining the resort and where the restaurants are located. Fresh pool towels daily. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Check-out equally quick and painless. Tour guides located in the theatre daily to book excursions, sell timeshares, etc. Booked the Dolphin Explorer Excursion. Approximately 35 minutes from the hotel; the whole excursion takes about 5.5 to 6 hours of the day. Definitely worth it. Pictures and video of your Dolphin Swim is worth it, definitely bring cash and your credit card. So many different excursions to book, definitely need more than 7 days to fit everything in. Rooms are small, clean, a bit outdated; however, nobody goes to Punta Cana to stay in their rooms all day long. Spent a total of 1 hour (shower and dress for dinner) in our room daily aside from sleeping at night. A room is a room. Maid staff cleaned daily, fresh towels daily, flower petals in the tub, sink and on the bed. Made towel animals for my children several times throughout the week. Excellente! Food is food, you eat when you are hungry and it won't matter much to you. New Yorkers know what food tastes like; however, remember, this is a different country. Breakfast at the World Café was delicious. Scrambled eggs, pouched eggs, French toast, pancakes, crapes, omelets, etc and the fresh juices and fruits. You will definitely find something to eat here. My daughter ate cereal every morning and my other daughter had French toast and watermelon slices. For lunch, you must go to the Barefoot Grille on the beach, burgers and hot dogs with all the toppings were phenomenal. Dinner at Oceana's restaurant is amazing although the portions are small. To our hostess at both the World Café and Oceana's, thank you. Your smile each and every morning was infectious and started the day off on a terrific note. Kids club was awesome, my two daughters had an amazing time. Evelyn was professional, responsible and definitely made sure the children had fun under her supervision. Jocelyn and Katie miss you so much already. Thank you for making our children feel welcomed and they had an amazing time with you. Pool is huge, stretching the entire length of the resort. Multiple areas to either sit quietly or be in the middle of the action with sponsored activities all day long. Barracuda Bar is a nice quiet area to sit poolside and enjoy a fresh drink without feeling pressured to participate. Sugar Reef near the patio and beach fronting Manatees swim up bar is the place to hang out if you are interested in activities throughout the day. Annibel, Maximo and Blindy will make any drink you want. If you like RUM, you must try the Blindy Speciale. Annibel has the personality of a movie star, charismatic and handsome (my wife loved him). Bahama Mamas, Sammy Sosas, Blue Hawaiians, Coco Locos, and an arrangement of drinks throughout the week. Service with a smile. Hola mi hermanos! To OUR friends, Ne-Yo, Christopher, DJ Miguel, Marcos, Arismendy, Alejandro, Carmen and my beautiful Stephanie, you made the week so much more memorable for us. You are all personable, talented and downright amazing. There is nothing these people can not do. The entertainment team works hard each and every day from 8am to 3am to ensure guests have a great time, but it only works if you really want to enjoy your vacation. There is nothing I would not have done with this group of individuals. My family and I participated in competitions, games and the nightly shows. Dancing on stage, singing in front of the audience, things I would not do at home. Leave your inhibitions at home, break down your walls and have fun at the expense of yourself. Make people laugh at you, 'cause they are not really laughing at you, they are laughing with you. LEVANTANDO LAS MANOS! Action time! Still dancing with you guys at home pretending I was poolside right next to you. DANZA KUDURO is still playing in my head. Christopher, DJ Miguel and Stephanie: Thank you for everything. You will be missed. Hopefully someday, our paths will cross again. Until then, may luck be on your side, and continued success fill your pockets. We wish you nothing but happiness. Don't worry Stephanie, the knee is healing nicely. Thank you for participating in Western night as my partner. I will cherish our dances over those few short days. From the resort to the staff, this was an amazing trip. Our first trip outside the continental US and certainly will not be our last. Definitely would recommend this resort to anyone, especially families.


40 of 44 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Valley Cottage, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 24, 2012
VIP-Anniversary

We arrived and decided to upgrade to an VIP honeymoon suite and it was cheaper to do this in person rather than on-line, we saved a few dollars. I read many of reviews for this Hotel as well es every other one and we had to make a choice, so we decided on Dreams. I was very impressed with the service, cleanliness, food and drinks. Everyone was extremely polite and friendly to us. We had no issues. I was nervous after reading everyone's reviews, but then I realize that some people would complain no matter how good something was, just to complain. I always just want or expect to get want I paid for and nothing less. I was very happy about Dreams and would recommend same to anyone. Don't get overwhelmed with all the reviews and make an informed decision based on your price range and enjoy yourself. We found the staff and the people we met all to be very friendly.


18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 23, 2017
Great Relaxing Week

We just got back from a week @ Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa. We did the Deal of Fortune through Cheap Caribbean. We weren't sure where we were staying till the week before. We flew non stop from Logan to Punta Cana on Iceland Air. The flight was great both ways. The best part of this resort is NO wrist bands and NO dinner reservations. With 8 restaurants there is always a place you can get into every night. They also have a very nice buffet. We paid $960 per person for everything. 7 nights, non stop flight all your food, all your top shelf booze, a very comfortable room, a beautiful beach, the largest pool on the Island and the people were nothing but friendly and helpful. I would HIGHLY recommend doing the deal or just booking this resort, it was a great trip!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 2, 2010
Not what was promised

Just returned- we booked 3 "preferred club" suites. The rooms were decent- until we opened the pull-out bed. Only fits one child (narrower than a twin size bed)- and the mattress was 3 inches thick, smelled of urine, and looked to be as old as the resort. We asked a total of 5 or 6 times for them to switch it- they promised they would- it was never done. Actually- everytime we asked for any kind of help from the so-called preferred club- nothing got done. Other than that, most of the employees were great. Disappointed in the food- especially since not all of the restaraunts were opened when we were told they would be. We had a hard time finding food between 4pm and 630p, unless you went back to room and ordered room service- who wants to do that on a beautiful day. The buffet was aweful- even the kids (who are not picky eaters) had a hard time finding food they liked. Sports Zone was good- but never enough employees to run the events- we spent more time waiting around than "doing". The best part was the beach, pool, and entertainment. I even emailed cheapcarribean for help with the room situation- to no evail.


28 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 19, 2012
A Week in PARADISE

Arrived in Punta Cana, Sunday afternoon. The weather, 90 and sunny. Mondays weather, 90 and sunny. Wanna guess what the weather was all week? You're right! 90 and sunny. A beautiful change from October in the NorthEast US. Dreams was an exceptional value. We chose a swim out room and would never stay at another resort that dosen't have them. Breakfast on our own patio every morning then straight poolside. The room had its own "backyard" with our own personal lounge chairs. Across the pool from us was the towel shack and the Barracuda Bar. The staff at both were off the charts pleasant and always happy to serve as was the staff resort wide. Dinner at the World Cafe was typical buffet, but very good. The hibachi restaurant is must. Dinner there was incredible. Another suggestion, for an extra cost, the romantic dinner on the beach. We couldn't have picked a better last meal. The food was excellent and abundant. Overall the staff at Dreams are incredible and the property and its cleanliness and beauty are second to none. We can't wait to return. Was definetly a week in Paradise.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York City
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 18, 2013
not the best

If you are looking for the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Caribbean, you will not find it at this hotel. This hotel is a little over an hour away from the airport and is located on the Atlantic side of the ocean. They are currently working on building a highway, but who knows when that will be completed. The pool is great but is only 3 feet deep all around and you cannot go from one end to the other without getting out of the pool. Also the room we stayed in (room 4124) absolutely smelled of mold and mildew, when looking at the air duct mold was visible. The smell of bleach also was prominent to kill the mold smell but was still there. This is an island though and with all that humidity there is bound to be a smell. The staff was great and friendly and the food was very good as well. One last thing, the phone service was essentially non functional. Family had to try 6 or 7 times to get through to our room and even then we would hear another room placing a phone call or an order for room service. This is an all inclusive however not all restaurants are included and there IS a charge to eat at these restaurants. Twice a week they bring in vendors that will hound you and follow you around insisting you purchase something.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year