All

Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 288 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.7
4.1 out of 5
"Spent first week of October here, nice place. Clean and friendly staff. Good restaurants and entertainment was OK. Would recommend it." – MEC21
262 out of 336 (78%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
front lobby Mexican restaurant not a great shot of the beach but its beautiful Beach party preferred club pool Bedside lamp base Kool Caribbean Brezees This is 30 minutes after finished Oceanview view from our room. beach view beach at 9am Preferred Club Private Beach Is this 5 star? 2 flush to empty toilet At he beach View from the balcony Piece of heaven. Compliments of our butler on our anniversary beautiful and clean beaches Keep those mimosas rolling Bathroom sink drain Kids playing volleyball on the bean! the view from our balcony beach

All Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 288 reviews. Sort by
October 22, 2011
Excellent Staff and Facilities

We stayed at Dreams Palm Beach for seven nights starting Sept. 28, our seventh visit to the Dominican Republic and forth to the Bavaro-Cabeza de Toro-Punta Cana area. The staff here, overall, was probably the very best that we have experienced. Without exception, the wait staff, hostesses and servers in the World Cafe, the hostess and wait staff in El Patio (thanks, Neomi), all of the bartenders (even the trainee), the beach and pool servers, the reception personnel, the housekeepers, and the very personable entertainment/animation staff were very professional and helpful. We have seldom seen so many activities to choose from, but you are not pushed to participate if you don't want to. We thoroughly enjoyed the beach party. Don't miss it. The beach is nice, & there are plenty of lounge chairs. There was some seaweed on days when the wind blew, but it was constantly removed starting early in the morning. We enjoy sailing the catamarans wherever we go, and they were maintained by Sea Pro at Dreams Palm Beach. There were two boats operational and another that was getting some new fittings. I took a short Spanish class conducted by Gasolina who was very entertaining. Breakfast every morning at the World Cafe was great. We ate lunch at the Barefoot Grill on the beach most every day, and the hamburgers & hotdogs are wonderful. The food and service is so good at the World Cafe, we ate there most nights, but did go to El Patio twice and Bordeaux once. Most every night there is a bar set up at the garden wedding gazebo with tables & chairs. There is different entertainment here every night. This is a nice place to stop by while going to or from dinner. The room was very nice, but there was a shortage of drawer space. Housekeeping did a very good job, and came by at least twice a day. We left a small tip and some small gifts every day in appreciation. The refrigerator was re-supplied most every day. A different person does this. Dreams Palm Beach is to be commended for enforcing their dress code in the restaurants. There seemed to be a predominance of Americans, but that may be just a perception. There were weddings almost every day. The water served in the restaurants and the ice at the bars is purified. We have traveled in the Caribbean for over 40 years and have never had a stomach problem, primarily because we observe a few precautions. Don't drink the tap water. Brush your teeth and rinse your toothbrush with bottled water. Don't get shower or pool water in your mouth. Peel or wash fruit before you eat it. Use hand sanitizer every time you touch something someone else has (like serving tongs at the buffet). All in all, a great visit. We will highly recommend it. Thanks to Donna at Cheap Caribbean for once again making our experience problem-free.


127 of 130 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 8, 2013
Better than I expected it to be.

My husband and I planned this trip at the last minute ( 5 days prior) to going on this trip. I spent several hours reading reviews and was hoping to stay at the DREAMS PUNTA CUNA. They had good reviews and it looked nice. They had no rooms availlble when I went to book. I called the 1-800 number to see if they saw any availability I did not see. That is when the man recommended the Dreams Palm Beach. I was a bit nervous reserving a room when I had not read the reviews. Since we were kind of rushed for time I went ahead and reserved the room. Then I started reading the reviews and I was in a panic!! There were so many bad reviews..omg.. I felt sick to my stomach. Then I kept checking the weather and it looked like 60-80% chance of rain. I was in such a need for sunny warm vacation and after seeing the bad reviews I was really bummed!! So,, I was expecting the very worse of what I read. My husband and I decided we would make the best of it regardless. We arrived around 5pm...it looked nice around a 4 star checking in...I had read about upgrading to the VIP package and getting the internet service and a butler with a cell phone who you can call 24/7 fpr whatever you needed for 99.00. So I upgraded right away. It cost 99.00 and is the best thing you can do just like the reviews I had read. I had to ask about the upgrade. I do not think it would have been mentioned otherwise. Many people I talked to new nothing of the upgrade. I had asked for a room on the 3rd florr because I had read bottom floors are more mildew smelling. The third floors have a valted ceiling and seem bigger because of that. I am a platnuim member at the Marriott so I always prefer the high rooms anyway. So we met our butler in the lobby and he showed us how he cell phone worked etc..he took us to our room and it was in a good location but was on the first floor. In building 5. It did smell a bit mildwey but wasn't a huge deal but I still wanted a 3rd floor room. Alex (butler) checked and he said he could move us tomorrow but not that evening. I was fine with that. It was already 6pm and I was hungry and wanted to go eat. In the morning Alex called me around 9am.. He said he had our towels and beach bed and chairs reserved already..so we went to work out and ate and then met Alex down there on the beach in the prefered section around 11am. It was wonderful. Our waiter for the week was Bryan..he as awesome. Fun..nice..fast service.. Then Alex called and he said he had our new room. It was awesome. It even had a beach view..wow loved it! I will and do tip well when I get great service so he was rewarded for this. I tipped over all for 7 days $200.00 and bought some high quality rum and gave it to them for a gift. You have to write a note with it so they are not accused of stealing it. I went on this vacation for warm weather..sun..someone to wait on me...and lay on the beach and lay in the sun..and that is what I did. I had lunch brought to me every day..lots of yummy frozen drinks.. Had great weather even though the forceast called for rain. If it rained it was light and short and moved right through. We were delivered champane in the room..fruit.. We could have got breakfast in bed..but I like to get up and go work out for 2 hours every morning so that is what I did. Gym is suffciant for getting a good work out in. We went on an excusion to Sonoma Island on a cateraman and it was fun and we had a good time and met some fun people. I purchaed that on the internet before we left. It is about 10.00 less per person if you buy it ahead of time. Food was ok....don't go just for the food. Not bad.. but ok. We ate at every resturant there and the beef tenderloin in the French place was great...beef tenderloin in seaside grill ok...Jappenese food very salty..sushi looked scarey to me and I wouldn't eat but my husband ate it and said I wouldn't like it. Normally I live sushi. We ate at the grill and it was ok..we have an awesome place at home we go to so it couldn't stand up to our local place. Mexican was ok./good..I was so full by the time the the meal came couldn't eat all of it. Good Margs..chips..eytc.. Italian was ok also..Nothing was bad and we drank the water from the pitcher every meal and we never got sick ever on the entire trip and we drink alot of water. Order lunch from seaside grill and have it delivered when out at the beach or pool. We have a pool so I hang out at the prefered beach area everyday. The shows were ok..one was real funny and we liked it another one we left in the middle was dumb and we were tired. Read up on all of th reviews it will help you have a better trip..we did and it helped. House keeping great...clean rooms..hot wwater...good internet..but paid for it with the vip package..unlimited for 99.00 wiith butler service..Seriously if you tip you will get GREAT service. I tip for great service...so if you are not planning on tiipping don't plan on getting exceptional service. Money talks just like it does anywhere in the world. Over all it was great for us. Also we had a couples massage and I asked my butler if we could get a 2 for 1 and he arranged it. It was nice. Anything I needed I just asked our butler and it was done. Make sure men bring long pants and a collared shirt ...like a polo shirt is fine. Sandals are fine also for dinner. The buffet you can wear shorts. You giirls must be covered up to go in buffet and coffee shopt and not in a swim suit they will ask you to leave. I am fine with that personally. It looks like it was a great place if you had small children...I was on this trip to get away from kids so I stayed on the prefered beach and only dipped in the pool a few times. Ok... Have fun... Our cost was 1600.00 a person...and 200.00 in tips I spent for 7 days. The 1600.00 included our airfare. I thought it was fine for last minute rservations..5 days advance. Good luck!! and have fun!!! Ask for Alex and Wilson...Jose as a team for butlers..Alex was my favorite but all were great .. and Bryan for a waiter...Love him!!!! :))


81 of 91 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 22, 2011
Great Resort but Beach Water is Not

I am writing this review for those that care for the BEACH and THE WATER the most, as I do. READ: This Dreams is NOT on the Caribbean Sea, most of the guests and us thought we're going to caribbean where the water is dreamy. Not at this resort. The sand is nice, the water looks pritty on the first 5 feet, then its Dark, and is not all that swimable, the Seaweed is the joy killer. The resort in general is really beatiful and the staff is Incredible. A+ to the staff. From the moment you walk in they await with mimosas and pay attn to you all thru your vaca. Wonderful. ROOMS: just Ok, first room smelled like Mildew Yuck, had to ask to move, second room was better, no smell. Bathrooms need good cleaning and UPDATE. FOOD: World Cafe Buffet is the best, I think all the restaurants get the food from buffet with a little twist but nothing special, at least at the buffet you get warm fresh just made food. Stick with it. Take adv of freshly squizeed juices during breakfast :o) DRINKS: besides Beer (they have President and Corona) I didnt like much of anything. too many sugary drinks. RUM is popular. ENTERTAINMENT: there's a group of guys busy entertaining guests, they're nice and do a good job. I enjoyed the morning water aerobics with Candyman. Caribbean Friday Night was also fun. KIDS: they have a nice place where they watch and entertain kids 3 and up The Explorer Club. Nice children's pool too. ADVICE: Take a trip to Saona Island 85 pp. Worth it. It was a fun trip to a Gorgeous Pristine Island on the CARIBBEAN with dreamy waters :) hope this helps ;o)


38 of 43 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: nyc
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010 Featured Review
Family beach getaway....

Dreams Palm Beach in Punta Cana was a fantastic family getaway. We have small children and teenagers and ther was plenty to do for everyone! the beaches were clean and provided lots of shade for the wee ones but also had trmpolines and large pyramids to entertain the older kids. the only negative i can find was the lack of waves, the water was a bit too calm. The restaurants were fantastic! we especially loved the hibachi grill, and hanging out with the live music after dinner. The rooms were modern and clean, but they could have been a little more spacious and the room service was very limited-but that is typical at all-inclusives. Their service, however, was outstanding! From the restaurants to the lobby to the beach...everyone was super friendly and very helpful. The staff here is really great and our overall experience was fantastic. We trully recomend it!


28 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 5, 2012
Great Family Vacation!

My husband, myself and our 13 yr old daughter enjoyed a wonderful vacation at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana in July 2012. The staff at Dreams Palm Beach were so friendly and helpful from the very beginning to very end of our stay. We stayed in the Preferred Club section of the resort where we had a very clean and nice oceanview room. The view was fabulous!. The beds were comortable. The only thing I would have liked were two sinks in the bathroom. Oh, and some towel bars. But other than that the room was great! The cleaning staff cleaned daily and provided us with fresh towels, and restocked the mini bar. Even turned down our beds at night. The Preferred Club lounge and pool area was fabulous! You could go in the lounge and access one of the desktop computers. But we had our smartphones and IPad, and since we were Preferred guests we had free WIFI throughout the resort. We never had a problem with other guests reserving chairs or beach beds. Sometimes we would arrive at the beach at 10:30am and we easily found available chairs and/or a beach bed at the Preferred Club private beach area. It was also nice not to have to pack beach towels since the resort provided towels. We so enjoyed laying on the beach reading, sipping a cocktail (which the beach wait staff brings), sleeping and walking along the beach. So relaxing. We found the food to be quite good. I loved the mexican restaurant,and the Japanese,The Seaside Grill and the coffee shop. The Italian restaurant was also good, but was the only restaurant where my salad was not fresh and our waiter seemed to be a bit tired. The World Cafe, the large buffet, has a large selection of foods. We had breakfast there almost every morning and lunch once. The Preferred Club lounge has a bar and small nibbles to enjoy throughout the day. I truly enjoyed snacking on the julienne carrots and cucumbers. They were so refreshing while laying at the beach. A fresh pear or apple in the morning was nice too. Another great thing about DPB is that the resort was not too large. You got to know other guests and typically had the same staff serving you. I cannot say enough about how wonderful the staff was. So, so polite and helpful! Speical thank you to Hector, Johan, Marsol, and Christine and so many more that I can't remember all their names. My husband played tennis almost every day and Johan is a wonderful tennis pro. He really gave my husband a great workout! We also visited the gym several times during our stay. It's not a large gym but has all the equipment one would need to put in a good workout. Treadmills, ellipiticals, free weights, weight machines and bikes. They also provide towels and cold water. I must say all inclusive is the way to go. From food, to drinks, to resort activities this resort had it all.

Preferred Club Private Beach Oceanview view from our room.
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Roswell, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 12, 2014
Worst Dreams Property

This is the 2nd Dreams property I have stayed at and I have stayed at other AM Resorts properties. This was by far the worst experience I have ever had. We had money stolen out of our safe in the room. I know most people would ask how this happened considering the safe is locked by you and you make the code for the safe. Every safe in the resort had a name plate on the front of the safe showing who had made the safe. The name plate was held on by 2 allen key screws. All you had to do was simply turn one of the 2 screws so the name plate fell down and you could stick your index finger in the safe and pop it open. Now, the amount of money was not a lot. It was only $200 ($200 of $500 in twenty dollar bills) so I was OK with just letting it go. My fiance was not OK with that plan and alerted the front desk. The resort sent 3 people to the room to investigate, only 1 of the guys spoke English. We were at the resort for a wedding so I had gone to one of the meetings with the wedding party when the 3 gentleman arrived at the room to question my fiance. After 30 min of them questioning my fiance in our room, she was getting really uncomfortable and came to get me because they were now accusing us of stealing money from each other. When I got back to the room there were now a total of 7 people standing in the hallway outside of our room. Everyone was extremely heated about the situation, including the hotel staff. I would not allow everyone in the room to continue the discussion and this infuriated the staff. Could I have handled the following conversation with the staff differently, yes. I 100% could have. But mind you, we were at an all inclusive resort for a wedding. The groomsman all played golf and had been drinking all day, myself included. The tone in which the resort staff was talking to my fiance did not help the situation and I regretfully used profanity. The main guy in charge told us that he was calling the cops and that they would be taking me to jail. He signaled for someone to go call the cops and he just started walking off. My fiance did not want the wedding to be ruined so she spent the next 20 minutes trying to get them to not call the cops and let us stay. While she was talking to him, someone came up to them and said the cops were there. She convinced him to let us go and not to kick us out. I was so angry about the whole situation that I just went to bed. The next morning, a very sweet older lady, probably in her 70's, asked us if everything was ok and my fiance explained to her what happened. She said that 2 people in their group that were down for a wedding had money stolen from them as well. She said they tried to keep everything hush hush and she thought the reason they got so angry was because we would not talk to them quietly in the room. That made my fiance at least settle down a little bit but we were on edge the rest of the trip as the main guy in charge told her that was our first and last warning for anything on the resort. On the second to last day, another one of the groomsman had money taken from his room as well. This further let us know we were not an isolated incident. On our last day at the resort, the concierge called us and asked us to come speak with them. They said that their investigation had turned up 0 leads. They said the maid in question had never had any complaints before but they felt bad about the situation so they gave us a $200 voucher for the Spa. The resort did eventually try to make things right, it was just too far gone at that point. Needless to say, it was not a pleasant experience and we will not be going back to the Dominican Republic.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 23, 2015
Keep Shopping

I have never traveled to the Dominican so this was my first experience. It was also my first experience in a Dreams hotel. I'm not the type to post only negative experiences but if i can save one person from blowing their money on this resort, then I've done my job. First and foremost, prepare to be hot. There is no relief in the daytime except your room and the water. There is no AC in the lobby which is pretty typical I suppose. In the buffet they provide a frozen washcloth which gets you through the meal. Our room was on the 3rd floor which I've now learned is the hottest room so avoid the top floor. Do not go here for the nightlife or shows. There is no nightlife and the entertainment is nearly non existent. One thing that I REALLY found unacceptable was the harrassment on the beach. You will be approached at least every 5 minutes by a guy selling t-shirts, shells, necklaces, etc., and you literally have to be rude and walk (or run) away yelling I DON'T WANT ANY. It is terrible. I believe the resorts should oversee the behavior allowed on its beach. It's very irritating and disturbing. I felt like I had to watch my beach bag the whole time and I truly dislike feeling that way. Now, about the food. You will NOT get Dominican food here. You will get American food cooked by Dominicans and it is the worst I've had. I am no way a food snob although I love a great meal no doubt. The buffet in the morning/day is great for fruit. They have fish but they make a little at a time and it is HOT standing by the grill. They give you the smallest portions possible. My favorite thing is the fish grill on the beach at noon. I truly enjoyed that more than anything. For dinner, it is air conditioned, thank goodness. I cannot begin to tell you how much I disliked the food. There is no shrimp, there is no fish to speak of, the ravioli was nothing but pasta (no filling) and it was almost intolerable but needless to say, I was hungry. Do not think it's any better with room service. We tried that too... awful. Now, with all that being said, you may think "well, why didn't you eat somewhere else?'. There are NO options to eat outside the resort. My daughter could not wait to reach the airport for food. Further, our refrigerator didn't work, they did not "re-stock" daily except with water which was good but hot. I was provided one warm beer in my room the entire stay. Making coffee in the room is extremely inconvenient with limited plugs. They will tell you to pick up your "vouchers" which is a ploy to set up a time share orientation. This is set up by the hotel and encouraged. It does not feel like your on vacation when it's a job trying to get out of everything they push on you. I honestly will not go back. You can believe this or not but I promise, I am one of the people in this world that is honest in my review. I do not ask for a lot. Just a relaxing vacation with a little fun. That's not too much to ask for... just sayin'. Peace.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 14, 2015
Fun and Relaxing

We had a fantastic time on this trip. Overall, the resort was great, and I would probably go back to Dreams Palm Beach if I were to visit Punta Cana again in the future. I'll start with the Pros: 1. The food was very good and the staff was very accommodating. One person in my group has Celiac's Disease, an allergy to gluten, and all the restaurants had a pretty good variety of gluten free offerings. The only restaurant where it was a bit questionable was the French restaurant, Bordeaux, but our waiter spoke with the chef and they cooked something specially for her. This didn't apply to anyone in my group, but all of the restaurants also had multiple vegetarian options. 2. There are multiple pools, and all are large, so even though the resort was crowded, we never felt cramped while in the pool. The only downside, is there aren't many chairs by the pools, and people tend to be extremely inconsiderate. Every day we saw multiple groups saving a row of 5 or 6 seats with sun screen and flip flops and books while they went to eat breakfast or even went back into their rooms. Definitely get out there early if you want a poolside seat. 3. There are bars all over the place, so you are never very far from a cold drink. My personal favorite was the swim up bar located in the pool. But there are bars scattered all across the resort. And if you don't want to get up, waiters roam around and will get a drink for you. And all the bars have water bottles and non-alcoholic drinks as well. Plus the mini-bar in your room always has water bottles and soda. 4. There are a lot of activities - tennis, beach volleyball, dance classes, and karaoke, to name a few. There were also people parasailing and kayaking. So there is plenty to do on the resort, without going on excursions. However, there were always tour groups in the lobby organizing excursions, so if you want to leave the resort, it looked like it would be very easy to set up a day trip. 5. The resort is clean. The pools are clean, the restaurants are clean, and the rooms are clean. Our bedding and towels were always clean. I wasn't sure what to expect, having never traveled to the Dominican Republic before, and I was extremely happy that the resort appeared to keep cleanliness as a priority. Now on to the Cons: 1. If you require constant connectivity, and Internet is important to you, this is not the resort for you. Normally, I would not have even cared about this, but one of the people with whom I was traveling had to take an exam during our trip. We had to pay what I felt was an exorbitant amount for wifi - which could only be bought in 7 day bundles (so you couldn't just pay for a 2 hour block or just one day), and could only be applied to one device. Once we were hooked up to the Internet, the service was unreliable. It was slow and kicked us off constantly. We had even had trouble checking into our return flights because the system could not handle the bandwidth required for even that. 2. The beach was small, and a little dirty. Not "garbage" dirty, it was actually exceptionally clean in that respect, but there was an unusual amount of seaweed - the staff explained that it was due to storm surges over the Atlantic. I know this is totally out of the resort's control, and they did their best to clean it, every morning around 7AM or so they had construction vehicles going up and down clearing the seaweed. But it did make swimming and walking on the beach a little icky. 3. Wine is not included. All the other liquor, food, and soft drinks were, but for whatever reason wine was an additional cost. And it was extremely overpriced - a bottle of Yellowtail was over $30. If you care about drinking wine while on your vacation, be prepared to pay extra. 4. I was a little underwhelmed with the souvenir shops. I would have liked to see more options. For example, I wanted to buy a gift for my nephew (who is less than a year old) and they only had toddler clothes.


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: East Rutherford, New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 19, 2015
Terrific time

Just got back, stayed 5 days - 4 nights 1/8-1/12. We stayed in building 7 (close to the pool and midway between the lobby and beach, everything is fairly close), room 7303 (3rd floor, room #3), it was overlooking the pool and received the morning sun. The view did not matter much because we were always outside during the day. There was no elevator so the 3rd floor is fine if you don’t mind climbing a few steps. As for dinner, we thought the best was Bordeaux (French), portions are small but okay, house wines were not good, followed by Himitsu (Japanese) sat at the grill, good entertainment food just okay, we were disappointed in the Seaside Grill, salmon was dry. On our last night we ate at the World Café – buffet it was very good, had grilled lobster tail, as many as you wanted. We did not try the Mexican or Italian restaurants. Breakfasts were at the World Café and they were great, the breads and pastries were average to below. Bottom line, the food was just okay though the service outstanding. The pool was large enough that you could always find a quite spot. The swim-up bar was fine. The beach was very nice, the sand was smooth as silk no rocks or sea shells, it was like walking on flour, it was that fine. However, the seaweed and water (very murky) was disappointing. I think it was the winds, currents and possible storms at sea that was causing the high level of seaweed and unclear water. Spoke to others and they said this is very unusual; can’t control nature. They were out raking and picking up the seaweed by hand but it was simply too much. Drinks were okay but watered down which is fine. If you are going to the spa for a massage, go an hour + early to take advantage of the steam room, sauna, and Jacuzzi before your massage, it certainly gets you in a better mood. The price is right until you discover the tax which is not advertised, I think it was close to 40% which makes the spa not a bargain as advertised. Most people swam in the pool. There were many activities throughout the day. I enjoyed beach volleyball. The nightly entertainment was okay, did not spend time in the nightclub though I heard others say it was fairly loud. The casino is small but well staffed, basic games and slot machines. You could play with US dollars. We were treated like kings and queens. The place was super clean, rooms excellent, beds very comfortable. The showers are a bit small, I'm 6', 210 and it was a bit challenging but who cares about the size of the shower. I would go back there in a minute and would highly recommend the resort to anyone. As far as employees are concerned, Frank in the lobby, George on the beach and in the café, Junior at the swim-up bar, and Lily greeting us each morning at the café were just fantastic. Tell them the guy from Boston sent you, especially Frank and Geroge.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Boston, MA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 29, 2016
Amazing 8 Days in Paradise

I planned this vacation as a nice getaway for my girlfriend and I for our 3 year anniversary and her birthday. I looked at a TON of different places all over the Carribean and Hawaii and I am SO GLAD I decided for us to go to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana. First off, WOW... You drive through beautiful gates and there is a waterfall and a beautiful open lobby that has tropical plants everywhere. We arrived at night and the property is breathtaking. I just got the basic room for us because we weren't planning on being in the room for very long. It was pretty nice, but the bathroom seemed like they could have cleaned the glass better and sometimes the water pressure would drop out for 10 seconds at a time while showering. No big deal there, but I also think their handyman could have taken a few extra seconds to do a better job caulking around the shower... The pools are amazing, and the beach is where we spent 90% of our time, because they have kayaks and sailboats and scuba gear available for anyone at the resort to use, and they have servers come right to you and you can order drinks from them. The beach sand is really beautiful and soft and the water is crystal clear. Some people complain about the seaweed, but who cares... if you don't like the seaweed go to the pool. They have people work all day every day to control the seaweed and it was managed very well in my opinion. The main reason we had such a great time was the staff. We had many favorites but everyone works so hard to make sure you have a great time. On the beach our favorite was Mr. Dion. Great guy, and he showed us pictures of his family and that kind of thing makes great connections with the guests. The others we really liked were Jose Villa, Perfecto, Juan (Seaside Grill), Johnathan (manager of entertainment) Rolando and Raybeer in Entertainment, Orlando, Luis and Juan (servers on the beach) and mostly everyone we met. In the future, we will come back because of the people that work there. Mr. Dion was sincere when he told us he wanted to see us back in the future. Other couples we met that had been there before told us they came back only after calling to check that their favorite employees were still there. We will do the same. Also, I read some reviews about people complaining about language barrier... If you don't want to open your mind to other cultures don't go to other countries... Go to Florida instead. I was surprised how well they spoke English, and I learned some spanish while I was down there. I thought that was part of the fun! There was a small issue at one point with them accidentally sending my girlfriends birthday champagne and fruit basket to another room (honest mistake), but they went WAY above and beyond to make it up to us! The concierge Juana (sorry if I spelled it wrong), was very kind and listened to us when we had that issue. Also, Junior who is new and just started training is a great addition to your resort. He was very respectful, professional and his English is probably better than mine ;) haha Overall, we couldn't have had a better time for our anniversary and her birthday. Thanks Dreams Palm Beach for a great time!


14 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Rochester, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year