All

Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort and Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Los Cabos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 83 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.1 out of 5
"they put me in their swankier Casa Del Mar resort. Very gorgeous and romantic for couples. no kids everywhere. an elegant and quiet vacation. Dreams was very nice BUT lots of kids running around." – chelly
69 out of 89 (78%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
At the Himitsu Restaurant Cabo Dolphins Morning Surf Our view from our room directly under our room View from the pool area resturant no joke this is the elevator near our room View from the honeymoon suite Casino Night

All Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 83 reviews. Sort by
September 17, 2014
Not the Greatest Vacation

The best part of this vacation spot was the weather. Dreams could not mess that up for us. Upon arriving we received cool/scented cloths and champagne and we thought nice touch this is going to be great. Then the sales team started with the pressure to sit thru one of their 90 minute presentations and offer us free this-and-that if we would just give them a little bit of our time. I thought we were here to relax but the sales department thought we were there to try and get free excursions from them and to sit and listen to them try and sell us time share info. After that fiasco that lasted 30 minutes we get to our beautiful room with a beautiful view. Went to the pool which was nice with beautiful scenery. The main pool was in poor condition with tiles missing and grout dingy but the infinity wall was beautiful overlooking the ocean. The bartenders in the pool bar were miserable. They acted like they did not like their jobs, never smiled and never once ask how we were or said have a nice day or how can I help you. They just looked at you and waited for you to tell them what you wanted. Not friendly at all. Then dinner: with so many choices we were so excited we didn't know where to go first but since we both love seafood we went there first and left there feeling like we just ate a TV dinner of salsbury steak and 3 shrimp (This was their surf and turf). They did have lobster but that was an added charge. Oh while I am at the added charges, the coupons offered to entice guests, say 200 dollars in coupons per room. Well let me tell you, you won't be using them. They are a farce, $10 towards a bottle of wine, $40 towards a $195 massage, $60 towards a $250 dinner on beach, etc. YEP THIS ALL INCLUSIVE IS NICKEL AND DIMING YOU. I will say lunches at the pool and breakfast and room service were average but dinners were worse than any place I have ever been. The portion was so small my husband would go back to the room and order room service after dinner just to feel like he ate and the food itself was not good quality. My husband also commented that he felt the beer coming out of the taps at the pools were watered down somehow. He drank 12 beers one afternoon and did not feel any effects of alcohol. (This is not normal) Our air conditioner broke during our stay and when called maintenance came directly to our room and worked on it for quite a while and then told us we would have to move our room. This was at 10:30 at night. we had to pack our room up and move, they did upgrade our room but it was to a room that must not have been used in months, it smelled like an old musty closet, I would have rathered the broken air conditioner. For the first time in our vacation history I was looking forward to coming home.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 21, 2012
Dreams vs Riu Santa Fe

I have stayed at both the Riu Santa Fe and now Dreams resort and will compare the two. Food - Dreams resort restaurant food is considerably better than the Riu. The buffet food at Dreams is better than the Riu, but not by as large of a margin than the restaurant. Drinks - Dreams alcoholic beverages were much better. At Riu the only beer available is Dos Equis. Dreams has Carona too. Also, the taps at Riu made the beer taste horrible. Pool/beach - about the same for both resorts. Location - I do prefer Riu's location over Dreams as it is closer to town and beach bars. Staff - both very friendly Rooms - much nicer at Dreams ... All with an ocean view.


55 of 64 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 22, 2012
Great place

We loved Dreams Los Cabos. We have stayed at all inclusive resorts before, and this was the best experience we have had. If you see a negative review, ignore it. Granted, people have different experiences based off their past travels or what they were expecting. Some of these people who did post a bad review would complain if you gave them a million dollars would ask for 2 million dollars. We booked through Cheapcarribean for everything for this trip. No problems, especially since we did the airport to resort transfers. Check in was just as expected. Of course, they are going to try to set you up for a invitation to their time share presentation. We sort of forgot our invitation (not really) with no problems. Resort was amazing. Resort wasn't totally booked the time we were there. Food was great (Oriental restaurant was the best for us). Loved the room service. Having room service breakfast was a highlight. Service was incredible. Loved how attentive everyone was (was looking behind the blinds one time, and within 30 seconds, the blinds were open by the wait staff). The bartender at the lobby bar remembered our drink every time we came up. We upgraded to the honeymoon suite through cheapcaribbean when we booked the trip, and it was perfect for us. Living room had the kitchen, it's own TV, and it's own balcony. Bedroom had the bathroom, it's own balcony, and it's own TV. My wife slept in, while I had a free beer and watched TV and checked email (wi fi cost $60 for the week, but worth it for us). Wi fi was a little slow, but just looked up and enjoyed the view when a website would load up. Advice: after dinner, go to the fire pit near the lobby. It is lit every night from around 6pm to 11pm. We sat around there, and met some great people. As a result, the next day, it was fun to go to the pool or whatever, and chat with the people you met. At the end of our stay, we pretty much knew everyone who was there. We would definitely reccommend this resort. We hope to go back there on our next travels.

View from the honeymoon suite
21 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 6, 2011
Disapointment at Dreams

This is our first stay at Dreams resort and it was a disapointing experience for an all-inclusive resort: . No entertainment after sunset . Main lobby bar closing at 11:00 PM . food choices for lunch are very limited For breakfast, there was no french bread or baguettes. The 3 restaurants serving lunch are non air-conditioned and food choice is limited to a few options. Asian restaurant is good but there is usually a 20 mintues wait We were bored at the resort, there was no central activity to rally the guest to one place after dinner so you are on your own to mingle with others at the bar. We met up with a young family from Spain and they told us that they are so bored and ready to fly home even though they still have another week of stay. We ventured out to a local restaurant for diner on our last evening for a different taste other than the boring choices at the resort. We would not come back to Dreams resort as it is ranked last on my list compare to other resorts that we have been to such as Sandals, Riu, resorts at Riveria Maya...


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Houston, Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 25, 2015
Stay anywhere else but here

I've been to many resorts and this resort by far was the worst I've ever visited. First of all, keep in mind this hotel was supposed to re-open in October after renovations. The renovations are not even close to being finished. This being said, whether I was in my room or at the pools I could constantly hear hammering and drilling at all times. I complained to the staff but they could not find a place to move me where I WOULD NOT hear the construction- meaning it was everywhere. Construction started at 8 am and didn't end until around 7pm at night. With this construction going on many, many of the amenities were also closed. The gym was closed and your only option was to be shuttled to a gym 35 minutes away!! The dance club and main bar was closed due to renovation. The beach bar and main french restaurant was closed due to renovation. The property was a complete mess and wherever I went you could see construction, dust, and dirt. The wireless was spotty and their Verizon booster was down so it was impossible to make any phone calls even with an international plan. The elevator near our room was closed with construction part of the trip as well. The actual workers at the resort were very nice and friendly but a lot of the service was very, very slow. Because some of the dining options were not open we usually had a wait at the restaurants. Lunch near the adult pool always took over an hour because the service was so slow. The food overall was good at the restaurants around dinner time. They had many options and were very accommodating. The coffee shop is excellent and included in the all inclusive package. The bed was basically like sleeping on a board- very hard and uncomfortable. The room overall was very nice and updated but with the construction in the background we chose to stay outside of the hotel most of the trip. The absolute worst part of the hotel was that they had timeshare people set up in the lobby. This meant every single time you passed through the lobby for any reason they were trying to get you to sign up to listen to a timeshare presentation. I hated having to be rude to them but it was so annoying getting bombarded every time we went through the lobby. Especially since 3 of their bars were closed the main bar is in the lobby and we hung out there a lot. I can honestly say this construction is no way close to being done. I would estimate it being done in the Spring of 2016- stay somewhere else!!

no joke this is the elevator near our room directly under our room
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 25, 2016
Great Honeymoon!

Upon our arrival we had the best customer service. The Amstar staff was there to great us. We had a nice van all to ourselves for the 30 min drive to the resort. It was clean and the driver was very friendly. When we arrived, we were greeted with glasses of champagne and were taken to the Preferred Lounge to check in. It was straight forward and easy. We did have to speak with someone in order to get our resort coupons. It was no big deal. They wanted to offer us additional coupons if we went and looked at the new Breathless resort. We politely declined and did not feel too high pressured. Our room wasn't ready but we enjoyed lunch and cocktails for an hour and then checked in. There was a bottle of champagne and fresh fruit in our room. This was a very nice touch for our honeymoon. The room (518) had a perfect middle view of the pool and ocean. Truly breathtaking. My only complaint about the room would be the tub and the sink. The tub looks nice but is poorly designed. With a lip that goes around the edge, there is no where for water to drain. Saw water damage in the ceiling right above our shower. I can definitely see this being a problem down the line. With the sink, the faucet is too close to the edge of the bowl. We kept splashing water on the vanity so im sure kids would make a total mess. The infinity pool is great. With a swim up bar and floats to lounge with, we enjoyed music and cocktails. The bar tender at the pool bar was great .Lounge chairs are padded and comfy with lots of umbrellas for those who like shade. I did see a lot of people reserving chairs which isnt allowed, but no one was enforcing. Kind of annoying but we always had someone there to help us find a chair and provide wait service. The main pool has a jacuzzi and water slide too. The adults only pool was ok. Same swim up bar, comfy lounge chairs, wait service and floats. Just a bit more stuffy atmosphere. We were bored quickly and went back to the main pool. Just our style. Food was B+. We never had a bad meal or service. Seaside Grill had a nice seabass. Bordeaux had a nice surf and turf. Portofino was nice. Just wish they had more protein options. The breakfast buffet was nice. They had made to order omelets and mimosas with great views. Even saw a whale every now and then. Food was decent. Not earth shattering but decent for an all inclusive. You can't swim on the beach but it is beautiful. We had nice walks everyday and saw the beautiful mountains in the distance. They have beach umbrellas and wait staff that make you think you're in a Corona comercial. Very nice. The spa is expensive but the coupons make it affordable. We had the fish treatment which was really weird but cool. Something different. Entertainment was nice. Watched an International show and a Mexican show during our stay. It was fun with music and dancing. All in all, very little to complain about. I would definitely come back.

Great Honeymoon!
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 28, 2011
I like.

Dreams Los Cabos was far better than anticipated. The staff went out of their way to accomodate their guests and were comfortable in Spanish and English. The room far exceeded our expectations as it had extremely high quality linens and was quite spacious. Food was somewhere between very good and excellent (had dessert been better, excellent). Like many Cabo resorts, the beach at Dreams suffers severe undertow and rip currents and is unswimmable. There are however palapas with hammocks on the beach and a beach bar. The pools are good, and their swim-up bars help keep you hydrated. The only discordant note for our stay does not deal with the resort, but rather with the Olympus tours shuttle. They want you to reconfirm with them at the resort (a further sales effort), and then gave us a different pick up time than was given the driver. Considering their shuttles were a little shopworn and crowded, I would opt for another shuttle service.


10 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Francisco
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Dreams was a dream!

We had an amazing week in Cabo and found the hotel to be everything it promised. The staff was wonderful--so kind and helpful. We loved the restaurant choices and the flexibility to dine wherever we wanted without waiting in line to make reservations. The bartenders and servers throughout the hotel and at the pool were wonderful. We spent most of the week at the hotel because we really wanted a relaxing time and besides, why leave...we had everything we could have wanted there. We would go back in a minute!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Mexico
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 11, 2011
The BEST Resort!! We had a blast!!

My husband and I went to the Dreams Resort for five days and when the five days were up, we were not ready to come home. We were so pleased with this resort. A variety of different restaurants to eat at and the food we had at every place was delicious!! My favorite was the asian Himitsu restaurant. They have so many fun activities at night. One of the nights they had Casino Night. The next night they had Karoke Night, so we sang and danced the night away!! On one of the other nights they had live music and buffet close to the beach. They food was amazing that night!! They also had a bonfire and we all sat around the fire and had drinks and we had a BLAST!! I couldn't believe how good the service was as well. Pepe comes to mind because he was always there with another drink when ours got low. He was AWESOME!!! I HIGHLY recommend Dreams Los Cabos Resort for your Cabo vacation. YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY!!! We will definitely be back!! Thank you Cheap Caribbean for a GREAT deal and Thank you Dream Los Cabos for one of the BEST vacations we have ever been on!!

At the Himitsu Restaurant Casino Night
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Diego, Ca.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 10, 2016
Very nice resort, few changes would be nice

I really wanted to give this place perfect scores but just a few things were holding it back. First when we got there we had booked "The Deal of the Day" which is a free room upgrade if available upon check-in. The resort would not honor it and charged us the normal upgrade fee. No matter what I said they insisted I had to pay to upgrade. (Upon returning I called Cheapcaribbean.com and explained and they are refunding my money for the upgrade charge. So Cheapcarribean was great about it!). The resort itself is beautiful and clean! You could tell that every day/night they paid great attention to detail in keeping it that way. I would have given the room a better comfort level score but the couch was one of those one piece foam things that unfold so you can sleep on it. I snore so I often ended up sleeping on said couch and it was the hardest thing I've ever slept on that wasn't a floor. Also, it was very awkward just to sit on because it wasn’t truly a couch either. For such a nice room and resort you would think they wouldn't skimp on the most important piece of furniture in the livingroom. (We had the 1 bedroom suite). The bed and pillows were great! The bathroom sinks were not. They are the bowls on top of the table and they fill up with water instantly and take awhile to drain. The faucets also were not far enough over the bowls so water would go everywhere when washing your hands etc. Also our walk in shower did not stop water from running out onto the bathroom floor. These were minor details that over 6 days just became slightly irritating. The rooms over all were very nice though. The AC was very powerful and anything we called for or about they were more than friendly and prompt in addressing our needs. The pools were nice and clean, although it was disappointing that you couldn't go in them after about 8pm. As soon as the sun went down they were empty. There was no swimming in the ocean because of the under toes. The restaurants were good but redundant. For the most part we felt the food was kind of interchangeable among the common places. After 6 days we felt like we were eating allot of the same thing over and over. The French Restaurant was good but slow. Overall it was pretty good just more of a variety would have been nice. Room service was good and the Club Sandwich was great and my wife loved the Chicken Chilaquiles served for breakfast. The night life is pretty non existent. Which is ok if you are looking for quiet. The one outside bar (was closed between 8-9pm every night) There is a small bar in the breeze way open until 11pm and a small night club which only had 2 to 10 people in it each night that is open until 2am. They did put pizza out under heat lamps and sandwiches outside the little club for those who got hungry which was nice. Allot of people did hang out around the fire pit quietly talking until around 11PM or so. Perhaps the best thing about this resort was the friendly staff!! Other then the girl at the desk not honoring my free upgraded room when we arrived (thank you again cheapcaribbean for addressing the issue), the staff was so friendly and nice. There was a guy working the Adult Pool named David who was hilarious and such a people person and everyone there loved him. I made friends with the bartender in the night club named Miguel who was very friendly and after the 1st night there knew my drink of choice every time I came back and was very friendly to converse with. The room service staff was great and would go out of there way for special requests. Overall my wife and I both enjoyed our time there and neither of us felt it needed any drastic changes, just subtle things you start to notice over a 6 day stay. A nicer couch, a few more menu options and keeping the pools and bars open a little later would have made this the perfect resort for us.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Mentor, OH
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year