All

Dreams Las Mareas Resort Reviews

Central America | Costa Rica-Guanacaste Beach Region Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 40 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4 out of 5
"WE LOVED IT. WE HAVE BEEN TO COSTA RICA BEFORE AND LOVED IT" – MIKEYNANCY
34 out of 47 (72%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
From our balcony View from our room

All Dreams Las Mareas Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 40 reviews. Sort by
November 12, 2014
Secluded, beautiful resort - friendly staff

We stayed at this resort the first week in November, 2014, which was opening week. There were a few things that needed to be ironed out (for instance, not having an iron and ironing board in the room. Or trashcan. Or hair dryer.) That said, most negatives we had were simply due to the kinks that come with opening such an expansive resort. During our stay, each day continued to get better and better. Do keep in mind that excursions aren't nearby. So exploring the rest of what Costa Rica has to offer might prove to be trickier than you'd expect. And sure, the beach isn't powdery white sand like some islands and countries -- but it's a beautiful setting, and very secluded in its own cove. Guests are able to rent kayaks for free, which we enjoyed. We've been to other luxury all-inclusives and there was so much about Dreams Las Mareas that we loved. The setting was picturesque and secluded. The facilities and grounds were impeccable. The food was outstanding, especially the Italian restaurant, Portafino. And the staff were the friendliest people (look for the smiling faces of Issamara at the World Cafe, and Luis and Edual at the swim-up bar where they pour plenty of top-shelf liquors). All things considered, we would recommend this resort and honestly look forward to returning.

View from our room
110 of 120 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cleveland, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 19, 2015
Dreams Las Mareas

After visiting 5 other "all inclusive" resorts, I can say emphatically, this is hands down the worst I have ever encountered. The resort is beautiful. However, the resort is under-staffed, overworked, and under trained. Wait times at the pool bar often exceeded 20 minutes. The bartenders were not trained to multi-task. There were no bar-backs. There was often ONE BARTENDER at each of the swim up pools. On TWO CONSECUTIVE days, they ran out of alcohol at the swim up bars before 3:00 pm. Since you can't make dinner reservations, the wait time and chaos at the front door of each dining choice rivaled a three stooges movie. On one occasion, we waited over two hours to be seated, then forty more minutes before the wait staff took our order. After calling room service multiple times. they failed to show up for three days. The piano bar often had 30-40 people waiting for dinner, and had one bartender. Plates and glasses left outside of guests doors, were still there the following night. When maid service came, it was a roll of the dice.. Sometimes you got new towels, sometimes you did not. Mini-bar may be restocked, maybe not. Our hot tub drain did not work, and wouldn't hold water. Our neighbors hot tub only delivered cold water. The buffet when compared to other all Inclusive chains was horrible. In all fairness, breakfast was excellent. The dinner buffet had limited choices and poor to fair quality. This resort needs a major management overhaul. Absolutely beautify place, that was ruined by absolutely horrible management.


21 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 22, 2015
Pros and Cons

The resort was lovely and clean - It is just one year old. Pro: the staff were accommodating and friendly. Con:service is island like in that wait staff are laid back but at times there didn't seem to be enough in the dining areas. Con: we were disappointed in the beach - in Costa Rica the beaches are public and even though the resort had lounge chairs for vacationers, overall it was an area neglected by the resort. it appeared dirty and unkempt (so if you are vacationing for the beach in your experience maybe think twice about this destination) Pro: on the other hand the facility pools were terrific. the lower pools appeared to have the most "action" and were filled with people. the upper pool which included the "kids" area was less populated. Pro: relaxing and easy resort Con: if you are looking for entertainment and action this resort seems to sleep after 10p Con: the drive from the airport is LONG: approximately 60K takes almost a full 2 hours drive due to the county maintained roads included in the trek. they are dirt and LARGE stone which means that the vehicle cannot go over 5-10mph and must zigzag the whole stretch to avoid large potholes and rocks. likewise, the excursion that we took to Arenal volcano and zip line (which by the way was fabulous! but check rates as another tour company was $50 cheaper than what we found through Cheap Caribbean) was 4.5 hours to get there. Pro: dining areas did not require a reservation - except for the Asian and only if you wanted to watch the performance


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 10, 2015
Had a wonderful time

Stayed at Dreams from May 5th to the 9th and I had a wonderful time. Stayed in a swim out preferred suite with ocean front. The room is basically as one sees in the pictures. I will give details on what I found out but could not get answered before staying there. 1) The swim out rooms are not in any way attached to the public pools. So it is just a private little water way for the four or five rooms on the bottom floor which means that you only really have a little 10 foot by 5 foot section because who wants to go look in on other rooms. The beach is just okay. The water is cold. Not a lot of people hang out on the beach loungers. All beaches in Costa Rica are public. There are people on the beach selling wares but no one is intrusive. You go to them they don't come to you. The bars close down around 8pm. The food in the specialty restaurants was good but the portions are very small and it takes a while for your food to come. Not all staff speak English but they are usually able to figure out what you need. The pools are beautiful. The staff are efficient and respond quickly. I would definitely go back.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 35-44

August 27, 2015
Great Getaway

The resort was beautiful and the rooms were great. We stayed in a second floor room with a private balcony Jacuzzi overlooking the pool and ocean. The food was better than any other all-inclusive resort we have been to (when we received it all.) Unfortunately there were two major negatives: horrible service and location. Two nights of my five night stay, my food never came. We were there with 22 people and somehow they "forgot" two of our meals two nights in a row. Hopefully, as time goes on, the staff will be better trained. Also, there were empty bottles and plates lying on the ground all week and when we informed staff, they just walked away. As this is a new resort, there is not much to do close by. All of the excursions were a few hours away.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 17, 2016
Amazing Resort Beach not so much

Dreams Costa Rica was absolutly gorgeous.. This resort is less then 2 years old and was so beautiful.. The food was amazing and my favorite resturant was elpatio mexican soo delish.. All the food wss amazing some of the best food ive ever had at an all inclusive.. The rooms were so nice snd clean and comfy.. All the staff was so nice and friendly.. My favorite part was the white face monkeys that run around the resort so fun to watch.. The pool was so fun the lower pool by the bar is the best.. The entertainment during the day could use some work they had dancing and volley ball but could use more entertainment during the day.. The beach was dissapointing a bit rocky and the water was not so nice we spent most of the time by the pool and had a blast.. We still went jet skiing and paddle boarding and had a blast.. This resort is very remote and the roads are very sketchy and bumpy and tskes forever to get anywhere.. We did the mega tour with zip linning horse back, hiking, waterslide and hot springs mud spa and this is well worth the money and drive i reccomend this tour. Overall we had an amazing trip.. I love the dreams chain and i would highly reccomend this resort..


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 8, 2015
Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica

The resort is new and nice and is in a beautiful area of the beach. It is however, remote in that there is nothing within an hour of the resort and the roads are terrible (mostly unpaved). The resort is new so I will give it a pass for not having internet service in the rooms or very many activities. However, the service is just not good. The majority of the service people have trouble with English and are not polished. The front desk people, while versed in English, are not pleasant or helpful and need to be replaced. Overall, the resort is very nice and, if you serach, there is good food to be had. However, the overall experience is just not four or five star, its just not. If you are looking for a very nice beach/pool experience with lots of decent food and drinking, then this works well. If you have higher expectations, and want a lot of activiteis and high end serivce, this is not your spot. Very remote and hard to get to. Activites away from resort are over two hours away. Just not a Drream for us , but still a decent experience.


14 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Sarasota, Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 30, 2016
The Staff Steals

Vacation here for my birthday with my family and on the third day $320 was stolen out my bag in my room. The manager or security didn't do nothing about it and treated me horrible as if its a regular thing at their resort. Be careful if you stay here, dont carry large amounts of money around with you!


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New york
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 13, 2017
Completely Satisfied

My husband and I booked this Costa Rican all-inclusive vacation for our honeymoon and it was everything we hoped it would be. The resort was beautiful, clean, safe, and the service was excellent. Everyone was very nice and aimed to please. The food was wonderful, the drinks were great, and the pools were beautiful. We felt that we got what we paid for and it was paradise! Our only complain, and it's minor, is that it took awhile to check-in, but they tried to be as accommodating as possible and provided us champagne while we waited. They are also aware that they need to speed the process up and are working on it. Aside from that, we stayed there for 7 days and would have loved to have stayed 7 more!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Iowa City, IA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 27, 2015
Honeymoon Oasis

We arrived on the 17th of August to enjoy our 6 day 5 night honeymoon getaway. We chose this location because it is extremely secluded. The long drive to the resort was fine but the road about ten miles out from the resort was horrible. The hotel did say the road pavement project would start on 25th of August. The hotel and the room was beautiful. Simply breathtaking views. It was not crowded and they had an adult only pool section!!!! We loved it!! There was plenty of entertainment. There were also day trips to take. However they are very far from the resort. We only took one and that was the one closest to us which was Nicaragua. It was well worth it. There are about four restaurants and the Mexican one was the worst out of all. The world cafe and Oceana were both really good. The Italian one was pretty good also. We didn't make it to the Japanese one. We were hoping for more authentic food. The language barrier makes it difficult to order food or anything else but they do try their best to help you. All our needs were met and we highly recommend this resort to everyone!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year