All

Dreams Las Mareas Resort Reviews

Central America | Costa Rica-Guanacaste Beach Region Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 61 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
3.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.1 out of 5
"It has been one of the most wonderful vacation I have been with my childrens. So safe" – Pochi
54 out of 71 (76%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
From our balcony View from our room

All Dreams Las Mareas Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 61 reviews. Sort by
June 19, 2015
Dreams Las Mareas

After visiting 5 other "all inclusive" resorts, I can say emphatically, this is hands down the worst I have ever encountered. The resort is beautiful. However, the resort is under-staffed, overworked, and under trained. Wait times at the pool bar often exceeded 20 minutes. The bartenders were not trained to multi-task. There were no bar-backs. There was often ONE BARTENDER at each of the swim up pools. On TWO CONSECUTIVE days, they ran out of alcohol at the swim up bars before 3:00 pm. Since you can't make dinner reservations, the wait time and chaos at the front door of each dining choice rivaled a three stooges movie. On one occasion, we waited over two hours to be seated, then forty more minutes before the wait staff took our order. After calling room service multiple times. they failed to show up for three days. The piano bar often had 30-40 people waiting for dinner, and had one bartender. Plates and glasses left outside of guests doors, were still there the following night. When maid service came, it was a roll of the dice.. Sometimes you got new towels, sometimes you did not. Mini-bar may be restocked, maybe not. Our hot tub drain did not work, and wouldn't hold water. Our neighbors hot tub only delivered cold water. The buffet when compared to other all Inclusive chains was horrible. In all fairness, breakfast was excellent. The dinner buffet had limited choices and poor to fair quality. This resort needs a major management overhaul. Absolutely beautify place, that was ruined by absolutely horrible management.


24 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 12, 2014
Secluded, beautiful resort - friendly staff

We stayed at this resort the first week in November, 2014, which was opening week. There were a few things that needed to be ironed out (for instance, not having an iron and ironing board in the room. Or trashcan. Or hair dryer.) That said, most negatives we had were simply due to the kinks that come with opening such an expansive resort. During our stay, each day continued to get better and better. Do keep in mind that excursions aren't nearby. So exploring the rest of what Costa Rica has to offer might prove to be trickier than you'd expect. And sure, the beach isn't powdery white sand like some islands and countries -- but it's a beautiful setting, and very secluded in its own cove. Guests are able to rent kayaks for free, which we enjoyed. We've been to other luxury all-inclusives and there was so much about Dreams Las Mareas that we loved. The setting was picturesque and secluded. The facilities and grounds were impeccable. The food was outstanding, especially the Italian restaurant, Portafino. And the staff were the friendliest people (look for the smiling faces of Issamara at the World Cafe, and Luis and Edual at the swim-up bar where they pour plenty of top-shelf liquors). All things considered, we would recommend this resort and honestly look forward to returning.

View from our room
110 of 123 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cleveland, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 22, 2015
Pros and Cons

The resort was lovely and clean - It is just one year old. Pro: the staff were accommodating and friendly. Con:service is island like in that wait staff are laid back but at times there didn't seem to be enough in the dining areas. Con: we were disappointed in the beach - in Costa Rica the beaches are public and even though the resort had lounge chairs for vacationers, overall it was an area neglected by the resort. it appeared dirty and unkempt (so if you are vacationing for the beach in your experience maybe think twice about this destination) Pro: on the other hand the facility pools were terrific. the lower pools appeared to have the most "action" and were filled with people. the upper pool which included the "kids" area was less populated. Pro: relaxing and easy resort Con: if you are looking for entertainment and action this resort seems to sleep after 10p Con: the drive from the airport is LONG: approximately 60K takes almost a full 2 hours drive due to the county maintained roads included in the trek. they are dirt and LARGE stone which means that the vehicle cannot go over 5-10mph and must zigzag the whole stretch to avoid large potholes and rocks. likewise, the excursion that we took to Arenal volcano and zip line (which by the way was fabulous! but check rates as another tour company was $50 cheaper than what we found through Cheap Caribbean) was 4.5 hours to get there. Pro: dining areas did not require a reservation - except for the Asian and only if you wanted to watch the performance


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 27, 2017
Awesome trip

I took this trip alone for 5 nights. Dreams Las Mareas is about an hour and a half from the Liberia airport. I did a shared shuttle to and from the hotel and it was great. Both drivers made a point to stop at local spots and point out wildlife and environmental highlights as we drove! Check in was quick and easy and you are warmly greeted when you arrive. The resort is large/spread out which I really enjoyed. I believe they offered golf cart rides if you need it/don't want to walk. The room was great, mini fridge is stocked with some drinks and the balcony tub was awesome. I loved the food! Breakfast was awesome and the Italian and Mexican restaurants were my favorite. I did not have a single meal I did not enjoy. The people who work there are incredibly kind and helpful. The gym is very small but good enough for a couple of vacation workouts. I did two excursions. Nicaragua was incredible and I highly recommend that as well as the mega combo tour.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston ma
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 26, 2017
First time in Costa Rica

We flew into the airport in Liberia and got through customs quickly. Our transportation was waiting outside and they got on the road quickly. It was about two and a half hours from the airport to Dreams resort. The roads were pretty decent although fairly curvy, and a couple passengers were carsick from the drive. The first impression of the hotel is not overly impressive. We were given a warm, wet cloth upon arrival and a glass of champagne at check in. We were taken promptly to our room and were given a first floor room in building 3. The room smelled pretty strongly of mildew. It was a nice sized room and the bed was comfortable. The shower was large enough for two people, although we've had larger showers in other resorts. There was a jacuzzi tub on our patio which we didn't use. We looked in to changing to an upgraded room but decided that it wasn't worth it as there didn't seem to be a great view from any of the buildings. We definitely did not have a nice view from our room. The landscape and gardens at this resort are average. The beach is public and we were approached by vendors every day. The water is very cold and no one was spending time in the ocean, although you can take a nice walk along the beach. The pools are average compared to other similar resorts. There is one swim up bar and service was as expected. The restaurants do not require reservations and the dress code was more relaxed when compared to similar resorts, which is nice. Service in the restaurants was often very slow. There are monkeys at this resort, and a troupe of them were living in the trees behind building 5. They seem accustomed to being near people. We were able to get some great photos of a mother and baby monkey. Other guests that had rooms in buildings 4 and 5 told us the monkeys would get on their balcony in the morning and would go into their room if the balcony door was open. No one seemed to be bothered by them. We took two excursions and saw sloths and toucans, as well as more monkeys. We had massages in the spa and had great service. At check out, there was a long line of people and only one person available to help. Eventually other staff members arrived to assist in the process. Our transport back to the airport went well. Overall, this all inclusive resort was average compared to other resorts we've been to in Mexico and the Dominican Republic. We enjoyed Costa Rica and the people, and would like to explore another part of the country next time we go there. We felt very safe there.


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 27, 2015
Great Getaway

The resort was beautiful and the rooms were great. We stayed in a second floor room with a private balcony Jacuzzi overlooking the pool and ocean. The food was better than any other all-inclusive resort we have been to (when we received it all.) Unfortunately there were two major negatives: horrible service and location. Two nights of my five night stay, my food never came. We were there with 22 people and somehow they "forgot" two of our meals two nights in a row. Hopefully, as time goes on, the staff will be better trained. Also, there were empty bottles and plates lying on the ground all week and when we informed staff, they just walked away. As this is a new resort, there is not much to do close by. All of the excursions were a few hours away.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 10, 2015
Had a wonderful time

Stayed at Dreams from May 5th to the 9th and I had a wonderful time. Stayed in a swim out preferred suite with ocean front. The room is basically as one sees in the pictures. I will give details on what I found out but could not get answered before staying there. 1) The swim out rooms are not in any way attached to the public pools. So it is just a private little water way for the four or five rooms on the bottom floor which means that you only really have a little 10 foot by 5 foot section because who wants to go look in on other rooms. The beach is just okay. The water is cold. Not a lot of people hang out on the beach loungers. All beaches in Costa Rica are public. There are people on the beach selling wares but no one is intrusive. You go to them they don't come to you. The bars close down around 8pm. The food in the specialty restaurants was good but the portions are very small and it takes a while for your food to come. Not all staff speak English but they are usually able to figure out what you need. The pools are beautiful. The staff are efficient and respond quickly. I would definitely go back.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 35-44

February 13, 2017
Completely Satisfied

My husband and I booked this Costa Rican all-inclusive vacation for our honeymoon and it was everything we hoped it would be. The resort was beautiful, clean, safe, and the service was excellent. Everyone was very nice and aimed to please. The food was wonderful, the drinks were great, and the pools were beautiful. We felt that we got what we paid for and it was paradise! Our only complain, and it's minor, is that it took awhile to check-in, but they tried to be as accommodating as possible and provided us champagne while we waited. They are also aware that they need to speed the process up and are working on it. Aside from that, we stayed there for 7 days and would have loved to have stayed 7 more!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Iowa City, IA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 17, 2016
Amazing Resort Beach not so much

Dreams Costa Rica was absolutly gorgeous.. This resort is less then 2 years old and was so beautiful.. The food was amazing and my favorite resturant was elpatio mexican soo delish.. All the food wss amazing some of the best food ive ever had at an all inclusive.. The rooms were so nice snd clean and comfy.. All the staff was so nice and friendly.. My favorite part was the white face monkeys that run around the resort so fun to watch.. The pool was so fun the lower pool by the bar is the best.. The entertainment during the day could use some work they had dancing and volley ball but could use more entertainment during the day.. The beach was dissapointing a bit rocky and the water was not so nice we spent most of the time by the pool and had a blast.. We still went jet skiing and paddle boarding and had a blast.. This resort is very remote and the roads are very sketchy and bumpy and tskes forever to get anywhere.. We did the mega tour with zip linning horse back, hiking, waterslide and hot springs mud spa and this is well worth the money and drive i reccomend this tour. Overall we had an amazing trip.. I love the dreams chain and i would highly reccomend this resort..


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 30, 2016
The Staff Steals

Vacation here for my birthday with my family and on the third day $320 was stolen out my bag in my room. The manager or security didn't do nothing about it and treated me horrible as if its a regular thing at their resort. Be careful if you stay here, dont carry large amounts of money around with you!


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New york
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year