All

Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - La Romana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 627 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.3 out of 5
"Food was good and plentiful and resort is big and friendly" – Manns
676 out of 781 (87%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Having fun on the beach! Beach Beautiful Plnk Flamingos in the middle courtyard near Bldg 4 Adults only Preferred Pool One of the pools Grounds our romantic dinner on the pier Altos the Chavon-church where Michael Jackson got married Dreams grounds View from my room Dreams Staff I thought this was too cute Dreams La Romana Beach Peaceful VIP pool at night Big, clean beach Beach at Dreams View from our room rainbow from the room Night pool Resort Grounds Private Dinner Balcony View After dinner photo by the main pool The beach. Beautiful beach and water! Saona Island excursion view from the dock Honeymoon Love Infinity pool view View of the beach View from the lounge Beach with shade or sunny chairs Bathtub flamingos at the resort jeep safari -Dominicana Beautiful Grounds Beach View Rocky part of beach, beautiful to watch waves crash against show on the beach Snorkeling we had a Blast!! Flamingo garden in the middle of the resort 1 of 2 pools- this one has a swim-up bar playa Hanging with our UK Blokes! The Beach at La Romana view from room Dreams La Romana Beach Beautiful blue water! Beautiful Sunset Wedding Gazebo Birthday Dinner By The Ocean At Sun Set View from our room, preferred adults only section On the Beach Flamingos are awesome Water aerobics every morning, so much fun! They teach Salsa dancing and more on the beach as well Saona Beach View from my chaise View from the preferred beach Preferred Pool view from the small private pool Beautiful resort View from the Preferred Club lounge Beautiful Beach View ocean Dreams Beach Sunset our romantic dinner on the pier Animación employe The Best people The beach Patio area of Preferred Clubhouse Carmen- A kind and wonderful employee of Dreams- La Romana Just one beautiful scene on the beach at night. Truly beautiful, day or night! Beach view during sunset Room Stormy afternoon. STUNNING view from the lobby Flamingos holding Court View of main pool area One of the pools Beach at the resort Beach

All Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 627 reviews. Sort by
September 11, 2011
perfect getaway!

This is my fourth trip to the DR and my favorite. i was a bit hesitant about going to La Romana since we usually go to Punta Cana but it was a great choice. My boyfriend and i LOVE the DR because it's an easy 3 hour flight from NYC and perfect for a long weekend away from the city or a longer vacation of doing nothing. This resort was the nicest that I have been to in my trips to the DR and really went above and beyond in all aspects. Here is my best shot at a comprehensive review: Rooms: Modern, large and very comfortable. No issues with air conditioning not working (i read this in another review) and we had a fridge, tv with a DVD player and a great balcony. The bathroom is large and has two sinks which is great for me because my boyfriend has a lot of products for a guy and a women needs her space:) Food: i'm not a buffet person which is usually my downfall at any all inclusive resort. we had the buffet every morning for breakfast and i actually liked it. it had a lot of fresh fruit, juices and plenty of options that even i couldn't complain about. we didn't eat there for lunch or dinner so i can't speak to that. There are plenty of places to eat at the resort and they did a great job of variety and portion sizes. They were smaller portions but very nice so that you could actually eat all of the courses and not be so stuffed you couldn't walk back to your room. It's not top of the line fine dining so you shouldn't expect nyc's finest or top chef quality food but do remember that they are flying large amounts of this food in and it's very good quality and variety for what i have had in the DR before. Bars: The wine here was better than i have had at other all inclusive resorts. At other places i've had the "house wine" that they use for all of the dining and there was always something a bit off about it. This resort had a nice variety of house red and white and had a french dining option that had a large wine selection if you wanted to purchase something other than the house variety. The pool bars were well stocked and we never waited for a drink. They have a nice variety of tropical drinks and the good old standbys. They, of course, only have Presendente for beer because that is the way it goes in the DR but never fear it's not bad at all. Cafe: I really loved the cafe. i'm a coffee person and even though we had a coffee maker in the room, it was nice to have a cute little coffee house to go to for some more 'advanced' coffee drinks. Bring home some whole beans with you from the DR, the coffee is wonderful here. Pools: The pools are wonderful. They are infinity pools that look right out into the ocean and it's an amazing view. They were well kept and there were plenty of chairs at the preferred pool (i'll get to that later). Beach: This is my only slight downfall with the DR. I'm from California so i'm kind of a beach snob so take it with a grain of salt but the beaches here are just ok. The dreams resort had the nicest beach that i've been to in the DR and i found La Ramana to have better beaches than Punta Cana. The water was blue here and very warm so you could go out for a nice swim. The beaches are just smaller here than in a lot of places in the US and do be careful of jelly fish. You can't really take long romantic walks on these beaches but we did go out for a swim everyday. Resort overall: This resort had tons of activities, games and really something for everyone. I like to do a whole lot of nothing on vacation but there was a newsletter that came out each night with all of the events for the next day and there always looked like a nice variety of things going on. There are tennis courts which are in great shape and a spa that has a lot of options. I got a seaside massage which i highly recommend. I also had a facial and they used high quality products and the prices were reasonable. The resort was very well kept and set up nicely and the staff all friendly and helpful. There is security everywhere here and you always felt like it was a very safe place. Preferred Club: I booked a room with a partial ocean view which also gives you the preferred club benefits. I had no idea what this meant, but i think it was an extra $100 for the whole trip so i figured why not. This ended up being a great move. You don't have to wait in line for check in and they take you directly to the Preferred Club Lounge. Here you have your own concierge and a nice little lounge that has snacks, drinks and a back patio. They were very helpful the whole trip and you could just pop in whenever and they would gladly help you out with whatever you wanted. The big win of the Preferred Club is the private pool. The main pools were a bit more crowded and had a lot of kids but the Preferred Pool was right outside our building and was quiet and not at all crowded. We also didn't have to wait long at all for dinners. i have been to places where you have to make reservations every day and it's a total hassle. You give them your room number when you check in and if you are in the Preferred building you didn't have to wait. With the view, pool and extra perks is was well worth $100. They also gave us $100 worth of spa gift certificates and $45 off a bottle of wine at the French place. I'm not sure that these are perks all of the time so you may want to check. Preferred club, thumbs up. Lastly, a point of note that the resort is about 2 hours from the Santa Domingo airport so just be prepared for the ride I have always used the airport transfer service that you can book with the package and they are nice air conditioned vans and it wasn't a huge deal. Overall, i highly recommend this resort if you like relaxing, fun and sun. As always Cheap Caribbean was a great deal! That was a lot of typing, i hope someone finds this helpful.


811 of 821 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

November 5, 2011
Happy they were wrong!

After about a half an hour on the phone with a Cheap Caribbean rep I finally settled on Dreams La Romana. I read a lot of the reviews from the CC website and yes there were a few not-so-great reviews but mostly they were about things like "a bat in our room" or "food not so good". There were however a lot of good reviews so I felt pretty confident. When we finally got on the plane my girlfriend downloaded a bunch of reviews from another site before we took off and proceeded to read every nasty complaint (and there were a few) to me which led us into an argument about this supposedly less-than-stellar spot I picked. I'm not sure if that had an infullence on our experience (we may have been prepared for the worst) but I'm here to tell you that that place is THE BOMB! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we continously asked ourselves "how could someone leave a bad review about this place?" The food was fantastic, the weather was perfect, the place was huge, the people we nice and there was an absolute ton of stuff to do. I must admit that we did upgrade to a suite which gave us access to the preferred guest pool and bar but we spent a lot of time in the other two pools as well which were equally as nice, gigantic and one had a swim up bar. There were a bunch of different restaurants and we tried to sample them all but never got around to the French place. All the rest were great and we ate a lot of different kinds of fish (some reviewer said something about only grouper). We ate at the buffet some too and although there were a couple of things that I wasn't crazy about the rest was superb. I've traveled quite a bit and been on a few cruises as well and let me tell you that this place outshines most. I will say that the service at some of the places wasn't as stellar as others but considering what the minimum wage is in the Dominican Republic I wasn't expecting 5 star service. Eash place was individually managed and I must say that whoever was in charge of the buffet really had their act together. That was the best service of all the places to eat. We did have some kind of critter in the ceiling of our room. Another reviewer made a big deal out of that stating there was a bat "in" their room. First off, its not "in" the room. There is a space between the ceiling and the aluminum roof that made a great nesting place for something like a bird or bat and they would occaisionally wake us at night. The obvious solution is don't get a room on the top floor. We however loved the view from the second floor and found it kind of cute but did eventually use earplugs one night to muffle the sound. If you prefer less action and more quiet ask for building #7 or #5. The preferred guest pool is between those two buildings and is a lot quieter but you need to be a preferred guest (obviously) to use it. Remember, its a big place and you may not want to hike to the other pools so plan accordingly. The snorkling right off the beach was amazing. There is a reef just to the right of the dock (if you're standing on the beach). We saw all kinds of sea life. The dive shop was perfect and the folks there were so friendly and professional (most of them spoke 4 or 5 languages fluently) that we opted to get certified for our open water diving certificate. There are some fantastic places to dive very close to the resort and we saw everything from coral reefs to sucken ships. I highly recommend it if you're a diver or even curious about diving (you can do a discovery dive for about $100....well worth it). The all inclusive part meant just that. With the exception of the excursions and the diving, everything else was included. Food, drinks, activities, water sports, everything. We took a little sailing catamaran out one day for about an hour and a half and had a blast. If you have kids (we don't) there are lots and lots of things for them to do including an arcade, pool tables, movies and even a mechanical bull. We did one excursion through CC to Catalina Island that took you to a cigar factory, a shopping spot, a "dog boat" trip up a river and finally to the island for lunch and snorkling. It was quite the party atmosphere and if you like that kind of thing you would probably love the excursion. I could have skipped it to be honest. The one thing I can say is that I'm really happy all those other negative reviewers WERE WRONG! Sometimes I think people just like to complain about anything. If the food doesn't taste like the french fries at their local Chilis then they tell you the food stinks. If it rains while they are there then they'll tell you that the beach was crummy. Considering the price that we paid for this place I thought it was amazing and will definitely go back again. For the people that didn't like it, I'm glad. Those are the kind of people that should go somewhere else and whine about the imperfections. But for those people like us who like to travel to warm tropical places, eat good food and bask in the sunshine for a reasonable price, this is the place for you.


137 of 140 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 25 Contributor
From: Southern California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 15, 2013
VACATION IN PARADISE

Amazing vacation!!! Booked a trip in January for May 7-11 2013 with two of my best girl friends. I did a lot of research and reading reviews to select the resort since this was our first time in the Dominican... so I am going to attempt to be VERY thorough with my review to be as helpful as others were for me. Having never been to DR or stayed at an all-inclusive resort, I felt as if I was going in blind to this whole trip. Needless to say I was super worried that my group wouldn't feel we got our investment's worth. Let me just say that was NOT the case whatsoever. We had the trip of a lifetime and a lot of that has to do with the resort and the staff making our adventure such a blast! First things first, Brandon at CheapCaribbean was a BIG help. He made the booking process simple and definitely eased my worries since he had been to the area we were going. He even made some suggestions about excursions - so glad we took his advice on one of them! After a LONG day of traveling by plane, we arrived at the Santo Domingo airport. We booked our round-trip airport transfer through CheapCaribbean so that was a breeze. It was a LONG ride though (about 2 hours and we dropped off other customers at 2 other resorts before making it to ours). Suggestion: fly into Punta Cana instead. We opted not to because it was a drastic difference in flight price... but next time I'd rather pay the extra money to be only a 45 min ride away. We were more than ready to get to the resort by the time we arrived (our elapsed travel time was about 13 hours) and the resort staff was waiting for us with the biggest smiles. The bellhops took our bags off our hands and gave us champagne to carry instead. Check in took about 5 mins and we were informed that none of the restaurants required reservations (a concern of ours since we were arriving around dinner time VERY hungry). As we were taken to our room, the bellhop pointed out all the necessary landmarks so we quickly were familiarized with the resort grounds. Speaking of... the hotel and grounds are immaculate. Very clean and very nice, from the ambiance to the landscaping, it was perfect. Our room fit our group perfectly. Just the right size, we had a small garden-view balcony in building 7. Mini bar with beer, sodas and bottled water restocked every day and is included in the "all-inclusive" package. Air conditioning worked perfectly. Beds were super comfortable. DON'T drink the water from the faucets. Use the bottled water to brush your teeth even, they will restock daily at no extra charge! We loved that there were no reservations at the restaurants, the only time we weren't seated immediately was at the Japanese restaurant because we came in behind a large group. However, they quoted us 30 minutes and we were seated in less than 5 minutes. The food was good! Look, it's not going to be gourmet Michelin star meals - but it's better quality than chain restaurants you find here in the US. We loved the Italian, Mexican and Japanese the best. The World Cafe buffet was perfect for breakfast. Fresh fruits & juices, omelette station, the best crunchy bacon I've ever had at a buffet! Lunch there is pretty good too but we didn't like leaving the beach so in that case I would suggest the grill on the beach or the pizzeria by the pool. Don't forget, the World Cafe is a "snack bar" after dinner until breakfast. We definitely took advantage of the late-night snacks (pizza, hot dogs, fruit, cold cuts, etc) after dancing the night away at the disco. One thing that I was very worried about was entertainment. Sure, we were there to relax... but we were three ladies looking to have some fun at the same time! I was concerned going to the resort dance club every single night would get old. It DID NOT get old! We had so much fun every night. They play a mix of bachata/merengue and mainstream dance/hip-hop music. If DJ Francis is on the turntables, he'll take your requests and play it if it's something he has! Another thing about entertainment were the shows and daily activities. The entertainment team walks around on the beach and the resort grounds all day informing the guests of the activities going on so you don't miss out on any of the fun. Beach aerobics and Aqua Gym (water aerobics in the ocean, which was my favorite) with Jacob were so much fun! The dance team and the others on the entertainment team (Jeffrey, Omega, Wainy, etc) were amazing. They never disappointed. Andy, the MC of the shows every night, was so charismatic and was always happy! They get the audience participating when possible. I was the head chef of my team for a paella cook-off competition and we won! So we were recognized at the show that evening. They brought our team on stage and awarded us in front of all the guests who attended with certificates and bottles of rum!!! And of course, the beach & pools. I like a mixture of both pool and beach, so we would set up chairs on the beach in front of the infinity pool with the BEST swim-up bar. That way we could jump in the pool when we needed a drink. However, there are staff members roaming the beach to take drink orders if you don't want to get up. The beach was gorgeous (see my photos), crystal blue water and golden sand. The infinity pool was also amazing. We definitely spent hours sitting in the water at the swim-up bar with Manuel y Cesar. If they are working, ask for Kryptonite or "green drink". It's made with passion fruit concentrate and is not too sweet, just right for me. Plus there's a lot of alcohol in it!! Make sure to bring $50-$100 in $1 bills with you for tipping purposes. Your all-inclusive price does include gratuity, but these staff member provide excellent service and should be rewarded for that. Plus, if you give them a little something each time they go out of their way for you... it will be recognized and they will take extra good care of you the rest of your trip because you're taking care of them right back! Definitely take advantage of the trips/excursions. As Brandon from CheapCarribean suggested to us - we went on a catamaran trip to Saona Island. Also heard that Catalina Island is very beautiful. Our sail to Saona was about 1.5-2 hours and it was nothing but a big dance party. Lots of beer and rum & coke and TONS of bachata/merengue dancing!!! It was definitely a party boat and the whole group of 20-30 of us had a blast. And that was just the boat ride! When we arrived at the island we had a good 2 hours there, which included lunch. Our lunch was fantastic - fresh fruits, rice, macaroni salad & pasta, and GRILLED LOBSTER! More drinks were at the bar there too. Then we took speed boats out to a sand bar where there was an abundance of starfish. The total cost per person was so affordable once you factor in all that the day-trip had to offer. It was WELL worth the money we spent! Saving the best for last... our favorite staff member, a part of the entertainment team, made our trip unforgettable. Pablo Picasso went out of his way every single day to make sure that people were aware of all the activities going on around the resort. Had it not been for him, we could have potentially missed out on all of the fun and memorable things we did each day. We were lucky to have met him the first night at dinner while he was walking through the restaurant informing the diners of the show that evening. We ended up making it to the show kind of late, so all of the seats were taken. He noticed us standing on the side of the stage and quickly ran over with 3 chairs and a towel to wipe off the seats so we didn't get our dresses dirty. Now THAT is what I call attention to detail. From that moment on, he didn't forget our faces. Each time we ran into him after that he kept us in the know and made sure we were having a great time. Thank you Pablo!!! We miss you already! Needless to say (in great detail) we had an experience of a lifetime that we will never forget. The resort was beautiful and the staff went above and beyond to help us thoroughly enjoy our stay. I would not only recommend this to friends and family, I'm already looking into going back again very soon!

ocean playa
212 of 224 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 50 Contributor
From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 25, 2011
Dreams LaRomana, DR

FIRST, I would like to compliment all the staff at the Dreams LaRomana resort in the Dominion Republic. The service and care were exceptional. We were treated as well or better than any other vacation we have taken. ROOM: The room was in the Preferred Section of the resort. Room 7227. This room overlooked the private pool and you could see some of the ocean as well. The room was a good size and very well appointed. The bed was outstanding. The maid service was OK. We did provide a generous tip (as was recommended on other reviews) however, did not get fresh towels, washcloths or soap without asking. But, they did a great job of cleaning and make a swan out of the towels. All in all, the room was great. SERVICE: I cannot say enough about the service. They were more than accomodating for anything we requested. We never had any trouble getting drinks of any kind, had no problem getting into restaurants, and all the staff manning the beaches were very attentive. FOOD: This was the only downside. We tried three of the specialty restaurants, Japanese, Italian and French (other than the World Cafe Buffet). We did not care for any of the food. Portions were small, taste was very bland and selection was very limited. The restaurants did not open until 6PM or 6:30PM. So if you are an early eater, you need to eat at the World Cafe Buffet. I will provide warnings at the end of the review. PRICES: Although the price of the 4 night stay was great with all the amenities, buying anything in the shops was VERY EXPENSIVE. I guess they know you are at their mercy so they really take advantage. There are no bargains for anything! PREFERRED CLUB VS REGULAR: I would highly recommend the preferred club. They have a very special greeting at arrival and whisk you away to a special guest check-in at their own building. The Preferred Club building has THE BEST coffee, wine and snacks. We really did feel special. I did not see the other rooms, but we had a really nice room. We had our own pool and pool bar which was very nice and not crowded. The areas were quiet, although a little further away, but close enough to all the other activities not to be a problem. ENTERTAINMENT: The entertainment team did work hard and we attended a couple of the shows. The CIRCUS show was really good and you could tell they really worked hard at making this a hit. The shows are all around the Main Pool which keeps the people in this area for most of the evening. It was recommended not to attend the Casino. We did visit and threw away a couple of dollars, but it was pretty pathetic and I suppose there are some winners, but few and far between. They do have a disco, dance place, however, it does not open until 11PM so unless you are really night owls, it is not available. The shows around the pool started at 9:30PM. THINGS YOU NEED TO KNOW: 1. DO NOT DRINK THE WATER. It has a special protein in it that Americans have trouble with. There is a warning in the bathroom. Brush your teeth with bottled water. You WILL get diarreha. I did not drink the water but I did have a couple of sangrias and I guess the ice cubes got me as I was sick the day we left. 2. Take some anti diarrehal medicine with you. Pepto Bismol or something similar just in case. 3. Take a bar of soap. They give you some body wash, but it does not suds and it is hard to deal with. 4. Take some hair conditioner. They provide a shampoo conditioner in one but it does not condition. 5. Take some water shoes. There are a lot of seaweed and rocks in the water and it is sometimes hard to walk in your bare feet. 6. TAKE SOME ONE DOLLAR BILLS FOR TIPS. If you have to use their ATM machines you can only get PESO's. The exchange rate to turn them in at the end of your visit is a lot higher than the purchase rate. 7. TRAVEL CLUB: BEWARE of people that come up to you in the lobby and ask you to attend an informational briefing on the other Dreams Resorts. They will get you to sign a paper that says you have 90 minutes to hear the information on their resorts. IT IS A TRAVEL CLUB they want you to join. (money and long term committment are involved) We ended up spending over 2.5 hours there. Bad on us! 8. AIRPORTS: If you fly into Santa Domingo, it is an unpleasant 2+ hour drive to the resort. Try to fly into La Romana. It is only 15 minutes away. MAKE SURE you get some food before leaving. The airport prices are out of reason. We split a chicken sandwich and a coke and paid over $20.00. Well, that is about all. If food is not a high priority, the Dreams resort is very clean, good service and very beautiful. We did go during September, hurricane season, but were lucky not to have any rain or storms. The resort was not full and that made it very pleasant. October or November may be better months. January and February are the high season and I am sure they will be more expensive and crowded.


40 of 42 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: New Hampshire
Age: 55-64

August 6, 2010 Featured Review
didn't want to leave!

My husband & I spent our honeymoon here and loved every minute! The first thing that we noticed was the most friendly staff. It was as though you were guests in their home and wanted you to feel that comfortable. We felt like we were the only ones there by the attention we got from staff. Our room was decorated in what looked like Dominican style, but still had air conditioning. Plus, a balcony overlooking a garden with the ocean view just further. The water was beautiful! And the beaches were clean with plenty of lounge chairs for everyone. My favorite part of the beach was that there are many trees scattered on it. You could choose sun or shade at all times. There was a cool breeze both night & day that made the humidity low. Also, we didn't get bitten by any mosquitos! When we took a trip into the town of La Romana, our driver who spoke very little English, introduced us to his English-fluent friend. His friend took us all around town giving us an inside look at their culture. The food was delicious as well...over 7 different food genres representied, all good! I really could keep on typing! We didn't want to leave!


64 of 70 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: california
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 30, 2012

We had a great week at Dreams, and would visit again without hesitation. We flew into Santo Domingo-then began our trek to the resort. Not going to candy coat it-that was my least favorite part of our trip. We knew the resort was 2 hrs from the airport, but the driver chose not to take the highway (in order to stop at a souvenir shop). Needless to say, after a long day of travel 3+ hrs of stop & go driving was hard to take. Dreams is not our 1st all inclusive resort that we've stayed at. I will however say, it was our favorite "all around resort". We LOVED not having to make reservations for dinner; and the food & drinks were very good. You could literally eat all day and night if you wanted to-food was always available (unlike some other resorts). I think the service was hit or miss; admittedly the language barrier was a contributing factor. Honestly, this is an area that Dreams could improve on. The grounds were nice...the room was average in size. We were suppose to have a room with 2 double beds. To our utter delight, they gave us a room with a king and a full size mattress!!! There was ALWAYS something to do at the resort. Everyday they would slip a activity sheet under your door so that you could always know whats going on-loved that. But my favorite thing to do was absolutely nothing....which brings me to the beach. The beach was very nice-not the best ever-but nice. There were lots of palms trees, loungers...soft white sand and warm water with a salty breeze. LOVE. You should note that there are lots of topless sunbathers...if that is a concern for you. Oh, and while we were there, 6/7 people got stung by puffer fish (by the rocks/dock area)-the resort never posted any warnings. There is a marina close by, didn't love that...kinda made it feel more commercial. Should you choose to walk down the beach into Bayahibe, the beach becomes more rocky, you will discover lots of sea urchins, fish, crabs, etc (a fun walk with kids). The town of Bayahibe is small and there is nothing there that you can't find at the shops right on the beach. Never pay their asking price....for example: I paid $15 for a lg pic, they wanted $60 us. The snorkeling on the beach is just ok-but then we are big time snorkelers. The fish are there, but the water is often cloudy. Early morning snorkeling is best, before the breeze and surf picks up. We didn't see the evening shows-but heard they were good. We did several excursions: 1) reef explorer (long drive to Punta Cana, not sure it was worth the $, but we had a nice time). 2). Alto de Chavon (beautiful scenery and village built in early 80's...not historic but interesting). Lastly our fav, 3). 4 wheels fun (atv buggy and zipline adventure/not a long zipline, but great buggy time). Dreams is an ideal place for any couple or family-they have something for every age group. Remember: do not drink the water in your room!!!! Bottle water only! (The restaurants served purified water-not in bottle). If you haven't already, add this place to your bucket list...you won't be disappointed.


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Bethlehem, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 13, 2013
Dreams DR

We just got back on Wednesday 4/10 and it was overall a great trip. I never write reviews but this time I felt like I had to because some other reviews are just simply ridiculous. You read these things and it's hard to judge because some of them are so awful you don't know what to believe. I really don't understand in any way some of the terrible reviews that people have given this place. We've traveled a lot and this was one of the nicer kept places we've been for the price we paid. We also don't typically don't do all inclusives because we like to venture around and check out different restaurants but in the DR that's not really an option and we wanted to switch it up. Some of the pros- The grounds are extremely well kept, there are constantly people cleaning and the landscaping is great. Our room was great. We did get a room on the top floor so the ceilings were vaulted and it made the room seem larger. The beach (and water) are great, not huge but very nice. We never had a problem but when the resort is very busy i could see it seeming crowded. Staff is super friendly and everyone is pretty much on top of everything. The pools are awesome. The place is huge so it never seems overly crowded. Some of the cons- The food. It wasn't awful like some of the reviews say but it's not awesome. The buffet was always pretty good but some of the restaurants just weren't that good. The Mexican place was actually horrible but it was so bad it was funny. Again though, that's sort of what you expect from an all inclusive and it didn't break our vacation by any means. Some of the staff is really up in your face about booking excursions which always gets to me but I've seen it worse at other places. The booze are cheap and definitely watered down but we're long out of college and we came to relax, not black out so it wasn't that bid a deal. I guess in the preferred section (which we didn't do) it has top shelf liquor. That's about it. Over all the place was great and would recommend it to others for sure. Not sure we would go back but not because of the resort, probably just to try somewhere else we haven't been yet.


24 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Portsmouth, NH
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 11, 2013
Nice Getaway

This was my first time staying at a DREAMS property, so I didn't know what to expect. I stayed for 6 nights. FOOD: This was my first experience at an all-inclusive, and I was pretty impressed with the food choices. I saw some of the negative reviews and can't say I experienced any problems with getting sick during my stay, but since I visit a lot of L.American countries (and don't usually have any issues), maybe that is the reason. World Cafe: I was really impressed with the selection here. They had something for everybody. For breakfast, they had doughnuts, eggs, bacon, a few different types of sausages, lots of fresh fruit, they would make you an omelette if you wanted, and they had cold cuts, cheese, and bread for the European travelers as well as Spanish-style omelettes, and to a lesser extent, Dominican food. The buffet was huge. I would circle around it once trying to decide what I wanted knowing that it would not be possible to try one of everything. Lunch is also nice here and they have the same wide variety of things to choose from. Dinner is based on a theme. Usually I went to one of the International places for dinner. Seaside Grill: This was also a nice option where you could have lunch right by the ocean. Even though the brochure says this is for snacks, you can order a meal and besides that they have a small salad bar inside with nachos, fruit, cookies, and other items. I was pretty full after eating at the "snack" place. El Patio: I loved this place EXCEPT for the mosquitoes. The food was good and so were the margaritas! I went here twice during my stay. Portofino: I had the Lasagna and thought it was very good. Himitsu: I had the Pad Thai and it was delicious! Oceana: I did not eat there. Bordeaux: I had the filet of boeuf and it was very good. Jungle Restaurant/Barefoot Grill: Did not eat there. Coco Cafe: I loved this place! I stopped in everyday. It's a Starbuck's style place with coffee and various types of beverages (mocha, cappucino, frappucino, etc.), and also plenty of pastries to choose from. The pastries are very small, so you can try several without feeling like you are stuffed. The beach: Very nice, but smaller than I expected. It was very pretty, but not as pretty as the one in Cancun, but that is just my opinion. The pools: Also very nice. There is a very large kids' pool. Tours: There are a couple of very nice gentlemen who will arrange tours. Even though the hotel arranges them, they are reasonably priced. I really appreciated the help getting a Santo Domingo tour as it was the low season and there weren't many tours going to Santo Domingo on the day that I wanted to go. They do really go out of their way to try to help and get you where you want to go. I also went on a tour of La Romana. Entertainment: I didn't participate in a lot of the activities, though I did watch Puss in Boots in English with French subtitles. If I have one regret it's that I didn't participate in many activities. If I had it to do again, I would have. I did not visit the nightclub or casino. Rooms: I had two rooms while I was there. One was a partial ocean view and the other was a garden view. Partial Ocean View Room: The view of the ocean was completely obstructed by a palm tree. Also, every time you would turn on the water in the sink, some bugs would fly out of the upper drain. Not all of the lights worked in the room, and the coffeemaker was missing a part. There was a fake eyelash on the floor when I arrived (not mine!), and the maid must have thought it was mine because the next day she had placed it on the vanity...yuck! I ran out of washcloths one day and waited almost 2 hours for them to bring me one. I was ready to walk around and steal one from a cart...lol. Garden View Room: This seemed like a better room, but not all of the lights worked, and there was no phone in the room. Right off the bat the toilet was clogged, and because there was no phone in the room, I had to walk to the lobby and tell them what was wrong. I waited for hours, but it was stil not fixed. I had talked to them around 2 or 3 pm and it was finally fixed around 9-10 pm. I guess there was a miscommunication. Fitness Center: Kind of small and not open very late. I went once, but there was someone in there making a bunch of noise trying to draw attention to himself so I did not go back after that. Property: Overall the property is very nice. Besides the things that I have already mentioned, they have a gift shop, ATM, flamingoes, and spa. I did visit the spa once while I was there to have my hair braided. Everyone there was nice. The gift shop was hit or miss as sometimes they were nice and other times it seems that they did not really want to deal with you. Vendors: What can be a little annoying if you are not used to this, is a couple nights a week they have vendors onsite. This can be a plus for people looking to buy souvenirs, but they are a little agressive and I found myself going out of my way and walking a longer distance to avoid them. I know it is probably great for the locals, but if you really aren't interested in buying anything it can be annoying. Also, sometimes outside of World Cafe in the morning there will be people trying to get you to sign up for a breakfast where you will get some "regalos" and have to listen to a sales pitch from someone from the hotel chain. I was not sure why this gentleman was handing me coupons for the spa and other things, but then afterwards I got the sales pitch. I was really not interested and I'm not sure how long I was held prisoner there listening but eventually I found I had to be a litte rude and tell him I had to leave. Apparently they work on a cuota and have to sign so many people up to get paid. I saw him later on and he was laying this guilt trip on me for not having signed up but while he was holding me prisoner talking he could have approached some other people. Noise levels: I guess where I was wasn't too bad. I could hear carts being pushed around, but that was about it. A note for females traveling solo: I found in a couple of instances some of the male employees are overly flirtatious. This is most likely just a part of the culture, but it was a little annoying. I think this is probably because I was there by myself. I would say that 99% of the time people are just being friendly, but a couple of the employees were a bit overbearing. There was one who had talked to me several times and whenever he saw me would just call out my name, so I had to go out of my way to avoid him. I'm a very friendly person and I don't mind talking to anyone, but I think sometimes that gets misinterpreted. Also, since I speak Spanish, it is more likely that I will have more conversation partners. Some people just ask things like if you like baseball, and where are you from, and how do you like the D.R., but then when it starts getting to things like are you married and do you have a boyfriend, well then you know it's time to end that conversation. Anyway, overall, I would say that I enjoyed my vacation, I learned a lot about the D.R., I got to use my Spanish (which is getting rusty up here in Maine), I enjoyed my tours very much and also the food choices and friendilness of most of the people I met. Overall, it was nice getaway from work and insight into a different culture. Would I go back again? Maybe. I really liked the Dreams concept and now that I have had a taste of all-inclusive I don't think I would want to go back to paying for food and drinks, but I would most likely go to one of the other Dreams resorts next time just to get a different experience

Nice Getaway
23 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Columbus, Ohio
Age: 35-44

March 9, 2013
Incredible Value, Service, Relaxation

My girlfriends and I stayed at Dreams for our Spring Break trip, and were absolutely blown away by what we got for our money. Dreams was one of the cheapest options we had been looking at, but in no way did we feel that we were staying at a "cheap resort". Our rooms were beautiful and we were lucky enough to get adjoining rooms just by asking at check in. We were on the 3rd floor, so we had gorgeous vaulted ceilings, so I would also recommend requesting a 3rd floor room. The two huge pools were gorgeous. The resort lists more pools, but one is for preferred members only and one is for the spa. The infinity pool with a swim up bar was where we spent most of our time. Perfect relaxation spot, with a great view of the ocean from the pool as well. We loved the easy access to the beach, drinks, and snacks, as there are fruit stands and snack shacks every so often. We were also very impressed with the food. The buffet provided us with easy breakfast and lunch options, while the 8 other restaurants gave us a fun night time choice. There were no other "spring break" groups there that we could tell, and in fact were one of the only American groups as well, but we really enjoyed that. Getting to know some people from other countries. All in all we would ABSOLUTELY return if we could. We had a fantastic time and it was worth EVERY penny.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: State College, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 17, 2015
Sleeping with Ants

My husband and I stayed at this resort July 25th - July 30th 2015 for our wedding anniversary. We arrived and were upgraded to a preferred room due to no availability for the room we chose. Ironically, we would have to pay a fee daily to use the preferred amenities . The room was nice. But after my normal inspection (looking for bed bugs), I noticed little black specs all over the bed. As I got closer I noticed they were crawling all over the bed. I called my husband to come take a look and he said the bed has ants. We left the room and went back to the front desk and reported the problem. They told us they would handle the problem and for us to go eat and check the room after two hours. We did. When we returned, the bed sheets we assumed were changed. Didn't notice any ants on the bed but they were still crawling throughout the bathroom. Again we reported. We were told there were no other rooms available (100% capacity) for them to change us to. So we had to remain in the same room. Sunday evening they placed a note under the door saying they were going to fumigate Monday at 9 am and we had to be out the room before 9 am. Welll Monday, July 27th, I woke up to find a dead ant near my face and one crawling on me. I immediately showered woke my husband and we went to the concierge's desk to complain and we were told that we had to set an appointment to speak with the hotels assistant manager. We were given a 12 noon appointment. We waited in the lobby. The manager Jonathan finally showed at 12:13 pm. There was also another guest waiting for him as well. When Jonathan arrived a gentleman at the desk pointed to my husband and I to let him know we were there to see him. Instead of him coming to us, he went to the other guess and handled his issue before speaking with us. (I thought that was rude) We told him the problem from the very beginning. He said to me that ants in the bed wasn't a big deal as I should know we are in a jungle. I told him, "if I was in a jungle where were the zebras and tigers?" I said, "I have ants and a pesticide should be used to rid them." He said, there are no other rooms available because they were at 100% capacity but he can place us in the room we booked originally." I said, how can you do that if you are at 100% capacity?" 100% capacity mean no availability I thought. He wasn't being accommodating at all. He said the best he could do was give us the preferred amenities for two days at $35 per day. I asked how is that accommodating for me waking up with ants. I have to pay for a problem that should have been corrected the first day we reported it. I missed out on two days of our vacation due to your lack of correcting the problem on day one. Will I be back NO!! This problem caused the LOW RATINGS!!!!!!!!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year