All

Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - La Romana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 673 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.3 out of 5
"We enjoyed our two weeks at Dreams. The restaurant choices were excellant, the beaches and pools were also." – BillyJ
719 out of 835 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from the preferred beach Rocky part of beach, beautiful to watch waves crash against Just one beautiful scene on the beach at night. Truly beautiful, day or night! Spa Water aerobics every morning, so much fun! They teach Salsa dancing and more on the beach as well Stormy afternoon. STUNNING Preferred Pool Flamingos are awesome flamingos at the resort view from the lobby View from my chaise Flamingos holding Court Room Flamingo garden in the middle of the resort The beach. Animación employe The Best people view from room Saona Island excursion Beautiful blue water! Hanging with our UK Blokes! Infinity pool view After dinner photo by the main pool I thought this was too cute we had a Blast!! On the Beach playa Snorkeling show on the beach Beach at Dreams view from the dock Beautiful Sunset our romantic dinner on the pier Balcony View Having fun on the beach! Beautiful beach and water! Sunrise from the pier View of the beach Honeymoon Love The Beach at La Romana jeep safari -Dominicana Wedding Gazebo View from my room Beach View Bathtub View from our room Big, clean beach VIP pool at night Beautiful Grounds Peaceful Resort Grounds Night pool Dreams Staff Beautiful resort Private Dinner View from the lounge Beautiful Plnk Flamingos in the middle courtyard near Bldg 4 Sunset Beach Altos the Chavon-church where Michael Jackson got married The beach Adults only Preferred Pool Dreams grounds Dreams La Romana Beach Beach with shade or sunny chairs One of the pools Grounds Beach view during sunset Beach at the resort Saona Beach One of the pools View from the Preferred Club lounge Beach view from the small private pool rainbow from the room Dreams Beach Birthday Dinner By The Ocean At Sun Set View from our room, preferred adults only section ocean Beautiful Beach View Beach our romantic dinner on the pier 1 of 2 pools- this one has a swim-up bar View of main pool area Dreams La Romana Beach Room Patio area of Preferred Clubhouse Carmen- A kind and wonderful employee of Dreams- La Romana

All Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 673 reviews. Sort by
September 11, 2011
perfect getaway!

This is my fourth trip to the DR and my favorite. i was a bit hesitant about going to La Romana since we usually go to Punta Cana but it was a great choice. My boyfriend and i LOVE the DR because it's an easy 3 hour flight from NYC and perfect for a long weekend away from the city or a longer vacation of doing nothing. This resort was the nicest that I have been to in my trips to the DR and really went above and beyond in all aspects. Here is my best shot at a comprehensive review: Rooms: Modern, large and very comfortable. No issues with air conditioning not working (i read this in another review) and we had a fridge, tv with a DVD player and a great balcony. The bathroom is large and has two sinks which is great for me because my boyfriend has a lot of products for a guy and a women needs her space:) Food: i'm not a buffet person which is usually my downfall at any all inclusive resort. we had the buffet every morning for breakfast and i actually liked it. it had a lot of fresh fruit, juices and plenty of options that even i couldn't complain about. we didn't eat there for lunch or dinner so i can't speak to that. There are plenty of places to eat at the resort and they did a great job of variety and portion sizes. They were smaller portions but very nice so that you could actually eat all of the courses and not be so stuffed you couldn't walk back to your room. It's not top of the line fine dining so you shouldn't expect nyc's finest or top chef quality food but do remember that they are flying large amounts of this food in and it's very good quality and variety for what i have had in the DR before. Bars: The wine here was better than i have had at other all inclusive resorts. At other places i've had the "house wine" that they use for all of the dining and there was always something a bit off about it. This resort had a nice variety of house red and white and had a french dining option that had a large wine selection if you wanted to purchase something other than the house variety. The pool bars were well stocked and we never waited for a drink. They have a nice variety of tropical drinks and the good old standbys. They, of course, only have Presendente for beer because that is the way it goes in the DR but never fear it's not bad at all. Cafe: I really loved the cafe. i'm a coffee person and even though we had a coffee maker in the room, it was nice to have a cute little coffee house to go to for some more 'advanced' coffee drinks. Bring home some whole beans with you from the DR, the coffee is wonderful here. Pools: The pools are wonderful. They are infinity pools that look right out into the ocean and it's an amazing view. They were well kept and there were plenty of chairs at the preferred pool (i'll get to that later). Beach: This is my only slight downfall with the DR. I'm from California so i'm kind of a beach snob so take it with a grain of salt but the beaches here are just ok. The dreams resort had the nicest beach that i've been to in the DR and i found La Ramana to have better beaches than Punta Cana. The water was blue here and very warm so you could go out for a nice swim. The beaches are just smaller here than in a lot of places in the US and do be careful of jelly fish. You can't really take long romantic walks on these beaches but we did go out for a swim everyday. Resort overall: This resort had tons of activities, games and really something for everyone. I like to do a whole lot of nothing on vacation but there was a newsletter that came out each night with all of the events for the next day and there always looked like a nice variety of things going on. There are tennis courts which are in great shape and a spa that has a lot of options. I got a seaside massage which i highly recommend. I also had a facial and they used high quality products and the prices were reasonable. The resort was very well kept and set up nicely and the staff all friendly and helpful. There is security everywhere here and you always felt like it was a very safe place. Preferred Club: I booked a room with a partial ocean view which also gives you the preferred club benefits. I had no idea what this meant, but i think it was an extra $100 for the whole trip so i figured why not. This ended up being a great move. You don't have to wait in line for check in and they take you directly to the Preferred Club Lounge. Here you have your own concierge and a nice little lounge that has snacks, drinks and a back patio. They were very helpful the whole trip and you could just pop in whenever and they would gladly help you out with whatever you wanted. The big win of the Preferred Club is the private pool. The main pools were a bit more crowded and had a lot of kids but the Preferred Pool was right outside our building and was quiet and not at all crowded. We also didn't have to wait long at all for dinners. i have been to places where you have to make reservations every day and it's a total hassle. You give them your room number when you check in and if you are in the Preferred building you didn't have to wait. With the view, pool and extra perks is was well worth $100. They also gave us $100 worth of spa gift certificates and $45 off a bottle of wine at the French place. I'm not sure that these are perks all of the time so you may want to check. Preferred club, thumbs up. Lastly, a point of note that the resort is about 2 hours from the Santa Domingo airport so just be prepared for the ride I have always used the airport transfer service that you can book with the package and they are nice air conditioned vans and it wasn't a huge deal. Overall, i highly recommend this resort if you like relaxing, fun and sun. As always Cheap Caribbean was a great deal! That was a lot of typing, i hope someone finds this helpful.


811 of 821 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

November 5, 2011
Happy they were wrong!

After about a half an hour on the phone with a Cheap Caribbean rep I finally settled on Dreams La Romana. I read a lot of the reviews from the CC website and yes there were a few not-so-great reviews but mostly they were about things like "a bat in our room" or "food not so good". There were however a lot of good reviews so I felt pretty confident. When we finally got on the plane my girlfriend downloaded a bunch of reviews from another site before we took off and proceeded to read every nasty complaint (and there were a few) to me which led us into an argument about this supposedly less-than-stellar spot I picked. I'm not sure if that had an infullence on our experience (we may have been prepared for the worst) but I'm here to tell you that that place is THE BOMB! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we continously asked ourselves "how could someone leave a bad review about this place?" The food was fantastic, the weather was perfect, the place was huge, the people we nice and there was an absolute ton of stuff to do. I must admit that we did upgrade to a suite which gave us access to the preferred guest pool and bar but we spent a lot of time in the other two pools as well which were equally as nice, gigantic and one had a swim up bar. There were a bunch of different restaurants and we tried to sample them all but never got around to the French place. All the rest were great and we ate a lot of different kinds of fish (some reviewer said something about only grouper). We ate at the buffet some too and although there were a couple of things that I wasn't crazy about the rest was superb. I've traveled quite a bit and been on a few cruises as well and let me tell you that this place outshines most. I will say that the service at some of the places wasn't as stellar as others but considering what the minimum wage is in the Dominican Republic I wasn't expecting 5 star service. Eash place was individually managed and I must say that whoever was in charge of the buffet really had their act together. That was the best service of all the places to eat. We did have some kind of critter in the ceiling of our room. Another reviewer made a big deal out of that stating there was a bat "in" their room. First off, its not "in" the room. There is a space between the ceiling and the aluminum roof that made a great nesting place for something like a bird or bat and they would occaisionally wake us at night. The obvious solution is don't get a room on the top floor. We however loved the view from the second floor and found it kind of cute but did eventually use earplugs one night to muffle the sound. If you prefer less action and more quiet ask for building #7 or #5. The preferred guest pool is between those two buildings and is a lot quieter but you need to be a preferred guest (obviously) to use it. Remember, its a big place and you may not want to hike to the other pools so plan accordingly. The snorkling right off the beach was amazing. There is a reef just to the right of the dock (if you're standing on the beach). We saw all kinds of sea life. The dive shop was perfect and the folks there were so friendly and professional (most of them spoke 4 or 5 languages fluently) that we opted to get certified for our open water diving certificate. There are some fantastic places to dive very close to the resort and we saw everything from coral reefs to sucken ships. I highly recommend it if you're a diver or even curious about diving (you can do a discovery dive for about $100....well worth it). The all inclusive part meant just that. With the exception of the excursions and the diving, everything else was included. Food, drinks, activities, water sports, everything. We took a little sailing catamaran out one day for about an hour and a half and had a blast. If you have kids (we don't) there are lots and lots of things for them to do including an arcade, pool tables, movies and even a mechanical bull. We did one excursion through CC to Catalina Island that took you to a cigar factory, a shopping spot, a "dog boat" trip up a river and finally to the island for lunch and snorkling. It was quite the party atmosphere and if you like that kind of thing you would probably love the excursion. I could have skipped it to be honest. The one thing I can say is that I'm really happy all those other negative reviewers WERE WRONG! Sometimes I think people just like to complain about anything. If the food doesn't taste like the french fries at their local Chilis then they tell you the food stinks. If it rains while they are there then they'll tell you that the beach was crummy. Considering the price that we paid for this place I thought it was amazing and will definitely go back again. For the people that didn't like it, I'm glad. Those are the kind of people that should go somewhere else and whine about the imperfections. But for those people like us who like to travel to warm tropical places, eat good food and bask in the sunshine for a reasonable price, this is the place for you.


137 of 141 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 25 Contributor
From: Southern California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 15, 2013
VACATION IN PARADISE

Amazing vacation!!! Booked a trip in January for May 7-11 2013 with two of my best girl friends. I did a lot of research and reading reviews to select the resort since this was our first time in the Dominican... so I am going to attempt to be VERY thorough with my review to be as helpful as others were for me. Having never been to DR or stayed at an all-inclusive resort, I felt as if I was going in blind to this whole trip. Needless to say I was super worried that my group wouldn't feel we got our investment's worth. Let me just say that was NOT the case whatsoever. We had the trip of a lifetime and a lot of that has to do with the resort and the staff making our adventure such a blast! First things first, Brandon at CheapCaribbean was a BIG help. He made the booking process simple and definitely eased my worries since he had been to the area we were going. He even made some suggestions about excursions - so glad we took his advice on one of them! After a LONG day of traveling by plane, we arrived at the Santo Domingo airport. We booked our round-trip airport transfer through CheapCaribbean so that was a breeze. It was a LONG ride though (about 2 hours and we dropped off other customers at 2 other resorts before making it to ours). Suggestion: fly into Punta Cana instead. We opted not to because it was a drastic difference in flight price... but next time I'd rather pay the extra money to be only a 45 min ride away. We were more than ready to get to the resort by the time we arrived (our elapsed travel time was about 13 hours) and the resort staff was waiting for us with the biggest smiles. The bellhops took our bags off our hands and gave us champagne to carry instead. Check in took about 5 mins and we were informed that none of the restaurants required reservations (a concern of ours since we were arriving around dinner time VERY hungry). As we were taken to our room, the bellhop pointed out all the necessary landmarks so we quickly were familiarized with the resort grounds. Speaking of... the hotel and grounds are immaculate. Very clean and very nice, from the ambiance to the landscaping, it was perfect. Our room fit our group perfectly. Just the right size, we had a small garden-view balcony in building 7. Mini bar with beer, sodas and bottled water restocked every day and is included in the "all-inclusive" package. Air conditioning worked perfectly. Beds were super comfortable. DON'T drink the water from the faucets. Use the bottled water to brush your teeth even, they will restock daily at no extra charge! We loved that there were no reservations at the restaurants, the only time we weren't seated immediately was at the Japanese restaurant because we came in behind a large group. However, they quoted us 30 minutes and we were seated in less than 5 minutes. The food was good! Look, it's not going to be gourmet Michelin star meals - but it's better quality than chain restaurants you find here in the US. We loved the Italian, Mexican and Japanese the best. The World Cafe buffet was perfect for breakfast. Fresh fruits & juices, omelette station, the best crunchy bacon I've ever had at a buffet! Lunch there is pretty good too but we didn't like leaving the beach so in that case I would suggest the grill on the beach or the pizzeria by the pool. Don't forget, the World Cafe is a "snack bar" after dinner until breakfast. We definitely took advantage of the late-night snacks (pizza, hot dogs, fruit, cold cuts, etc) after dancing the night away at the disco. One thing that I was very worried about was entertainment. Sure, we were there to relax... but we were three ladies looking to have some fun at the same time! I was concerned going to the resort dance club every single night would get old. It DID NOT get old! We had so much fun every night. They play a mix of bachata/merengue and mainstream dance/hip-hop music. If DJ Francis is on the turntables, he'll take your requests and play it if it's something he has! Another thing about entertainment were the shows and daily activities. The entertainment team walks around on the beach and the resort grounds all day informing the guests of the activities going on so you don't miss out on any of the fun. Beach aerobics and Aqua Gym (water aerobics in the ocean, which was my favorite) with Jacob were so much fun! The dance team and the others on the entertainment team (Jeffrey, Omega, Wainy, etc) were amazing. They never disappointed. Andy, the MC of the shows every night, was so charismatic and was always happy! They get the audience participating when possible. I was the head chef of my team for a paella cook-off competition and we won! So we were recognized at the show that evening. They brought our team on stage and awarded us in front of all the guests who attended with certificates and bottles of rum!!! And of course, the beach & pools. I like a mixture of both pool and beach, so we would set up chairs on the beach in front of the infinity pool with the BEST swim-up bar. That way we could jump in the pool when we needed a drink. However, there are staff members roaming the beach to take drink orders if you don't want to get up. The beach was gorgeous (see my photos), crystal blue water and golden sand. The infinity pool was also amazing. We definitely spent hours sitting in the water at the swim-up bar with Manuel y Cesar. If they are working, ask for Kryptonite or "green drink". It's made with passion fruit concentrate and is not too sweet, just right for me. Plus there's a lot of alcohol in it!! Make sure to bring $50-$100 in $1 bills with you for tipping purposes. Your all-inclusive price does include gratuity, but these staff member provide excellent service and should be rewarded for that. Plus, if you give them a little something each time they go out of their way for you... it will be recognized and they will take extra good care of you the rest of your trip because you're taking care of them right back! Definitely take advantage of the trips/excursions. As Brandon from CheapCarribean suggested to us - we went on a catamaran trip to Saona Island. Also heard that Catalina Island is very beautiful. Our sail to Saona was about 1.5-2 hours and it was nothing but a big dance party. Lots of beer and rum & coke and TONS of bachata/merengue dancing!!! It was definitely a party boat and the whole group of 20-30 of us had a blast. And that was just the boat ride! When we arrived at the island we had a good 2 hours there, which included lunch. Our lunch was fantastic - fresh fruits, rice, macaroni salad & pasta, and GRILLED LOBSTER! More drinks were at the bar there too. Then we took speed boats out to a sand bar where there was an abundance of starfish. The total cost per person was so affordable once you factor in all that the day-trip had to offer. It was WELL worth the money we spent! Saving the best for last... our favorite staff member, a part of the entertainment team, made our trip unforgettable. Pablo Picasso went out of his way every single day to make sure that people were aware of all the activities going on around the resort. Had it not been for him, we could have potentially missed out on all of the fun and memorable things we did each day. We were lucky to have met him the first night at dinner while he was walking through the restaurant informing the diners of the show that evening. We ended up making it to the show kind of late, so all of the seats were taken. He noticed us standing on the side of the stage and quickly ran over with 3 chairs and a towel to wipe off the seats so we didn't get our dresses dirty. Now THAT is what I call attention to detail. From that moment on, he didn't forget our faces. Each time we ran into him after that he kept us in the know and made sure we were having a great time. Thank you Pablo!!! We miss you already! Needless to say (in great detail) we had an experience of a lifetime that we will never forget. The resort was beautiful and the staff went above and beyond to help us thoroughly enjoy our stay. I would not only recommend this to friends and family, I'm already looking into going back again very soon!

ocean playa
213 of 225 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 50 Contributor
From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 25, 2011
Dreams LaRomana, DR

FIRST, I would like to compliment all the staff at the Dreams LaRomana resort in the Dominion Republic. The service and care were exceptional. We were treated as well or better than any other vacation we have taken. ROOM: The room was in the Preferred Section of the resort. Room 7227. This room overlooked the private pool and you could see some of the ocean as well. The room was a good size and very well appointed. The bed was outstanding. The maid service was OK. We did provide a generous tip (as was recommended on other reviews) however, did not get fresh towels, washcloths or soap without asking. But, they did a great job of cleaning and make a swan out of the towels. All in all, the room was great. SERVICE: I cannot say enough about the service. They were more than accomodating for anything we requested. We never had any trouble getting drinks of any kind, had no problem getting into restaurants, and all the staff manning the beaches were very attentive. FOOD: This was the only downside. We tried three of the specialty restaurants, Japanese, Italian and French (other than the World Cafe Buffet). We did not care for any of the food. Portions were small, taste was very bland and selection was very limited. The restaurants did not open until 6PM or 6:30PM. So if you are an early eater, you need to eat at the World Cafe Buffet. I will provide warnings at the end of the review. PRICES: Although the price of the 4 night stay was great with all the amenities, buying anything in the shops was VERY EXPENSIVE. I guess they know you are at their mercy so they really take advantage. There are no bargains for anything! PREFERRED CLUB VS REGULAR: I would highly recommend the preferred club. They have a very special greeting at arrival and whisk you away to a special guest check-in at their own building. The Preferred Club building has THE BEST coffee, wine and snacks. We really did feel special. I did not see the other rooms, but we had a really nice room. We had our own pool and pool bar which was very nice and not crowded. The areas were quiet, although a little further away, but close enough to all the other activities not to be a problem. ENTERTAINMENT: The entertainment team did work hard and we attended a couple of the shows. The CIRCUS show was really good and you could tell they really worked hard at making this a hit. The shows are all around the Main Pool which keeps the people in this area for most of the evening. It was recommended not to attend the Casino. We did visit and threw away a couple of dollars, but it was pretty pathetic and I suppose there are some winners, but few and far between. They do have a disco, dance place, however, it does not open until 11PM so unless you are really night owls, it is not available. The shows around the pool started at 9:30PM. THINGS YOU NEED TO KNOW: 1. DO NOT DRINK THE WATER. It has a special protein in it that Americans have trouble with. There is a warning in the bathroom. Brush your teeth with bottled water. You WILL get diarreha. I did not drink the water but I did have a couple of sangrias and I guess the ice cubes got me as I was sick the day we left. 2. Take some anti diarrehal medicine with you. Pepto Bismol or something similar just in case. 3. Take a bar of soap. They give you some body wash, but it does not suds and it is hard to deal with. 4. Take some hair conditioner. They provide a shampoo conditioner in one but it does not condition. 5. Take some water shoes. There are a lot of seaweed and rocks in the water and it is sometimes hard to walk in your bare feet. 6. TAKE SOME ONE DOLLAR BILLS FOR TIPS. If you have to use their ATM machines you can only get PESO's. The exchange rate to turn them in at the end of your visit is a lot higher than the purchase rate. 7. TRAVEL CLUB: BEWARE of people that come up to you in the lobby and ask you to attend an informational briefing on the other Dreams Resorts. They will get you to sign a paper that says you have 90 minutes to hear the information on their resorts. IT IS A TRAVEL CLUB they want you to join. (money and long term committment are involved) We ended up spending over 2.5 hours there. Bad on us! 8. AIRPORTS: If you fly into Santa Domingo, it is an unpleasant 2+ hour drive to the resort. Try to fly into La Romana. It is only 15 minutes away. MAKE SURE you get some food before leaving. The airport prices are out of reason. We split a chicken sandwich and a coke and paid over $20.00. Well, that is about all. If food is not a high priority, the Dreams resort is very clean, good service and very beautiful. We did go during September, hurricane season, but were lucky not to have any rain or storms. The resort was not full and that made it very pleasant. October or November may be better months. January and February are the high season and I am sure they will be more expensive and crowded.


41 of 43 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: New Hampshire
Age: 55-64

June 30, 2012

We had a great week at Dreams, and would visit again without hesitation. We flew into Santo Domingo-then began our trek to the resort. Not going to candy coat it-that was my least favorite part of our trip. We knew the resort was 2 hrs from the airport, but the driver chose not to take the highway (in order to stop at a souvenir shop). Needless to say, after a long day of travel 3+ hrs of stop & go driving was hard to take. Dreams is not our 1st all inclusive resort that we've stayed at. I will however say, it was our favorite "all around resort". We LOVED not having to make reservations for dinner; and the food & drinks were very good. You could literally eat all day and night if you wanted to-food was always available (unlike some other resorts). I think the service was hit or miss; admittedly the language barrier was a contributing factor. Honestly, this is an area that Dreams could improve on. The grounds were nice...the room was average in size. We were suppose to have a room with 2 double beds. To our utter delight, they gave us a room with a king and a full size mattress!!! There was ALWAYS something to do at the resort. Everyday they would slip a activity sheet under your door so that you could always know whats going on-loved that. But my favorite thing to do was absolutely nothing....which brings me to the beach. The beach was very nice-not the best ever-but nice. There were lots of palms trees, loungers...soft white sand and warm water with a salty breeze. LOVE. You should note that there are lots of topless sunbathers...if that is a concern for you. Oh, and while we were there, 6/7 people got stung by puffer fish (by the rocks/dock area)-the resort never posted any warnings. There is a marina close by, didn't love that...kinda made it feel more commercial. Should you choose to walk down the beach into Bayahibe, the beach becomes more rocky, you will discover lots of sea urchins, fish, crabs, etc (a fun walk with kids). The town of Bayahibe is small and there is nothing there that you can't find at the shops right on the beach. Never pay their asking price....for example: I paid $15 for a lg pic, they wanted $60 us. The snorkeling on the beach is just ok-but then we are big time snorkelers. The fish are there, but the water is often cloudy. Early morning snorkeling is best, before the breeze and surf picks up. We didn't see the evening shows-but heard they were good. We did several excursions: 1) reef explorer (long drive to Punta Cana, not sure it was worth the $, but we had a nice time). 2). Alto de Chavon (beautiful scenery and village built in early 80's...not historic but interesting). Lastly our fav, 3). 4 wheels fun (atv buggy and zipline adventure/not a long zipline, but great buggy time). Dreams is an ideal place for any couple or family-they have something for every age group. Remember: do not drink the water in your room!!!! Bottle water only! (The restaurants served purified water-not in bottle). If you haven't already, add this place to your bucket list...you won't be disappointed.


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Bethlehem, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2010 Featured Review
didn't want to leave!

My husband & I spent our honeymoon here and loved every minute! The first thing that we noticed was the most friendly staff. It was as though you were guests in their home and wanted you to feel that comfortable. We felt like we were the only ones there by the attention we got from staff. Our room was decorated in what looked like Dominican style, but still had air conditioning. Plus, a balcony overlooking a garden with the ocean view just further. The water was beautiful! And the beaches were clean with plenty of lounge chairs for everyone. My favorite part of the beach was that there are many trees scattered on it. You could choose sun or shade at all times. There was a cool breeze both night & day that made the humidity low. Also, we didn't get bitten by any mosquitos! When we took a trip into the town of La Romana, our driver who spoke very little English, introduced us to his English-fluent friend. His friend took us all around town giving us an inside look at their culture. The food was delicious as well...over 7 different food genres representied, all good! I really could keep on typing! We didn't want to leave!


64 of 71 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: california
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 8, 2016
Gorgeous property, great staff! Loads of fun!!

The grounds are AMAZING! The staff is AMAZING! Very friendly and lots of fun. There are plenty of English speaking staff. TONS of stuff to do too. Booked through Cheap Caribbean and got a great deal on this property. Beach, pool and activities: The beach is beautiful with nice white sand and calm waves and palm trees all over. There are several large covered huts at no charge. There is food on the beach daily so if you don’t want to dry off or get dressed to go to the restaurant, you can eat burgers, chicken, pork, nachos, fruit, etc. and all the soda and juice drinks you want all day long including water and alcohol. You get fresh beach towels daily and we found chairs every single day with not much of a problem. The pools are VERY large and gorgeous, one with a swim up bar and middle island and seats around the sides. The other has a big climbing rock wall for kids. The PREFERRED pool has chairs down IN the water and loads of covered cabanas if you pay for that program. There are daily activities by the main pool like dance lessons, bingo, the Captains event with Staff Recognition, drinking contests, bands, Spanish lessons and more. The beach area has activities daily like water aerobics, dance lessons, bocce ball, volleyball, miscellaneous competitions, ring toss, food events, night movies and NFL football on the beach etc. We enjoyed the CoreZone area with ping pong tables, billiard (pool) tables and foosball too. There are tons of activities for kids too and parents can drop off the kids to enjoy bouncing trampolines, batting cages, movies, scavenger hunts, overnight beach camping, etc. We particularly had fun at the 4 clay tennis courts where you can get lessons from the pros and we even played doubles with them too. There was a tennis tournament one morning and you can pay $5 for a ball boy! Well worth the money. The SPA is nice, we did a 50 minute deep tissue couples massage on the beach for $50 each (it was a special). There is a decent sized gym, sauna, etc. too. There are archery tournaments, a very small casino, bike tours, absolutely amazing shows in the evening with some of the best dancers we have ever seen at an all-inclusive resort. There was a karaoke night and nightly entertainment in the lobby lounge too. One night we had an outdoor Caribbean Fair where vendors come and you buy all sorts of local items like paintings and crafts and jewelry. Another night there was a LOVERS party by the pool with candles on the tables, food and love songs. Food: Unbelievably delicious food and we didn’t get sick like we have so many times in the past at other resorts. You can brush your teeth, drink the water in the restaurants and enjoy juices, coffees, etc. without any problems. And you get free sodas, juices, water and beer in your room refrigerator or all over the property. For those who like alcohol, those are free too. And I am pretty sure the room service is free and available 24 hours a day. There are 6 or 7 specialty restaurants besides the main buffet restaurant which was the biggest one we have ever seen and had the most food options ever! The food was fantastic. The specialty restaurants include an American grill, Mediterranean, Italian, French, Asian and Seafood restaurants. You can pay for a romantic dinner out by the ocean but prices start at $120 per couple and includes mostly seafood. There is also a small coffee/breakfast place with pastries. Several nights a week we saw lobster/shrimp parties out by the beach but I think they did cost extra. There were so many times that extra food was available like during the beachside NFL game and during the LOVERS party by the pool and during the Captains party. Room and Staff: The room was OK, decent enough size, nice tile and clean but our room had old heavy furniture and you could tell the bathroom walls and shower area had some wear and tear. The balcony glass sliding doors are so heavy and old they were hard to open. We were in building 7, room 7226 which is on the 2nd floor, quiet area BUT the staff are so LOUD in the halls in the am, they woke us up many mornings even though we complained 3 times. The WiFi in the room is better than most but don’t expect great like the US. And we had to unplug the phone to get the WiFi to work as there was a DSL splitter. There was only one sink in our bathroom making it hard for us to get ready and the water in the shower gets cold then hot then cold. The towel bar was falling off the wall too and the hairdryer did not work. The closet is quite large but bring some of your own hangers if you are staying a while, we always do. There is an iron in the closet and an umbrella too. Also a safe is provided for your private stuff and money. If you like coffee, there is a small coffee maker. The air conditioner is very loud and blew right on the bed so my husband had to drag a table over and stand on it to move the louvers. There is a round table with 2 chairs and the tv is a small flat screen, maybe 28”to 32”. When the air turns on, you can’t hear the tv. Also, there are no washrags unless you ask which we had to do over and over as they kept taking them. I always bring my own. I think they are remodeling these rooms so maybe they will be better next year. They told us the Preferred Rooms are the same size, you just get a special concierge to help book activities and you get a private pool and after seeing the beach area for them, we said no to paying the extra. Their beach view was blocked by trees. NOTE on room location: The resort is large. If you can’t walk a lot, I would suggest Building 3 or 4. As for staff, sometimes they were very quick to respond to your requests and many speak English. The first day we were there, we asked for more hangers and more pillows and we needed repair on our router which was done quickly., After that, it seemed to get harder getting anyone to help us. We asked repeatedly for repair of the router as it only worked if you unplug the phone but no one came and we asked over and over for repair of a broken curtain pull rod but it took a little time to get repaired. Calixte who sits outside the main dining room was so nice and very helpful when we asked questions and he referred us to the VACATION club which we actually joined! The housekeeping staff do a great job with the room but we only allowed them in twice, we like our privacy. They will refill your refrigerator daily with water, sodas and beer at no charge. Vacation Club Membership: Oscar Lopez with the vacation club was FANTASTIC and he was the reason we joined after the great price he offered us. We have been to many all-inclusive resorts and have had a timeshare in the past and currently have a vacation club membership but this one was too good to pass up. So we are now PROUD members of the UNLIMITED VACATION CLUB and get great discounts on their properties and partners. The parent company AMResorts owns DREAMS, Now, Secrets, Breathless, Zoetry, Priceline, Cheap Caribbean, American Express travel, Delta travel and many more travel companies. Before we even left DREAMS, we were getting emails with amazing travel deals. Check it out while you are there.

Gorgeous property, great staff! Loads of fun!! Gorgeous property, great staff! Loads of fun!!
13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Lakeland, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

March 9, 2013
Incredible Value, Service, Relaxation

My girlfriends and I stayed at Dreams for our Spring Break trip, and were absolutely blown away by what we got for our money. Dreams was one of the cheapest options we had been looking at, but in no way did we feel that we were staying at a "cheap resort". Our rooms were beautiful and we were lucky enough to get adjoining rooms just by asking at check in. We were on the 3rd floor, so we had gorgeous vaulted ceilings, so I would also recommend requesting a 3rd floor room. The two huge pools were gorgeous. The resort lists more pools, but one is for preferred members only and one is for the spa. The infinity pool with a swim up bar was where we spent most of our time. Perfect relaxation spot, with a great view of the ocean from the pool as well. We loved the easy access to the beach, drinks, and snacks, as there are fruit stands and snack shacks every so often. We were also very impressed with the food. The buffet provided us with easy breakfast and lunch options, while the 8 other restaurants gave us a fun night time choice. There were no other "spring break" groups there that we could tell, and in fact were one of the only American groups as well, but we really enjoyed that. Getting to know some people from other countries. All in all we would ABSOLUTELY return if we could. We had a fantastic time and it was worth EVERY penny.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: State College, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 13, 2012
the whole package

We stayed in the cheapest room they had. When we got there they offered us an upgrade to a preferred room but it was not necessary. The room was clean,neat and had very nice amenities. The food options were plenty and all the food we had was good. We are from the New York/New Jersey area and are pretty spoiled with some of the best food in the country. I was concerned because some of the reviews said the food was bad but I was happy with all of my food choices. The hamburger is not the same as an American burger but it was still fresh off the grill and tasty. The Bourdex restaurant was our favorite. The steak is amazing. The worst thing I ate the whole trip was a ceasar salad, it had too much dressing. We did the World Cafe for breakfast everyday and we were never disappointed. We flew into Santo Domingo and it was an hour and half to the resort (non-stop) but we enjoyed seeing the countryside and driving through the town of La Romana. The beach was clean and the snorkeling was pretty good right off the beach. We took the boat trip to Catalina Island. A must do. The Coral is beautiful and the fish are plenty. The beach there is nice too. We were so impressed with the staff at the resort. They were all friendly and accommodating. I was amazed that most of the staff could speak English, Spanish, Italian, French and German. We never went without and we were spoiled everywhere we went. We would go back again! Great trip and we had the perfect amount of rest and entertainment.


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 12, 2013
Solid Vacation and Resort

This was the first trip to the Caribbean for my wife and I together. This was everything we could have asked for. The snorkeling was solid just off of the beach area and was included in the package. The dinners were incredible at every restaurant. We never felt like we couldn't do something. The resort concierge services were incredibly helpful and the weather was perfect. The events each night were a nice touch, and it was clear the performers were enjoying themselves as much as the guests. I would encourage the resort to include Dominican items to guests, such as sugar cane, mangos, chocolate (all rapidly available on the island outside of resort) to give the guests a sample of the County's culture. We purchased the shuttle to/from the airport from Olympus Tours (partners with CheapCo.) and it was well worth it. Only complaint was the pushiness of the vacation package sales team at the resort. Anticipate that if you are American, you will be the minority. Most of the guests are European. Thanks for everything, it was a great trip!!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lansing, MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations