All

Dover Beach Hotel Reviews

Caribbean | Barbados Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 17 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4 out of 5
17 out of 20 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Dover Beach Hotel Customer Reviews

1-10 of 17 reviews. Sort by
October 19, 2011
great location, nice digs

rooms decent and who stays in on vacation anyway, no elevator, pool and beach very nice, fellow travelers come back here for these and location, location, location. St. Lawrence Gap IS the happening place on the island and it's easy to get to bridgetown for more fun. close to airport but not close enough to be any problem. Recommended to friends.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: new york
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 15, 2010
Great time at the Dover

My husband and I spent a week at the Dover this month. Had a great time. Our first room was near the stairwell (noisy), but the staff was more than accomadating when I inquired about moving. Our next room was perfect. It was very neat and clean, looked out to the ocean. The restaurant is under new management and Tyson and his crew are working very hard to please everyone. We had the best fish for lunch one day that I think I've ever had!! Everyone at the Dover is pleasant, helpful and have continual smiles! When we asked for ideas for dinner offsite, no problem. Many are within walking distance. Learned the bus system (first for us), with help from the locals. They don't have a beach directly in front (nice rocks), but there is a nice one on their left and is easily accessable. Their pool is nice and have palm trees for shade. Met a lot of very nice travelors at the Dover - many repeats (and I can see why). Would definately go back to the Dover (hopefully next year)!!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Connectiut
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2011
Dover Beach Hotel

Dover Beach hotel exceeded my expectation in terms of personal service and accomodation. The satff were excellent expecially natalie who helped us arrange some activities we wanted to engage in such as safari, roots and rhythm etc. We were made very comfortable. On the day she was not working, she took it upon herself to call us and let us know of activity going on that she thought we might like to attend. i thought that was very nice of her. Our accomodation included one room, sitting room and kitchenette. it felt like home away from home in that we could prepare our own meal if we liked and entertained friends as if we were home. My accomodation also has a patio with sitting area and you could see the beach and the waves from the patio. Directly in front of the patio is the green leafy/palm garden. I loved this place and would recommend it to any one seeking accomodation that is worth or exceeds the value you pay for it. Also the resort is about 15 minutes working distance to gap, the famous area for night life. Directly behind the resort is the atlantic ocean/ beach where you could swim to your heart content. Overall it was an excellent experience.


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 3, 2010
Modest Accommodations, Excellent Service

The Dover Beach Hotel is a small resort located right on the beach on the quiet end of St Lawrence Gap. The rooms are small and the restaurant runs on island time and sometimes not at all, but there are excellent choices within walking distance in the Gap. The hotel staff are all very helpful and quite knowledgable about local activities that are well done. They more than make up for what the hotel lacks in size and selection. They make you feel like family and the whole place is usually spotless. There is a nice pool in the courtyard and the beach is just a few steps away with lovely white coral sand and extends eastward all the way to the Maxwall coast. Would gladly stay there in the future. It's a great place for a family on a budget.

Modest Accommodations, Excellent Service
6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Topeka, Kansas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 30, 2010
Very Disappointed

The Dover Beach Hotel was not enjoyable to stay. First thing I was placed in a room with bugs had to call room service, the room seem like it was not cleaned in a few weeks. Finally after complaining i was swtiched to a room on the third floor. The hotel has no elevators so I had to climb three flights of stairs. There was no room service. The food service was very poor. I believe at the time it was under reservations.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 6, 2014
Repeat guest but would recommend improvements

The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the rooms are adequate for individuals who do not need a lot of frills. The rooms are adequately clean but a threadbare in terms of needing walls repaired from the removal of fixtures and desperate need of a new shower curtain. The rings were falling apart and the curtain would not close properly as a result. Biggest complaint is the beach access. The path on the outside of the hotel is littered and strongly smells of urine. This path converges with the one off the pool and patio which can be treacherous to navigate. In the late evening the tide pushes the sand to create "cliffs" of sand that easily collapse. Best to go in the morning at low tide, however, the path is still not easily traversed by anyone with difficulties with walking or balance. In addition, the beach is public but the available chairs are for the sole use of guest of the adjoining resort. This is not explained by the staff, nor is it usually a problem, however, there are posted signs and it was rather abruptly brought to my attention on one occasion by security at the other hotel. At the very least, Dover should make a limited number of lounge chairs available to their guests for use on the beach.


5 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 17, 2013
staff was superior but....

The price was excellent and the arrangements were easy. We arrived at midnight and the door was locked and the lobby dark. A security guard gave us a key and showed us to our room. Only the bedroom had ac and the main room was tired and dreary. The kitchen light blew out, the faucets were reversed in the bathroom and covered in calcification. The shower had hairs in it. There was no hair dryer or shampoo. The main room had louvers in the transom so all sound from the local karoke bar blasted the room until 3 am. Stay away from the Garden rooms especially.. We went to the desk on the second day and upgraded to a Calais room that was excellent. We had to pay $20 more a night but it was well worth it. The staff is excellent and couldn't do enough for us. Natalie, Mary, Rosie etc were just great. The lobby is not manned after 10PM. This was a drawback. The hotel is adequate and reasonable but not luxurious. The noise level from The Ocean 15 Hotel across the street at night is awful! The hotel is located at the wrong end of St. Lawrence Gap. We had to walk on a less than pleasant part to get to the dining areas. Sandals will be opening shortly up the street and this will create some congestion but it may raise the quality of the area. In summary the staff is superior but the hotel needs a facelift in certain sections particularly the garden rooms.


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 19, 2016
Awesome stay

Really enjoyed my stay at the Dover Hotel, this my 2nd stay at this hotel,each time was very rememberable. Wonder staff that make you feel at home,stayed at several hotels on the island. The Dover beach hotel stands in a league all its own.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Coker,Al
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 21, 2017
Phenomenal Service

We had the most amazing experience with Dover Beach Hotel! Prior to our trip, I read that the rooms were a bit dated but the staff made everyone feel like family. Both are true. Luckily, my feelings are that if you're spending your vacation staring at the drapes, then you're doing vacation wrong. The staff blew us away! They hosted a rum punch mixer where we met other guests and our concierge, Mary, was by far the most amazing person we met on our trip. Everything that we were prepared to make plans for, she planned for us. Scuba diving? Catamaran? Taxis? Done and done in the blink of an eye. She also planned our last minute wedding on the beach behind the hotel, personally drove us to get our license, and happily offered to take lots of wonderful pictures during the ceremony. Afterward, we enjoyed an ocean view breakfast at the onsite restaurant before driving to the North Point.. By the time we finished breakfast, our rental car was ready to go. We felt like royalty all week. I just can not say enough wonderful things about the friendliness of this hotel. What a phenomenal experience that we will never forget!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Knoxville, TN
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 30, 2013

Dover beach Hotel is an excellent value for the money and offers a relaxing environment for any vacationer. If you want excitement over relaxation then a short walk down St Lawrence Gap will do the trick. Great vacation!


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year