All

Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Aruba Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 16 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.4 out of 5
"-food was very good -very friendly staff -rooms were very spacy -beds were great -grounds very well maintained -buffet very good" – Melny
16 out of 16 (100%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Relaxing at beach Carnival show

All Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 16 reviews. Sort by
April 20, 2016
Divi Getaway Long Weekend

Hello: My wife and I wanted to get away for a long weekend and we had never been to Aruba before. We booked a direct Delta flight from JFK leaving early so we could be on the beach by mid day. In Aruba the taxi ride from the airport was $22.00 and took about 15 min. There was a bus option but we didn't want to wait. On arrival they could NOT find our reservation, but I had my confirmation #'s etc. and because of the inconvenience (really there was none) we were upgraded to a suite by the pool. We dropped our bags and walked to the beach and grabbed some chairs. From JFK to beach was about 5 hours! At sunset we went to the bar overlooking the ocean and had their two for one specials. All in all a great first day. Oh did I mention we had a private Jacuzzi one floor up from our suite? Saturday we took the shuttle (they come very frequently) and went to to another resort on the property and from there walked to an IGA market to buy groceries. We did NOT purchase the "all inclusive" because we knew we wanted to explore the island and we did not want to be beholden to their restaurants.We rented a car from 3PM Saturday till 3PM Sunday. We drove to the far end of the island (it's only 19 miles long) and went to Baby Beach and Rogers beach. That night we went to "The Flying Fishbone" where the seats by the water are actually IN THE OCEAN and you dine as the tide comes it. The view and the food were fantastic. We arrived around 5 PM and the sun set about 7:30 PM. After the sun dipped below the horizon they turned on external lights and we could see out into the ocean as well as fish swimming by. The next day we went to the other end of the island first going to the lighthouse (still being refurbished) so we are unable to go up into it. From there we went to "Shahai" a local restaurant and had goat stew. Very spicy! returned the car and went to the pool by our room. Had some wine in our room and then later took the shuttle to the casino. Not really our thing to gamble but we walked around and then ate in "Fusion" a local bar near there. Had snails, Cesar salad and shared a Kobe beef burger. Between that and some wine we are fine. Took the shuttle home, Jacuzzi on the roof and then to bed. Monday was a lazy day, went to the beach, had lunch at Sea Breeze, the hotel restaurant and then that night we went into town to El Gaucho, billed as the best steakhouse on the island. It did not disappoint. We had a voucher so we each got a steak (Porterhouse for me, Rib eye for the Mrs.) One would have been plenty. We needed a midnight pharmacy so on the way home the taxi driver took us to a literal "hole in the wall" and I was able to get what was needed. Back to the Divi and then the next day steak for breakfast (leftovers) steak for lunch (I'm telling you it was good) and then off to the airport, A few things to know. There is a constant wind in Aruba. It's never cold, but it almost never stops and that brings me to topic #2, you may not appreciate how much sun you're getting and both my wife and I overdid it (hence the ride to the pharmacy), that being said if you pace yourself you will tan in a few days, no problem. The island is built for tourists, everyone speaks three to four languages. The people are as pleasant as can be and they are very proud to talk about their island. I encourage you to engage them. They are polite and we learned a lot. We would definitely go back and since the weather is so consistent (they get about 5 in of rain per year), you can go in October or you can go in June and it's 80 when you wake up and then 90 by noon.


19 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlantic Beach, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 9, 2010
The Divi

-food was very good -very friendly staff -rooms were very spacy -beds were great -grounds very well maintained -buffet very good


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Mount Vernon, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 3, 2010
A few snags, but well worth it!!

We arrived late in the evening and they gave us a temporary room. Once we got there, we realized there was no hot water in the shower. The staff fixed the problem immediately. Then we realized we had no power and saw there was water in the celing fan, which shorted the power. Again, the staff fixed the problem immediately. We simply laughed it off as we figured it would make for funny stories later....nothing was going to ruin oujr vacation, especially things that were fixed so quickly. There were plenty of food options and the staff was very helpful. The hotel was in a great location, walking distance to many attractions. The infinity pool was gorgeous and they had a great swim up bar. There was always something to do and the shows were very entertaining. We def plan on returning...loved this place!!!

A few snags, but well worth it!! A few snags, but well worth it!!
21 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 3, 2012
A Pleasant Change from the Dutch Village

We stayed three nights at the Divi Village after having stayed seven in a timeshare unit at the Divi Dutch Village. This was a pleasant change! The rooms were newer with upgraded finishes of granite and tile. The kitchen equipment and appliances were better as well. The pools were fairly small and the water was cold :( ....the beach is across the street. Food was average except for Mulligan's, which we found quite nice with the views of the golf course. The shuttle service was a nice plus to get you from one facility to the next and they responded to requests quite promptly. Beware of signing up for WiFi....it was extremely spotty and failed a lot! Overall, not a bad stay.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston area
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 1, 2016
Very memorable vacation

My wife and I loved the resort probly all in all the best vacation we've had since our honeymoon. Restaurants were amazing beach was awesome pools were super clean and staff was very friendly ! We will for sure be back !


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Lagrange New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 2, 2010
Lovely and relaxing

Overall, the resort was lovely. My family of four went for 7 days. My children, ages 8 and 5 loved the beach and calm bathlike ocean water; and loved the pool with the waterslide. The numerous bars, eating options and different styles of resort areas made this resort always interesting, never boring. The food was good, I recommend visiting different restaurants for the variety. The "vacation/holiday" hotel rooms were worn and needed updating. Years of "patches" and repairs are visible, and a major remodel is needed. (The timeshare space is much nicer). Service varied a great deal; Sometimes service was excellent, we had several meals at Mulligans and the waiters were very accomodating, service at the pizza and sandwich shop was good most times, even during busy periods; other times service was very slow, I was unable to find a pattern regarding why service was wonderful sometimes and less than adequate other times. Since it's all inclusive, and tipping is included (in theory) it was difficult to judge if poor service was due to the lack of tipping. The children's club is very small, with only a small staff, and limited activities consisting of making a craft (my son wasn't interested in doing any of the crafts and my daughter made a braclet and watched cartoons for an hour while my husband and I had a nice lunch; it was the only time we used the kid's club). A wonderful benefit of this resort is that it is like three resorts in one, with the three connected properties. I would recommend this resort to others and I do plan to return for another visit.

Lovely and relaxing
6 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 16, 2013
Family Vacation

We vacationed with our 19-22 year olds. Rooms were perfect, enough space for everyone to have privacy. Pools and beach were awesome! Since we didn't do all inclusive it was difficult to find food options - I would have liked more "pay as you go" close to Divi Village - otherwise a fabulous vacation.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 3, 2012
A Great vacation in Aruba

We had a great vacation at Divi Golf and Beach Resort in Aruba. The room was a terrific surprise. We had a 1 BR suite with a living room, kitchen, balcony, bedroom, and 2 bathrooms (1 was a 1/2/ bath and the other a 3/4 bath - no tub but a very nice shower.). We requested a room near the pool and the beach and were assigned a great room (#3310). We were right next to the pool and across the street from the beach. Very convenient! Divi Golf and Beach also has 2 excellent restaurants...Windows over Aruba and Mulligans. Honestly, though there were so many excellent restaurants in Aruba (Driftwood and Wacky Wahoos) we had quite a variety. We will definitely go back to Aruba and to Divi!


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NH
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 13, 2014
great get away for mom and dad.

We went the week of September 1st through the 8th. We thought it was a good time because it was not supposed to be windy. That was not the case it was windy and although that was good becait was hot it was not good for laying onbthe beach, the wind would blow and sand would fly on you so bad at times you just could not lay on the beach. This wouldbe the only reason I would stay in the high-rise area next time, the hotels block a lot of the wind. As for the hotel it was wonderful very nice very clean staff were very nice and helpful they cleaned all the time. the hotel is directly across a very small street to the beach you do have to walk across the street also to use the gym they do not have too much going on at this hotel we did not know if we liked it at first but then we realized it was nice to come home at night to a quiet hotel. overall vacation was great Aruba was wonderful people were very nice and the drinking water is very good.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 29, 2015
Great Trip!

This was our fourth trip to Aruba. We usually stay in the High rise section. This resort was fantastic. We chose the non-all-inclusive to give the local restaurants a try. Check-in was very non-informative. Though the staff was fairly pleasant, I just wish they would supply more info about activities and hotel procedures. Our high rise stays covered their bases with a more informed check-in. As a result I had to call desk several times with questions. They did however give me a large pamphlet that answered some things. Our room was fantastic! It was a studio with a kitchenette with a fairly good view! The only thing it lacked was matches to light the stove...however humidity made matches hard to light. Odd that they would put in stove tops that need to be lit with a lighter... I cannot say enough about how comfortable our bed was!! A++++++ I don't think I have slept that good in a very long time! Really like how everything was set up and the bathroom was well designed! And very pretty! We were pleasantly surprised with getting lots of stations on the television...Our high rise stays have not been as good on this point! But who goes to Aruba to watch TV...lol There were so many choices on pools, hot tubs, and beaches...Infinity pool area being the best...but like the quieter area pools too! We have golfed here before...but find it too windy of an island to enjoy it as much...plus who wants to lug golf bags when there is so much more to do! (And we are very avid golfers) Definitely a great deal for the money...we will return in a future trip!


2 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year