All

Divi Little Bay Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | St. Maarten/St. Martin Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 56 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.2 out of 5
"Close to town- walking distance. Great beach and great snorkeling. Kids had a great time. Food is OK- but go into town to eat most nights. Room was great and having a little kitchen was awsome." – nancyc
54 out of 65 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our balcony Fort Amsterdam Beach/Little Bay panoramic From our room view from our patio view from the beach Seabreeze Bar King size bed Spotted Eagle Ray Infinity Pool View from our balcony

All Divi Little Bay Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 56 reviews. Sort by
May 3, 2012
Incredible Time

My wife and I have been traveling to a different Caribbean Island for the past 10 years. Until this trip I had made all the arrangements myself. I tried Cheap Caribbean for the first time on this trip. The resort selections were ample. We chose a moderately priced resort Divi Little Bay Resort on the Dutch side of St. Maarten/St. Martin. I was dubious to say the least. My expectations were not very high. Cheap Caribbean made everything easy. I called the toll free number and one of their consultants took very good care of me. They were knowledgeable and really tried to meet my needs. I received all of my confirmations quickly and they were flawless. Upon arriving at St. Maarten we picked up a rent car and headed for the resort. It was easy to get to and the directions from Budget were spot on. We arrived at Divi Little Bay Resort in less than an hour after landing. Even though I had forgotten my packet from Cheap Caribbean, they had everything in order. The resort exceeded my expectations. The grounds were immaculate. Being on a peninsula with Little Bay on one side and Great Bay on the other, all rooms had a water front view which was spectacular. The room was very nice, clean, modern and plenty of room. The room had a patio overlooking Little Bay. There was a kitchenette with a full size refrigerator, cook top, and microwave. Although the advertisement said there was no internet access, when I got there I learned that each room had wireless access. The internet was rather slow compared to US standards, but it was acceptable. Everyone at the resort was helpful and friendly. The resort has limited restaurant selections. The food, however, was good in the snack bar and main restaurant. The lack of restaurants did not pose a problem because Divi Little Bay is very close to Phillipsburg. Phillipsburg is the main shopping and restaurant area on the Dutch side of the Island. We were glad we chose a resort on the Dutch side. There is nothing wrong with the French side, but everybody, including the people on the French side it was better to be on the Dutch side of the Island. Phillipsburg is a $4.00 per person taxi ride from Divi Little Bay. Even if you have a car, I would recommend using a taxi because parking in Phillipsburg is difficult at best. Phillipsburg has more than adequate shopping. Front Street has the more upscale designer shops and jewelry stores. In terms of jewelry, if you can’t find it in Phillipsburg, it hasn’t been made. One block over is Back Street. Back Street is the more scaled down shipping area with lower prices and lower end merchandise. Side streets running between Front Street and Back Street offer an abundance of shopping and eating choices. We only ate at the resort once for dinner. The rest of our evening meals were in Phillipsburg. All of meals were fantastic. I highly recommend L’Escargot for an evening meal. On Friday nights they have a fixed menu and a Cabaret show which is a lot of fun. The food is fantastic. The owners greet everybody and spend time talking with you. I would not leave the Island without eating at L’Escargot. All in all, the trip was fantastic. We will go back and will use Cheap Caribbean from now on for our trips to the Caribbean.

Incredible Time Incredible Time
95 of 96 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Houston, Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 21, 2011
Paradise Vacacation resort

I would recommend this resort for location alone one side is bay view where cruise ships dock the other the Caribbean aqua waters everywhere you look. Night life is lacking need to improve on this for it is a little boring after dark unless your a drinker bar is open always! Rooms are clean but outdated need a makeover with new furniture. Bed is very comfortable. Balcony view breath taking to say the least. Close to cruise port shopping district but far enough away not to be disturbed by the congestion when they arrive. Stay away from shopping on the days you see cruise ships in port very easy to see from resort. People are friendly enough but work on island time so beware when waiting for something patience is a virtue here. I will return in a heart beat. Time sharing properties are gorgeous just not hotel rooms yet hopefully they are going to update shortly! Grounds are kept up nicely. Tile floors can be very slippery when wet outside so beware when it rains and gets wet. Rainy season now but never interferes with vacation because it doesn't last long winds blows storms away quickly. Go to Dutch side where this resort is for I waited 20 minutes at bar for a drink at Orient beach as they ignored me French young bartenders don't like American money obviously so I sat down on beach lounge chairs they ran over then to get money for chairs and umbrella I got my drink then won't give them my money by staying on their side when Dutch side is so friendly and helpful. If you stay at this resort rent a car right at front desk with Avis it is reasonable and lets you see whole island and eat out somewhere new every day. Cost 130.00 a week for compact car Hyundai we had air conditioner was excellent we bought insurance but you don't have to so ours was more expensive but worth it. Restaurant at resort closed for refurbishing till November but cafe serves all meals there instead if you want we had snacks and breakfast there it was alright. Eat downtown Phillipsburg 3 nights in 3 great different places on on waterfront of some kind all good. One night on French side Italian place in Grand Case very good,and 2 nights at Casino one Italian other French very good. Atlantis Casino my favorite one lets you play before taking your money. Booked through you best deal around.


22 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston,MA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 23, 2015
Honeymoon in paradise

Divi Little Bay was a wonderful resort to stay at. While researching the perfect location to stay in in St. Maarten, we noticed a lot of reviews that were unfavorable but for reasons that should not effect the experience (bugs, construction, etc.). We learned that these reviews should be taken with a grain of salt as some people focus on small issues while forgetting to enjoy the good time. Our experience with both Cheap Caribbean and Divi Little bay was very favorable. We received excellent customer service from Cheap Caribbean and resort staff was friendly and accommodating. We did select the all inclusive package which made dining on site very enjoyable. There were several dinning options all with their own unique menus. I would note that at busy times, wait staff service seemed slightly different in concerns to patrons with all inclusive wrist bands, however all our needs were ultimately met. With this package we were also able to enjoy water sports and beach activities. The property was beautiful with scenic views EVERY direction you looked. The grounds were well kept very clean. There were some small renovation work occurring however it did not impede in walk ways or create too much noise. The location of the resort makes site seeing easy with a short walk to the town of Phillipsburg, a brief taxi ride to Simpson Bay, and a taxi stand that always had multiple drivers available. Here are some notes unique to visiting Divi Little Bay on honeymoon. We could not have asked for a more enjoyable, relaxing stay. Our room overlooked the infinity pool and had a private porch. We had a very large bathroom with our own Jacuzzi tub. The complementary safe was wonderful for day trips to the beach when we had concerns about jewelry or electronics. While there was a majority of older couples and families, it did not effect our stay or create any disturbances. Most of the dinning facilities did close on the earlier side for a young couple but Gizmo’s bar provided a great option for later evenings. Gizmo's bar even had live music including a celebration of the beginning of Carnival! If you frequent the bar like we did, we both recommend a cold BBC (Bananas, Baileys, and Colada) or an Old Man Punch. Gizmo, the 24 year old parrot walks around the bar area and allows guest to pet her if you like. A must do for honeymooning is visit the adjacent Fort Amsterdam for sunset. There are chairs placed at secluded areas for viewing the sun dip below the mountains (it makes for a good photo spot). With all this said, we highly recommend Divi Little Bay for both honeymoon or family vacation. Based on the number of guest who knew wait staff by name, as if they had been coming for many years, we will definitely return. I had never booked any travel through an online website, however we had no issues with booking or flights. There were no unexpected charges at either the resort or airline and all the documentation provided answered any questions we had. I would love to post some pictures, however we have a little over 400 and there are too many to choose.

Honeymoon in paradise Honeymoon in paradise
14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 9, 2010
Nice hotel, exceeds expectations avoid food servic

Hotel staff, grounds and beach were very good. Great location with nice views, walks and gardens. Bar and deli staff were friendly, helpful and responsive. Restaurant service and food was poor at best. Would strongly recommend leaving the resort for meals.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: seattle wa
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 23, 2011
Great Place

Close to town- walking distance. Great beach and great snorkeling. Kids had a great time. Food is OK- but go into town to eat most nights. Room was great and having a little kitchen was awsome.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Doylestown, pa
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Beautiful setting

The first room was old and needed renovations. Fortunately we were moved from second floor to a first floor renovated beach front room. It made all the difference in the world. We had a very enjoyable stay. I would NOT recommend the restaurant . Food choices were limited and food in town was much more enticing. Breakfast in "snack bar/deli" was perfect.


18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Long island, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 28, 2014
Good Time

My wife and I stayed at Divi Little Bay from 10/18/14 thru 10/25/14. We had ground floor rooms with the sand perhaps fifteen feet away and the water about 150 feet away. It was a beautiful setting. We arrived shortly after hurricane Gonzalo had passed so we were concerned about whether everything would be functioning. The hotel, the government and the people got everything functioning in a few days. If you like to walk, Divi is about a mile or mile and a half from Phiiilpsburg. I walked it every day although my wife and companions were not as interested in the exercise. Two very nice restaurants off the property, and near the cruise terminal are Chesterfields and The Green House which were highly recommended and I confirm the recommendation. Dinners was about $20 but were worth it, as was the ambiance. We also went to some of the other local places found on Trip Advisor. I would recommend renting a car if you wish to see a lot and don't want to walk. Taxis are fairly expensive. They want $20 to drive to Phillipsburg, so $40 for the round trip. Although we did not rent a car a person we spoke with said she rented a car for the week for about $150.00, so you can see the value of renting a car. They drive on the same side of the road and the steering wheel is on the same side as in the U.S.A. The restaurants at the Divi were decent, our favorite, I guess was the Sea Breeze. Check for daily specials at all the restaurants. . They had a lobster night, a barbaque night , etc. Entertainment nightly so check your events sheet or ask.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago Suburbs
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 2, 2015
Great Beach

My wife and I were looking for a “Babymoon" getaway. We really just wanted to sit on the beach and not worry about anything but getting a tan and swimming in warm water. Neither one of us had ever been to the Caribbean or a resort before. The Divi Resort, Little Bay met our needs. The beach was small and beautiful. Divi occupies the entire peninsula with hotels, suite and timeshare options, making for a safe and secluded experience. We went over the Thanksgiving holiday and it felt like we had the place to ourselves. It would have been a different experience if it were crowded. We purchased the All Inclusive package which worked well for us. The food was good but was a bit limited for a five day stay. We preferred the SeaBreeze Cafe out of the three available dinning options. The three pools were all very nice and all had different vibes. There was entertainment every night and some of it was better than others. Our room was clean and nice and we loved the sound of the waves while falling asleep.There is a small convenience store on the resort that had everything you could need and the liquor is cheap! This coupled with a room fridge worked out great. The staff was very reserved, but were helpful if asked direct questions. Avoid the "Concierge" at all cost, they're just trying to get you to sign up to see a time share video. We walked to Philipsburg which took about 15 minutes. This town as several restaurants, shopping outlets and various beaches with rentable chairs and umbrellas that seem geared toward the cruise ships docking at the far end of town. Because we had free drinks, food and beach amenities waiting for us, little appealed to us in Philipsburg. One thing that was not mentioned in any of the other reviews is the old Dutch fort at the top of the southern hill that is a short hike but well worth the ten minute walk. We discovered it on the last day we were there and it was more interesting than going into town. If we were to go again I would look into renting a car or scooter, at least for a day so that you could check out the rest of the island. The taxis and gas prices seemed costly.

From our room Fort Amsterdam
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Allentown, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 12, 2012
Fantastic value

Just returned from a fabulous trip to Divi Little Bay and we can't wait to go again! The accommodations were clean, spacious, and had wonderful ocean views (we got a room with a kitchenette that overlooked the bay). The beach wasn't crowded at all and they had an exceptional happy hour each evening at both of the beach bars. The island has so many things to do and the restaurant choices were endless. Make sure to rent a car to tour the island a bit. Rental cars are less than $30 per day and can be rented on site at the resort. You can use US currency on the island and everyone speaks English in addition to their native language, so it is extremely easy to navigate. I would highly recommend this resort and St. Maarten in general!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 20, 2015
Ruined Anniversary

What can I say. My husband and I have stayed at all inclusive resorts all over the Caribbean and this by far was not a good experience for us. Don't get me wrong we have stayed at a Divi property in Aruba and had a wonderful time but this property fell very short. Started from arriving at the resort and having to wait at least twenty minutes in line to check in and then being greet by a "concierge" (not really a traditional concierge). When she discovered we were not people she was "responsible" for, her friendly nature dissolved. The room was OK but we noticed the thermostat was hanging off the wall. We reported this to the front desk, and when we check out, the problem had not been fixed. The safe in the room required a $100 fee or your credit card to use. Divi is a time share property and they really wanted to sell us their product. The concierge's job was to get us to agree to sit through a presentation (supposedly 90 min really over 2 hrs). She kept says no pressure but kept pushing and wouldn't take no promising free gifts like discounts on excursions. We finally agreed and the next day sat through the presentation. The sales person was nice and pleasant until we said no. She was then unpleasant and called someone else over to try and convince us to buy. We stayed firm with no. The more we said no, the more forceful they became until I became angry. We were then handed off the another person and he too tried to get us to sign, my husband became angrier. He shuffled us through a back door to the cashier for the coupon for the excursion. We DID NOT use the coupon because we didn't take an excursion. The line staff (servers, bartenders etc) are friendly. House keeping was on the money. The beaches are beautiful. But when the empty bottles and cups are not cleaned up off the beach from the previous day, that takes away from the beauty. Eating options are very limited for an all inclusive. Only one restaurant was open each night or the option of the gill each night. Also for an all inclusive there were additional charges for certain items on the menu. We made the best of a bad but we won't revisit.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year