All

Divi Carina Bay All-Inclusive Resort & Casino Reviews

Caribbean | USVI St. Croix Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 111 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
3.6
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.7 out of 5
"Nice resort, a little on the older, more laid back type. Very relaxing and restful. Good food. The only negative is the tipping situation." – TeresaM
88 out of 127 (69%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Volcanic rock cooking WHAT A VIEW The resorts beach View from our room Did We say WE HAD FUNNN?? View from the balcony in our room Soaking up the rays! The view from our porch! View from balcony Pool View Resort from the dock Sea Turtle greets divers Beach at the Divi Standard room view from room VIEW FROM THE DOCKSIDE BAR View from our room

All Divi Carina Bay All-Inclusive Resort & Casino Customer Reviews

1-10 of 111 reviews. Sort by
January 31, 2011
Wonderful Vacation

My husband and I just returned from Divi Carina in St. Croix. We just keep asking each other if it's time to go back yet? We had a great time, very relaxing. The food was really good, we ate too much every day. The staff was very congenial, even the cleaning ladies always had a "good morning". We felt very welcomed. The staff at the restaurants was very accommodating, friendly and spent time talking to us when they could. We met some really great people - from Divi and from the States that were vacationing also. We spent an hour at the spa getting a Swedish massage and didn't want to leave. The women there really knew what they were doing. We spent some time in Christiansted - shopping, sight seeing, and just talking to the locals. We never ran into a rude or miserable person. Everyone always had a smile, a hello or a great story to tell. We would highly recommend Divi if you just need to get away from all the hustle and bustle of everyday life and just need to relax. I know that we are ready to go back for round two!!!


141 of 151 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 17, 2011
Dec. 5, 2011

The resort was nice, clean, private, we had a great time. It's a very quiet resort, which is what we we wanted, if you're looking for party / night life this is not the place. A few suggestions would be to add additional Bar / Wait staff. Those we had were great, (Curtis, Chris, Donna, Marlin) but one bartender for an all inclusive resort is not practical. One evening it rained so hard the outdoor dinning had to be closed, they tried to accomidate everyone inside, but only had one waitress, Donna, who was literally "running" trying to serve everyone. Management needs to consider adding additional staff. Also, swimming pool is in dire need of repairs. We would not even consider swimming in it. Beach was nice, clean, and not crowded at all. Bar / Wait service on the beach would also be a great asset to the hotel. Overall it was a great trip and worth our package deal price.


28 of 28 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: San Antonio, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 15, 2016
Worst dump ever

The place is a dump. The ceiling leaks. Had to go through 4 rooms to find one good enough to get through the week. Employees had very bad addtitudes. If nothing is done they will not be in business next year. We spoke with GM for about an hour his hands are tied but he did not offer us a nice room that was for time share people. And it was not because they where full because there might had been about 50 people total for the week. We also found out that the divi is not part of other divi resorts. The divi in st.croix is privately owned and he is on the board for the divi resorts And uses there name. It really gives divi a bad name because it is know comparison to others. We paid too much money for the week to be in a dump. We could have stayed in a motel 6 and would have been an upgrade. If you expect a wet bar you get a empty refrigerator. We are contacting the main office in chapel hill,nc and complain. We hope that something is done. We where very disappointed and will not go back. The only person that seemed to care was the maintenance man Eric. He went out of his way to help but he could only do so much.


20 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: West Virginia
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 15, 2015
Research Very Well

First I would like to thank the employees at the Divi, they are the only reason we didn't walk out of the hotel when we arrived. I'll outline facts as opposed to opinion so you can make your own judgement. Value - the hotel is severely overdue for repairs. Our phone didn't work, the shower was broken and the rooms were worn and filled with patches/holes. The drinks were made very well, the food at the one restaurant open was ok. Service - the employees keep this place afloat. They were more than accommodating and went out of their way to help us with what ever they could. The issue at hand is they can only do as much as the company alows. Without the companies support they can only do so much. Beach/Pool - the beach was cleaned and groomed daily. The smell was terrible. It smelt lie low tide every day. This is not cause the didn't clean it but instead cause of the hotels location. The pool was clean most of the time but had quite a bit floating in it daily. Dining - one restaurant was opened during the week?! Rooms - we were placed on the opposite side of the complex. We had 6 in the party with kids. The hotel was not full, yet this is the placement the hotel chose for their guests? The staff help us change rooms so we were closer. Again the core infrastructure of the room was an issue. No lock, no phone. Overall - Divi - put some money into the place. Give your employees an opportunity to do the best job they can and they wil. Disappointed and will not be staying with the Divi Group again given this experience.


35 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

January 4, 2017
Service was poor and Staff unfriendly

Despite the beautiful beach and views, this resort needs some customer service training. I understand the whole "island time" concept but the things we experienced were just ridiculous. The first night we got there late off our flight, around 9:40 p.m., and just wanted a drink. The bartender says to us, make it quick I am closing up. What?!?! The staff just didn't care about anything. All week it was like a game trying to find out information and how things worked. First off, the concierge was rude. We went in with questions our first day there and she pretty much told us to stop bothering her. We would ask for information on tours and was told to come back tomorrow. We would ask for a bottle of water at the bar and get it a half an hour later. One day we tried to eat at the pizza restaurant on the resort. We waited three hours and never got our order. Even people waiting for take out took over an hour. We finally gave up at 10:00 p.m.. We asked for extra towels that same day in the morning since there was four of us. The cleaning lady said she would have to check into it. After waiting three hours for pizza that didn't come,we go back to a room with no towels! We were livid and went to the front desk to complaint. They managed to get our pizza at 10:30p.m. Every day there was no silverware at breakfast and we had to ask for some. New Year's Eve was to be a seafood buffet. When we walked in they handed us a menu. I said I thought it was a buffet. Our waiter said yeah, I'm confused let me check. He comes back and says it is just to show you what is on the buffet. I said that it was a pasta menu not a seafood menu. He said he didn't know then. The buffet was sad. The food was always half cold. One day we went into the casino to see what for menu they had. I asked for a menu so I could show it to our kids since they could not go into the casino. She said we don't have any. So, my husband said to me to take a picture of the menu so we can show them so they can pick what they want. Well, we got yelled at. No taking pictures in the casino! I explained to them what we wanted to do and she was just like, I don't care no pictures. We were going on a hike through the resort and the guide told us we needed two beach towels per person. We asked twice for these towels for the hike and we were told by the front desk that we didn't need them at that time. Finally the guide got them for us. It was to be cruzan carnival week, a big deal according to the website. I had to ask three separate employees before anyone could give me information on it. It was all very frustrating. The entertainment was good and the view amazing. But the staff was not amazing. We meet maybe two employees that were actually friendly and would talk to us. Finally, at check out on News Years Day, the man managing the desk was complaining about closing out the year. He took our room number and disappeared. Later he comes out and says we are good. My husband asked for a receipt or something and he mumbled something again about working on the books. He didn't even ask for our room keys or towel cards which were to be like gold for the week. My husband handed them to him and he says oh yeah I forgot thanks. Such unorganization is unacceptable! They just didn't have it together!


35 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Gettysburg. PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 8, 2015
Divi Carina

The people were so kind, but we had problem with our room , we were there for a week but we change our room four times, we had a problem with our door's lock, then we saw some kinda of insects in our bed, it was hard to pack everything and move to a new room. we couldn't use the beach in our resort because they had a lots of sea weeds and smell so bad, they gave us a shuttle to go to cherry beach which was a great beach, then we decided to rent a car to go around the town, it was a little bit hard , because we have to drive in left lane with american car( driver side is in right side). The St. Corix was a beatiful Island, we enjoy the islands and the people. Their food was great, specially diners were wonderful they had different show every night which was fabulous. I thinks they have to have some kinda renovation for this resort , such as new paint and some change in the bathrooms which look so old, and change those torn curtains , buy some new furniture for rooms.


32 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 15, 2013
Happy Camper's

Enjoyed a week here, Mar 17 to the 24th 2013 Very quiet resort, which we wanted. Room was very nice and clean, beautiful view, worth the money alone, waking up to a sunrise every morning. The staff was very nice, bartenders made wonderful drinks and never waited long to get one. Breakfast was good, if you didn't want what was there you could ask for something different, lunch either a buffet or again they had a lunch menu, great nachos, wings, burger, etc. Dinner was theme like all, never went hungry. The weather was beautiful low 80's no bugs... They have 2 pools one on the resort and 1 across the street at the Villias, pool water was warmer there. Rented a car for a day, my husband had no trouble driving the left, I just kept saying to the left...We went up to Udall point very pretty view, did the Cruzan factory...loved the after tour drinks, than we had lunch at down town in Christiasted. Ate at Nasty Nate's very good. I was not happy with the shopping there, but that's ok came home with a lot of money. The Casino across from the resort was very nice, went every night after dinner...didn't win big but again came home with alittle extra money. So if you looking for a resort that is low key and relaxing this is the place to go.


40 of 46 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Methuen MA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 22, 2013
Great All Inclusive Hotel

This hotel is located on a very private beach, a great spot. The snorkeling is fantastic for all levels. Kayaking was fun as well. The night time entertainment was sometimes cheesy and sometimes local and phenomenal. There's a little bit for everyone. It is not a "party" beach but certainly fun for everyone,families, groups, and honeymooners. Natalitia at the front desk is so helpful, even offered to charge our iphones with her charger after ours broke! Ask the taxi driver to stop at the gas station on the way to the Divi and you can buy anything you want. While the hotel is all inclusive, there is always a few things I pick up for my family, Resees peanut butter cups and my son's protein drink, Ensure. Sean and Elroy at the beach shack are great with beach equipment, tours and general water sports. Very patient and they deal with some interesting people and situations. Twice a week you can cook on a volcanic rock at your table which was super fun and unique. Breakfast buffet was fine, I'm not a huge breakfast eater but I always grabbed a couple of pieces of fruit to have in my room. They will cook anything you request that's not on the breakfast buffet. Catisha, Elizabeth and Maurice were top notch wait staff. Make time for the Thurs BBQ, when locals come out to dance. First, square dancer type, then the Mojo Jumbies that dance on stilts. That was crazy fun! The pizza shack is open Wed-Sun. It's located on the grounds of the resort a few steps from the rooms. Locals come in just to get the pizza. It's very tasty, you can bring a whole pizza, made to order, back to your room or just enjoy a slice or two at the pizza shack. The mini golf course was fun for a break from the water. The free scuba lesson in the pool was interesting. Crab races broke up the afternoon as well as the sundae bar another afternoon. We also taught our 12 year old shuffleboard, painted on the ground, with the two long poles and discs. We weren't impressed by the casino, it seemed to cater to the locals. Take the shuttle and go into town one day. While the restaurants on the Wharf are trendy, we like the Bombay restaurant just a block or two over. It's got a lot of character and the food is yummy. The desserts are made there and are delicious. It's at Kings street and Kings crossing, I think. The hotel isn't polished and shiny, but clean, friendly and the staff is hard working. My one complaint is that you can not get food 24 hours a day. The restaurant closes at 10, bar closes at 10:30. The casino has a cafe included in the all inclusive, but it closes as well, I think 2am but I wasn't going to walk across the street for a snack (the casino is across the street). Grab some fruit at breakfast or stop at the gas station for snack. I was fine, but kids can get whiny with no snack food. We took a taxi in and took the Jolly Roger sunset cruise, very nice, but I wish Captain Mike did not allow smoking. When we were cruising it was fine, but going in and out of the wharf was nasty, of course I was sitting right by the smoker, a local, not even a tourist. RC and Bridgette are great deck hands. We also took Sweeny's Safari Tour, so worth the money. Andre is a local and full of interesting facts. I loved this tour even though I though the Botanical Garden might be boring, I loved this part of the tour. Ty and Jordan were great at pointing out interesting things. Ask him to stop at the beer drinking pigs. They drink O'Douls and are hilarious. It was a really relaxing place to stay.

Beach at the Divi Volcanic rock cooking
17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 10, 2014
BEST ALL INCLUSIVE VACATION EVER

WE STAYED AT THE DIVI CARINI BAY RESORT FOR 7 DAYS AND WERE NEVER DISAPPOINTED IN THE SERVICE, FOOD OR DRINK OR ENDLESS ACTIVITIES THAT THEY HAD EACH DAY. OUR ROOM WAS BEAUTIFUL AND RIGHT OFF THE CARIBBEAN SEA. NO COMPLAINTS. TOOK TWO EXCURSIONS AND WERE HAPPY THAT WE WERE ABLE TO SEE MORE OF THE ISLAND AND WHAT THEY HAVE TO OFFER. THE WEATHER WAS AS PROMISED. HOT AND SUNNY.. SINCE WE HAVE BEEN HOME WE HAVE BEEN SINGING THE PRAISES OF THE RESORT AND ST. CROIX. LOOKING FORWARD TO PERHAPS ANOTHER TRIP THERE...

VIEW FROM THE DOCKSIDE BAR WHAT A VIEW
15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: CHICAGO, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 6, 2011
Great Value

We had a great family vacation with teens at this all inclusive over Thanksgiving. We chose St. Croix because we didn't want to get passports. The Divi has is new at all inclusive and they are doing an awesome job. Some resorts with all inlcusive and pay as you go options cater more to the pay as you go customers but not Divi. Snorkeling, kayaking and scuba lesson included. Guided trips for snorkelling and kayaking included as well. We have been to several all inclusives (including the very best) and Divi is doing an excellent job catering to their all inclusive patrons. The beach is great but the pool could use some renovations. We prefer the beach. Rooms are spacious and very clean! Divi staff went out of their way in all areas. This resort is not close to town or shopping but has a beautiful setting surrounded with upscale private residences. The temperature was low 80's but always felt about 75. The food was above quality compared to other all inclusive resorts. We even had a lobster night.


23 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Conestoga PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year