All

Desire Resort and Spa Riviera Maya Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 22 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.6 out of 5
"The food was wonderful and the drinks were awesome. Not a bad value for the money we spent. The worst part of the vacation was the sewer smell first thing in the morning." – gegimara
29 out of 30 (97%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The pool in early morning

All Desire Resort and Spa Riviera Maya Customer Reviews

1-10 of 22 reviews. Sort by
March 7, 2013
We will definitely being going again.

Ok before I tell you the few things I did not like about this resort please know we loved it enough that we joined as a member!! We will definitely be going back annually. This was my wife and my first visit to a clothing optional sexy resort and may I say it was amazing. Our fellow guests, the staff and the entertainment was incredible. We have made lifelong friends of a few couples and that is "funny" to me because when can you ever say in life the first time you met someone they were naked. You have to admit it is funny :) I give the food a solid review as well. The sushi restarant stands out to me. My wife and I paid for a "sensual" massage at the resort spa and in my attempt to keep this review a PG rating I will not give details but let me just say it was an amazing experience for both my wife and I. The staff throughout the resort were above professional and caring and attentive!!! The disco was hoping every night and since my wife and I LOVE to dance and add a late night slice of pizza and final drink at one of the bars the earliest we ever got to bed was 3:05 am :) I am 47 and my wife is 42 to give you some idea of that. We are both very fit and between the nice gym, the beach volleyball each day and the late nights of dancing we MORE than burnt off all the food and drinks we enjoyed with the All Inclusive program. Ok my few criticisms. Each room was VERY nice but with both we had (I had us moved to avoid the problem and had it in both rooms) a problem with water all over the bathroom floor from the showers. The shower doors were not "fittted" so water sprayed all over. We used towls on the floor to deal with it. I also had a real "personal" problem with people smoking at the main outside communal bar. I HATE cigarette smoke and was very disappointed to have to deal with that. And finally the place is AMAZING but they have used marble for some areas and when it rained it was VERY slippery. I almost fell three times (and it had nothing to do with drinking). I babystepped it a lot to avoid falling at times. Ok that is the pluses and minuses but the pluses FAR outweigh the minuses. (Please appreciate I have not even spoke of the CRAZY SEXY fun being had and personally enjoyed in the Sin Room and Jacuzzi Bar. If you can imagine it, it was happening) My wife and I keep to ourselves in that area but really enjoyed each other as we enjoyed watching others ;)


22 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 19, 2014
What a fun Resort

We have been to many resorts and this one has by far been the funnest and most unforgettable. This was our first time going to a clothing optional resort and it took us about a day to get used to it but after that we were pretty comfortable. The resort is a perfect size and everything it within a couple of minutes of walking. The pool area was great and we loved the swim up bar. The beach could have been a little bit better but we gave it a lower score because it had so much seaweed. The pool was the place to be and it wasn't overcrowded and had plenty of lively activities. The status was outstanding. They would bring you drinks before you would even ask. The Jacuzzi area was also fun to hang out in the afternoon. We have a great time in the Disco and the entertainment was great. If you like interacting with interesting and fun people this resort is for you. We would definitely return.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 24, 2012
Desires

We definitely would recommend Desires to any couple looking to add some excitement and romance to their relationship .There are always plenty of activities and entertainment to get the party started. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a wonderfully sexually charged atmosphere there. The most amazing thing about Desires are the other couples you will meet. They are friendly, respectful,fun and open. We have made memories and friends that we will always remember. Even if you never have been to a clothing optional resort before you will be comfortable there in no time. It is like Disney World for adventurous adults. All ages, body types and lifestyles are represented here. If you are a couple looking to heat things up try Desires! Just returned from our third trip, can't wait to get back!


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: east coast
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 15, 2011
Great time!

We had a wonderful time at Desire Resort. We didn't know what to expect since it was our first time and we are not in the "lifestyle", but we never felt pressured to do anything we didn't want to do. The beach is not the best. It's starting to wash away and is a little rocky, but that was a minor issue. The service, food, and drinks make up for it. The service was exceptional, the food was delicious and the drinks never stopped coming. The rooms were small, but very nice and we had a wonderful view of the ocean. The only thing I would add would be a little more entertainment at night and some more activities during the day. Maybe a few more adult type games and a little less aerobics and exercise classes, which usually only had one or two people at them. All in all it was a great vacation and we will definitely return.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: MO
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 18, 2011
the BEACH is BACK

If you have ever been to Desires, you might know that several years ago they lost their beach in huricane Wilma. Well the beach is returning with some cleaver sand bag placed out into the water. The beach look beautiful and maintenance cleans it up every morning. Desires is an expensive adult resort. If you are looking for a couple only resort that is adults only in nature, this is the place. BUT unlike Hedo, there are limits to what is allowed in public. We get busted by the pda police on a regular bases. The food is just so so., but the service is top notch. Everyone from the entertainment staff to the gardeners is doing a fine job. Book the transportation from the airport. It is so easy and you will not have to fight with the cab drivers over the cost.

the BEACH is BACK the BEACH is BACK
7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: charlottesville, VA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 15, 2011
Exceeded expectations......

WOW! What an incredible experience! The overall experience started with the exceptional service that was provided by CheapCaribbean. The staff was knowledgeable, and did their best to get us the very best deal. The travel documents were all in order and we did not have any problems. If anything, they went out of their way to overcommunciate which we appreciated. Desire is a beautiful, well maintained resort. It has a very "sexy" appeal from the moment you enter the gate and drive over the bridge with the lake. The staff was friendly and the service impecable. We never lacked for beverage or food. Variety was plentiful; from food, to entertainment, to the sensual activity that went on in nooks and crannies. Whether you are a vouyer, like to be involved or just experimenting with this type of resort - you will not be disappointed. We highly recommend this resort and we will definitely be returning! Thank you Desire and CheapCarribean for making our vacation memorable.


7 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Vriginia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 23, 2014
Great time just didn't quite fit us

First off, we did have a great time. It was definitely an experience. We were a little disappointed before we even left on our trip. Upon reading some reviews a week before we left I learned that the pool was going to be closed for remodeling. This I don't blame the hotel at all for. I completely blame CheapCaribbean for this missed detail. Apparently just about everyone else at the hotel knew prior to booking and even received a 35% discount. We of course knew nothing prior to booking and didn't receive a discount. For others that are looking to book at the hotel make sure you check on the remodeling. They started in May 2014 and are continuing on different areas for 18 months. The pool however was about halfway done and it looked like it was going to be beautiful. This was our first time at a resort/hotel or anything like this so we were a little nervous on how it was going to go. As many other reviews have said, the people there are super nice and if you aren't interested in the "lifestyle" thing you have nothing to worry about. You may however see a little of it going on. There is the "lifestyle" crowd and the crowd that just wants to hang out naked. My husband and I are in our mid 30s so we did feel a little out of place in the age department. There were only a handful of other couples our age. We are still a little more adventurous so we were bored pretty quickly. Another complaint I had with CheapCaribbean was that THEY scheduled an appointment for us to meet with them to schedule transportation back to the airport and possibly schedule some excursions if we were interested, which we were. At the front desk they informed us that they probably wouldn't show up because apparently not many people at he resort like to leave for excursions. They were right. Luckily, they had a representative there from another company that we were able to book through. I HIGHLY recommend XPLORE. It's an excursion that involves Zip Lines, Swimming and Rafting in the Cenotes (caves), UTVs and food. We had a blast!!! We were also able to visit the sister resort Pearl because of the pool closure. We were only there for a few hours but this resort seemed a little more geared toward the younger crowd (but not too young). The daily activities were more active and more people participated in them. It is a much bigger resort also so you also have to take that into consideration. Unfortunately we didn't get to partake in the nightly activities there so I can't comment on that. The nightly activities at our hotel were quite fun. We didn't make it to all of them but the ones we did go to were full of just about everyone at the hotel. And who doesn't like to get all dressed up?! Even if you don't dress up you are still welcome to enjoy the festivities and there is also a store to buy some outfits at the hotel. The food was always great. The only complaint I had there was that the Suki Restaurant and the Sahlo (I think that's right) restaurant were closed a few of the nights (not simultaneously). The main restaurant does nightly food themes so I thought that was good. You aren't eating the same thing every night. The rooms were okay. Nothing spectacular and a little small which I am okay with. They hopefully will be part of the renovations. We stayed in the Ocean View Deluxe which was right on the beach so that part was great. The beach was good also. There is quite a bit of seaweed, which is pretty much expected with the coral reefs around. The nice thing though is that the hotel staff is out early in the morning cleaning and bagging it up so it's not as bad and you can enjoy the soft white sand. The water was perfect! Not too cold, not too warm. Now, do I think we will be back? Not anytime soon. Maybe when we are a little older. I would contemplate going to Pearl prior to that though. It took me a few hours to remove my clothes but when I finally did it was nice. I've got little ones at home so we don't get to just run the house naked much. This was a nice get-a-way. Pearl just seems like it would be a little more us right now.


8 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Tennessee
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 6, 2011
Great Trip

Great resort to spend time with your mate as well as other like minded people. Service was very good. Beautiful beach with water shoes not needed. Food was very good and had no problem finding something to eat. This was our second trip and there will be others.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 20, 2016
dont get a room by the pool

First thing DONT get a room next to the pool unless you do not want to sleep during the day the music plays starting early and does not stop until way late. The People make this place the funnest place. after three days of no sleep we asked to be moved over to the Pearl. the Pearl is very quite and not as much fun. We were charged and extra $550 to stay at the Pearl I was not happy about that as I paid full price for this resort and did not know they were under construction, they offered to move me away from the pool but then I would have been right next to the construction. not a good choice. So everyone wants to know the difference between the Pearl and the RM the Pearl is a very mellow non active resort. If you want activity and fun go to the RM.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: utah
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

April 18, 2013

Desire resort has a fun and upbeat environment for people to feel free to explore as much or as little as they wish from an adult only clothing optional + resort without pressure. The food and music add to the fun and festivities and there's always a friendly staff member handy to help with anything you need. You will always want to return. . .


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Washington, D.C
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year