All

Crane Resort and Residences Reviews

Caribbean | Barbados Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 20 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.5 out of 5
"We loved staying at the Crane so much we have booked up again this year. Cannot wait to go back." – Sunprincess
21 out of 24 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Room for 2 Heaven

All Crane Resort and Residences Customer Reviews

1-10 of 20 reviews. Sort by
October 21, 2011
Disappointing Honeymoon

My husband and I choose this place as our Honeymoon. Cons: -Slow food service -Limited breakfast dining choices -No AC when we arrived and the entire next day the Power Co. shut off all electricity and how water. For some reason our room had no water at all. -Extremely expensive food, plus a 17.5% tax and a 10 % service charge - Very far away from all other restraurants, cab rides are extremely pricey as well - Beach was rough water Pros: -Beautiful atmosphere, including beach and pool and rooms - Zen restaurant - Hotel staff was friendly


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 3, 2012
alittle isolated......

The beach is truly glorious so how could anyone complain...the setting wonderful but things are alittle haywire at The Crane....something always isn't working or out of sync.....too many little things go wrong and they add up to one big thing. Isolated out there with no shuttle to and from the west side--malls or great restaurants....a taxi is very expensive. We had our air conditioning not working for a day and then no hot water for a day (we got a letter about that) and then no bowls or winecork or plates. Toaster was 1970's and blew out and then replaced. Elevator to the beach didn't work one day.... No one tells anyone about anything, like the fact you can get coffee at one restaurant and don't HAVE to do the buffet breakfast for $30 dollars or more.... It's a great place---beautiful---room was fine and people were nice to replace everything and do everything but too many little things were always wrong and it's quite expensive.....would go back to Barbados but not to The Crane.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 9, 2010
wonderful experience

Really enjoy staying at the ocean front 1bedroom. great facilities, Hearing the ocean waves. Just lovely. the breakfast is great too.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Most amazing place to honeymoon

We stayed at the Crane Resort and Residences for our honeymoon in September 2009. The check-in was smooth and easy, with the exception that the hotel did not our information in hand. I showed them the travel documents I received from Cheap Caribbean and everything after that went smoothly. The room was to die for. We were in a suite that had a bedroom and living room / kitchenette area. The whole room was incredibly luxe. Wood floors, a carved wood bed, a flat screen tv in the living room, etc. The bedroom had a king sized bed and the bathroom had a two person jacuzzi that was amazing. Our room looked out on the ocean and every night we fell asleep to the sounds of the ocean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned everyday, and I never had any problems getting extra shampoo/ bath stuff. The food was good, but pricey. We ate in the restaurant every morning for breakfast ( it was included in our package and it was delicious) and then we ate at the pool restaurant /bar a couple of times and the seafood restaurant a couple of times. The resort had a shuttle that took people to the town grocery store during the week. We chose to go shopping and buy a few things to cook/eat in the room. I would strongly recommend going shopping in town as things at the resort are really pricey. For example, at the resort a rum punch will cost you about $7 US, while at the town store I could get a 1 liter bottle of rum punch for the same price. We stocked up on chips, ice cream, and alcohol at the store and it worked out great. Overall the trip was wondrful and the resort was beautiful. We hope to return there for an anniversary in the not to distant future.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kansas City
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 26, 2011
Awesome Vacation!

We stayed at the Crane in Barbados and had a wonderful time. We did not "upgrade" and had a very nice large living room with kitchen and a large bed and bath room. And a beach and ocean view! Concierge at the Crane was very helpful. The restaurants were delicious but the food is not cheap in Barbados. Oistins was fun...bring cash. Cool Runnings Catamaran was a lot of fun, too. We loved the crew. We rented and car for one day and were able to tour most of the island. All islanders were very nice and helpful. We visited in June and did not have a problem with mosquitoes. Please note -all Rum punch on the island is very strong! Loved the trip!


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: new Albany, Indiana
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 10, 2014
Great vacation, minor flaws

We had a great time. The beach was wonderful for the most part. Food service had to be brought down from the hotel which was unfortunate. All elevators were out of service during the entire stay. Not a big deal except when lugging a 50 pound bag up and down three flights of stairs. The restaurants were ok to good, but La Azure was over-priced for quality, you weren't allowed to sit outside on the balcony, and it was stuffy / hot inside. My biggest complaint was that we celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary on this trip. I called down to the "Anniversary Desk" and asked for a reservation and a special message to be available for dinner that night. When we got to the restaurant no reservation had been made and thus no special note. Luckily it was off-season so we were seated without much wait. Overall, the people who actually served us (food, beverages, tour arrangements) were great. The problems occured with people on the other end of a phone line not following through with requests and reservations. The restaurant reservation was one of three such incidents.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 9, 2017
A Bit Too Big For Its Own Good

The Crane has much to like, and if you don't mind driving 20-30 minutes to get to restaurants, dive shops, etc., its location atop the cliffs near the quiet side of the island would make it a good spot for a quiet, intimate, upscale vacation. At one time -- back when it was smaller -- this is probably what the Crane was. The prices remain upscale, for sure, especially in the restaurants, which management runs as top-dollar "gourmet" operations -- seemingly all too aware the nearest mid-price competition is 20-30 minutes away. Here's my problem: in its current incarnation, under current ownership, the Crane isn't quiet or intimate. It is a sprawling, multi-building property, consisting of multiple, cookie-cutter, mid-rise buildings; and it's in the middle of an aggressive construction program, with more buildings going up, and the site footprint expanding even further. (Management's done its best to hide the construction behind fences, and keep the heavy equipment out of sight, but frankly, in a building program of this magnitude, there's only so much that can be done.) Making things worse, much of the Crane property has been given over to time-share "residences": there's an on-site realty office, with glossy backlit photos to walk past every time you enter the property, and a sales staff who isn't shy about approaching one-time vacationers to push them toward a model of "fractional ownership." I don't know who the Crane's investors are -- I'm guessing Goldman Sachs has a hand in it somewhere -- but one feels their "hospitality consultants'" invisible hand on all sides, trying to squeeze every last dollar out of their business model. I won't say too much about myself here, but like a lot of people who buy upscale vacations, I'm involved in business and commerce at home. When I travel to a faraway island, at premium prices, I'm looking to get away from that. I'm looking for something more quiet, intimate, personalized and charming. I didn't hate the Crane, necessarily -- any more than I hate any other large commercial operation. I might even stay here again, if I found a price in line with the other large, impersonal chain hotels on the island. But "quiet," "charming" and "intimate" it's not. Maybe the problem's mine, but at the Crane's prices, and with its remote, beautiful location, I think I was hoping it would be.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cambridge MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

February 6, 2011
STUNNING SCENERY, RELAXING, MUST RETURN

Enjoyed a romantic weeks stay at the fabulous Crane, 1/23 - 29/2011. Exceptional scenery. Beautiful natural beach. Warm ocean waters. Every color of blue imaginable is seen in the waters off The Crane Resort. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Kudos to: Waple, Gloria, Errol, Dwayne, Bernice, Peter Felix and Olivia. Dined only at the four restaurants in The Crane Resort and was surprisingly pleased. No complaints in the dining area. Great service, selection and reasonably priced considering you are at a fabulous resort. Only complaint is the "cool" and NOT "COLD" temperature of the air conditioning in the room. Many rooms had the windows ( wooden blinds) opened and enjoyed the ocean breeze. However there were not any screens. I would have liked to be a bit "colder" in my air conditioned room. I understand that they are planning on putting in new air conditioning units in the older buildings. We stayed in one of the newer units across from the parking lot. Fabulous accommodations otherwise. Would return in a heartbeat !!! Had fun on the Silver Moon and Cool Running Catamaran Trips. Snorkeling was just "ok", however turtles were awesome. Fun night at The Crane with "Leo the Astronomer". Can't wait to return. Great place for middle aged to upper aged people looking for an exceptional, relaxing beach vacation. Not a rowdy place.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 20, 2011
BACK FROM BARBADOS 1 WEEK STAY

The atomosphere is one that I will never forget, alot of factors contributed to my ratings of both booking with Cheap Caribbean and The Crane, besides that I would have to say seeing both the Atlantic and Caribbean could not have been better. The people in Barbados are some of the most happiest people that I have come across. The countries most common spoken language is English and 80% of there tourist are from the UK. They do not get alot of people from "the States" but are very custom to our lifestyle. The Bajan currency is easily exchanged between US $ and our money is double the Bajan $. The way to get around the town is by taxi and be sure to go on the Snorkeling Cruise. The staff on that cruise are phenomenal with kids and adults. They really get everyone involved. I stayed at the Crane but I enjoyed Barbados because of the locals. I would recommend a All-Inclusive stay in Barbados if you are looking to budget, have fun, and enjoy your stay. My anniversary would have been much better if I knew all of this before booking.


4 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Houston, Texas
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 21, 2011
Couldn't be better

This was our third trip to the Crane and it gets better each time. This time there were 4 of us and we stayed in a two bedroom penthouse in building 9. This place was amazing with constant ocean breezes blowing through every room. Air conditioning was not an issue because the breezes kept us cool and comfortable. The new village is great and we had a great time at Bar 1887. They had a great group of singers on Thursday and Friday. We ate at all the restaurants with Zen being my favorite. Spring Rolls are a must. L'Azure was great as well with excellent service at both. We only ate at the Italian restaurant for lunch so can't say how dinner was but the pizzas were quiet good. We are already excited about our next trip to the crane.


2 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: naples, florida
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year