All

Couples Swept Away Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 230 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
4.5
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.6 out of 5
"We spent a week at CSA lasr August. We loved the music, the beach, the bars, and for most part, the restaurants. The tour options at the rersort are good. The AI plan is awesome!!" – Jmoney
267 out of 283 (94%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beautiful Tropical Foliage From our room. Garden view. Can't beat this room with a view Gorgeous beach afternoon fun Beach Paradise Couples Swept Away Only One Of Many Sunsets Paradise Paradise white sandy beaches Sunset at Couples Swept Away Dive boat with divers. Dinner anyone so romantic! From our room View from our Room! Main Beach! this is relaxing Music on the beach Nothing but sun , sand, and palm trees life is hard ? CSA Pool Bar Catamaran cruise Walkway between villas Catamaran Cruise Best time of the day

All Couples Swept Away Customer Reviews

1-10 of 230 reviews. Sort by
May 20, 2012
Best Vacation Ever

My husband and I went to Couples Swept Away for his 50th birthday for a week on 5/5/12. Like many of you I did a ton of research before deciding on the perfect vacation spot. This was my first experience with an all inclusive and I was a bit leary, however after reading a lot of reviews I hoped I'd chosen the right spot. Well let me tell you, CSA is the perfect resort, it met all of my expectations and more. The location is the best in Negril, beach is perfect, much better then the other all inclusive resorts along the beach. There is plenty of shade under the beautiful palm trees, so if you don't get one of the shade huts, no worries. I did get up early (6:30ish) and go to the beach each morning to secure my spot under my favorite tree but there were plenty of chairs available even after breakfast. The beach is so beautiful at the early hours of the morning with a cup of hot tea and the crystal clear warm waters and white sand beach. I even found a few star fish. My husband and I spent 2 hours each day after breakfast at the sports complex - my husband played tennis each morning (one hour advanced clinic and then an hour with friends he met at the clinic) I spent that time taking exercise classes and in the open air gym. The visiting instructor Katie, the week we were there was fantastic (boot camp, ab classes, etc) Lunch each day was at Sea Grapes (casual outdoor dining) with wonderful healthy choices (I'm a vegetarian) Afternoons were spent under the palm trees relaxing or floating on the white cushions provided on the lounge chairs. Cocktails each night started at the Martini Bar where we met a bunch of great couples. Dinner was at Patios several nights, we went to Lemongrass one night (a must for the atmosphere alone) and Feathers (enclosed indoor dining - nothing really special - no views). Most evenings after dinner we went to listen to Ultimate Chocolate - who was absolutely fantastic - he has a wonderful way of engaging the intimate crowd, he wants to hear the story of why you are there and he actually got me to sing happy birthday to my husband on a mic. The room I booked through Cheap Caribbean was the Garden Veranda Room which like other reviews said was right on the road. Well I wish I had listened to them because the Garden Veranda rooms are RIGHT ON THE ROAD, starting at 3am trucks were on my head even with ear plugs and a pillow. I was lucky enough to upgrade to the best room they had (at that point I would have paid whatever they wanted) so I ended up at the jacuzzi suite in the Great House - 3rd floor - a huge room with a wonderful balcony overlooking the ocean with sunsets every night. So worth the upgrade - I could not hear a car or truck at all - very quiet part of the resort and I would highly recommend this room #5208 - again so worth paying more. I have never understood how people can go back to the same vacation spot year after year when there is so much to see in this world but I will definitely be back to CSA hopefully sooner rather than later! All of the staff were fantastic, happy, fun! The last thing I will mention - there is a puddle jumper that will take you to and from the Montego Bay airport to the airport in Negril (takes 15 minutes) and the cost is very affordable - you get an opportunity to see the landscape of Jamaica and get to your location 1 and a half hours sooner. We took the bus shuttle to the resort but had a fairly early flight home from Montego Bay so we took the Airlink flight from Negril to Montego Bay and it was so worth the money and a last adventure at our time in paradise. Don't delay, book your vacation NOW at CSA you will not be sorry - BUT PAY FOR THE GOOD ROOMS! This picture is our views every night from our balcony of the sunsets.

so romantic!
130 of 134 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Williamstown, MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 21, 2011
Relaxing Getaway

This place is amazing - depending on the room you choose. If you will choose the cheaper level - you might regret it. I recommend saving up and upgrading to the Beachfront Suite or Verandahs as they offer the best view of the beach. If the purpose of your room is for sleeping - then you should be ok with the lower level rooms. If you want a relaxing - private view of the beach - I highly recommend upgrading. Love their patio! I like the fact that I can relax and look at the beach which is within a few walks away. Everything is so easy to access. The restaurant is ok - I'm not really raving about it. The only reason why I love this place is the view ---- so relaxing. Beachfront Suite offers a more tropical feel while the Verandahs offer a more modern luxury. In all, carefully consider your room choice as it will affect the quality of your stay. Have fun!


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 2, 2014
YOU WANT TO PICK THIS RESORT

Having never been to Jamaica, I did my homework before picking this resort for our honeymoon. I read all the reviews and decided there was no perfect resort out there that wouldn't have some kind of negative review. We chose this one because my husband's cousin recently got married at Couples Swept Away and loved it. I will not lie to you, not every moment was perfect.. but they did such a good job at keeping their guests happy and relaxed, we were just happy to be in Jamaica. We breezed through customs at the airport and waited for our bus at the Couples Lounge. We were greeted with 2 Jamaican beers and seated in a comfy lounge. I guess we looked like newbs because other guests jumped right in and gave us all their tips. Apparently CSA has the nicest beach in Jamaica, rocks seemed to be a huge issue at other resort beaches. The drive from the airport to the resort is nearly a 1.5 hours, but it was beautiful. We got to the resort and our room was not ready yet, but we were so entranced by how beautiful the beach was, we jumped right into the 'no worries mon" vibe. They sent us to lunch with a beautiful view of the beach. After lunch our room was still not ready, but they gave us a hospitality room while we waited in case we wanted to shower, take a nap, whatever. They were so nice, we weren't even mad. A few hours later, a bellhop came to get us to bring us to our room. We arrived.. and we were surprised to see the building was under construction and there were a lot of confused workers looking at us. At this point, i was ALMOST annoyed, but this nice woman who turned out to be an owner sent a bellhop out for drinks and sat with us in a lounge while they worked it out. She was so sweet and we were so full on amazing food and cocktails we didnt care. We FINALLY got a room and it was worth the wait. A beautiful view and they also gave us a $100 credit on our account for shopping. I still gave this resort a 5 star review because our 5 day stay following this hiccup was amazing! All the excursions we did were included; scuba diving, snorkeling, kayaking, sunset cruises, etc. The food and entertainment at this place is TOP NOTCH. We did a sunset dinner on the beach too, that was breathtaking. We will be back every year for our anniversary. We found a room full of bulletin boards that had pictures of their repeat guests. At least 100 couples.. and to qualify to be on this board you had to be a 6x repeat guest! A LOT of these couples had been back 20+ times.. that speaks for itself I think!


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 23, 2012
Best Beach Vacation

Couples Swept Away was a terrific resort. We had an absolute blast. We will be going back. A couple of tips: - Make dinner reservations early. Feathers and Lemongrass fill up quick - Guys: you must bring slacks, closed toe shoes, and a collared shirt for Feathers. They will not make an exception.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Stow, OH
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 21, 2015
You Should not hesitate to go

Just got back from a four day stay at Couples Swept Away. This was our first time to Jamaica. We traveled with two other couples. Would definitely recommend this place. Stayed in an Atrium Suite with no TV. I was expecting the room to possibly be a little dated due to reviews I had read. Was pleasantly surprised that the room was very nice. (As were the other two couples rooms) Had a huge covered patio overlooking trees with even a slight ocean view. We thoroughly enjoyed having fresh coffee, fruit plate and fresh banana bread delivered every morning. Air conditioning worked well, bathroom shower was clean and big with nice water pressure. Housekeeping came everyday and even came back for a turn down service. Beach was beautiful. Nice clean sand, no rocks, shells etc. Chair cushions were flotation rafts for lounging in water. Yes there were vendors on the beach trying to sell their wares or earn a tip from a Jamaican concert. We witnessed the security staff monitor several transactions between guests and with the locals when they were buying beaded bracelets. Restaurants were very good overall. At dinner we usually had a table of six and had fantastic interactions with our servers who seemed genuinely intent on making sure you had whatever they could provide to please you as well as steering you to certain dishes if you couldn't decide. The food was delicious. I would suggest that you try the local food. We ate things we had never had before that were delicious. An hour in the spa getting a massage was an hour well spent. Granted we traveled off peak, (October 15-19) the resort was certainly not filled. We had no troubles getting a reservation at a restaurant or for the Catamaran sunset cruise. The thing that struck me was that there were guests from every generation that were all there for the same thing. To connect with their significant other. From the couples getting married that week to the couple celebrating 50 years and every age in between. I have to say when researching our destination it was maddening to read the reviews of resorts as there is always some naysayer telling you how bad something was. Or they just had an axe to grind because they perceived something that wasn't perfect. Generally, I found that I would ignore the worst of the worst reviews as well as the most perfect reviews and look for an overall trend. That is why we decided on couples because overall they get good reviews. Sure was their a bartender that may have been a little slow one night in a crowded lounge. Yes but there were also ten other bartenders at different bars that were fast, friendly and funny and looking to please. We are all human and have our good days and less than good days. Judging by some of the towns we drove through on the way from the airport it would be safe to say that there is much poverty on the island. Consider the staff we spoke to that said that the jobs they had at the resort were considered to be good jobs. The Jamaican people seem to have fewer material possessions but yet they are a proud and happy people. You should get to know them. They were wonderful. Thank you Couples Swept Away for a magical vacation.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Nazareth, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 15, 2011
Amazing Trip! Can't wait to go back!!

My fiance and I traveled here for a short get away to celebrate our birthdays (we share the same day, april 9th) We arrived April 6th and departed April 9th (would have liked to be longer, but fiance had to fly out of DC on Sunday for work). We arrived and went straight through customs, pretty smooth. Then to the Couples lounge where we enjoyed a red stripe and red stripe light! About 15 minute wait and boarded the bus, where we tipped our bag carriers. The ride was smooth with a stop to use the restroom and pick up a couple of cold brews. Dropped off some travelers at the other couples resort and then made our way to Couples. Greeted with cold towels and champagne! They guys stayed with the luggage while the woman checked in. We had chosen an atrium suite. At first they had us on the first floor, but I asked to be put on the 2nd, and they were able to deliver. Our Atrium Suite was wonderful! We loved the shutters, and the doors that opened to the verandah with a hammock and seating area. It was so comfy! In the evening we would close the shutters and throw on the air conditioner. Plenty cool. Loved waking up to the sounds of wild birds. Was so pleasant. Our fridge was fully stocked and when asked for additional wine, and champagne they also delivered. The beach was probably my favorite part! Couldn't get enough of it. Do go tanning before hand if you can. I did not. I wore 30 the first day (I have an olive toned skin already) and still burned the first day. My fiance had tanned only a couple times and did not burn. Just an fyi. We ate at Feather and Lemon Grass and the Palms. They were all great! I did bring bug spray and applied before I left the room at night because I tend to attract misquitos. We also took part in the catamaran cruise which was also lovely. On our last night the staff put a Birthday Card and Birthday Cake in our room. The morning of departure we ordered the continental in the room and asked for champagne to make mimosas (they again delivered)..Was wonderful! Truly did not want it to end and look forward to going back in the future!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 6, 2016
An Amazing Experience!

After what felt like weeks of searching for a resort to visit in Jamaica, my boyfriend & I settled on Couples Swept Away, and let me tell you...our expectations were met, exceeded & then some. From the moment we landed at MBJ, we found our way to the Couples Resorts waiting area where we were warmly greeted and cups of cold Red Stripe were put in our hands. Vacation starts immediately here. The complimentary shuttle service is a nice touch; the resort is about a 90 minute drive from the airport, but it goes by quickly as the drivers are locals who love to share their culture and knowledge about the island with you. The resort itself was beautiful, not too big and not too small. You could easily walk from one side of the grounds to another in a few minutes. The staff was beyond welcoming, always greeting us whenever we passed by whether we were in the lobby or just hanging out on the beach. Many of the employees loved to engage in conversation, they're interested in learning about you and your life, equally as much as you are interested in learning about the way of life in Jamaica. They honestly made you feel right at home. Our room was the perfect size, cleaned daily and we also had the option of having hard alcohol & wines stocked in our mini fridge daily. Let's be honest, hotel food isn't that good ... but here it was great. You can easily find the perfect mix of standard "international fare" & local foods loaded with Caribbean flavors. There are different themes/ specials on certain nights. We went to Patois Patio on Saturday for lobster night and the entree was out of this world. Every dish we tried throughout the resort was prepared on the spot and ingredients were very fresh. The grilled fish tacos at Sea Grapes are also a must! The beach and pools are well maintained, there are a few tiki bars to grab drinks at along the sand and also a swim up bar in one of the pools. The bartenders love to make you "locally inspired" drinks, so be adventurous and don't just stick to your standard rum & coke! A huge draw for us when booking with Couples was how many activities and excursions are included in the price of your stay. There's no shortage of adventure here. We did the sunset catamaran cruise (which also stops midway and lets you jump off & swim through a cool cave), snorkeling trip & glass bottom boat. The staff was super friendly and informative during each of these ventures. We also took a few different classes, like Talk Jamaican & learned how to play congo drums. Each time you participate in a class you are given play money which can be used at an auction they hold, you have the chance to win bottles of rum, shirts, hats, etc. We also went shopping downtown & called a cab from the resort to bring us around Negril where we experienced true local cuisine. Henry, the cab driver is associated with Couples and rather than drop you off at your requested destination, he will stay with you to ensure you have a safe trip & return to the resort. I also highly advise checking out the dueling pianos when they're playing .. SO FUN!! There are a handful of locals trying to sell products on the beach, but if you just wave them along & tell them you're not interested they will respect your wishes, the security guards also did a great job in moving these people along. It may be an annoyance to some but you have to understand that you are in their hometown, this is their way of life and their source of income. One thing I will say is that the prices of merchandise in the gift shops on the resort are jacked way up (as expected, but none the less.) Example: A bottle of Rum Cream was $28 + tax on the resort vs. $12-$14 w/o tax downtown. If you plan on buying some gifts or booze to bring home, try to take their trip to shop downtown at Times Square, the prices there are unbeatable and you'll get 2-3 bottles of rum for the price of 1 on the resort. All in all, our first trip to Jamaica was wonderful all thanks to Couples Swept Away. You will never question your safety while on the resort as the staff and security guards are everywhere you look, but at the same time you will definitely have the opportunity to experience the Jamaican culture (and what an amazingly interesting culture it is.) Couples Swept Away is hands down worth every penny you will spend on an all inclusive getaway. You will leave with a great tan, beautiful pictures & memories, a full belly, and such a strong appreciation for the Jamaican culture.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Stamford, CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 18, 2013
Love Couples!

My husband and I went to Couples Tower Isle a year ago for our honeymoon and fell in love with Jamaica. For our anniversary, we wanted to go to Negril since we heard the beaches there are so much better and they weren't lying! The beach had an abudance of chairs for shade or sun and it was relaxing and peaceful. There are vendors that go up and down the beach but the staff there makes sure they do not come up to where you are unless you want them to which is great. The food was great and Feathers was by far the best. All the staff was kind and courteous and the service was fast. Our room was always clean, the mini bar stocked with whatever you asked for as well as a host of standard items. It was also great that you could really do vacation however you wanted. If you wanted to be busy and active every day, there were a lot of fun activities to do both on and off the resort. However, we also love to just relax and enjoy being lazy which was still able to be done both day or night. The overall feel of the resort is really great. In comparison, Tower Isle was one large building with a little bit more of a hotel feel. Swept away is a series of villas (along with the Great House) that are nestled away in lush greenery so everything feels quiet and personal. My only complaint/recommendation for anyone that goes is just to make sure that you are up early in the morning to get chairs in the shade. Many people are out late at the nightclub or elsewhere and start claiming their chairs for the morning when they come home. It's pretty frustrating when you are up to walk the beach at 7 AM and all the chairs under umbrellas are already claimed and no one comes to sit in them until after noon. Aside from that, we have no complaints and definitely plan on returning again next year!


18 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Bolingbrook, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 2, 2012
Outstanding Value

I really enjoyed this resort. ACTIVITIES Plenty of activities at no extra fees. And even more for an extra fee. The entertainment is targeted at couples looking for a low key and relaxing vacation, so do not expect drinking games, etc. Still there are some fun activities and enough of a young adult crowd to have a fun time, just do not expect the staff to offer you to rock out. STAFF AND SERVICE Great! I always felt welcomed. Friendly, kind, and professional, at one time or another, each and every one show this qualities. BEACH AND POOLS Negril is top notch, one of the most beautiful and clean beaches I have witness. DINING AND FOOD The grill was very good, but everything else was from ok to good. I enjoyed the food, but have found better at Paradisus Punta Cana and Grand Oasis Cancun. ROOM Clean rooms. My fiancee though it too dark. I figure they were going for a romantic mood. Go figure. Full mini.bar which they will restock with non.top shelf liquor or a wide variety of juices and soda flavors at any time of the day. Good enough for me. DRINKS Top Shelf, Mid Shelf...whatever you want to call it, it is available. From Black Label, Chivas to Patron tequila. I usually do not like resort´s draft, but this was good, better than most. The mix'drinks were refreshing and tasted good. Be careful with the Bob Marley shots, hehe. OVERALL I would definitively recommend Couples Swept Away. It was not perfect, but they really tried. Iit was more than I expected. A great value. And most importantly, the service was above and beyond.


20 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2010
Couples Swept Away

We went to Jamaica's Couples Swept Away Last year for our anniversary. It was highly recommended by a friend. We really loved the overall experience. Everything was included. There was no reason to have spent an extra dime at this resort! The available sports, snorkelling club, food drinks, ect. The beach was amazing however did not rival the ocean itself! The water was perfect and somewhat magical and the swimming was wonderful. the food was good, better than what we expected. Our favorite place to eat was the veggie station on the beach-we are not vegans! It was just so tasty. The service was wonderful for the most part. When we arrived the concierge did not know very much. So be sure to book your restaurants that need a reservation right away. Remember that all men must wear shoes to one of their restaurants and no shorts either. We were not allowed to eat at that place because my hubby brought only tennis shoes. It was a great vacation. We saw so many weddings in front of our room that when my daughter got engaged, we talked them into a marriage there next year. I can't exaggerate how many returning couples we met who married there. Next year we will be back! The only complaint we had were the sand fleas. Take spray.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year