All

Couples Sans Souci Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 148 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.4
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.7 out of 5
"Treated as if we were royalty. Would definitely go again." – Moonshine22
183 out of 191 (96%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View of bay from gazebo great view Sunset beach Martha Brae River Trip Sunset The mineral grotto The Palazina dingin room at night view from room Room view from the water Pic from our balcony sunset from our balcony We got engaged at sunset on September 28, 2016 at Couples San Souci On the Private Beach View from the villa. Balcony Sunset The gym and elevator while kayaking Paradise!

All Couples Sans Souci Customer Reviews

1-10 of 148 reviews. Sort by
November 28, 2011
Beautiful and Relaxing Experience

This was our fourth visit to Jamaica. Our last two trips were to Couples Negril and we really enjoyed that resort. Couples Sans Souci is a different experience. Part of the resort is located on a cliff providing magnificent views of the ocean, beach and mountains. The walkways and pathways, throughout the resort, are lush with tropical plants and trees. Every turn provides another unique and wonderful view. Since this resort only holds about 300 guests we found it to be very intimate. When strolling some of the pathways, it was common to never come across another guest. We stayed in the F block, on the top floor, and our view from our room and balcony was the best we have ever experienced. If you have trouble walking we would strongly recommend getting a beach-front room. These rooms are located directly across from the main beach, reducing the need to go up and down levels. The staff is friendly and helpful, providing great service. The food was excellent. We had some of the best steaks and deserts at this resort. Compared to Couples Negril the food selection was not as varied, but what they provided was exceptional. If there was one thing we could change about this resort we would relocate the white river, which empties into the ocean at the au natural beach area. Although this river was beautiful; the cooler water from the river created temperature variations (cool and warm spots) in the ocean water. If you are looking for a larger beach to stroll on and warmer water temperatures (without rocks) we would recommend Couples Negril. However we found the seclusion and picturesque views at Couples Sans Souci to outweigh these negatives. Compared to Couples Negril the au natural beach at Couples Sans Souci is much larger and secluded. It also has its own pool, swim-up pool bar and grill. Just remember to bring water-shoes. I think that almost 1/3 to ½ the guests used the au natural area. It was so relaxing and freeing. We highly recommend this resort and we plan to return.

great view view from room
54 of 54 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Best Vacation!

If you are a working class stiff who works hard all year long and values their vacation time as much as I do, read on and I’ll tell you everything you need to know about picking a resort you’ll not only be happy you chose, but will be talking about for years to come. I have to tell you, this year I needed to be very careful selecting a resort for my wife and me. We normally go away with two other couples, so normally we’re not too demanding of a resort to show us a good time. This time the other couples couldn’t go when we were able so we were on our own for vacation. I finally chose CheapCaribbean.com as my agent after I checked out everybody else and kept going back to CheapCaribbean.com. No regrets there, they stand by you and offer countless extras. They’re the outfit you want. Now Gloria, my wife has never been to Jamaica and has never had a Caribbean vacation, although she mentioned she’d like to, so if she has a bad experience it could be potentially devastating for me picking the vacations in the future, especially with all my bragging that I know all the best places! I set my sites on Jamaica because I’d been here four times before and you go with what you know. When we got off the plane at Sangster Int’l everyone headed in the same direction, and I began expecting the worst, long lines, no A/C. But the airport staff did not disappoint, they were well organized I suppose since they do it every day, and we were processed before one drop of sweat hit the floor. We then checked into the Couples Resorts desk and that taking all of five minutes when we were happily informed that, “Our vacation starts now.” With a friendly gesture to the left, we were directed to their bar with a smiling bartender looking like he’d been waiting for us. As we relaxed and enjoyed our beverage, we introduced ourselves to the other waiting couples going to the other Couple’s resorts. Before long we wished we were all going to the same one but that wasn’t the case. But we got to hang out a little longer as we all boarded the same shuttle. We also found out you can get a free day pass to any of the other Couples Resorts in Jamaica, just to check them out if you wanted. Our driver Ed was friendly and gave us the complete tour from the airport to our hotel. When we arrived we were greeted by the San Souci staff and I immediately felt good about my choice of resorts, which I personally labored on for quite a bit let me tell you. We stayed in room B6 which I’ll never forget because that’s my office address, so I took a little pleasure in that… as for the room accommodations; it was easily head and shoulders above every other resort I’ve stayed, clean and bright, water and drinks in the fridge, and complete with all the Resort information on the dresser. Our veranda opened up to a beautiful manicured lawn lined with flowers and assorted tropical vegetation. Lighted walkways run through in every direction. Across was the main pool, with all the beautiful people playing volleyball along with the not so beautiful people. The water was perfect, you could stay in all day if you wanted and there were a few who did, as they have a swim up bar also. Not me though, I had to experience everything the resort offers, and only had one week to do it. Snorkeling and kayaking in the beautiful Caribbean, Swedish massage, Mineral pool, 5 star restaurants experience, horseback riding in the waves, not to mention the fun we had with the surprisingly talented staff. Speaking of the staff, they actually look out for you and make sure you’re having a good time. We did. We danced under the stars until we could barely walk back to our room. Now Gloria is not as outgoing as I am; in fact she’s a little self-confident about her accent, which I tell her is her charm, but makes her a bit shy around people she doesn’t know. Then she met Cadien, one of the entertainment staff who gave us the Orientation. We’ll never forget Cadien, she and Gloria became fast friends. She joined us for the dinner on the lawn which they do on Wednesdays and they talked and laughed up a storm, a lot of it at my expense but what the heck, she’s happy, I’m happy. The food was exquisite Jamaican fare, I remember after the first night’s dinner I said, “Now I know what they mean when they say, Come home to Jamaica!” I’m not a morning person, but never in my life have I looked forward to breakfast like I did at San Souci, the spread had everything, too much to name, and the cook made the best omelets. You meet up with your new friends and see what they look like after a wild night. You snicker through Breakfast when you play the proverbial highlight reel from the night before, and discuss the game plan for the day. I’m not an emotional guy, but leaving the San Souci resort was a quiet day, with solemn promise to return. I felt like I was leaving family. So when you come, bring pictures of the kids, or the toy you have in your garage! See you there. Boston, MA


34 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 16, 2011
Relaxed and Charming

Couples San Souci is a very laid-back resort east of Ocho rios on the northern coast of Jamaica. The 2 hours shuttle from Montego Bay airport was clean and the driver, Byron, was extremely friendly. He was eager to answer our barrage of questions and was more than happy to stop for Red Strip, the local fruit being sold by people on the side of the road (Guinep was in season), and even a bit of jerk from one of the larger stands. The resort itself is excellent. It is quiet, with stairs and winding paths through pristinely-manicured jungle draped around and across the hillside of the upper suites, reception, and spa area. Winding alone through small paths, you will occasionally pop onto a terrace to find a hammock or two and brilliant view of the Caribbean stretching out into the distance down a cliffside. For a more traditional resort feel with a lively scene, the beachfront bar and grill with rooms overlooking the main sand is just a minute stroll away, but a world of difference. People line up on the beach each day, some sunning and napping, others reading, and the more adventurous enjoying the sailboats, sail board, snorkeling, boat trips, volleyball, etc etc etc. The watersports staff are helpful and friendly and more than eager to play a game of any type with you if you so desire. The rooms and the entire resort were exceptionally clean, and the in-room bar and room-service breakfast provide the opportunity for relaxation and seclusion if you so desire. We stayed in a 1-bedroom ocean view suite which was quite sizable and had two full bathrooms and a large deck overlooking some palm trees and the ocean. We worried that being close to one of the many patios would be problematic, but we almost never saw another person up on the hill or along the jungle garden walkways, so the opportunity for privacy was always available. The only negative I could say about the entire trip is there is a distinct lack of culinary variety. The head chef clearly has an Italian background, and does an excellent job at the "fine dining" restaurant, but after 5 nights of very similar food each evening, my wife and I were definitely ready for some variety. Overall, the resort facilities and ambiance are relaxed and tranquil, but perfectly maintained and extremely clean. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, managing to be both enthusiastic and bright but also willing to give you privacy when you desire. I highly recommend Couples San Souci for a romantic getaway or long weekend of relaxation and recuperation.


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Little Rock, AR
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 22, 2012
Most Relaxing Vacation Ever!

We have just returned from Couples San Souci and already are planning on returning. Bar none, this has been the most relaxing vacation we have ever been on. The rooms are heavenly and well appointed. The beach is well maintained albeit a bit small but certainly big enough for our taste. The beach service was outstanding and the restaurants had a wide variety of food and drink. Quite frankly there was nothing that we lacked. The only thing that could have improved my stay was having the room made up earlier than it had been. Often it was late in the afternoon before our room was cleaned. The property is a bit older but always being maintained and quite frankly I believe it adds to the total ambiance of the resort. We will definitely be back!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Leesburg, VA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 21, 2016
Perfect Vacation!

We vacationed for 9 wonderful days at Couples Sans Souci in March of 2016. We stayed in one of the newly renovated buildings. Building "B" ocean view corner, third floor. The accommodations were perfect, clean and very nice. the room was also very quiet and very close to the main pool, sunset beach, breakfast and the restaurants. the furthest amenity was the spa, which we did make use of and was also wonderful. The staff was always pleasant and helpful, fun and courteous. The food was great and good variety. We have stayed many times at other resorts, but will be returning to Couples Sans Souci!!

Paradise!
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 17, 2012
Wonderful Vacation all around

This was the best trip I have ever taken. Everything from the moment you walked into the resort to the minute you left was perfect. The staff is always there to help you and guide you to anything you need to do. They help you with booking taking you to excursions to the surrounding areas as well as the adventures right on the resort, snorkeling, glass bottom boat rides wind surfing. It's all amazing. The swim up bar and beach front was impeccable. I really didn't want to leave. I have a feeling that its going to be hard to measure up any other future vacations to this one with how wonderful it all was. I can't wait to come back sometime and enjoy it all again!!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, Ny
Age: 19-24

December 29, 2012
Totally Relaxing

From the moment you arrive and they greet you with "welcome home" this resort treated us as if we were family. The staff goes out of their way to please you. The restaurants had plenty of food but the menu could offer more choices and change more daily. We had a beach front room and it was close to everything. There was plenty to do and we never left the resort even though there were tours included in the price of the all inclusive. You could eat and drink almost 24 hours a day. Many of the guest are repeat customers to the resort. We used the spa and it was excellent. There was no need to wake up early to save a chair at the beach or pool. There was always a place to sit and sun. The only diappointment was the diving. There are no wall dives or reefs and all we saw was sand and a few fish. There seemed to be no coral. There was nothing to see but this could have been due to Hurricane Sandy which came though a month before. I never researched the diving before going so I don't know what it really is like. We have been to Bonaire several times and the diving cannot compare. If you want to go somewhere where you can completely relax or have plenty activities to participate in then this is your resort.


12 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Middleboro, Ma.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 21, 2015
Too Many Forced Social Activities

If you want to do your own thing or spend time with just your spouse or partner, don't go to this resort. They focus too much on the guests making friends with each other. They even shut all their restaurants down two nights a week to force everyone to attend their "special events." And you're harrassed every day at the beach by the social directors trying to get you to participate in all their games. Since the area around the resort wasn't great, my husband and I felt very trapped at the resort. And because we didn't want to participate in these big social gatherings, we ended up eating in our room the two nights they shut the restaurants down and the quality of the in-room dining was less than stellar. Also, it was one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept in. Even if everything else about the resort was perfect, I would never stay here again just because of that. We couldn't get any sleep and after being back for four days now, we are both still having back problems. It wasn't all negative, the customer service was amazing and the staff is great. The watersports offered by the resort were excellent and are for the most part free, so that was the best part of our stay.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 6, 2011
Couples SS outstanding again

Beautiful location and all inclusive amenities combined with outstanding service from best staff in the Caribbean causes us to come "home" year after year. The spa is truly a special experience as you enjoy a wonderful relaxing masseage in the hillside huts overlooking the ocean. For the more active, the watersports staff are entertaining whether they take you snorkeling, scuba diving, water skiing or sailing. The meals at all the restaurants on the property were excellent as the chefs prepare a variety of dishes at each one. The Beach Bash and the Starlight Gala events put on by the entire staff were entertaining and the dishes offered by the chefs were delicious. Because this resort is so spread out, you never feel like it is overcrowded. The ocean views from the balconies of the rooms on the hill are postcard worthy. The rooms itself are spacious and the housekeeping staff is friendly and diligent about their work. We will be back again and again.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 18, 2012
Well Worth It

From the ride from the airport, to the ride back, you are spoiled. By far the best All Inclusive we have been to. They upgraded our room at no charge, and the service was amazing. Everyone remembers your name. Sunset Beach was by far the best place to hang out at. Great food, Top Shelf Booze, and more great service. Adult only and no kids made it even more relaxing.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Montgomery, AL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year