All

Coral Costa Caribe Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Santo Domingo Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 404 Reviews
Value
 
3.6
Service
 
3.5
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
2.6
3.2 out of 5
"Great Value with Wonderful Service. Enjoy! Beachs off the Hotel a little Rocky but great for Diving. Water is warm and clear." – Nifty50
281 out of 472 (60%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Resort from the beach Sunset on the beach Inside Los Tres Ojos, looking out. Must take the raft to get here. $1 each. Great pool! One of the pools Gross bathroom Garden Pool Four Wheel dudes Great At the pool... My morning view First lass Swim-Up Bar gREAT dINNER Sunrise from balcony The courtyard outside of our room We found the waterfall!! bREATH TAKING Gross bathroom Joel & Joe Divemaster's Main pool overlooking the beach Lovely panaramic ocean view from my room. so relax... Picture taken from outside of the room on the resort a view of the beach a few feet away from the resort Full moon view from the front door, not the balcony. UNBELIEVABLE VIEWS!!! BEAUTIFUL Beach view from the hotel Standing out front... View Across my Room! View from our room The Beach Hotel Beach view from our balcony at dusk from the resort

All Coral Costa Caribe Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 404 reviews. Sort by
January 30, 2012
Some good, some bad

Pros about this resort: The staff was fun and friendly, always remembering us, and the daily games and activities on the beach were a lot of fun. Our room was well-cleaned every day. The resort is small which is great for people who prefer a more intimate setting. There is good snorkeling right at the resort (at the right side of the swimming area), so you don't have to pay to go out on a boat to be able to see lots of cool fish, eels, urchins, etc. Cons: We are not that picky or fancy, but when reviewers say the rooms need an update, they're not kidding. We had an oceanfront room that we didn't want to get moved from, so we didn't complain to the resort about the uncomfortable parts, but the mattress was rock hard and was orange with white flowers on it, clearly from the 70's or 80's. The sheets never covered the mattress completely, which was kind of gross. The toilet wouldn't open all the way because the counter jutted out too far over it, so you had to hold the lid up while you went. And we didn't have hot water for several days of our stay. The food was good in the buffet and in El Fogon, but we were not at all impressed with the quality of food or service in the other restaurants. At the Italian restaurant we waited an hour for our meal and mine was inedible. We had to pay for the in-room safe and every time we borrowed snorkel gear we had to leave a $20 refundable deposit per person, so we always had to carry more cash than we were comfortable with when we were on the beach for the day. The beach in front of the resort was the nicest in the area, but with that said, it did not compare at all to Punta Cana or La Romana - the water lacked the brilliant blue color and there were piles of trash all along the beach on both sides of the resort. Also, vendors were constantly soliciting on the beach and were allowed to come right up to us when we were relaxing on the beach at the resort, something I never encountered at the two other DR resorts I have visited and made it uncomfortable for us to be on the beach sometimes. For the little money you save going here, do yourself a favor and fork out the extra $100 -$200 for one of the nicer resort areas.


170 of 171 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 7, 2012
Great Value, Great Beach, Strong Drinks!

Ok so I've seen some really bad reviews on here and I want to set the record straight. This place is great for people looking to relax on the beach all day, have lots of drinks and eat til you can't eat anymore. It is by no means a 5 star resort, but it is perfect for the price. The staff is friendly and helpful and will do whatever they can to make you happy. It's the perfect place if you need to just get away for a few days of sun and relaxation. I'd go back in a heartbeat!


69 of 71 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 7, 2012
Have budget must vacation!!!

So if your anything like my boyfriend and I and after a few years of cutting corners to make ends meet while eliminating our debt... we decided that it was time to celebrate! As we were still on a budget we figured out what we could spend and shopped for the best offer in our price range. It didn't leave us many options and I reserched this resort for HOURS before booking it finnally. I can't say I was dissapointed. I have stayed at playes from 5 star resorts back when it was still ok for my parents to be paying, and I have stayed at a motel or two in my adult life as well. Everything you have read in comments is probably 100% true, how you look at staying at the Costa Caribe is up to you. I enjoyed my vacation emensly, met some great friends and if I was still on a budget next year, yes I would go back. If you can afford to stay somewhere else and are the type of person that, well... just arn't happy with much in life, then don't stay here. Here is how we made the most of our vacation: *We brought our own beach towles. *We got experimental with food. (For the $ the food is great but like anything if you don't alternate you'll be sick of it in a few days). We made sure to try all the diffrent resturants, the mexican one was our favorite and we were actually disappointed we didn't try the local fare resturant intill the last night. One of the couples we had met and planned to dine with that evening dared to order something with goat meat. I never thought I'd say this but it was really good. *We swam in the morning/afternoon so didn't even bother with a shower intill later and never had a problem with not having warm water. *The rooms are.... motel like conditions. We wern't there to hang out in our rooms and the rest of the hotel was maintained just fine. *The beds... now that is one thing I don't miss at all. One of the few things my honey and I did splurge on in the last few years was one of the memory foam beds.... yea.... Well, we tried to make the best of that by getting our buzz on nightly but lets just say my back is happy to be home now. I think I read every single review I could find on this resort before I booked here, and I can completely see how some people were very happy and others thought this place was horrid. Like I said before if you can afford to go somewhere else... do it. If you can't, or don't want to and are the type of person to make the most out of what you have - You'll have a blast.


26 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Kenosha, WI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 21, 2012
Awesome experience

Me and my husband went for a 2 week vacation to celebrate our anniversary. We experienced a fantastic time. The only down fall was no hot water for the first 2 days. They switched us to a different room and upgraded us for the inconvenience. The rooms were older and the beds were a little hard but who stays in the room all the time?! We booked a couples massage through the resort that we loved. You can get one through the vendors on the beach cheaper but it is not romantic and not private. We also did Catalina Island. I was not all that impressed. It was ok. They stopped allowing snorkeling on the other island so everyone goes to Catalina. It was a mad house. Boats coming in everywhere, people everywhere. We like a little more of a relaxed atmosphere for that type of trip. The pools were ok. Swim up bar was in the shade so nobody ever really hung out there but we are more beach people so that did not bother us. Every staff member was beyond fantastic. From the housekeeping, front desk, wait staff, bartenders etc... That is what truly made us feel like we were at a 5 star resort. The food was really good. It was quite a surprise as we had been to the Dominican in years past and teh food was horrible ! Not the case here. The resort really took pride in what was served. The restaurants were very good. The Mexican was descent. Just watch what you order. Keep it simple. The Italian was fabulous. We never got a chance to experience the Dominican restaurant however, the buffet served Dominican dishes every day so it really did not matter to us. The snack bar had good food. On different nights they offered different dishes in addition to the traditional hamburg, hot dogs and fries. The one thing that kinda got old was the vendors on the beach selling. They stay in a corner on the beach and take turns all day trying to sell you things. We took it in stride. They are really friendly and never get offended when you tell them no. We actually established friendships with many of them. Just take a minute to realize that they are just trying to make a living and be respectful to them. The only other thing that actually did get on our nerves was that they allow the locals to come in on the weekends. It does get really crazy. If you just realize that this is only a few days you and stay on the beach you will avoid the madness. Nobody is rude it is just a ton of people all at once. Lines for drinks, food etc... We like to party but their parties go on all night long. So if you can prevent a room by the pools and bar areas you will be fine. There were plenty of bars. They really make sure the drinks have alcohol in them. No skimping at all! Me and my husband drink beer mostly and found the "Presidente" beer was really good. If you remember to tip a little they go above and beyond to serve you. Their favorite phrases are "Happy to serve you" and "Thank you for you" We loved this. They close down all of the bars at 11 ish on the weekdays but the sports bar and disco stay open late. Not sure about the weekends. We went to bed early to avoid the craziness. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. We had a fabulous time and would go back to the same resort again. The staff made it the best experience! No complaints. Just remember that you are getting what you pay for. You are not paying for a 5 star resort so do not think you are getting a 5 star resort. Even though they do their best to treat you as such. It is an older resort so remember that before booking. before booking.


37 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 4, 2011
Costa Caribe Christmas Vacation

This hotel has a wonderful staff!!! Everyone is so warm and friendly. This is my 4th visit here, and, I come here because of the people, food selection and quality. This is how I break it down: STAFF AND PROPERTY PERSONNEL: Always eager to help you. Tye greet you by your first name. all well mannered, fruendly, courteous and do anything they can to assist you in what ever you may need. Food Quality ans selection: What a WONDERFUL formal dinner thye had on the beach Christmas eve!! Shrimp, salmon, lobster strips, prime rib, open-pit roasted pig (the whole thing, Champagne, the variety and quality is hard to beat!! Room and amenities: The ONLY draw back is the maintenence of the rooms. They need updating and upgrades. The rooms are always well cleaned however, generous amenities, and the room is "freshened" every day!! There is a shortage of hot water on weekend when the hotal is full. The air conditioners work well, sometime TOO well!! LOCATION AND SURROUNDING AREAS: Santo Dominigo ois only a short 45 minute drive, San Pedro is 15 mins away, as well as Boca Chica, andLLaromana. The Marlin fishing is great. There anr may tours to take to plantations, cocoa farms, banana plantations and various other sites. PLENTY of beaches It is in a quiet, safe area. Welll maintained roads and dependable electrical services. NIGHTLY ENTERTAINMENT AND ACTIVITIES: They have a really nice show every night with a variety of musical nad audience-participation schemes. Good music, good dancers and singers and a wide range of show titles and subject matter. Audience participation is not unusul in their nightly shows. Good lighting. good dancers and nice costumes and scripts!!! Casino is right across teh streey, newly redocated and very friendly!!! Overall, this is a really well staffed hotel. I would recommend this hotel for all who do not require and 4+ star rating. The service is great, the food fantastic, rhe music is varied and well organized, Staff is wonderful and always smiling. Thsi is a good hotel for the monry!! Has to be..... I have returned 3 times!!! Check it out, you just may be pleasantly surprised at the hotel here!!!

Costa Caribe Christmas Vacation Costa Caribe Christmas Vacation
56 of 60 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Richmond. Michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 21, 2014
Coral Costa Carive Resort

Hello travelers. Little about me: I am a 32yr old American male who loves to travel and have been all around the world. I take all travel destinations with an open mind and am neutral to the services until I see otherwise. My grading will be based on similar resorts. I traveled to this destination between the dates of 10/12 and 10/17 of 2014. The weather was perfect (between 75-83 degrees F.) and the water was warm, perfect for a swim. I was picked up from the airport by a man named Fausto Rosario, who worked for Yondel Tour. This company was contracted by CheapCaribean to pick me up and take me back to the airport. (FYI- Great service- punctual and professional. If you have an opportunity ask for him.) I checked in with a young man named Alejandro. He was attentive, courteous, and got the job done in an efficient manner. He answered all my questions and requested to call him if I had any more. I was escorted to my room my head security Moises. He pointed out the amenities of the location while we walked. In my room the television and the radio were not working. The side patio sliding doors that faced the beach were flimsy and did not secure properly. Awesome view of the beach though- Room S229. The next day I met a lot of the staff members in the resort, what can I say- I like to chat it up and get a good feel for the people. The following servers had GREAT customer service and is what saved this resort from getting a bad review: Bar Tender- Rafael Ruiz, Security Radomes Silvestre: Great people and authentically cared for the tourist. At the Resorts restaurants there was always a service with a smile and there was no request that they were unable to take care of in a timely manner. I write a lot of reviews and I pay attention to a lot of the detail and lets just say that these following people gave better service than some diamond resorts in Palm Springs, CA, and Las Vegas, NV! Luis, Lorelis, Claudia Perez, Cesar Vargas, and Margarita Deaza. These people attended to a group of approx. 30 people at any given time and their average turnaround time with a request was 2min 25sec. That is better than most American "customer-first" restaurants. A lot of times it is not the appeal of a resort, or the fancy decor that makes a place amazing- but the people who attend to your simple needs and pay attention to detail. These 'details' is what really takes you into vacation mode because you are attended and all you have to do is simply enjoy life. On the downside, I asked for my room to be cleaned 2 days in a row and it was not. On the 3rd day I called reception and told them that my room had not been cleaned for 2 days. They blamed me for the lack of service ( I had not "requested it"). I politely stated that I had my "Clean me" sign on the door AND I called it in. The female receptionist passed me to a male receptionist who began to argue with me. I then proceeded to tell them everything that was wrong with the room that I was planning on "looking the other way" but not after his rude service. After WASTING 1.5 hours of MY vacation time, they realized it was their mistake and moved me to the Presidential Suite- Room 1603. They however, never apologized nor tried to make mends. I don't need any big fancy room, just a "okay sir, sorry this happened and we will TRY to take care of it" not a "It's not our fault" comment. I remained positive thanks to the mentioned people. But the resort in whole is an average. The location of the resort is perfect for a family and couples. There is no waves there, so sorry surfers. There is kayaking, snorkeling (for beginners its a great place to start), and perfect place to go on a 3-4 mile run on the sand.


20 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 13, 2012
From a 29 year old with common sense and not picky

So, as usual, you'll have mixed reviews of any place being rated. You have your bad, you have your good, you have your average. It is, actually, very surprising how many negative people gave this resort negative reviews. As mentioned, we are talking about negative people. They see the dark side of this beautiful world... Coral Costa is not your 5 star luxury resort. I would honestly give it a 3.5-4 stars. We had a blast!! The beach was amazing, the vendors on the beach are not pushy at all. You folks out there complaining about the 'pushy' sellers probably don't know how to interact with people outside of your 'circle' of friends. They come up to you, try to sell you something, you say no thank you, they might ask again, just say no thank you again, simple as that. They are trying to make a living, no big deal!! The food was very tasty... Great breakfast, lunch, dinner options, no complaints on that. Those complaining about the food, sorry they didn't have a personal 'servant' to obey your every order!! Next time, go to the Hilton!! The alcohol wasn't too strong, but hey, all you can drink, so drink more!! The staff was very nice and laid back... The room itself, wasn't bad. They do need to change the pillows though, they stank. The beds were ok, but good enough to sleep on. For the price we paid, we definitely got our money's worth. There was no need to make the best of it, because what they offered did not put us in a negative state of mind. And plus, I proposed to my girlfriend on the beach!! It doesn't get better than that!!

From a 29 year old with common sense and not picky From a 29 year old with common sense and not picky
19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Carson, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 25, 2011
Stay away!

Where to start. Do you like sleeping on a slab of granite disguised as a bed with sheets that don't fit and are a lovely shade of gray? Do you like calling housekeeping for three days straight to get an iron? Do you like calling the front desk 10 times in a 24-hour period to come stop your room toilet from overflowing? Do you like stepping out of bed and taking a header on a tile floor because there's water leaking from the adjacent room into yours? Do you like having to dry yourself after a shower with your own clothes because they ignore your towel requests? Do you like having to roam a dining room to steal silverware off other tables in order to eat your meal because waitstaff will always "be right back?" Do you like being scolded by waitstaff when serving yourself with a lousy glass of water because no one returned with your drink? Do you like being bombarded on your way to meals, the beach, the pool with people selling you timeshare? For ten days straight every time you walk past to the dining room, pool or beach? And then they proceed to tell you how much better they treat the folks who buy into it. Huh? Do you like a never-ending supply of barely edible food? If you are interested in a vacation stay like this, book a stay with Coral Caribe. You'll have the vacation of a lifetime.


27 of 28 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 28, 2015
MY 4TH TIME AT COSTA CARIBE

I spent 6 days at Coral Costa Caribe after 4 years of my last visit. I visited most resorts in Dominican Republic and this 3 stars hotel has some that makes me always come back, at least for a few days. Weak points: 1-You must know that rooms are just OK, I guess this is the weakest side of Coral. They look exactly the same after many years and they need a lot of improvements such as bathrooms and beds. 2- Dinning has decreased the quality. Mexican restaurant Santa Fe was by far the worst. Ambar buffet is very good but it lacks of vegetables and fruits. El Fogon is still the best option, you must try Boca Chica fried fish, it's excellent!! I didn't go to the Italian one. 3- Internet. Only wifi -free- in the lobby, but signal goes on and off often. They offer hourly service but I didn't purchase. Great points: 1- Beach looks awesome. Clean sands and clear waters to enjoy all day. Just be patient with vendors (cd's, hair, massage, arts) will be coming to you pretty often. just tell them "No Thanks" and they will walk away. 2- Pool and bars are just GREAT! You may enjoy wonderful drinks IN the pool served by Cesar always with a smile and a ready refill without asking. 3- Chocolate friends -animation- is the "PLUS". They will make your day by entertaining from 930 am until 945 pm where show starts and you will be always part of the night show. 4- Disco Boom is right after. Drinks dancing and sport bar to end your journey. All in the same place. I will definitely come back and I recommend this to my friends.

MY 4TH TIME AT COSTA CARIBE
14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: NYC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 13, 2011
Think twice about staying at this resort....

To lend perspective, this was our third all-inclusive trip to the Dominican Republic we'd taken in as many years. It was, by far, the most disappointing. We didn't necessarily have extremely high standards as we try to find the most economical deals and understand this may mean sacrificing on some amentities. Cleary, the Coral Costa Caribe Resort required much more sacrificing than we were prepared for! The lobby area was very nice; we were encouraged upon our arrival. The rooms (we had 2) were a different story. Again, we weren't expecting the Ritz, but water was dripping (heavily & consistently) from the light fixture in one of the bathrooms; same bathroom had a large chunk missing from the plaster in the shower, and no coffee maker (although the staff brought one up when requested). In the other room, the shower floor was cracked (gosh knows what was leaking into the room below!) and the sliding door to the balcany was literally hanging off. The buffet was mediocre, at best. The other two resorts we had stayed at had much more extensive choices and better service. Although you could find something to get you by at Coral Costa Caribe's buffet, it grew very old after the first day. The ala carte restaurants were just OK, although they provided a welcomed reprieve from the lackluster buffet. Even the 24 hour beach grill was lacking. The pool area, although lovely, was overtaken by locals on Fri/Sat/Sun. The local culture didn't bother us, but the pool became extremely overcrowded with teenagers/young adults, many of whom were swimming in jeans, t-shirts, undergarments, etc. A number of young adult males bellied up to the swim-up bar for hours on end, never leaving their seats. We were very suspicious as to how they could consume so much Presidente beer and never have to use the restroom???? We didn't stay in the pool very long after we connected the dots. Finally, and this was unique to this resort, were the period black-outs. The entire resort lost electrical service for hours at a time during our 5 day stay. For whatever reason, when the electicity went out, so did the toilet function (no flush). This was an extreme inconvenience and appeared to be common-place as none of the staff batted an eye when the blackouts occurred. Last point; the staff was very courteous and helpful. They were a highlight during our stay. If you have an opportunity, consider skipping Costa Corribe until they get their act together. We'll continue to visit the DR but will look for other resorts or stay at one of the previous resorts that offered nice accomodations, good food and service at an affordable price.


21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year