All

Condado Plaza Hilton Reviews

Caribbean | Puerto Rico Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 385 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.3 out of 5
"San Juan was beautiful, the only thing that was bad was I had to leave. Visiting the Rainforest is a must" – Cinnie
430 out of 479 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Lost in El Yunque Lagoon Rear of Hotel view El Yunque waterfall View from room 781! great patio outside our hotel !! our room Beautiful View from our upgraded room balcony View poolside at the Condado View from our Balcony View from the balcony Royalty San Juan view from the Condado Plazo Hilton balcony's lagoon view What a way to wake up! view from balcony cloudy and raining We just arrived!! View from our room The Conrad from the lagoon side of the ocean. Waves crashing Conrad Hotel, Puerto Rico 10th floor view of one of the pools View from our balcony! Bedroom Oceanview from common patio Room view POOL AREA TO BEACH Sunset over the Atlantic Room with a view Island beauty One of the Falls at the Rainforest My view from my room View from the bed Our hotel room, pic doesn't do it justice! Having a wonderful time in Puerto Rico Our room! View from our room!!! Beautiful The gazebo around the pool Puerto Rico from the airplaine View from one of the terraces Day trip to the other side of Puerto Rico this is the pool area from the 7th floor!!! old San Juan view from San Cristobal castle this was our room, nice balcony Room Looking left off the balcony towards Old San Juan. FRONT OF CASINO Caribbean meets Atlantic Cuddled up on the Hammack The bed Taking a walk on the resort View from balcony! Lobby our view Looking fromn the massage area down towards the beach. From Hotel view The beach Poolside Chairs Cheers! View from the rocky beach. View from hotel view from our balcony the back of hotel Culebra snorkeling trip our city view room

All Condado Plaza Hilton Customer Reviews

1-10 of 385 reviews. Sort by
July 31, 2010
Awesome location

The Conrad Hotel was relatively close to many tourist destinations. We were within walking distance of many restaurants (both chain & mom and pop). At the concierge desk, we picked up a paper with the week's agenda.. we had the option to get pedicures by the pool, feed the fish at the lagoon, free ice cream, learn how to kayak, etc. There were so many things to do but our week long trip wasn't long enough. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and had fantastic views. I was in the corner room so I had views of the city, the pool area, the lagoon, and part of the ocean. The best part about that was the elevator right next to my door left me at the end of the lobby which lead right out to the pool! I had a wonderful stay and would definitely go back. Some advice.. The taxis are extremely expensive and the drivers will rip you off if they think they can get away with it. The ride from the airport to our hotel was $14. Going back to the airport to leave, we thought it would have been the same price, but this guy charged us $20. If you must take a taxi, ask before you get in so you know EXACTLY what you'll be paying for (Supposedly the taxi is the only way to get to The Conrad from the airport). My advice? Learn the bus routes! They are not hard to get the hang of at all. One way trips were a grand total of 75 cents as opposed to a $20 one way taxi ride. Google places before you go. Some of the activities listed on the hotel's "What To Do List" are overpriced. If we booked an excursion with the hotel, we would have paid around fifty something dollars for transportation, and a tour of the Bacardi Factory. I did some of my own sleuthing and found that the bus doesn't stop too far from the hotel.. We took the bus to pier 2 (75 cents), took the ferry to Catano island (50 cents), got on a bus to get to the Bacardi factory (75 cents) .. the Bacardi tour was FREE, we got tickets for 2 free bacardi drinks per person following the tour, and then paid for the bus, the ferry and the bus again to get back home. Let's do the math.. I paid $4.00.


143 of 145 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24

February 10, 2012
Not Too Shabby...

First I would like to start off by saying that this place is really strict when it comes to check in times. My girlfriend and I arrived at the hotel at 1:30pm and were were told that check in time is at 4:00pm and they would call our phone when the room was ready. So we took this opportunity to walk around and get to know the area around the hotel. It was 4:30 when we finally got back to the hotel with no phone call, but we weren't too upset because the room was beautiful. Pay the extra and get an Ocean View room, it's well worth it for the views alone. The rooms are very modern, clean, and comfortable as well. The bathroom is nice and spacious too, although the doors to the bathroom are sliding doors which do not lock. This was no problem for us but it may bother others who are used to more privacy. The only issue I had with our room was that the closets and dressers were part of the bathroom, which was weird. I don't know if this is with just Ocean View rooms, but we decided to keep our clothes in our luggage bags and not risk ruining them from the moisture. The pools and beach at the hotel were just OK. One pool does have a water slide and the pools never got crowded. I liked the fact that there were plenty of chairs though, and I did not have to wake up early just to get a good spot in the sun. The beach is not too big but it's adequate. The beach sand is a little rocky at the entrance with some broken seashells but once you get in it's much better. The food at the restaurants was pretty good, however it was very expensive. Overpriced on just about everything. The drinks in the bar at the lobby were good, however I was disappointed whenever I ordered from the pool bar, Also, don't expect great service. You really need to go looking for someone and get their attention just to place an order or you will be waiting forever. Same goes for if you need anything while you're eating. You will find some good options around the Condado area for food. I recommend walking to Cafe Ropa Vieja (5min) or even if you want to take a short bus ride to Old San Juan (20min). Just don't expect the service to be much better anywhere else either. One thing that I did not like about the Conrad was that there were never any activities going on at the resort. Nobody ever played pool volleyball in the 5 nights I was there, and I showed up at one of the "scheduled" activities and no staff was even there. That was really disappointing. A few activities I would recommend doing while staying in Puerto Rico. Kayaking in the bioluminescent bay at night is a MUST!. El Yunque rain forest is nice too, and be sure to visit El Morro while in Old San Juan. If you are looking for a nicer beach than the one at the resort, the best beach on the island is Luquillo Beach. In all, this was an enjoyable vacation and the Conrad is great value for the money.


120 of 125 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 8, 2011
a good deal but it was just OK

OK I have mixed feelings about my stay at the Conrad Hotel. Here are the Pros and the Cons and you can decide which of these is most important to you… Pros: The ocean front view was splendid. VERY friendly staff, clean rooms, clean pools, convenient location to the bus stop (if you choose to save a ton of money to get to Old San Juan, it’s only .75 cents each way). The hotel is close to the airport and there are a few restaurants down the street a few blocks that are excellent, Waikiki restaurant has AWESOME Mofongo, a must try when in PR and right next to it is Hacienda Don Jose (both offer ocean front dining and they were never really crowded, but that is not a reflection on the quality of their food! We found all of the restaurants to be pricey, but resort areas usually are. The Conrad has their own private little beach that is a lagoon area with little fishes and I found it to be relaxing. Every single person we met was very nice and polite. I love the native Puerto Ricans! Cons: The hotel food and drinks are very expensive and the food is nothing special. The concierge is horrible! Every time I attempted to go to the desk it was busy. They do not have it well staffed, especially during busy times. When I finally was able to sit with someone, they weren’t very helpful in giving us ideas about what to see outside of the sightseeing tours that are really expensive. But if you do opt to do a tour, book it through them, because booking through Cheap Caribbean prior to arriving is more expensive for the exact same tours. Better yet, you can call the hotel before you arrive to be sure you get a spot. I got more information and help from the hotel staff, honestly. They gave us ideas about restaurants and sights to see. Just fair warning about taxis….There are “flat rates” for going to certain sections around the entire island and I wasn’t thrilled about paying $15.00 for a cab ride from the airport and $1.00 extra for each bag for a 10 minute cab ride, but what dropped my jaw, was they charge the same flat rate for a 3 mile ride to Old San Juan (Take the bus for .75 cents, you’ll probably have to wait a while for it, but it beats being ripped off!) The hotel is in the flight path of a local airport. Though this is not a big concern to me, I thought it worth mentioning in case that sort of thing bothers you or your children. Now this is REALLY important, read your restrictions about the free breakfast and $25 gambling credit. We were given a “City visa” room so we didn’t qualify for the latter. You can get an ocean front room that is NOT “city vista” and then you will qualify. If I had been told this I would have requested it at check in. You must realize this about San Juan Puerto Rico, it is a vacation spot for the locals too. Just like Atlantic City is to folks in and around NJ or Virginia Beach is for those close to Virginia, or like Daytona Beach, Nags Head, Myrtle Beach, etc.. This being said, there are A LOT of families at the Conrad on the weekends. So if you want peace and quiet, I suggest arriving on Monday and departing on Friday when the crowds descend upon the resort for the weekends when it gets VERY noisy and is swarming with unsupervised children screaming and running around. We flew in on a Wednesday and departed on a Sunday. The Conrad is not in the nicest area of San Juan either. The restaurants I suggested, well I suggest that you visit them during the day or no later than around 9pm. There are dilapidated vacant hotels with graffiti on them up and down the entire street. We were approached by a man the first night who sang us a sad story and he got angry when we started to back off & then he ask us for money. Just keep your guard up at all times. Puerto Rico is OK to visit, but I honestly will not go back. San Juan is really run down and if may be a sign of the times, I’m not sure, but It just wasn’t as special as I thought it would be. Next time I will opt for an all-inclusive resort.


97 of 102 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 1, 2012
Fantastic vacation

The staff really made every effort to make our stay perfect. The room had a fantastic view and very cozy. definantely a must do vacation.


24 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 14, 2013
Great Hotel

My husband and I went to PR for his 40th birthday. Upon checking in to a "Lagoon" view room, much to our disappointment, we were put on the 3rd floor, so our "Lagoon View" was of the top of the gazebo leading to the lagoon pool area. NO VIEW! Went to front desk and she said there wasn't much she could do and that was that. I asked again the next day, but we never got moved. So if you are paying for a view, I would request from the 6th floor and up, or actually go ahead and pay for the ocean view, which I did ask for an upgrade that I would have gladly paid for. Room was fine, we didn't spend much time in there. Bathrooms are small, but again, not a huge issue. The pools are great! There are three of them. The pool bar is great, Angel and most of the servers at pool bar are great. Expensive, yes, but the convenience was worth it and it is expensive to drink anywhere in PR, so why not just sit at the pool and be served there. The hotel has a great location, close to San Juan, but take the bus, not taxi. Taxi is a rip off! Restaurants are close to walk to and I suggest Cosa Lola! Booking with CheapCaribbean was great and easy! Just remember, when it ask if you have any requests: SAY ABOVE THE 5th floor!!


52 of 55 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Nashville, TN
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 11, 2013
Unexpected surprise!

We were in Puerto Rico last week for 5 nights staying at the Conrad.Check-in was a breeze. We arrived at the hotel at 11 am and were expecting to be told check-in was not until 4pm. Our first surprise,they not only let us check-in but gave us an upgrade to a lagoon veiw. The room was clean and modern,the veiw was ok,but we dont go on vacation to sit in our room anyway. Our next surprise was the pools and little nooks set up with lounge chairs, we found a secluded spot and sat ther almost every day. The beach was small but clean. Its a public beach but if you are staying at the Conrad they still provide chairs and towels. Since the beach is situated just inside the lagoon you get the crystal clear water without the really strong surf. All the staff were prompt and professional inside the hotel and out. On our last day we tried to get a late check-out since our flight was not until 5 pm. There were none available, but they do have a really nice, clean locker room by the pool bathrooms. The showers have dispensers with gel, shampoo, and conditioner. This allowed to have almost another whole day at the beach. We only ate at the Cafe for breakfast. Prices were reasonable. We only had a propblem ther one day. It took a really long time to get our food. The manager comped our food that morning. We did not eat in the other restaurants they seemed a little pricey. There were also really good restaurants in walking distance to the hotel. All price ranges. There was also a bus stop right next to the hotel. Its only 75 cents to take you into Old San Jaun vs 15 dollars in a cab. Make sure you have 3 quaters, they don't make change. Beware of prepaid excursions. They are overpriced. Cab rides from the airport are only $15. The Bacardi Factory tour is free, To get there from hotel was only $4.25 for ferry and cab. You can do your on walking tour around OSJ.The forts are $3, with plaques telling about everything. Great restaurants and cafes all around OSj. We cant wait to go back!


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 8, 2012
A Capital "R" in Relaxation

A spectacular deal popped up in my email from cheapcaribbean.com. In much need of a VACAT[E]ion, and never having been to Puerto Rico, I picked up the phone and called Cheap Caribbean. I found Harry (the agent) to be very knowledgable as he answered my many questions. I inquired about one resort, but after carefully listening to my desires, Harry directed me to the Conrad San Juan Condado. Harry knew his stuff! Fifteen minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Old San June, the Conrad put a capital "R" in relaxation. In the heart of Condado, the Conrad offered the amenities of a resort (beach, salt water pool, regular pool, hot tub, a casino and nightlife). I enjoyed the peace and serenity of my ocean view room, but could walk out the front door of the hotel and experience city living. Boutiques, Gucci, Cartier, Walgreens, sovenier shops, and restaurants to please every palet and wallet. After spending the day in Old San Juan ($.75 each way by local bus), we experienced a free jazz concert within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel itself is tastefully decorated with the island feel. All staff add to the pleasantries, living up to the quality you'd expect from the Hilton name. I will return again and would HIGHLY recommend The Conrad San Juan Condado to everyone visiting Puerto Rico.

Room with a view What a way to wake up!
15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: DC Metro Area
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 17, 2012
Fantastic Experience!

Fantastic hotel room! The staff at the Conrad were incredibly nice and the location is an accessible location for almost anything. Highly recommend this hotel. Beautiful pools and hotel is right next to a beach. Highly recommend the restaurants in the hotel, especially pikayo.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34

February 11, 2013
A truly wonderful vacation spot !

We spent 5 nights at the Conrad Condado and loved every moment. The hotel was lovely, clean and the employees were all very helpful and kind. I would highly recommend paying the little bit extra for the ocean front view. Each patio is entirely private, and the views are spectacular. Loved the pool areas. They were picturesque and not crowded in the least . We did not eat at any of the hotel restaurants but instead walked the few blocks to check out the local cuisine. Felt totally safe. Now it's back to 20 degrees. Missing P.R. Already!!!


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 9, 2010
New Annual Tradition

This hotel is absolutely GOREGEOUS!!! I stayed here for my birthday last year and have made it a point to go back every year. I was in a jaw dropping 8th floor corner Suite that was equivalent to a fantasy. Equipped with a in-room safe, microwave, refrigerator, luxury linens and high quality toiletry products for your personal use. The living room area had contemporary layout with a posh work station and a view of the lagoon. The bedroom had a sitting area as well as a balcony which overlooked Ashford Ave. and the Atlantic Ocean. The décor of The Conrad is very ultra modern, trendy, chic and sexy. To elaborate on how GRAND this place is, there were 3 magazine photo shoots and a video filmed during the week I stayed there. The staff was wonderful, friendly and very attentive. This hotel is really immaculate and well kept. The food was absolutely awesome! I spent time at all 3 pools, the jacuzzi, the beach and even the whirlpool inside the gym…which is pretty nice gym I may add. There was always something for me to do at this hotel that I really did not have to go anywhere else, although I did…I had the urge to explore San Juan little bit…and I diiiiiid. I am IN LOVE with this place!!! The Conrad is only 15min. taxi ride from the airport. This hotel resides in 2 buildings with a connecting sky-walk over Ashford Ave. Just a few blocks down the road, you can get your “high end” shop on at Gucci, Cartier and LV. Also along A Ave., there are other bars/restaurants and casinos. The nightlife in the area was jumping on Friday and Saturday. The location is great by it being on a main strip where you can easily catch a bus or taxi if your “feeling too good” to walk. I have been and still will refer The Conrad to anyone I know. I had the time of my life! I’ll be back there in November 2010, maybe I’ll see you soon… Dorsey1104


20 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year